User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1745 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JonW.
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Terrible. Chalkly dialogue; uninpsired acting; cartoonish special effects; fails to invoke any feeling. As a movie Episode III stands as a failure. As a series, the prequels succeed in nothing save some over the top effects. Why fight on a lava planet, with explosions, on friggin hoverboards with robots flying everywhere and rocky lava pouring down and imminent danger at every step...why Terrible. Chalkly dialogue; uninpsired acting; cartoonish special effects; fails to invoke any feeling. As a movie Episode III stands as a failure. As a series, the prequels succeed in nothing save some over the top effects. Why fight on a lava planet, with explosions, on friggin hoverboards with robots flying everywhere and rocky lava pouring down and imminent danger at every step...why not just fight a lightsaber duel in a simple room? WHY! Why the stupid, cartoonish chase scenes, great we know what CGI is capable of and frankly I dont care...The chase with Obi-wan and general greivous is freakin terrible. No suspense, I feel like I am watching the opening to a video game. Anakin - so he betrayed the republic, his friends, massacred children and comrades, and embraced a sketchy evil guy all because he THOUGHT that his wife might die? This guy is an idiot - and all he does is whine. I am sorry as a movie lover I am disapPointed as this is a poor film in every repect of the word (and I like cheese too if its done right - Judge Dredd is great) as a star wars fan this is a disgrace. D Expand
  2. Dart
    May 18, 2005
    6
    I'll quote Dan R.: Very good movie. Only problems were the acting and the script. :-
  3. Kris
    May 19, 2005
    5
    Good. Not great. During the opening space fight I found myself wondering how anyone could put so much obvious work into creating a bit of film that was so dull? But once Anikin really got down to the business of being evil, I actually felt something--some tension, excitement, dread. Christensen gave an uninspired performance, but I still liked almost all of the Anakin scenes, probably Good. Not great. During the opening space fight I found myself wondering how anyone could put so much obvious work into creating a bit of film that was so dull? But once Anikin really got down to the business of being evil, I actually felt something--some tension, excitement, dread. Christensen gave an uninspired performance, but I still liked almost all of the Anakin scenes, probably because he was generally acting opposite someone who could give the scene a bit of punch (McDiarmid, McGregor). Notable exceptions include his love scenes with Portman, which is a shame, since Anakin's love of Padme is supposed to be a major catalyst for his downfall. I'm also saddened by what happened to Padme in this film, and I don't mean her death. The virtues of the previous two movies were gossamer thin, but at least in them Padme did a few interesting things. In the final instalment she can do nothing better than gaze out windows, looking worried. She's little better than a tearful incubator. Still, there's plenty for the fans, lots of references to the original trilogy. Some of my favorite bits were the touches in costume and set design that recall (anticipate?) the look of episode IV (yes, we do see the side-bun hairdo.) This film does not redeam the fiascoes that came before it, but it stands on its own well enough. Mind you, it doesn't soar, but it certainly does stand. Expand
  4. J.H.
    May 21, 2005
    6
    It lacked life. It was hard to get into the characters. I think many of the people that are voting this highly are remembering the action-packed ending and forgetting how poorly made the rest of it was.
  5. AndyC.
    May 20, 2005
    5
    The opening half hour is quite poor - badly paced, with confused action and misfiring attempts at comedy. The movie then gets a lot better, and at times threatens to become very good - until the ending. Lucas shoehorns-in story elements at breakneck speed just to tie this film in with the original trilogy, an as a result it feels rushed. As mentioned here, Darth Vader's "Nooooooooo!" The opening half hour is quite poor - badly paced, with confused action and misfiring attempts at comedy. The movie then gets a lot better, and at times threatens to become very good - until the ending. Lucas shoehorns-in story elements at breakneck speed just to tie this film in with the original trilogy, an as a result it feels rushed. As mentioned here, Darth Vader's "Nooooooooo!" is so bad that it reminded me of Arnie's performance as Mr Freeze in that awful Batman movie. Very disappointing! Expand
  6. EricH.
    May 23, 2005
    4
    Something about watching Revenge of the Sith was one of the most acutely frustrating experiences I have ever had. At what point did George Lucas decide that it was all right to use the dialogue worse than that in High School Plays and Freddie Prinze Jr. movies? It was definitely better than the Clones and Menace, but the terrible cheese and overall misery of every scene with Padme (sp?) Something about watching Revenge of the Sith was one of the most acutely frustrating experiences I have ever had. At what point did George Lucas decide that it was all right to use the dialogue worse than that in High School Plays and Freddie Prinze Jr. movies? It was definitely better than the Clones and Menace, but the terrible cheese and overall misery of every scene with Padme (sp?) and most of those with Yoda make you wonder why he just couldn't hire a few mediocre writers to make the language a BIT more palatable. Expand
  7. DavidM.
    May 20, 2005
    6
    [***SPOILERS***] While Episode III is the best of the three prequels, that is a dubious honor considering the first two are worse than an IRS tax audit. Lucas commits the same "grevious" errors in spending all his time going wild with the CGI and spending no time on the atrocious dialogue or inspiring what is a solid cast to nothing more than wooden, stilted acting. Ewan McGregor's[***SPOILERS***] While Episode III is the best of the three prequels, that is a dubious honor considering the first two are worse than an IRS tax audit. Lucas commits the same "grevious" errors in spending all his time going wild with the CGI and spending no time on the atrocious dialogue or inspiring what is a solid cast to nothing more than wooden, stilted acting. Ewan McGregor's Obi-Wan is one of two passable performances as we see the slightly mirthful and bemused roots of the old mentor from the original series. Ian McDermid's sleazy and seductive Papaltine/Darth Siddious/Emperor is so oily and comical it harkens back to the campiness of Episodes IV-VI. The rest of the cast seem either bored or embarassed with their roles, especially Hayden Christansen. This time he has traded a perpetual, petulant pout for a perpetual scowl, as if the road to Sith-dom is simply a galatic temper tantrum. Anakin's road to hell is paved with good intentions, but the sum of their whole doesn't seem enough to push the whiny Jedi over the line into the Dark Side. His panic over dark premonitions of Padmé's future are too vague, and he rejects Master Yoda's sage advice without even listening to it When he is granted a seat on the council as Palpatine's advisor, he snaps that he should be fast-tracked to Jedi Master instead of leaping at the honor the rest of the Council agrees to bestow. Halfway through the film Anakin whines to his wife that he "..isn't the Jedi he's supposed to be" which begs the question, what the heck is that supposed to mean? Lucas sloppily throws out the idea that Anakin thinks Obi-Wan and Padmé are fooling around behind his back, but it is such a throwaway line it has to be a result of the nascent Sith Lord's newfound paranoia. The only believable torment is the split in devotion Anakin feels towards Obi-Wan and the rest of the Jedi, and the father-figure role Palpatine manuevers himself into. The space battles and lightsaber duels are, as always, exciting moments in the film. Anakin's duel with his former mentor on the volcanic planet of Mustafar is very climatic, and I got shivers down my spine seeing the full extent of Anakin's defeat and his subsequent reconstruction as the black-suited head henchman of the Empire. His first filtered breaths are probably the best dialogue in the whole movie, and his clumsy first steps in the suit and mechanicaly-voiced rage at the full circle of Padmé's fate are chilling. 'Revenge of the Sith' is a decent movie, fun to watch as an action film, but hard on the ears and lacking in the campy attitude and well-constructed mythos of the original trilogy. I'll stick to the orginals, even with the unforgivable doctored Lucas resorted to for their release on DVD. Expand
  8. Ric
    May 27, 2005
    5
    Dialogue was still awful (particularly between Padme and Anakin) and it only really picked up any of the Star Wars magic for the last 30 minutes. The great characters and interesting locations of the first three films were sadly missing. The effects were great though, and it had a few good moments.
  9. AbdurM.
    Jul 4, 2005
    6
    Disappointing and unbelievable. Lucas doesn't have it in him to tell a good story anymore.
  10. JimG
    Jan 7, 2006
    6
    I remember being amazed at the original Star Wars movie (Episode IV: A New Hope). The special effects were well beyond anything people had seen before, which was by itself enough to be excited, but it also offered a comforting mythological good vs. evil feel-good in a whole new context, with good humor to boot. And it offered all of that with a dose of realism I hadn't focused on I remember being amazed at the original Star Wars movie (Episode IV: A New Hope). The special effects were well beyond anything people had seen before, which was by itself enough to be excited, but it also offered a comforting mythological good vs. evil feel-good in a whole new context, with good humor to boot. And it offered all of that with a dose of realism I hadn't focused on before in science fiction -- Luke's "car" was dusty and scratched rather than shiny and new like so many things in the fictional futures of the past; the characters get stuck in a garbage-disposal hell; robots run from new to well outdated models past their prime. In total, it was an exciting and fun, but certainly not profound, experience. Then something happened. What had seemed a simple story line with few enough characters to keep tabs on became a Tolkeinesk world of unmemorizable names and places and histories and the mood turned serious (read boring). I totally gave up and tuned out, until deciding to watch Revenge of the Sith. What a pleasant surpise to be excited again about the characters, and to see a new wave of delightful effects. I gave up worrying about all the ins and outs of the storyline, and looked for the lighter-hearted moments, ultimately enjoying the prequel. And, even though our now-trained eyes see the matting and other blatantly obvious special effects in the 1977 sequel, the one I'll always thing of as simply "Star Wars" is still the best of the series, reflecting the energies and passion of the younger George Lucas. Expand
  11. ChrisP
    Nov 1, 2005
    6
    Good action.
  12. DavidT
    Nov 2, 2005
    4
    Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith reminds me of another 4 letter word with using the same four letters - in other words, its CRAP. Expand
  13. Matt
    Nov 30, 2005
    6
    Like reading your girlfriend's diary, it's weird seeing events unfolding as you knew they would yet mangled just enough to make it all slightly unsavoury. Anakin gets bad at last, we get to see him put in the suit, yet the acting is terrible all round as we've come to expect and McDiarmid's ham-fest takes some stomaching. So while Sith is enjoyable and undoubtedly the Like reading your girlfriend's diary, it's weird seeing events unfolding as you knew they would yet mangled just enough to make it all slightly unsavoury. Anakin gets bad at last, we get to see him put in the suit, yet the acting is terrible all round as we've come to expect and McDiarmid's ham-fest takes some stomaching. So while Sith is enjoyable and undoubtedly the best of the prequels, it still never reaches the heights you hope it will. The kids will love it though, which is the main thing. Expand
  14. Rocket
    Dec 2, 2005
    6
    All i wanna know is when Anakin was little, like 5 or so,he fell for Padme, who was more than twice his age and runnin the space gov't or something, and then by the 3rd film( ROTS), Anakin was grown and Padne hadnt aged a bit ( must be that space gell she uses) but i guess she wasnt so old she still couldnt have sex and have babys( twins at that! ), hmm, if thats the future then i cant wait.
  15. MissyK.
    May 18, 2005
    4
    Just saw this with a bunch of friends, I probably liked it best out of the four of us, but even I thought it was a little 'weak' overall. I guess it was okayish, but I don't think I'd want to see it again. :)
  16. Gaz
    May 19, 2005
    4
    The fanatics and the blind faithful are sure to embrace it and forgive it it's many flaws, everyone else is just likely to come away kind of let down by the whole thing, as was I. Not terrible, but not really all that notable either.
  17. Oliver
    May 19, 2005
    5
    Distinctly average in absolutely every regard. If it wasn't for this movies legacy, no-one would pay a blind bit of attention to it. Don't bother.
  18. Chuckm76
    May 20, 2005
    5
    It's a shame that after all the critic talk surrounding episode 3 that it actually turns out to be only slightly better than the other 2 prequels. Other people will want to take this movie apart more than me, so i'll be quick. The direction and the script are terrible, the action scenes seems to happen without taking you along with them and some of the actors don't seem It's a shame that after all the critic talk surrounding episode 3 that it actually turns out to be only slightly better than the other 2 prequels. Other people will want to take this movie apart more than me, so i'll be quick. The direction and the script are terrible, the action scenes seems to happen without taking you along with them and some of the actors don't seem that interested. The space battle sucks and it really shouldn't, the special effects are great but everything moves so quick that it loses some of it's impact. It does contain one of the funniest lines I've ever heard in a film "Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!" it really is hilarious though completely unintentional. One more thing, where's Boba Fett? Expand
  19. Roy
    May 20, 2005
    6
    Some excitement, but also some dull spots.
  20. PaulR.
    May 20, 2005
    6
    The opening scenes are rubbish. I was about to give up on it, but then it got a little better.The story of skywalkers downfall began and I really started to enjoy it. Hayden is cr*p and has about as much acting skills / presence as a t*rd. Yoda is excellent! I'd also like to know where lava doesn't burn you when its splashing around all over the place? Some of the scenes are The opening scenes are rubbish. I was about to give up on it, but then it got a little better.The story of skywalkers downfall began and I really started to enjoy it. Hayden is cr*p and has about as much acting skills / presence as a t*rd. Yoda is excellent! I'd also like to know where lava doesn't burn you when its splashing around all over the place? Some of the scenes are just ridiculous. For all you fanboys/girls out there. I too am a child of the 70's and was brought up with Star Wars. This and ep 1/2 are no match for the originals. Expand
  21. JeddyD.
    May 21, 2005
    6
    Comes off like a $250 million Ed Wood production.
  22. Burbak
    May 21, 2005
    5
    Save your money...there is nothing new or substantial here...even the scenes seem to be lifted from older movies...fans will be fans...but for others it is not worth seeing....with all the technology floating around...people still fight with swords...and ride wild animals...and are made of rubber...no matter how hard you throw them against the walls...and no one wears any body armor...and Save your money...there is nothing new or substantial here...even the scenes seem to be lifted from older movies...fans will be fans...but for others it is not worth seeing....with all the technology floating around...people still fight with swords...and ride wild animals...and are made of rubber...no matter how hard you throw them against the walls...and no one wears any body armor...and it does not look like paintball either...hope next time they give up the silly light sabres...and get some smart bombs...pentagon has many...get them...you must...and for the time being ...save your money...you can. Expand
  23. RodrigoR.
    May 23, 2005
    6
    George Lucas is probably the worst writer and director in the history of big pictures. It's amazing that a big bank account allows you to enforce your schlock on the public. The movie is entertaining though, and I enjoyed Ewan McGregor. Lastly, George Lucas resembles a hog. People should stop donating their hard-earned money to his pig pen.
  24. DanaM.
    May 24, 2005
    6
    I went in expecting a good movie but left shaking my head with the poor writing and direction. I've seen Portman in other movies so I know the woman can act. Poor dialogue and direction is Lucas's fault. How is it possible that in a time when organic material can be implanted within robots (Grievous) that woman still die in childbirth. Portman lives long enough to name her two I went in expecting a good movie but left shaking my head with the poor writing and direction. I've seen Portman in other movies so I know the woman can act. Poor dialogue and direction is Lucas's fault. How is it possible that in a time when organic material can be implanted within robots (Grievous) that woman still die in childbirth. Portman lives long enough to name her two twins but dies immediately afterwards. Huh? Anikan fears that Portman will die in childbirth but kills over a dozen children after the inexplicable move to the dark side. The discrepancies in the writing are overwhelming. I was hoping for more. Expand
  25. BillD.
    May 24, 2005
    5
    Great for 10 minutes, then painful for the next 30. Very frustrating. The closing scene with Vader is embarrassing.
  26. MelissaM.
    May 29, 2005
    6
    20 minutes of dialog and 120 minutes of light saber battles; 6 minutes of credits. Not bad, definitely best of the 3 prequels, but still not up to the least best of the first 3.
  27. JoeyM.
    May 30, 2005
    6
    Once you get past some of the worst dialogue in modern film making and a couple of potentially career ending performances (Natalie Portman is a good actress in everything but this, but this is what she will be remembered for), you have a pretty decent adventure movie. That being said, the stand out scenes in the movie feature Ian McDiarmid as Palpentine. Apparently, since he was evil, he Once you get past some of the worst dialogue in modern film making and a couple of potentially career ending performances (Natalie Portman is a good actress in everything but this, but this is what she will be remembered for), you have a pretty decent adventure movie. That being said, the stand out scenes in the movie feature Ian McDiarmid as Palpentine. Apparently, since he was evil, he got to have personality and nuance, as opposed to the souless jedi and other heroes. Not always a lot of action with him, but his performance was riveting - easily the best thing about the prequel. I was also impressed by how "Farenheit 9/11" style politics were at the forefront of this movie, which will reach a much wider audience than Moore's film did. Props to George Lucas for making one of the most subversive popular films ever. If only he'd let somebody else write the dialogue... Expand
  28. ByronT
    Jun 1, 2005
    5
    I think this is a great movie. Good cast. Great momentum. Finally the complete Star Wars Trilogy x 2. I wonder if George Lucas would do a remake of the next 3 episodes. Thumbs up!
  29. NtranceD.
    Jun 17, 2005
    5
    For everyone who wants to know my opinion in advance: I did not like Star Wars 3. Don't start thinking I'm a hater, I ain't, I loved every single Star Wars movie.... up to this one. I don't know, I can't put my finger on it.... The sound, effects, action, lighting were all near perfect... (the montage was a little off though with all those transition effects) but For everyone who wants to know my opinion in advance: I did not like Star Wars 3. Don't start thinking I'm a hater, I ain't, I loved every single Star Wars movie.... up to this one. I don't know, I can't put my finger on it.... The sound, effects, action, lighting were all near perfect... (the montage was a little off though with all those transition effects) but it didn't have that great script. It didn't have those punchy lines, it wasn't that magnifically acted. It was definetly not magnifically acted. It was all the same, kinda bland, it... it.... didn't have the true Star Wars essence. A Star Wars film is known to be magnificent, enchanting etc. I'm sad to say this movie isn't. Watching this movie, and afterwards leaving the cinema will leave you astounded by graphics, amazed by characters, but you'll leave with a very, very bitter taste in your mouth. Pity. Expand
  30. Macca
    Jun 17, 2005
    6
    An improvement on the first two episodes but still falls short of the original trilogy. Lucas still got carried away with irritating and jokey special FX (the creature Obi-wan rides and the buzz droids) and the dialogue was very clumsy at times. Many parts of the film were unnecessary to the plot and were only in there to indulge Lucas' geeky side (Yoda on Kashyyk). The new villain An improvement on the first two episodes but still falls short of the original trilogy. Lucas still got carried away with irritating and jokey special FX (the creature Obi-wan rides and the buzz droids) and the dialogue was very clumsy at times. Many parts of the film were unnecessary to the plot and were only in there to indulge Lucas' geeky side (Yoda on Kashyyk). The new villain is cheesy and there seemed little point in Christopher Lee surviving the last movie when he is killed off so quickly here. The plot is also riddled with logical incoherencies and simple inconsistencies with the Old Trilogy. Having said all that, if you can enjoy it for what it is, its a reasonably enjoyable adventure and its moments of nostalgia give us pleasant memories of the original Star Wars. However, unless you're an ardent fan don't expect to find any real depth in this one. Expand
  31. D
    Jun 1, 2005
    5
    Horribly stiff acting. First 1 1/2 hours was some of the worst film making I have ever seen. Tried to hide poor acting and script behind gads of special effects. THe film picks up in the last hour which redeems this from a 2.
  32. MattM.
    Jun 3, 2005
    4
    An improvement? yes, but lucas is a fool. some very cool "gimicy" scenes but some terrible decisions. the story is excellent and a much better film could have been made. it was relieving it wasn't aweful but still it was dissapointing. i feel sorry for Star Wars fans, it just should have been left alone, but i suppose once again there was money to be made.
  33. R.I.P.StarWars
    Jun 4, 2005
    6
    What makes me laugh is the people who said that the previous two were rubbish are saying this rocks. It's not that much better! Some of the CGI was amateurish (did you see the floating head of a clone trooper), Lucas put no thinking in to what he left in and cut out (so many great scenes were cut), great actors like Natalie Portman and Samuel L Jackson were made to look awful because What makes me laugh is the people who said that the previous two were rubbish are saying this rocks. It's not that much better! Some of the CGI was amateurish (did you see the floating head of a clone trooper), Lucas put no thinking in to what he left in and cut out (so many great scenes were cut), great actors like Natalie Portman and Samuel L Jackson were made to look awful because of the dialogue, the light-sabre fights were a over-hyped let down (in particular Mace vs. Palpatine which seemed ad-libbed), the Wookie battle was far too short, the droids voices seemed like they were on helium and General 'Jedi Killer' Grievous was a waste of time. I only give it as high a mark as six because of some nostalgic parts such as the Millenium Falcon cameo (blink and you miss it) and the way Lucas tied some things together with the original trilogy. To be honest, I think the people who liked it probably didn't expect too much when they entered the cinema. Sadly, I had high hopes and was let down. The DVD release may be worth getting though for the deleted scenes. Expand
  34. DarthK.
    Jun 8, 2005
    5
    I think the movie had no story board, it all happened way too fast. All they do is just fight, they need at least some talking, but the fights, they were pretty good. I hate how they can't tell that Chanceler Palpatine is the Sith Lord, isn't it obvious?!
  35. NatS.
    Jul 25, 2006
    5
    By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an otherwise awesome battle. It's so stupid and cheesy it's laughable, and just like with Harry Potter 4, the only thing that will really get the critics votes is cheesy gloom and doom acting, and nothing else. Despite that, it's still Star Wars. Expand
  36. ChrisD
    May 18, 2005
    4
    To quote Dan R (below), the "only problems were the acting and the script." But those are pretty substantial problems, if you ask me. The series has always been plagued by Lucas' hammy writing, lame dialogue and 2-dimensional philosophy, but that seems excusable for the 70s and 80s in a way it just isn't now. Eye candy bumps my score up a bit but overall this was disappointingly hollow.
  37. HeidiD.
    May 18, 2005
    4
    I have been a long time Star Wars fan for many years, I am wondering what movie people are seeing for Episode 3 to get high marks. This is Lucas as his un-creative mind numbing usual, which makes me very sad. Expect alot of action and big explosions just to try and cover Lucas's failure. I just wish he would not have messed the whole series just to try and salvage his mistakes. I have been a long time Star Wars fan for many years, I am wondering what movie people are seeing for Episode 3 to get high marks. This is Lucas as his un-creative mind numbing usual, which makes me very sad. Expect alot of action and big explosions just to try and cover Lucas's failure. I just wish he would not have messed the whole series just to try and salvage his mistakes. Instead of giving us the movies we had hoped for he gives us more of the expected. I think I will stick with Episodes 4-6 and forget about the rest of the series, sad times indeed. Expand
  38. MichaelC.
    May 19, 2005
    5
    Yet again I turned to the Dark Side of believing all the same pre-release hype, "this time he got it right", etc, and yet again, I came away massively disappointed. It's okay, and better than Menace and Clones, but not by much. I think the actors, Portman apart, actually did quite a good job with extraordinarily bad material - this is truly some of the worst dialogue I've ever Yet again I turned to the Dark Side of believing all the same pre-release hype, "this time he got it right", etc, and yet again, I came away massively disappointed. It's okay, and better than Menace and Clones, but not by much. I think the actors, Portman apart, actually did quite a good job with extraordinarily bad material - this is truly some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard. And it has it's moments - there's a number of scenes that approach the "coolness" and excitement that Star Wars used to be about. Ian McDiarmaid also puts in a great performance, while McGregor and Christensen are much improved on Epsiodes I and II. But overall I have to say it's yet another opportunity gone - once again, it's Darth Lucas and his fearsome dialogue and direction that have scuppered Revenge of the Sith. Expand
  39. SteveG.
    May 21, 2005
    5
    No great surprises here: good effects, still great music, poor dialog, inconsistent story telling that relies on too many talking heads, wooden acting - and we know the outcome. In truth, it was neither as great as many would like it to be and nowhere near as bad as it threatened to be. Actually gets better near the end as it "closes in" on what we know as Episode IV, but frankly here is No great surprises here: good effects, still great music, poor dialog, inconsistent story telling that relies on too many talking heads, wooden acting - and we know the outcome. In truth, it was neither as great as many would like it to be and nowhere near as bad as it threatened to be. Actually gets better near the end as it "closes in" on what we know as Episode IV, but frankly here is a story which lacks any tension other than finding out how Darth Vader become quite so messed up. Entertaining enough but propelling this overlong effort into the stratosphere of greatest films ever is an insult to the films it displaces. Expand
  40. JoshuaM.
    May 21, 2005
    4
    As everyone now knows, George Lucas is a terrible screenwriter and director, which may be why people are so symmpathetic to this last movie. More action and less awful dialog is a good thing, so is more fighting and less monotone line reading. But let's face it, if Star Wars didn't have street cred this movie would be straight to video.
  41. Ryan
    May 20, 2005
    4
    I am a big star wars fan and I thought the movie was pretty lame, sure there was some good lightsaber duels but anakin turned to easy, what's up with darth at the end, reminded me of frankenstein. So much for Chewbaca too, a two and a half hour movie and we got to see his planet for what a minute. Overall I was dissapointed, no Boba fett but they showed him as a trooper. I give it 4 I am a big star wars fan and I thought the movie was pretty lame, sure there was some good lightsaber duels but anakin turned to easy, what's up with darth at the end, reminded me of frankenstein. So much for Chewbaca too, a two and a half hour movie and we got to see his planet for what a minute. Overall I was dissapointed, no Boba fett but they showed him as a trooper. I give it 4 stars, can't wait for the tv series. Expand
  42. LauraH.
    May 20, 2005
    4
    The really compelling thing about the original three Star Wars films is the charm and humanity of the characters -- an element totally lacking in this film. Darth Vader, who is rather cavalier and cool in IV-VI, is here a caricature of Judas -- a whiny, one-dimensional character who is tempted to the dark side by, apparently, one hell of a mommy complex. The first and final scene in which The really compelling thing about the original three Star Wars films is the charm and humanity of the characters -- an element totally lacking in this film. Darth Vader, who is rather cavalier and cool in IV-VI, is here a caricature of Judas -- a whiny, one-dimensional character who is tempted to the dark side by, apparently, one hell of a mommy complex. The first and final scene in which we see Vader in full Vader get-up ends with Vader lumbering robotically forward, throwing his arms out, and screeching, "Noooooo!" -- rather like a Cingular Wireless satire of how one reacts when one's call is dropped in a galaxy far, far away. Though Ewan MacGregor (and, ironically enough, CGI Yoda) try hard to bring some acting cred to the horribly contrived dialogue, the film is mostly wooden -- and often a poor parody of what was once a franchise we could all believe in. Expand
  43. MarkB.
    May 22, 2005
    4
    Typically over the top, more effects than brains, stupid dialogue and really (and I mean REALLY) bad acting. Christensen is the reason, with his soulless performance, that this one gets a 4 from me. He was absolutely pathetic!!
  44. JohnR.
    May 22, 2005
    6
    [***SPOILERS***] What does it say about major feature films nowadays that the great things about them are the special effects. Ep III is an improvement over Episode 2 most assuredly but there are many failings. However the good stuff first. Ewan McGregor is much improved in this version. He isnt as dour or as wooden as he was in Ep 1 & 2. The fight scenes are generally well done and the[***SPOILERS***] What does it say about major feature films nowadays that the great things about them are the special effects. Ep III is an improvement over Episode 2 most assuredly but there are many failings. However the good stuff first. Ewan McGregor is much improved in this version. He isnt as dour or as wooden as he was in Ep 1 & 2. The fight scenes are generally well done and the film does a good job of tieing up loose ends and gives the feel of the old Star Wars again. (but its a shadow of that former feeling) The problem with this film is that it dispenses with major characters like Dooku and Windu in an unsatisfactory fashion. If your arrive late to see the movie in the cinema you may just miss Anakin beheading Dooku....its over that fast. Too many fight scenes i.e. too many what should be *major* encounters between protagonists. The meaning and importance is subsequently diluted and wasted imo. Of course its nice seeing Yoda face off against Palpatine but this is meant to be a story not a series of 1 v 1 s (with particularly scotched and clumsy music throughout them) The story suffers immeasurably from this. Another bad point is how George Lucas ties up all the loose ends. Its good that he tries to make everything clear but the way he does this is utterly criminal. He gives no thought to how it might be threaded into the story at all. For instance....Yoda calmly telling Obiwan at the end that his dead former mentor QuiGon has learned the secret of immortal life and how to communicate with the living and Obiwan now must go into training to learn this himself. This is just tacked on to the end...very poor laughable really. All in all this is a Star Wars film for the 21st century. Lots of good looking scenes, lots of fight scenes and no real depth of character or story structure at all (the emotions and rationale of Anakin particularly felt fake and not believable) But perhaps most people of this generation dont go to movies for real depth anymore....film feels like a Mcdonalds big mack meal. Expand
  45. Ben
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Yes! Finally, the brutal end has arrived, and what a sell-out it was About as compelling and moving as a Streisand film; shame on you George. Let us go back to cinema inhabited by intelligent scripts, accomplished acting, reasonable motives, un-annoying characters, and imaginitive story-telling.
  46. K-Dog
    May 23, 2005
    4
    The dialogue is boring and the acting is so bad it's laughable. The light saber scenes and gallactic war scenes would have been cool maybe five years ago, but now they're just expected and boring. We can't help but take them for granted. However there is one really good scene in the whole mess: the rise of Darth Vader is possibly the funniest thing I have ever seen in my life.
  47. Flash3
    May 23, 2005
    6
    Although, the effects were good, It was no way as good as the trilogy. Lucas doesn't get the fact that we don't want the jumping around, flying around, twirling and fighting at 20x speed BS. Too much fantesy is what ruined the movie. There is no gravity in space yet when the ship was tilted, people and objects were sliding out of the ship. The lava scene was really realyl bad. Although, the effects were good, It was no way as good as the trilogy. Lucas doesn't get the fact that we don't want the jumping around, flying around, twirling and fighting at 20x speed BS. Too much fantesy is what ruined the movie. There is no gravity in space yet when the ship was tilted, people and objects were sliding out of the ship. The lava scene was really realyl bad. At that temperature, they should have both disolved, but I guess the "force" kept them from burning. Not to mention they use the "force" for every little thing unlike the original. Adding a bunch of effects because of the possibility doesn't mean it will make the movie good. Expand
  48. Mr.Wamckee
    May 26, 2005
    5
    my friends tell me i'm too hard on this film, and they're probably right, but when anakin glowers into the camera on a tight close up and says, "Don't make me kill you," my reaction is not one of fear or awe but a gut-busting laugh -- the dialogue and acting (Mr. McDiarmid as the Emperor, aside) are terrible. Despite all that, it's better than the previous two episodes my friends tell me i'm too hard on this film, and they're probably right, but when anakin glowers into the camera on a tight close up and says, "Don't make me kill you," my reaction is not one of fear or awe but a gut-busting laugh -- the dialogue and acting (Mr. McDiarmid as the Emperor, aside) are terrible. Despite all that, it's better than the previous two episodes and certainly worth the price of admission. Expand
  49. IllyaZ.
    May 30, 2005
    6
    Better than Episodes 1 & 2, but still not that great.
  50. TelyS.
    May 30, 2005
    6
    Offers a glimpse of what the trilogy could have been if if there was any kind of writing talent left in Mr. Lucas. A brief glimpse.
  51. PatG.
    Jun 9, 2005
    6
    The most action-packed boring movie I've seen. Feels like a four-hour movie. The lack of romantic chemistry between the romantic couple makes Anakin's decision to switch to the dark side even less credible. Anakin declaring his love for Padme felt as false as when Tom Cruise did it on Oprah. Sad to see the 28-year ride over, but glad it won't be getting any worse.
  52. G.M.D.K.
    Jul 20, 2005
    4
    Gorgeus scenery of every spectacle; but that is, that every spectacle is an exhilirating letdown after another. Dissapointing with this film. The whole film feels like a climax and It isnt accesible to people who arent much into "Star Wars". I perfer the grandios "Attack of the Clones."
  53. JB
    Aug 12, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually makes clowns of both Palpatine and Yoda (during their duel, which was a shameful mockery of both characters) and thereby reduces the forces of good and evil in Lucas' universe (via their closest representatives) to clowns whose comedic sparring just happens to cost people millions of lives. The only good thing about this film is Anakin's duel with Obi-Wan, a duel that was brought about by circumstances wholly unconvincing to anyone with some degree of common sense. Just pretend that the prequels never happened. You'll be better off for it. Expand
  54. bill
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when Anakin is put into the black suite and becomes the vader we all know, he is crying about the death of his wife, so we have a sense that there is still good in him, a sense that we don't get again until 'return of the jedi'. So what made him the epitome of evil that we see in episode 4 and 5? Expand
  55. Amy
    Nov 4, 2005
    5
    Darth Vader's 'Nooooooo!' at the end. Classic.
  56. EverettM.
    May 19, 2005
    5
    To Stephen W. who said this movie is like "Saving Private Ryan in space"...you need to have your head examined. That movie was realistic...this one is SOOO phoney it hurts. It is definitely the best of the rest (prequels) and maybe even on par with Jedi, but it is NOT a very good movie. I don't get why people who are saying the movie had plot holes, poor acting, overdone effects, etc To Stephen W. who said this movie is like "Saving Private Ryan in space"...you need to have your head examined. That movie was realistic...this one is SOOO phoney it hurts. It is definitely the best of the rest (prequels) and maybe even on par with Jedi, but it is NOT a very good movie. I don't get why people who are saying the movie had plot holes, poor acting, overdone effects, etc are still giving it a 9. If Phantom Menace is a 2 and Empire Strikes Back is an 8, this is a firmly planted 5. No movie is a 0 (not even Gilgi) and the only 10 movies are Godfather & Shawshank. Everything else is filler. Expand
  57. EdS.
    May 19, 2005
    5
    I went in not expecting much and was entertained. I guess I have learned that our own goverment is the evil empire: "your either with me or your my enemy", "I still have resolve", and others. I guess Lucas has the evil emperor on CNN while he was writing the script.
  58. DavidS.
    May 19, 2005
    6
    Decent. Better than the other two prequels, yet lacking in some fundementals ways. The story seemed choppy and forced.
  59. SteveT.
    May 21, 2005
    6
    By far the best of the new trilogy, however it is still bogged down by too much cgi and bad lines/wooden acting although far less than ep1 & 2. The wookies seem to have been forced in for no real reason other than lucas wanted to use them before in rotj. So do a number of familiar vehicles and costumes. Christopher lee is wasted after a great perfomance in ep 2 and seems to be rushed out By far the best of the new trilogy, however it is still bogged down by too much cgi and bad lines/wooden acting although far less than ep1 & 2. The wookies seem to have been forced in for no real reason other than lucas wanted to use them before in rotj. So do a number of familiar vehicles and costumes. Christopher lee is wasted after a great perfomance in ep 2 and seems to be rushed out of the way and natalie portmans lines and acting are truly dire even samuel jackson doesnt fit right in this(not their faults we all know they can act), however ewan mcgregor, hayden christensen and ian mcdiarmid really stand out in this episode. Better than expected and a nice ending but still not on par with the originals. Expand
  60. ChilliPizza
    May 21, 2005
    6
    All three were dogged from the start by a really, really bad choice of actors, first and foremost Ewan McGregor, yes train spotting was good etc. But this guy has NO range of acting ability, others like Samuel Jackson and Liam Neeson were wasted due to miscasting and although the role of Anakin was more convincing in this film only the likes of Christopher Lee and Ian McDiarmid come out All three were dogged from the start by a really, really bad choice of actors, first and foremost Ewan McGregor, yes train spotting was good etc. But this guy has NO range of acting ability, others like Samuel Jackson and Liam Neeson were wasted due to miscasting and although the role of Anakin was more convincing in this film only the likes of Christopher Lee and Ian McDiarmid come out well due to their greater experience and knack of making good of what Expand
  61. ChrisP.
    May 21, 2005
    4
    The dialog in this movie was written by someone who has apparently never actually listened to real people talking to each other before. But beyond that, the movie doesn't do a good enough job of selling Anakin's move to the dark side. Sure, I understand he feels contrained by the rules of the Jedi council and he wan'ts to protect Padme, but that isn't enough to explain The dialog in this movie was written by someone who has apparently never actually listened to real people talking to each other before. But beyond that, the movie doesn't do a good enough job of selling Anakin's move to the dark side. Sure, I understand he feels contrained by the rules of the Jedi council and he wan'ts to protect Padme, but that isn't enough to explain why he suddenly starts chopping up children. Expand
  62. BillZ.
    May 22, 2005
    4
    The best of the prequels, but that's not saying much...there is a real epic feel to this one, but unfortunately this is fatally undermined by the dreadful, stilted dialogue and weak plot. Good acting from McDiarmid & McGregor, so-so from Christensen, and terrible acting from Portman (who does little but stay at home and cry).
  63. MikeH.
    May 22, 2005
    4
    Horrible acting. Weak plot. A turning to the darkside that seemed more like a choice of what clothes to wear to school.
  64. TomM.
    May 22, 2005
    5
    I suppose, in comparison, this latest Lucas effort is far better than his previous two. I rate the last movie a 2 so I guess this movie is more than twice as good. I understand that people want this movie to be good. I feel for them but the truth is that anyone willing to look at this movie objectively cannot help but come away from this piece of fluff with anything other than an "eh". I suppose, in comparison, this latest Lucas effort is far better than his previous two. I rate the last movie a 2 so I guess this movie is more than twice as good. I understand that people want this movie to be good. I feel for them but the truth is that anyone willing to look at this movie objectively cannot help but come away from this piece of fluff with anything other than an "eh". The movie tries too hard. The special effects are busy and as such take you out of the movie. Many many scenes look like scenes from a computer game and that's not a good thing. And what of the action? There was many a light sabre battle but strangely none of them, and I mean none of them, produce any tension at all. The turn of Anakin? Sorry... ill conceived, poorly executed and ultimately unsatisfying. Bad acting (not sure if I blame this on the actors or the dialogue they were forced to put out there) and a romance with no chemistry. And our costar reminded me of a certain bearded costar on Tool Time. The inescapable conclussion for me is that Star Wars was a fluke. An epic space adventure that degenerated into a burger and toy selling venture and finally, into a video game. My score is probably a little on the generous side but the movie falls into the category that most movies fall into.. watchable. And only just so. Expand
  65. DarcieR.
    May 23, 2005
    5
    Movie was good and bad. Good to see the whole thing wrapped up. Bad in the manner it was done. Oscar-worthy actors acting quite poorly. Light saber wars should have been shortened to further develop how Anakin went over to dark side. One minute he was adamant about being good and a Jedi, the next he's headed to the dark side. No character of any interest like Han Solo. We had fun Movie was good and bad. Good to see the whole thing wrapped up. Bad in the manner it was done. Oscar-worthy actors acting quite poorly. Light saber wars should have been shortened to further develop how Anakin went over to dark side. One minute he was adamant about being good and a Jedi, the next he's headed to the dark side. No character of any interest like Han Solo. We had fun watching it, but when you look back it at, you realize how much opportunity was missed. Expand
  66. BlakeT.
    May 24, 2005
    6
    The best way to catagorize this film is to put it next to the likes of Lethal Weapon 3 or Die Hard 3. It is a fun movie to watch with lots of beautiful special effects and exciting action sequences. However, the writing is miserable. If the characters kept their mouths shut, it could be an epic. But, they don't. And, when the love story kicks in, you want to shoot yourself with a The best way to catagorize this film is to put it next to the likes of Lethal Weapon 3 or Die Hard 3. It is a fun movie to watch with lots of beautiful special effects and exciting action sequences. However, the writing is miserable. If the characters kept their mouths shut, it could be an epic. But, they don't. And, when the love story kicks in, you want to shoot yourself with a blaster. I could only imagine what Natalie Portman was thinking when she read the script, "He really wants me to say that?" Expand
  67. WAKOJAKO
    May 24, 2005
    5
    This was loads better than I and II mainly due to the great satisfaction of seeing pouty pretty loverboy Harlequin turned to charcoal at the end. It makes sense now as to why Dark Hater has to wear a mask and breathes as if he is having a very bad allergic reaction. However, what's up with the lightsaber sequences??? At least in the previous films you could see what was happening. This was loads better than I and II mainly due to the great satisfaction of seeing pouty pretty loverboy Harlequin turned to charcoal at the end. It makes sense now as to why Dark Hater has to wear a mask and breathes as if he is having a very bad allergic reaction. However, what's up with the lightsaber sequences??? At least in the previous films you could see what was happening. Now they are reduced to mucho flashes of light. Not cool at all. Expand
  68. J.Calo
    May 24, 2005
    4
    It's a bunch of garbage. [Ed: Yet still a 4?] I think Lucas paid the critics off to ensure a better review than it should have received.
  69. SuperK.
    May 26, 2005
    5
    Well... it was better than the last two, but filled with dialog that is literally laughable.
  70. CaptainSpaulding
    Jun 19, 2005
    4
    Definitely the middle ground of the 3 movies. Star Wars II Attack of the Clones was better than this one. Too much sap, poor acting and ballet dancing (instead of actual figh scenes) have turned another promising Star Wars into so much flash. Want to see Star Wars...watch the original 3 (Parts 4-6). Lucas' ideas are dead and I dread another Indy Jones if he has anything to do with Definitely the middle ground of the 3 movies. Star Wars II Attack of the Clones was better than this one. Too much sap, poor acting and ballet dancing (instead of actual figh scenes) have turned another promising Star Wars into so much flash. Want to see Star Wars...watch the original 3 (Parts 4-6). Lucas' ideas are dead and I dread another Indy Jones if he has anything to do with the writing. Expand
  71. Mike
    Jun 29, 2005
    5
    It was ok..... Best episode out of the three new ones. but still not as good as the orginal.
  72. TonyO.
    Jul 28, 2005
    4
    A bit weak. Two marks are for the grandiose effects, which are impressive. But the acting and the dialogue are surprisingly bad, given the material (which is quite compelling) and the level of criticism that Lucas copped for these deficiencies last time around. It isn't dull, but frankly, it is a disappointment. All the principal actors act as if they were doing the whole thing in A bit weak. Two marks are for the grandiose effects, which are impressive. But the acting and the dialogue are surprisingly bad, given the material (which is quite compelling) and the level of criticism that Lucas copped for these deficiencies last time around. It isn't dull, but frankly, it is a disappointment. All the principal actors act as if they were doing the whole thing in front of a bluescreen, which they probably were. Not really any better than Attack of the Clones, though it beats Phantom Mence. Expand
  73. PaulD.
    Aug 13, 2005
    6
    Has its moments, but Hayden Christensen is impossible to accept as Darth Vader, and about the only thing really positive about it is that it's better than its two predecessors.
  74. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,VThe Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
  75. Dec 9, 2011
    6
    'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which connects adequately with Episode 4. The mutiny within the republic is portrayed brilliantly and despite a boring prolonged light-saber battle at the end,'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which connects adequately with Episode 4. The mutiny within the republic is portrayed brilliantly and despite a boring prolonged light-saber battle at the end, (the music for which is excellent), the film is generally very good. Expand
  76. Feb 22, 2011
    4
    Good god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. ThisGood god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. This however is the most infuriating of the 3, Anakins turn to the darkside was the most hamfisted fall of a charachter that has ever been devoted to film. "What have I done?" is a repentent statement, not one that immediately proceeds a lifelong devotion to evil. The worst of it though is that Anakin still remains a petulant whiny teen that no-one likes, not even the audience, so when Vader appears on screen it's not as a all encompassing bad-ass but as a **** weepy pinhead in a black suit. Noooooooo indeed. Expand
  77. Oct 10, 2011
    6
    Unlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above the glittering planet Coruscant. There are plenty of other moments that will etch themselves into your brain, from the fan-boy-pleasing (if a little brief)Unlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above the glittering planet Coruscant. There are plenty of other moments that will etch themselves into your brain, from the fan-boy-pleasing (if a little brief) trip to the Wookie homeworld of Kashyyyk, to the beautifully executed, yet heartbreaking "Order 66" sequence, and of course the climactic lightsabre battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan on the volcanic planet Mustafar. George Lucas still can't do dialogue, and forces his poor actors to utter some of the most unintentionally hilarious lines in movie history (I'd have to say Obi-Wan's "younglings" line is the most offensive). The actors do their best with the material they have been given, but there is only so much verbal hamminess one can take. Hayden Christiansen is still awful, and Natalie Portman isn't much better. At least Ewan MacGregor attempts to channel a bit of Alec Guinness into his performance, but still has the tendency to fall back on generic "camp" when the script lets him down. The only actor who really impresses is the always excellent Ian McDiarmid, who takes his portrayal of Emperor Palpatine to Shakespearean villain extremes, and is an absolute joy to watch. The main thing that frustrates me about Revenge of the Sith, and about the Star Wars prequels in general though, is not that they aren't as good as the original trilogy. What really annoys me is the extent to which Lucas involved himself. I understand that Star Wars is his baby, and he'll never quite be able to let it go out into the real world without holding its hand. The thing is, Lucas isn't a great director. He doesn't have the charisma or the technical brilliance to be one. He's an ideas man. He really should have done what he did with Empire and Jedi - jotted down the story and left the front-of-house stuff to a more accomplished filmmaker. While i can still get some sort of enjoyment out of all the Star Wars prequels (even the very-nearly awful Attack of the Clones), I'm left annoyed that they could be so much better if Lucas had taken a step back from his baby and hired a script writer and a director. But when all's said and done, it may not be in the same league as any of the original trilogy, but Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequels by quite a margin, and provides just what you want from a Star Wars film - fantastic entertainment. Expand
  78. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    Finally, the day has arrived. The final star wars film is upon us. So is it any good? Well...kind of. The film begins with war, it continues with war, and ends with war. That's all there is too it, there really isn't any story to Revenge of the Sith other than Anakin Skywalker's transformation, and the revenge of the sith (who knew?). The whole movie consists of mindless action, but theFinally, the day has arrived. The final star wars film is upon us. So is it any good? Well...kind of. The film begins with war, it continues with war, and ends with war. That's all there is too it, there really isn't any story to Revenge of the Sith other than Anakin Skywalker's transformation, and the revenge of the sith (who knew?). The whole movie consists of mindless action, but the action is good. This time it's all about the action and nothing else, whereas Phantom Menace focused on being child accessible, Attack of the Clones tried to focus on story but failed, RotS focuses all its strengths on action, and the action is pretty awesome, but the story, and acting is subpar at best. While it may be the final Star Wars flick, it leaves you with a very sour taste in your mouth, like you wanted more, or wanted less. The ending leaves you thinking the movie easily could have added 20 extra minutes and tied things up nicer. Top all of that off with some very campy and cheesy dialogue and RotS ends up being mediocre but the Star Wars film we had hoped for in the end, while it might not contain the narrative the old films did, the action will marvel your mind, and that's good enough for me. Expand
  79. Oct 21, 2011
    4
    While not as bad as Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith is still dire because of Lucasâ
  80. Sep 12, 2014
    6
    The final part of the prequel trilogy, and definitely the hardest to watch as well. There is more violence, and altogether the film is rather dark and filled with despair, cruelty and hopelessness.

    Anakin Skywalker takes strides instead of steps towards the dark side of the Force. It is almost ridiculous how easily he can be pushed along. There is a lot of scheming going on, a couple of
    The final part of the prequel trilogy, and definitely the hardest to watch as well. There is more violence, and altogether the film is rather dark and filled with despair, cruelty and hopelessness.

    Anakin Skywalker takes strides instead of steps towards the dark side of the Force. It is almost ridiculous how easily he can be pushed along. There is a lot of scheming going on, a couple of new characters, but the plot is a bit more forward than before. The story is still a bit jumpy, and there is nothing special to the lines delivered. Only few attempts at humor are actually amusing.

    Visually a good movie, and the soundtrack has many good spots in it.

    Not a bad film, and definitely a good encouragement to start watching the final three parts.
    Expand
  81. Dec 29, 2012
    6
    While it is still lacking in the charm, charisma, or characters that made the originals so great, Revenge of the Sith is refreshing, yet brief return to form for the Star Wars franchise.
  82. May 17, 2016
    4
    The CGI was sort of a mix for me. I liked the design for some areas but at others, I felt it was too much, Where it was obvious that it was a total green screen shot. The action scenes were very well done as well. My biggest issue is the acting. It's so laughably bad, I really do not feel that the cast took this film serious because of how awful the dialogue was written. And that reallyThe CGI was sort of a mix for me. I liked the design for some areas but at others, I felt it was too much, Where it was obvious that it was a total green screen shot. The action scenes were very well done as well. My biggest issue is the acting. It's so laughably bad, I really do not feel that the cast took this film serious because of how awful the dialogue was written. And that really brings the film down. Expand
  83. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    This movie was a vast improvement upon the two preceding films, but it is still not quite up to snuff. Anikan is still a problematic character. I don't see Vader in him. Vader is cold and calculating. Anikan is emotional and reckless. The action sequences are a lot of fun to watch, and as the final loose strings of the series are tied off there is some sense of completion and satisfaction.This movie was a vast improvement upon the two preceding films, but it is still not quite up to snuff. Anikan is still a problematic character. I don't see Vader in him. Vader is cold and calculating. Anikan is emotional and reckless. The action sequences are a lot of fun to watch, and as the final loose strings of the series are tied off there is some sense of completion and satisfaction. I somehow still felt robbed of what might have been had Lucas just set his ego aside and hired some writers to improve upon his script. The original trilogy will always have a place in my heart, but this second trilogy only has a place on my shelf, where it will gather dust for years to come. Expand
  84. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Better than it's predecessor, but not by much. The story works fine, but more work could have been done on the transformation of Anakin into Vader. It felt as though he walked through a door and immediately switched the direction on his moral compass. Also, what is with the editing in this movie? It's like it was done in powerpoint, what with the blind-cuts and fade-aways. I couldBetter than it's predecessor, but not by much. The story works fine, but more work could have been done on the transformation of Anakin into Vader. It felt as though he walked through a door and immediately switched the direction on his moral compass. Also, what is with the editing in this movie? It's like it was done in powerpoint, what with the blind-cuts and fade-aways. I could easily produce the same effects in a home movie with no effort. Expand
  85. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    The best out of the new trilogy but also one of the most boring. Episode III is all about the clone wars, where the Jedi and the Sith come together to start a war. Anakin has got Padme pregnant and his love has been revealed to the order, in light of his past actions they are questioning if he is turning to the Sith. The Emperor offers him eternal life and control over the galaxy toThe best out of the new trilogy but also one of the most boring. Episode III is all about the clone wars, where the Jedi and the Sith come together to start a war. Anakin has got Padme pregnant and his love has been revealed to the order, in light of his past actions they are questioning if he is turning to the Sith. The Emperor offers him eternal life and control over the galaxy to finally push him over the edge and turn on the Jedi. Obi-Wan must stop him before the Jedi fall to the ever growing power of the Sith. Great CGI but too much politics made me bored for most of the film. Expand
  86. Dec 17, 2015
    6
    NOW, this is the best of the prequel films, but that's NOT saying much. This film is dark, very dark, some of the subject matter in the film is downright melancholy and is just haunting. BUT, that in mind, the biggest problem this film has is just the godawful dialog, it is cheesy as all hell *but very quotable* I loved the end fight, it was amazing but again these prequel films sufferNOW, this is the best of the prequel films, but that's NOT saying much. This film is dark, very dark, some of the subject matter in the film is downright melancholy and is just haunting. BUT, that in mind, the biggest problem this film has is just the godawful dialog, it is cheesy as all hell *but very quotable* I loved the end fight, it was amazing but again these prequel films suffer from having this issue where the acting can be so unbelievable forced that it is laughable and cheesy. Its AMAZING HOW TERRIBLE THE ACTING CAN BE IN THIS OVER WISE ABOVE AVERAGE FILM. If your gonna watch any of the prequel films just watch this one, its the best. Expand
  87. Dec 30, 2012
    4
    Everyone says this movie got better. Wrong. The acting is still at an all time low, the events unfold in the most messy way possible, and did I mention how terrible the acting was. Anikan had no expression what so freakin ever and still talks like a pathetic three year old. Samuel L. Jackson also surprised me with his terrible performance. He basically proved to us of how bored he was whenEveryone says this movie got better. Wrong. The acting is still at an all time low, the events unfold in the most messy way possible, and did I mention how terrible the acting was. Anikan had no expression what so freakin ever and still talks like a pathetic three year old. Samuel L. Jackson also surprised me with his terrible performance. He basically proved to us of how bored he was when he did this judging by his actions in the movie. Ewan McGregor was just a smart-a**. The best thing about this film was the awesome visualk effects but it's not much better other than that. Expand
  88. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    As a fan of the first trilogy, I'm still forced to call this episode the 'best' of the second trilogy. Which doesn't help it much. A feeble attempt to 'bring things full circle ("The circle is now complete."???). Even the special effects seem hokey compared to the original 3 films. The only good thing I can say about this is that it's the last film in this set.
  89. Jan 1, 2013
    6
    The start of the film was awful however it did get better. I hate the prequels but this is easily the best out of all of them. At times i was really gripped by the story and it reminded of what was good about the original trilogy and other times i was bored and was losing the will to live.
  90. Mar 30, 2013
    4
    I know that a lot of people love this, and it is the best of the prequels, but the dialogue, acting, and plot is terrible. This is the best prequel, but that's not saying much.
  91. Jan 3, 2016
    6
    Unlike the first two films of this trilogy, Revenge of the Sith is a decent film, but is galaxies away from touching any of the original films. Still, the characters are more authentic, the dialogue is improved, and the last battle between Anakin and Kenobi was a thrill.
  92. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    All of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, badAll of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, bad pacing, piss-poor acting, and some of the worst dialogue of the entire prequel trilogy. It can be so disastrous at times its laughable "NOOOOOO!". For the people who liked the previous films you'll like this, however the only positive aspect of the film that comes to mind is the fact that it finally ends the prequel trilogy. Collapse
  93. Dec 8, 2015
    5
    "Revenge of the Sith" turns 10 this year and it was the first Star Wars movie I saw in the theater.

    This is the movie everyone wanted to see happen because we finally got to see Darth Vader again, but was sitting through the entire movie really worth it? Vader only had about 3 lines and all of them were terrible. The plot of this movie was leading up to this and while it's not a
    "Revenge of the Sith" turns 10 this year and it was the first Star Wars movie I saw in the theater.

    This is the movie everyone wanted to see happen because we finally got to see Darth Vader again, but was sitting through the entire movie really worth it? Vader only had about 3 lines and all of them were terrible. The plot of this movie was leading up to this and while it's not a terrible movie, it's not very thought provoking either. It's filler. Not at the level of "Attack of the Clones" filler, but most of this movie wastes its time on pointless sh*t. I don't care about General Grevious, I don't care about Count Dooku, I don't care about Mace Windu, and I don't even care about Anakin Skywalker and his story is the most important one. Hayden Christansen wins ANOTHER Razzie for his portrayal and came off as an absolutely hilarious idiot.

    Lucas just doesn't know what he's doing here. Since this trilogy is so horribly written, I like to think of this "prequel" saga as a completely different species. They don't connect with the original trilogy in any way, unless Lucas has to modify the originals just so they could somewhat be in the same universe. Sigh...

    I do have nostalgia for this third film, but how far can nostalgia really take you once your're not interested in what's even happening?

    With the few pros: The CGI is certainly the best of the prequels. Even though they lack any heart or substance, they blend in better with their environments. Ewan McGregor gives his best performance as Obi- Wan and has some of the only few lines of dialogue that are very involving and ones that intentionally made me laugh. Seeing Ian McDiarmid reprise his role as the The Emperor in his prime is a pure joy to watch. I love watching the Emperor in this movie, he's so damn evil but he loves to be evil, and he looks so damn creepy and his voice is so goofy but can still be ominous at certain points. Like usual, John Williams' film score is fantastic and is tied with Ian McDiarmid as the two best things about this film.

    "Revenge of the Sith" is the most decent Star Wars prequel, but it's just gotten so much more uninteresting with time...
    Expand
  94. Dec 27, 2015
    6
    I will say, out of the three prequel films this is the strongest. It closes the chapter on a decent note, however the acting and chemistry still isn't there. The choices George Lucas made still aren't strong enough to salvage what could have been a strong set of films.
  95. Dec 28, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The fact that it fares better than Episode I and II doesn’t make it any real good. It’s also probably the biggest culprit in the prequel trilogy, because it miserably wastes all the promising premises the story had. Did Anakin had to be so gullible, believing to save Padme just by using the Force, no matter how stupid that sounds? The prequels have been criticized for having too much politics in them, but I think the real problem here is with the trivial, overexposing dialogues surrounding each and every political choice. Was the imposing executive supposed to be a metaphor of the Bush jr. infamous presidency? At least Anakin has the decency of considering impeaching the Chancellor, but Christensen is just so bad at virtually everything he’s trying to deliver, that it’s impossible to find him believable. The ever present massive CGI makes it look like an animated feature most of the time, the action is never engaging, it’s never physical. The final alternate editing too would have been more interesting if it hadn’t had CGI babies in it. It’s such a wonder that a Star Wars movie can be so unemotional and ultimately boring. Expand
  96. Apr 24, 2015
    6
    In perhaps the most blatant instance of a Star Wars character plugging a plot hole, at one point in Return Of The Jedi, Obi-Wan Kenobi brushes aside the lies he told Luke about Vader with this infamous equivocation, "Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view." So then, from a certain point of view, Revenge Of The Sith, simultaneously the middle and last StarIn perhaps the most blatant instance of a Star Wars character plugging a plot hole, at one point in Return Of The Jedi, Obi-Wan Kenobi brushes aside the lies he told Luke about Vader with this infamous equivocation, "Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view." So then, from a certain point of view, Revenge Of The Sith, simultaneously the middle and last Star Wars movie, is the best sequel, and the most pleasing surprise, in the entire saga.

    In true Saturday morning serial fashion Sith begins with a chapter left-over from a previous adventure: the rescue of the Chancellor from General Grievous by Anakin, Obi-Wan and the saga's best sidekick: R2-D2. Fast, loose, inventive and within touching distance of funny, this is the spiritual sequel to the original escape from the Death Star, reloaded with full Jedi powers. Like a fragment from a lost civilization, this episode hints at countless Clone Wars escapades that sadly exist only in the extended universe — still, at least we have that bit where Jar Jar falls over the explosive marbles captured on film.

    The sequence ends with the saga’s single most audacious shot since the Star Destroyer first passed overhead — the front half of Grievous’ flagship The Invisible Hand screeching to a halt yards from camera — and it becomes clear that faced with the thankless task of directly dovetailing into a timeless classic everybody from Lucas down has raised their game considerably. ILM finally seem to have finished the digital toolkit they’ve been toying with since the late nineties fashioning flora and fauna that has real weight and substance for the first time. There are 2,200 effects shots in Sith — more than Menace and Clones combined — and there’s not a single specimen of bad compositing, which is more than can be said for 2006’s SFX Oscar winner King Kong.

    Also flawless is Gavin Bouquet’s production design - indeed, Sith's most unambiguous joy is watching Bouquet and Lucas retrofit their galaxy - often there seems to be no escape as the mismatched trilogies crunch together, but a deft aside or throwaway motif always gets us out of the compacter.

    So far, so certain point of view - however Sith carries a far graver responsibility than the prequels it quickly outclasses. Lucas himself admitted that fully 60 percent of his original outline was slated for this bridging episode, which means that all the unanswered questions that made the prequels permissible in the first place are addressed here. In other words, Sith is it: this is where the myths get set in stone, Lucas can muck around on Naboo all he likes, but if he screws up the birth of Vader, big black 'ain't ever going to be the same.

    And once Sith starts forging myth, fingers are burned. The shortcomings may be familiar by now but they rankle more than ever here. Just as it was becoming possible to tune out the constant clanking of Lucas' lumbering dialogue the words are invested with real import. And just as we were getting used to the declarative ‘30s-style line readings that Lucas alone finds an adequate substitute for acting, the drama is asked to support some really heavy **** Many of the key components of the Star Wars legend — Vader’s birth, Padme’s death — are ultimately undone by dialogue that is ludicrous either in intent or execution.

    Sometimes you simply think “Noooo!”

    Mercifully then, the Star Wars myth is so powerful, so pre-imagined by so many, that much of it requires no explanation bar our constant narrator: the peerless John Williams. The twin duels that bring the third act to a rousing close confirm Sith as not just the darkest but also the prettiest entry in the saga — the lava landscape of Mustafa, in particular, has obviously been bubbling in Lucas imagination for nearly thirty years. (A few shots also benefit from having best pal Steven Spielberg play around with the “pre-viz” animatic software.)

    In the end then, it depends on your point of view. As a sequel to the prequels, Sith is more than anyone can reasonably have hoped for, a movie that made it okay to be a Star Wars fan again.

    All sequels must pay for the sins of their fathers: where Return Of The Jedi runs out of plot half way through, Sith has so much ground to make up that Yoda is gamely plugging holes with his last line of scripted dialogue. But even if the last leg of the prequel journey is every bit as bumpy, the view improves considerably and the destination at last proves to be a place many of us still call home.
    Expand
  97. Nov 23, 2015
    4
    Revenge of the Sith fumbles the ball and condemns Anakin Skywalker as a whiner. Is a missed opportunity to portray the inner conflict of Anakin Skywalker. In the end the script and the actor failed to sculpture the shades of gray which can make a great man/woman fall from grace.

    So, after Episode I The Phantom Menace where the story is so loosly told and you are unable to get any
    Revenge of the Sith fumbles the ball and condemns Anakin Skywalker as a whiner. Is a missed opportunity to portray the inner conflict of Anakin Skywalker. In the end the script and the actor failed to sculpture the shades of gray which can make a great man/woman fall from grace.

    So, after Episode I The Phantom Menace where the story is so loosly told and you are unable to get any attachement to the characters and plot; and Episode II Attack of the Clones, where Anakin is nothing more than a whiner who somehow falls in love with Padme (who curiously waited in age for the little Anakin to grow up) in, perhaps, one of the lousiest romance plots in movies; you get the conclusion of the story of Anakin Skywalker and his transformation to Darth Vader.

    In Episode III Revenge of the Sith, Anakin is more annoying than ever. How the Jedi Council could bear with him is a mystery of the Force by itself. And why did he fall to the dark side? Was there philosophical plot that pushed Anakin Skywalker to choose the side of the Chancellor Palpatin? Did the Jedi betrayed their beliefs in a way that Skywalker could not support them anymore? Did he fall because he was on a great quest to save the galaxy but the constant conflict pushed his limits? No, you are told he fell to the dark side because he was an egocentric whiner who did not want Padme to die. The whole plot is weak going around this one and only concern of Anakin. Yes, there is the war against the separatists, there is general Grievous, there is Obi Wan Kenobi, and there is some mention of the political problems in the senate. But all you get is a weak Anakin characterization with a weird relationship with Padme and a final battle with Obi Wan.

    After this movie, combining Episode I and II, the mythos of Darth Vader is destroyed. You no longer care for him. When we learned in Episode V that he was Luke’s father, it was a great revelation with still great mystery behind his tragedy to become Darth Vader. Now, after Episode III, it has all come to a missed opportunity. Not for George Lucas who has and will be doing millions of US Dollars… and Disney which bought Lucas Films. The whole of die- hard fans will follow blindly, but I for one, prefer the plot of Knights of the Old Republic better than the prequel which killed Darth Vader and Anakin Skywalker.
    Expand
  98. Jul 1, 2016
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. RotS is a definite improvement over the first two prequels (well, it couldn't be as bad as the epically awful AotC), but it is still a monumental disappointment.
    The plot revolves around the finale of the Clone Wars, the destruction of the Jedi Order, Anakin Skywalker's reluctant embracing of the Dark Side of The Force, Obi-Wan and Yoda's forced exile, and the 'birth' of Darth Vader, Luke Skywalker and Leia Organa.

    The film ties up the relevant plot points adequately but, as a movie, it's just so incredibly lazily directed and ineptly written..... Throw in some (now expected) terrible acting, enough CGI to make you wonder why they bothered hiring any real actors at all, and it all comes together into a well organised mess.

    There are some good points.... But not many. Some of the actors in the film (notably Ewan McGregor, as Obi-Wan, and Natalie Portman, as Senator Amidala) are trying to rise above the unbelievably bad script, but are simply unable to. As I mentioned in my review for AotC it's almost as if George Lucas can't imagine any actor in his film(s) being able to express the emotions of their character, so he has to actually have them say what emotional state they're in. And it's so patronising as to be borderline offensive.
    Other bad things? Well, Hayden Christensen drags the movie down even more than he did in AotC, mainly because the central crux of the narrative (his 'turning' to the Dark Side) just becomes unintentionally hilarious. He isn't helped by very strange performance by Ian McDiarmid (as Palpatine/Darth Sideous) who turns the evil Sith Lord mastermind into an almost camp parody, with his vocal inflections and over the top mannerisms.
    Both Christopher Lee and Sam L. Jackson are both wasted, and the less said about the terrible CGI Yoda the better.

    Is there anything good? Not really.... The long awaited reveal of Darth Sideous is quite frankly lame, leading up to the duel between him and Mace Windu which is also very badly put together.
    Anakin's turn to the Dark Side is cemented with his revelation 'What have I done?'... A line delivered much better (and with a lot more class and conviction) by the 'original Obi-Wan actor Alec Guinness in Bridge on the River Kwai... And even the destruction of the Jedi, the real emotional set-piece of the movie is terrible... Jesus... Having some cute, chubby kid deliver the line 'Master Skywalker, there are too many of them' before we see Anakin's 'evil' yellow eyes (which makes no sense by the way), and the inference of Anakin killing all the 'Younglings', is just ineptly done....

    I could simply go on, but I won't.

    The bottom line is that this film is awful but, because it's rounding off several story arcs, it has to include some narrative plot points (and some action scenes) that make it better (if that's a compliment) than the first two prequels....
    Expand
  99. Dec 11, 2015
    6
    Sometimes you simply think “Noooo!”

    In true Saturday morning serial fashion Sith begins with a chapter left-over from a previous adventure: the rescue of the Chancellor from General Grievous by Anakin, Obi-Wan and the saga's best sidekick: R2-D2. Fast, loose, inventive and within touching distance of funny, this is the spiritual sequel to the original escape from the Death Star,
    Sometimes you simply think “Noooo!”

    In true Saturday morning serial fashion Sith begins with a chapter left-over from a previous adventure: the rescue of the Chancellor from General Grievous by Anakin, Obi-Wan and the saga's best sidekick: R2-D2. Fast, loose, inventive and within touching distance of funny, this is the spiritual sequel to the original escape from the Death Star, reloaded with full Jedi powers. Like a fragment from a lost civilization, this episode hints at countless Clone Wars escapades that sadly exist only in the extended universe — still, at least we have that bit where Jar Jar falls over the explosive marbles captured on film.

    The sequence ends with the saga’s single most audacious shot since the Star Destroyer first passed overhead — the front half of Grievous’ flagship The Invisible Hand screeching to a halt yards from camera — and it becomes clear that faced with the thankless task of directly dovetailing into a timeless classic everybody from Lucas down has raised their game considerably. ILM finally seem to have finished the digital toolkit they’ve been toying with since the late nineties fashioning flora and fauna that has real weight and substance for the first time. There are 2,200 effects shots in Sith — more than Menace and Clones combined — and there’s not a single specimen of bad compositing, which is more than can be said for 2006’s SFX Oscar winner King Kong.

    Also flawless is Gavin Bouquet’s production design - indeed, Sith's most unambiguous joy is watching Bouquet and Lucas retrofit their galaxy - often there seems to be no escape as the mismatched trilogies crunch together, but a deft aside or throwaway motif always gets us out of the compacter.

    So far, so certain point of view - however Sith carries a far graver responsibility than the prequels it quickly outclasses. Lucas himself admitted that fully 60 percent of his original outline was slated for this bridging episode, which means that all the unanswered questions that made the prequels permissible in the first place are addressed here. In other words, Sith is it: this is where the myths get set in stone, Lucas can muck around on Naboo all he likes, but if he screws up the birth of Vader, big black 'ain't ever going to be the same.

    Most damagingly, Anakin's conversion to the dark side is rushed through during a slack middle act where the chosen one bounces back and forth between Mace Windu and Palpatine like a confused teenager in a soap opera love triangle. The self-inflicted 20-20-60 story split that starved Episodes I and II of real incident, leaves Lucas with far too much ground to make up here: so far we’ve gathered that Anakin is arrogant, horny and has bad dreams —well, we all know it’s just a short-step from there to baby killer.

    The delicious McDiarmid does his best to make the dark side sound seductive but unless you are steeped in Force lore (for the record, once Anakin cracks open the door, the flood-gates burst and it is near-impossible to resist) this critical moment - the moment - utterly fails to convince.

    In the end then, it depends on your point of view. As a sequel to the prequels, Sith is more than anyone can reasonably have hoped for, a movie that made it okay to be a Star Wars fan again. However, a few fans will always cling to a different truth, to an alternative universe where at least one prequel was the equal of the original trilogy. And for those people, Revenge Of The Sith, the last chance to get it right, will always rate as the biggest disappointment of all.

    From a certain point of view.

    All sequels must pay for the sins of their fathers: where Return Of The Jedi runs out of plot half way through, Sith has so much ground to make up that Yoda is gamely plugging holes with his last line of scripted dialogue. But even if the last leg of the prequel journey is every bit as bumpy, the view improves considerably and the destination at last proves to be a place many of us still call home.
    Expand
  100. Jan 5, 2016
    5
    Drink the Kool-Aid. Wear blinders. Cover your ears. Because that's the only way you can totally enjoy Revenge of the Sith — the final and most futile attempt from skilled producer, clumsy director and tin-eared writer George Lucas to create a prequel trilogy to match the myth-making spirit of the original Wars saga he unleashed twenty-eight years ago. Fan boys, of course, have convincedDrink the Kool-Aid. Wear blinders. Cover your ears. Because that's the only way you can totally enjoy Revenge of the Sith — the final and most futile attempt from skilled producer, clumsy director and tin-eared writer George Lucas to create a prequel trilogy to match the myth-making spirit of the original Wars saga he unleashed twenty-eight years ago. Fan boys, of course, have convinced themselves otherwise. So have several critics, if you go by early reviews.

    Heralded for its savagery (my God, it's rated PG-13), the film follows Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen — to merely call him wooden is an affront to puppets everywhere) as he loses his limbs and his conscience and takes on the evil mantle of Darth Vader. But thematic darkness is no excuse for dimness in all other departments, except the visual.

    In this heretic's opinion, Sith is a stiff, brought down by that special knack Lucas has of turning flesh-and-blood actors into cardboard cutouts. To hear Anakin and his pregnant wife, Senator Padme (the vivacious Natalie Portman rendered vacant), discuss their marriage — a secret that could get Anakin defrocked as a Jedi — is to redefine stilted for a new millennium. The minute any character — human or droid — opens a mouth to speak, your eyes glaze over.

    I kept thinking how much better Sith would play as a silent film, with only Chewbacca allowed to do his Wookiee growl and John Williams to trumpet his recycled score.nd yet, Revenge of the Sith is the movie that will do more business (my guess is $400 million-plus), sell more popcorn and brainwash more audiences than any blockbuster this summer. There are reasons: Sith is the last time Lucas will ever skywalk with the Skywalkers on the big screen (talk persists of a TV spinoff). There is enormous goodwill built up by the original series Lucas began in 1977 with Wars: A New Hope, continued in 1980 with The Empire Strikes Back and ended in 1983 with Return of the Jedi. All three of those movies belong in my personal time capsule, despite the Ewok blight on the last one. That's why you, me and everyone we know lined up for 1999's juvenile The Phantom Menace and 2002's atrocious Attack of the Clones. We watched with stifled yawns as Anakin grew from a snot-nosed kid (Jake Lloyd) to a whiny teen lover boy and wanna-be Jedi (Christensen). We justified the thudding lifelessness (a pox on those Jedi councils) by praising Lucas' digital artistry and nurturing the hope that Revenge of the Sith would spin our heads around with the dark magic of Darth Vader.

    Not even close. Until the last half-hour, when Lucas actually does establish a emotional connection between the landmark he created in 1977 and the prequel investment portfolio he laid out in 1999, the movie is one spectacularly designed letdown after another. Chief culprit? The script. Even with a reported polish by — say it isn't so — British playwright Tom Stoppard, the words are leaden, faux literate, mock-Shakespearean and devoid of humor. The late critic Pauline Kael once dismissed Wars as "an epic without a dream." I disagree. Lucas' dream is a grand one: to build a mythic futuristic fantasy out of the influences of his youth — the Bible, the Bard, H.G. Wells, Jack London, John Ford westerns, Flash Gordon serials and long afternoons at the movies. If only for the original Wars, Lucas deserves a place in film history. He transformed pop culture into Pop Art.ucas' major error was believing he could do it all alone. With Empire — now officially the best of the Wars six — Lucas had the invaluable help of screenwriters Lawrence Kasdan (Raiders of the Lost Ark) and Leigh Brackett (The Big Sleep), and director Irvin Kershner, who knew how to loosen up actors. For those who wrongly criticized Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford back when, all I can say is, look and weep.

    As for the good stuff, none of it involves human speech. There's Obi-Wan taking on the droid general, Grievous, whose metal arms can swing four light-sabers. There's the massacre of the Jedi when Palpatine calls for Order 66. There's Palpatine taking on Yoda (again voiced by Frank Oz), whom he contemptuously calls my "little green friend."

    ucas almost pulls the plot out of the fire in the film's final section, showing Obi-Wan hacking away at Anakin with his light-saber on the lava planet of Mustafar. Lucas even drops a hint that Anakin thinks Padme and Obi-Wan may have been getting it on. As we watch Anakin nearly melt in the lava, only to be put together, Frankenstein style, in a lab while Lucas intercuts scenes of Padme giving birth to the twins Luke and Leia, a link to genuine feeling is established at last. t's too little and too late. To hail Revenge of the Sith as a satisfying bridge to a classic is not just playing a game of the Emperor's New Clothes, it's an insult to what the original accomplished. To paraphrase Padme: This is how truth dies — to thunderous applause.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 88
    Only now can we truly step back and admire the full tapestry that it has taken George Lucas and his ILM wizards nearly three decades to weave.
  2. The final episode of George Lucas' cinematic epic "Star Wars" ends the six-movie series on such a high note that one feels like yelling out, "Rewind!" Yes, rewind through more than 13 hours of bravery, treachery, new worlds, odd creatures and human frailty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."