Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 16, 2002
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1023 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
466
Mixed:
347
Negative:
210
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
TimeOfTheChimpsMar 22, 2015
Although it has some good scenes, like Shmi Skywalker's death, and the duel between Anakin, Obi-Wan, and Count Dooku, Attack of The Clones still stands as the worst of the prequel series and as the worst in the entire saga due to atrociousAlthough it has some good scenes, like Shmi Skywalker's death, and the duel between Anakin, Obi-Wan, and Count Dooku, Attack of The Clones still stands as the worst of the prequel series and as the worst in the entire saga due to atrocious dialogue and horrid characterisations. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
MattM.Oct 3, 2002
An unmitigated drag. Overlong, boring, self-involved, ostentatious prequel. An unequivocated disappointment.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
WillS.May 17, 2002
I agree with the New York Times. What an awful, boring, extravagant mess. This one is concentrated Lucas; bad acting (the WORST to date), worse dialog, a meandering story line and a heap o' slick CGI effects stuffed into every possible I agree with the New York Times. What an awful, boring, extravagant mess. This one is concentrated Lucas; bad acting (the WORST to date), worse dialog, a meandering story line and a heap o' slick CGI effects stuffed into every possible nook and cranny. This one truly blows. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DonS.May 21, 2002
This movie had one of the worst scripts in movie history. and the acting from the guy who played anakin, and natalie portman was terrible. the only reason i give it a 1 is out of sympathy for ewan mcgregor for having to read such awful dialogue.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RobertH.May 25, 2002
Where to begin? "Clones" is a far superior movie to "Menace" if that means anything? It appears that George Lucas made this movie simply to show the world he doesn't care what we think? All he wants to do is show off his new digital Where to begin? "Clones" is a far superior movie to "Menace" if that means anything? It appears that George Lucas made this movie simply to show the world he doesn't care what we think? All he wants to do is show off his new digital toys. The script is from a "B" movie; with the acting even worse. The actors appear as if they are reading from a cue card in a High School play. There is simply no chemistry at all between the main characters. For example, Natalie Portman is gorgeous and all woman. Hayden Christensen is a handsome boy and acts the part. The thought that she could have any romantic feelings is simply unbelievable. He is immature, openly impressed with his own ability (conceited) and violates every rule of a Jedi. His contempt for Ewan McGregor, whom he describes as his father figure, is simply not to be believed. At times, it appears what he needs more than anything is a good spanking. When he kills in cold blood for revenge, Natalie mothers him and says it's okay. George, he is already on the dark side for murder as he belongs in jail. The only saving grace invoking a reaction from the audience is when Yoda walking with a limp and a cane puts on a dazzling spectacle show with a Laser sword worthy of an Olympian gymnast. George, I am afraid that you are in need of some serious help. Where did it all go wrong? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MichelleP.Oct 8, 2002
This was easily one of the worst movies I've seen. And these words are coming out of the mouth of a girl who loved "The Empire Strikes Back". The setting was polluted, the characters lacked humanity, and it was too computerized for me This was easily one of the worst movies I've seen. And these words are coming out of the mouth of a girl who loved "The Empire Strikes Back". The setting was polluted, the characters lacked humanity, and it was too computerized for me to handle. What happened to Lucas's charm? Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
MissyJMay 16, 2002
A complete waste of time and money. And I so wanted this to be good. You just can't have a brain and a life and like this movie. The love story-HA!!! I think I'll go see Spider-Man again, someone who knows how to act and treat a lady
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RhysL.May 17, 2002
If I had not gone into the movie expecting nothing big I am sure I would have walked out very angry. Episode II was painful. After seeing the chaotic action scenes it just makes me wonder if Lucas made a pact with aspirin companies. The If I had not gone into the movie expecting nothing big I am sure I would have walked out very angry. Episode II was painful. After seeing the chaotic action scenes it just makes me wonder if Lucas made a pact with aspirin companies. The action was over done; The story was under done. Scenes with Ani and Padme were slow and the acting was flat. Scenes that were acctually /worth/ seeing ( Yoda .... with a light saber did rule ) were cut short way to soon. It was like the scene hit a wall out of no where and it was onto the next part. Lucas has no original thought... he even goes as far as to rip off his own movies in hopes that it will be fresh and new now. No such luck Lucas, just let some one else finish the trilogy for you and go off to play with your pretty toys. Just do not make me sit though this again with Episode III. However, after I and II, I am afraid Episode III: Watch this movie because I am God ( In all seriousness at the rate Lucas is going this name is very possible. ) is just going to be another painful experience that would have all but the most deluded "Star Wars" fan "forming a grand army" and storming Lucas' house. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
MichaelH.May 17, 2002
The StarWars saga just died for me tonight. Episode II is dull and lifeless. The only scene that roused the crowd was when we finally got to see Yoda in action. Yet, even this moment was cut short, as the few true moments are, while the rest The StarWars saga just died for me tonight. Episode II is dull and lifeless. The only scene that roused the crowd was when we finally got to see Yoda in action. Yet, even this moment was cut short, as the few true moments are, while the rest is either painfully stagnant or a blur of incomprehensible action. The vaunted digital effects are overwhelming and actually detract from the advancement of the story. You could forgive Episode I as the difficulty of getting back in the saddle after 20 years just like the ponderously bad first StarTrek movie. Episode II is a violation of the very spirit of adventure that StarWars brought to us all. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DanielZ.May 18, 2002
As one friend put it, "yoda owns", and i'd hafta agree with that, cause yoda does own, he owns the only good 2 and a half minutes in the entire film... I give this a 3 for special effects.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
RDuestMay 20, 2002
One of the stupiest movies ever made, and probably the biggest opportunity lost. The story of good gone bad (Vaders tell) has SO much potential, but alas lucas is money grubbing fool that simply doesn't care. The 10's are by the One of the stupiest movies ever made, and probably the biggest opportunity lost. The story of good gone bad (Vaders tell) has SO much potential, but alas lucas is money grubbing fool that simply doesn't care. The 10's are by the legion of 10 yr olds out there; don't believe it. Read the NY Times review, it's the most right on of them all. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
ZachM.Jun 24, 2002
Lucas is so unskilled at directing actors that he turns talents like Samuel L. Jackson and Ewan McGregor into robotic one-liner machines, relegating them to the low level of Hayden Christiansen and Natalie Portman (maybe to make those Lucas is so unskilled at directing actors that he turns talents like Samuel L. Jackson and Ewan McGregor into robotic one-liner machines, relegating them to the low level of Hayden Christiansen and Natalie Portman (maybe to make those no-talent hacks feel better about being beautiful yet utterly worthless?). He also intentionally fills the video (it ain't a film) with stereotypes and racism - check the creature with the Italian accent that's fat, sloppy and has flies buzzing around him, for example. The video also contains shameless anti-drug and pro-American propaganda. The city design and action sequences are ripped off from Blade Runner and The Fifth Element, which makes them entirely boring for even casual sci-fi fans. At least he added some spice by creating homosexual innuendo between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker, but that may very well have been unintentional. And why in the hell do the characters suddenly use contemporary American slang (e.g. "Good call, my young Padwan")??? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
Yong-WooK.Jun 7, 2002
This movie is very boring for as I have remembered. The visual effects and the sound is quite good in some ways, but that still dosen't make the diffrence. The acting was disappointing and the story keeps on dragging. Not enough This movie is very boring for as I have remembered. The visual effects and the sound is quite good in some ways, but that still dosen't make the diffrence. The acting was disappointing and the story keeps on dragging. Not enough excitement compared to Star Wars: A new hope. The sound is good but not for the quality. This movie feels so long. I'm hoping that Episode 3 would be better. But I'm concerned after the disappointment that this movie has to face. (Except for the sound effects). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SethB.May 16, 2002
Awful movie. My problem with it is the acting. I can't get into the movie because I don't believe in the charachters. And what Marc D. said was totally right, the Obi-Wan storyline is much better than the love story thing which was Awful movie. My problem with it is the acting. I can't get into the movie because I don't believe in the charachters. And what Marc D. said was totally right, the Obi-Wan storyline is much better than the love story thing which was pure stupidity. But that's what you get when you have a bunch of people who I suspect never had a girlfriend in life try to write a love story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AppleH.May 26, 2002
What in the world is the message George Lucas is trying to send? Beside bad acting and a poor script, what values is he trying to teach the youth of America? He gives a boy (a conceited spoiled brat) special powers as a Jedi who abuses them. What in the world is the message George Lucas is trying to send? Beside bad acting and a poor script, what values is he trying to teach the youth of America? He gives a boy (a conceited spoiled brat) special powers as a Jedi who abuses them. He constantly does not listen and disobeys his father and his elders. He is jealous, a braggart, and in constant competition to show his manhood. Why in the world would these wise Jedi entrust him with power as he is truly undeserving? The kid desperately needs some professional counseling. George then sends the wrong message, in that in these trying times (terrorists), he says it's okay to kill an entire race of people as this brat murders them in their sleep for revenge. How parents can take their children to see this message is simply unbelievable? Absolutely terrible movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobertoL.May 27, 2002
Sebastian M. I do not know how old you are but you seem like an impressionable young pre-teen? You will not impress girls by telling them that you are better than your elders and teachers and going out and committing mass murder. Believe me, Sebastian M. I do not know how old you are but you seem like an impressionable young pre-teen? You will not impress girls by telling them that you are better than your elders and teachers and going out and committing mass murder. Believe me, you will never get the girl! Instead you receive about about fifty years to life in prison. Please do not look at Annakin as your role model. George Lucas is this what you really intended? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
HarryH.Jun 4, 2002
Other than Yoda doing his Kung Fu, which at least got a reaction from the audience; otherwise, this movie was absolutely horrible. Terrible script, bad acting and all that busy digital special effects had my head spinning. Pretty boy, and I Other than Yoda doing his Kung Fu, which at least got a reaction from the audience; otherwise, this movie was absolutely horrible. Terrible script, bad acting and all that busy digital special effects had my head spinning. Pretty boy, and I mean boy, Hayden Christensen acted as if he were a wooden Indian. How could anyone other than a teenager have any romantic feeling for him? He was so bad in the role that it appeared as if it were a High School production. Enough already George. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TerryH.Aug 14, 2002
Sucked big time. The only reason why this got good ratings is because of die hard star wars fans defending this movie. It is heard that the whole world almost hated this movie. Except for America which had mixed reviews. Clones:17 million Sucked big time. The only reason why this got good ratings is because of die hard star wars fans defending this movie. It is heard that the whole world almost hated this movie. Except for America which had mixed reviews. Clones:17 million thumbs down. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BethyS.May 16, 2002
Totally a young boy's flick. A "minuteman" of a movie; at first I was interested, then sleepy for the next hour and 45 minutes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RickG.May 17, 2002
Bottom Line: If you are older (mentally or otherwise) than 10 you will be very dissappointed with this mess. While some would give it a rating above zero because of the special effects, I argue that at this time in history that's a no Bottom Line: If you are older (mentally or otherwise) than 10 you will be very dissappointed with this mess. While some would give it a rating above zero because of the special effects, I argue that at this time in history that's a no brainer -- anyone can do great effects -- so no points for the what we come to expect. Go see Lord of the Rings, that movie is everything a great adventure film should be and forget you ever heard of Star Wars, at this rate the orignal three are becoming more worthless by the second. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
EricL.May 17, 2002
Bad, bad, bad... Bad acting, bad story, even some poor cinematography. This film was a huge disappointment! Yoda in action was the only glimmer of hope that this film held and even that scene felt as if it was cut short. As for the rest of Bad, bad, bad... Bad acting, bad story, even some poor cinematography. This film was a huge disappointment! Yoda in action was the only glimmer of hope that this film held and even that scene felt as if it was cut short. As for the rest of the movie it felt like a really slow drive down a very bumpy road... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
PaulP.May 25, 2002
Boring for the most part. Some neat special effects which couldn't save bad script and acting. The yoda fight scene was pretty cool, though!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
A step down from The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones has an over usage of effects (although they're decent) and still doesn't capture the same Star Wars feel the original trilogy had.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
A superior sequel. Star Wars: Attack of the clones is better than Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (but so is smashing your head against the Bathroom mirror).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
BenHazeldenJan 23, 2015
I don't like sand. It's coarse, and rough, and irritating - and it gets everywhere. Just like this movie.

Incredible Thriller - had me sobbing at the end.

0/10 - Ben Hazelden
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
seventhbeaconDec 30, 2015
Begun, this bowel movement has.

Easily the worst Star Wars film of them all (yes, even more so than Phantom Menace). A testament to what happens when George Lucas has complete creative freedom and no one there to question him creatively.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RDGJan 6, 2015
Worst Star Wars movie hands down. Cringe worthy dialogue and acting. A story that makes no sense and is full of plot holes. Outdated and cheap looking CGI environments, characters and battle scenes. An awful romance subplot.
Lucas made some
Worst Star Wars movie hands down. Cringe worthy dialogue and acting. A story that makes no sense and is full of plot holes. Outdated and cheap looking CGI environments, characters and battle scenes. An awful romance subplot.
Lucas made some bad choices when making this film but the worst was giving Yoda and lightsaber and having him fight in a duel. The CGI fighting looked really bad and it overall ruined the wise and mystical character of Yoda from the Empire Strikes Back and turned him into some bulls*** action hero.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
CharlieW.Feb 21, 2006
The only good thing I can say about this movie is that Jar-Jar is not in it... thank god...
7 of 10 users found this helpful
2
Longbottom94Apr 25, 2013
Even with the reduced Jar-Jar Binks screen time, Lucas' grueling, emo space opera some how achieves the dubious achievement of being worse than 'The Phantom Menace'. Even Though episode 1 was a bad movie, it contained a couple entertainingEven with the reduced Jar-Jar Binks screen time, Lucas' grueling, emo space opera some how achieves the dubious achievement of being worse than 'The Phantom Menace'. Even Though episode 1 was a bad movie, it contained a couple entertaining scenes e.g. The Pod race and The final duel. Episode 2 has the infuriating dilemma of having absolutely no engaging, memorable or even slightly entertaining scenes. Even the Yoda light saber scene reeks of desperate fan pleasing Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
AndyS.May 17, 2002
So bad as to beggar the imagination. Bad as in dull, soul-numbing bad, not as in campy, amusing bad. That's right, folks, it's another massive eruption of anti-art from the bottomless well of idiot's drool otherwise known as So bad as to beggar the imagination. Bad as in dull, soul-numbing bad, not as in campy, amusing bad. That's right, folks, it's another massive eruption of anti-art from the bottomless well of idiot's drool otherwise known as Hollywood. The theater was pulsing with energy; spontaneous cheers went up at the appearance of the Lucasfilms logo. The next audience sound, other than low, embarrassed laughter, happened more than two hours later (when Yoda .....). The rest was silence. As we were filing out past the incoming crowd of victims, one was heard to comment, "They don't look happy." We were not happy. Don't waste your time and money on this garbage; and please help discourage Mr. Lucas from committing further aesthetic war crimes by mercilessly ridiculing him and any of his blind, tone-deaf, mentally-challenged supporters. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
R.SmithJul 21, 2007
What was George Lucas thinking? Has he completely lost his mind? As a long time Star Wars fan, this movie was so disappointing. The acting is awful, downright awful, and the plot has nothing going for it. The only good things about it were What was George Lucas thinking? Has he completely lost his mind? As a long time Star Wars fan, this movie was so disappointing. The acting is awful, downright awful, and the plot has nothing going for it. The only good things about it were the light-saber fight at the end with Yoda, and that Jar Jar Binks wasn't in it. What a waste of talent, and expectation. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful
3
PahnJan 21, 2012
Lucas should've stuck with the muppets used in episodes IV - VI instead of the green screen CG characters. There's an obvious disconnect between the living breathing actors and those who are digitally created to the point it's justLucas should've stuck with the muppets used in episodes IV - VI instead of the green screen CG characters. There's an obvious disconnect between the living breathing actors and those who are digitally created to the point it's just uncomfortable watching those scenes. And the dialogue. WOW . "Hold me, like you did by the lake on Naboo." Poor Natalie Portman. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
billJul 15, 2009
For me this was the worst of the six star wars movies. As a matter of fact I wouldn't call it a movie until the last 20 minutes. The begining and middle of this film was boring and predictable. Only the dule between Dooku and Yoda saved For me this was the worst of the six star wars movies. As a matter of fact I wouldn't call it a movie until the last 20 minutes. The begining and middle of this film was boring and predictable. Only the dule between Dooku and Yoda saved this movie from being a big fat 0. But even then it was to little to late. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
ascoltami86May 29, 2013
I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes than lightsaber battle scenes like Millennium Falcon from Return of the Jedi. I don't really like lightsaber. I like Rebel Assault II: The Hidden Empire than the movies.
I wanted Jamison Jones
I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes than lightsaber battle scenes like Millennium Falcon from Return of the Jedi. I don't really like lightsaber. I like Rebel Assault II: The Hidden Empire than the movies.
I wanted Jamison Jones to be in the movie.
I don't like when there are too many people,aliens in the scene, like The Lord of the Rings, The Dark Knight Rises.
Characters were quite boring, I wanted to see characters with make-up, mask on, human form Alien, 4 leg aliens, monsters.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
matta.Oct 20, 2005
I hadn't seen this since the theaters over three years ago, and I remeber it being pretty bad then, but wow, last night when I decided to go back and see just how bad it was, boy was I treated to one of most shitty films in recent I hadn't seen this since the theaters over three years ago, and I remeber it being pretty bad then, but wow, last night when I decided to go back and see just how bad it was, boy was I treated to one of most shitty films in recent memory. With Lucas, it's a given that the dialogue, acting, and story are going to be bad, but even the visuals were terribly shoddy. During some scenes I seriously thought that I was watching "Shrek 2." I used to think that this and the first of the prequels were about on par, but this one is without a doubt worse (Menace is still only a 3 mind you). Even taking this for what it is, a fantasy, sci-fi film, it is terrible. Diehard nerds may enjoy this poor excuse for filmmaking, but everyone else needs to stay away. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
DisappointedALotOct 14, 2002
Neither this film, nor the the Phantom Menace, really feels like Star Wars. Lucas kept on saying how difficult it would be to meet audience's expectations after the first trilogy. But what what was he talking about? The first three Neither this film, nor the the Phantom Menace, really feels like Star Wars. Lucas kept on saying how difficult it would be to meet audience's expectations after the first trilogy. But what what was he talking about? The first three films were stunning. When coming to these Prequels everything was already in place for Lucas to make a cracking trilogy. Instead we have the drivel which describes both Phantom and Clones. All audiences really expected was good acting (Mark Hamill, Harrisson Ford etc did seem to enjoy being in the film and they played the characters as if they BELIEVED they were real). Natalie Portman, Ewan etc, just don't believe in what they are doing. I am amazed at how bad their acting is..it is laughable. The script is terrible and doesn't allow the actors to put any emotion into their performances. The action sequences are just trash...even the car scene at the start of Clones soon degenerates into ridiculous farce with people falling thousands of feet and grabbing the bumpers of cars below. There is a sense in these films that nothing is at stake, the characters indestructible. The other nail in the coffin is the SFX...let's face it, the original trilogy looked a lot better. This computer generated garbage is over used..yes , it looks good for the cityscapes but the Jar Jar battle in Phantom was like watching an animation and the same goes for the final battle in clones. It looks crap, the monsters don't touch the likes of Jurrasic Park and it is very difficult to get involved with something that looks like a video game. CGI has its place, but Lucas has changed his philosophy of "effects being a merely a tool to sell a story". Here, the effects are the story. (The lightsaber fights are still Ok, though and the kung fu style of Darth maul gave it a good edge). The final problem for me is the forced humour which permeates these new films, especially Phantom. The jar Jar battle is all kidish nonsense that destroys the epci feel the first trilogy tried to create...there is no grit in these films and the "natural" humour we saw in Starwas and ESB is gone. What we have is that stupid, slapstick stuff that started to kick in a little with Jedi. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
HomeCriticMay 23, 2014
A film only good to make fun out of and rip apart when watching with friends. Another disgraceful chapter on Lucas' relentless mission to give people his unpolished mess of his Star Wars prequels vision.
This film is a bundle of **** it has
A film only good to make fun out of and rip apart when watching with friends. Another disgraceful chapter on Lucas' relentless mission to give people his unpolished mess of his Star Wars prequels vision.
This film is a bundle of **** it has everything: bad dialogues, bland lifeless characters, probably the stupidest idea of a romance ever captured on the big screen, overuse of CGI to the point it all looks like a videogame cutscene (like an expensive episode of Command and Conquer) and lore breaking decisions that were outright stupid (like giving Yoda a lightsaber). And at the epicenter of this butchering of the franchise is none other than Georgy, because like Phantom Menace it felt like there was no collaboration - they do only what George tells them to do without questioning his decisions (feels like George is the Emperor himself)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
RobobobFeb 1, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE worst Star Wars film... and this is coming for a life long Star Wars fan. There is so much wrong with this film I don't know where to begin. Let's start with the title: Why is this movie called Attack of the Clones? Who are they attacking because they actually come to the rescue at the end of the movie. This title would have fitted the third film better.
The "friendship" between Obi-Wan and Anakin is not believable. Obi-Wan is sometimes a bossy father figure while Anakin comes across as a pouty spoiled brat.
The "love" between Padme and Anakin is also not believable. Yeah, they're both good looking but aside from that why are they attracted to each other? Girls, if a guy cries to you on your first date that he's slain a village full of people, dump him and move out of town. Guys, if a girl keeps telling you she's not interested but keeps wearing sexy clothes during alone time, she's a tease... move on.
Some of the epic battle scenes look video game cutscenes from a PS3 game. Something just looks off. Maybe it's because every clone trooper is CGI instead of an actor in a suit.
Aside from those major issues there's plenty of silly moments like when Jango Fett chooses to kill his bounty hunter partner instead of killing the 2 Jedi that had their backs to him. Oh, and if he is the best bounty hunter in the galaxy then why is he paying someone else to do his work?
Anakin jumps out of a speeder thousands of feet in the air and Obi-Wan says, "I hate it when he does that." Really? Anakin is jumping out of moving vehicles often or just doing stupid things often?
And the icing on the cake: Why would the scheming Sith master create 2 armies to fight each other when he could just use both to take over a galactic government that has no standing army? The entire basis of the trilogy is just plain idiotic.
There's tons more, but I wasted enough time talking about this train wreck of a film.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
EpilepticDec 7, 2014
A superior sequel. Star Wars: Attack of the clones is better than Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (but so is smashing your head against the Bathroom mirror).
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
ghomasmMay 16, 2009
I am sorry this has to be the worst movie i have seen and this includes house of the dead. The love scene in the meadow made be blush with embarasement that human made it.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
JacobJan 2, 2013
As a kid I loved Star Wars Attack of the Clones. The film had good music, CGI effects, and sound effects. I loved the universe of Star Wars and I still do. However, now that I am older I see the films biggest problems. The terrible pacing ofAs a kid I loved Star Wars Attack of the Clones. The film had good music, CGI effects, and sound effects. I loved the universe of Star Wars and I still do. However, now that I am older I see the films biggest problems. The terrible pacing of the film along with no real threat or conflict along with weak characters and story prevent the film from being as good as the original Star Wars films. I could go into great depth about the problems with the characters and the story and why and how their weak but if you want that go watch RedLetterMedia Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
doctor2001Apr 25, 2011
Shockingly bad how after he made so many good films could george lucas make this abomination it is by far the worst thing to have the star wars name attached to it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Oct 21, 2011
Attack of the Clones has all the hallmarks of a decent Sci-Fi film, in fact a great Star Wars film but it is let down by truly terrible scripting (Obi Wan's "I Don't believe you" to Dooku being one of many) some poor casting choices (HaydenAttack of the Clones has all the hallmarks of a decent Sci-Fi film, in fact a great Star Wars film but it is let down by truly terrible scripting (Obi Wan's "I Don't believe you" to Dooku being one of many) some poor casting choices (Hayden Christiansen) and an annoying love story that was necessary but thoroughly irritating. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
ZegilgameshDec 29, 2012
The dialogue is excruciating, the characters and performances range from unbearable to decent, but the story and special effects are fascinating enough to save it from complete failure.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
GiorgioZ.Jun 15, 2002
George we are begging you get some professionals to help you with what is hopefully your last movie ever! Simply awful exploitation of what was once wonderful! To reduce past greatness to this is an atrocity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanM.Jun 20, 2002
This film truly made me nautious. Literally. I also would like to add that I think the Star Wars trilogy is about as dead as Pokemon.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndriusB.Jun 22, 2002
What's the deal with the chase scenes in "Clones" and "Minority Report"? Both have a traffic chase and an industrial nightmare chase. But "Clones" is so laughable and "Minority" has real horror. I thought Steve & George were good old What's the deal with the chase scenes in "Clones" and "Minority Report"? Both have a traffic chase and an industrial nightmare chase. But "Clones" is so laughable and "Minority" has real horror. I thought Steve & George were good old friends. Was this some stupid bet? Sorry George, just drop the whole deal, it's over, okay? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JulianG.Jun 6, 2002
I agree completely with Harry H. While Episode 1 may have not been a good film, this new Star Wars makes me like it a hell of a lot more. The only part worth watching that brings the old Star Wars feeling of being thoroughly entertained by I agree completely with Harry H. While Episode 1 may have not been a good film, this new Star Wars makes me like it a hell of a lot more. The only part worth watching that brings the old Star Wars feeling of being thoroughly entertained by the masters is Yoda weilding a lightsaber....for 30 seconds. I would like to commend Harry on his comments about Hayden, he couldn't have said it better, Hayden is a child who made me want to kill myself while viewing, but let's not forget that this is most likely none of his fault. George, shut your mouth and give up, Kurtz is gone, Star Wars ended when he stopped containing your three year old mind, so please do not even bother making Episode III, unless you plan on getting him back on the project so he can limit you and maybe hire a director who actually directs his actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredA.Sep 8, 2002
This movie is the worst movie ever and I am not joking. Whoever says this is the best movie ever has not bothered to see any other movie. If this is sposed to be a real epic I am not impressed. In order to make the next episode feel like a This movie is the worst movie ever and I am not joking. Whoever says this is the best movie ever has not bothered to see any other movie. If this is sposed to be a real epic I am not impressed. In order to make the next episode feel like a real epic Lucas better reduce this movie's teen style romance and add in more ingredients that made the rel star wars so great. Lord of the rings is a real epic. So ditch episode 2 and wait for the 2 towers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlexMar 24, 2003
This movie is full of idiocy directed by an idiot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MilaC.May 9, 2003
Oh please...I didn't "judge it before I saw it". I saw it, and it was a mess. No emotion at all from the actors of their characters. I was in absolute AGONY when watching them. It was worse than the first 4 days of having braces... The Oh please...I didn't "judge it before I saw it". I saw it, and it was a mess. No emotion at all from the actors of their characters. I was in absolute AGONY when watching them. It was worse than the first 4 days of having braces... The special effects were cool (which is why I'm giving it one point), but it was all too strange and it didn't feel like a Star Wars movie. Thankfully, there was no sexual sitiuations, but could we please have more emotion from Anakin and Padme about there wonderfully romantic realationship please? WHAT HAPPENED TO YOU, YODA?! Did you watch the Matrix and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon 50 times and decide, "Well, if the audience enjoyed the eye candy in those movies...maybe I could have some of that in MY movie!" Come on...The first time I saw the commercial of that happening, I was laughing so hard I couldn't stop. I kid you not. I mean I can see Yoda with the controlling powers, that suits him fine. He's peaceful and wise. But kung fu doesn't suit him one bit... Back to the bad acting. I don't think it was the actors and actress's faults. I think it was the horrible script and director that did it. No soul in the script either. My recommendation: if you want real sci-fi or fantasy eye candy, with great characters and a great story, here's the movies I recommend: the original Star Wars trilogy, The Matrix, and/or Lord of the Rings. Now THOSE are masterpieces. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EddieD.Sep 9, 2008
This is definitely one of the worst movies I have ever seen.The first 30 minutes is completely unnecessary, and boring. And they wasted another useless 40 minutes fooling around with Anakin and Pad Me. The plotline- FAIL! The action- FAIL! This is definitely one of the worst movies I have ever seen.The first 30 minutes is completely unnecessary, and boring. And they wasted another useless 40 minutes fooling around with Anakin and Pad Me. The plotline- FAIL! The action- FAIL! The romance- three thumbs down. I want my money, and my time back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesC.Nov 15, 2002
I gave this a 2 for the neat graphics. The biggest problem "Attack of the Clones" faces is lack of character development. In "Star Wars," the actors and actresses were good enough to add personalities to their characters. Harrison Ford I gave this a 2 for the neat graphics. The biggest problem "Attack of the Clones" faces is lack of character development. In "Star Wars," the actors and actresses were good enough to add personalities to their characters. Harrison Ford personified Han Solo; Mark Hammill's name is synonymous with Luke Skywalker. Lucas hit the jackpot with some excellent actors. In the case of "Attack of the Clones" and "The Phantom Menace," you have bad acting, bad dialog, lack of personality and no character development. It's over 20 years later and Star Wars Episodes 4, 5 and 6 are still attracting new viewings and creating faithful fans. I don't see this happening with Espisode 1 and 2 -- the main fact is that no one cares about these characters. "Clones" has been praised for it's special effects (which are good), but this only should contribute to 50% of the movie. The other 50% should be the basics -- acting for one. Granted, a lot of viewers really don't care about character development, it's the special effects that matter. But give a film 20 years, let it become outdated and see if you watch it for the special effects alone... that's what separates the good movies from the bad. This movie, just like its predecessor, while I tried to like them, falls into the bad category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CalebT.Nov 18, 2002
Boring. I went to watch this 'cause the rest of the family went.somehow I've seen "episode 1" twice (which i absolutly hate) and can honestly say this is a far better movie but it dosn't take much to overshadow the awefulBoring. I went to watch this 'cause the rest of the family went.somehow I've seen "episode 1" twice (which i absolutly hate) and can honestly say this is a far better movie but it dosn't take much to overshadow the aweful "episode 1". I personally don't give a crap about this politics of this planet and that planet so show me more exciting scenes! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
EricC.Nov 19, 2002
Within the first thirty minutes of this film, I felt that this movie was not going to be as good as I expected it to be and also that I never wanted to see some of these scenes ever again. I'm always expecting some major event happen, Within the first thirty minutes of this film, I felt that this movie was not going to be as good as I expected it to be and also that I never wanted to see some of these scenes ever again. I'm always expecting some major event happen, but it took an hour and a half for it to happen. And since nothing else ever did, why did I even bother with this film? (because its Star Wars, I guess.) When I saw the bad acting job of every character, new and old, I realized that with a plot this dumb, what could the actors have done with it? Lucas has turned his beloved sci-fi saga into a cheap crowd pleaser, filled with laser battles, robots, and flying yodas. It's not horrible, but it really degrades the level to which Star Wars had reached. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TravisC.Nov 22, 2002
The extended amount of on-screen time devoted to the flat Hayden Christensen is the main anchor weighing this epic dud down. He is uninteresting to watch and displays all the emotion of a rock (and that's an insult to rocks everywhere.) The extended amount of on-screen time devoted to the flat Hayden Christensen is the main anchor weighing this epic dud down. He is uninteresting to watch and displays all the emotion of a rock (and that's an insult to rocks everywhere.) If I wanted to watch a pissed off, spoiled teenager, I'd go to the mall. Ewan McGregor as always is a joy to watch and is the only reason I gave this snoozer a 3. The rest of the film itself probably deserves a 1. Even the action scenes are boring. Instead of focussing on the action, the movie distracts you by cramming as many "cool" graphics and scenery into every frame. Definitely computerized overkill. Especially the laughingly cheesy final battle. Just because 1,000's of people/droids are firing lasers and advancing on each other, doesn't mean it's intriguing or entertaining. I certainly hope for a simpler formula in Episode III. Thank goodness we won't have to watch Hayden Christensen again. In fact, if he's ever in another movie, I'll be sure to avoid it. Unless I'm suffering from insomnia. In which case he'd be a sure fire cure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MaryL.Nov 9, 2002
I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that Ron Howard, Steven Speilberg, or M.Night Shylaman will direct EpisodeIII. I can't believe one of the critics gave this movie a 10. A 10? Even if this movie is a 50, I still think it's I'm just keeping my fingers crossed that Ron Howard, Steven Speilberg, or M.Night Shylaman will direct EpisodeIII. I can't believe one of the critics gave this movie a 10. A 10? Even if this movie is a 50, I still think it's overated. My brother is a serious Star Wars fan, and he didn't even like this movie. I heard a rumor that Lucas's goal was to match the special effects of this movie up with the special effects of "The Two Towers". Nice try, George Lucas. Yeah, the cast looked appealing only they were in need of some serious acting classes. Or maybe it was the cheesy script that had so many raw lines, it wouldn't allow the actors to act. Or maybe it was the now-airhead-director, George Lucas who didn't want them to act. Let's hope Lucas gets the message, and fast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HarryK.Dec 17, 2002
Easily one of the worst movies ever. I loved Episode 1, but this was total trash. The special effects didn't even look convincing. If this is an example of what we have to look forward to in Ep 3, then I'd rather the movie just Easily one of the worst movies ever. I loved Episode 1, but this was total trash. The special effects didn't even look convincing. If this is an example of what we have to look forward to in Ep 3, then I'd rather the movie just never be made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DemosM.May 17, 2002
What is going on. A film cannot exist on special effects. Fans say they are sick of hearing that the acting sucks and the script is lame. If the acting didn't suck, and the script wasn't banal crap, than guess what, you What is going on. A film cannot exist on special effects. Fans say they are sick of hearing that the acting sucks and the script is lame. If the acting didn't suck, and the script wasn't banal crap, than guess what, you wouldn't hear about it so much. These movies are not what I expect them to be, George Lucas has gone off the deep end. Yes I still love the orignal trilogy, but I and II are not worthy of the Star Wars name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanH.May 18, 2002
Except for the end battle, this movie would qualify as one of the worst movies ever filmed, or digitized as the case may be. This was AWFUL. The audience in the screening I attended, laughed at the actors on screen delivering their Except for the end battle, this movie would qualify as one of the worst movies ever filmed, or digitized as the case may be. This was AWFUL. The audience in the screening I attended, laughed at the actors on screen delivering their "romantic" lines. It would have been more interesting to talk to the people selling popcorn in the theater than to watch this bomb. Lucas, you've lost it, count me out. I sat through the last bad Star Wars movie, because it was Star Wars. All nostalgia is dead as of this pitiful stinker of a movie. I will not attend the next one. Someone, needs to tell Lucas to go watch Lord of the Rings to see how a real director crafts a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AngieMay 18, 2002
Tediuous and badly acted. Wonderful effects, but they can't sustain the movie, nor can they tell the story on their own. What Lucas is missing is Joseph Campbell; the sense of mythic epic that made Episodes 4, 5, and 6 so compelling was Tediuous and badly acted. Wonderful effects, but they can't sustain the movie, nor can they tell the story on their own. What Lucas is missing is Joseph Campbell; the sense of mythic epic that made Episodes 4, 5, and 6 so compelling was absent in Episode 1 and only poorly and sporadically done in Episode 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardM.May 24, 2002
Terrible script and almost entirely pointless action. Movies are SUPPOSED to be a story-telling device, but this is just special effects for their own sake, not in service of story-telling. The performances were awful. The audience was Terrible script and almost entirely pointless action. Movies are SUPPOSED to be a story-telling device, but this is just special effects for their own sake, not in service of story-telling. The performances were awful. The audience was laughing at the film derisively throughout (especially at the kid who plays Annakin, who is so wooden that he makes Al Gore seem like Robin Williams on crack). Yes, I paid for it and saw it, so Lucas is successful in his quest for our money, but he is a lousy filmmaker/storyteller, just a technical genius. Big deal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SmithJun 11, 2002
LOL, I can't believe some people are stupid enough to put 8, 9s and 10s (even 4,5 for that matter). The dialogue, the script, the story, the acting were all HORRIBLE. You would figure with the amount of money George Lucas has he would LOL, I can't believe some people are stupid enough to put 8, 9s and 10s (even 4,5 for that matter). The dialogue, the script, the story, the acting were all HORRIBLE. You would figure with the amount of money George Lucas has he would hire someone TO TELL HIM THIS! Episode 1 & 2 (and most likely 3 at this rate) fall short of 4, 5 and 6. The special effects were great, but without the story they remain meaningless. Bottom line: Save your money, unless you wanna see Yoda fight with for 30 seconds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AgustufusJul 17, 2002
I felt as if I was hit over the head with a large blunt object after viewing this film. I honestly feel that a part of my childhood was stolen from me after watching this piece of crap. I had a lot of fond memories of spending hours and I felt as if I was hit over the head with a large blunt object after viewing this film. I honestly feel that a part of my childhood was stolen from me after watching this piece of crap. I had a lot of fond memories of spending hours and hours playing with my star wars sh*t and it was all for nothing. Thanks George Lucas, you jerk. At least everyone agrees the acting is bad. I was told to wait out the first hour and than the action starts. WHAT ACTION. The jedis fought like a bunch of sissies, an entire scene lasting twenty or was it forty minutes, felt like a playstation game, and when has R2-D2 ever had jet packs. Give me a break. Please, Please, give someone else the director?s chair for the last episode. It?s most likely our president will blow up the world, hopefully it will happen after I see Return of the King and before the last star wars comes out. Oh, and the 3 rating is strictly for the CGI guys. Hey George Lucas, you and Star Wars SUCK. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamL.Nov 28, 2005
This movie straight up sucked! A 1 is giving it a little, but only for the one scene in the Naboo Plains where they're talking about Padme's old boyfriend, but right afterword they have they'rs flirting sesion and it starts This movie straight up sucked! A 1 is giving it a little, but only for the one scene in the Naboo Plains where they're talking about Padme's old boyfriend, but right afterword they have they'rs flirting sesion and it starts sucking again. Except for Star Wars Collectors like me, don't buy it, it is just a waste of money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ThomasC.May 23, 2005
The casting, lighting, scenery, sets, script, special effects, photography, and editing were terrible. I didn't care about any character or the galaxy's political issues. Yoda's digital head looked like inflated plastic. The The casting, lighting, scenery, sets, script, special effects, photography, and editing were terrible. I didn't care about any character or the galaxy's political issues. Yoda's digital head looked like inflated plastic. The battle scenes were cluttered, unsuspenseful, and inconclusive. All danger was synthetic. No dramatic tension could build in such a convoluted plot mixed with so much lame, unfunny comic relief. Digital video looked blurry, dim, and ugly. The action scenes simply took place with no buildup or payoff. I used to like Threepio and light sabers and now I'm sick of them. This movie was extremely unsatisfying and a total failure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RJGDec 12, 2002
Easily the stupiest movie I've ever seen. Or, on the positive, it's the best 2hr toy commercial I've ever sat thru. Really quite a load of utter crap. Mr. Lucas you are beginning to make me hate the original glorious 2.5 Star Easily the stupiest movie I've ever seen. Or, on the positive, it's the best 2hr toy commercial I've ever sat thru. Really quite a load of utter crap. Mr. Lucas you are beginning to make me hate the original glorious 2.5 Star Wars films. Seriously, DON'T make the third installment, it will not help. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HomerJ.SimpsonDec 16, 2002
Holi Crapoli! I can?t believe some of those reviews. A ten? Look, I can suspend reality and believe in 8-legged-praying-mantis-robot-aliens if you need me to, but the acting has to be believable. The actors were completely monotone. What?s Holi Crapoli! I can?t believe some of those reviews. A ten? Look, I can suspend reality and believe in 8-legged-praying-mantis-robot-aliens if you need me to, but the acting has to be believable. The actors were completely monotone. What?s with that love story?? I can?t figure out why they would even want to love each other. And if Anikin was so upset about his mother dying, where was he when she was being sold as a slave? Bad acting, bad story, but plenty of high calorie eye candy. mmmmmm, eye candy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
Taking a huge turn for the worst, This film is prety terrible. It really has no build up to it at all, It feels like its just a bunch of random scenes cut together that they hoped would give a good experiance to the viewer but it doesnt. TheTaking a huge turn for the worst, This film is prety terrible. It really has no build up to it at all, It feels like its just a bunch of random scenes cut together that they hoped would give a good experiance to the viewer but it doesnt. The lead actors/actresses are pretty terrible as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
heloheApr 20, 2015
Good points: Natalie Portman is hot.
Bad points: Terrible terrible acting by everyone involved. Boring plot. Sleep inducing politics. Totally unnecessary movie. Plot holes and inconsistencies all over. No logic whatsoever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Jedi_JettsonJul 16, 2012
Attack of the Clones contains the worst love story in the history of science fiction and the action is covered in overrated visual effects. The acting between Anakin and Padme was also bad. The battle of Geonosis also had too many explosionsAttack of the Clones contains the worst love story in the history of science fiction and the action is covered in overrated visual effects. The acting between Anakin and Padme was also bad. The battle of Geonosis also had too many explosions and too many walkers and droids destroying each other. It was pretty stale without any dogfight-like scenes. The duel between Anakin, Obi-Wan, Dooku, and Yoda was boring. But some of the action was pretty good including the dogfight over Geonosis between Obi-Wan and Jango/Boba Fett but the story involved too with the horrible love story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieFan123Mar 16, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was very shocked to see how messy this film was. There were to many love scenes and not enough fighting. However I would not call it the worst film ever but it was the worst film in the Star Wars trilogy. There is however a good fight scene at the end but that is just about it. Also the movie posts good CGI but, it doesn't live up to the original one at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
LaGuertaFeb 26, 2013
The purpose of this film seems to be to give context to characters with little or no point to them, in order to justify selling small plastic versions of them later.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Movie1997Dec 22, 2015
"The Phantom Menace" may be a simply a bad movie, this one is unfortunately worse. Instead of loads of tax federation crap, we got loads of Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman having a horrifically forced love story. Instead of mildly fun"The Phantom Menace" may be a simply a bad movie, this one is unfortunately worse. Instead of loads of tax federation crap, we got loads of Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman having a horrifically forced love story. Instead of mildly fun light saber fights, we get mediocre light saber fights. Instead of bad writing, we get abizmole writing. You see the point I'm trying to make. After "The Phantom Menace" didn't deliver like most people hoped it would, you would at least expect Lucas to actually try with the next one. And to be fair he does try to be different. However, he goes in the opposite direction and writes one of the worst loves in history and a story about clone troopers that doesn't go into effect until the last act. Beyond just the screenplay, the visuals still look hoaky, some even worse than last time. The performances are honestly even worse than from the last movie. If anything, I felt that my time was wasted for the most part. Again, like "The Phantom Menace", there are moments of promise. But there's very little of it. Where as "The Phantom Menace" had its good moments a little too far and in between, "Attack of the Clones" barely has any moments like that throughout the entire movie. With a title like "Attack of the Clones", I was hoping for something fun and exciting even if it was brainless fun. Overall, it disappoints even more so than usual with terrible dialogue, terrible performances, a terrible story, and a terribly God-awful love story. I give it a D+! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MichaelBagameryDec 31, 2014
I would have emerged more thrilled from a coma. Don't misunderstand me; this is better than 'The Phantom Menace', but only less bad rather than actually good. The opening chase is fun, but immediately after it's over, the movie pretty muchI would have emerged more thrilled from a coma. Don't misunderstand me; this is better than 'The Phantom Menace', but only less bad rather than actually good. The opening chase is fun, but immediately after it's over, the movie pretty much flatlines. The acting is weak and the story is really only there as an excuse to show off the CG. Methinks George Lucas wasn't prepared for the backlash against 'The Phantom Menace'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
marcmyworksDec 27, 2015
I don't think there are enough words to explain how much I hate this film. It doesn't mean I won't try. I loothe this movie, from its incredible bad dialogue, to its unnecessary use of CGI (the chairs in Amadala's room? Really?). I would haveI don't think there are enough words to explain how much I hate this film. It doesn't mean I won't try. I loothe this movie, from its incredible bad dialogue, to its unnecessary use of CGI (the chairs in Amadala's room? Really?). I would have hoped after the disaster of Episode 1 George Lucas may have decided to bring a bit back of what was loved. Unfortunately it just doesn't work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GamerMxNov 28, 2015
Es en este episodio donde conoceriamos al mejor y mas poderoso jedi de todos, en cambio nos regalan la vision imborrable de un puberto insufrible, estupido y pedante que hace imposible cualquier empatia, como es que este inepto se convirtioEs en este episodio donde conoceriamos al mejor y mas poderoso jedi de todos, en cambio nos regalan la vision imborrable de un puberto insufrible, estupido y pedante que hace imposible cualquier empatia, como es que este inepto se convirtio en Darth Vader? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Red-Opposom-098May 18, 2015
Worst in the series, instead of it being a memorable Star Wars film it decides to be a forgettable love story. I'm not one to bash on the prequels (I really liked Ep 3) but this is one of the worst Star Wars movies and one of the worst moviesWorst in the series, instead of it being a memorable Star Wars film it decides to be a forgettable love story. I'm not one to bash on the prequels (I really liked Ep 3) but this is one of the worst Star Wars movies and one of the worst movies of all time (in my opinion). The battle between all the Jedi is kinda cool I guess, but the main story is just so forced down your throughout, and the dialogue is even worse. There isn't anything good about this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
morganstephens5Aug 10, 2015
The worst Star Wars film by far. Anybody who disagrees with this claim is simply in denial. I thought Phantom Menace was a decent starting film that is underrated. This one is overrated for even simply having a higher score than Menace onThe worst Star Wars film by far. Anybody who disagrees with this claim is simply in denial. I thought Phantom Menace was a decent starting film that is underrated. This one is overrated for even simply having a higher score than Menace on this site. The story wasn't there, the acting was worse and the characters don't make me care really. Besides Obi Won, who was a great character with what was given to him. The scene with Yoda hoping around was terrible and the action isn't good at all. Jango Fett was a alright character that was thrown aside after one film. Very much like Darth Maul. The effects were actually even worse in this one than the other films by far. The story in this one also makes very little to no sense and just sort of makes you role your eyes. At least it gets better from here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MrMovieBuffJan 3, 2016
"I don't like sand, it's coarse, rough, it's irritating. And it gets everywhere" The wise words of our hopeless hero in George Lucas' 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones', the second installment of the prequel trilogy.

The second feature
"I don't like sand, it's coarse, rough, it's irritating. And it gets everywhere" The wise words of our hopeless hero in George Lucas' 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones', the second installment of the prequel trilogy.

The second feature focuses on our "hero"(?) Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) as he is still training to become a true Jedi, thanks to the lessons of the legendary Obi Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor). But, only one thing seems to bother our now grown-up hero, he is still infatuated with Padme (Natalie Portman), even though Jedi are not supposed to fall in love.

While the CGI continues to improve and still looks impressive (this was made in 2002), that isn't enough to hie the stiff acting, mostly coming from the lead actor, Christensen. Every line of dialogue, once again, is like poetry, so you can't blame him for having a bit of trouble making these lines sound convincing, lines such as; "I'm haunted by the kiss, that you should never have given me", Lucas, what ever happened to just the simple "You shouldn't have kissed me...that was bad"? Do you really expect your actors to give good performances with these lines?

Ewan McGregor is the reason why you should continue to watch this movie, his presence, and convincing performance makes me glad that he is just there. The movie lights up whenever he is on screen, and you cannot help but wonder why McGregor is still part of this tragedy of a series.

The main enemy is Count Dooku (Christopher Lee), and he gives another great performance, as expected. My issue is that, he doesn't seem to be a memorable villain in the "Star Wars" canon. Maybe it's because he is mentioned in the crawl text sequence, but doesn't show up until way after the half-way point of the film.

Another issue with this movie is the forced romance between Christensen and Portman. I'm not sure if it is because of the dialogue, or Christensen's stiff acing, but you just feel disconnected and uninterested in their romance. They could get together, they could die, it doesn't matter, nobody cares.

There are a lot more droids in this movie, and they seem more human than Hayden Christensen...maybe Christensen would have been better off playing a droid than Anakin Skywalker.

This has got to be the most boring "Star Wars" movie ever made. I remember when I first saw this movie years ago, and all I could do was wait for the end credits...I would rather watch the end credits of this movie than the movie itself. The reason I reluctantly used the word "boring" was because this movie is nothing but people talking to each other, and that it keeps shifting back and forth to Obi Wan doing something, and then Anakin and Padme doing something else. There is just nothing else interesting going on here.

One more problem, without spoilers, is that there is this one death scene that occurs and it's supposed to be emotional, of course, like most death scenes. But the acting is so unconvincing, that it just seems pointless and that they're trying too hard.

All in all, 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones' is the worst movie in the iconic "Star Wars" franchise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
The collective fever that characterized the countdown to The Phantom Menace had long since dissipated by the time the first sequel prequel rolled off the ILM production line. Casual spectators, once stung, had decamped en masse to the newlyThe collective fever that characterized the countdown to The Phantom Menace had long since dissipated by the time the first sequel prequel rolled off the ILM production line. Casual spectators, once stung, had decamped en masse to the newly discovered Middle-Earth, leaving George Lucas with just the few million hardcore fans - true believers who, with all the apprehension of parents at a nativity play, willed their defrocked hero back towards respectability.

There are certainly stretches in the patchy Attack Of The Clones when Lucas’ flat-packed dialogue struggles to keep the hecklers quiet – Anakin’s seduction of the former Queen has all the charm of a teenage lunge behind the bike-sheds and none of the feeling – but by the time climactic ‘reel six’ cranks into high gear the saga’s reputation as the godfather of modern sci-fi spectacle is more or less restored. Indeed, when Yoda finally unsheathes his mini-saber and kicks Sith ass the faithful can reliably be found standing on seats hollering as if the outcome was never in doubt. But, as the little Jedi might say, in doubt it was.

Where Episode V fairly zipped around the galaxy with all the breezy confidence of youth, unafraid to travel anywhere, even dark places, the second middle child of the saga is saddled with an altogether heavier burden from which it struggles to escape. Empire hits the ground running on ice planet Hoth, Clones however, has a truly cold start to contend with, aware perhaps that the movie’s most pressing task is to simply atone for the more egregious sins of Episode I. Thus, Jar Jar is quickly sidelined, the upgraded CGI Yoda gets a showcase and those damn Amidala-clones are killed off on page one. On Coruscant we also meet the grown-up ‘Ani’ - okay so he’s a whiny teenager but that’s still a vast improvement on the bowl-haired moppet the world was asked to root for in 1999.

Also more powerful than when last we met is Ewan McGregor’s Obi-Wan, the Jedi who was simply wan in Menace is a much more forceful presence as a full-bearded Master, struggling manfully with the endless exposition and even landing the odd punchline.

Matters improve greatly in the final forty minutes: Christopher Lee’s Count Dooku arrives to provide some much needed gravitas, C-3PO turns up to do his C-3PO thing and Padme puts on a skin-tight white leotard. Best of all, Lucas finally cuts loose. The classic trilogy bristled with seat-of-your-pants filmmaking, our heroes bouncing from cliffhanger to cliffhanger, and in the final section of Episode II – almost four hours into this prequel enterprise - Lucas at last cranks up to this Saturday morning serial pace: from the Tex Avery goofiness of the droid factory, to the Cecil B. De Mille grandeur of the gladiator arena, the action never lets up.

Also in the last reel we finally get to divine something of Lucas’ grand design, with ironic pay-offs for the fans still paying close attention - it is the witless Jar Jar who makes the creation of a clone army possible and Yoda who first leads what will become Stormtroopers into battle. In its own way, the end of Episode II is every bit as dark as the famous end of Episode V.

The middle episode that can make a virtue of its bridging role is rare indeed. And where The Empire Strikes Back dazzled with vertiginous cliffhangers, Clones is more typical of the breed, necessary but not vital. However, as we make the awkward journey through Anakin’s teenage trials a sparkling digital print ensures there is still much to marvel at, not least a little green fella who is surprisingly quick on the draw.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheGingerDragonJun 12, 2015
This is by far the worst star wars anything that has ever existed. Hayden Christensen is an absolutely awful actor, and shows no emotion or feeling aside from the occasional smile, which makes him look like a sex criminal. His romance withThis is by far the worst star wars anything that has ever existed. Hayden Christensen is an absolutely awful actor, and shows no emotion or feeling aside from the occasional smile, which makes him look like a sex criminal. His romance with Natalie Portman is creepy and unnatural, and the dialogue between them is just plain awful. Every sort of cool star wars creature or ship is badly cg i-ed , including C3PO and R2-D2 (which is just crossing the line). Almost every background is obviously green screen, and the few costumes they actually use are half-assed. And if you're thinking "Oh, the cool sci-fi battle scenes will make up for all that other stuff", than, sorry to disappoint you, but there are about 3 battle scenes across the entire movie, all of which are completely CG I-ed (with really awkward movements that don't make sense). The only thing mildly enjoyable was Samuel L. Jackson. All in all, this was a terrible, awful let down that did more than disappoint star wars fans. The damn thing gave me a headache. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
YorkManMar 10, 2016
Attack of the Clones (AotC) is the absolute nadir of the franchise. Although The Phantom Menace was bad, it was the start of a new trilogy and as such was primarily setting up characters and the universe. OK, it introduced two of the mostAttack of the Clones (AotC) is the absolute nadir of the franchise. Although The Phantom Menace was bad, it was the start of a new trilogy and as such was primarily setting up characters and the universe. OK, it introduced two of the most hated aspects of the franchise (Jar Jar Binks, and the idea of 'Midichlorians'), but there was enough action and some pretty good set pieces. Throw in John Williams best piece of music since Raider of the Lost Ark (Duel of the Fates), and there was a real buzz that the second part of the trilogy could exceed expectations, if.... IF... George Lucas took on board what the viewers liked and (more importantly) disliked about TPM.

But, George Lucas didn't do that.

Instead he came up with one of the most hated films of all time.
Virtually everything about the movie is awful. From the lacklustre, by the numbers, boring direction, to the slow paced, tiresome, almost nonsensical plot. The editing is atrocious, the score is bland, the overuse of CGI/Green screen, the truly inept comedic moments..... And that's not even mentioning the worst part of all.... The casting of Hayden Christensen in the pivotal/vital role of the now teenage Anakin Skywalker.

The plot revolves around the fact the Jedi can no longer use the Force to see images of the future. The Dark Side has compromised their abilities, and as such the Jedi are making decisions blindly.

As a consequence, despite it making no sense, they charge Anakin with the protection of Senator (formerly Queen) Amidala, and they go for a romantic vacation to Naboo. Meanwhile Obi-Wan is tasked with uncovering a conspiracy surrounding a planet removed from the Jedi archive, due to it being the home of the assassin who is trying to kill the Senator.

At the same time the evil Darth Sideous/Chancellor Palpatine is maneouvering the political side of things, stirring up trouble in the senate, whilst promoting the increasingly aggressive acts of violence by a separatist group (under the control of former Jedi Count Dooku, but now Dark Jedi (and Sideous' new apprentice) Darth Tyranus).

The three parallel storylines unfold, with Anakin and Padme Amidala falling in love, Obi-Wan discovering a secret clone army, and Count Dooku/Palpatine causing political ructions.
The film builds up to a climax on an industrial planet, where all Hell breaks loose and we get the obligatory big fight scenes and subdued ending.

When you write down the basic plot synopsis, it doesn't sound so bad. And I suspect, on paper, George Lucas thought so too.
But, the actual finished product is simply horrific.
As mentioned, the entire plot makes no sense, there are innumerate plotholes, as well as moments where you just say 'well, why didn't he/she/they just do this instead?' as you stare blankly at the screen in disbelief at the stupidity of virtually every character in the film.

Anyway, back to Hayden Christensen. He's shown he can act, in other subsequent films. but in AotC he's more wooden than the Black Forest, and appears to have no idea what he's doing.
But then again, it doesn't help that he (and everyone else) is working from one of the most terrible scripts ever written. It's almost as if George Lucas was unable (as both director/writer) to imagine his actors expressing emotion through their acting/vocal range/physical expressions etc. So, he instead chose to actually have the characters simply state their emotional point of view. In most cases it's cringeworthy, in some (Hayden Christensen, I'm talking about you!!) it's unintentionally hilarious.

I'm being extremely critical, but that's because there are people out there (read some of the other 'reviews') who think that the original Trilogy is some kind of masterwork.... These people need to take a step back and either admit they were wrong, or offer up some real arguments/points about why they would give this movie anything other than a well-deserved low score!!

Are there any good points?? Well, there's far less Jar Jar, and Midichlorians (whilst mentioned) are played down immensely. It's also good to see a large group of Jedi in action, at the peak of their powers... Even if they are just waving waving sticks in a choreographed manner in front of a green screen.... It still has some resonance, and is as close as Star Wars ever got to really putting the Jedi (as this mythical group of warriors) on-screen.
But apart from those things....It's pretty much the crap-fest I've explained it to be. Ultimately, I suspect people on this site will have seen the movie, and if someone hasn't, they'll more than likely pull up some official review from YouTube, or look up something on Google...
So, it's just been about me expressing my opinions, in the hope someone has a look.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
FilmMasterEdJan 5, 2016
Is the magic back? Not without a price, baby. The Star Wars engine has been stalled for so long, you have to trudge through nearly an hour of Episode II - Attack of the Clones just to hear it cough and turn over. Still, the Force againstIs the magic back? Not without a price, baby. The Star Wars engine has been stalled for so long, you have to trudge through nearly an hour of Episode II - Attack of the Clones just to hear it cough and turn over. Still, the Force against dullness is finally goosing George Lucas. To alleviate his usual cornball jokes and solemn mythmaking, Lucas throws in Jedi love (who knew Jedis take a vow not to screw?). And check out the babe casting of the lovers: Natalie Portman as queen turned senator Padme Amidala, decked out in belly-baring outfits Britney would envy, and Hayden Christensen as hotheaded Jedi-in-training Anakin (Darth Vader's inside me somewhere) Skywalker. Clones is crammed with action, grand digital design and a dark side Lucas hasn't flaunted since 1980's The Empire Strikes Back. Death, dismemberment, lost mommies, demon daddies and Freudian subtext are a huge improvement over the Jar Jar juvenilia that blighted 1999's Phantom Menace — a prequel that everyone saw and no one wants to remember.

The big problem, aside from the fact that The Matrix and The Lord of the Rings outclassed Lucas at his own game, is talk, talk, talk. Even with script help from Jonathan Hales, Lucas still can't write dialogue that doesn't induce projectile vomiting. And the film's visual snap (it was all shot digitally) leaves emotions at a chilly remove. What helps are the cool gadgets and cooler villains, notably the great Christopher Lee as Count Dooku and New Zealander Temuera Morrison as bounty hunter Jango Fett, daddy to clone son Boba (Daniel Logan). Even Ewan McGregor has stopped playing Jedi master Obi-wan Kenobi with a stick up his ass.

The plot? Don't tell me you want to hear that there's unrest in the galactic Senate, that Count Dooku's separatist movement is a threat to the limited number of Jedi knights, that... help, my eyes are glazing over.

The point is: It's war, and Lucas pulls out all the stops when the separatists and their battle droids take on the Republic and its clone army. It's a treat to see that old troll Yoda stop overstating the obvious ("Begun, this Clone War has") and start kicking separatist ass. The climactic duel between Yoda (no longer a puppet but a digital warrior) and Count Dooku is a rouser. As is the arena faceoff that pits Anakin, Padme and Obi-wan against three digital monsters, a mere warmup to the big battle led by Jedi master Mace Windu (Samuel L. Jackson). Lucas delivers the fireworks, from asteroid showers to air speeders and swoop bikes, but it's overkill. Much more should have been made of the relationship between Jango, the template for the clone army, and Boba, the young son he loves and corrupts. Much less should have been made of the insufferably coy banter between Anakin and Padme. It's only when tragedy intrudes that Portman (the Lolita-ish star of The Professional) and Christensen (best known as the teen who earned drug money by letting middle-age men blow him in Life As a House) strike harsher, truer notes. Clones ends with a wedding for the future parents of Luke and Princess Leia. But it's the glimpse of Darth Vader that Lucas gives us in Anakin — traumatized by the murder of his mother and capable of killing innocents — that reminds us of the dark power Star Wars exerted before it became a franchise. It's about time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ReelViews94Mar 23, 2016
In many ways, George Lucas has only his success to blame. As one of the leading lights of the digital movement, Lucas and his effects wizards at Industrial Light & Magic have made miracles look a little more commonplace with every passingIn many ways, George Lucas has only his success to blame. As one of the leading lights of the digital movement, Lucas and his effects wizards at Industrial Light & Magic have made miracles look a little more commonplace with every passing year, by turning out CGI worlds so awesome that awe alone is beginning to show its limitations. In Attack Of The Clones, a turgid and uninspired entry in the diminishing Star Wars pantheon, virtually every shot has been designed to introduce jaws to the pavement, with dense cityscapes that stretch to infinity in all directions and breathtaking panoramas that put nature's best to shame. But without the mythical power or giddy adventurousness of the first two Star Wars movies, the impact is strangely numbing, like watching a two-and-a-half-hour ILM show reel in search of moneyed investors. Though a marginal improvement over 1999's The Phantom Menace—if only because it pushes infamous clearance-bin sidekick Jar-Jar Binks to the margins—Attack Of The Clones runs into a similar set of problems, mainly caused by characters opening their mouths to speak. Never a competent director of actors, who often look stiff and disoriented against the blue-screen backdrops, Lucas gets little help from Hayden Christensen, his choice to bring young Anakin Skywalker from precocious childhood into petulant adolescence. As a gifted Jedi under the strict tutelage of Ewan McGregor's Obi-Wan Kenobi, Christensen pouts and glowers at the camera every time the Dark Side tempts him, which happens a lot when he oversteps his bounds to stop a faction of separatists that threatens the stability of the Republic. Assigned to protect Natalie Portman, former Queen and now Senator of the peace-loving planet Naboo, Christensen breaks the Jedi code by falling in love with her, though no amount of frolicking and flowery dialogue can get those feelings across. Away from their square courtship, McGregor looks far more comfortable and commanding this time as Kenobi, whose investigation of an attempt on Portman's life leads him to a larger plot involving a bounty hunter (Temuera Morrison), a former Jedi (Christopher Lee), and a massive clone army. Lucas and his technicians sweat heavily over the eye candy, crafting amazingly detailed worlds and opulent interior spaces that wouldn't have been possible before the digital age. But save for a crowd-pleasing moment with Yoda, the movie remains pretty and inert, with no authentic emotion, no cumulative power, and no sense of physicality and danger in the action sequences. In lieu of a proper climax, Attack Of The Clones ends with a tantalizing cliffhanger for the next episode, but Lucas' lumbering series is presenting fewer and fewer reasons to tune in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
“Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones” could be one the worst movies ever made and still it would have the faithful rallying around the Lucas franchise, brandishing their light sabers like bayonets. Against that army of formidable“Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones” could be one the worst movies ever made and still it would have the faithful rallying around the Lucas franchise, brandishing their light sabers like bayonets. Against that army of formidable opponents, it seems like a waste of breath to point out the flaws in a movie that isn’t really a movie at all: truncated sequences that don’t string together into a coherent story, dialogue that may as well have been cobbled together out of pieces of wood instead of words, love scenes shot to look like douche commercials. At this point, George Lucas can put whatever he wants on-screen and get away with it. He has become the ruler of the universe, at least the one between his ears; his wish is our command.

Anyone who dares criticize Lucas has to be prepared for an onslaught of e-mail from fans. But the irony here is that for all the fan-boy loyalty he inspires, Lucas doesn’t make movies with the hopes or desires of an audience — any audience — in mind. In his fortress, the lights are on, but nobody’s home.

Forget for a minute that we’re the ones paying the electricity bill. “Attack of the Clones” is barely reviewable as a movie because it’s something so far beyond (and yet less than) anything an honest-to-God movie should be. It’s an event, a juggernaut, with a preprogrammed audience ready to like it whether it’s any good or not.

Of course, you could have said the same about “Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace,” and you’d be right. But as aggressively piddling and impossible-to-follow as that film was, “Attack of the Clones” is actually worse. Instead of unraveling the back story behind the first “Star Wars” (now, of course, designated as Episode IV) in any recognizable narrative fashion, Lucas has decided to tell it with almost exclusively expository dialogue and a handful of not particularly impressive effects thrown in.

In fact, Lucas seems to have gone out of his way to make the plot complicated, as if following the wormy convolutions of the tale were supposed to be some kind of test — forget actually caring for the characters or being enthralled by the magic of a story as it unfolds. The message seems to be, if you find yourself unable to diagram the plot and all its alleged intricacies in 60 seconds or less, you can’t belong to the club.

Which may be why so many people, consciously or otherwise, are desperate to belong. In the case of “Attack of the Clones,” what does your Captain George Decoder Ring get you? You get the crawl at the beginning to explain where we’re at in the story, which you’ll need whether you remember a shred of the plot of “The Phantom Menace” or not.

Ten years have passed: Padmé Amidala (Natalie Portman) is no longer the queen of the planet Naboo, but an important senator who represents her home planet in the Galactic Republic. Even though we don’t really see her do anything except flit about in the worst movie gowns since “Mahogany,” she apparently is important enough for someone to want to assassinate her.

An attempt on Padmé’s life fails, and Jedi Obi-Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor, again doing a fine Alec Guinness impersonation but otherwise seeming lost and alone in the galaxy as the one actor attempting to give a real performance in this mess) and his young protégé Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) are assigned to investigate.

The trail leads them to Count Dooku (Christopher Lee), and you know he’s bad because his name sounds kind of like kidspeak for “turd.” Dooku is a separatist who wants to secede from the Republic and otherwise stir up all sorts of trouble. Luckily, though, on a distant planet everybody has forgotten about, there’s an army of mighty soldier clones who are almost ready to receive their orders to defend the Republic. They’ve been grown from the earwax scrapings of a fearless bounty hunter named Jango Fett, who’s the last of the Mandalorians and also the forefather of a great Gypsy guitarist.

In other words, this is a story you’ll definitely want to take seriously. It really heats up when young Anakin and Amadala, who knew each other as kids but haven’t laid eyes on each other since the puberty fairy waved his magic rod, fall desperately in love. But of course, a Jedi knight isn’t allowed to have relationships with the fair sex, and a senator has no time for nookie, anyway.

Thus we’re subjected to an embarrassingly dewy scene, set on a soft-focus hillside straight out of “The Sound of Music,” in which the two roll around playfully together on the grass, each hoping to inadvertently cop a feel. Later, they stare into each other’s eyes on a moonlit terrace, talking in hushed tones about the infeasibility of inserting Tab A into Slot B. Forget “Spaceballs” — we’re talking “Blue Balls.”
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KingPeixeJul 2, 2016
Like all of the prequels, it has an interesting story. And also like the prequels, it´s badly execute: bad writing, bad direction, wooden acting, a romance subplot that is lousy and painful, bad action scenes with bad cgi, the most poorlyLike all of the prequels, it has an interesting story. And also like the prequels, it´s badly execute: bad writing, bad direction, wooden acting, a romance subplot that is lousy and painful, bad action scenes with bad cgi, the most poorly executed lightsaber fight in the whole saga (yes, even worse than the one in episode IV), Yoda jumping around with a little green lightsaber, ridiculous clone subplot to justify a line of dialogue of episode IV, an attempt to ruin Bobba Fett´s character by casting a bad child actor to play his younger self, and the list goes on. The soundtrack is good, though, mainly Across the Stars, the love theme of Anakin and Padme, too bad it´s the theme of a very poorly written romance. Also, both Ewan McGregor and Christopher Lee show pretty solid acting , considering that is Lucas giving them directions and writing their lines. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews