Starter for 10

Starter for 10 Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: A romantic comedy set in the mid-eighties about a working-class kid struggling to make his way in the rarefied world of an upper-class British university, Starter for 10 is a bittersweet tale about loyalty, class, falling in love and the difference between knowledge and wisdom. (Picturehouse)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Despite its awkward title, Starter for 10 is a winning coming-of-age tale told with grace and charm.
  2. 75
    While at times overly familiar, the film never feels self-mocking.
  3. McAvoy is charismatic, funny, and on the mark. Hall and Eve are both just right in their roles - bringing depth and detail to what could have been caricature parts. And if Starter for 10 takes a turn into foolhardy tragedy, it doesn't linger too long there.
  4. There's a tidiness and affection to this British homage to John Hughes movies.
  5. McAvoy, so memorable as Idi Amin's doctor turned adviser in last year's "The Last King of Scotland," may be the most likable British newcomer since Ewan McGregor; his glistening eyes can seduce audiences with their ability to show conflicting emotions.
  6. This is cheeky sitcom in a minor key, and fated to be a mere footnote on McAvoy's resume.
  7. Your basic and basically predictable by-the-numbers picture.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. TeriZ.
    Sep 20, 2007
    10
    This is a gem of a movie. James McAvoy is amazing!
  2. GregoryL.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Definitely.... I read the book 2 years ago and just discovered that it had a movie made... the movie helped a lot with some of the problems i Definitely.... I read the book 2 years ago and just discovered that it had a movie made... the movie helped a lot with some of the problems i had been having with my gf and my best friend! Brian is particularly inspiring, and Alice was charmingly beautiful... I'd say that Alice would have been good with Brian... Rebecca surprised me at the end, as the book didn't mention their reunion. Expand
  3. JayH
    Aug 30, 2009
    7
    What makes this film work is the rich characterizations, great acting, a believable screenplay and thoughtful direction. The score is a great What makes this film work is the rich characterizations, great acting, a believable screenplay and thoughtful direction. The score is a great asset to the film, good use of songs. It's entertaining, touching and has a great pace. Collapse
  4. DWilly
    Mar 2, 2007
    2
    Good God this is a bad movie. Not just bad, student film bad... and not just student film bad, English student film bad with its attendant Good God this is a bad movie. Not just bad, student film bad... and not just student film bad, English student film bad with its attendant whimsy and narrowness and embarassed-at-its-leering sexual stiffness. For all the exagerated critical numbers, there was no one in the theater when I entered and there was no one in the theater when the credits rolled. Expand

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.