Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1189 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evil being whose mission of vengeance threatens all of mankind.
    The fate of the galaxy rests in the hands of bitter rivals. One, James T. Kirk, is a delinquent, thrill-seeking Iowa farm boy. The other, Spock, was raised in a logic-based society that rejects all emotion. As fiery instinct clashes with calm reason, their unlikely but powerful partnership is the only thing capable of leading their crew through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before! (Paramount)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Paced at warp speed with spectacular action sequences rendered brilliantly and with a cast so expert that all the familiar characters are instantly identifiable.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Blasting onto the screen at warp speed and remaining there for two hours, the new and improved Star Trek will transport fans to sci-fi nirvana.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    90
    It's hard to imagine anyone caring much why we're plunging ahead at warp speed, when the ride is so insanely satisfying.
  4. Reviewed by: Patrick Parker
    88
    We were also glad to see they didn't ignore the humorous elements that made the original so great. Plus, the casting is spot on.
  5. Abrams and his writers (Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman) have come up with a way to make you dig the souped-up new scenery while pining for the familiar--a good thing.
  6. 75
    There is considerable fun in discovering the hows and whys the crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise came together, and each member has at least one moment in the spotlight, including the esteemed helmsman Sulu.
  7. 50
    A relatively mindless thrill ride that would have made the old NBC execs grin from ear to ear.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 530
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!! Expand
  2. May 20, 2013
    10
    This movie appeals to a broader audience than just Trekkies. It takes everything that was great from the old series and puts it into a large budget film of the current day. Finally, Star Trek is on par with Star Wars in the special effects department! Great film, a must see!!! Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    In short, the film is an action-packed and glorious adventure. Not having watched the original series, I thought that the first film in the reboot is fantastic. The cast was great, the acting was solid, it's funny in several places, and everything is evenly-balanced. Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    I never grew into this whole Star Trek fandom or never even bothered but this movie really hooked me up on the franchise. It was well done and great, I can't wait for a sequel (or prequel)! Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Very impressive, action packed, Hollywood blockbuster- that will keep you entertained throughout the whole film. the acting is good and CG I is astonishingly brilliant. the film is not just aimed a star trek fans, but a whole manner of people. this film is made great by the balance of action; acting, something you don't normally see when the CG I is as big as this. Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2011
    7
    This is a good movie. If you're interested in sitting down and watching an exciting film with a lot of great actors and action, you won't be disappointed. Also, if you're a fan of Star Trek, it doesn't leave you in the dust, either. It maintains some great fan service elements, including seeing all of your old, favorite characters as kids, seeing the Enterprise, and some other classic aspects of the old series. It's nice to see a franchise that had fallen so hard with The Next Generation movies pull up out of the dirt.

    Still, the film is not perfect. There are an abundance of plot holes and the action and the climactic elements are undercut at times. The film has such an exciting, fast-paced development that you may not notice these, and more likely than not, you wouldn't care anyways. This film wasn't designed to be completely consistent or solid, but meant to bring you in for a fast, enjoyable ride and make you think of Star Trek fondly (whether you're a nerd or not). And it does just that. Definitely go see it.

    http://thotsforthot.blogspot.com/2011/02/star-trek-2009-successes-and.html
    Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    The Movie that killed Star Trek,

    unlogical Vulcans, oddly size changing ships (from 320m to 700m, dvd extras), no explanation why tech
    evolved so quickly apart from the prime-timeline.

    Way too much Star Wars effect in a Star Trek movie. No boldly going, just kill and shot.
    Expand

See all 530 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  2. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.