Star Trek

Star Trek Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1366 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evilThe greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evil being whose mission of vengeance threatens all of mankind. The fate of the galaxy rests in the hands of bitter rivals. One, James T. Kirk, is a delinquent, thrill-seeking Iowa farm boy. The other, Spock, was raised in a logic-based society that rejects all emotion. As fiery instinct clashes with calm reason, their unlikely but powerful partnership is the only thing capable of leading their crew through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before! [Paramount] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Dec 17, 2015
    100
    This new Star Trek is fast-moving, funny, exciting warp-speed entertainment and, heaven help me, even quite moving - the kind of film that shows that, like it or not, commercial cinema can still deliver a sledgehammer punch.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    100
    In the pop high it delivers, this is the greatest prequel ever made.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    90
    It's hard to imagine anyone caring much why we're plunging ahead at warp speed, when the ride is so insanely satisfying.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    80
    It's a real family film, relatively light on the violence and funny without being overly crude; it even has some touching moments.
  5. Reviewed by: Aubrey Day
    Dec 17, 2015
    80
    Buoyant, buffed and with the promise of even better to come, this is the freshest Trek in decades.
  6. Breathlessly paced bordering on manic, but propulsively entertaining.
  7. 50
    A relatively mindless thrill ride that would have made the old NBC execs grin from ear to ear.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 555
  1. GaryN.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Very well conceived and executed. A Star Trek movie that will re-ignite the franchise and bring a lot of new fans
  2. TomH
    May 18, 2009
    10
    Amazing movie, I have never seen a Star Trek film and only limited episodes. But after hearing all the great things about this movie and the Amazing movie, I have never seen a Star Trek film and only limited episodes. But after hearing all the great things about this movie and the amazing cast.... (Simon Peg as Scotty, John Cho as Sulu.) I had to see it. Was not disapointed at all I am going to watch the other movies now and see if I might actually be a Star Trek fan! Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job asA very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!! Expand
  4. MeaganY
    May 16, 2009
    9
    Star Trek was a very enjoyable film. The acting was terrific. Zachary Quinto was especially good as playing Spock. He was emotional, but Star Trek was a very enjoyable film. The acting was terrific. Zachary Quinto was especially good as playing Spock. He was emotional, but audiences understood WHY he was emotional and could sympathize with him. Every single performance was good. This put the Star Wars prequels to shame. My only complaints were that the lens flares were too bright and the action scenes were a little shaky, but it was a fun film that left me leaving the theater with a smile on my face. Expand
  5. Apr 18, 2016
    8
    Impressive Hollywood product, exciting story, outstanding acting performances! This one is an excellent sci-fi movie, stunning and much moreImpressive Hollywood product, exciting story, outstanding acting performances! This one is an excellent sci-fi movie, stunning and much more spectacular than usually we may see any other fantastic tale! Expand
  6. WalkerS
    May 18, 2009
    7
    The film looks and sounds terrific, with sumptuous shots, great sound effects and visuals, and a compellingly winning ensemble of actors The film looks and sounds terrific, with sumptuous shots, great sound effects and visuals, and a compellingly winning ensemble of actors that, more often than not, hit the mark as ringers (in a good way) for the original cast. Too bad I had to turn off my brain for so much of it - silly pseudo-science ("Red Matter"? PLEASE!) and character backgrounds that stretch credibility (especially how Kirk enlisted in Starfleet) cheapens the grandeur of the film. I think I speak for many fans of the original series when I say that the groundwork has been laid for a potentially fantastic next Trek. Alas, in the pantheon of Star Trek movies, outside of the sheer spectacle of it all and the acting, this one lands squarely in the middle of the pack. Expand
  7. MeganJ.
    May 8, 2009
    0
    Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making him a war criminal. This is after he tries to use "compassion" as a cynical ruse against his opponent. The script is flimsy and illogical; Nero's motivations make no sense. There is virtually no science fiction element; this is an action film set in space. Very, very poor. Expand

See all 555 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked

    These Are the Best (and Worst) Star Trek Movies, Ranked Image
    Published: April 19, 2016
    We rank every film in the Star Trek franchise by Metascore.
  2. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  3. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.
  4. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.