User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 703 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 703

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Original. Superb acting (and yes, they're just kids!) - but this adult has nothing but admiration for the casting, pacing, direction, and whatever else goes with film making - yes, "super 8"! I'm not sure why some are trying to compare this with "ET"? This adult (ok old man), thinks this is more along the lines of "Goonies" - yes, that other classic, sprinkled with more thrill/suspense.Original. Superb acting (and yes, they're just kids!) - but this adult has nothing but admiration for the casting, pacing, direction, and whatever else goes with film making - yes, "super 8"! I'm not sure why some are trying to compare this with "ET"? This adult (ok old man), thinks this is more along the lines of "Goonies" - yes, that other classic, sprinkled with more thrill/suspense. Excellent mix of action and comedy - never cheesy nor "forced" - something most more "mature" films should learn how to do - I think we've all suffered through one or two lines in some movie that just try "too hard".

    Unsure what the "kid meter" for this film is. It should be great for the entire family - but again, this is not "ET" - it has more suspense and action in it and the underlying theme isn't as "wholesome".
    Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This film has more heart than any film could ever wish for. J.J. Abrams has proved yet again why he is the next Spielberg. You won't see another movie like this in a very long time, a film like this with a story so well structured should be praised forever.
  3. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Awesome!

    Best movie of the year!!!

    Truly a heart pounded sci-fi coming of age adventure!
    Why they don't make more movies like this???

    Must SEE!!!!
  4. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    150 Characters???
    Ok!
    Super 8 is a blast of a film! Imagine a combination of all the best ingredients that you love and them put them in a blender. Mix it up and you will have Super 8! It is clever, imaginative, loving, very well acted and the most important, it os an intelligent movie. It doesn't give you all the answers, you need to think a little bit. But must of all, the movie make you
    150 Characters???
    Ok!
    Super 8 is a blast of a film!
    Imagine a combination of all the best ingredients that you love and them put them in a blender. Mix it up and you will have Super 8!
    It is clever, imaginative, loving, very well acted and the most important, it os an intelligent movie. It doesn't give you all the answers, you need to think a little bit.
    But must of all, the movie make you feel like a kid again. For 2 hours you believe that you are in a more nicer world! This movies has a heart!!!
    Best movie of the year!!!
    Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    A simple perfect summer movie with a very interesting story. Suitable for all age groups go for it. The main thing is its theme like 70's retro classic movie. Simply superb.
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Super 8 was very awesome and one of the best summer blockbuster films of the year. Spielberg and Abrams work very perspective in th way that Steven Spielberg made other films that connect into alien invasion and the atmosphere of every terrestrial scenery at the same time. It has great acting, great scenes, great explosions, great chills, great people, great thrills, great music, and greatSuper 8 was very awesome and one of the best summer blockbuster films of the year. Spielberg and Abrams work very perspective in th way that Steven Spielberg made other films that connect into alien invasion and the atmosphere of every terrestrial scenery at the same time. It has great acting, great scenes, great explosions, great chills, great people, great thrills, great music, and great cinematography. That's what we expected to see that some other movies take time that it gets too overrated too much, but I can honestly say that for me was fantastic that it doesn't get too boredem to watch and happy to see it again. Well done for JJ Abram's film that brings a good idea and thanks to Spielberg to bring back some memories that we've seen his films that gets too exciting. Expand
  7. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    I went to see super 8 on it's release, and I have been waiting for this movie for months. May I say super 8 was worth the wait. It was the best movie I ever seen in years. I can't wait to see it again
  8. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Check out my video review here: http://youtu.be/Yrt82fDRCA0 With dazzling special effects and set design this is more then just a monster flick. It is the greatest monster flick ever! A picture perfect period piece and not too much alien this film will satisfy any audience member who watches it. It's and better, more advanced, twenty-first century telling of E.T. (With a little more frightCheck out my video review here: http://youtu.be/Yrt82fDRCA0 With dazzling special effects and set design this is more then just a monster flick. It is the greatest monster flick ever! A picture perfect period piece and not too much alien this film will satisfy any audience member who watches it. It's and better, more advanced, twenty-first century telling of E.T. (With a little more fright and a little less family fun) Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing movie! A big heart classic sci-fi monster thriller!
    Well, think Et meets Goonies meets Close Encounter meets Stand by me meets Jaws... As references, of course!
    And Abrams and Spielberg uses these references as the veins from this body, but the body have tremendous and unique heart of its own!
    Must see of the summer and many summers!
  10. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    I'm not sure how a person could dislike this film...or even not fall in love with it. Not only does it allude to the sci-fi films of the 80's, it reinvents the genre! JJ Abrams is a genius. He was when he wrote the score for Michael Bay's ONLY good film. (Armageddon) He is now that he's writing and directing his own movies. The music, the writing, the acting, the atmosphere, the cameraI'm not sure how a person could dislike this film...or even not fall in love with it. Not only does it allude to the sci-fi films of the 80's, it reinvents the genre! JJ Abrams is a genius. He was when he wrote the score for Michael Bay's ONLY good film. (Armageddon) He is now that he's writing and directing his own movies. The music, the writing, the acting, the atmosphere, the camera work, the special effects, the...I can't express how good this film is! It outshines every sci-fi movie I've seen in the past few years. It is so incredibly human that it's scary. Just when you think the film is wrapping up...it teaches you a lesson. I can't recommend it enough! It's something you and those around you can really sink into. Few movies are as memorable as Super 8. Expand
  11. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    I was very disappointed, Expected much more from Spielberg/Abrams. Lots of contrived suspense with very little pay-off. There is simply no emotional investment in the "character" at the end. If you need one character to TELL you how another character or creature thinks/feels ("when I touched it") it's because the script is poor and you didn't make the viewer care! Rent ET and save theI was very disappointed, Expected much more from Spielberg/Abrams. Lots of contrived suspense with very little pay-off. There is simply no emotional investment in the "character" at the end. If you need one character to TELL you how another character or creature thinks/feels ("when I touched it") it's because the script is poor and you didn't make the viewer care! Rent ET and save the money. At the very least, rent it later. Expand
  12. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Super 8 was probably my most anticipated movie of the summer, and it didn't dissapoint one bit. Super 8 is simply.....amazing. Like many people, I grew up with classic Spielberg movies, so having that nostalgia come back was a great feeling. JJ Abrams is one of the best directors out there right now. He does a phenomal job with the action and visuals, but knows to push those in the theSuper 8 was probably my most anticipated movie of the summer, and it didn't dissapoint one bit. Super 8 is simply.....amazing. Like many people, I grew up with classic Spielberg movies, so having that nostalgia come back was a great feeling. JJ Abrams is one of the best directors out there right now. He does a phenomal job with the action and visuals, but knows to push those in the the background so the characters, story, and emotion are the main focus. Surprisingly, the kids were my favorite part of the movie. They were great, funny, and did a great job with the emotional scenes. My favorites would have to be Joel Courtney and Elle Fanning. The suspense JJ Abrams creates, especially in the last 1/2 hour, is so intense to the point where I could've had a heart attack. Lastly, the characters are so well developed and the whole movie is very touching. So overall, Super 8 is my favorite movie of the year, so great, if you haven't, see it right now. Expand
  13. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie. It was emotional, it was funny, and over all it was just fun. I walked out of this theater with a revived sense of hope that movies can be as great as they were 25 years ago. Where Indiana Jones 4 fell short, Super 8 thrived. It combined modern special effects with the writing style of Steven Spielberg in his prime.
  14. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Like many people, I walked into the theater not really knowing what to expect, except I knew it would have something to do with an epic train crash. Well, let's just say the train crash wasn't the only epic thing in the movie. The young actors did a splendid job, the story is exciting, and there's never a dull moment. I don't know why people say this movie reminds them of E.T; I don'tLike many people, I walked into the theater not really knowing what to expect, except I knew it would have something to do with an epic train crash. Well, let's just say the train crash wasn't the only epic thing in the movie. The young actors did a splendid job, the story is exciting, and there's never a dull moment. I don't know why people say this movie reminds them of E.T; I don't recall any devouring of human flesh in that movie. It reminded me of a mix between Stand by Me and Close Encounters of the Third Kind. Here's a tip: be sure to sit through the credits. Expand
  15. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Sci-fi Alien flicks never really went out of style. But the grew into more of an action( End of the world) type genre. What super 8 does is steer away from that. Its an all around great film, the acting is on point, the FX are some of the best I've seen, the music etc.. Abrams took a big risk making the kids lead roles for a film like this. But the risk pulls off, the kids are superSci-fi Alien flicks never really went out of style. But the grew into more of an action( End of the world) type genre. What super 8 does is steer away from that. Its an all around great film, the acting is on point, the FX are some of the best I've seen, the music etc.. Abrams took a big risk making the kids lead roles for a film like this. But the risk pulls off, the kids are super talented and make you feel like you're watching a new modern day version of E.T. Bottom line if you can only watch one movie this summer, make it this. Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    This movie is great. From the storyline to the special effects its really one of the best. Its a non-stop thrill ride that never slows down, but is never too hectic.
  17. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This is one of only 3 movies that wasn't a total disaster, the other 2 being X-Men and Green Lantern. This is the most human. The child actors here do a better job than most seasoned adults. They bring a since of wonder, amazement and humor to a monster film. This movie is Goonies meets E.T. both are great films but now this will stand the test of time to show it is another classic. TheThis is one of only 3 movies that wasn't a total disaster, the other 2 being X-Men and Green Lantern. This is the most human. The child actors here do a better job than most seasoned adults. They bring a since of wonder, amazement and humor to a monster film. This movie is Goonies meets E.T. both are great films but now this will stand the test of time to show it is another classic. The adventure story is great and is visually fantastic but it is the human story of a boy who lost his mother that makes this movie worth watching. The thrills, and laughs never end, it is just fantastic. Expand
  18. BeK
    Aug 19, 2011
    10
    Well, Super 8. One of the best movies I've seen so far, and definitely the best one I've seen this year. Filled with a great cast of young actors, an impressive story-line and a lot of mystery, Super 8 manages to keep you at your seat from the beginning till the end. A masterpiece movie of our times, in my opinion, having all the resources necessary to making it a blockbuster. A little tooWell, Super 8. One of the best movies I've seen so far, and definitely the best one I've seen this year. Filled with a great cast of young actors, an impressive story-line and a lot of mystery, Super 8 manages to keep you at your seat from the beginning till the end. A masterpiece movie of our times, in my opinion, having all the resources necessary to making it a blockbuster. A little too young, the main characters in our story, but still, they their job just fine. Special effects, really show you that people did put in some good money as well in this movie. Not many flaws, and in general a movie worth seeing, at least twice. I definitely recommend it to all tastes and to people of all ages. Not as scary as when you read about it. See it, rate it, maybe love it, but definitely give it a shot cause in my opinion you won't regret it. Expand
  19. FC1
    Jun 11, 2011
    9
    A reviewer write "we want something wonderful, entertaining, fun, original, and skillful", but doesn't feel this movie provides any of these. My guess is that this movie will get its share of naysayers with similar misgivings and feelings of this movie, but I also think that perhaps these moviegoers may already have been predisposed to begin making comparisons and analogies before theyA reviewer write "we want something wonderful, entertaining, fun, original, and skillful", but doesn't feel this movie provides any of these. My guess is that this movie will get its share of naysayers with similar misgivings and feelings of this movie, but I also think that perhaps these moviegoers may already have been predisposed to begin making comparisons and analogies before they walked in to view the movie. Yes, Super 8 has elements seen in Spielberg movies and some of what you expect from Abrams. Surprise! They collaborated it. I'm glad that Super 8 advertising showed only "so much" because it helped to keep the "mystery", that I think drew many people in. The audience with which I saw Super 8 very clearly liked the movie; so did I. Why? In some part because of remembrances of movies past; but primarily because the acting was surprisingly (at least for me) much better than expected (I could literally feel the audience sucked in with the boys at Elle Fanning's rehearsal at the train station). there were plenty of unknowns to keep you guessing until they were slowly revealed (not always as expected), there was a warmth and caring for the characters that's not often seen in major action movies, and finally the resolution of the story was satisfying (which is often not the case when you find out it's a dream or the unknown entity or dilemma is a dog that's grown to 100 times its size). Yes there were elements seen in other movies, but they fit within the genre and have a reason for being there. Often, its not the introduction of something never seen that makes art original, it's the combination of its elements that does so. I think this movie will stay with us and be enjoyed as much as other productions by Spielberg and Abrams; maybe more. Loved the very end, BTW. Expand
  20. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    I loved Cloverfield. I went into this movie expecting about the same thing. I was surprised. This movie is quite a bit different than Cloverfiled. It has an emotional story and more themes than Cloverfield. This movie had the perfect mix of monster action/suspense and emotion. This movie has great action sequences and CGI. The monster is more of a character this time around with a bit ofI loved Cloverfield. I went into this movie expecting about the same thing. I was surprised. This movie is quite a bit different than Cloverfiled. It has an emotional story and more themes than Cloverfield. This movie had the perfect mix of monster action/suspense and emotion. This movie has great action sequences and CGI. The monster is more of a character this time around with a bit of humanity and emotion and back story. I thought this movie was great. Expand
  21. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    Really, Steven Spielberg, what were you thinking? This movie reminded me of a nightmare I had as a child. I was running from death and I would wake up in a cold sweat every time. To have these children running from death in the entire movie was a little much. And the train wreck. It wasn't just a train wreck. It was a colossal train wreck. That part I liked. But what I am angryReally, Steven Spielberg, what were you thinking? This movie reminded me of a nightmare I had as a child. I was running from death and I would wake up in a cold sweat every time. To have these children running from death in the entire movie was a little much. And the train wreck. It wasn't just a train wreck. It was a colossal train wreck. That part I liked. But what I am angry about is the last scene where tthe alien is gathering all the metal to reconstruct. To take the child's only remembrance of his mother. I thought that was extremely selfish of the alien. Yes all the microwaves, all the bikes, all the scrap metal, but no, not the necklace! Really! Expand
  22. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Two years ago, J.J. Abrams gave us the breathtaking film, Star Trek. Two years later, Abrams gives us the best original film in a long time. The acting in this film is brilliant, especially the kids! The story in this film is very simple and put together well. The visuals in this film were stunning and the direction this film went in was very well done. This is the best movie of 2011 thusTwo years ago, J.J. Abrams gave us the breathtaking film, Star Trek. Two years later, Abrams gives us the best original film in a long time. The acting in this film is brilliant, especially the kids! The story in this film is very simple and put together well. The visuals in this film were stunning and the direction this film went in was very well done. This is the best movie of 2011 thus far as of June 12th, 2011. Expand
  23. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    If you haven't seen Goonies, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, or any CG monster movie you will like this movie. If you have seen any of those you will know it is a 2nd rate retread of those movies; down it the characters, the editing, the lighting. What is so surprizing is that there is so little original in this movie. It was almost as if they needed another product to get out the doorIf you haven't seen Goonies, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, or any CG monster movie you will like this movie. If you have seen any of those you will know it is a 2nd rate retread of those movies; down it the characters, the editing, the lighting. What is so surprizing is that there is so little original in this movie. It was almost as if they needed another product to get out the door until the real movie they want to do is ready for production. There were times I seriously considered getting up and walking out because it became just too slow, draggy, and predictable. Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Not quite sure why everyone on here has to be so cynical. No one on here is a professional film critic, so lets lose the film school jargon and keep it simple.

    This is a fun movie. It has all the magic Steven Spielberg's old movies had. I honestly felt like I was 10 again, watching E.T., or the Goonies. Definitely worth the ten dollars I spent to see it.
  25. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An outstanding and nostalgic piece of art. This film surely is the perfect merging of emotional appeal, suspense, a great history and amazing action. Expand
  26. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Super 8 is exactly what you would want in a summer sci-fi action film. The casting and acting is top notch and the special effects are unbelievable! Without spoiling anything I will tell you that the plot is rich with many twists and turns while following a very believable yet fantastic story line. The early 80's were recreated so well in the towns and homes of a small Ohio town. YouSuper 8 is exactly what you would want in a summer sci-fi action film. The casting and acting is top notch and the special effects are unbelievable! Without spoiling anything I will tell you that the plot is rich with many twists and turns while following a very believable yet fantastic story line. The early 80's were recreated so well in the towns and homes of a small Ohio town. You really start to believe in the recreation of the time period which pulls you further into the story. Great story, acting, casting and special effects. What more could we ask for? This is what this movie genre has been been missing for some time now. GO SEE IT! Expand
  27. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    I love the pretentious punks who say this movie is trying to be like E.T. Similarities? Yes, I think the themes are similar, but this movie has it's own things about it that make it unique and completely different than everything else that is being made right now. It was very well written, shot, and directed. J.J. Abrams did a great job here. The casting was great, each child actor wasI love the pretentious punks who say this movie is trying to be like E.T. Similarities? Yes, I think the themes are similar, but this movie has it's own things about it that make it unique and completely different than everything else that is being made right now. It was very well written, shot, and directed. J.J. Abrams did a great job here. The casting was great, each child actor was charming in their own way. Yeah, it can appeal to a younger audience, but it also appeals to the older ones as well. Makes them reminisce their childhood. Not from the aspect of aliens and such, but the imagination that they once had as a child, and how things felt so simple. How they coped with a loss of a family member, or anything important to them. This movie is a metaphor and should be looked at that way. Although, if you don't feel like thinking, sit back, enjoy the story and the CGI. A great movie and definitely going to be a top 10 for summer movies this year. Expand
  28. Jun 11, 2011
    9
    Super 8 derails all the infantile movie-making of explosion artists and delivers a nostalgic return to the subtleties of cinema.

    In retrospect, itâ
  29. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    A fun mix of Sci-Fi and Drama, this movie, despite what it might seem, is completely original. It is an experience that is meant to be seen on the big screen.
  30. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    I was not sure going by the trailers, but the movie was great to watch. Brought me back in time, fast paced and original. I got to know the characters and the special effects were great! Worth seeing.
  31. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    As an avid fan of all Steven Speilberg movies, I rank this as one of my all time favorites. Really the movie nailed the style of the late 1900s and brought a unique view onto the world of children, reminescant of the book IT by Stephan King. The only thing I felt was missing from this superbly done, action packed, and expertly paced film is a incorporation of a bond between the monster andAs an avid fan of all Steven Speilberg movies, I rank this as one of my all time favorites. Really the movie nailed the style of the late 1900s and brought a unique view onto the world of children, reminescant of the book IT by Stephan King. The only thing I felt was missing from this superbly done, action packed, and expertly paced film is a incorporation of a bond between the monster and the children. I feel it was shown as to violent and wild and very little was shown of its intelligence. other than that this was a amazing film that I very much enjoyed. Expand
  32. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Great movie the music was perfect and fulfills the atmosphere and the visual affects are astounding....
    great character development and overall not a bad film.
  33. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Excellent . It seems that those that are givign it bad reviews may not have left the theatre before the credits were done. The whole story comes together in the end. I say no more.....
  34. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    "Yikes. This movie's kind of a mess. I was looking forward to it, and halfway through started to wonder why I was bored. There's very little actual suspense. Just a few loud scares. I appreciated the casting of the kids (particularly braces-firecrackers kid), and their early bantering scenes felt real. El Fanning's face will melt your adolescent heart. Certain moments gave me small chills,"Yikes. This movie's kind of a mess. I was looking forward to it, and halfway through started to wonder why I was bored. There's very little actual suspense. Just a few loud scares. I appreciated the casting of the kids (particularly braces-firecrackers kid), and their early bantering scenes felt real. El Fanning's face will melt your adolescent heart. Certain moments gave me small chills, but mostly just hinted at the more fully realized movie that this could have been. Kyle Chandler is wasted on an underdeveloped father figure. The beautifully-shot final moment involving the locket would have been more resonant if the story / characters had actually built towards it - as in the the father/son actually learn to understand each other and come to terms with the mother's passing. Instead, Chandler's character just says "I got you!" at the end, semi-randomly. The only other Abrams vehicle I've seen was Star Trek two summers ago - and that was smart, slick, breezy fun compared to this. I just can't fathom that Spielberg was standing around on set or watching an early cut thinking, "Oh yeah. This is great. It's all working." P.S. - only laugh line: "I could get back into disco."" Expand
  35. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    This movie is all character development. by the end of the film you are so attached to the characters you don't want the movie to end. Best summer blockbuster so far
  36. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    This movie was perfect till the end. A glowing front story accompanied by a compelling back story. It was well acted, well filmed, well casted, and the script was flawless. It is 100% worth seeing, and expect a solid conclusion, even if it is lacking.
  37. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    If you ever watched a film as a child and it filled you with wonder and amazement then this film is for you. It tips it's hat to so many universally loved films while still carving out it's own unique identity and if you have a soul you will be left with the feeling that you have just watched something great.
  38. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Super 8 is a full movie. This film develops themes about family, friends, besides being funny and entertaining. An excellent story and stunning special effects. Simply the best movie of the summer.
  39. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    There are moments of genius, spectacle and visually stunning set pieces that deserve nothing but admiration for the scope and vision of J.J. Abrams in his highly secretive 'Super 8', a film that has flashes of of the science fiction favourites we came to love, E.T. being the one that comes to mind. Its a homage of sorts that messes with the things that go bump in the night scenario, butThere are moments of genius, spectacle and visually stunning set pieces that deserve nothing but admiration for the scope and vision of J.J. Abrams in his highly secretive 'Super 8', a film that has flashes of of the science fiction favourites we came to love, E.T. being the one that comes to mind. Its a homage of sorts that messes with the things that go bump in the night scenario, but adds in a pack of excellent performances from a child cast that push the film to be character-driven piece, where the actors make the film. Joel Courtney makes a commanding debut as the young kid Joel, who helps his friends film near a train station, where they witness a massive train crash which isn't everything it seems to be.
    As the rest of their town suffer the repercussions of this irregular crash, Joel and his friends wonder what exactly happened and why the strange anomalies that occur afterwards are in place. From start to finish its clear the eye that Abrams has for detail and awe, his nostalgic bows to the Spielberg era of science-fiction aren't subtle, with various nods here and their to plot devices used in the past by Spielberg, such similarities that lead to an ending which feels very forced and typical to suit those who remember those films of the past, while there is emotional depth to the final moments, it just happened too quickly.
    The redeeming feature of the extra-terrestrial adventure is the "precious cargo" itself, something we rarely see throughout the film, but we have the feeling it is there, through clever uses of editing and the panic on its unfortunate victims. The train mentioned earlier is one of the best highlights and most impressive feats of the film, with an added dose of miraculous explosions to pay homage to the films of yesteryear. But these feats couldn't be truly accomplished with the impressive turns of the relatively young cast, who show true quality and bring real depth and charisma to their performances, much like The Goonies, they have their own traits and personalities that contribute towards their group.
    A masterful piece of filmmaking that takes off running but ultimately begins to unravel as the closing moments are rushed and forced to be accepted, but excellent performances and some stunning visuals make Super 8 and unmissable and nostalgic trip.
    Expand
  40. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    Full of wonder, excitement, feeling, tension, first love, doing the right thing, opposing our parents and everything that goes with the imagination we had as children. It's great to see that some adults still have it and can share it with us. Thanks team!
  41. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Super 8 defined a generation, just like the Goonies did back in the 1980's. J.J. Abrams' vision of childhood dreams and growing up, along with the sci-fi touch from Steven Spielberg, made this movie what it was. The acting was good for their first film, the directing was incredible, and the story was touching. If you are looking for a movie with laughs, tears, action, and suspense, welcomeSuper 8 defined a generation, just like the Goonies did back in the 1980's. J.J. Abrams' vision of childhood dreams and growing up, along with the sci-fi touch from Steven Spielberg, made this movie what it was. The acting was good for their first film, the directing was incredible, and the story was touching. If you are looking for a movie with laughs, tears, action, and suspense, welcome to Super 8 Expand
  42. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Super 8 is brilliant, it's just so good! How could anyone not like it, it's got a spectacular, interesting and thought out well plot, good acting, good character building, cool and different aliens and really exciting and tense action sequences. Why have so many people given this movie a five or lower, I just don't get it. It's very original and it's very clever and well made. I trulySuper 8 is brilliant, it's just so good! How could anyone not like it, it's got a spectacular, interesting and thought out well plot, good acting, good character building, cool and different aliens and really exciting and tense action sequences. Why have so many people given this movie a five or lower, I just don't get it. It's very original and it's very clever and well made. I truly recommend this film to you if you haven't seen it already. I had a choice out of getting transformers: dark of the moon on DVD or this, and I chose this, what a wise choice I made. Expand
  43. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    The best movie Steven Spielberg has made since "Jurassic Park". Super 8 was an amazing adventure with a revolutionary plot, great action, and some really good characters, even if they are children. Super 8 was a great adventure, like "ET" mixed with "Alien".
  44. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Fantastic movie following a group of kids making a movie that gets interrupted when a train crashes in their town carrying some rather suspicious cargo. The young talented cast are all great but its the creative idea and two brilliant minds (Abrams & Spielberg) put together that make this an amazing film. The train crash scene alone is just spectacular but the final few scenes are alsoFantastic movie following a group of kids making a movie that gets interrupted when a train crashes in their town carrying some rather suspicious cargo. The young talented cast are all great but its the creative idea and two brilliant minds (Abrams & Spielberg) put together that make this an amazing film. The train crash scene alone is just spectacular but the final few scenes are also just amazing. Overall a stand-out film from 2011 and one of my favourites for this genre. Expand
  45. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    I loved everything about this movie. Great characters, great story, great visuals. And I know it sounds corny, but it really did remind me of the first time I watched ET when I was a kid. Definitely don't miss this one.
  46. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    Well-cast, well-written, fast-paced, well-directed, exciting, fun, believably unbelievable. A great effort, well worth a $9 ticket. The Air Force 'bad guys' get their come-uppance, fathers become closer to their children, young heroes discover their strengths. What's not to like?
  47. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Put Goonies, Cloverfield, and E.T. in a blender, mix gently, and out pops Super 8. There's so much magic going on in this film that even an IMAX screen could barely contain all the action. I just loved the nostalgia that coats so many frames of Super 8. If you love movies, you will at least like this one. If you are expecting a sci-fi extravaganza, that's not the point here. This onePut Goonies, Cloverfield, and E.T. in a blender, mix gently, and out pops Super 8. There's so much magic going on in this film that even an IMAX screen could barely contain all the action. I just loved the nostalgia that coats so many frames of Super 8. If you love movies, you will at least like this one. If you are expecting a sci-fi extravaganza, that's not the point here. This one is all about youth and adventure. Stick around for the closing credits. I hope you put Super 8 high up on your summer viewing list. A full price evening admission wouldn't even deter me from seeing this one. Highly recommended! Expand
  48. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This is a really excellent film that challenges the true worth of Star-Power acting... You don't need Brad Pitt and Natalie Portman... just get yourself some lesser known talent with good acting skill, and surround it with a great story and dialogue. I think the real key to making a great movie intended to thrill is doing as LITTLE explaining as possible. Moviegoers are smart (well, I am),This is a really excellent film that challenges the true worth of Star-Power acting... You don't need Brad Pitt and Natalie Portman... just get yourself some lesser known talent with good acting skill, and surround it with a great story and dialogue. I think the real key to making a great movie intended to thrill is doing as LITTLE explaining as possible. Moviegoers are smart (well, I am), and don't need to have every little detail explained to them. Movies that do this take you totally out of the moment, and often commit cinematic suicide because of it. Super 8 does an excellent job of letting the characters and the story do the explaining, while keeping the hints and revelations at a clever minimum. It keeps the movie exciting and emotionally gripping at the same time.

    Also, I don't know how Spielberg and Abrams find these kids, but they're all GREAT. They make the movie indeed. Also, a credit to the film editors on this one, whom often get overlooked, but undoubtedly contribute to this film's exceptional timing and structure.

    Like many, I wasn't partictularly interested in the film when I first saw the previews, but I'm glad I went and saw it. You will too.
    Expand
  49. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    The special effects in this movie were spectacular. The train wreck was amazing. The acting by the kids was very good. If you're looking for plausibility, this movie might not be for you. But if you're looking for a fun, good time at the movies, this movie certainly worked for me. It also had one scene where I almost jumped out of my seat! I won't spoil the scene but I wasn'tThe special effects in this movie were spectacular. The train wreck was amazing. The acting by the kids was very good. If you're looking for plausibility, this movie might not be for you. But if you're looking for a fun, good time at the movies, this movie certainly worked for me. It also had one scene where I almost jumped out of my seat! I won't spoil the scene but I wasn't expecting it and it definitely was the scariest moment I've had at a movie in a long time. This will be a blu-ray purchase when it comes out. The sounds and effects are spectacular. Great job by all involved. Expand
  50. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    An excellent, old school piece of film making from the director of Star Trek. Reminiscent of the Goonies in parts, with a sprinkling of horror and violence. Spot on special effects, believable characters, and a quite funny in parts. My only gripe was the occasional lashing of ultra sentimentality that seem to plague most of the films Spielberg is involved in. Almost snapped by heartAn excellent, old school piece of film making from the director of Star Trek. Reminiscent of the Goonies in parts, with a sprinkling of horror and violence. Spot on special effects, believable characters, and a quite funny in parts. My only gripe was the occasional lashing of ultra sentimentality that seem to plague most of the films Spielberg is involved in. Almost snapped by heart strings once or twice, ruining the experience, But on the whole - brilliant. Expand
  51. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    This is a sweet, entertaining, enjoyable movie. Plenty of action but also a good story line and enough development of the characters to make you interested in them. The young actors did a great job, and so did the adult actors. There were a couple of glitches that I caught in the action sequences but nothing that looked sloppy and ruined the movie. All in all, very good.
  52. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    After watching this movie I can describe it in one word and that word is masterpiece, I was blown away, it's emotional, intense, touching, funny, sweet, and a kinda scary at times, the characters are all very well done and thought out, and the writing is pure genius, I do have one or two complaints but they all seem extremely small in comparison to the overall movie, and it is 100%After watching this movie I can describe it in one word and that word is masterpiece, I was blown away, it's emotional, intense, touching, funny, sweet, and a kinda scary at times, the characters are all very well done and thought out, and the writing is pure genius, I do have one or two complaints but they all seem extremely small in comparison to the overall movie, and it is 100% deserving of a perfect 10, it's very rare that a movie like this one comes out, do yourself a favor and watch it as soon as possible you wont be disappointed. Expand
  53. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Much better than I expected. The kid actors are the film's strongest aspect by far. They actually act like real kids would in the situation and are great characters. The first half of the movie was great, but twords the end extremely unnecessary and out of place action sequences were just randomly thrown in essentially resulting in literally everything either being blown-up or caught onMuch better than I expected. The kid actors are the film's strongest aspect by far. They actually act like real kids would in the situation and are great characters. The first half of the movie was great, but twords the end extremely unnecessary and out of place action sequences were just randomly thrown in essentially resulting in literally everything either being blown-up or caught on fire. The movie would have been so much better had the monster plot never been thrown in in the first place. Collapse
  54. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    Fantastic film. Has everything for everyone. Humor, Thrills, Family, etc. The characters are relatable and full of life. It is not too concentrated with any film elements. An almost perfect film.
  55. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    The most interesting and exciting movie of the year. Super 8 deserves five star rating. Why? Because it's impressive, thrills, emotional, sweet, and scary.
  56. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    Very well thought movie, nicely directed and a story that has Spielberg all over it. It is a Sy-Fi movie but with the spirit of the Five, therefore an adventure. Most important, it is not exaggerated or to much Americanized. Excellent acting by all kids. It is a very fine movie.
  57. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    The kids are exactly that- kids. They don't try to be more than they are, and they don't come off as too immature to understand what's going on around them. Abrams and Spielberg did a great job here. There are several genuine shocks in the film, balanced perfectly with the typical wit/passive-aggressive taunting kids thrust at each other. Charming, well-acted. A fantastic little movie.
  58. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Minor Spoilers!

    Super 8 is about a group of friends who are shooting a movie about zombies for a film festival. They call on a really cute girl to help them with a character. While shooting, they witness a train derailment. Then really weird things start to happen. (I'm not doing it justice) This film is very entertaining, and there is a lot of character development going on. You really
    Minor Spoilers!

    Super 8 is about a group of friends who are shooting a movie about zombies for a film festival. They call on a really cute girl to help them with a character. While shooting, they witness a train derailment. Then really weird things start to happen. (I'm not doing it justice) This film is very entertaining, and there is a lot of character development going on. You really learn how this group of friends act and what their personalities are. There are a number of funny squabbles in the background, and are really entertaining. The storyline is sound, though not an award winner, but the script is very well done. This movie seems like it will give you nightmares, but if you wait ot out until the end, you'll be good. If you can't wait it out, don't watch it. I must say, you simply have to see this.
    Expand
  59. Jun 25, 2011
    9
    A cinematic masterpiece that pays brilliant homage to Spielberg, while keeping the audience entertained with special effects, suspense, and awkward adolescent love. A great feature by all means.
  60. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    Superb. I was a little skeptical because it looked like a typical summer blockbuster and typical JJ Abrams movie. Since cloverfield literally bored me to sleep, I really didn't care to see this movie, even if it did advertise itself to be something more than just a popcorn flick. But this movie is completely character based. Every scene and line of dialogue is there to serve theSuperb. I was a little skeptical because it looked like a typical summer blockbuster and typical JJ Abrams movie. Since cloverfield literally bored me to sleep, I really didn't care to see this movie, even if it did advertise itself to be something more than just a popcorn flick. But this movie is completely character based. Every scene and line of dialogue is there to serve the characters. The monster just seemed like a subplot that was happening in the background and sometimes interfered with the main story. The child acting was spotty at times but strong from the two main kids. Great balance and pacing, it seemed like all the elements of this movie just came together perfectly. I feel like this movie transcended the very distinct line that separates blockbusters from art. Expand
  61. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    Are you bored and looking for a good movie this summer? Then pay for tickets for Super 8, an amazing movie that seems like a semi-sequel to E.T. The characters are memorable, and the special effects and acting are top-notch.
  62. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Brilliant. That's all I would write if I was allowed but thats to short.The movie is great, the actors are great( especially Elle Fanning).Everything about this movie I liked. That should be enough "characters" to submit this review.
  63. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This film was almost picture perfect in my opinion. The acting was veryyyyy good throughout the entire movie, especially by newcomer Joel Courtney who plays a boy named Joe Lamb who tries to get over the trauma of losing his mom and repair the relationship with his father. Taking us through an alien attack and mass destruction of the town along the way. It was pretty much like E.T. but aThis film was almost picture perfect in my opinion. The acting was veryyyyy good throughout the entire movie, especially by newcomer Joel Courtney who plays a boy named Joe Lamb who tries to get over the trauma of losing his mom and repair the relationship with his father. Taking us through an alien attack and mass destruction of the town along the way. It was pretty much like E.T. but a more adult like version. Their was comedy, their was drama, and their was action, its had all three, and it did all three very well. My only compaint about this film is the train crash. No way in hell would a pickup truck cause that much damage to a train. At the speed the train was going it would slice right through the truck like a knife with butter, and the guy driving the pickup truck, he survived? How is that possible at all, even in science fiction/ fantasy, its just not possible. Thats the only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10. Other than the high unrealism of the train crash, this movie was amazing, great acting, amazing action, and overall super 8 is a superb film. Expand
  64. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. I went into this film not expecting much, not very many good movies have come out recently, and this movie is great. It reminds me of the classic movies from my child hood.
  65. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Great homage to the kids-centric Spielberg films of the late 70s/80s. It's like Goonies, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, ET, and Gremlins all rolled into one great movie. The focus here is on the characters reactions to supernatural mysteries that are going on in their town. The latter half of the film is very reminiscent of the end of ET. Overall, I would highly recommend a viewGreat homage to the kids-centric Spielberg films of the late 70s/80s. It's like Goonies, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, ET, and Gremlins all rolled into one great movie. The focus here is on the characters reactions to supernatural mysteries that are going on in their town. The latter half of the film is very reminiscent of the end of ET. Overall, I would highly recommend a view to anyone familiar with those other films I mentioned: it was definitely be a nostalgia trip. Expand
  66. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Spielberg + JJ = Wonderful entertainment. This movie had laughs, scares, and some fun action. It wasn't quite highbrow entertainment, but Super 8 just oozes fun. If you are in the market for a summer movie that doesn't involve super heroes you have no excuse for not seeing this movie.
  67. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Hi Breyer,jgjgrsgt bsfd dsbf fbsd dbfd. Dfbd gdbx bfghnc nch chng hvng nghv nhgv nigh nhvg vhg. Hbv bh v vh g vg h Dth fd hg ngdf gfn dgfnf cgnvhcn hen cnv hcvnc h nvhcfn ghgfhnnhfgnghf ngh ffh gnfn ghfh gn fhgn nhgf.
  68. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    A rare summer action film that places characters above CGI and emotion above cheap thrills.

    Yes, it is a monster movie, but it's a monster movie with a human heart. There is a lot of action, some truly extraordinary explosions and the obligatory monster lurking mostly just off-frame, but the true center of this film lies with the young protagonist and his small group of awkwardly
    A rare summer action film that places characters above CGI and emotion above cheap thrills.

    Yes, it is a monster movie, but it's a monster movie with a human heart. There is a lot of action, some truly extraordinary explosions and the obligatory monster lurking mostly just off-frame, but the true center of this film lies with the young protagonist and his small group of awkwardly adolescent friends. They're making a movie (a zombie movie-- the parallels between this movie-within-a-movie and the one they are unknowingly starring in are obvious) and it's an endeavor which they never treat with anything but the utmost seriousness. They obsess and argue and trade insults that sound authentically middle-school.

    Super 8 would never work without the performances by these young actors and, fortunately, they deal out it in spades. Joel Courtney plays the lead with wide, expressive eyes and shy strength. Elle Fanning is the lone girl amongst the bickering boys and she imbues her character with both luminous loveliness and surprising depth. Also great is Riley Griffiths as the intense and forceful budding filmmaker and Ryan Lee as a scene-stealing, brace-faced pyromaniac.
    They are all out filming one night when they witnessâ
    Expand
  69. Jun 20, 2011
    9
    This movie is amazing, period. A tribute to the adventure movies like Indy and The Goonies, is really fun and the effects are good. The storyline is well written and the kids are real characters, very enjoyable.
  70. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    nice little film this and was pretty much a typical affair from the producer that brought us Cloverfield. It reeks of a bad boy ET towards the later part but for a summer movie its a great piece of entertainment that will try and succeed in making you jump on several occasions. Its just a shame that it gets a little OTT towards the end but overall its defiantly worth a watch and discussionnice little film this and was pretty much a typical affair from the producer that brought us Cloverfield. It reeks of a bad boy ET towards the later part but for a summer movie its a great piece of entertainment that will try and succeed in making you jump on several occasions. Its just a shame that it gets a little OTT towards the end but overall its defiantly worth a watch and discussion afterwards. The effects btw are very nicely put together and the cold war vibe present throughout is great at drawing atmosphere out of what is a rather small setting. Expand
  71. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    Excellent movie. Different than the usual sci-fi fare. Character driven, authentic and the coming of age puppy love story is charming. Worth the price of admission which is hard to say about most movies these days.
  72. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Engaging, entertaining, with well-executed comic relief- this movie was just a fun ride through a child's perspective of horrible events. Decent acting, intense special effects, and effective script-writing.
  73. Jul 3, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie. The children played their roles as well as any veteran actor. Good storyline. The suspense builds quickly and keeps your attention, I was never bored. Abrams and Spielberg have done well, a good collaboration. I had read some bad reviews but there were more good than bad, so I took a chance. It's a movie that I would see again. Excellent acting and plenty of action.I loved this movie. The children played their roles as well as any veteran actor. Good storyline. The suspense builds quickly and keeps your attention, I was never bored. Abrams and Spielberg have done well, a good collaboration. I had read some bad reviews but there were more good than bad, so I took a chance. It's a movie that I would see again. Excellent acting and plenty of action. What's not to like? If you like sci fi and action, this is your film. Expand
  74. Jul 13, 2011
    9
    Everything about this movie was delightful. The young kid actors are really great and the way the movie unfolds is really engaging. There is a sense of wonder in the narrative and also great emotional depth in our protagonist. His sense of loss and journey to move on at the end really seals the film in a satisfying way. J.J Abrams knows how to tell a story with great care and affection forEverything about this movie was delightful. The young kid actors are really great and the way the movie unfolds is really engaging. There is a sense of wonder in the narrative and also great emotional depth in our protagonist. His sense of loss and journey to move on at the end really seals the film in a satisfying way. J.J Abrams knows how to tell a story with great care and affection for the characters. This film is more than just a nostalgic adventure of the past but a modern classic. Expand
  75. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Saw this in the theatre, and was pleasantly surprised. Having heard from friends that it would be a waste of money, that it was slow etc, I found an intriguing, exciting story with real characters who actually have feelings. In the usual action movie people are dying left and right without nobody being the least upset, the hero just throwing one-liners left and right. Loved the dialogue,Saw this in the theatre, and was pleasantly surprised. Having heard from friends that it would be a waste of money, that it was slow etc, I found an intriguing, exciting story with real characters who actually have feelings. In the usual action movie people are dying left and right without nobody being the least upset, the hero just throwing one-liners left and right. Loved the dialogue, funny and witty and the fact that the fat guy actually was portrayed as a real person with real feelings and intelligence. Great that we don't get to see the alien until late in the movie. First I was afraid it was just a huge spider, but thankfully it turned out to be a little more elaborate than that. My favourite characters were those of Elle Fanning and Ron Eldard. But all around a great performance. And the end credits were a laugh too! Expand
  76. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    great movie, some explicit lang. other than that it's a classic. late 70's early 80's mystery, what is it.the fanning girl and the sheriff's boy did a great job chubby controling kids was "mint" I thought the tone of the show was really authentic. the end was a little anti climactic. they could've explained a little more about mysterious cubes. 2 fathers could've had a little more to theirgreat movie, some explicit lang. other than that it's a classic. late 70's early 80's mystery, what is it.the fanning girl and the sheriff's boy did a great job chubby controling kids was "mint" I thought the tone of the show was really authentic. the end was a little anti climactic. they could've explained a little more about mysterious cubes. 2 fathers could've had a little more to their conclusion also. Expand
  77. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Super 8 was a surprisingly delightful movie. Judging by the teasers I was really not interested in it at all but with names like Steven Spielberg and J.J. Abrams being branded on every trailer and poster I simply had to give it a shot. And I was really glad I did because it was very very good. It was really a tribute to the movies of the late 20th century wasn't it? It had all the elements of Spielberg's classic E.T. with a close group of friends on bicycles riding about town shooting scenes for a movie with "production value", adults who seem to be one step behind the kids on the whole mystery, the government intervention and of course an extraterrestrial being "trying to go home". The special effects were great, especially the train crash. Very breathtaking stuff. But even with all the amazing effects and all the action going around, we never really forget the emotional side of it all, Abrams never let's the action upstage the human aspect of the story. Joe who recently lost his mother to a violent tragedy lives with his grief-stricken, depressed and distant father begins to bond with Alice in an 8mm film production of zombies, she herself has father issues. Their relationship reminds me a bit of Abby and Owen in Let Me In united by their own little tragedies, finding solace in each other. Elle Fanning and Joel Courtney play their roles exceptionally well, amazing since it's their first time in a major movie. It was really refreshing to finally watch a movie which was not rushed through production (yeah I'm looking at you X-Men), very carefully thought out and which really took it's own time to tell the story that it wants to tell. I wasn't born in the 60s or 70s but watching Super 8 made me feel like I was in that period of time of filmmaking, it felt very authentic. The closing credits was awesome. Expand
  78. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Super 8 was a great combination of comedy, drama, sci-fi, suspense, and action. Most of this movie kept me on the edge of my seat. However some parts where just messed up. If you love suspense , drama and sci-fi
  79. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    This movie was alot of fun! if youve seen E.T, The Sandlot, and aliens. Just MIX them all together and you get SUPER 8 a witty, fun movie that has its share of action! this movie made me feel like i was in the 80's. it took me back and it was so AMAZING! i loved it. the cast, the direction, the story, it was a bit cheesy towards the end. but still really great MOVIE! and i cant wait tillThis movie was alot of fun! if youve seen E.T, The Sandlot, and aliens. Just MIX them all together and you get SUPER 8 a witty, fun movie that has its share of action! this movie made me feel like i was in the 80's. it took me back and it was so AMAZING! i loved it. the cast, the direction, the story, it was a bit cheesy towards the end. but still really great MOVIE! and i cant wait till it comes out on blu-ray. Expand
  80. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    L'un des grands maîtres du blockbuster américain, J.J Abrams (Mission : Impossible 3 et Star Trek), nous livre son film personnel, sous la houlette du géant Steven Spielberg. A se demander si ce n'est pas ce dernier qui a réalisé Super 8, tant on ressent la patte du réalisateur. Et pourtant, ce blockbuster estL'un des grands maîtres du blockbuster américain, J.J Abrams (Mission : Impossible 3 et Star Trek), nous livre son film personnel, sous la houlette du géant Steven Spielberg. A se demander si ce n'est pas ce dernier qui a réalisé Super 8, tant on ressent la patte du réalisateur. Et pourtant, ce blockbuster est bien l'oeuvre de Abrams, jonchée de références de son mentor (E.T. l'Extra-Terrestre, Les Goonies, Rencontres du Troisième Types...). Et bien que le scénario se base sur une histoire de monstre, c'est pour mettre en scène des personnages intelligemment travaillés et interprétés. En gros, Abrams nous livre son enfance et son amour pour le cinéma et les seventies. Quelques défaillances sont à notées (la scène du train qui déraille est vraiment démesurée) mais devant ce film à la bonne mise en scène et aux effets visuels de toute beauté, on ne peut que crier "SUPER". Expand
  81. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Director J.J. Abrams and Producer Steven Spielberg team up to make "Super 8", a classic alien in a southern and middle of nowhere town movie. And the fact that the main characters are a group of kids who want to make a short film makes it even better. Some parts, like the little kid who keeps saying "mint", may get a little irritating, but that shouldn't detract from the overallDirector J.J. Abrams and Producer Steven Spielberg team up to make "Super 8", a classic alien in a southern and middle of nowhere town movie. And the fact that the main characters are a group of kids who want to make a short film makes it even better. Some parts, like the little kid who keeps saying "mint", may get a little irritating, but that shouldn't detract from the overall outstanding quality of the movie. Expand
  82. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    Never really had high expectations with Super 8. Ever since I saw the trailer I have almost decided not to watch it thinking that it would just be another blockbuster and quality-deficient. However, I saw the movie this morning and realized how bad my early impressions about it were. The movie had something to offer that I nearly missed. The sound, the visual effects, the story, and ofNever really had high expectations with Super 8. Ever since I saw the trailer I have almost decided not to watch it thinking that it would just be another blockbuster and quality-deficient. However, I saw the movie this morning and realized how bad my early impressions about it were. The movie had something to offer that I nearly missed. The sound, the visual effects, the story, and of course; the kids! They were just amazing! Must see for kids and kids at heart. Had a Good Time!

    movienotesbook.blogspot.com
    Expand
  83. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Super 8 reminds us all of the great blockbusters years ago and sadly the bad ones also and it does take a lot of ideas from E.T. Super 8 assembles a very talented young cast and offers thrills, adventure, and just dazzling visual effects. I give this movie 87%.
  84. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    A wonderful trip back in time to a time when movies had some heart and soul and were more about the characters than the special effects and spectacle. It makes me sad that most of the negative comments below seem to be from people upset that it wasnt another Transformers-esque CGI fest with square jawed marines taking on giant monsters. Unfortunately I guess that is exactly the reasonA wonderful trip back in time to a time when movies had some heart and soul and were more about the characters than the special effects and spectacle. It makes me sad that most of the negative comments below seem to be from people upset that it wasnt another Transformers-esque CGI fest with square jawed marines taking on giant monsters. Unfortunately I guess that is exactly the reason movies like this arent made any more. But thank you JJ, for a modern Amblin classic. Expand
  85. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    Don't be fooled by an almost all kid cast. this movie is not an ordinary monster film. with its terrific directing and visuals you sat in your seat wondering what is this thing. that is what i want from movies. unpredictable moments and Super 8 delievered on exactly that.
  86. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    This is pure entertainment. It was captivating and mysterious. It was fun and adventurous. The acting by the young cast was fantastic and the directing style and script reminded me of what great movies can really achieve.
  87. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    A glorious film, excellently acted and with a intreguing story. The train crash is probably the most spectacular explosion in cinema history. Let down slightly by it's ending, but I heartily recomend this as Sci-Fi classic.
  88. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    I did not know much about this movie going in, but loved it! It`s like Gonnies but different things going on. I love the characters and story. It was a fun movie to watch!
  89. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    "Super 8" is a 2011 film directed by J.J. Abrams and starring Joel Courtney and Elle Fanning. The film follows the story of a group of kids who witness a train crash in the summer of 1979 and investigate the paranormal events of the that it has on this town. Well to be blatantly and frankly honest - I observed almost no problems in this movie whatsoever. The problems that I did observe are"Super 8" is a 2011 film directed by J.J. Abrams and starring Joel Courtney and Elle Fanning. The film follows the story of a group of kids who witness a train crash in the summer of 1979 and investigate the paranormal events of the that it has on this town. Well to be blatantly and frankly honest - I observed almost no problems in this movie whatsoever. The problems that I did observe are so trivial and insignificant that I'm not even going to waste my energy going over them. When I saw previews for this film, I saw that the prominent characters in it were mostly middle schoolers. Now, movies like this can go either one of two ways for me. One - the kids in this movie are so obnoxious as crap I don't even want to watch anymore. Two - the kids in this movie are portrayed in an enjoyable and original manner, that I can find myself relating to wholeheartedly. As you may have guessed the kids in "Super 8" are portrayed in the latter form. I found every child in this movie to be either hilarious or almost hauntingly familiar. In doing this, Abrams excels at portraying all of the interesting feelings and thoughts that go along with being a kid. The set pieces in this film are unbelievably breathtaking. I mean, the train crash in this movie is so astonishing, words can't even do it justice. The soundtrack by Michael Giacchino is incredibly diverse in emotions - it's scary, breathtaking, and thrilling all at once. The film in and of itself is a rollercoaster of emotions too. There were parts in this film where I couldn't stop laughing. Then there were parts where tension drew out like a blade. There were scenes that pulled at my heartstrings. I honestly can't say that for many of the films that have come out this year. All in all, I felt that "Super 8" was an almost relentlessly entertaining thrill ride. I can now see why Steven Spielberg wanted to be attached to this superbly thought out project. Expand
  90. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    A great sci-fi film mixed with a great coming of age adventure. With J.J. Abrams and Steven Spielberg together you should expect a film with adventure, amazement, and strong emotion and that is exactly what we get.
  91. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Really good movie! Great story, action, and characters. The one thing I didn't like was the over use of language, really shouldn't have been that much, other than that nothing else was bad. 9 out of 10!
  92. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    This movie is great. It is a mixture od The Goonies and E.T., but that's not a bad thing. A young boy and his friends who like to hang out with each other and shoot movies end up in a train wreck. They go on a long adventure and discover what is happening. They find out the government's trying to vanquish a giant alien who is starving and is trying to find food. They end up saving theirThis movie is great. It is a mixture od The Goonies and E.T., but that's not a bad thing. A young boy and his friends who like to hang out with each other and shoot movies end up in a train wreck. They go on a long adventure and discover what is happening. They find out the government's trying to vanquish a giant alien who is starving and is trying to find food. They end up saving their friends and getting the alien back home. The boy ends giving up a necklace that was her mother's, giving the story a happy ending and a great moral. This is one of my top 10 movies. 10/10 Expand
  93. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This film feels like Spielberg classics 'Close Encounters,' 'E.T.' and 'The Goonies' packed into one. It has great acting, beautiful cinematography and a touching story that can also be quite intensely scary. Overall, it is a very entertaining film.
  94. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    Super 8 is a well-balanced blend of humor, heart, and wit to create a great sci-fi adventure for audiences everywhere to enjoy. It's visual dazzling, and the main protagonist kids are excellent. Many memories of former classic movies will come to mind while watching this one; it's just that good.
  95. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    My favorite movie of all time, "Super 8" is a perfect coming-of-age film with a science fiction twist. I identified with all of the characters, especially the alien Cooper, who is also my favorite character of all time. If anyone said something about this movie to me, I would hurt them terribly.
  96. Sep 20, 2014
    10
    THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER. This is an absolutely superb movie. Never before or since have I seen such a masterpiece. The story is engaging, the acting is fantastic, the action is enthralling, and the special effects are amazing. The protagonist is relatable, the antagonist is hatable, and all of the side characters are funny and supportive. There are even a few jump scares in there that willTHE GREATEST MOVIE EVER. This is an absolutely superb movie. Never before or since have I seen such a masterpiece. The story is engaging, the acting is fantastic, the action is enthralling, and the special effects are amazing. The protagonist is relatable, the antagonist is hatable, and all of the side characters are funny and supportive. There are even a few jump scares in there that will get you the first time around. I have literally nothing bad to say about this movie. WATCH IT, or your life will never be complete! Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Jul 31, 2011
    80
    It's nowhere close to "E. T." - what is? - but amongst the hullabaloo of summer, Super 8 is something to cherish: a beautifully made homage to better times, and better movies.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Jun 10, 2011
    58
    If Abrams had stuck with the kids and cut way back on all the sci-fi hoo-ha, his film might have stood a fighting chance of being charming. Big is not always better, even when it comes to fantasies.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 10, 2011
    88
    Super 8 is in many ways a perfect summer movie: smart, exciting, heartfelt, and suffused with nostalgia.