Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: April 11, 2008
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 87 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
62
Mixed:
19
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
RobertOct 10, 2008
I don't think the critics are right on this one. I thought it was a verry good movie and a damn good Keanu Reeves movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShandraL.Apr 29, 2008
Although there are lots of fight scenes, the plot is slow-moving and tedious. Hugh Laurie is a total disappointment and his wraith-like, inconsequential character is 2-dimensional and without any apparent reason for being in the film. The Although there are lots of fight scenes, the plot is slow-moving and tedious. Hugh Laurie is a total disappointment and his wraith-like, inconsequential character is 2-dimensional and without any apparent reason for being in the film. The only good thing about the film was the plethora of good-looking people - Keanu is still drool-alicious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
jorgeFeb 8, 2009
This movie is okay not the best action movie, but still has some awesome scenes,and it keep's you wondering what will happen next.Acting was okay and the plot was okay it's not worth to go see it in the theater maybe just rent it for $2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidS.Apr 16, 2008
Astounding dialogue, subtle characterization, pretty solid acting across the board, but - for a movie whose ending is clear pretty much from the get-go - it gets kind of rushed and incoherent at the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BoM.Apr 16, 2008
Finally another cop movie that delivers and is king and raises the bar in the world of police corruption, I can't believe no one else gets it, and sees how great this film is. It doesn't get any better then this, I have to put this Finally another cop movie that delivers and is king and raises the bar in the world of police corruption, I can't believe no one else gets it, and sees how great this film is. It doesn't get any better then this, I have to put this one in my pile of all time classic great dark cop films, and this is my new number one, among the greats like Training Day, Copland, Internal Affairs, Narc, LA Confidential, The Departed, Harsh Times, The Negotiator, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuniorApr 22, 2008
This was a surprisingly good movie considering who the lead actor and what type of "professional" reviews this movie received. I left the movie with a great experience and I was entertained the whole way through. Yes, at times it was very This was a surprisingly good movie considering who the lead actor and what type of "professional" reviews this movie received. I left the movie with a great experience and I was entertained the whole way through. Yes, at times it was very typical and some lines were weird but it didn't take much at all away from the movie. A must see for everyone because this is as serious and realistic as you get in a movie. If you don't catch this in the theaters, its one for your DVD collection. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricJun 20, 2008
This movie is really enjoyable. I can see why the critics panned it: Keanu is a wooden actor and the plot has been done before. The "surprises" aren't really surprises. But the tension in this film builds well, the action scenes are This movie is really enjoyable. I can see why the critics panned it: Keanu is a wooden actor and the plot has been done before. The "surprises" aren't really surprises. But the tension in this film builds well, the action scenes are solid and the pacing is great. I don't need to get all emotional over the characters in a police action thriller, I just want to enjoy it. For me, that's what this film comes down to, it's enjoyable to watch. Nothing super memorable, but it is fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeSJun 9, 2008
Very fun movie if you weigh two hundred and twenty five pounds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkK.Aug 26, 2008
Since James Ellroy takes the screenwriting duties it's to no surprise that the script's structure takes a similar setup to L.A Confindental, which means that Street Kings is a very authentic triller with plenty of plot twists to Since James Ellroy takes the screenwriting duties it's to no surprise that the script's structure takes a similar setup to L.A Confindental, which means that Street Kings is a very authentic triller with plenty of plot twists to keep you watching throughout putting a satisfied smile on your face at the end. The performances are mostly excellent with sharp dialogue that makes you feel the heat radiating from the conversations and fights. The only problem is Reeves, who brings in the same monotonous voice that we've heard before and thus seems to generate a lot of contrast with the other actors. He also looks as tough as a cardboard box. Still, this film is well worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottAApr 12, 2008
This was a badass movie if training day was badass this one just blows it away. There is action, suspense, mystery at every corner. I was really enjoyed watching this movie and the cast was awesome, come on Keanu Reeves ( Neo the chosen one) This was a badass movie if training day was badass this one just blows it away. There is action, suspense, mystery at every corner. I was really enjoyed watching this movie and the cast was awesome, come on Keanu Reeves ( Neo the chosen one) was badass in his role. Chris Evans was really good too. So far this is the best movie in theater, it's a must watch!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoyLoveApr 13, 2008
Initially, the story suggested an interesting plot which became somewhat difficult to follow, yet fell into the "star overcomes all" category. I actually dozed off several times and didn't miss a thing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 13, 2008
At the outset of "Street Kings", Detective Tom Ludlow (Keanu Reeves) walks into a Korean gang den and mows down the unarmed men in cold blood. His former partner, a black man, accuses him of being racist. Since the Asian nationals were At the outset of "Street Kings", Detective Tom Ludlow (Keanu Reeves) walks into a Korean gang den and mows down the unarmed men in cold blood. His former partner, a black man, accuses him of being racist. Since the Asian nationals were harborers of sex trade children, Tom's actions are rationalized as being just. The film itself, not just the detective's colleagues, protects the morally ambiguous cop. If the dead Koreans didn't imprison two minors in their compound, the audience would turn on Detective Ludlow. The men he shoots unlawfully needed to be more evil than himself. It's the difference between being an anti-hero like "Dirty Harry"(Clint Eastwood as Bill Callahan) and a dirty cop (Denzel Washington in "Training Day"). But here's the rub. Tom is a dirty cop. But in the context of the LAPD, he's not half-bad. Again, this a result of the film's agenda to suture the law officer's nihilism. To the film's credit, the suture isn't complete the second time around. After a case of friendly fire in a grocery store, Tom goes to the wife of the victim. "Street Kings" doesn't allow Ludlow to be completely redeemed, but will the audience pick up on this? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NicoApr 14, 2008
Entertaining enough, good twists and some intense moments...decent story about police corruption and street justice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JandraApr 18, 2008
An entertaining thrill ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisH.Apr 21, 2008
Great Ellroy adaptation. Vastly underrated, though bears some similarity to 1997's L.A. Confidential
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Aug 14, 2008
Well made but not very convincing. The film's style is very routine and the movie didn't really have anything new to offer. The acting is good, as well as the editing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMAug 25, 2008
It's a decent cop drama with enough twists to keep it interesting. The movie has a cold brutality to it, watching Tom Ludlow (Reeves) being used as a instrument of death for the sake of corruption is interesting to watch.....especially It's a decent cop drama with enough twists to keep it interesting. The movie has a cold brutality to it, watching Tom Ludlow (Reeves) being used as a instrument of death for the sake of corruption is interesting to watch.....especially as he slowly finds out the truth. Acting is decent all around and despite some cheesey dialogue here and there everything works out well. The shoot-outs are particular brutal and have a gritty realistic vibe to them, making it all the more intense. This film is definately worth a look.....one of the better " cop / crime dramas" to come around in a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackBSep 19, 2008
Easily the best cop movie out in the last few years, gritty yet slick and stylish. Keanu Reeves suits the role well and is the best thing I've seen him in in ages. Could have done with being another 10-15 minutes longer but overall very Easily the best cop movie out in the last few years, gritty yet slick and stylish. Keanu Reeves suits the role well and is the best thing I've seen him in in ages. Could have done with being another 10-15 minutes longer but overall very enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeN.Apr 11, 2008
Not a terrible movie, but not a terribly good movie either. Forest Whitaker was awesome, as usual. Keanu Reeves was his usual self, not that that
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobbyHillApr 12, 2008
Pretty legit. Lots of twists and turns. Good acting. Highly entertaining stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ElisaG.Apr 13, 2008
Great movie. The action is powerful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JS.Apr 15, 2008
A dark and gritty look at a rogue LAPD detective that is far more plausible than most give it credit for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TayW.Apr 19, 2008
The movie hits a serious issue of corruption within the law enforcement. Whitaker and Reeves did a wonderful performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnL.May 22, 2008
In my opinion, this is one of the best cop movies to come out in years. keanu reeves was the right guy to lead this flick and it was great to see Hugh Laurie take on another role, even if he did have several "House-ish" moments. even Chris In my opinion, this is one of the best cop movies to come out in years. keanu reeves was the right guy to lead this flick and it was great to see Hugh Laurie take on another role, even if he did have several "House-ish" moments. even Chris Evans (who i didn't like in F4) was well placed. yeah there were some 'whatever' moments but overall, it was a good cop movie and i thoroughly enjoyed it. my last comment is that they took the graphic violence seriously but not too far and that was also very appealing, considering the tone of the movie. i'm hoping for an extended, unrated cut on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoshB.Aug 19, 2008
Saw this at the cinema. Very good. Better then I expected especially from Keanu. He was very good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
moviefreak12Dec 15, 2010
great cop movie great plot and acting. the fighting scenes are well done and has some well placed plot twistes. street kings is one of the best movies of 2009
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
spadenxDec 5, 2011
I agree that its an underrated film but critics but its not that good. Solid acting and Reeves is a good lead for the film. However the script is really all over the place and it never really hits as it should have, In fact its actually a bitI agree that its an underrated film but critics but its not that good. Solid acting and Reeves is a good lead for the film. However the script is really all over the place and it never really hits as it should have, In fact its actually a bit confusing at times because you dont know where they are gonna go with it. Overall, It was a solid action flick but thats about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
darthstattoMar 14, 2013
A great cast wasted on a tired story and inevitable twist. The film starts out pretty well, but soon descends into cliche and formula. Still, worse ways to kill a couple of hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
morfilSep 3, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a sort of Keanu Reeves' comeback flick. After The Matrix trilogy ended, he was in a number of unsatisfactory, mediocre works, such as "Constantine", "The Lake House" and "Thumbsucker". This role is rather strange to him, playing a down-on-his-luck detective, a loose cannon who lives from day to day. And considering that, he does a good job. Only problem is that, aside from Forrest Whitaker, there aren't any other equally capable actors here and some are quite annoying as well. Chris Evans, of The Fantastic Four fame, tries hard but fails as the serious and dedicated sidekick det. Diskant. Of other notable appearances there is the rapper The Game, who is at least authentic in his part.

I was rather surprised by this film. I must say I didn't expect much from it, but it turned out to be a rather satisfactory film-noir thriller. Reeves might not look his part but he acts it. It is also flawed because of the way everyone is either good or bad, nobody is in between. Reeves' character at first seems to be in between but later turns out to be a typical hero. What else can I say? A little, pleasant surprise and a movie that probably salvaged Keanu's career, at least for the time being, after a string of misfired efforts.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
m0ngyJul 20, 2013
'Street Kings' is certainly a cut above most other gritty cop dramas, hardly surprising since it was written by James Elroy, the master of the genre. If you haven't read 'American Tabloid', go out and get it. I'd say it's genre defining, it's'Street Kings' is certainly a cut above most other gritty cop dramas, hardly surprising since it was written by James Elroy, the master of the genre. If you haven't read 'American Tabloid', go out and get it. I'd say it's genre defining, it's that good. Like many like all the big Hollywood stars, Keanu almost always plays himself, which serves him well playing edgy, emotionally spent Detective Tom Ludlow. Forest Whitaker is absolutely brilliant, probably the best role he's had since 'Ghost Dog'. He's fantastic to watch in the riveting, final scene, I think there's great chemistry between Whitaker and Reeves. I loved the snappy, 'street jive' type dialogue, and much of the story is quite believable, if somewhat convoluted, but never contrived or boring. Like another reviewer said, I think it sort of comes together a bit quick at the end, I would've enjoyed another 20 mins to flesh the story out a bit more. Hey, I could watch this stuff all day, it's that good. Yet again, the critics are clueless, 'Street Kings' is a really entertaining film, highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Jan 11, 2016
Decently acted Keanu Reeves led Cop-thriller based in LA and involving the corruption of the LAPD, which seems to be what alot of David Ayers work seems to revolve around. Dialogue and characterization is pretty good with good acting fromDecently acted Keanu Reeves led Cop-thriller based in LA and involving the corruption of the LAPD, which seems to be what alot of David Ayers work seems to revolve around. Dialogue and characterization is pretty good with good acting from most of the cast with Hugh Laurie taking the lead with his typical Gregory House-like charm. While the movie overall is good if you like hard-nosed, clear cut cop thrillers, the ending is rushed and a tad bit incoherent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews