Step Up Revolution

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 74
  2. Negative: 24 out of 74

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 17, 2012
    4
    Step Up doesn't offer anything beside quite eye-popping mob sequence. The 3D rocks big time, but it's TV movie, doesn't worth cinema viewing at all.
  2. Aug 3, 2014
    5
    Step Up Revolution is mildly entertaining, with a cliched love story that actually works, and with superb choreography, but I have seen it all before.
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    6
    Let me say if you go into the theater looking for excellent story telling and plot lines then avoid it, but if you just want to see a fun movie and amazing dance sequences then watch it. 1. Acting: Eh it's not bad I mean it is believable, but come on, Its not Inception. 2. Plot: It kept me interested with the girl and the father. then the guy and his brother. Its pretty good. 3. Music:Let me say if you go into the theater looking for excellent story telling and plot lines then avoid it, but if you just want to see a fun movie and amazing dance sequences then watch it. 1. Acting: Eh it's not bad I mean it is believable, but come on, Its not Inception. 2. Plot: It kept me interested with the girl and the father. then the guy and his brother. Its pretty good. 3. Music: They finally found dubstep. 4. Dance: As always the dancing is spectacular the best thing about these films. 5. 3D: I will say like the previous film the 3D does work however it just seems like the 3D only comes in for the dances and the opening and ending scenes. Watch if you want to be entertained but if your looking for something more I guess skip it. But if your a fan of dance this is your movie. Excpecially the opening and ending dance scenes. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2012
    5
    Honestly This Is Not A Bad Movie.. Everyone Of Them Is A Dancer Not A Actor.. I Give The Whole Cast A A+ For Effort.. The Plot Is Very Simple.. The Soundtrack Is Amazing (Soundtrack Of The YEAR!)
    What Drags This Film Down To A Mixed 5 Is The Acting Is Very Bland And Boring!
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    It's not about a complicated and thrilling plot, or a cast of incredible actors that make you believe every part of this is real. No, Step Up Revolution is simply about intricate and intoxicatingly-good choreographed routines involving "mobs" of people. Taking on the phenomenon that became the flash mob over the past few years, Step Up is simply offering up a tribute to the times. FilmIt's not about a complicated and thrilling plot, or a cast of incredible actors that make you believe every part of this is real. No, Step Up Revolution is simply about intricate and intoxicatingly-good choreographed routines involving "mobs" of people. Taking on the phenomenon that became the flash mob over the past few years, Step Up is simply offering up a tribute to the times. Film critics: you're going to nit-pick this film to death. But if you are easy-going and know what to expect, the movie is definitely watchable. I did feel that they borrowed the plot direction from Step Up 3 and only tweak it slightly at times, but overall it's entertaining. If the franchise were to find some real substance in the story and write the dialogue a little better, it would be quite an experience. As is, though, Revolution is just passable. That okay for me, since I came to see some dancing. In Step Up Revolution, there are some of the most diverse and cool routines of the franchise. So if you've already seen the first three, why not see a fourth? Expand
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    5
    They don't make these things to win awards. The plot is simple and cliched and the acting is borderline bad (they're dancers who can act, not the other way around). That being said, all the dance scenes are well choreographed and feature some catchy music. So if you know what you're going into and aren't expecting to have your mind bent like a Nolan film then you should be fine. I wasThey don't make these things to win awards. The plot is simple and cliched and the acting is borderline bad (they're dancers who can act, not the other way around). That being said, all the dance scenes are well choreographed and feature some catchy music. So if you know what you're going into and aren't expecting to have your mind bent like a Nolan film then you should be fine. I was dragged by a girlfriend and only contemplated running once. Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    This film isn't as terrible as people make it out to be. Yes, there are no good actors and the story is just garbage, but what people don't factor in is that this meant for people who love dancing or love to watch dancing, so if you do not meet that criteria I suggest not watching this film. I give it a 5 because even if the story was terrible, we still got a pretty hot lead actress andThis film isn't as terrible as people make it out to be. Yes, there are no good actors and the story is just garbage, but what people don't factor in is that this meant for people who love dancing or love to watch dancing, so if you do not meet that criteria I suggest not watching this film. I give it a 5 because even if the story was terrible, we still got a pretty hot lead actress and the dancing wasn't bad either. Expand
  8. Jul 28, 2012
    5
    Nothing about this movie is Revolutionary: the plot is as thin as it was in previous Step Up movies, and nothing sets it apart from any dance movie ever created. The dancing itself is decent enough, but the attempts at story-telling are worthless.
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Jul 30, 2012
    40
    3D has been kind to teen dance flicks and Step Up 4's better set-pieces take full advantage. Shame the movie's other attempts to tango with the zeitgeist are rather more flat-footed.
  2. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Jul 28, 2012
    60
    A troupe of guerrilla performers led by hunky Ryan Guzman stage synchronized routines on Miami's escalators and restaurant tables.
  3. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Jul 27, 2012
    50
    The dialogue is ridiculous, the acting wooden - but that's not why we go, is it?