Stealth

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 72
  2. Negative: 35 out of 72

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 28, 2012
    2
    This movie reminds me of why you should check the ratings before you watch some random movie. It's not just unworthy of paying money to see it, it's not even worth the time to watch it. I literally would have preferred to do chores than watch this, and I'm lazy. This was so stupid, so cliché, it's just worthless. The action wasn't even thrilling, and everything else aboutThis movie reminds me of why you should check the ratings before you watch some random movie. It's not just unworthy of paying money to see it, it's not even worth the time to watch it. I literally would have preferred to do chores than watch this, and I'm lazy. This was so stupid, so cliché, it's just worthless. The action wasn't even thrilling, and everything else about it was cliché or stupid. Stealth is a movie you shouldn't even bother watching. Expand
  2. MarkB.
    Jan 21, 2006
    5
    Besides being the Year of the Penguin, 2005 will be remembered as the movie year in which moviegoers re-embraced the R-rated movie comedy (Yay!) and rejected the Big, Expensive Action Movie Without A Brain In Its Head (YAY!!) Michael Bay and Rob Cohen (The Fast and the Furious, xXx) are two of the more recent auteurs of this genre; of the two, Cohen is far less offensive because of his Besides being the Year of the Penguin, 2005 will be remembered as the movie year in which moviegoers re-embraced the R-rated movie comedy (Yay!) and rejected the Big, Expensive Action Movie Without A Brain In Its Head (YAY!!) Michael Bay and Rob Cohen (The Fast and the Furious, xXx) are two of the more recent auteurs of this genre; of the two, Cohen is far less offensive because of his sheer unpretentiousness; he's a bubblegum moviemaker who's secure in the knowledge that he IS one, and embraces his essential inner Bazooka Joe-ness. Just as well that Cohen's latest, about a military superplane that defies orders when it (he?) feels it (he?) has the right to or knows more than its (his?) human operators bombed in theaters, because it's actually fairly effective on DVD as a "six-pack movie": the more of the six-pack you drink the better (or at least less idiotic) it is, and it helps even more if you can get through TWO six-packs while watching it! You don't expect such offbeat talents as screenwriter W. D. Richter (The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai, Home for the Holidays) and playwright/actor Sam Shepard to be anywhere near this (or any other Cohen film) although Shepard is actually quite good as the well-meaning but corrupt force behind the project; otherwise, Stealth comes off as an amiable cross between Blue Thunder and Top Gun without the hysterical semi-alarmism of the former or the obnoxious jingoism of the latter. Stealth's greatest strength and greatest weakness are actually one and the same: it's smart enough to ask the question of whether war should be waged as a video game or up close and personal (an issue that, in a way, got Bill Maher and Politically Incorrect thrown off ABC) but dumb enough to include so many candy-colored visuals, and take such delight in blowing stuff up real good that it undercuts its own very real, intelligent questions and becomes exactly the same thing it's criticizing. I'm sure that it's no coincidence that Cohen voice-casts the superplane to sound just like HAL the computer in 2001: A Space Odyssey; in fact, I was mildly disappointed that the stealth bomber didn't get around to treating us to a chorus of "A Bicycle Built For Two". Expand
  3. Tonydannie
    Jan 11, 2006
    8
    Is this movie Perfect? No. Is it horrible? NO! This movie was fun. Jamie Foxx a bit of a show off. The man staeling the Show is none other then Josh Lucas. This guy is going places folks. And The AI sounding like Hal from 2001, though some people hated the cliche. I enjoyed it. Give it a chance. And what is the deal with Jessica Biel's arms.? You are a chick!! Not a dude!!
  4. SpankTheChicken
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    This film gets 10/10 if simply for Jessica Biel. Where do women as beautiful as this hide? I never see them come into the McDonalds I work at. Anyway, back on topic, the film is an average action film but she completes the movie.
  5. PDaddy
    Dec 31, 2005
    8
    Stealth is your average mindless male action film; stupid storyline, stupid plot twists, lots of eye-candy, lots of crap being blown up. It's great. But the REAL SURPRISE of the film was Jessica Biel.... my god... or should I say "oh my godess"?!?! I had to rewind the scenes of her in that blue bikini. 8-o SMOKIN! Jessica if you're reading this, contact me ... I will wipe away Stealth is your average mindless male action film; stupid storyline, stupid plot twists, lots of eye-candy, lots of crap being blown up. It's great. But the REAL SURPRISE of the film was Jessica Biel.... my god... or should I say "oh my godess"?!?! I had to rewind the scenes of her in that blue bikini. 8-o SMOKIN! Jessica if you're reading this, contact me ... I will wipe away your every tear, and teach you how to REALLY fly. ;-) Expand
  6. joesomebody
    Dec 4, 2005
    10
    I thought the movie was OUTSTANDING... went and saw it twice. The effects COMPLETELY blew me away from the opening scenes.
  7. she'stheone
    Nov 20, 2005
    7
    This movie was mindless fun, especially as a rental. The effects were mind-blowing. The war propaganda was revealling. And Jessica Biel is the sexiest woman alive and I would gladly be the tarmac to her landing gear.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2005
    7
    It's no masterpiece, but it certainly isn'tas bad as the critics say it is. The visuals blow you away, and EDI is an interesting concept. THe movie soars whenever it's in airspace, but clunky on the ground, where drivel sitcom dialogue takes over. It also fails to emphasize the more intriguing ideas brought up, like war feeling like a videogame when robotics take over, or It's no masterpiece, but it certainly isn'tas bad as the critics say it is. The visuals blow you away, and EDI is an interesting concept. THe movie soars whenever it's in airspace, but clunky on the ground, where drivel sitcom dialogue takes over. It also fails to emphasize the more intriguing ideas brought up, like war feeling like a videogame when robotics take over, or EDI's learning capability, and goes with run-of-the-mill stuff instead. Plane design is cool, though, and it's good to see mud thown in North Korea's face. Overall, Stealth is decent high-tech entertainment, and better than a disasterous 35, but b/c it fails to take advantage of its premise properly, it won't leave much of an impact. Expand
  9. MalcomM.
    Oct 27, 2005
    2
    To quote M.E.Russell of Portland Oregonian, "While you're in the theater, it's actually -- heaven help me -- pretty fun to watch." He should have added also: "And while you're at home watching Stealth on DVD, it's really -- heaven forbid -- more fun watching yourself jerk-off while watching the movie!" It's war porn special effects on speed! Other than that, a one To quote M.E.Russell of Portland Oregonian, "While you're in the theater, it's actually -- heaven help me -- pretty fun to watch." He should have added also: "And while you're at home watching Stealth on DVD, it's really -- heaven forbid -- more fun watching yourself jerk-off while watching the movie!" It's war porn special effects on speed! Other than that, a one hell of a nincompoop dumbdumb flight to nonsensical oblivion! Better off watching Captain Kangaroo cartoons. Expand
  10. Sam
    Oct 14, 2005
    6
    The thing that I hated most about stealth, not to say that I hated the movie, it really was decent, but the worst thing about it was it looked like a fantastic epic full great plot twists with some of the best special effects ever, basically it had so much promise, and it wasted it. comPLETELY wasted it. Through it down the toilet, gone.
  11. Philter137
    Sep 16, 2005
    5
    Well... I wasn't expecting a great movie, so I wasn't disappointed, I left feeling vaugely satisfied. A good variety of locations and settings, good explosions, some nice action concepts and I really liked the look of the Talon aircraft. I'm a big fan of Jet aircraft and carriers, so I really *wanted* to like this movie, but it just didn't fly. There were a load of Well... I wasn't expecting a great movie, so I wasn't disappointed, I left feeling vaugely satisfied. A good variety of locations and settings, good explosions, some nice action concepts and I really liked the look of the Talon aircraft. I'm a big fan of Jet aircraft and carriers, so I really *wanted* to like this movie, but it just didn't fly. There were a load of problems with Stealth, I had a problem with the blimp-shaped floating refueling station - in the real world that thing would be a tactical nightmare to defend and one of the screens in the command centre seemed to imply that there were loads of these expensive, highly explosive, easy-to-shoot sitting ducks dotted around the globe. Can you see a government approving a station like that? I was able to stomach the cliches for the most part, the problem that ruined "stealth" most in my view was the "overdone" feel of the cgi during the battle scenes - The 'camera' panning and pitching wildly, the overuse of tight close ups on the jets as they streak by. It was too 'furious' from the start of each battle - This kind of visual feel needed to be at the climax of each battle scene, not in every in every single shot! The makers of this flick need to watch Top Gun again, drop as many cliches as possible and make a different movie. Expand
  12. Wizz
    Aug 29, 2005
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] This film was a 117 minute long cliche. (Computer goes haywire because it got struck by lightning, Black guy dies first, white guy and women live happily ever after, and so on, and so on). It was a waste of my time. The only thing that was good about this movie were the special effects.
  13. DaltonD.
    Aug 27, 2005
    7
    Apparently users of this site as well as professional critics went to this movie with a view to finding the Shakespeare of our age. This a great, dumb popcorn movie with terrific action scenes and visual effects. If you're in that kind of mood, go see it. If you want Jarmusch, drink a lot of coffee and get thee to an art theater, holding your pinky in the air at all times.
  14. roll
    Aug 18, 2005
    1
    I'm sorry to say, but this is a totally bad movie. The awful story line actually kills what could have been a good action movie (think of a bad Miami-vice show, and make it even more stupid) . I tried looking at this movie with my brain turned off, didn't work... Good sound and special effect though.
  15. KV
    Aug 18, 2005
    9
    The story line is of any normal movie, bad guys alwaz lose and good guys alwaz win. Awesome special effects...or is it? I wondering what is the name of those fighter planes, I know that they are out there and anyone know whats the name of them so I can get some pix for background. Do not say they are fake, there are people who think they are fake in the movies cause that what the The story line is of any normal movie, bad guys alwaz lose and good guys alwaz win. Awesome special effects...or is it? I wondering what is the name of those fighter planes, I know that they are out there and anyone know whats the name of them so I can get some pix for background. Do not say they are fake, there are people who think they are fake in the movies cause that what the goverment wants us to think, that they are fake. But in fact they are real and thats the best way to hide the fact that they are real. Ignorance is blissed! Someone post the names of these fighters ^^ Expand
  16. Prattdaddy
    Aug 11, 2005
    1
    Im sorry Susan M., But I dont think even the last 30 minutes saved it...The only reason i give it one point is the special effects, which were incredible. It is a shame that such great visuals go to waste with such a crappy script with every damn action cliche in the book. What an overused plot!!! It was like I,Robot with wings, and I,robot was better. But they also did something worse Im sorry Susan M., But I dont think even the last 30 minutes saved it...The only reason i give it one point is the special effects, which were incredible. It is a shame that such great visuals go to waste with such a crappy script with every damn action cliche in the book. What an overused plot!!! It was like I,Robot with wings, and I,robot was better. But they also did something worse than using bad action cliches, they used bad action cliches and didnt fully execute them!!! Example: One of the many cliches in the film was the ominous, perhaps plot-changing straggling enemy "The Korean Sniper in the final rescue scene", only to have him dissappear from the film completely!!! Another thing...this film has also fallen prey to a film disorder I call..."Oscar Relapse", and It's the worse case of it since Catwoman. Its when an extremely talented, well established actor or actress gives a life changing performance,wins an Oscar, and then goes on to do complete and utter crap...-as is the case with Jamie Foxx-. so bad.....not even describable. Expand
  17. MarcD
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    Absolute crap.
  18. RichardG.
    Aug 6, 2005
    1
    Stephen Hunter is the best Crtic EVER!
  19. Don'tCare
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Seriously people, it's an action movie. The effects are great, the acting it better then average, Josh Lucas is turning into a solid leading man, Jessica Biel is hot, Jamie Foxx is funny. It's XXX in the air with half the sensless violence. Come on, just eat some popcorn and shut up, it's a rollercoaster ride. It's fun, it's exhilirating and i don't think it Seriously people, it's an action movie. The effects are great, the acting it better then average, Josh Lucas is turning into a solid leading man, Jessica Biel is hot, Jamie Foxx is funny. It's XXX in the air with half the sensless violence. Come on, just eat some popcorn and shut up, it's a rollercoaster ride. It's fun, it's exhilirating and i don't think it deserves the gutter treatment it's getting. Just think about this, the reason hollywood's been in a slump for so long is because crappy movies are being made and we can watch classics on DVD and OnDemand easier then ever before. So in an age of total crap i don't see why a decent film with star power, effects and a story that doesn't turn out as advertised is getting slammed. It's a summer movie people, save the heavy thinking for the oscar season and go have fun at a local multiplex. It works as what it is and i don't think we should expect more from this film when we make hits out of crap like the Boogeyman just cause it's the only thing out there. Besides, have you ever had more fun watching planes fly around, i mean, Top Gun was cool, but not this cool. (P.S: I'm only giving it a 10 to help the rating get out of the toliet to where it really belongs otherwise i'd probably give it an 8) Expand
  20. AramisG.
    Aug 5, 2005
    9
    During the preview trailer of Stealth, a remote control plane carrying nuclear weapons is rewired after it is struck by lightening and suddenly has sentience. Now before I go any further, I already know what you are thinking,
  21. SusanM.
    Aug 2, 2005
    2
    I give it a 2 because the last 30 minutes was pretty good. The rest was utter crap, so dumbed down it was insulting.
  22. JoeF.
    Aug 1, 2005
    0
    The clue is in the trailer where it is announced in all seriousness that the rogue plane in question was struck by lightening which REWIRED! the plane. Not 'reprogrammed' or somesuch semi-comprehensible tosh but rewired! Lightening - rewiring a plane! All-in-all not on a par with Bergmans finest then.
  23. MorgM
    Aug 1, 2005
    8
    It really wasn't that bad. I don't know what people were expecting. Everyone is citing Top Gun, Top Gun was 10 times cheesier then stealth. Or should I remind you of the Vollyball scene, or Val Kilmer chopping Tom Cusie invisible ego. People don't understand Stealth because they don't understand story. Everyone was looking for the showdown(oblating event) that never It really wasn't that bad. I don't know what people were expecting. Everyone is citing Top Gun, Top Gun was 10 times cheesier then stealth. Or should I remind you of the Vollyball scene, or Val Kilmer chopping Tom Cusie invisible ego. People don't understand Stealth because they don't understand story. Everyone was looking for the showdown(oblating event) that never came because everyone here is ingorant. If you know anything about film making go see this movie. Expand
  24. WalterB
    Aug 1, 2005
    0
    Micheal Sragow is indead the worst critic of our time. His reviews are reliable however. Go see what he hates, skip what he likes. This movie failed on every level. Bring back Chris Katenblach!!!!
  25. danm.
    Aug 1, 2005
    6
    After the 1st 1/2 hour, it became entertaining.
  26. RodC
    Aug 1, 2005
    0
    I was going to jokingly give this movie a 10, you know just for laughs and attention. I find that in good conscience, I just can't. Horrible on so many levels. Ijust kept watching and waiting thinking, "It can't be this bad, something will happen." But it doesn't. Better than Battlefield Earth though, but then again, what isn't?
  27. BillyH
    Jul 31, 2005
    0
    Worse than House On Haunted Hill. Worse than Alone In The Dark. Worse than Battlefeild Earth. I kid you not, I exaggerate not. This was the biggest waste of money and talent (Jamie Foxx) I've ever seen. There are no words.
  28. I.D.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    The best movie I have seen all summer. Oscar worthy in every way. Scray realistic and with excellent action sequences and comendable acting. I can't wait for the sequel.
  29. Droog
    Jul 30, 2005
    1
    Stealth is an absolute trainwreck. Planewreck, actually, because this movie is "about" planes, although I hesitate to use the word "about" because this movie isn't really about anything. It's kind of like some 11-year old's daydream gone terribly, terribly awry. How bad is this movie? Let me count the ways ... 1) The artificial intelligence plane is, like, totally EXTREME, Stealth is an absolute trainwreck. Planewreck, actually, because this movie is "about" planes, although I hesitate to use the word "about" because this movie isn't really about anything. It's kind of like some 11-year old's daydream gone terribly, terribly awry. How bad is this movie? Let me count the ways ... 1) The artificial intelligence plane is, like, totally EXTREME, and just in case you missed it, he plays EXTREME music from White Zombie or Megadeath or whoever. What is this, a skateboarding video? 2) Jamie Foxx is a black guy in an action movie, so of course his chances of making it out alive is about, oh, zero percent. 3) I'm sure the screenwriters have it right and most, if not all, hotshot AI programmers sit around their mansions at night writing code on flourescent whiteboards while their supermodel secretaries strut around the house naked 4) The AI plane is converted to evil by ... lightnining. O-kay. 5) The AI plane is later converted to good by ... love? Love?! What the #@#*? I could keep going, but my head is beginning to hurt. This movie avoids getting a zero because Jessica Biel looks great in a bikini. Expand
  30. SethS
    Jul 29, 2005
    0
    An interstin thing to note is that this was filmed in February of 2004-before Jamie Foxx did "Collateral" or "Ray". This is probably why they 'wasted' (in more ways than one) him in this movie. That was a HUGE mistake. That explosion in the preview that you could see from space, that was this bomb of a movie being dropped.
  31. VictorB.
    Jul 29, 2005
    0
    It was great to have Jamie Foxx in the film, he's the only reason I didn't walk out right away. I don't know why I stayed AFTER the first 30 minutes...
  32. RichE.
    Jul 29, 2005
    2
    The SpFx are competent, and the plane design is interesting--and it's nice to see Sam Shepard and Joe Morton getting work. Younger folk thinking of seeing this flick, though, should see instead the films being ripped off for it, especially the central portion of 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY and DR. STRANGELOVE; Stanley Kubrick got it right.
  33. JuniorS.
    Jul 29, 2005
    0
    Michael Scraglow(baltimore sun) gave it the second highest rating. AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS. This movie is liable to make you impotent or gve you cancer. You can always count on Scraglow's bad taste!
  34. Coleslaw
    Jul 29, 2005
    1
    I only went because my grandfather wanted something to rattle his bones before he died. By the end of the movie he begged me to kill him.
  35. GregM.
    Jul 29, 2005
    1
    I am the aforementioned video game addict, and in no way did this hold my interest. Dumb, dumb, then dumber, then when you thought it could not get dumber yet, it did just that.
  36. PrudenceK.
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    This film was terrible. One of the worst of the year. But, was very impressed with Jessica Biel's virtuoso performance. Just kidding. It was a terrible, awful film... beginning to finish.
  37. JohaanW.
    Jul 28, 2005
    0
    Worthless! Just utter lame attempts at trying to bag off Jamie's previous successes. Horrible, cliched lines, and predictable outcome, with lame predictable characters. Not worth even 1 star. A True FLOP.
  38. SeanN.
    Jul 27, 2005
    9
    Last of throw back action films. Sure, the plot is a little loose, but it more than makes up in pure action fun. Proto-typical popcorn flick!
  39. MiltonH.
    Jul 27, 2005
    2
    Totally stupid, preposterous story which might possibly hold the interest of a video game addict.
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 31
  2. Negative: 15 out of 31
  1. 20
    Its action sequences, more geeky than thrilling, fail to rescue the laughable plot.
  2. Stealth, a dregs-of-summer knockoff, is too ponderous and inept to serve a comparable function now, yet the film's lack of thrust may be related to an absence of conviction about its own war-is-a-videogame clich├ęs.
  3. 50
    A sort of retarded "Top Gun," Rob Cohen's Stealth revisits the world of cocky fighter pilots and war games turned real, but it has some serious moral quandaries on the brain, and too much thinking gets it into trouble.