Super

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 182 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 182

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Oct 6, 2011
    3
    You can't really call this film a "Black Comedy" as that implies that its funny. This movie is similar to the likes of "Kickass" and "Observe and Report", but as shocking as they were, they were also funny. This isn't. You'd swear was Lars Von Trier asked to help write this.
  2. May 5, 2011
    1
    Best summed up by a reviewer in Variety who said "Waiting for Super to deliver the funny is an experience as long as the film itself. " Take a pass on this one.
  3. Apr 23, 2011
    0
    This movie is a pointless immoral gory bloodbath. It's homicide porn at best. All the characters are insane losers that no sane person can relate to. DO NO WASTE YOUR TIME BY SUPPORTING this liberal garbage.
  4. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    Completely awful, calling this a bad movie is too much of a compliment, I've seen bad movies before but this is the worst movie I've ever seen, it has no redeeming features at all, none of the characters are likable, it's not funny, and just a humongous waste of every ones time, honestly I came into this movie thinking I was going to love it because I love movies like Kick-Ass andCompletely awful, calling this a bad movie is too much of a compliment, I've seen bad movies before but this is the worst movie I've ever seen, it has no redeeming features at all, none of the characters are likable, it's not funny, and just a humongous waste of every ones time, honestly I came into this movie thinking I was going to love it because I love movies like Kick-Ass and Defendor where a regular guy just says he's had enough and becomes a super hero and this one was going to be a comedy also so I really was expecting to enjoy it, but as you can see I was extremely disappointed, I literally cannot begin to describe how awful this movie is, I seriously have no words other than this is literally the worst movie ever created, so do yourself and others a favor if you see a copy of this movie anywhere snap the disc in half, I believe the Crimson Bolt said it best when he said "how can something so stupid and idiotic exist?". Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2012
    0
    I would not recommend anyone I care about to see this movie. It is not at all like Kickass, and there are very few funny parts. I felt terrible after finishing the movie, as the film in its entirety had a depressing funk that viewers think will be lifted at the end, but it is not. The dialogue is awful, and the language and eapecially graphic violence are all far over the top to the pointI would not recommend anyone I care about to see this movie. It is not at all like Kickass, and there are very few funny parts. I felt terrible after finishing the movie, as the film in its entirety had a depressing funk that viewers think will be lifted at the end, but it is not. The dialogue is awful, and the language and eapecially graphic violence are all far over the top to the point where it isn't even funny, just shocking they would allow it to be in a movie rated R. This is definitely the darkest movie I've ever seen, darker than Worlds best Dad or Donnie Darko. The conclusion left me wishing I had never started the movie in the first place. Please don't see it. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2016
    2
    I don't usually hate on an universal acclaim user score, but when I do, I do it for reasons. Super, on the other hand, has very great animation sequences and that can't save the film from being an instant mess. A dumbed-down mature Kick-Ass which that movie is obviously better.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Kinnear
    Jan 18, 2015
    60
    It’s too raw and difficult for one target audience, but the erratic tone might leave sick puppies equally nonplussed. Gunn’s jibes at Bible-bashers and gun-nuts are as blunt as Frank’s attacks, and the clash of kooky comedy and violence is as awkward as it is ugly.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 28, 2011
    20
    There are kernels here of a thoughtful and provocative picture, but they never pop – or POP!, for that matter.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    Take "Kick-Ass." Strip it of most of its wit and charm, amp up the violence, the sadism. Make it more crude and coarse and gory. And what you're left with is Super.