Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 25, 1977
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1361 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,262
Mixed:
46
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
This was a revolutionary movie that established scifi as a financially popular genre and allowed many more movies to come to the fore. The backstory might even be better than the actual movie.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
MaxBMay 10, 2009
Anyone who says this movie is crap is crazy. Star Wars IV a New Hope is and will always remain an epic classic. It's so well done with a nice balance of action, comedy, and a brilliant story. A New Hope is like nothing you've every Anyone who says this movie is crap is crazy. Star Wars IV a New Hope is and will always remain an epic classic. It's so well done with a nice balance of action, comedy, and a brilliant story. A New Hope is like nothing you've every seen or will see. It remains to be the best of the Star Wars franchise. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ChrisRahRahJun 4, 2005
As a stand-alone film, it's the best of the Star Wars series by far. Great script, none of the idiotic ramblings that plague the prequels, perfectly cast, actors all do a great job (you can argue that mark hamill isn't acting, but As a stand-alone film, it's the best of the Star Wars series by far. Great script, none of the idiotic ramblings that plague the prequels, perfectly cast, actors all do a great job (you can argue that mark hamill isn't acting, but he's playing the wide eyed farm boy to perfection), state-of-the-art (at the time) special effects. Yes, Lucas CAN be accused of jacking some material from Tolkien. BUT in the end, does it matter? Nope. Phenomenal film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BryceP.May 1, 2005
Incomparable. The best single movie ever made.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobertW.Jun 20, 2008
Star Wars will forever be that timeless film we can watch time and time again and still feel the same way about it as we did in our youthful years.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
How many other films do people watch over and over?
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JillSmookMay 15, 2005
Magical, captured me in 1977 and never let go.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
olivia,raleigh,josiahbrownJun 17, 2005
Raleigh:Star Wars movies are the best movies in the world.nobody can reject them.Star Wars will always rule the world.I love Star Wars and will always love it.Its like my life.i want to have 4 kids.first,a girl. i will name her Padme. then, Raleigh:Star Wars movies are the best movies in the world.nobody can reject them.Star Wars will always rule the world.I love Star Wars and will always love it.Its like my life.i want to have 4 kids.first,a girl. i will name her Padme. then, i want a boy.i will name him Anikin.then,i want to have twins. the boy first, named Luke. then the girl,named Leia. josiah:i think Star Wars movies are the best movies made in the world. olivia:i adore Star Wars. when #3 came out, i had to watch it. i didnt care if it was pg13.i wanted to see Luke and Leia being born. when i watched #3, the Saga was complete. when i have twins,i might name them Luke and Leia.i think raleigh would need to marry a fan of Star Wars. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MattMOct 29, 2008
Michael. H., you are in denial. this film happens to be the most successful and popular movie ever made. i guess everyone's a nerd, because everyone's seen star wars.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
OliverL.Oct 3, 2008
The best movie of the decade and almost best of the century. The excellent characters, first rate performances and John Williams perfect musical score make it near perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Byronj.Apr 17, 2008
fantastic
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
S.B.MApr 25, 2008
If i know my star wars, this is probably the original version. if it is, then i would like to say this is way better than that crappy special edition one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexCFeb 8, 2009
I'm not sure what happened to the two sequels to this movie on Megacritic, but they were superb too. But the prequels were piles of crap. The story of the original Star Wars is the reason why I'm proud to say that I love the Star I'm not sure what happened to the two sequels to this movie on Megacritic, but they were superb too. But the prequels were piles of crap. The story of the original Star Wars is the reason why I'm proud to say that I love the Star Wars franchise. Except for episode 1-3. Oh well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
zacko.May 16, 2005
GMDK, you my friend are an idiot. Considering this movie was made in the 1970's, it singlehandedly brought a special effects and action revolution to American Cinema. All of the movies you named have been made in the last 5 years, of GMDK, you my friend are an idiot. Considering this movie was made in the 1970's, it singlehandedly brought a special effects and action revolution to American Cinema. All of the movies you named have been made in the last 5 years, of course they are going to have better special effects than star wars. Star wars is 30 years older. However Star Wars is one of the best movies ever made, and it always will be. No other sci fi film has brought the amount of attention as Star Wars. 30 years later, this movie's greatness still stuns audiences, and is one of the most popular movies ever. period. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
Star Wars (Episode IV - A New Hope) is an old movie yet it's one of the most awesome movies ever! if anyone wanted to watch other popular sci-fi stuff I would recommend Star Trek, or BBC's Doctor Who (i meant no offense)
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
mikekMay 27, 2009
The first star wars i saw the commercials for the special edition in 1997 and thought it was a new movie then my mom tells me that's already out and she went to the local video store and rented it i most of watched it ten times before The first star wars i saw the commercials for the special edition in 1997 and thought it was a new movie then my mom tells me that's already out and she went to the local video store and rented it i most of watched it ten times before returning it to find their where sequels...i actually saw return of the jedi before empire..which was confusing..but this movie i now today live by the jedi way or at least try i am a fanboy and feel foolish not to of seen it till i was 8 now i can't comprehend not knowing it i even have a darth vader tattoo on my should so this is the one that started everything and is still amazing today. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PixarloverOct 17, 2012
Anyone who gave this a negative review were clearly out of their mind or they like Twilight. Who knows?

Star Wars... Come on, do I really have to go any further than just saying those two gorgeously combined words? This is where the
Anyone who gave this a negative review were clearly out of their mind or they like Twilight. Who knows?

Star Wars... Come on, do I really have to go any further than just saying those two gorgeously combined words? This is where the franchise began. This is where the epic story would continue into many other forms of media beyond film.

Star Wars is simply the greatest movie ever made and gave birth to the Hollywood blockbusters we know and love today. A wholly epic piece of cinema that continues to live on after its theatrical release 35 years ago.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MrScruffSep 3, 2012
A classic, pure imagination, creativity, and innovation went into creating this movie and it really stands out. The greatest sci-fi movie ever created.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
A outstanding movie and the best of all the Star Wars movies, a true classic that is still a blast to watch today again and again, and because of this it gets a perfect 10, you must watch this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
tbagurdrumset94Jan 30, 2012
Just watched it for the millionth time... as always, I wanted to watch it again right away. Very few movies give me that feeling. The story is predictable, but in all the right ways. Besides, the unpredictability was to be saved for theJust watched it for the millionth time... as always, I wanted to watch it again right away. Very few movies give me that feeling. The story is predictable, but in all the right ways. Besides, the unpredictability was to be saved for the sequels... The acting? Does it LOOK like I care about the "bad" acting? Everyone is great. The characters are now so beloved, that there's no way for me to hate on them or the actors. Just go watch it again... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
BrandonBonaseraDec 16, 2015
Star Wars is a groundbreaking, entertaining and highly enthralling film that helped influence not just the childhoods of many people but also revolutionised cinema as we know it. Almost everything about the film is near-perfect; theStar Wars is a groundbreaking, entertaining and highly enthralling film that helped influence not just the childhoods of many people but also revolutionised cinema as we know it. Almost everything about the film is near-perfect; the performances are fantastic, the characters are iconic, the dialogue is the brilliant, the filmmaking and practical effects are phenomenal and still hold up today and the score by John Williams is one of the best ever composed. The few flaws with the film include a couple shoddy lines of dialogue and some questionable actions made by the characters, but besides those it's a great and highly enjoyable film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 4, 2012
Definitely one of the best movies of all time, a classic that forever changed the Sci-Fi genre forever with its improvised special effects visuals and sounds that became staples of the Sci-Fi movies, TV shows and Video games of the future.Definitely one of the best movies of all time, a classic that forever changed the Sci-Fi genre forever with its improvised special effects visuals and sounds that became staples of the Sci-Fi movies, TV shows and Video games of the future. The musical score was absolutely amazing, John Williams is a great composer who added a lot to many great Hollywood films. The main characters were all great actors and actresses. (only the minor characters sucked "look sir droids!", etc. lol). The movie even accidentally spawned an amazing line of toys too! This film was epic and very few come to mind when I try to think of movies as epic that have been released since then. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
esuJan 20, 2013
It's quite laughable how some people compare movies like this to things like some Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol movie. You think the effects aren't that good? Oh, I wonder why. This movie was made in 1977. Most of the half-brainedIt's quite laughable how some people compare movies like this to things like some Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol movie. You think the effects aren't that good? Oh, I wonder why. This movie was made in 1977. Most of the half-brained morons who are giving this movie bad ratings were probably not even within 10 years of being born. Great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
sammurphy66Jul 24, 2014
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is without any doubt the greatest film ever created - and will remain in that prestigious position for years to come.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Mordovan89Mar 2, 2014
I personally do not give you 10 followed, but this movie is super entertaining, with a shuddering sound, unforgettable music and a wonderful story.
Although it is unrealistic, this will be the best science fiction movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
moviefanatic15Jul 7, 2015
Star Wars. What can I say about it that hasn't been said before. To me Star wars is one of those films where you watch it over and over again. I think this film is full of almost every genre. Science-fiction, adventure, action, etc. EverStar Wars. What can I say about it that hasn't been said before. To me Star wars is one of those films where you watch it over and over again. I think this film is full of almost every genre. Science-fiction, adventure, action, etc. Ever since I saw this film, I have become a total movie fan and a star wars fan. If my life didn't have star wars in it, my life would be a dark place. I've seen this movie so many times that when I finish watching a screening, I feel like I haven't seen it enough times. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TonydannieJun 19, 2005
I first saw this film in 1984 .I was living in Puerto Rico with my mom. It was on video. I remember the subtitles were pink. I fell in love with this film back then and 21 years and six chapters later it still holds a place in my heart. It I first saw this film in 1984 .I was living in Puerto Rico with my mom. It was on video. I remember the subtitles were pink. I fell in love with this film back then and 21 years and six chapters later it still holds a place in my heart. It is my fourth favorite now, but back then before Empire And Jedi. Before Menace, Clones, Sith. It was the only one that mattered then. It opened a new window into the movies for me. Being not only the First Star Wars movie but also my very First movie. Well.. At least that I recall. This movie lets your imagination run wild. Besides the amazing Revenge Of the Sith. NO movie has come close to matching its fun and fast pace. Well maybe a couple. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nintendoid13Dec 22, 2010
Ok, movielonely94, you need to take a look at the DVD case again. A New Hope was the FIRST and the best of the STAR WARS series. Anyway, this movie has everything: story, actors, genius director, and the great mystery of Darth Vader. A-MAZING!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
This is where all of the magic begins. George Lucas' great cinematic adventure takes off just as it should. It's one for history. More than revolutionary for science-fiction in 1977.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodDec 16, 2015
One of the greatest scifi films of all time, such amazing depth to this intrrgalaxtic spaceopera it is amazing amd worth all your time. So go out and watch star wars
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cole123Dec 1, 2013
Great action scenes,story and mind blowing special effects for the time(They still look good today).Without a doubt this is not just the best star wars movie but also the best sci-fi film ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
虽然没有炫目的特效,但本片仍是所有科幻电影中的佼佼者,电影故事精彩,配乐激赞,拥有丰富的人物角色,外星人的设计都很有趣,现在看1977年的特效还是很为当时的电影人感到佩服。
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
While I'm not a Star Wars fan like many people out there, that doesn't mean I can't like the movies. I would not say this is my all-time favorite movie, but Lucas definitely succeeds here. The intricate world he has created is tough to beat.While I'm not a Star Wars fan like many people out there, that doesn't mean I can't like the movies. I would not say this is my all-time favorite movie, but Lucas definitely succeeds here. The intricate world he has created is tough to beat. The fact that there are still stories left untold is amazing to me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BatFat09Feb 21, 2014
Star Wars in a whole is awesome. I cannot believe that it doesn't have an 100 rating. This classic movie is among the most influential movies of all time, I believe its popularity will stay huge just like wizard of oz.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelBagamerySep 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, this is a good movie, but not QUITE the classic I'd always been conditioned to expect. (That honour I reserve for 'The Empire Strikes Back'.) While the action is pretty thrilling, it also takes a while to get off the ground (no pun intended), which may have something to do with how heavy it is on the exposition, especially with the opening crawl. (Even if the movie was being funded by a then-dying studio, that's no excuse to disregard that old rule 'show, don't tell'.)

Having said that, I can see why this flick is so beloved. There's going into space, two protagonists who are more like us than we want to admit, and of course, what nearly everyone wants to do: saving the world. It looks really good, especially for 1977, though seeing as I had to watch the remastered version, the CGI sticks out pretty clearly.

It's worth your time to watch it, just a bit less so than its first sequel and later works like 'The Matrix' and 'Serenity'.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JoshLuck1995Aug 6, 2014
Watching it now you cannot help but notice some of the funny special effects but thats pretty irrelevant, for its time it is a beautiful film and of course its the film that started it all, fantastic film especially for its time and a must watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DenisManuSep 3, 2014
Star Wars is a fantastic Sci-Fi & Fantasy Action Adventure movie that takes place:"A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away..." and tells the story of a young boy who wants to become something more than what he was raised for.But withoutStar Wars is a fantastic Sci-Fi & Fantasy Action Adventure movie that takes place:"A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away..." and tells the story of a young boy who wants to become something more than what he was raised for.But without any preparations he enters in this dangerous adventure, finding dark secrets of his past, in order for him to become a hero that will save the universe.The movie is filled with fantastic quotable lines of dialogue and a classic adventure of good vs evil. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Ham_CriticAug 22, 2015
Anybody that thinks this movie is bad, doesn't have good taste. This was the movie that changed the way films are made, the special effects were amazing for it's time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffDec 16, 2015
One of the most (if not THE most) revolutionary and groundbreaking science fiction movies of all time, "Star Wars" (or "Episode IV: A New Hope") is a brilliantly inventive and always engaging science fiction adventure filled with charactersOne of the most (if not THE most) revolutionary and groundbreaking science fiction movies of all time, "Star Wars" (or "Episode IV: A New Hope") is a brilliantly inventive and always engaging science fiction adventure filled with characters who we come to know and love in the history of cinema and great special effects that may not hold up to this day, but for a movie made in 1977, you got to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Mark Hamill stars as the movie's main protagonist, Luke Skywalker, who is a young man that discovers that he can be so much more after meeting Obi-Wan Kenobi (Alec Guinness) who tells him about his history with his father and how he was trained.

Luke ends up meeting some more colorful characters on his journey to saving the Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) from the evil Darth Vader (voiced by James Earl Jones) whose plan is to destroy the Rebel Alliance. More characters that help out include Han Solo (Harrison Ford), his Wookiee Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew) and two droids, C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) and R2-D2 (Kenny Baker).

What writer and director George Lucas has created is a fantasy world of his own, and it became one of the most legendary, and culturally significant pieces of motion picture ever. The story is engaging and well told, and even well thought out. We come to care for the characters as soon as we're introduced to them, and we would never know where the motion picture would be today, if "Star Wars" never happened.

Little do we know, that there would be more engaging stories that follow.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Sep 9, 2015
A new hope is a fantastic science fiction film with a story that resembles that of greek mythology but brings it in the most exciting of ways with great characters and dialogue moments between eachother and the cherry on top is theA new hope is a fantastic science fiction film with a story that resembles that of greek mythology but brings it in the most exciting of ways with great characters and dialogue moments between eachother and the cherry on top is the groundbreaking special effects and action sequences. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FarhanFirozOct 2, 2015
This is one of the best movies i've seen and this movie revolutionizes the whole cinema. This movie is a timeless classic.There is nothing to hate in the movie. The story is simple and great.The VFX were mind blowing when it was released inThis is one of the best movies i've seen and this movie revolutionizes the whole cinema. This movie is a timeless classic.There is nothing to hate in the movie. The story is simple and great.The VFX were mind blowing when it was released in 1977. And it still holds up till now. Darth Vader is one of most iconic villian's I've seen on the big screen. All the characters are likeable and you care for these characters too. The action was great in the movie. Han solo and Chewbacca brings all the laughs to the movie. The chemistry between obi wan and Luke was so good. The movie explores well the universe. The score of the movie is one of the best things which made the movie great. The only issue I had with the movie was the last fight between obi wan and Darth Vader wasn't impacting.

In the end star wars is a must see movie for all generation and your going to have a blast with it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cheesus00Jul 10, 2015
Without it, I doubt that many of today's blockbusters would exist. It may not have changed the way movies were told but it certainly changed the way they were made, introducing to us many new ideas and concepts in the visual effects medium.Without it, I doubt that many of today's blockbusters would exist. It may not have changed the way movies were told but it certainly changed the way they were made, introducing to us many new ideas and concepts in the visual effects medium. It is without a question the ultimate blockbuster, and that is just scraping the surface of how influential and great it is. Easily in my Top 10 Favorites list along with Episode 5. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbyOct 25, 2015
This sci-fi classic was the perfect start to one of the greatest film sagas of all time, featuring great characters, good performances, an intriguing story and the greatest villain in cinema history (who also has the most famous breath inThis sci-fi classic was the perfect start to one of the greatest film sagas of all time, featuring great characters, good performances, an intriguing story and the greatest villain in cinema history (who also has the most famous breath in cinema history). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoDec 18, 2015
Star Wars-the mother of all blockbuster films to come! If you haven't seen any if these movies yet, you're not a true movie lover. Darth Vader is the best movie villain of all time, and Han Solo is definitely one of the best heroes. If thereStar Wars-the mother of all blockbuster films to come! If you haven't seen any if these movies yet, you're not a true movie lover. Darth Vader is the best movie villain of all time, and Han Solo is definitely one of the best heroes. If there was one problem I had, it would be Grand Moff Tarkin-Peter Cushing played him really well and all, but he kind of got in the way during some scenes. Darth Vader is definitely a more interesting character. Anyway, despite minor problems, it's a great movie with great characters and a great story. A treat for sci-fi fans. P.S, a message to all the fans to make something clear-Han. Shot. First. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
billJul 15, 2009
This is indeed the best sci-fi film ever. I loved this movie when I was three and still love it to this day. A great story.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
8
SayantanC.Jul 16, 2009
This was great and behind empire strikes back is the best star wars film.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
gm101Mar 29, 2011
This was the movie that started it all. The reason the Star Wars saga still influences us in our daily lives was because of this one movie. Thank you George Lucas for giving us a masterpiece and creating the best saga ever!
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
PhilT.May 6, 2005
I've grown up with this movie still echoing through our culture - the quotes that never die, the influence it has had on Sci Fi, visual effects, computer gaming, advertsiing, fan culture etc... I have to ask myself - would I still love I've grown up with this movie still echoing through our culture - the quotes that never die, the influence it has had on Sci Fi, visual effects, computer gaming, advertsiing, fan culture etc... I have to ask myself - would I still love this movie as much if it hadn't been for the relentless hype that has surrounded it and other SW movies? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherEMay 7, 2009
I emerged from the theater a changed 6 year old. Despite some bad acting and average directing, this movie remains one of the greatest in sci-fi.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
This was the best of the original series and all the others after those 3 were awful. I actually liked the originals before the digital remastering. At the end the theater yelled hooray and clapped. Well, way back when.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
WhiteTalpaDec 6, 2012
Great story, amazing characters, good special effects (1977) and also some fantastic music by John Williams. Overall this film was amazing one of the best sci-fi films of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
For those who criticize "Star Wars: A New Hope" for its lack of character depth and uninspired story, shut up. George Lucas created a amazing adventure movie with extremely marvelous CGI...in 1977! Think twice before you criticize the movie, noobs.
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
8
PachekoviskMar 16, 2016
GREAT
It's Star Wars..... I have to say something else?
It's one of the greatest movies of all time, and one of my favorites.
Even if you don't like Star Wars, you have to recognise it's importance for cinema.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
excellent sequel in the series.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
JoeD.Oct 3, 2006
This movie has to be the best movie ever made by man, this was probably the birth to almost 50% of the good movies we have today. This movie definitely changed the world.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
j30Jan 30, 2012
Star Wars: A New Hope is a excellent piece of science-fiction that dreams big and never looks back.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
schwarz_kelloggDec 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only a 7/10.
As a 1977 movie, the production is quite good I guess. However the movie seriously lack depth... Failed to portrait any sort of emotions of characters particularly in terms of death of people: death of uncle/aunt of Luke, death of pilots, and eventually death of Obi-Wan which things I have to say make the movie pretty plain and flat. Storyline-wise, it's pretty straight forward - no surprise
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
Star Wars started here. It has plenty of action and story and the characters are anything but lifeless. If you hate this then you are souless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobJun 9, 2013
While it was Phantom Menace that got me into Star Wars, A New Hope will always be the best film of the series. Hands down the best sci-fi film of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoMay 4, 2016
I chanced to see today this May 4 anniversary of Star Wars to see the first movie in the series but with the fourth episode which is I think where begins , and it was amazing, I felt the strength and I took the boldness to see the saga allI chanced to see today this May 4 anniversary of Star Wars to see the first movie in the series but with the fourth episode which is I think where begins , and it was amazing, I felt the strength and I took the boldness to see the saga all week. As for the very good movie action scenes, and characters are excellent, I am a fan. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
aadityamudharApr 6, 2016
This was a revolutionary movie that established sci-fi as a financially popular genre and allowed many more movies to come to the fore. The backstory might even be better than the actual movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
CinemassacreMar 13, 2016
The story is an engaging space adventure which takes itself seriously while occasionally admitting an affectionate poke at the genre. The most immediate frame of reference is Flash Gordon, but it’s more than that; it’s an Errol Flynn escapistThe story is an engaging space adventure which takes itself seriously while occasionally admitting an affectionate poke at the genre. The most immediate frame of reference is Flash Gordon, but it’s more than that; it’s an Errol Flynn escapist adventure, and befitting that, composer John Williams and orchestrator Herbert W. Spencer have supplied a rousing score worthy of Korngold and Steiner.

Like a breath or fresh air, “Star Wars” sweeps away the cynicism that has in recent years obscured the concepts of valor, dedication and honor. Make no mistake – this is by no means a “children’s film,” with all the derogatory overtones that go with that description. This is instead a superior example of what only the screen can achieve, and closer to home, it is another affirmation of what only Hollywood can put on a screen.

In casting his principals, Lucas chose three not-so-familiar faces, all young, talented and designed to make the story one of people, not of garish gadgetry. The superb balance of technology and human drama is one of the many achievements: one identifies with the characters and accepts, as do they, the intriguing intergalactic world in which they live.

Carrie Fisher, previously in a small role in “Shampoo,” is delightful as the regal, but spunky princess on a rebel planet who has been kidnapped by Peter Cushing, would-be ruler of the universe. Mark Hamill, previously a TV player, is excellent as a farm boy who sets out to rescue Fisher in league with Alec Guinness, last survivor of a band of noble knights. Harrison Ford, previously in Lucas’ “American Graffiti” and Francis Coppola’s “The Conversation,” is outstanding as a likeable mercenary pilot who joins our friends with his pal Peter Mayhew, a quassi-monkey creature with blue eyes whom Fisher calls “a walking rug.”

Both Guinness and Cushing bring the right measure of majesty to their opposite characters. One of Cushing’s key aides is played by David Prowse, destined to a fatal duel with Guinness, with whom he shares mystical powers. Prowse’s face is concealed behind frightening black armor. James Earl Jones, unbilled, provides a note of sonorous menace as Prowse’s voice. Anthony Daniels and Kenny Baker play a Mutt-and-Jeff team of kooky robots.

The heroes and the heavies joust through an exciting series of confrontations, replete with laser guns and other futuristic equipment, building suspense towards the climactic destruction of Cushing’s war-mongering planet. Several chase and escape sequences are likely to stimulate spontaneous audience applause.

Lucas is no credit hog, and all contributions are acknowledged on the end titles, bearing all the names listed above as well as assistants in various categories. The film opens, after the 20th logo, with the type of receding crawl that Flash Gordon fans will recognize. Locations in Tunisia, Death Valley, Guatemala and Africa were utilized, and interiors were shot at EMI’s British studios where the terrific score was also recorded. But the technical effects were all done here. Technicolor did the production color work, and DeLuxe the prints. Use of Dolby sound enhances the overall impact.

Lucas’ first feature, “THX-1138,” was also futuristic in tone, but there the story emphasis was on machines controlling man. In “Star Wars” the people remain the masters of the hardware, thereby striking a more resonant note of empathy and hope. This is the kind of film in which an audience, first entertained, can later walk out feeling good all over.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SanDiegoMar 14, 2016
I know this movie is the best of all time. My favourite character is Darth Vader because he's awesome. I like the future, the ships, the weapons and fight scenes. Everybody loves it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JoroAMar 21, 2016
A revolutionary movie for it's time! A classic! The movie that inspired generations of filmmakers. It is fun to watch and holds well to this day. It has great music and action for it's time, it does however, suffer from it's dialogue a bitA revolutionary movie for it's time! A classic! The movie that inspired generations of filmmakers. It is fun to watch and holds well to this day. It has great music and action for it's time, it does however, suffer from it's dialogue a bit and the pacing at times is a bit slow. But the characters are always interesting so even if it slows down it does not affect the movie by much. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieMasterEdMar 22, 2016
When Star Wars was first released on the Wednesday before Memorial Day in 1977, it arrived in theaters with good reviews and excellent advance word. It didn't take long for it to become a phenomenon (although, admittedly, 1997's publicity forWhen Star Wars was first released on the Wednesday before Memorial Day in 1977, it arrived in theaters with good reviews and excellent advance word. It didn't take long for it to become a phenomenon (although, admittedly, 1997's publicity for the Special Edition dwarfs that of the original 1977 release). It was a true family film -- perfect for kids and parents, a throwback to the space serials of the past and a look ahead to what the future might hold. Adults appreciated Lucas' masterful, magical movie-making. Children loved all the strange creatures. Suddenly, Star Wars was everywhere; there were bed sheets, lunch boxes, trading cards, action figures, comic books, picture books, posters, records, and just about anything else you could imagine.

The Star Wars fad, such as it was, lasted into the early '80s, and the original film received two additional theatrical runs. Then it was on to the small screen. But watching the movie on videotape, which has been the exclusive viewing experience of just about anyone under the age of twenty, isn't the same as seeing it in a packed theater. Now, however, with the advent of the original movie's twentieth anniversary and the promise of new films in another two years, Star Wars is as hot as it has ever been. Those predicting anything less than a financial windfall for the Special Edition don't have the world's pulse.

Star Wars borrows from numerous sources, but the most obvious inspirations are the serialized adventures of Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers, Arthurian legends, Greek mythology, and Akira Kurosawa's The Hidden Fortress. There are also multiple nods to Westerns and the dogfights of World War II movies. But, like all great craftsmen, Lucas has managed to fashion this material in a manner that not only honors the original sources, but makes it uniquely his own. Hacks rip off other movies; artists synthesize and pay homage to their inspirations. Compare Independence Day to Star Wars and the difference will become apparent.

During its original period of theatrical release, Star Wars' special effects were described as everything from "eye popping" to "mind blowing". And, indeed, for their time, they were. (Keep in mind that King Kong's rather cheesy visuals had won the Academy Award just two months before Star Wars was released.) In fact, they're not bad even by today's standards. But "not bad" wasn't good enough for Lucas, and his vision of what they should have been fills the screen in the Special Edition. This is most notable during three key sequences: Luke and Ben's entry into the city of Mos Eisley, Han's heretofore unseen hanger bay meeting with Jabba the Hut, and the final attack on the Death Star. However, in scenes both with and without effects improvements, Star Wars is just as compelling and invigorating a movie experience today as it was when it first came out, and the new stuff blends in seamlessly with the old.

Like all great craftsmen, Lucas has managed to fashion this material in a manner that not only honors the original sources, but makes it uniquely his own. Hacks rip off other movies; artists synthesize and pay homage to their inspirations.

Since 1977, there have been many science fiction movies, but none has managed to equal Star Wars' blend of adventure, likable characters, and epic storytelling. Like some indefatigable King of the Hill, it stands alone and triumphant, regardless of the many imitators that assail its position. As is true of Citizen Kane, Casablanca, and Gone with the Wind, Star Wars will endure long after its creators are gone. And watching this new edition today is like coming home after a long journey and finding everything just as you remember it -- if not better.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DavidH.Mar 5, 2006
This film changed my life & the lives of thousands of kids who were receptive to the story this film told. We all wanted to be luke skywalker, to save the princess & defeat the Empire. I was an 18 year old lad & filled up as Luke stood This film changed my life & the lives of thousands of kids who were receptive to the story this film told. We all wanted to be luke skywalker, to save the princess & defeat the Empire. I was an 18 year old lad & filled up as Luke stood before the twin setting suns of tatooine, whishing he could leave the moisture farm & join the rebellion. This film will never be bettered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Feb 13, 2004
Billions have seen it. As I am the first user on the planet to rate it, and you are the only person who hasn't seen it, let me explain: The opening spaceship encounter uses every square inch of screen to overwhelm and fill the viewer Billions have seen it. As I am the first user on the planet to rate it, and you are the only person who hasn't seen it, let me explain: The opening spaceship encounter uses every square inch of screen to overwhelm and fill the viewer with anticipation. George Lucas proceeds to apply Kurosawa's excellent film "The Hidden Fortress" as source for nearly every plot element of the story. He converts two ignorant peasants lost in an invaded alien country into two droids cast away on an invaded obscure planet. A spear fight between samurai warlords becomes a lightsaver duel between Jedi masters. All the while, Lucas follows his source, keeping the action moving from one strange location to another at a pace found only in old matinee serials, interspersing the most basic inadequacies of human nature with a profound quest to harness the power and insight of the underlying matrix that binds life to the universe. The inevitable awards recognition is anticlimactic and disposable. The alternative would have been to return to the unfamiliar, but it left the door open to do so sequel-wise. In an odyssey to that destination it creates an enduring set of benchmark cultural icons that revolutionized movie storytelling. The only question raised but left unanswered is how many parsecs it would normally take to make the Kassel run. The special effects are now dated, and in terms of character development and critical reality checks it is a sitting duck, but as a total motion picture entertainment package it succeeds across the board. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DuaneJun 10, 2004
You've seen it. You know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieW.Feb 21, 2006
A fun and exciting movie. I hated to see Ben die.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AustinW.May 5, 2006
Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope Special Edition Re-Release. Wow. I thought it was a 2004 Re-Release. The thing that made me take several points off was that the graphics during the rematch Ben Kenobi Vs. Darth Vader were not clear. Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope Special Edition Re-Release. Wow. I thought it was a 2004 Re-Release. The thing that made me take several points off was that the graphics during the rematch Ben Kenobi Vs. Darth Vader were not clear. Otherwise, the story was perfect. The birth of Star Wars was great, after watching the film, American Graffiti. It was a fun and exciting movie, but, I prefer Revenge of the Sith. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelM.Oct 23, 2004
This is very good movie. I wouldn't say it is one of my favorites, but this is pretty good! This is the film that raised the standards for Sci-Fi space films. Before this film, Sci-Fi space films were very hoaky, and let's face it, This is very good movie. I wouldn't say it is one of my favorites, but this is pretty good! This is the film that raised the standards for Sci-Fi space films. Before this film, Sci-Fi space films were very hoaky, and let's face it, ridicuously stupid! Space films before 1977 also made space look clean and more sterilized than a dental office. But in Star Wars, they actually showed space trash!They didn't try to make the future look clean and beautiful, they potrayed it as being a dirty, scary place, which it probably will be. The plot was very interesting for it's time, and still is today. I really like this film, and I would reccomend it to other people (80% of the people in the country have already seen it though). I really like the George Lucas digitally remastered special edition version though. It was re-created a little, and more scenes were put it. (1 February 2003) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MacMOct 26, 2004
You may have heard of this one. Nothing I can say will change your opinion of whether or not you will like or even see it again. I'm simply voting a 10 on Metacritic to show appreciation for a film that has served me well many, many times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattB.Mar 8, 2004
Awesome film! One of the greatest!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CameronS.Apr 13, 2004
My desert island movie. Never gets tiring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EfeB.Sep 22, 2004
It seems people havent seen the dvd box set yet, everyone is talking about star wars in general...well, guess what....i havent seen the new dvd versions either!...wohooo!!!!! star wars is and always will be a masterpiece line of movies that It seems people havent seen the dvd box set yet, everyone is talking about star wars in general...well, guess what....i havent seen the new dvd versions either!...wohooo!!!!! star wars is and always will be a masterpiece line of movies that changed how films are made for good and gave several generations an identity. not to mention all the cool toys that are associated with it. john williams and george lucas are the dady of us all. people write awful things about lucas because he "fixes" his movies over and over again...he deserves some negative critisim, sure....because we love the old movies but also he deserves praise, because we see a man trying to perfect his own vision...and we shall respect him and stand by our man. after all, if it wasnt for him; we would'nt have known star wars in the first place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenSep 25, 2004
Great movies. And hate to say, but this is Lucas's work, Lucas story, and his complete right to tell it as he see's fit. After all, he came up with it all. So if he believes the special edition is the only true one, then Great movies. And hate to say, but this is Lucas's work, Lucas story, and his complete right to tell it as he see's fit. After all, he came up with it all. So if he believes the special edition is the only true one, then that's his perogative. Anyways, great movies as usual. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JefferyB.Oct 12, 2005
It's a TEN. What more can me said about it. Whoever hasn't seen it, it's a crime. It's a moral imperative that every human person on this planet catch the magnitude of this story. It's too bad that this is not on It's a TEN. What more can me said about it. Whoever hasn't seen it, it's a crime. It's a moral imperative that every human person on this planet catch the magnitude of this story. It's too bad that this is not on DVD. It's a shame that we will probably never see it on DVD. Unless you can find it on VHS, younger generations will never truly appreciate the development of our heroes from this film to it relevant sequals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SwoopLooFeb 23, 2005
A modern day fable that thirtysomethings hang on to as a way to remember childhood. A classic film that will be seen by many future generations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
feliped.Apr 26, 2005
The best movie of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Apr 22, 2006
Pretty much flawless. The best film ever made in my opnion. I would love to see a new trilogy chronicling the story of Solo's and Leia's children in the style of the original trilogy, without the over reliance on CGI of the new Pretty much flawless. The best film ever made in my opnion. I would love to see a new trilogy chronicling the story of Solo's and Leia's children in the style of the original trilogy, without the over reliance on CGI of the new trilogy and witty diologue and characters you actually care about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
There is no sci-fi film better than star wars.. although i did prefer episode 3 :D, but i suppose thats due to my generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Mar 31, 2007
If you were a young child in the 70's then this is the first movie that left you in utter jaw dropping awe, the opening scene is classic, as are so many other scenes. It beats out all other movies becasue it's ground breaking WOW If you were a young child in the 70's then this is the first movie that left you in utter jaw dropping awe, the opening scene is classic, as are so many other scenes. It beats out all other movies becasue it's ground breaking WOW factor. After that no other movie could or would becasue our expectations were raised by that movie like no other that has come after it. The greatest film of the 20th century Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Ignore the crappy sci-fi effects this was the late 70s but this is a film classic not to be missed....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Feb 22, 2004
The best film ever made. Period. Damn right it's better than Godfather and Casablanca!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LochieMar 26, 2004
Not having seen every sci-fi movie out there, i can't say that this is the pinnacle of sci-fi film-making. But it's bloody close. Awesome doesn't even come close to describing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewMSep 13, 2004
I find myself in a quagmire! I have long felt The Empire Strikes Back to be the best of the Star Wars trilogy and possibly the best sci-fi adventure ever made. As a kid I didn't care - they were all great. However, ever since I could I find myself in a quagmire! I have long felt The Empire Strikes Back to be the best of the Star Wars trilogy and possibly the best sci-fi adventure ever made. As a kid I didn't care - they were all great. However, ever since I could turn half a critical (albeit clumsy) eye to movies, I have been torn between the flawless sequel TESB, and the artistic tour-de-force that is Star Wars. I watched both only recently and I still can't decide. In fact, it's harder than ever! Star Wars was one of those pivotal milestone films, not just of the 70's but of all-time, of the kind like The Godfather and Citizen Kane and The Exorcist; landmark films that not only broke new ground in technique and technology, but also quite simply set the standard for filmmaking excellence and quality. I look at Star Wars in simple diagnostic terms: the story sweeps you up immediately, discreetly and relentlessly; the music grabs your soul in a smooth embrace and dances with it; the visuals wink invitingly and ignite the fantastic in your imagination; the action scenes play so plausibly they are subliminally authentic; and amongst all this the characters read like your most familiar friends (and foes) from your favourite fable. Sound impossible to instill all this in one film? Mr Lucas did with Star Wars. It was probably the first, arguably the best, undoubtedly the most important. If you have never seen Star Wars, first of all, where the heck have ya been? And secondly, do yourself a favour... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
YoonC.Sep 26, 2004
I dunno know about the force but the purse was certainly with lucas. this megablockbuster franchise could well be called Big Bucks Rogers. on the one hand, the movie takes no chances, recycling fantasy and sci-fi cliches. yet, in 1977, the I dunno know about the force but the purse was certainly with lucas. this megablockbuster franchise could well be called Big Bucks Rogers. on the one hand, the movie takes no chances, recycling fantasy and sci-fi cliches. yet, in 1977, the obvious staleness of the material was eclipsed by what was then mindblowing special effects. special effects have advanced by a lightyears since then, and for new generations of kids the first star wars movie will probably seem not so special. and for those who've seen many sci-fi movies since then are likely to take more notice of the threadbare plot and characters. anyway, though i don't want to revisit the galaxy far far away, it does hold a special place in my memory. it served as a sci-fi santa claus to a generation. and lucas seems to relish the role of santa to a whole new batch of young kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HDec 18, 2005
Awsome period. the birth of the best series ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
armandosJan 22, 2005
After watching this move on DVD for about the third time i have to say the movie is overrated. The acting is average except for Alec Guiness-the robots are too cute- it lacks any sense of gravitas- but a good popcorn movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 13, 2006
Star Wars: A New Hope is one of the few All-American science fiction movies that you can call "glorious entertainment." That is an cinema achievement right there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StephenC.May 13, 2007
The film was genius. Just a low score on graphics, even when it was remastered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterR.Dec 15, 2006
Possibly the best and most original movie (series) to ever grace the industry. It hit the world with an outstanding BOOM. It's legacy prevails for almost 4 decades now. Comedy from Harrison Ford is remarkable and makes him an Possibly the best and most original movie (series) to ever grace the industry. It hit the world with an outstanding BOOM. It's legacy prevails for almost 4 decades now. Comedy from Harrison Ford is remarkable and makes him an unforgettable character. Drama and Music are the best from the series (who would EVER forget the Main Title Theme? Let alone, the "I am your father.") With the re-release in 2004, it makes up for it's one flaw (but not back in 1977) bad CGI. Also, the ending is revisited and puts Anakin from Episode III next to Obi-Wan and Yoda, as spirits. A perfect ending. I felt complete after watching this movie, it would be great, but, I'm fine without any sequels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaxsterSep 21, 2010
I don't think anyone can doubt the cult and classic status of this film. Great characters,original idea and an interesting storyline make it a good film. However, why not a 9 or a 10 then? Well, it probably doesn't help that I'm not theI don't think anyone can doubt the cult and classic status of this film. Great characters,original idea and an interesting storyline make it a good film. However, why not a 9 or a 10 then? Well, it probably doesn't help that I'm not the biggest fan of sci-fi blockbusters and to some people the chase sequence near the end is the best part but for me it goes on a little to long. Although vader is a classic image I don't think he is enough of an enigma. A shout out to Harrison Ford though,a great performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JacobNov 24, 2015
Star Wars is fun. The characters and story are simple and nothing too deep, that’ll come later but they are functional. They are all effective at what they do and are people I’ve become invested in, the story is effectively based starting outStar Wars is fun. The characters and story are simple and nothing too deep, that’ll come later but they are functional. They are all effective at what they do and are people I’ve become invested in, the story is effectively based starting out exciting then slowing down and gradually speeding up constantly keeping the plot moving while slowly revealing information about the world as we need to know it. I feel like a lot of the love for this movie is nostalgia as again there’s nothing too deep about it and the film is a tad cheesy. There is one thing that holds up about Star Wars and even now blows me away and that’s the visuals. The visual spectacle is strong with this one. The costumes, score, and action all a wonder to look at as its become iconic for a reason. Star Wars is a fun movie but the particularly effective presentation combined with tons of nostalgia make it an enjoyable movie that I’m always willing to back to. It’s good to remember going into The Force Awakens that Star Wars was a fun movie with a lot of visual spectacle and didn’t have a deep story. While nostalgia may win allow this classic to win out in the end it makes me reason that even if the new movie is good that doesn’t mean that it failed because at the end of the day the original was a fun movie with presentation being an especial highlight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
Easily one of the greatest films of all time. A New Hope is a classic original sci-fi film that established George Lucas as one of the premire directors of our time. The only flaw is that the acting could have been a lot better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuNov 16, 2015
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a trulyStar Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a truly timeless film that still excites to this day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
It is always good to see a film that relies on character development, and this is what we get. A wonderful mixture of science fiction action and clever ideas, which not only accompanies a journey to destroy the Death Star, but also a quest toIt is always good to see a film that relies on character development, and this is what we get. A wonderful mixture of science fiction action and clever ideas, which not only accompanies a journey to destroy the Death Star, but also a quest to connect a brilliantly-acted group of characters. If you don't see this film, you don't known what good science-fiction is... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
doctor2001Apr 25, 2011
One of the best films ever made only topped by episode V . It begins the best Sc-fi series of films ever made. George Lucas' second best film. Enough Said :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
It started it all. This movie was the best back then and quite simply is just as magnificent and engaging now. It is a pivotal moment in American cinema and culture. You can't deny the genius of this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews