Star Trek Into Darkness

Star Trek Into Darkness Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1467 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: After the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 15, 2013
    100
    Into Darkness is a sleek, thrilling epic that's also a triumphantly witty popcorn morality play. It's everything you could want in a Star Trek movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    May 14, 2013
    88
    The new film works. It's rousing.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    May 16, 2013
    88
    Kudos to Abrams for going bigger without going stupid. His set pieces, from an erupting volcano to the hell unleashed over London and Frisco Bay, are doozies. So's the movie. It's crazy good.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    May 14, 2013
    75
    The film is densely plotted, occasionally bordering on the convoluted, but the clarity and inventiveness of the direction keeps the drama and the action constantly percolating.
  5. Reviewed by: A.A. Dowd
    May 16, 2013
    75
    Rip-roaring set-pieces aside, the biggest pleasure here is still the yin-yang chemistry between Kirk and Spock, even as the writers sand down the barbed edges of the characters’ interactions.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    May 14, 2013
    70
    This series will survive as well, until 2016 — when, you can bet, there will be a third Star Trek to celebrate the TV show’s 50th anniversary. Here’s hoping that those three years will bestow a measure of maturity on all concerned: Kirk and his bright curators too.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    May 14, 2013
    38
    The only darkness here — besides the dingy-looking images dimmed by 3-D glasses — is the murky plot, which is as silly as it is arbitrary.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 374
  1. May 18, 2013
    10
    As a big Trek fan, I truly enjoyed this alternate timeline's second installment. There was never a slow moment. I was certainly surprised byAs a big Trek fan, I truly enjoyed this alternate timeline's second installment. There was never a slow moment. I was certainly surprised by several developments but ultimately a very satisfying experience. I look forward to more adventures with this crew. Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second installment of the Star Trek reboot was worth the 4 year wait. As a life long Trek fan, it's just nice to have Star Trek in the main stream again. Trekkies need to understand, take this movie for what it is and you are not the film's targeted audience. No one is expecting you to love Chris Pine more than William Shatner, they're two very different Kirks. Benedict Cumberbatch is fantastic as Kahn, and plays it with his Sherlock charisma minus the Watson conscience. The plot is very crisp and the movie has a much more brisk pace than you'd expect from a 2.5 hour movie. In fact, by the end of the film, I didn't even realize it was over 2 hours. This movie is not Wrath of Kahn, though it does have some Wrath of Kahn elements in it. In this movie, due to the timeline shift of the 2009 movie, JJ Abrams and company have the arduous task of providing a Kahn movie minus the effective TV show background. In this timeline, Kirk and the crew of the Enterprise have never encountered Kahn and thus the story has to both explain his arrival and provide a healthy dose of Kahn vengeance.

    Some good changes are done to make the story feel fresh to Trekkies: The rogue Admiral to explain Kahn's unhappiness with the Federation was done well. Carol Marcus is a thousand times hotter in this movie than in the TV series and the Wrath of Kahn original.

    Some changes are not as good but acceptable: The magic blood in place of the Genesis device. The Kirk/Spock flip flop.

    The special effects are incredible and the movie ensures everyone is given a good amount of screen time. Watching Spock get to let loose on a villain that could take it was a lot of fun and easily my favorite part of the film. Anyone notice that this Kirk gets his ass kicked a lot?

    The best part of the movie might be the ending though. The "traditional Trek" has seemingly been forgotten and the ending sets the 3rd movie up nicely for a traditional type of Trek tale. The crew finally leaves on its 5 year mission in space and without the Federation backdrop, the 3rd movie might be the first to embrace its Star Trek space opera, exploration type of story. Regardless, it doesn't appear Abrams will be directing the 3rd movie as he'll be busy with another geeky fanboy space franchise Star Wars. See if you can pinpoint the moment in this movie where you can picture the Millenium Falcon speeding through the Death Star.

    In the end Star Trek into Darkness is a fun, action packed Science Fiction movie that is both enjoyable for newbies and Trekkies alike. The movie takes a lot of criticism from Trekkies for approaching the sacred Kahn legacy, however, it is done very well and the movie is well written. Definitely a high octane movie with rewatchability and should be considered one of the best Trek movies ever.
    Expand
  3. May 12, 2015
    9
    Don't listen to all the negative reviews. They are just butt-hurt trekkies who only like the tv shows and feel that this movie is "killing"Don't listen to all the negative reviews. They are just butt-hurt trekkies who only like the tv shows and feel that this movie is "killing" Star Trek. Anyways, this movie is awesome. It has an awesome villian, Khan played by Benedict Cumberbatch and he gives a really emotional performance, not to mention the amazing CGI and action coreography. Star Trek Into Darkness is a really solid sequel with some really solid action. 9/10 Expand
  4. May 18, 2013
    8
    The nerd's nirvana of science fiction series, probably more so than Star Wars, the Star Trek story grows as it actually regresses in its storyThe nerd's nirvana of science fiction series, probably more so than Star Wars, the Star Trek story grows as it actually regresses in its story to the beginning of its five year exploratory mission, as is explained famously in the intro of the two TV series. The first may have taken some getting used to, seeing new actors play much younger versions of the original series, but "Into Darkness" firmly places Chris Pine particularly as James Kirk in the coveted position of a legendary character.
    Still rebellious and impulsive, without giving the plot away, we find the Enterprise crew fighting most of the film close to home and in London against a very fresh Khan, or as fresh as you can be for being 300 years old.
    I'm not a big trekkie, but my wife adores the series. I was pleasantly surprised by good acting and some very cool special effects, my favorite the planets one space station orbits, much like Jupiter and alien landscapes. This is where visual imagination has no limits and it's done brilliantly, although I do wonder if all planets are so oxygen rich one can just walk off the plank without worrying about the atmosphere or lack of one.
    But we assume all that stuff was taken care of and don't sweat the details. Pine is a first rate actor, as are all the cast, and for a summer movie with lots of action, boom booms and a very cool futuristic London, it's a fine choice. Abrams has done a very good job with this movie, and probably will be up for some special effects Oscars at years' end. One thing I must ask: in a world over two hundred years in the future, will they really have old vinyl records and turntables? Not to mention the same kind of music we listen to now.
    Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've never been a Star Trek fan but I really dug this movie. The story is decent, the action is awesome and the special effects are great...and, thankfully, Abrams decided to greatly decrease the amount of lens flare in this one. Granted the film has some issues. There's some plot holes that will drive the pretentious viewer and Trekkies insane with fury and the cast of characters seems too big as most of them have no place in the story or are given scenes that felt like they were forced into the script to justify the character being there. However, the complaints are minor thanks to Benedict Cumberbatch being awesome and finally making a villain that I never understood why he was held in such esteem into something B.A. and chilling. But don't think for one second that because I liked this film I'm going to become a Trekkie...I'm a Star Wars guy! Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    6
    These days a movie has to have more than the usual CGI mechanics. It has to have a story. This one was weak and barely good enough for a TVThese days a movie has to have more than the usual CGI mechanics. It has to have a story. This one was weak and barely good enough for a TV episode. Cumberbatch is great, but none of the other characters caught fire. Pine does a good young Kirk-he's more likeable-and Quinto does Spock well, but doing Spock well is like falling off a truck. Just look thoughtful and don't use your facial muscles. Uhuru shagging Spock? C'mon girl, you need passion! Expand
  7. Jul 9, 2016
    0
    I hate this movie with a passion that I have never before experienced as a moviegoer. I despise this movie in the same manner that DataI hate this movie with a passion that I have never before experienced as a moviegoer. I despise this movie in the same manner that Data despises Forcas III Whiskey. It defies explanation. I simply hate it at a root chakra level of karmic rage. Not really. But, it is insulting to Trek fans, to Roddenberry, and not worth watching again. I would rather watch Starcrash ten times in a row than watch this steaming pile of burnt Humpback whale flubber. Why? Its insulting. JJA is absolutely insulting the "old" fans. He doesn't even deny it. He even apologized for this film when it was released. And the same sort of idiot who gives this a rave review is likely to have watched and enjoyed Baywatch. Pretty things to look at and have a little laugh and enjoy yourself and HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Weren't those 'splosions great! I'm not communicating my emotions properly here, because, like I said, it's root chakra...the stuff you can't put into words. Expand

See all 374 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked

    These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 19, 2016
    We rank every film in the Star Trek franchise by Metascore.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium

    Summer Movie Preview: A Guide to Over 40 Key Films from Star Trek Into Darkness to Elysium Image
    Published: May 2, 2013
    Get the details (and watch trailers) for all of the key films heading to cineplexes between now and the end of August, including the latest Star Trek, Superman, and Hangover films, new features from Sofia Coppola, Joss Whedon, Noah Baumbach, Nicolas Winding Refn, and Edgar Wright, and much more.
  3. This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for May 13-19

    This Week: Movie, TV, Music, and Game Picks for May 13-19 Image
    Published: May 12, 2013
    "Star Trek Into Darkness" finally beams into theaters this week (as does Noah Baumbach's acclaimed, low-budget, black-and-white comedy), while Vampire Weekend tops a strong week for album releases, and gamers get their first look at the sequel to "Metro 2033."
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 22, 2013
    Take a break from your brackets and watch all of this week's new trailers, including even more footage from Star Trek Into Darkness and Trance, new looks at Despicable Me 2, Epic, and Turbo, and much more. Plus, get a recap of this week's movie news.