User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 502 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 502
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2015
    8
    While it's not as great as ESB, "Return of the Jedi" is still a really good movie. The Ewoks are kinda bleh(you'll hate them when you find out they were supposed to originally be wookiees), but there are a lot of very strong moments and the music is still amazing. It's a decently satisfying finale. At least for now.
  2. Jun 10, 2015
    9
    Shockingly seen by many as the weakest entry in the original trilogy, Return of the Jedi was easily my favorite one. Featuring far and away the most interesting story, Return of the Jedi is a blast that manages to make the two hours fly by at record speed. The acting is quite good for the most part (minus some minor slip ups), the story is phenomenal (religious undertones anyone?), and theShockingly seen by many as the weakest entry in the original trilogy, Return of the Jedi was easily my favorite one. Featuring far and away the most interesting story, Return of the Jedi is a blast that manages to make the two hours fly by at record speed. The acting is quite good for the most part (minus some minor slip ups), the story is phenomenal (religious undertones anyone?), and the special effects are top-notch. There was much criticism thrown towards the Ewoks, but I loved them. Not only are they adorable, but they were good characters. In addition, the showdown between Darth Vader and Luke Skywalker, as well as that between the Emperor and Skywalker was riveting and really well done. The characters in this one continue to show incredible depth and really feel as though they are authentic humans. While Empire Strikes Back is also a very good film, the sufferings of being the middle film held it back from greatness. That problem does not exist in Return of the Jedi as not only does it end quite satisfactorily, but it does so after two hours of pure adrenaline and enjoyment. Well written, well directed, and all around well put together, Return of the Jedi is the strongest entry in the original trilogy. Expand
  3. May 30, 2015
    10
    -----REDONE REVIEW-----

    Return of the Jedi is simply a fantastic end to a fantastic saga—there’s no other way to put it. From the beginning featuring Jabba’s Palace to the end featuring the climactic fight between Luke and Vader, you know you’re in for a ride. Despite what most people say, I rather enjoy the Ewoks. They show that even the strangest can overcome the Empire. There’s
    -----REDONE REVIEW-----

    Return of the Jedi is simply a fantastic end to a fantastic saga—there’s no other way to put it. From the beginning featuring Jabba’s Palace to the end featuring the climactic fight between Luke and Vader, you know you’re in for a ride. Despite what most people say, I rather enjoy the Ewoks. They show that even the strangest can overcome the Empire. There’s simply no better way to end this great series…that is, until Disney reboots it.
    10
    Expand
  4. May 24, 2015
    7
    The film is good, but not as good as others in the trilogy, but still has a good and interesting history, great special effects, and good action scenes.
  5. May 10, 2015
    10
    I don't care whatever you have to say about Return Of The Jedi, it is awesome. It provides an unforgettable ending to a stellar franchise. It is smart, funny, action packed, and reveals everything the trilogy had to offer. Don't get me wrong, A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back are WAY ahead of Return of The Jedi. Still. it is an awesome movie.
  6. May 5, 2015
    7
    A decent finale to the star wars saga, well no longer finale ;). if it werent for the ewoks and the lame way the empire goes out, this could have been the greatest in the franchise
  7. Apr 28, 2015
    9
    The best in the franchise, this movie is perfect barring the one janky moment at the end involving the picking up and throwing of a certain person by another person (if you watch it you'll know the one, it looks absolutely hilarious and ridiculous). The acting isn't fantastic but you shouldn't be expecting that from a Star Wars film. Otherwise, the best plot of the three movies in theThe best in the franchise, this movie is perfect barring the one janky moment at the end involving the picking up and throwing of a certain person by another person (if you watch it you'll know the one, it looks absolutely hilarious and ridiculous). The acting isn't fantastic but you shouldn't be expecting that from a Star Wars film. Otherwise, the best plot of the three movies in the original trilogy, and a fantastic conclusion to the series (until episode 7 is released). Expand
  8. Apr 24, 2015
    7
    There's an old saying that states something about leaving the best for last. George Lucas certainly didn't follow that adage when crafting the original Star Wars trilogy. Return of the Jedi, the final installment of the series, is easily the least innovative and most hokey of the three films. In fact, most of the enjoyment derived from this motion picture comes from the simple act ofThere's an old saying that states something about leaving the best for last. George Lucas certainly didn't follow that adage when crafting the original Star Wars trilogy. Return of the Jedi, the final installment of the series, is easily the least innovative and most hokey of the three films. In fact, most of the enjoyment derived from this motion picture comes from the simple act of getting together with old friends and enemies one more time. If Luke, Han, Leia, and Vader were replaced by nameless, faceless characters, Return of the Jedi wouldn't be a whole lot more interesting than Independence Day.

    Cuteness is the watchword here. The dark, eerie atmosphere that oozed from every frame of The Empire Strikes Back is gone. Instead, for Return of the Jedi, we have good triumphing decisively over evil, a too-pat resolution to a love triangle, and walking teddy bears. Even Darth Vader doesn't seem very daunting this time around. With the arrival of the Emperor (a gaunt-looking Ian McDiarmid), Vader has turned into a second fiddle. It's decidedly unsatisfactory to watch him engage Luke in a civilized conversation.

    Return of the Jedi has some interesting elements. The Luke/Vader/Emperor scenes are suitably tense and well-acted, and, if the resolution isn't a complete surprise, at least it's a little more original that it could have been. From a technical point-of-view, the space battles are amazing, easily dwarfing anything depicted in the previous films. Not only are there many, many more ships, but their speed and range of movement have been dramatically improved. On one level, Return of the Jedi is almost worth watching for the special effects. In the Special Edition, a new, equally repugnant dance number has been added to the Jabba the Hutt scene. Additionally, there are some impressive touches tacked onto the ending. Once again, while the improvements don't significantly alter the viewing experience, they're fun to spot.

    While there isn't much of a down side to Star Wars or The Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi has some serious drawbacks. First and foremost are the Ewoks, an unbearably cuddly race that seem handpicked to generate toy sales. Children enjoy these creatures; everyone I know over age 12 finds them insufferably annoying. Then there's the unbelievably cheap cop-out that Lucas uses to erase the Luke/Han/Leia triangle. Whether Lucas had this in mind from the beginning is irrelevant -- it's a bad idea. Not only does it defuse romantic tension, but it leaves viewers shaking their heads in incredulity. There are other problems too -- the death toll on the rebel side seems shockingly small for a "final battle" and a bit of foreshadowing regarding the Millennium Falcon's fate is thrown out the window. Of course, I could also make the rather obvious observation that large elements of Return of the Jedi are lifted from the original Star Wars, indicating that the creative wellspring of writers George Lucas and Lawrence Kasdan had perhaps run dry.

    Although it was great fun re-watching Star Wars and The Empire Strikes Back again on the big screen, Return of the Jedi doesn't generate the same sense of enjoyment. And, while Lucas worked diligently to re-invigorate each entry into the trilogy, Jedi needs more than the patches of improved sound, cleaned-up visuals, and a few new scenes. Still, despite the flaws, this is still Star Wars, and, as such, represents a couple of lightly-entertaining hours spent with characters we have gotten to know and love over the years. Return of the Jedi is easily the weakest of the series, but its position as the conclusion makes it a must-see for anyone who has enjoyed its predecessors.
    Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2015
    10
    10/10, it's an outstanding film that doesn't rely on its predecessors. Great special effects, terrific performances, overall an amazing way to end the original trilogy. Personally I think Return of the Jedi is BETTER than Episode 4.
  10. Apr 19, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Queen of spleen critic Pauline Kael called it "an impersonal and rather junky piece of moviemaking" while the rest of the world clearly thought otherwise (and so did the Oscar Academy, who gave it five nominations and one gong — for best special visual effects). Certainly, Marquand's 1983 take comes across as peculiarly anodyne after the broad sweeps of darkness and disturbing drama of Irvin Kershner's The Empire Strikes Back, and many cast members recall this as their least favourite of the trilogy.

    In this final episode (of the middle trilogy at least), the evil Empire has managed to claw back power and get a substantial way through construction of a new and even more powerful Death Star — although Darth Vader (Dave Prowse, voiced by James Earl Jones) is not satisfied with progress and tries to chivy things along before the arrival of the awe-inspiring Emperor (Ian McDiarmid). Luke Skywalker (Hamill) has gone to Tattooine to rescue Han Solo (Ford) from evil crimelord and giant lump-of-lard Jabba The Hut, before the rebels regroup to launch an attack on the Empire's Death Star Mark II. Business as usual.

    Despatched to a forest on a neighbouring planet to close down A Death Star's shield before a Rebellion attack clincher, the heroes come across some the cutesy Ewoks — who ruin this film for many purist Star far fans, but who nevertheless prove pivotal in destroying the Empire. 0h, and the romance between Solo and Princess Leia (Fisher) comes on strong.

    Marquand was manifestly more interested in the furry creatures than he was in the Death Star, the battle in the sky or even the Emperor and extraordinary lackey Vader. That said the asthmatic one's inner conflict will the good that Skywalker uncovers makes for stirring stuff, as is his son's emerging struggle with the dark side (styled on Kurosawa). The final dramatic redemption and defeat of evil is as satisfying to watch many years on as it was to the crowds of weenies ignoring the deeper conflicts.

    The special effects are the best of the original trilogy — the six years between this and Star Wars allowed ILM to increase its talents tenfold and produced the coolest (speeder) bike chase in movies — and ironically benefits the most from Lucas' latterday overhaul. Probably the weakest in the original trilogy, but still a worthy finale to an epoch defining franchise.

    The most disappointing of the original three episodes but still charming and thrilling.
    Expand
  11. Mar 13, 2015
    0
    What's this? If Randall saying in Clerks 2 LOTR is 3 film about walking Star Wars is 3 film about rescue, rescue, and rescue. The first film: rescue princess leia, the second film: rescue Luke Skywalker and the third film: rescue Han Solo. I guess Lucas have no idea with his story. It's too lame, too long and poor storytelling just about rescue in space.
  12. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    Not the strongest out of the original trilogy, but far stronger than the prequels combined. To me, the Ewoks didn't do very much to help the story in Episode VI, but there is still plenty of action, emotion and some more mysteries between characters are revealed.
  13. Mar 8, 2015
    0
    probably the one of the worst film ever made. i mean the worst film to the end of the series. even the phantom menace is better. the plot was terrible. i don't know why george lucas written return of jedi so awful. the only one good thing from this movie: visual effects.
  14. Feb 26, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This one is OK, just OK. After the good 'Star Wars' and the great 'Empire Strikes Back', you see 'Return of the Jedi', and *SPOILER ALERT*, the good guys win. Of course everyone wants to see the good guys win, but announcing the outcome in the title is not exactly a smart move. Nor were the Ewoks, and the ending party didn't need to last as long as it did. Then again, the scenes with the Emperor are legitimately pretty creepy, and who can forget the (take your pick of stupidly awesome or awesomely stupid) line "IT'S A TRAP!!" 'Jedi' is the weakest link in the original trilogy for its tonal inconsistencies, but it is still far better than any of the prequels. Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    [Portuguese] A saga Star Wars é muito boa, porém não foi um bom modo de acabar, e não teve nada de muito memorável no filme inteiro, mas merece ser chamado de um bom filme ainda sim.
  16. Jan 2, 2015
    9
    This film is a bit sloppy at times compared to the rest of the trilogy, but it delivers the epic conclusion to our favourite sci fi franchise we've all been looking for! The dark side toys with Luke, keeping the dark tone from the previous film, and the fight between Vader and Luke is so savagely executed that it's the most thrilling of the original trilogy to watch! The battles are epic,This film is a bit sloppy at times compared to the rest of the trilogy, but it delivers the epic conclusion to our favourite sci fi franchise we've all been looking for! The dark side toys with Luke, keeping the dark tone from the previous film, and the fight between Vader and Luke is so savagely executed that it's the most thrilling of the original trilogy to watch! The battles are epic, which is what you hope for in a film like this, and despite the Ewoks being a little silly, they still hold an ace battle against the storm troopers. Still good direction in the film and superb acting, but a little shadowed by the behemoth that was episode V.
    Anyway, now that i have reviewed all star wars films, i'll put them in order with my full score.
    1. Episode 5 - The Empire Strikes Back 97/100
    2. Episode 4 - A New Hope 90/100
    3. Episode 6 - Return of the Jedi 86/100
    4. Episode 3 - Revenge of the Sith 81/100
    5. Episode 1 - The Phantom Menace 66/100
    6. Episode 2 - Attack of the Clones 54/100
    Expand
  17. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    The Millennnium Falcon flashes through hyperspace and creatures from all over the galaxy defy the Galactic Empire. After rescuing Han Solo (Ford) and Leia (Fisher) from certain doom at the hands of crime lord Jabba the Hutt, Luke (Hamill) rejoins Yoda. Only by completing his Jedi training can he become a true Jedi Knight and defeat Darth Vader and the dark side of the Force.
  18. Aug 28, 2014
    6
    The final part of the old movies - and the last one in the saga of Star Wars.

    Luke Skywalker has now become a Jedi (where and how, I do not know, and he isn't Jedi just yet, according to Yoda, but he seems a lot more certain about his powers than before). Upon returning to Yoda, he realizes there is one more thing for him left to do before he can call himself a Jedi Knight; to face
    The final part of the old movies - and the last one in the saga of Star Wars.

    Luke Skywalker has now become a Jedi (where and how, I do not know, and he isn't Jedi just yet, according to Yoda, but he seems a lot more certain about his powers than before). Upon returning to Yoda, he realizes there is one more thing for him left to do before he can call himself a Jedi Knight; to face Darth Vader, who once was Anakin Skywalker, his father.

    Orbiting the forest moon of Endor, a new Death Star is being constructed. Is it pure coincidence that the Emperor himself is there to over-see the last stages of construction, or is there a greater evil plot stewing?

    In a final attempt to strike down the Empire, the Rebels land on Endor to enable an attack on the Death Star itself. They are met by sweet, furry teddy bears called Ewoks, who despite their small size seem to have a lot of spunk in them.

    Before all this can happen, though, Han Solo must be rescued from his predicament on Tatooine... While the events there are quite insignificant compared to the final battle, it is amusing and brings us together with the old team we've grown to like and dislike by now.

    The movie moves forward quickly, and we continue where "Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back" left us. The action sequences are pretty good. The only scenes that actually drag forward are the ones where the Emperor is trying to make Luke join the Dark Side of the Force. When things finally start moving there as well, it's a bit of a relief. A good ending, no doubt.
    Expand
  19. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi is an awesome movie, because the story is so magnificent and beautiful, and not to mention the fantastic music, the great actors and the high amount of action!

    The ending in this movie is one of the most dramatic and greatest ever. The negative thing about this movie is that the beginning is a bit to slow, childish and silly, but also that it
    Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi is an awesome movie, because the story is so magnificent and beautiful, and not to mention the fantastic music, the great actors and the high amount of action!

    The ending in this movie is one of the most dramatic and greatest ever. The negative thing about this movie is that the beginning is a bit to slow, childish and silly, but also that it didn't contain as much action as in the previous movie. The movie overall is very enjoyable, especially the ending which is so dramatic.

    Star Wars: Episode VI - Return of the Jedi get a 8/10
    Expand
  20. Jul 30, 2014
    3
    Notably weaker than its predecessors, "Star Wars: Return of the Jedi" delivers some fun, provokes some thought, but generally struggles to find a way to end the promising story "Empire Strikes Back" left unfinished. Acceptable visuals, even by today's standards, good performances, some intelligent plot details make the film pretty enjoyable. But it doesn't meet its expectations andNotably weaker than its predecessors, "Star Wars: Return of the Jedi" delivers some fun, provokes some thought, but generally struggles to find a way to end the promising story "Empire Strikes Back" left unfinished. Acceptable visuals, even by today's standards, good performances, some intelligent plot details make the film pretty enjoyable. But it doesn't meet its expectations and disappoints with its cheesy dialogue and its predictable ending. A good film, overall, but a must-see only because you have to see how the story ends(?). Expand
  21. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    There is a videogame maxim that should've been applied to this movie. "Everything should have consequences".

    Now Episode 4 suffered from a thick plot that didn't give time for enough character development, Episode 5 ended up being a big scary BOO to the audience that didn't pay off with any serious consequences, except Han Solo's "temporary death". Return of the Jedi doesn't have any
    There is a videogame maxim that should've been applied to this movie. "Everything should have consequences".

    Now Episode 4 suffered from a thick plot that didn't give time for enough character development, Episode 5 ended up being a big scary BOO to the audience that didn't pay off with any serious consequences, except Han Solo's "temporary death".

    Return of the Jedi doesn't have any of these problems I guess, the payoff's there, the characters have greatly matured since the last movies, especially Luke, and I appreciate the progress in every aspect.

    Now a lot of people would point out that this is again a Death Star to destroy, and again it's about a magical hole to destroy the Death Star, and again it's about Vader VS Luke.

    Personally, I don't even see that as criticism. It's the third movie in a trilogy, you're surprised that it's like the two others? I don't mind the lack of originality at all, and the slight differences in plot twists and surprises are largely enough to keep me interested through and through.

    The problem is simply the numerous inconsequential elements of this movie, which pop out even more than in the last two ones.

    The Empire captures Han's party? Eh, the Ewoks will free them.
    The Ewoks bring virtually nothing but cute teddy bears to the Star Wars universe? Eh, it's no matter.
    The Imperial Fleet gets to attack the much smaller Rebel Fleet? Eh, it's ok, they'll still survive until the end cause the plot demands it.
    Luke tries to sways his father back to the Light Side? Eh, he won't do it.
    Luke is actually about to die? Eh, he'll turn to the Light Side to save him.

    It's as entertaining as the last ones if you ask me, slightly less maybe, but not by a decisive margin. The only thing is, while Empire Strikes Back felt like a big scary phantom that ended up being empty threats at the end, this one feels like...nothing.

    No real terrible things happen, everything ends up fine as can be, nothing bad that happens ever lasts for a long time if it's about the characters we know and like.

    The ultimate example of this movie's problems? The moment where Luke throws away his lightsaber after realising that he's becoming like his father, a pawn of the Emperor.

    "Very well, come to my side and take your father's place!"
    "Nope."
    ".........oh well then, I guess my plan is ruined and I'll just kill you."

    Well for something that's been built up for 20 minutes, that was a quickly ended climax.
    Expand
  22. May 3, 2014
    7
    The main problems that keep this sequel from being amazing are firstly the ewoks. The worst part of the original trilogy by far. Next is the movie starts strong and comes to a screeching hault when we arrive on endor. And the movie doesnt keep the dark tone set up in Empire, it regresses and goes the other way. However there is lots to love in this film. overall it is a ddecent film
  23. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    Return of the Jedi is on a slightly lower plateau than the first two due to bad editing and loose screenplay. However, it's still a pretty good conclusion to these movies.
  24. Jan 4, 2014
    5
    I'm not a massive fan of Star Wars but Return of the Jedi has enough exceptional sci-fi elements and adventurous feelings for it to be a satisfying conclusion to the original Star Wars trilogy.
  25. Sep 9, 2013
    6
    [6.7] This movie really marks the beginning of Lucas's inconsistencies. It isn't as well written as the first two, and it basically is a repeat of both of these movies. It loses its structured story elements and trades them in for nostalgia.
  26. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    This is a fun film (however it is the worst of the original trilogy), full of great visuals, creatures, action sequences and has some great acting in there. However, it gets over the top with some of its creatures, but never ceases to entertain. This film is a great addition to Star Wars, and is another highly respected movie on my list.
  27. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    While not as resonant as "Empire Strikes Back", and not as original as the first, "Star Wars: Episode VI Return of the Jedi" may be the weakest of the original trilogy, but its still pretty good with a great ending climax that is sure to not disappoint most Star Wars fans.
  28. Jun 9, 2013
    0
    Such a great series and what a terrible way to end it. Honestly, Did not like a single thing about this movie. It was just incredibly stupid and corny. Very disappointing.
  29. May 12, 2013
    10
    Critics say this is the worst movie or the old trilogy or below this standard of its predecessors, but in my opinion he is the same level as the others, because in addition to closing the old trilogy decent shape, it has everything a fan of Star Wars or the iconic characters, a new kind of Ets, and epic duel Luke and D.Vather.
  30. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    Good start, good end. Bad ewok and Death Star II storyline. Also, Yoda tells Luke not to face Vader in Empire Strikes Back, and that his Jedi training is not complete. But in this one, Yoda tells him all he needs to do to complete his training is to face Vader. What's that all about? This movie could easily have been better. Worst of the Original trilogy, but I'd still call it better thanGood start, good end. Bad ewok and Death Star II storyline. Also, Yoda tells Luke not to face Vader in Empire Strikes Back, and that his Jedi training is not complete. But in this one, Yoda tells him all he needs to do to complete his training is to face Vader. What's that all about? This movie could easily have been better. Worst of the Original trilogy, but I'd still call it better than Revenge Of The Sith. Expand
  31. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    The was a few problems with this film, and it wasn't as good some the other two in the trilogy however, this was still a great film and the score of 52 by critics is BS.
  32. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This movie wasn't quite as good as the previous two, but I remember really enjoying it as a kind and it wrapped up the original Trilogy nicely and had lots of new vehicles and characters to keep us entertained. Yeah I was gonna give it a 9 but I'm thinking back and I loved this movie when it was released too so I'm bumping it up to a 10. If it's not a 10, it's like a 9.8 at least anyway.This movie wasn't quite as good as the previous two, but I remember really enjoying it as a kind and it wrapped up the original Trilogy nicely and had lots of new vehicles and characters to keep us entertained. Yeah I was gonna give it a 9 but I'm thinking back and I loved this movie when it was released too so I'm bumping it up to a 10. If it's not a 10, it's like a 9.8 at least anyway. It's still way better than the prequels lol. Expand
  33. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The chronological final installment (for now!) of the storied Star Wars film franchise does not disappoint in any way. One of the best examples of bringing closure to a series of movies, where ends are tied and threads are brought closure. The sequence of events are amazing, and the drama is at a high pitch. Everything I wanted in a finale.
  34. Nov 20, 2012
    7
    While I still enjoyed this, I found it slightly inferior to the earlier films. The Ewoks were kind of a waste of space, the action was slightly lack luster, however the scenes of Tatooine were amzing, the climatic battle with the Death Star and Vader were equally brilliant, so it can be excused for its flaws.
  35. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    The film is slow and monotonous, at least, until the very end, which is powerful, and is remembered as a classic movie sequence.
  36. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Return of the Jedi is the final chapter in the Star Wars saga. It ties up all the lose ends and leaves nothing unanswered which is impressive to say the least. After losing hold of the galaxy to the Empire the last Jedi, Luke Skywalker, fights the Empire at its heart against Darth Vader and the Emperor. The story at this point becomes slightly cliche but it can be forgiven for its awesomeReturn of the Jedi is the final chapter in the Star Wars saga. It ties up all the lose ends and leaves nothing unanswered which is impressive to say the least. After losing hold of the galaxy to the Empire the last Jedi, Luke Skywalker, fights the Empire at its heart against Darth Vader and the Emperor. The story at this point becomes slightly cliche but it can be forgiven for its awesome fight scenes and great CGI. Expand
  37. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Yes this movie isn't quite as good as the first two, but it is still a masterpiece. In fact I dare say that this is one of the few great threequels in existence. The only other ones that I can think of are The Dark Knight Rises, Toy Story 3 and Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. That's about all I can think of right now when it comes to GOOD threequels. I mean, Pirates of theYes this movie isn't quite as good as the first two, but it is still a masterpiece. In fact I dare say that this is one of the few great threequels in existence. The only other ones that I can think of are The Dark Knight Rises, Toy Story 3 and Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. That's about all I can think of right now when it comes to GOOD threequels. I mean, Pirates of the Caribbean 3 sucked hard and it was as disappointing as Spiderman 3 and Shrek the Third. Why do people tend to say they hate this one?

    It's really infuriating when people say that this is the worst of all the Star Wars movies. It isn't. The worst one is The Clone Wars, a movie with TV production standards, literally. I loved (almost) every single minute of this timeless science-fantasy classic, and I still love it.

    Return of the Jedi is uneven at times but it all works really well as an entertaining epic for almost everyone. Star Wars will always be the franchise that started it all, the series that changed cinema forever and will last until the end of time.

    I hope you enjoyed this review, and may the force be with you.
    Expand
  38. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of the movies i will remember for all my life, and it will always be a classic. It's the finale to Star Wars and it's in my opinion the best of the star wars movies. The different sceneries are amazing, you can't really expect what will happen next and the characters are very deep, It generally has an epic feel. Especially the scenes with Vader, Sidious and Luke get so tense you can feel their emotions even when they are not talking. And ofcourse the father-son relationship prevails. Hurray-Hurray. A must see for me! Expand
  39. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    An incredible sequel of the Star Wars saga, The ultimate film of the first trilogy has more adventure and less dark compared to the empire strikes back. The scene of the spaceships battle against the Deathstar continues to amazing me I still loving that movie like all of them.
  40. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    The late Richard Marquand got the nod as the director over the superior Kershner, director of Empire Strikes Back. That's not to say he didn't craft an interesting film, but many of the superior forces in Empire were lacking. The film never truly reaches 'crisis' state, as it aspires to so often, and leaves one feeling like the characters are never in any true peril. A somewhat missedThe late Richard Marquand got the nod as the director over the superior Kershner, director of Empire Strikes Back. That's not to say he didn't craft an interesting film, but many of the superior forces in Empire were lacking. The film never truly reaches 'crisis' state, as it aspires to so often, and leaves one feeling like the characters are never in any true peril. A somewhat missed opportunity in the franchise, but still a worthy conclusion. Expand
  41. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This is the movie that turned my world upside down!! I am an absolute Star Wars geek!! I have a huge collection of figures and even a tattoo of the Imperial logo on my leg. Return of the Jedi is what grabbed me and pulled me into the Star Wars galaxy. I absolutely loved this movie growing up. It's definitely my favorite Star Wars film. Empire is a close second though. The only thing thatThis is the movie that turned my world upside down!! I am an absolute Star Wars geek!! I have a huge collection of figures and even a tattoo of the Imperial logo on my leg. Return of the Jedi is what grabbed me and pulled me into the Star Wars galaxy. I absolutely loved this movie growing up. It's definitely my favorite Star Wars film. Empire is a close second though. The only thing that drives me nuts about the movies is when George Lucas had to "touch it up" and he added that horrendous redone band scene in jabbas palace. Every time I see that it makes me cringe. Other than that hands down best Star Wars movie ever and definitely the best fiction ever!!! The Star Wars galaxy is one of the greatest things ever created for sci-fi dudes!! Expand
  42. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    Yes, Return isn't as good as the first 2 movies, but it is definitely better than a 52. That's the same score as Attack of the Clones! I wish George Lucas would've made some sequels, though.
  43. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    Its not as good as the franchises' first two installments, but Return of the Jedi rounds the series off on a high note, particularly with the powerhouse ending.
  44. May 28, 2012
    10
    I find this Star Wars to be the best of the sequel trilogy. A dozen vital questions in the saga are answered here. It all feels like it ends to quickly despite the long running time, but the story is anything but thin. I find this Star Wars to flesh out the characters way more than the others.
  45. May 18, 2012
    8
    Of the original trilogy this is undoubtedly the weakest film. However this does not make it a BAD film - just far less impressing than A New Hope and The Empire Strikes Back. Despite this, it is still an exciting film that could have been done far worse and serves up as a satisfactory, if not perfect, ending to one of the best science fiction films of all time. Collapse
  46. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Un paso atras, pero Return of the Jedi es una satisfactoria conlusion a la mejor trilogia de ciencia ficcion de todos los tiempos. Aunque le falta un poco de lo que Empre Strikes Back tuvo, aun asi es fantastica, con buenos efectos especiales y con una buena historia.
  47. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie and thought it was just amazing. Awesome special effects. It was also filled with amazing fight scenes and was plain cool. George Lucas is a great director and people who say he is bad don't know anything about Star Wars. There is plenty of action in this movie and it is great movie for it's time and for along time it will be remembered
  48. Feb 8, 2012
    7
    Ultimately, the final film in the original trilogy failed to deliver. IV and V were so much fun, and contained a lot of darker elements that are noticeably absent in this film. The ewoks were a particularly despicable addition, with there dumb teddy bear faces, and unblinking eyes. Yes, this film is flawed, however, it is still a pretty decent movie, and much better than any of the filmsUltimately, the final film in the original trilogy failed to deliver. IV and V were so much fun, and contained a lot of darker elements that are noticeably absent in this film. The ewoks were a particularly despicable addition, with there dumb teddy bear faces, and unblinking eyes. Yes, this film is flawed, however, it is still a pretty decent movie, and much better than any of the films in the prequel trilogy. Expand
  49. Feb 5, 2012
    6
    Richard Marquand just couldn't grasp hold of how the Star Wars series flowed. The third Movie gave all the all the opposites of what the originals provided us with. It was Corny, Uninspiring, and Immature.
  50. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    In comparison, it is nowhere near the quality of the previous installments (despite what many fanboys would have you believe) but Return of the Jedi still stands up on its own and doesn't have to rely on the original two to be considered a great film. If I had a more flexible rating scale to use, I would give an 8.5/10, but anything more would and I would be lying to myself.
  51. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I watched this over and over, its so exciting! the ewok battle was rediculous and how come luke didnt get scarred from the emperors force lighning? only a bit of it killed darth. but i loved it.
  52. Dec 9, 2011
    7
    Ignore all negative criticism; this film is easily the most exciting film of the whole lot. We are drawn into a world of tension as we watch the destiny of Luke Skywalker unfold. Yes, Jabba's Palace fails slightly, but the escape from Tatooine is great and the Battle on Endor is amazing. I simply don't understand where all this criticism is coming from; an epic conclusion!
  53. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    Easily the worst film of the original trilogy. It lacks originality and is really just a recycled version of the 2 previous films. The acting is pretty terrible as well. A huge disapointment.
  54. Nov 7, 2011
    4
    The original Star Wars is a classic space opera that invokes the sense of adventure in our hearts, making it a great watch. The second one was even better, furthering the plot and containing even more action and drama. However, this end to the trilogy is a weak mess of a story with almost none of the charm that the first two movies had. It does have an excellent first act, and theThe original Star Wars is a classic space opera that invokes the sense of adventure in our hearts, making it a great watch. The second one was even better, furthering the plot and containing even more action and drama. However, this end to the trilogy is a weak mess of a story with almost none of the charm that the first two movies had. It does have an excellent first act, and the conclusion is fulfilling . Overall, worth a watch just to finish the story, but not a great movie by any stretch of the imagination. Expand
  55. Sep 24, 2011
    9
    Yes, the movie is filmed as if it was filming a family recreation. Its choppy and messy, but what it doesn't fail is delivering the epic conclusion of the long space opera franchise to the audience.
  56. Sep 12, 2011
    3
    RE: The Star Wars Prequels...This film was George Lucas's warning from history.
    We were taken to such dizzying heights with The Empire Strikes Back, that it should have been predictable that we'd have to be brought crashing back down to planet Earth with this anti-climactic conclusion to the saga.
    There was no way to better the excitement of the destruction of the first Death Star or top
    RE: The Star Wars Prequels...This film was George Lucas's warning from history.
    We were taken to such dizzying heights with The Empire Strikes Back, that it should have been predictable that we'd have to be brought crashing back down to planet Earth with this anti-climactic conclusion to the saga.
    There was no way to better the excitement of the destruction of the first Death Star or top the "I'm your father" cliff hanger. So all George could think to do was...do it all again.
    Once we get past the Star Wars edition of the Muppet Show at the start of the movie, we are then presented with another flawed Death Star and another addition to the Skywalker family. All the character development from the first two films is discarded and it's like watching a TV special.
    As for the ending...all I can say is avoid the Blu Ray edition.

    Fo me, Han Solo will forever be encased in Carbonite. His friends endlessly scouring that galaxy far far away, in a vain effort to rescue him.

    And I didn't even mention the Ewoks!...oh damn!
    Expand
  57. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    The best of the series (and an amazing series it is). This is the quintessential sci-fi/fantasy movie. I love everything about it. It's easily in my top 5 movies of all time.
  58. Aug 13, 2011
    1
    Very, very, very sad end for a great saga, this natural trash movie should be completely redone, and even George Lucas recognize he made a lot of mistakes in the series and if he could he would change that, only children or completely blind, insane ans brainless fanatics with childish behaviour thinks George Lucas don't make mistakes, but even him agree with this. For little childrenVery, very, very sad end for a great saga, this natural trash movie should be completely redone, and even George Lucas recognize he made a lot of mistakes in the series and if he could he would change that, only children or completely blind, insane ans brainless fanatics with childish behaviour thinks George Lucas don't make mistakes, but even him agree with this. For little children this a good film, but for the old fans the only scene in the whole film that is great is the death of Darth Vader, and it's all, don't buy or see this film, only this scene. Expand
  59. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    This movie is more playful than the first two (until the end). It's not quite as brilliant but it's solid, simple entertainment at its best. It's so incredibly fun to watch. What more do you need?
  60. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    this should NOT have the same score as Attack the Clones, that was boring badly Written, and just a Big CGI-fest made to make money
  61. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    If my memory serves me right, this was the first Star Wars movie I ever saw (around the time the Special Edition VHS came out). I love it, just as much as I love every other Star Wars movie. Unfortunately, this was the movie where haters began their reign by hating on the Ewoks, and continue to this day on hating anything Star Wars that isn't Episodes IV or V. Seriously haters?
  62. Mar 28, 2011
    7
    For years I pretty much dismissed Star-wars after "Empire Strikes Back" but recently I began to see this as the jewel of the series. There are problems though. First off I actually found the Ewoks, although there mainly to sell merchandise, rather interesting. A carnivorous groups of tree bears who worship golden robots. Lucas should have explored them a bit more. It would have been greatFor years I pretty much dismissed Star-wars after "Empire Strikes Back" but recently I began to see this as the jewel of the series. There are problems though. First off I actually found the Ewoks, although there mainly to sell merchandise, rather interesting. A carnivorous groups of tree bears who worship golden robots. Lucas should have explored them a bit more. It would have been great to see these cuddly creatures feasting on the bones of captured storm troopers. After all the movie already established that they consider humans a healthy source of food. That aside what I finds to be the main flaw of the movie is the death of the emperor. In episode IV the first movie there is a classic good vs evil battle. When the rebells blow up the Death Star evil is defeated. This sets up "Empire" quite nicely. We find out Vader is actually Luke's father. Luke is vulnerable to the dark side. In "Jedi" Luke is courted by the emperor who wants to replace the aging Vader, while Vader want to recruit Luke to run the dark-side like a father son company. What "Jedi" does, is it introduces a more eastern concept of the light side dark side struggle. Amidst the rebel attacks Luke must come to term with himself. He can no longer simply try to defeat the dark-side in him. He must make morally complicated choices. Act in anger and attack the Emperor thus darken his sole to help his friends survive, or let them die while retaining his innocence. Unfortunately These ideas get clouded by the need for a happy Hollywood ending, So Vader toss the emperor down the shaft and another death stars blows up. First, this has always been highly disappointing for the Emperor to die in such a mundane way. Vader should have done this years ago is what I was thinking as a child. As an adult I ponder on the existence of evil, how it is something that one must come to terms with live with, but never vanquish. If one take Luke putting down his light saber as the climax of the scene it retains that power. We now know what path he is on, but I suppose Ewoks dining on storm trooper, while Luke turns his back to the Emperor would have left many of ten year olds scratching their hear. Expand
  63. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    A great way to say goodbye to the series, while it wasn't as believable as the others, or as enjoyable, it's still a great movie, if your a fan of the previous movies you'll like this.
  64. Mar 4, 2011
    7
    Not my favorite of the original 3 but quite necessary to wrap everything up. I and just about everyone else hated the little bears. What a cheesy attempt at merchandising.
  65. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    the greatest finale in the trilogy and we will treasure it always.
  66. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    I actually can't believe the critic rating is so low for this cult classic. There's a reason that the film kick started the biggest toy franchise in history. Truly unique and so quotable.
  67. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    It actually sickens me to see how low the official critic rating is for this absolute master piece. If (for some reason) you haven't seen this film, you must see it. Star Wars is the most brilliant idea i have ever seen from a director, and Return of The Jedi is such a great ending to the series. I know you have to respect opinions, but after seeing the critic rating, it made me wish thatIt actually sickens me to see how low the official critic rating is for this absolute master piece. If (for some reason) you haven't seen this film, you must see it. Star Wars is the most brilliant idea i have ever seen from a director, and Return of The Jedi is such a great ending to the series. I know you have to respect opinions, but after seeing the critic rating, it made me wish that the critics would be instantly fired from the business. There's no way i can begin to comprehend how you can actually dislike this movie. To think that that piece of crap Pirrhana 3D actually recieved better ratings. NO ONE EVER LISTEN TO CRITICS. THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT MAKES A GREAT FILM. Collapse
  68. Sep 26, 2010
    9
    C3PO is rightfully made a god in this episode,not just of the Ewoks but of a God of classic characters. There are many other great characters in this final episode of the saga and I could go on for days about them,but I won't! This episode is my favourite,the right balance of humour and action. God and evil. Victory and Defeat. There are many poignant and thought provoking scenes,forC3PO is rightfully made a god in this episode,not just of the Ewoks but of a God of classic characters. There are many other great characters in this final episode of the saga and I could go on for days about them,but I won't! This episode is my favourite,the right balance of humour and action. God and evil. Victory and Defeat. There are many poignant and thought provoking scenes,for example Yoda's death and Darth Vader returning back to his roots as Anakin. A masterpiece of cinema,even though it's not quite a 10 in my books. Expand
  69. Aug 30, 2010
    8
    The Ewok scenes were stupid. But Return of the Jedi is still a good film, and a satisfying end to the trilogy. I was a little disappointed with some of the plot devices used, but seeing Vader throw the Emperor down into the Death Star's core still gets me every time. 8/10
  70. mikek
    May 27, 2009
    8
    Great ending film but the actual ending is a little of a drag but the special edition edition fixed that with the planets celebrating the empires fall....the jabba scene is fun ....the ewokes who are hated by most fans are not by me i actually saw the ewoke films before the star wars films weird but thats how it went ..and so i have no grudges with them and the final scene of darth with Great ending film but the actual ending is a little of a drag but the special edition edition fixed that with the planets celebrating the empires fall....the jabba scene is fun ....the ewokes who are hated by most fans are not by me i actually saw the ewoke films before the star wars films weird but thats how it went ..and so i have no grudges with them and the final scene of darth with out the mask is just so heart gripping for a true fan its sick. Expand
  71. ChristianW.
    Sep 4, 2007
    2
    I love the star wars mythology and that is why I think this messy try-hard rehash stinks so much. The final hour is particularly dire. What a disappointing way to finish a legendary saga. Oh, and the ewoks! Why did Lucas think the franchise needed furry smurfs? This mov ie makes AOTC look good and ROTS look like Dr Zhivago. Only TPN comes near it in terms of crappiness.
  72. Mikko
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    I agree with Charlie W. What's with the critics? The movie is not that bad. The battle with Vader and Luke is one of the best parts of this movie. I also liked the battle at Endor.
  73. CodyM
    Oct 9, 2006
    9
    I actually want a nine and a half but its really cool. [***SPOILERS***] Luke almost dies then Darth Vader saves. Its about as good as the end of Episode three.
  74. JB
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    So much better than Revenge of the Sith it isn't even funny. My personal favorite, as despite its lack of 'deep' meaning (which isn't entirely true) it nonetheless provides an entertaining cinematic experience and provides an ending for the ages, bittersweet and satisfying.
  75. CharlieW.
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    The critics have lost their minds. This movie is certainly NOT as bad as Episode I or II, nor is Episode III better than it. This movie is excellent. I absolutely love the Rancor. And the fight with Vader and Luke ends in a very satisfying manner. The hero wins, but it is not entirely upbeat what with what happens to Vader and all. Truly an excellent movie.
  76. Sam
    Jul 23, 2005
    7
    My how the mighty have fallen. With a dissapointing film. With this being said, it's not a terrible film, just the worst of the 3. The acting bored me, the effects weren't nearly as good as the first 2 and it was almost the worst thing to ever happen to Star Wars, yes, worse than Jar Jar. Then something happened, the glorious and magnificent ending came, the final showdown on My how the mighty have fallen. With a dissapointing film. With this being said, it's not a terrible film, just the worst of the 3. The acting bored me, the effects weren't nearly as good as the first 2 and it was almost the worst thing to ever happen to Star Wars, yes, worse than Jar Jar. Then something happened, the glorious and magnificent ending came, the final showdown on the planet of endor, the spaceflight battle, and, most importantly, the battle between Luke, Darth Vader, The Emporer, and, in a weird way, Anakin Skywalker. Dissapointing like Episode 1 and 2, until it saves itself at the end like episode 3. Expand
  77. [Anonymous]
    Jun 29, 2005
    8
    What were the critics thinking?!! Anyway, let's get to the point. A classic, but not as deep as the first two originals. Revenge of the sith is about the same, maybe slightly better because of state-of-the-art visuals that make up for a few less than dramatic performances, thus making it the only new star wars movie worthy of comparison to the originals. Just imagine If Lucas had What were the critics thinking?!! Anyway, let's get to the point. A classic, but not as deep as the first two originals. Revenge of the sith is about the same, maybe slightly better because of state-of-the-art visuals that make up for a few less than dramatic performances, thus making it the only new star wars movie worthy of comparison to the originals. Just imagine If Lucas had today's digital techniques back then! Expand
  78. McFlyE.
    Jun 9, 2005
    7
    If it had been Eookie natives then the movie would have been fine but the ERwok just ruined it.
  79. TF
    May 27, 2005
    9
    The critics are crazy. Basically based on the metacritic score ROTJ is as bad as TPM. Uhh, I don't think so. I don't remember wincing once when I last watched ROTJ, the last time I watched TPM I nearly had an epileptic fit it was so bad.
  80. catherinek
    May 24, 2005
    10
    I love this fim best one of them all and the ewoks whats up with them there hillarious love the "luke vs darth vader fight ."
  81. TomHuntB.
    Mar 1, 2005
    0
    Some of the weakest filmmaking ever to be so popular. From unwatchable framings of almost every shot, to actors who'd rather not be there (Ford could have phoned in his performance), to rehashing music cues from 'A New Hope' (shame!) - this film is more embarrassing than good.
  82. PaulF.
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    I still don't know how people think this was a disappointment! I couldn't believe what I was seeing when I looked at the metacritic score. I think the critics must have seen the wrong movie. This is my favourite Star Wars to date. It's got everything, jabba the hutt, emporer palpatine, that fantastic duel between darth and luke, speeder bikes and one of the best space I still don't know how people think this was a disappointment! I couldn't believe what I was seeing when I looked at the metacritic score. I think the critics must have seen the wrong movie. This is my favourite Star Wars to date. It's got everything, jabba the hutt, emporer palpatine, that fantastic duel between darth and luke, speeder bikes and one of the best space battle scenes seen in any film ever. Not even the CGI battles in the new movies can compare to the battle of Endor. The Ewoks don't spoil the film for me either - Superb! Expand
  83. BitBurn
    Oct 8, 2004
    7
    Damn ewoks ruined everything! Still , the magic of Star Wars is present.
  84. YoonC.
    Sep 26, 2004
    7
    Compared to star wars and empire, return of the jedi is a resounding disappointment in terms of plot. the movie is anti-climactic and shapeless from the first shot. worse, though the universe hangs in the balance in the final great battle between the Empire and the Rebellion, most of the action takes place in some enchanted forest inhabited by pugfaced teddybears who, in a single Compared to star wars and empire, return of the jedi is a resounding disappointment in terms of plot. the movie is anti-climactic and shapeless from the first shot. worse, though the universe hangs in the balance in the final great battle between the Empire and the Rebellion, most of the action takes place in some enchanted forest inhabited by pugfaced teddybears who, in a single afternoon, destroy the invincible army of the Empire that had conquered countless star systems. and, the potentially moving story between luke and darth vader is mechanical, with leaden dialogue repeated adnauseum; it doesn't help that hamill here looks like an overgrown ricky schroeder. worse, the rebellion seems to made up of talking frogs, mutant wombats, and other oddball extraterrestial muppetoids. watching the space nazis finally get their comeuppance by grover and cookie monster with spacehelmets is not exactly epic. still, the ONLY thing that really matters in a movie like this is special effects, and Return of the Jedi is a quantum leap from the first Star Wars. the space battles are outstanding, and there are some grand moments with darth. if they cut it down to 60 minutes, it would qualify as a mini classic. unfortunately, the viewer has to slog thru alot of limp melodrama and ridiculous lines... and those damned ewoks. Expand
  85. KatieP
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    This is the best Star Wars movie. My favourite out of the trilogy undoubtedly. Star Wars takes LOTR to the cleaners.
  86. PaulP
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable, the metascore was only 42!? This was one of the greatest films of all time. A strong story that provided closure to the trilogy, fun action scenes, and an awesome ending. What are the critics looking for? For its genre, the film did everything it had to do.
  87. chris
    Sep 23, 2004
    10
    Your joking right? - I want to see one of you critics make a decent movie. - you all seem to be such experts at it.
  88. EfeB.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    Oooh, you people must be kidding me!!!!! JEDI is the best of all!!!!....i also saw the film for the first time back in 1983 when i was much younger than now, like the fella posted below...i was rocked by all the new space ships and creatures that were absent in both new hope and empire, jedi is really the "party" of all the films, lucas and crew are basically having fun confidently, Oooh, you people must be kidding me!!!!! JEDI is the best of all!!!!....i also saw the film for the first time back in 1983 when i was much younger than now, like the fella posted below...i was rocked by all the new space ships and creatures that were absent in both new hope and empire, jedi is really the "party" of all the films, lucas and crew are basically having fun confidently, knowing that both empire and new hope were "etched" in history with flying colors. so , i think JEDI is more of an imagination box, more so than the other films. i remember going to the toy store and seeing all the new kenner jedi action figures and man....those scout troopers steal the show....dude, people love the empire strikes back....but jedi has got both jabba and scouts, can't beat jedi. when episode 3 hits the screens, i believe it's also gona rock....more than ep1 and ep2. i believe in the pre-quels...i love it all madly. Expand
  89. JonH
    Sep 21, 2004
    3
    I am really disappointed in the changes. i gave this a 3 because there will not be dvd release of unedited originals. if the unedited originals were released on dvd i would be more inclined to give this a better rating. :(
  90. GaryB.
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    No one will ever agree with me here, but Return of the Jedi is best in the trilogy. It features the best opening of any of the movies, best settings, more humor, and a great resolution. The only stupid thing was the construction of a second death star. And Ewoks rock, I don't care what anyone says. Everyone calls them cute and cuddly, but really they were just irritable little sons No one will ever agree with me here, but Return of the Jedi is best in the trilogy. It features the best opening of any of the movies, best settings, more humor, and a great resolution. The only stupid thing was the construction of a second death star. And Ewoks rock, I don't care what anyone says. Everyone calls them cute and cuddly, but really they were just irritable little sons of b...hes. Expand
  91. DaveC.
    Sep 11, 2004
    8
    Lacking desperately in the structure and pacing of the first two films, Jedi plods in the first act and overall makes the banalities of the series more obvious and irritating, but we needn't linger over these flaws, because Return Of The Jedi still has plenty of the spirit, fun and impressive visual effects that made its predecessors so memorable. Highlights include a lightsaber Lacking desperately in the structure and pacing of the first two films, Jedi plods in the first act and overall makes the banalities of the series more obvious and irritating, but we needn't linger over these flaws, because Return Of The Jedi still has plenty of the spirit, fun and impressive visual effects that made its predecessors so memorable. Highlights include a lightsaber brawl above the pit of the Sarlaac, a battle of Ewoks against stromtroopers in the jungles of Endor and a climactic space battle that ultimately spells the end for the galaxy's civil war. Believe me, it's a lot more entertaining than the bloated prequels. Expand
  92. PhillipK.
    Sep 1, 2004
    9
    I rate this film based on the experience of having seen it for the first time when I was 12 back in 1983. The dark, ominously demonic tauntings of the Emperor as he tries to shatter Luke's faith in Good, and enslave him to darkness, while Luke is simultaneously being torn apart inside over his "destiny" to kill his father... This was a story of near-spiritual warfare that is one of I rate this film based on the experience of having seen it for the first time when I was 12 back in 1983. The dark, ominously demonic tauntings of the Emperor as he tries to shatter Luke's faith in Good, and enslave him to darkness, while Luke is simultaneously being torn apart inside over his "destiny" to kill his father... This was a story of near-spiritual warfare that is one of those rare entertainment icons that could legitimately be called "modern mythology." The final outcome was a perfectly satisfying resolution, even if we had to wait 6 years for it... I still get goosebumps when John Williams' choir kicks in as Luke loses control and attacks his own father with murderous rage. Backed up by the patience of "true" SFX craftmen working for 3 years solid with no CGI, Jedi sparkled with the best, most elaborate SFX and action sequences anyone had ever seen up until that time.... this movie pretty much made me feel like I'd never see anything better. Of course, I was only 12. Looking back, both SW and Empire are superior for different reasons... But Jedi still rocked. Expand
  93. ElvisFreak
    Aug 31, 2004
    5
    Dude, why did they have to ruin the trilogy like this? Star Wars was a classic, Empire was a masterpiece, but Jedi, well Jedi stunk... but I have to admit, it was a bit entertaining with great special effects, so I give it a 5.
  94. Jovi
    Aug 31, 2004
    8
    The final installment of the great trilogy, Jedi is an entertaining SFX romp thru a time long long ago. It's drawback is the over fluff of cuteness. Too many Ewoks, the horrible song (omited, thank God, in the Special edt.), and a little too much camp. However, the ending is money. We get the full circle treatment when Darth reverts to the light side of the force and destroys the The final installment of the great trilogy, Jedi is an entertaining SFX romp thru a time long long ago. It's drawback is the over fluff of cuteness. Too many Ewoks, the horrible song (omited, thank God, in the Special edt.), and a little too much camp. However, the ending is money. We get the full circle treatment when Darth reverts to the light side of the force and destroys the emperor. All in all, Jedi is fun, not as great as Empire, and a nice way to end one of the best Trilogies ever. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    70
    The dialogue is repetitive ("I won't give in to the dark side of the Force!" "You will!") and significant characters from earlier films -- notably bounty hunter Boba Fett and Yoda -- are dispatched without fanfare, and the whole business has a slightly rushed, perfunctory feel at the same time that it feels oddly attenuated.
  2. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    40
    Hamill is not enough of a dramatic actor to carry the plot load here, especially when his partner in so many scenes is really little more than an oversized gas pump, even if splendidly voiced by James Earl Jones.
  3. Less original than the first "Star Wars" and less resonant than "The Empire Strikes Back," but packed with fast-paced action and downright cuddly Ewoks.