Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 27, 2009
3.4
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 117 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
28
Mixed:
12
Negative:
77
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
RogueMoviegoerMar 1, 2009
"Disappointing" is being too kind. Clearly low expectations given no movie critic was allowed to review it prior to release (flag!). Kristin Kreuk couldn't save the plot and dialogue despite her physical credibility and emotional "Disappointing" is being too kind. Clearly low expectations given no movie critic was allowed to review it prior to release (flag!). Kristin Kreuk couldn't save the plot and dialogue despite her physical credibility and emotional demeanor presence. Very end of any film that attempts to set up a sequel screams Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
2
FarhadHMar 2, 2009
I expected the movie to be a lot cooler. The director of 300 and wanted should produce this movie. There weren't a lot of special effects like slow motions, close ups, and life like energy moves. The fighting was not as good as I I expected the movie to be a lot cooler. The director of 300 and wanted should produce this movie. There weren't a lot of special effects like slow motions, close ups, and life like energy moves. The fighting was not as good as I thought and the actors didn't match the characters of street fighter except kristin kruek as Chun-Li. Vega looked like the guy from black eyed peas for god sake. The story needs to precise and the characters should as well. If they make a sequel with all the characters, please get a new director and take my advice into consideration. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Feb 28, 2009
Shoot the piano player. That's the objective. How hard can it be to shoot a concert pianist? Very hard, as it turns out; like in the nightclub scene, where the piano player does a handstand and kicks the guns out of four shooters' Shoot the piano player. That's the objective. How hard can it be to shoot a concert pianist? Very hard, as it turns out; like in the nightclub scene, where the piano player does a handstand and kicks the guns out of four shooters' hands by virtue of a fluid pirouetting motion. Don't mess with Hong Kong via San Francisco, with a matriculating stint in New York, somewhere in the timeline; don't mess with a Julliard grad. Some of them know Wushu. Rachmaninoff isn't just for girly girls. Concert pianist/martial arts expert: that's a pretty absurd notion of being multi-talented, but for a film like "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-Li", musicianship serves as shorthand for character development. Unfortunately, the girl's piano career is subordinated as a tangent, in favor of her other, more kinetic pursuit. When Chun-li(Kristin Kreuk) goes underground in Thailand, the concert pianist explains that she has to forget her past, in order to become one with Bangkok. How convenient for the film's cross-purposes. Instead of being one of the common people(like the slumming rich girl in Pulp's "Common People": Chun-li's rich, too; she says goodbye to her servants before going "Bangkok Forgetful"), Chun-li could have stayed off the streets by playing the piano in some dive(and evoke Francois Truffaut's "Tirez sur le pianiste"). But that won't do; after all, "Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun-li" has no real aspirations of being a proper movie. It's pleased as punch with its essentiality of cheesy and uninspired fight sequences under the adulterated facade of girl power. Having the accomplished girl shed her identity just makes it easier for the film to ply its patriarchial bent. Sure, Chun-li kicks ass, but she's under the tutelage of a man. How do you say "To Sir With Love" in Mandarin? So the film takes away her best asset: her fingers. For the film's target audience, a woman who supports herself by playing the piano for tip money may constitute the rumblings of a chick flick. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
5
JasonC.Mar 4, 2009
NOT the worst movie ever. Definitely not a great movie, and just barely a 'good' movie. But not as terrible as everyone says. Chris Klein is comedic gold.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
PatrickR.Mar 5, 2009
im not going to say too much on this because i think the fact that the person who said "not bad" still gave it a 4 speaks volumes... if you saw the previews and still went to see it, you knew what you were getting into. I was hoping it would im not going to say too much on this because i think the fact that the person who said "not bad" still gave it a 4 speaks volumes... if you saw the previews and still went to see it, you knew what you were getting into. I was hoping it would at least be fun to laugh at the complete stupidity...but all i wanted to do is cry... Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
1
ZachridW.Oct 17, 2009
It works with lots of beer and if you want to "riff-trax" with your friends on it. Or in other words: I know Uwe Boll-movies that do a better performance than this piece of.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
9
KenKFeb 28, 2009
So bad and inaccurate in so many ways, but that's what makes it so laughably good! If you're looking for a serious movie, you shouldn't be watching this in the first place.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
5
JoeMammaMar 1, 2009
My vote doesn't really count so i put 5 for average. I havn't seen it I just want to post to ask people who have seen it post their thoughts. My friend wants to go but i dunno now that both the critics and the only 2 people who My vote doesn't really count so i put 5 for average. I havn't seen it I just want to post to ask people who have seen it post their thoughts. My friend wants to go but i dunno now that both the critics and the only 2 people who posted said its bad. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
CommonSenseMar 1, 2009
Ok; I actually didnt even see the movie. I just wanted to ask you users what you honestly expected going in so why even bother giving the movie a low score? before you even saw the movie, was there ever a thought that you would be giving it Ok; I actually didnt even see the movie. I just wanted to ask you users what you honestly expected going in so why even bother giving the movie a low score? before you even saw the movie, was there ever a thought that you would be giving it any more than a 5? the video game shouldnt even be mentioned just as the dbz movie shouldnt b mentioned along side the show. So i would like to give the movie a 10 for being able to sucker in a few ppl naive enough to spend money on it. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
2
JohnbMar 2, 2009
Disappointment doesn't even begin to describe this film. Fan of the game but not of this movie.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
6
AdamD.Mar 4, 2009
This movie turned out to be a lot better than I was expecting. Decent action scenes, interesting locations and good choreography made for an actually entertaining movie. The major thing that brought down my opinion was not the departure from This movie turned out to be a lot better than I was expecting. Decent action scenes, interesting locations and good choreography made for an actually entertaining movie. The major thing that brought down my opinion was not the departure from the SF storyline and not the dependence on gunplay (in what should have been a martial arts movie) - but by the casting of non-actor Chris Klein as Charlie. Seriously. Whose idea was that? Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful
10
MikeD.hMar 5, 2009
I love this film - what's not to like? Kristen Kruek is absolutley amazing-and her acting isn't bad either.
5 of 9 users found this helpful
10
MatthewTApr 5, 2009
All right, let's get one thing clear. This movie is not about the street fighter tournament. This movie is not covering the overarching story of street fighter. The story is about the "legend of" Chun-Li. With that in mind, the story All right, let's get one thing clear. This movie is not about the street fighter tournament. This movie is not covering the overarching story of street fighter. The story is about the "legend of" Chun-Li. With that in mind, the story deals with all the events leading up to Chun-Li Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful
0
ralphpMay 8, 2009
This could be one of the worst movies I have ever seen, I started gargling blood during the movie because my body had an anti-crap movie defense put up against this film. I actually asked for a refund after the movie because it was just This could be one of the worst movies I have ever seen, I started gargling blood during the movie because my body had an anti-crap movie defense put up against this film. I actually asked for a refund after the movie because it was just disgusting made, shot, and put togehter. I would of rather watched a youtube remake or something, please stop ruining good video games with these types of movies. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
7
PaulL.Jun 13, 2009
This really wasn't that bad of a movie. Don't understand why people are bashing it so badly.
4 of 7 users found this helpful
0
MattSJul 1, 2009
This is just an egregiously bad movie. There isn't a single positive thing I can say about it. The movie starts, and ends with downright horrific acting, a poor storyline, and with the addition of Chris Klein as Charlie/Nash, I'm This is just an egregiously bad movie. There isn't a single positive thing I can say about it. The movie starts, and ends with downright horrific acting, a poor storyline, and with the addition of Chris Klein as Charlie/Nash, I'm pretty sure I threw up a little in my mouth... This movie is a disgrace to the 'legend' of Street Fighter. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
3
RyanS.Jul 7, 2009
For a movie called Street Fighter this doesn't have nearly enough street fighting. It did have a boring story and uninteresting characters. I remember the Street Fighter video game as being more fun than this.
3 of 7 users found this helpful
0
AlexxPSep 27, 2009
Absolutely disgraceful. Street fighter fans will be absolutely dissapointed, like me, and will even destroy minds of people who are planning on getting street fighter (the game, not the crappy movie) and may convince them that street fighter Absolutely disgraceful. Street fighter fans will be absolutely dissapointed, like me, and will even destroy minds of people who are planning on getting street fighter (the game, not the crappy movie) and may convince them that street fighter is a crappy franchise, Capcom have made a failure to their company in signing up to this movie. Oh, and M.Bison, he SUCKS so bad! Street Fighter IV's release was almost perfect, avoid this film at your own safety, place a restraining order on it for christs' sake! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
fragoffOct 5, 2009
I am pretty sure Uwe Boll would have done it better. Even if we avoid the fact it has close to no relation to the spirit of street fighter, the movie is bad by holywood standard of 'no brainer action movies'.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
ryukFeb 27, 2009
Utterly crap, waste of money and time.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
BrianH.Feb 28, 2009
I can't even explain how aweful this movie is. Casting, Acting, Fighting, Scenery, Story, Dialogue, this is just BAAAAAAD, and not bad in a good way like the 1994 Street Fighter movie.
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
KevinB.Mar 5, 2009
It's as if someone just filmed a bunch of 5 year-olds playing make believe as Street Fighter characters, then re-shot the movie with adult actors. I am still in shock that a group of professional filmmakers could have created such an It's as if someone just filmed a bunch of 5 year-olds playing make believe as Street Fighter characters, then re-shot the movie with adult actors. I am still in shock that a group of professional filmmakers could have created such an incoherent disaster. I've played through many Street Fighter games, and Chun-Li was always my favorite, which just makes it worse. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
3
DreH.Jun 25, 2009
Had SOOOO much potential. But failed. Had a good start, good ideas, but failed.
1 of 6 users found this helpful
10
PhilJ.Jul 13, 2009
I really enjoyed this movie i watched it on the airplane to my trip to L.A i enjoyed it so much i watched it 2 twice i even enjoyed the soundtrack.
5 of 10 users found this helpful
0
LBJul 14, 2009
The Van Damme version was so bad it was almost good. This is just bad. You really have to wonder what the Capcom execs were smoking when they allowed this script. I mean, after the disaster of the first movie you'd think they'd The Van Damme version was so bad it was almost good. This is just bad. You really have to wonder what the Capcom execs were smoking when they allowed this script. I mean, after the disaster of the first movie you'd think they'd insist on reading it over before approving it. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
0
WolfgangS.Jul 19, 2009
Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen. How could anyone at Capcom let this happen? How could ANYONE in the entire team responsible for this let this happen? How could everyone throw away their dignity like this? Thanks to the Easily one of the worst movies I've ever seen. How could anyone at Capcom let this happen? How could ANYONE in the entire team responsible for this let this happen? How could everyone throw away their dignity like this? Thanks to the overwhelmingly negative reviews I saved the money and downloaded this piece of crap. Even without being tricked into paying money for this, I couldn't stand watching it all the way. My god, even Uwe Boll does it better, and that says a lot about how bad Chun-Li is. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
1
useruserSep 16, 2009
Boring story line / Ms Kreuk can't speak chinese and cantonese properly considering the character was able to speak chinese fluently when still young / Bison equals lame /Charlie, who? / Balrog was decent looking in this movie/ Vega, Boring story line / Ms Kreuk can't speak chinese and cantonese properly considering the character was able to speak chinese fluently when still young / Bison equals lame /Charlie, who? / Balrog was decent looking in this movie/ Vega, one of my favourite characters in SF, also the reason I wanted to watch this movie, really flew out of the window.. with the mask bigger than the head and two minutes fame before squashed by Chun Li, I was out of words.. that's where I've stopped watching it. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
4
GregoryN.Feb 27, 2009
Not bad! Not as bad as some might be saying and if you actually played Street Fighter, you might appreciate the movie a little bit more.
3 of 6 users found this helpful
0
PfillipT.Feb 28, 2009
Bad if you haven't played the game, worse if you have. Bad cast, bad crew, bad script, bad direction, good budget. Is anyone even surprised anymore? Hell, this movie was better with Van Damme in and Ming Na was a FAR superior Chun Li. Bad if you haven't played the game, worse if you have. Bad cast, bad crew, bad script, bad direction, good budget. Is anyone even surprised anymore? Hell, this movie was better with Van Damme in and Ming Na was a FAR superior Chun Li. What are they remaking next? The Birds? Rififi? ...oh. Hollywood died with Kubrick. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful
1
notmatthewtatallApr 12, 2009
Matthew you are clearly a street fighter fanboy who refuses to admit how terrible this movie was. Granted I will admit a few things I think Kristin Kruek is hot as Lana I think she is quite the eyecandy (I have followed smallville from its Matthew you are clearly a street fighter fanboy who refuses to admit how terrible this movie was. Granted I will admit a few things I think Kristin Kruek is hot as Lana I think she is quite the eyecandy (I have followed smallville from its beginning and I think her acting has somehow gotten worse over the years when she first started out it was clear she was new to it and it was kind of cute and looked like she would improve Such is not the case though the more presence she gets the worse her acting gets Why will I never see this movie? A few reasons 1. I had never heard of this movie Street Fighter 4 comes out and about a day or two later there is suddenly a preview for a new Street fighter movie...that I had never even heard of, the preview already looked awful Doing some research? the creators of the movie refused to have an advance screening for the movie AT ALL, This is yet another example of when we pleaded for years for them to make videogame and Superhero movies, now everything has changed and we are pleading for them to STOP ruining series or to at least make a solid effort in making videogame movies, you ready? THE ORIGINAL STREET FIGHTER MOVIE AS INCOHERENT AND NONCANON AS IT POSSIBLY IS? IS BETTER THEN THIS GARBAGE. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful