Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 684 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident. Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth – something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 9, 2011
    100
    The pacing is superb, quick and agile without being frenzied, and the special effects are jaw-dropping.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 9, 2011
    90
    This new film isn't perfect, and may not be a world-changer, but it's certainly a world-pleaser.
  3. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jun 9, 2011
    83
    It's spirited and funny and deeply entertaining, a summer movie for kids who think like adults and adults who feel like kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    Super 8 takes its place among the best B-grade science fiction movies of this generation by copying the best of the past 50 years.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 9, 2011
    65
    The timing couldn't be more opportunistic for a new Steven Spielberg movie that mines the thrilling uncertainties of childhood - even if it happens to have been made by J.J. Abrams.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 9, 2011
    60
    This uneven but often charming movie produced by Spielberg gets so many things right, including its practiced naivete. What's missing, however, is a crucial sense of connection to itself.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jun 2, 2011
    50
    It's in the moments Abrams attempts to combine emotional payoffs with popcorn-style thrills that the film rings most false.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 251
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Original. Superb acting (and yes, they're just kids!) - but this adult has nothing but admiration for the casting, pacing, direction, and whatever else goes with film making - yes, "super 8"! I'm not sure why some are trying to compare this with "ET"? This adult (ok old man), thinks this is more along the lines of "Goonies" - yes, that other classic, sprinkled with more thrill/suspense. Excellent mix of action and comedy - never cheesy nor "forced" - something most more "mature" films should learn how to do - I think we've all suffered through one or two lines in some movie that just try "too hard".

    Unsure what the "kid meter" for this film is. It should be great for the entire family - but again, this is not "ET" - it has more suspense and action in it and the underlying theme isn't as "wholesome".
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    I did not know much about this movie going in, but loved it! It`s like Gonnies but different things going on. I love the characters and story. It was a fun movie to watch! Expand
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Really good movie! Great story, action, and characters. The one thing I didn't like was the over use of language, really shouldn't have been that much, other than that nothing else was bad. 9 out of 10! Expand
  4. j30
    Nov 25, 2011
    8
    Going in, I didn't expect this movie to be so emotionally engaging. This really well made film by J.J. Abrams', whose love for film, especially the 80's time period, is painted all over the screen. The movie feels like a mixture between E.T. and The Goonies. Expand
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    The Blu-ray release of "Super 8" is, like many big-budget movies from the major studios, an excellent release from a technical standpoint… The transfer is as it should be: a perfect representation of what was shown in theaters (perhaps even better because HD home theaters are starting to become terrific showcases for films than actual theaters nowadays). As the director’s commentary notes, the actual filming was done mostly with 35mm stock and the RED camera system (for later retakes, pick-ups, inserts) but also utilized Super-8 film, of course… the actual movie within the movie the kids are shooting is created on the genuine film stock Kodak put out in box-like cartridges (yes, you can still buy them). It all looks seamless, and the Blu-ray maintains an accurate visual quality with deep blacks that leave in the shadowy details some transfers might otherwise crush into dark mud, consistent grain balance, excellent reproduction of flesh tones (as they were in the theatrical release) and deep color reproduction with no bleeds. Overall it is a great transfer, perhaps the best of 2011 (not counting re-issues/restorations). It offers a tight and crisp picture along with a downright impressive level of sharp detail and no noticeable edge enhancement or apparent DNR (the only image softness I saw was what Larry Fong intended and captured as he switched apertures due to set lighting issues or blew out the background when changing focal lengths). Of course, like most top-notch Blu-ray releases these days it’s hard to tell how good the quality may actually be as there is so much post-production digital tinkering going on in contemporary movies before they hit the theater screen, but when compared to the the DVD disc (Disc 2 of the 2-disc package that also includes the now ubiquitous digital transfer for iTunes/Windows Media Player) and you can immediately see the difference in the level of detail, color saturation, and black levels. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2011
    6
    There are many parallels one can draw between "Super 8" and Spielberg's last attempt at alien sci-fi films, "War of the Worlds." That being said, "Super 8" is not quite as good as the War, but it is still a rather decent film. The story is interesting enough, but rather predictable. My biggest problem with the film was the amount of cheese (aka cheesiness/cliché) that Spielberg and Abrams managed to instil into the film. It is so over-the-top that I could not believe it. The last scene was especially disgusting, just like the last scene of "War of the Worlds." That seems to be a critical flaw with me and Spielberg - he has been managing to screw up the last scene in his last couple of films, and it's always extremely annoying. Nonetheless, there are good aspects to the film (hence the 6, no?)! The acting is very good when it comes to the children actors - very convincing and very engaging. Adults - not quite so much, but still decent enough for this kind of film. The cinematography was nice at times, with very nice colours and tones they've used with their lenses. Cinematography as in technique of filming - bad. I am not quite sure how I feel about the film overall. Yes, it's good enough to get a positive review, that is for sure. But there are so many annoying things about it that one's left wondering when will Spielberg finally get his act back together and make some serious films again? Until then, this will have to work, I guess... Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    This movie is boring, dull, and uninteresting. The plot is unimaginative and plain dumb. Hard to believe Spielberg signed his name to this. Initially, I thought of scoring it one, but then I thought... NAH! Expand

See all 251 User Reviews

Trailers