Star Trek: Nemesis

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 94
  2. Negative: 25 out of 94
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StazanS.
    Jan 3, 2003
    7
    Better than the bland whitebread of Insurrection, but no Khan. Can't a major character die, without replacing him with himself before the movie is half over?
  2. MarkC.
    Apr 7, 2004
    8
    I liked this film. The characters, effects, set work and staunchy Picard make for a good time. I've often wondered, however, why the writers can't figure out that a significant alien threat is better than a sneaky plan, and that watching huge battles is better than a couple of ships beating each other up. Also, Star Trek writers should get the idea to install a cloaking device I liked this film. The characters, effects, set work and staunchy Picard make for a good time. I've often wondered, however, why the writers can't figure out that a significant alien threat is better than a sneaky plan, and that watching huge battles is better than a couple of ships beating each other up. Also, Star Trek writers should get the idea to install a cloaking device on the next Enterprise upgrade. Expand
  3. SimonD.
    Jun 26, 2003
    7
    A reasonably entertaining film, but one with a good number of odd plot holes and with little to offer anyone who is not a Trekkie. Excellent work by Patrick Stewart and Bent Spiner carries the film towards a conclusion that is actually a bit surprising. There is also a sense that too many studio-enforced eidts strip the film of some needed plot elements. If this is the end, it's not A reasonably entertaining film, but one with a good number of odd plot holes and with little to offer anyone who is not a Trekkie. Excellent work by Patrick Stewart and Bent Spiner carries the film towards a conclusion that is actually a bit surprising. There is also a sense that too many studio-enforced eidts strip the film of some needed plot elements. If this is the end, it's not a bad way to wrap up, but it won't make anyone forget First Contact or ST II. Expand
  4. WilliamG.
    Dec 14, 2002
    7
    "ST:Nemesis" is definitely worth seeing but a bit on the bloodless side. Much of the action is riveting -- as are the Praetor Shinzon (Tom Hardy) and the rare glimpse into the Romulan Empire. Stewart as Picard has never been better and the Enterprise crew is as comfortable as an old sweater, although underutilized. The plot itself harks back to the Original Series with its topicality and "ST:Nemesis" is definitely worth seeing but a bit on the bloodless side. Much of the action is riveting -- as are the Praetor Shinzon (Tom Hardy) and the rare glimpse into the Romulan Empire. Stewart as Picard has never been better and the Enterprise crew is as comfortable as an old sweater, although underutilized. The plot itself harks back to the Original Series with its topicality and handling of a Serious Issue. The special effects are quite good, especially in the final confrontation scene. Still, it all made me feel less engaged than I expected to be and I found myself wishing more were at stake and that the film's sweep had been just a bit grander. NOTE TO FILM CRITICS: Read the NYT's Stephen Holden to see how it's done. If you don't like sci-fi, fine. If you're unfamiliar, fine. If you're lazy, give up reviewing. Most of the reviews have been the embarrassing efforts they make the film out to be. Serving up caustic remarks, unfunny monologues, and childish malice is not reviewing -- it's mental flatulence. Expand
  5. JeremyS.
    Dec 14, 2002
    7
    The foundation for a truly great story was in here somewhere, but it got lost among the generic hand-to-hand combat scenes where people crouch in cooridors and shoot at each other. All that's left is a pretty entertaining movie that has a few great ship battle moments and Picard-Shinzon showdowns. Looks like First Contact will remain the king of the rather underwhelming Next Gen movies.
  6. Banshee
    Jan 18, 2003
    8
    Silly boy... The use of massive destruction weapons in STAR TREK is prohibited since the Khitomer and Algeron agreements. But for sure, only a real fan knows all these facts. In Europe the movie gets much higher marks than on your side. It is definitely no blockbuster but a pretty good piece of film. Sure, the script has plenty of holes but it makes fun and has very intensive moments. I Silly boy... The use of massive destruction weapons in STAR TREK is prohibited since the Khitomer and Algeron agreements. But for sure, only a real fan knows all these facts. In Europe the movie gets much higher marks than on your side. It is definitely no blockbuster but a pretty good piece of film. Sure, the script has plenty of holes but it makes fun and has very intensive moments. I can not understand why the whole world is kicking onto a franchise that already lies on the ground. Who knows what it's revenge coold look like when it rises again... It was always better than good old Kindergarten Wars. And it will exist even when the LotR-Trilogy is almost forgotten. Not that I would not like Tolkien but I prefer the books. STAR TREK rulez... Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 31, 2003
    10
    I give it an 8. The plot an action were superb. Definitely deserves more than a 4.8, felt I needed to boost the score.
  8. Sam
    Oct 24, 2005
    7
    A movie shouldn't be loved if your a fanboy of the movie series, it should be loved for the quality. Not ot say I hated this movie, the plot is a good Idea, but the action scenes are getting to tiresome, and the special effects are great, but all of the other star trek movies (except for the first) are better, and i'm not saying that as a fanboy, but as a movie buff.
  9. AnthonyE.
    Jun 27, 2005
    8
    More memorable than SW III, but too similar to Isurrection (secondary strand of sub-species). Not enough DS9 continuity, not as satisfactory as it should have been, but it makes up for it with eerie moments like Shinzon ordering tea like Picard.
  10. JimmyC.
    Dec 18, 2002
    7
    I did not think it was the best star trek film but not as bad as everyone says it was. yes it was predictable. but none the less i enjoyed it.
  11. VictorHugo
    Dec 22, 2002
    7
    Why is there the need to have space battles on most Trek movies, this is Star TREK, not WARS. Star Trek should be like Jackes Cousteau on outer space, not merely people killing enemies and saving the universe. BTW, Where is the BABYLON 5 movie?
  12. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    NEMESIS is a pure delight for fans and non-fans. This film is filled with great acting performances by Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean-Luc Picard and Tom Hardy as the evil villain Praetor Shinzon. We for the first time in the Star Trek universe get to explore the Romulan Senate, political structure, the twin world Remus and see for the first time the Remans. While there are great actionNEMESIS is a pure delight for fans and non-fans. This film is filled with great acting performances by Patrick Stewart as Captain Jean-Luc Picard and Tom Hardy as the evil villain Praetor Shinzon. We for the first time in the Star Trek universe get to explore the Romulan Senate, political structure, the twin world Remus and see for the first time the Remans. While there are great action sequences the main heart of NEMESIS is Shinzons struggle for his identity over Picard. This is a must see for fans of philosophical dramas as well as those who love science fiction. A must see! Collapse
  13. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was a fan of the Star Trek TNG TV series, in fact to this day it is my favourite TV series of all time. But like Generations and Insurrection, this one just ended up being mediocre. With the exception of Star Trek: First Contact with was absolutely great, there were TV episodes equal and in some cases better than the TNG movies. I'm still bitter about them cancelling the series while it was the number one rated TV show just so they could make 3 mediocre movies and 1 good movie. SPOILER ALERT: I can't believe they killed off data. I mean I knew one main character was going to die ahead of time, but Data? BTW: I was hoping they'd make 1 more TNG movie just so they could bring him back, it was pretty obvious how they laid the ground work to do so, Data's memory chip was in his android (er... artificial lifeform) brother's head although his brother couldn't access the memories there was the potential for him to expand his hardware/programming later to bring Data's memories back and incorporate them, but I guess Data is gone forever since they will never make that movie now :( Expand
  14. JoeyK.
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Great movie. Visually awesome. Philosophically intriguing. Emotionally dramatic. I loved it, as a Trek film and as even a regular movie, and I really don't understand why people didn't like it. I'd give it a 9, but I'm giving it a 10 because it deserves better than it got.
  15. LordP.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    NEMESIS, a generation's final journey is exactly that and more. Finally a Next Generation feature that stands well on its own and offers a fitting finale for a crew that began their onscreen voyages in 1987. Much has happened since but this series' achievements should not be underestimated from the oversaturation that came later, and this movie is a magnificent coda to the crew NEMESIS, a generation's final journey is exactly that and more. Finally a Next Generation feature that stands well on its own and offers a fitting finale for a crew that began their onscreen voyages in 1987. Much has happened since but this series' achievements should not be underestimated from the oversaturation that came later, and this movie is a magnificent coda to the crew and cast of the Starship Enterprise. Very few things could have been done to make it even etter, and as such I rate NEMESIS a full 9. Expand
  16. CurtS.
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    A Wonderful movie, I totally disagree with the reviews above. In no way was this movie predictable, the ending fit well but manythings could have happened with in the last 10 minutes that you just didn't know which one it was going to be. The only thing predictable about this movie is that ...... Although the movie does not throw in any events from the tv series, the story moves wellA Wonderful movie, I totally disagree with the reviews above. In no way was this movie predictable, the ending fit well but manythings could have happened with in the last 10 minutes that you just didn't know which one it was going to be. The only thing predictable about this movie is that ...... Although the movie does not throw in any events from the tv series, the story moves well from event to event. I was amazed at the resemblance of the android b-4 and data. I was waiting for someone to say he lookd just like data's brother from the tv series (who's name i have forgotten). This is the movie making makeup that goes along with most movies. Not everyone has seen the episoeds and this is generally the best way to keep things rolling with a new audience. Being a fan of star trek, and not the other star.... star something moive, I liked this film. I did the best i could to not throw in any spoilers so get to the movies and see how the end of a generation starts your weekend. Expand
  17. EricB.
    Jan 12, 2003
    8
    It's a very good movie that brings back memories of the best classic Star Trek moments. Sure, it's plot has a bunch of holes, but so did The Wrath of Khan, and that never stood in it's way.
  18. PattieB.
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    One of the BEST!! But, it can't be the last!!
  19. BrandonS.
    Oct 12, 2006
    8
    Excellent movie, and a satisfying end to the Next Generation stories. I am now and probably always will be baffled by the negative critical response to this one. It's not quite "Wrath of Khan," but I put it just a little behind "First Contact" as one of the great Trek movies.
  20. tngownz
    Dec 14, 2002
    9
    The best TNG movie yet! *Almost* as good as TWOK.
  21. DevinB.
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    Great movie. A must for any sci fi lover. Great story and evern better visual effects, especially the Enterprise raming the Scimitar.
  22. DouglasN.
    Dec 17, 2002
    7
    It was a good Star Trek movie on the same bar as First Contact (probably the best of the Picard Treks in my mind). Slightly less on the laughs, although there are a few - a well-acted enemy, better than most - and more action than the CGI scenes at the beginning of First Contact, whichs makes this stand out as more of an action movie. I'd give this a higher rating than those who It was a good Star Trek movie on the same bar as First Contact (probably the best of the Picard Treks in my mind). Slightly less on the laughs, although there are a few - a well-acted enemy, better than most - and more action than the CGI scenes at the beginning of First Contact, whichs makes this stand out as more of an action movie. I'd give this a higher rating than those who tanked it, but it's just what Trek people continue to ask for: A good Trek movie with action, suspense and ingenuity - while moving the Trek story forward into new areas just enough to warrant a movie. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. 60
    Nemesis never feels true to itself, its energy never fully engaged. Even with Earth on the line in its climactic space battle, the film seems embarrassed that it couldn't have found a better way to work through its issues.
  2. 40
    Nemesis, by comparison, is about as exciting as a Tribble on Vicodin.
  3. Plays like a greatest-hits remix; like "Die Another Day," it's bent on resurrecting a moribund franchise by recalling all the things you used to love about it till you grew into big-boy pants.