Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evilThe greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evil being whose mission of vengeance threatens all of mankind.
    The fate of the galaxy rests in the hands of bitter rivals. One, James T. Kirk, is a delinquent, thrill-seeking Iowa farm boy. The other, Spock, was raised in a logic-based society that rejects all emotion. As fiery instinct clashes with calm reason, their unlikely but powerful partnership is the only thing capable of leading their crew through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before! (Paramount)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Paced at warp speed with spectacular action sequences rendered brilliantly and with a cast so expert that all the familiar characters are instantly identifiable.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    100
    In the pop high it delivers, this is the greatest prequel ever made.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    90
    It's hard to imagine anyone caring much why we're plunging ahead at warp speed, when the ride is so insanely satisfying.
  4. Reviewed by: Jason Buchanan
    88
    It fulfills its promise of rebooting the series while leaving us wanting more, and it does so with style and energy to spare. Now that's an origins tale that truly delivers.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    80
    It's a real family film, relatively light on the violence and funny without being overly crude; it even has some touching moments.
  6. Breathlessly paced bordering on manic, but propulsively entertaining.
  7. 50
    A relatively mindless thrill ride that would have made the old NBC execs grin from ear to ear.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 535
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job asA very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!! Expand
  2. BillB.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Saw it yesterday in IMAX. My first reaction, WOW. After it was over, I said to my wife "we are going to have to see it again and buy it on Saw it yesterday in IMAX. My first reaction, WOW. After it was over, I said to my wife "we are going to have to see it again and buy it on DVD when it comes out. This is the best of the Star Trek movies. Expand
  3. KarenK
    May 22, 2009
    10
    My son and I are original trekkies,so was my husband but he has passed away and did not get to have the incredible joy we had watching this My son and I are original trekkies,so was my husband but he has passed away and did not get to have the incredible joy we had watching this movie. I found the characters spot on,what a casting job! I even found myself in tears wishing and wanting more of our beloved Star Trek,and seeing the old Spock and young Spock just did me in. What a movie,what a ride,what a wonderful job they did in in bringing this movie to us.,please let this not be the last one,I couldn't stand it. Live long and prosper. Expand
  4. JackL.
    May 7, 2009
    9
    Why simply revitalize a franchise when you can start all over again, and in doing so set newer, higher standards for something that already Why simply revitalize a franchise when you can start all over again, and in doing so set newer, higher standards for something that already rocked. Amazing, but gave it a 9 b/c the next one will be even better! Expand
  5. CindyD
    May 18, 2009
    9
    Loved the original Star Trek, didn't really want to see this "remake", but my boyfriend talked me into it. I have to admit, it was Loved the original Star Trek, didn't really want to see this "remake", but my boyfriend talked me into it. I have to admit, it was really good, very impressive, J.J. Abrams did a great job of blending the old with the new. Expand
  6. WalkerS
    May 18, 2009
    7
    The film looks and sounds terrific, with sumptuous shots, great sound effects and visuals, and a compellingly winning ensemble of actors The film looks and sounds terrific, with sumptuous shots, great sound effects and visuals, and a compellingly winning ensemble of actors that, more often than not, hit the mark as ringers (in a good way) for the original cast. Too bad I had to turn off my brain for so much of it - silly pseudo-science ("Red Matter"? PLEASE!) and character backgrounds that stretch credibility (especially how Kirk enlisted in Starfleet) cheapens the grandeur of the film. I think I speak for many fans of the original series when I say that the groundwork has been laid for a potentially fantastic next Trek. Alas, in the pantheon of Star Trek movies, outside of the sheer spectacle of it all and the acting, this one lands squarely in the middle of the pack. Expand
  7. MeganJ.
    May 8, 2009
    0
    Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making him a war criminal. This is after he tries to use "compassion" as a cynical ruse against his opponent. The script is flimsy and illogical; Nero's motivations make no sense. There is virtually no science fiction element; this is an action film set in space. Very, very poor. Collapse

See all 535 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  2. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.