Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 17, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 519 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
429
Mixed:
36
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
EricK.Sep 3, 2009
I don't see why people think this is a bad movie. its a awesome kickass movie. although the ending sucked, the movie as a whole rocked and made me and my friends laugh and i think that's what counts.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
kingshahidJul 26, 2011
This movie reminded me of when I was young and in high school (even though only 4 years ago). The boy group with contrasting personalities existed in high school (at least in mine). Many pacts they formed (getting laid, being friends fromThis movie reminded me of when I was young and in high school (even though only 4 years ago). The boy group with contrasting personalities existed in high school (at least in mine). Many pacts they formed (getting laid, being friends from necessity) is very common in high school. Not to mention happy endings near prom! I would have enjoyed this more if I was still in high school but I'm not so it was a little less appealing than it would have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
extextJan 5, 2011
Michael Cera is hilarious in his socially ineptness, while many times Jonah Hill's salacious outbursts are unnecessary or unjustified in the movie's ethos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NapW.Sep 7, 2007
The funniest film I've seen in years. I can't remember the last time I laughed so much.
8 of 9 users found this helpful
10
BillSAug 10, 2009
The bottom line is this movie made me laugh out loud and a lot. I really enjoyed it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
UNBJul 31, 2009
The best movie ever! The movie is full of laughs, teen comedy, sex and a true coming-of-age story just like American Pie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Wildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's howWildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's how incredibly funny this movie is. The soundtrack adds a fantastic funky 70's vibe, and the film simply never gets boring or completely ridiculous. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicMay 21, 2011
hahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahahahahhahah funny as hell. good acting by all the characters. funny script. funny lines.hahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahahahahhahah funny as hell. good acting by all the characters. funny script. funny lines. great lines. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TarintinoCodFanDec 16, 2011
Such a funny film. Way better than the over apprciated 'The Hangover'. It has a great cast and the story between Mclovin and the cops is so great. It's only fault is it shouldn't be watched with parents, trust me...
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FrederickSAug 16, 2007
This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, and it was definitely worth it! You'll be glad you went to see it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanAug 20, 2007
Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg have shown us what real comedy should be. The gags are hilarious and the dialogue is even better...GREAT movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanB.Aug 20, 2007
Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if you like crude humor you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ameliaOct 10, 2007
oh my god. fantastic. that's all i can say. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. It was hilarious. Brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JGAug 19, 2007
Funniest movie in a long time...laughing the whole 2 hrs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnonumusButtcheeksSep 1, 2007
Simply the funniest comedy movie ive ever seen (except for Borat 8-P). If your lookin' for *** and a good time, you will definitly love this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorganPSep 3, 2007
Vulgar, hilarious, and, like knocked up, one of the most real, true-to-life comedies of the decade. It talks the way high school seniors talk and is hilarious every step of the way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Nov 8, 2007
I watched this movie 3 times. It was the best comedy this year. I can't wait for it to come on dvd. Everything from Mclovin to the Cops were great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewH.Dec 21, 2007
FANTASTIC FILM, had me laughing from start to finish!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattTOct 5, 2007
By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though but used his badge for fun every chance he could Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
csw12Sep 8, 2012
Superbad is very crude, very nasty, and very funny. The movie comes across as very random and i believe that is were it thrives. The funniest movie of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MikeMAug 21, 2007
Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He is able to dispense a complete sense of realism in absurd situations and each film has you laughing all the way to the credits. Superbad is no exception. Two kids, Seth and Evan (played by Jonah Hill and Michael Cera respectively), are coming to the end of their high school years, and are facing the fact that they will be separated by college next year. They both are lacking in the love department, and wish to enter college non-virgins. Their friend Fogell (played hilariously by Christopher Mintz-Plasse), gets a fake ID, which sets them up as alcohol-snatchers for a party the upcoming night, with Seths crush hosting, and Evans crush going. The events that follow are hilarious. Although these boys have never known a womans sexual touch, they are still complete perverts, and scenes like the one in the chemistry class will have you bursting your gut. Also, the friendship between Seth and Evan can parallel the best friend kinship many felt during the high school years, where you never noticed how you acted slightly homosexual with your best friend, running by their needs and wants, and having petty arguments with them. Plus, Mclovins trip with the cops is a complete breeze, giving you laughter throughout every scene. Mclovins sense of partying and his blind innocence to finally just enjoying life is endearing, in a very different sort of way. When the two boys get to the party, and hilarities ensue, they are set out to either receive sex, or possibly learn a lesson about what girls really want. Slightly not as funny as Knocked Up, it is still a perfect pick for a great time at the theaters. Go, enjoy, and party with McLovin! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulF.Aug 23, 2007
If you liked "Knocked Up" you'll probably like "Super Bad" starring some of the very same actors. The humor is super raunchy which rarely lets up. The subject matter mostly revolves around sex, drugs, and general bad boy and girl If you liked "Knocked Up" you'll probably like "Super Bad" starring some of the very same actors. The humor is super raunchy which rarely lets up. The subject matter mostly revolves around sex, drugs, and general bad boy and girl adolescent like behavior. There is not a lot of functionality about the characters at first, except maybe Evan who desires something more heartfelt. Yet even he succumbs halfway but does seem to hold true in the end. I would have thought this film to be somewhat nihilistic in overall philosophical outlook but by the end there does seem to be some deeper insights gained by the characters of their valued friendship and respect of the women in which they were tempted to objectify. This took a lot of internal fortitude as it seemingly went against the overarching cultural grain of the movie. Even many of the adults seemed to acts just as bad as the high schoolers, such as the police who seemed to be trying to relive their youth. Some of their stunts were silly and somewhat funny, especially one line with Fogell. However their excessive immaturity did not seem very realistic, though it helps just to go along it. "Mclovin" by the way just about stole the show with his half nerdy/half cool, and mostly lucky antics. However in the end it was he who was still trying to impress the chics with his faked IDs and staged arrests. Not much social redeeming value though I found it funny. "Super Bad" was neither super bad nor super good, though definitely worth a viewing. I did however think the film and many others lately push the envelope by using children to portray adult subject matter. Though I laughed at some of the private parts drawings it did seem to cross a line we rarely seem to question any more. I am concerned society is spinning in a less than wholesome direction. I am conflicted as to whether to support this film in light of this fact however it seems appropriate to deal with society in relation to how it is now and not some idealized moral standard. However it is my hope there will be a push for at least some cinematic restraints. In short "Super Bad" can entertain, offer some insight about friendship and treating others as human beings, but I doubt it will go down in the annals of film as a classic to forever be remembered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 25, 2007
"Superbad" wasn't written by Judd Apatow, it just seems like it was. In "Knocked Up", Pete(Paul Rudd) would rather engage in fantasy baseball with the guys than hang out with his wife. Seth(Jonah Hill), at eighteen(too young to be "Superbad" wasn't written by Judd Apatow, it just seems like it was. In "Knocked Up", Pete(Paul Rudd) would rather engage in fantasy baseball with the guys than hang out with his wife. Seth(Jonah Hill), at eighteen(too young to be suffering a midlife crisis), is barely five seconds into his burgeoning romance with Jules(Emma Stone) before he starts missing Evan(Michael Cera). Penis life-drawings notwithstanding, I don't think Seth is supposed to be read as gay, he just enjoys homosocial (not homosexual) relationships. "Superbad" is not the uproarious comedy it's purported to be(I think the problem is that Christopher Mintz-Plasse is a little green), but it's a success because of the film's willingness to portray male friendships with a frank ickiness not previously seen in American mainstream cinema. It's as if the screenwriters read William S. Pollack's "Real Boys: Rescuing Our Sons From the Myth of Boyhood". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VinnieOct 6, 2007
I don't know what the hell Wade is talking about because Judd Apatow didn't write nor direct this movie so to call it HIS gem is pretty stupid...its an alright movie, but Seth Rogen's (and Judd's) Knoacked up seems to be I don't know what the hell Wade is talking about because Judd Apatow didn't write nor direct this movie so to call it HIS gem is pretty stupid...its an alright movie, but Seth Rogen's (and Judd's) Knoacked up seems to be very much in the shadow of this film considering how much better that one was compared to Super Bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanP.Aug 16, 2007
this is one of the funniest, smartest, and greatest comedies in years...better than Knocked Up and a true classic. Don't miss the amazing and absolutely gut bustingly funny comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamS.Aug 17, 2007
Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Rogen has written the funniest film this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamSAug 18, 2007
Some of the hardest laughs I've had in a while. I agree with the review that said the movie "loses credibility" with the cops. There was too much of them and they got a little too ridiculous, but all in all I thought it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricSAug 19, 2007
I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. Absolute classic. Any fans of Arrested Development will be very happy to hear the masses laugh at Michael Cera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Aug 21, 2007
If you're a male teen that loves vulgar movie. See this film. It's the best in it's class. With memorable quotes in every line, loveable characters in every scene, this is the must see comedy of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RonnyVAug 20, 2007
makes you laugh the whole way through. i thought this movie was better than Knocked Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristinHAug 20, 2007
Funny, charming, sweet, and ridiculously (and hilariously) vulgar, Superbad is worth a see to anyone who enjoys dirty jokes with a dash of heartfelt emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayK.Aug 22, 2007
Extremely crass (I would say to its detriment at the beginning), this movie is nonetheless a classic. I believe it is the best movie in ever made in it's genre. Funny, smart, charming, and the jokes are very clever even if the premise Extremely crass (I would say to its detriment at the beginning), this movie is nonetheless a classic. I believe it is the best movie in ever made in it's genre. Funny, smart, charming, and the jokes are very clever even if the premise isn't. Nice ending. You must be able to enjoy extremely crass language to enjoy the clever humor in this movie. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BriankAug 20, 2007
I agree with the San Francisco Chronicle's synopsis the most of what this movie is about, constant hilarity and a laugh a minute sheer fun! This is a a great buddy-adventure movie, it made me feel old and wish I was back in these kids I agree with the San Francisco Chronicle's synopsis the most of what this movie is about, constant hilarity and a laugh a minute sheer fun! This is a a great buddy-adventure movie, it made me feel old and wish I was back in these kids shoes! It has a heart beating amid all the vulgar, raunchy and potty-mouthed fun! Stay for the credits people if you have yet to see this great summer comedy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaP.Aug 25, 2007
The best movie on the year! I loved the performances, the story and of course, it was funny as hell. I've seen this 3 times already, and still laugh my ass off every time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesR.Aug 26, 2007
Brilliant film. I don't know what movie the negative reviewers saw, but it wasn't the one I saw that had the entire theater crying with laughter. Apart from "Knocked Up" I haven't seen a funnier movie in years. It's Brilliant film. I don't know what movie the negative reviewers saw, but it wasn't the one I saw that had the entire theater crying with laughter. Apart from "Knocked Up" I haven't seen a funnier movie in years. It's raunchy, nuanced, juvenile and deep all at the same time which should be completely impossible. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrancisSSep 1, 2007
aside from the dream-like cops, the movie is quite realistic. its a 10 if the cops were more like, well, cops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MylesSSep 2, 2007
AMAZINGLY funny movie! Don't believe the negative reviews people may post... this movie may be crude and uncouth quite a bit, but it works so well for it! You'll cheer for these guys... and you will laugh- a LOT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonMSep 3, 2007
The only reason I give it a 9 and not a 10 is because I was told it was comperable to Fast Times at Ridgemont High. I'm sorry this film is no Fast Times, it is still a great picture just not quite Fast Times great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Sep 4, 2007
Really funny. Very different from the average white boys and their yearning to get laid because of the fabulously realistic style and perfect performances by very believable young actors. The cops are pretty funny as over the top slapstick also.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronC.Sep 9, 2007
As a high school senior this movie was the best comedy in my lifetime. That is of course with the exception of Tommy Boy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanPNov 6, 2008
Definitely a lot of laugh out loud moments. Very amusing, very funny, money well spent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jan 20, 2008
You really have to see "American Graffiti" to completely appreciate this movie, it's very reflexive of it. This new style of language and set-ups blows most other comedies out of the water. One of the funniest movies I have ever seen You really have to see "American Graffiti" to completely appreciate this movie, it's very reflexive of it. This new style of language and set-ups blows most other comedies out of the water. One of the funniest movies I have ever seen that also leaves a great feeling after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanS.Jan 9, 2008
If you don't enjoy talk of sex or porn or in general high-school-boy discussion then don't see this movie, but if you do then check it out because it is easily the funniest movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamC.Feb 2, 2008
I loved this movie. It was like a Friday night out with you buddies as a teenager. Sure, it was a lot more outlandish, but hey, isn't that the point?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NigelMar 17, 2008
best movie ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianM.Mar 25, 2008
Everything about this film was amazing. don't listen to people who rate it lowly. they just think they're great because they didn't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Ja-cog-cobPdudeMar 27, 2008
It was the best movie ever!!! I liked the "superbad" scenes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
Thank god this film was of pure excellence because the name could have provided critics with an insult, "this film was super...baaad" but its an amazing film, good work Rogen and Golberg.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
seana.May 28, 2008
On most occasions I would not write a review on a movie such as this one, however this movie was different to me, but not amazing. Superbad is one of those movies that has a good amount of jokes in the dialog but isn't outrageously On most occasions I would not write a review on a movie such as this one, however this movie was different to me, but not amazing. Superbad is one of those movies that has a good amount of jokes in the dialog but isn't outrageously stupid. Although the title and trailer would suggest that the movie will be a really stupid movie that any teenager will enjoy, it is not. It actually has a good story and although the movie is filled with foule mouthed humor, the words are strung together in a way that won't offend even the most offend able person on this planet. It was a great pleasure to watch and although I rented it, this will be a movie I will purchase to see as many times as I wish. Superbad isn't really super bad... but it does strike a spot in my heart, and although it can't be compared to "Fast Times At Ridgemont High" or many others I could list, It doesn't need to compare because it isn't the same kind of movie... it's a love story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
This is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Michal Cera is at his awkward best, Johnah Hill is hilarious, and Seth Rogen will have you laughing untilt the end. What makes this movie so great is that for it is exactly how high school kids This is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Michal Cera is at his awkward best, Johnah Hill is hilarious, and Seth Rogen will have you laughing untilt the end. What makes this movie so great is that for it is exactly how high school kids act and talk. It is the most quoatable movie ever, and is pure gold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobbyh.May 17, 2009
great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddBJun 13, 2009
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. Bought the movie, and every time its on Cable I cant turn it off
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Nov 10, 2007
I thought this was a documentary of my life for parts of this movie. Oh yes I know what being a loser is like and I think Apatow does too, but he definitely isn't one anymore. This is a comic masterpiece. Such funny dialogue and overall I thought this was a documentary of my life for parts of this movie. Oh yes I know what being a loser is like and I think Apatow does too, but he definitely isn't one anymore. This is a comic masterpiece. Such funny dialogue and overall just incredibly hilarious.... best movie of all time!!! From the first scene on I did not stop laughing! I was actually exhausted from watching a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaelr.Oct 10, 2007
It is the best teenage sex comedy since Porkys. and it is the best teenage comedy since American Graffiti.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ButtM.Dec 15, 2007
"Not another teen movie was a lot funnier than this." are you fucking serious!? i don't even know how to begin addressing such a ridiculous statement. Superbad is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen period, but it's "Not another teen movie was a lot funnier than this." are you fucking serious!? i don't even know how to begin addressing such a ridiculous statement. Superbad is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen period, but it's definitely the kind of thing where you either get it or you don't. KEY POINT= IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO BE BELIEVABLE, at least not in terms of the situations the characters get in. what makes the movie work is that the dialog and characters ARE believable, in and of themselves. Boom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexDec 10, 2007
A brilliant comedy. It's almost as funny reading some of these reviews. Mark G!!! I think you missed the humor. Macho cops!? Um yeah, thats sort of the joke. And the cheesy sentiment! I think you missed something... I guess this movie A brilliant comedy. It's almost as funny reading some of these reviews. Mark G!!! I think you missed the humor. Macho cops!? Um yeah, thats sort of the joke. And the cheesy sentiment! I think you missed something... I guess this movie really demands a certain sense of humor. Some people just don't have it. Overall a great film for people who are not easily offended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StandinDec 2, 2007
The best movie ever if you are male and haven't yet lost your soul
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SamBOct 22, 2007
Firstly, I loved this movie, mainly because I was expecting something crude (which it was) but stupid, something like the 40-year-old Virgin (which wasn't nearly as clever as it was stupid). Superbad is the opposite in this regard, as Firstly, I loved this movie, mainly because I was expecting something crude (which it was) but stupid, something like the 40-year-old Virgin (which wasn't nearly as clever as it was stupid). Superbad is the opposite in this regard, as while it still contained language that was probably even worse, jokes about terribly "icky" subjects such as periods, penises and penis drawings; it was original. Many people will say it was just like Knocked up, American Pie, etc. but I think it took the teen comedy genre down a much funnier path. I mean, the 40-year-old virgin and American pie relied mainly on "cringe" comedy, putting characters in situations that are funny because they are taboo or sexual (they are teen movies after all). While Superbad does use this type of comedy (hence the 8/10 instead of full marks), the larger laughs and more funny bits of the movie were completely original. I mean, penis drawings?! Mclovin?! It even had a (sort-of) moral at the end! The writing was brilliant, and for that reason, and possibly biased by my complete lack of faith in this movie prior to seeing it, I think it deserves a well earned 8/10. Also, to all reviewers who gave this 0/10 for being childish, vulgar, etc. What were you expecting? If you can't see through that, or can't understand why your cinema is erupting in laughter, then you should have known before you saw this that you wouldn't like it, so do yourself us a favour and don't watch these types of movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanA.Dec 30, 2007
Superbad is Supergood Funny as hell the funniest high school movie. Or comedy for that matter. GO Apatow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
THWAug 16, 2007
Had me laughing from start to finish. Definitely the funniest movie I've seen all summer. And like previous Apatow movies, ends on a very touching note where it shows that the underdog will often triumph. You'll be quoting lines Had me laughing from start to finish. Definitely the funniest movie I've seen all summer. And like previous Apatow movies, ends on a very touching note where it shows that the underdog will often triumph. You'll be quoting lines from it for days afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterBAug 18, 2007
Unbelievably funny. In my opinion the funniest film of all time. That may be partially because I have had some of these exact conversations with my friends, but I honestly don't understand how anyone could not like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JONZOMBIEAug 18, 2007
Hilarious!!! Definitely the funniest movie of this summer. so many priceless lines, and unforgettable moments. this is the kind of movie we will all remember in our senior years. WARNING, really not suitable for young children. but Hilarious!!! Definitely the funniest movie of this summer. so many priceless lines, and unforgettable moments. this is the kind of movie we will all remember in our senior years. WARNING, really not suitable for young children. but definitely for some parents to watch. haha, they will see what high school parties are really like. great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BattleAug 18, 2007
Absolutely hilarious... best comedy I've seen in a long time. Far better then knocked up. The laughs were steady the whole way through and it never got too sappy. Great ending, short and sweet. Epic movie...this is the first movie I Absolutely hilarious... best comedy I've seen in a long time. Far better then knocked up. The laughs were steady the whole way through and it never got too sappy. Great ending, short and sweet. Epic movie...this is the first movie I will see twice in the theatre since sin city. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
travisAug 19, 2007
I enjoyed it although I found it uneven at times and a little longer than needed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
THATMOVIEGUYAug 19, 2007
Sooo funny. Seth Rogen has brings it (he co-wrote it), and the 2 stars are just as insanely cast as everything Judd Apatow has ever done. Long live the John Hughes/Kevin Smith of the almost over decade. And hopefully, Judd Apatow won't Sooo funny. Seth Rogen has brings it (he co-wrote it), and the 2 stars are just as insanely cast as everything Judd Apatow has ever done. Long live the John Hughes/Kevin Smith of the almost over decade. And hopefully, Judd Apatow won't make a Jersey Girl or Knocked Up 2 to spoil it his reign anytime soon. Oh yeah, and this movie is freaking hilarious to the max! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
yowazupAug 19, 2007
Low brow, but in a smart way, "Superbad" is the comedy for men who thought "Knocked Up," was too much of a chickflick, and for women who can look past the penis talk and find something subtle and smart(a lot more than you'd think). Low brow, but in a smart way, "Superbad" is the comedy for men who thought "Knocked Up," was too much of a chickflick, and for women who can look past the penis talk and find something subtle and smart(a lot more than you'd think). Credited as a producer, Judd Apatow's Midas touch continues to turn to gold everything that sounds flat on paper as it makes its way to the big screen. "Superbad," is a virgin sex comedy about two high schoolers, Seth and Evan (Jonah Hill and Micheal Cera), in their last couple weeks of senior year who have spent a lifetime as the awkward kids who have yet to run the bases. Alchohol seems to be their only answer to get with the girls of their wet dreams, and unlike the normal teen fair, each have a girl in mind, and both are complete in their characterizations. No girls seem to run around like faceless bodies. Its not what you might expect from a teen comedy, all in a good way. Its fun and deep. Its what you want to see before you go back to school. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeNAug 21, 2007
The humor lies just as much in the dialog between the characters as it does in the situations they get themselves into. The characters themselves are loveable and quirky. (Especially McLovin.) I laughed all the way through this movie, and so The humor lies just as much in the dialog between the characters as it does in the situations they get themselves into. The characters themselves are loveable and quirky. (Especially McLovin.) I laughed all the way through this movie, and so did the rest of the audience. As far as teen coming of age comedies go, this one is among the very best. Go see it already! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReneeP.Aug 21, 2007
"The names of Apatow and Rogen are comedy poison"? Umm...if you didn't like their material going into the movie, what makes you think you would have liked this? Superbad was hilarious and, except for a few slow parts, was executed near "The names of Apatow and Rogen are comedy poison"? Umm...if you didn't like their material going into the movie, what makes you think you would have liked this? Superbad was hilarious and, except for a few slow parts, was executed near perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Aug 20, 2007
We
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulS.Aug 21, 2007
For every guy who has had an evening, a year, or a life get out of control, and managed to muddle through it all, much to our suprise, this movie is for you. Parts of it are as nearly as gross (or as bad) as I have ever seen. Parts are as For every guy who has had an evening, a year, or a life get out of control, and managed to muddle through it all, much to our suprise, this movie is for you. Parts of it are as nearly as gross (or as bad) as I have ever seen. Parts are as hilarious and touching as anything I have ever seen. (The scenes with the cops might best be viewed as a dream-scape.) Overall, it's as good as any movie I have ever seen. A Ten. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarciM.Aug 20, 2007
Hilarious...My gut hurt after the movie was over...I'm going back to the theatre to see it AGAIN!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AMovieCriticAug 20, 2007
Really funny movie, deliciously raunchy R-rated comedy. Produced by Judd Apatow, the guy who directed Knocked Up and The 40 Year Old Virgin, (whose quickly becomming our generation's Harold Ramis,) this movie targets high school and Really funny movie, deliciously raunchy R-rated comedy. Produced by Judd Apatow, the guy who directed Knocked Up and The 40 Year Old Virgin, (whose quickly becomming our generation's Harold Ramis,) this movie targets high school and college-aged people almost exclusively, but people in those age brackets will have a great time watching this movie. Unfortunately, the movie falls into the same trap as some recent comedies, in which the first 30 minutes or so is so funny that our expectations for the movie are raised so highly that the rest of it simply can't meet them. Still, though, it's an EXTREMELY funny movie, even though it loses steam after an excellent first half hour. Pretty funny comedy, with a smart and surprisingly sweet ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SuleimanMAug 24, 2007
what's up with the 2's and 3's? This was a very good movie, i definantly enjoyed it. The jokes were great, and the two cops in the movie were a plus. If you wanna laugh, and have a good time, I reccommend watching this film, what's up with the 2's and 3's? This was a very good movie, i definantly enjoyed it. The jokes were great, and the two cops in the movie were a plus. If you wanna laugh, and have a good time, I reccommend watching this film, worth they money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeRAug 25, 2007
This movie had depth in the characters, that's why it's not an American Pie/LOL kinda thing. They are outsiders and always will be, but their world is vital and emotional. The pretty girls are smart enough to see their gifts, too, This movie had depth in the characters, that's why it's not an American Pie/LOL kinda thing. They are outsiders and always will be, but their world is vital and emotional. The pretty girls are smart enough to see their gifts, too, maybe because they are not cheerleaders (as far as we know). This is a smart, low key comedy. Not a laugh your face off movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SkeetK.Aug 27, 2007
This was the funniest movie I have ever seen. It tops old school and American pie on my all time favorites list. I never stopped laughing. MCLOVIN!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielW.Aug 31, 2007
A movie that lives up to, and outstrips, the hype. This movie is unbelievably vulgar, yet wise and witty at the same time. I can't think of a better portrayal of male friendship, indeed of maleness, in the movies recently.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigF.Aug 31, 2007
This movie was real good. there were so many funny parts that made me think about things and i wouldn't have even thought of them myself. cops can actually be really hilarious, as this movie will show you. and it's not just what This movie was real good. there were so many funny parts that made me think about things and i wouldn't have even thought of them myself. cops can actually be really hilarious, as this movie will show you. and it's not just what you except. its also so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanDAug 31, 2007
It just does not get any better than this, period. Non stop laughs leave you stomach in a cramp by the end. New comer Christopher MIntz Plasse stelas the show as Mclovin, and an allstar cast of hillarious actors make it even bettter. It just does not get any better than this, period. Non stop laughs leave you stomach in a cramp by the end. New comer Christopher MIntz Plasse stelas the show as Mclovin, and an allstar cast of hillarious actors make it even bettter. Funniest movie I have ever seen. Truely a must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoJ.Sep 10, 2007
Superbad is easily the funniest movie of the summer and the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDSep 2, 2007
The only reason other people are voting poorly for this movie is because the movie was not targeted towards them. The movie is hilarious and is mainly meant for teens/college kids. Others may enjoy it too, but that was their main target audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathrynSep 24, 2007
Funny but really crude. but i like crude. but even for me it was kind of awkward being a girl and sitting next to a bunch of guys and trying to watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VidM.Sep 5, 2007
Superbad is superbomb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenS.Sep 9, 2007
I laughed my ass off, my wife did not enjoy the movie because i laughed too hard, when the credits rolled, I could not stand up from laughing, i had tears streaming down my face!!! i was in a euphoric state from this movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KenC.Jan 15, 2008
Very funny - Starts off a little slow and rough (A little too much of the F word) - but had me rolling by the end. McLovin was great!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Jan 23, 2008
This movie was absolutely, gut busting hilarious. The awkward moments, although a little difficult to watch, very accurately portrayed modern teen life. However, the movie would have done well with more Fogle. He was the real hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanA.Jul 13, 2008
There's a way to pull off dirty comedy, and Superbad is exactly how.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Aug 6, 2008
I loved this movie. It was hilarious and also showed a contrast between the teenager's boastful talk of sex and the "real world" and their actual fears and insecurities on the matter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NormanRApr 12, 2009
This movie is very funny at most. Although at most times scenes are going a bit too far, it's still an enjoyable movie. It's a movie worth watching
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
bobbyh.Oct 11, 2007
great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SheaN.Nov 15, 2007
Only recent comedy with real life situations throughout. Just like my life. thats why I find it so hilarious. Awesome cast. Love the improv.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WEEKSYBNov 22, 2007
It's amazingly well done. A return of the shock-comedy that Animal House did perfectly and nothing until now has bested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BruceNov 23, 2007
Crude toilet humour, but very funny. I enjoyed it and laughed quite a lot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PavTNov 24, 2007
Hand Down The Best Comedy Of 2007! Get ready to laugh your way through the entire movie - its like American Pie Revisited. If you haven't seen this yet - the joke's on you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeI.Dec 12, 2007
So fucking funny, and they didn't cut corners to make it politically correct or mask what high school really is, and it is, believe me, I'm a junior, i know how it goes down and that was the fucking funnies representation of it i So fucking funny, and they didn't cut corners to make it politically correct or mask what high school really is, and it is, believe me, I'm a junior, i know how it goes down and that was the fucking funnies representation of it i have ever seen. Comedy at its finest 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MatthewL.Dec 15, 2007
Funny, but not hilarious like many others think it is. Also, a bit overrated because Jonah Hill went a little too over-the-top in this film. Like most of Apatow's films, it begins to fall apart toward the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenBDec 4, 2007
This movie is flat-out hilarious. Extremely crude, and not for all tastes, but those who enjoyed other Judd Apatow movies like Knocked Up will be very appreciative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HelloTHERE!Dec 4, 2007
Had it's funny moments but by no means as great as everyone made it out to be. I really only found Micheal Cera to be the funny part of the money. He has some charm to go along with the geekyness that I'm sure some of us can relate Had it's funny moments but by no means as great as everyone made it out to be. I really only found Micheal Cera to be the funny part of the money. He has some charm to go along with the geekyness that I'm sure some of us can relate to. Luved when he is talking to the girl in the hall and they say "bye" and start walking the same direction so he walks faster to get away from her. That's happen to me on several occasions... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToryPDec 4, 2007
Great movie. Perhaps one of the best comedies that I've ever seen. It perfectly captures the awkwardness of the teen years (especially high school). I'm not sure why there are so many 0-5 scores. I guess some people just don't Great movie. Perhaps one of the best comedies that I've ever seen. It perfectly captures the awkwardness of the teen years (especially high school). I'm not sure why there are so many 0-5 scores. I guess some people just don't remember what it's like to be young. And yes the movie is crude but that by no means makes it instantly forgettable. It's sweet also. There's real emotion between Michael Cera and Jonah Hill's character's Seth and Evan. Get ready for one of the best comedies of the decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathalieKimAug 13, 2007
I saw this movie a month ago at a pre-screening. I was laughing through the entire movie, I am sure I missed alot of other funy moments. I plan on going to the theater and watching it again. I have never said that about a movie before.I saw this movie a month ago at a pre-screening. I was laughing through the entire movie, I am sure I missed alot of other funy moments. I plan on going to the theater and watching it again. I have never said that about a movie before. This is definitely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinRAug 15, 2007
Michael Cera is a revelation, as he proves his role in Arrested Development was great preparation for what looks to be a promising career. Other than that, this is a very good teen sex comedy, mainly due to Apatow's very impressive Michael Cera is a revelation, as he proves his role in Arrested Development was great preparation for what looks to be a promising career. Other than that, this is a very good teen sex comedy, mainly due to Apatow's very impressive touch of realism he adds to every movie he's involved with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful