Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 17, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 562 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
466
Mixed:
40
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FrederickSAug 16, 2007
This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, and it was definitely worth it! You'll be glad you went to see it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanAug 20, 2007
Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg have shown us what real comedy should be. The gags are hilarious and the dialogue is even better...GREAT movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanB.Aug 20, 2007
Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if you like crude humor you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ameliaOct 10, 2007
oh my god. fantastic. that's all i can say. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. It was hilarious. Brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JGAug 19, 2007
Funniest movie in a long time...laughing the whole 2 hrs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnonumusButtcheeksSep 1, 2007
Simply the funniest comedy movie ive ever seen (except for Borat 8-P). If your lookin' for *** and a good time, you will definitly love this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorganPSep 3, 2007
Vulgar, hilarious, and, like knocked up, one of the most real, true-to-life comedies of the decade. It talks the way high school seniors talk and is hilarious every step of the way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillSAug 10, 2009
The bottom line is this movie made me laugh out loud and a lot. I really enjoyed it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Nov 8, 2007
I watched this movie 3 times. It was the best comedy this year. I can't wait for it to come on dvd. Everything from Mclovin to the Cops were great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewH.Dec 21, 2007
FANTASTIC FILM, had me laughing from start to finish!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattTOct 5, 2007
By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though but used his badge for fun every chance he could Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanP.Aug 16, 2007
this is one of the funniest, smartest, and greatest comedies in years...better than Knocked Up and a true classic. Don't miss the amazing and absolutely gut bustingly funny comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamS.Aug 17, 2007
Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Rogen has written the funniest film this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricSAug 19, 2007
I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. Absolute classic. Any fans of Arrested Development will be very happy to hear the masses laugh at Michael Cera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Aug 21, 2007
If you're a male teen that loves vulgar movie. See this film. It's the best in it's class. With memorable quotes in every line, loveable characters in every scene, this is the must see comedy of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BriankAug 20, 2007
I agree with the San Francisco Chronicle's synopsis the most of what this movie is about, constant hilarity and a laugh a minute sheer fun! This is a a great buddy-adventure movie, it made me feel old and wish I was back in these kids I agree with the San Francisco Chronicle's synopsis the most of what this movie is about, constant hilarity and a laugh a minute sheer fun! This is a a great buddy-adventure movie, it made me feel old and wish I was back in these kids shoes! It has a heart beating amid all the vulgar, raunchy and potty-mouthed fun! Stay for the credits people if you have yet to see this great summer comedy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliciaP.Aug 25, 2007
The best movie on the year! I loved the performances, the story and of course, it was funny as hell. I've seen this 3 times already, and still laugh my ass off every time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesR.Aug 26, 2007
Brilliant film. I don't know what movie the negative reviewers saw, but it wasn't the one I saw that had the entire theater crying with laughter. Apart from "Knocked Up" I haven't seen a funnier movie in years. It's Brilliant film. I don't know what movie the negative reviewers saw, but it wasn't the one I saw that had the entire theater crying with laughter. Apart from "Knocked Up" I haven't seen a funnier movie in years. It's raunchy, nuanced, juvenile and deep all at the same time which should be completely impossible. Don't miss it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MylesSSep 2, 2007
AMAZINGLY funny movie! Don't believe the negative reviews people may post... this movie may be crude and uncouth quite a bit, but it works so well for it! You'll cheer for these guys... and you will laugh- a LOT!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronC.Sep 9, 2007
As a high school senior this movie was the best comedy in my lifetime. That is of course with the exception of Tommy Boy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jan 20, 2008
You really have to see "American Graffiti" to completely appreciate this movie, it's very reflexive of it. This new style of language and set-ups blows most other comedies out of the water. One of the funniest movies I have ever seen You really have to see "American Graffiti" to completely appreciate this movie, it's very reflexive of it. This new style of language and set-ups blows most other comedies out of the water. One of the funniest movies I have ever seen that also leaves a great feeling after watching it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StanS.Jan 9, 2008
If you don't enjoy talk of sex or porn or in general high-school-boy discussion then don't see this movie, but if you do then check it out because it is easily the funniest movie of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NigelMar 17, 2008
best movie ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianM.Mar 25, 2008
Everything about this film was amazing. don't listen to people who rate it lowly. they just think they're great because they didn't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClarkWAug 10, 2008
This is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Michal Cera is at his awkward best, Johnah Hill is hilarious, and Seth Rogen will have you laughing untilt the end. What makes this movie so great is that for it is exactly how high school kids This is the funniest movie I have ever seen. Michal Cera is at his awkward best, Johnah Hill is hilarious, and Seth Rogen will have you laughing untilt the end. What makes this movie so great is that for it is exactly how high school kids act and talk. It is the most quoatable movie ever, and is pure gold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bobbyh.May 17, 2009
great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToddBJun 13, 2009
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. Bought the movie, and every time its on Cable I cant turn it off
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamH.Nov 10, 2007
I thought this was a documentary of my life for parts of this movie. Oh yes I know what being a loser is like and I think Apatow does too, but he definitely isn't one anymore. This is a comic masterpiece. Such funny dialogue and overall I thought this was a documentary of my life for parts of this movie. Oh yes I know what being a loser is like and I think Apatow does too, but he definitely isn't one anymore. This is a comic masterpiece. Such funny dialogue and overall just incredibly hilarious.... best movie of all time!!! From the first scene on I did not stop laughing! I was actually exhausted from watching a movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ButtM.Dec 15, 2007
"Not another teen movie was a lot funnier than this." are you fucking serious!? i don't even know how to begin addressing such a ridiculous statement. Superbad is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen period, but it's "Not another teen movie was a lot funnier than this." are you fucking serious!? i don't even know how to begin addressing such a ridiculous statement. Superbad is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen period, but it's definitely the kind of thing where you either get it or you don't. KEY POINT= IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO BE BELIEVABLE, at least not in terms of the situations the characters get in. what makes the movie work is that the dialog and characters ARE believable, in and of themselves. Boom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StandinDec 2, 2007
The best movie ever if you are male and haven't yet lost your soul
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanA.Dec 30, 2007
Superbad is Supergood Funny as hell the funniest high school movie. Or comedy for that matter. GO Apatow!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
THWAug 16, 2007
Had me laughing from start to finish. Definitely the funniest movie I've seen all summer. And like previous Apatow movies, ends on a very touching note where it shows that the underdog will often triumph. You'll be quoting lines Had me laughing from start to finish. Definitely the funniest movie I've seen all summer. And like previous Apatow movies, ends on a very touching note where it shows that the underdog will often triumph. You'll be quoting lines from it for days afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterBAug 18, 2007
Unbelievably funny. In my opinion the funniest film of all time. That may be partially because I have had some of these exact conversations with my friends, but I honestly don't understand how anyone could not like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BattleAug 18, 2007
Absolutely hilarious... best comedy I've seen in a long time. Far better then knocked up. The laughs were steady the whole way through and it never got too sappy. Great ending, short and sweet. Epic movie...this is the first movie I Absolutely hilarious... best comedy I've seen in a long time. Far better then knocked up. The laughs were steady the whole way through and it never got too sappy. Great ending, short and sweet. Epic movie...this is the first movie I will see twice in the theatre since sin city. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeNAug 21, 2007
The humor lies just as much in the dialog between the characters as it does in the situations they get themselves into. The characters themselves are loveable and quirky. (Especially McLovin.) I laughed all the way through this movie, and so The humor lies just as much in the dialog between the characters as it does in the situations they get themselves into. The characters themselves are loveable and quirky. (Especially McLovin.) I laughed all the way through this movie, and so did the rest of the audience. As far as teen coming of age comedies go, this one is among the very best. Go see it already! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulS.Aug 21, 2007
For every guy who has had an evening, a year, or a life get out of control, and managed to muddle through it all, much to our suprise, this movie is for you. Parts of it are as nearly as gross (or as bad) as I have ever seen. Parts are as For every guy who has had an evening, a year, or a life get out of control, and managed to muddle through it all, much to our suprise, this movie is for you. Parts of it are as nearly as gross (or as bad) as I have ever seen. Parts are as hilarious and touching as anything I have ever seen. (The scenes with the cops might best be viewed as a dream-scape.) Overall, it's as good as any movie I have ever seen. A Ten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarciM.Aug 20, 2007
Hilarious...My gut hurt after the movie was over...I'm going back to the theatre to see it AGAIN!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SkeetK.Aug 27, 2007
This was the funniest movie I have ever seen. It tops old school and American pie on my all time favorites list. I never stopped laughing. MCLOVIN!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielW.Aug 31, 2007
A movie that lives up to, and outstrips, the hype. This movie is unbelievably vulgar, yet wise and witty at the same time. I can't think of a better portrayal of male friendship, indeed of maleness, in the movies recently.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanDAug 31, 2007
It just does not get any better than this, period. Non stop laughs leave you stomach in a cramp by the end. New comer Christopher MIntz Plasse stelas the show as Mclovin, and an allstar cast of hillarious actors make it even bettter. It just does not get any better than this, period. Non stop laughs leave you stomach in a cramp by the end. New comer Christopher MIntz Plasse stelas the show as Mclovin, and an allstar cast of hillarious actors make it even bettter. Funniest movie I have ever seen. Truely a must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoJ.Sep 10, 2007
Superbad is easily the funniest movie of the summer and the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VidM.Sep 5, 2007
Superbad is superbomb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenS.Sep 9, 2007
I laughed my ass off, my wife did not enjoy the movie because i laughed too hard, when the credits rolled, I could not stand up from laughing, i had tears streaming down my face!!! i was in a euphoric state from this movie!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SteveM.Jan 23, 2008
This movie was absolutely, gut busting hilarious. The awkward moments, although a little difficult to watch, very accurately portrayed modern teen life. However, the movie would have done well with more Fogle. He was the real hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamP.Aug 6, 2008
I loved this movie. It was hilarious and also showed a contrast between the teenager's boastful talk of sex and the "real world" and their actual fears and insecurities on the matter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UNBJul 31, 2009
The best movie ever! The movie is full of laughs, teen comedy, sex and a true coming-of-age story just like American Pie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
SheaN.Nov 15, 2007
Only recent comedy with real life situations throughout. Just like my life. thats why I find it so hilarious. Awesome cast. Love the improv.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WEEKSYBNov 22, 2007
It's amazingly well done. A return of the shock-comedy that Animal House did perfectly and nothing until now has bested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeI.Dec 12, 2007
So fucking funny, and they didn't cut corners to make it politically correct or mask what high school really is, and it is, believe me, I'm a junior, i know how it goes down and that was the fucking funnies representation of it i So fucking funny, and they didn't cut corners to make it politically correct or mask what high school really is, and it is, believe me, I'm a junior, i know how it goes down and that was the fucking funnies representation of it i have ever seen. Comedy at its finest 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenBDec 4, 2007
This movie is flat-out hilarious. Extremely crude, and not for all tastes, but those who enjoyed other Judd Apatow movies like Knocked Up will be very appreciative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToryPDec 4, 2007
Great movie. Perhaps one of the best comedies that I've ever seen. It perfectly captures the awkwardness of the teen years (especially high school). I'm not sure why there are so many 0-5 scores. I guess some people just don't Great movie. Perhaps one of the best comedies that I've ever seen. It perfectly captures the awkwardness of the teen years (especially high school). I'm not sure why there are so many 0-5 scores. I guess some people just don't remember what it's like to be young. And yes the movie is crude but that by no means makes it instantly forgettable. It's sweet also. There's real emotion between Michael Cera and Jonah Hill's character's Seth and Evan. Get ready for one of the best comedies of the decade. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathalieKimAug 13, 2007
I saw this movie a month ago at a pre-screening. I was laughing through the entire movie, I am sure I missed alot of other funy moments. I plan on going to the theater and watching it again. I have never said that about a movie before.I saw this movie a month ago at a pre-screening. I was laughing through the entire movie, I am sure I missed alot of other funy moments. I plan on going to the theater and watching it again. I have never said that about a movie before. This is definitely a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikkiGAug 17, 2007
Simply awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendanCAug 17, 2007
OMFG! I havn't laughed that hard in ages! I had so-so expectations for this movie but it was the funniest thing I've seen in this, hell, it's even the funniest movie of the 21st century!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikekAug 18, 2007
this is definitely the funniest movie of the year. the characters are so likable and easy to relate to. highly recommendable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThisGuyAug 24, 2007
This movie is full of fart, dick and lame jokes, but thats what makes it good. It is a funny ride that is filled with a great supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackDAug 25, 2007
American Pie was Hollywood GARBAGE! Superbad, is ten times better. It's smarter, funnier and has much better actors. "Apatow and Rogen are comedy poison"??? What the hell are you talking about... maybe you should stick to BRATZ.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanNAug 26, 2007
Funny because it's true. Superbad captures the late teen mindset perfectly. The dialogue passes as uncontrived, lending to its believability. Simply a great film, with a great story line that many can relate to. Just not one to see with Funny because it's true. Superbad captures the late teen mindset perfectly. The dialogue passes as uncontrived, lending to its believability. Simply a great film, with a great story line that many can relate to. Just not one to see with the parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeklandB.Aug 26, 2007
Superbad is a much needed alternative to todays irritatingly unrealistic superficial toyline-based teeny bopper "bitch flicks". It's perfectly awkward, real, and while raunchy and inappropriate, still possesses an overwhelming and Superbad is a much needed alternative to todays irritatingly unrealistic superficial toyline-based teeny bopper "bitch flicks". It's perfectly awkward, real, and while raunchy and inappropriate, still possesses an overwhelming and charming sincerity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardSep 21, 2007
Don't take it too seriously. the fact is, it was probably the funniest movie I've seen in my entire life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJ.Sep 21, 2007
I laughed heartily ever one or two minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinrSep 27, 2007
b e, I'm sadly disappointed at your grammar (I and my friends). Also you say, "this is what older people thought high school to be like." In reality, Seth Rogen wrote the script with his friend, Evan Goldberg, when he was thirteen!b e, I'm sadly disappointed at your grammar (I and my friends). Also you say, "this is what older people thought high school to be like." In reality, Seth Rogen wrote the script with his friend, Evan Goldberg, when he was thirteen! Anyways, I thought this movie was so fucking hilarious. It is really only intended for a younger audience because we totally get it, but it's still every thing a comedy should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LDuDec 16, 2007
This movie's frickin hilarious and a little gross: Penis drawings, a chick having period. Yeah...the losers never get the girls in real life but who gives a shit cause this film is the best high school comedy I've seen in a long This movie's frickin hilarious and a little gross: Penis drawings, a chick having period. Yeah...the losers never get the girls in real life but who gives a shit cause this film is the best high school comedy I've seen in a long time. but don't go watch it with your girlfriend (watch knocked up instead), watch with friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MyBackLocationDec 25, 2007
You scratch your back we'll scratch yours The funny thing about my back is that its located on my... end of story Superbad is a 10 for so many reason McLOVIN THE COPS THE BLOOD STAIN THE "drawings" end of story its a 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Wildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's howWildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's how incredibly funny this movie is. The soundtrack adds a fantastic funky 70's vibe, and the film simply never gets boring or completely ridiculous. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DuffladJun 15, 2012
I have no idea where people come up with negative reviews about superbad. Is it that you're too old or that you expected a Artsy flick? It is what it is, and its amazing for that. Seth Rogen embodies the youth demographic in this hilariousI have no idea where people come up with negative reviews about superbad. Is it that you're too old or that you expected a Artsy flick? It is what it is, and its amazing for that. Seth Rogen embodies the youth demographic in this hilarious film of friends, determination, and social status. I love all the curve balls that make the journey that much more exciting. Then again, I am also particularly biased because I seem to love every Seth Rogen film thus far. Keep up the good work Rogen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TarintinoCodFanDec 16, 2011
Such a funny film. Way better than the over apprciated 'The Hangover'. It has a great cast and the story between Mclovin and the cops is so great. It's only fault is it shouldn't be watched with parents, trust me...
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BigShotJoshMay 18, 2012
Superbad is great! This is one of my favorite movies of all time! everytime I watch it it still makes me laugh. If you din't watch it yet you owe it to your self to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
With some bitingly astute social commentary, beautifully timed comedic elements, and some really worthwhile drama sprinkled throughout, "Superbad" is an excellent piece of generation Z cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Feb 26, 2017
Great movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and originalGreat movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and original with a good look at those friendships in high school and how awkward and fun they can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
keve16Mar 26, 2015
9.5/10................................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
barriocordobaFeb 26, 2017
This movie is an original and became an instant occult classic right there with American Pie. This is a must see for a true look into the awkward-ness of being a high school kid and having that "McLovin" friend that is super smart in class,This movie is an original and became an instant occult classic right there with American Pie. This is a must see for a true look into the awkward-ness of being a high school kid and having that "McLovin" friend that is super smart in class, but no street smarts at all. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MikeMAug 21, 2007
Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He is able to dispense a complete sense of realism in absurd situations and each film has you laughing all the way to the credits. Superbad is no exception. Two kids, Seth and Evan (played by Jonah Hill and Michael Cera respectively), are coming to the end of their high school years, and are facing the fact that they will be separated by college next year. They both are lacking in the love department, and wish to enter college non-virgins. Their friend Fogell (played hilariously by Christopher Mintz-Plasse), gets a fake ID, which sets them up as alcohol-snatchers for a party the upcoming night, with Seths crush hosting, and Evans crush going. The events that follow are hilarious. Although these boys have never known a womans sexual touch, they are still complete perverts, and scenes like the one in the chemistry class will have you bursting your gut. Also, the friendship between Seth and Evan can parallel the best friend kinship many felt during the high school years, where you never noticed how you acted slightly homosexual with your best friend, running by their needs and wants, and having petty arguments with them. Plus, Mclovins trip with the cops is a complete breeze, giving you laughter throughout every scene. Mclovins sense of partying and his blind innocence to finally just enjoying life is endearing, in a very different sort of way. When the two boys get to the party, and hilarities ensue, they are set out to either receive sex, or possibly learn a lesson about what girls really want. Slightly not as funny as Knocked Up, it is still a perfect pick for a great time at the theaters. Go, enjoy, and party with McLovin! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NapW.Sep 7, 2007
The funniest film I've seen in years. I can't remember the last time I laughed so much.
8 of 9 users found this helpful
9
RonnyVAug 20, 2007
makes you laugh the whole way through. i thought this movie was better than Knocked Up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KristinHAug 20, 2007
Funny, charming, sweet, and ridiculously (and hilariously) vulgar, Superbad is worth a see to anyone who enjoys dirty jokes with a dash of heartfelt emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JayK.Aug 22, 2007
Extremely crass (I would say to its detriment at the beginning), this movie is nonetheless a classic. I believe it is the best movie in ever made in it's genre. Funny, smart, charming, and the jokes are very clever even if the premise Extremely crass (I would say to its detriment at the beginning), this movie is nonetheless a classic. I believe it is the best movie in ever made in it's genre. Funny, smart, charming, and the jokes are very clever even if the premise isn't. Nice ending. You must be able to enjoy extremely crass language to enjoy the clever humor in this movie. Go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrancisSSep 1, 2007
aside from the dream-like cops, the movie is quite realistic. its a 10 if the cops were more like, well, cops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimonMSep 3, 2007
The only reason I give it a 9 and not a 10 is because I was told it was comperable to Fast Times at Ridgemont High. I'm sorry this film is no Fast Times, it is still a great picture just not quite Fast Times great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamC.Feb 2, 2008
I loved this movie. It was like a Friday night out with you buddies as a teenager. Sure, it was a lot more outlandish, but hey, isn't that the point?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaelr.Oct 10, 2007
It is the best teenage sex comedy since Porkys. and it is the best teenage comedy since American Graffiti.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexDec 10, 2007
A brilliant comedy. It's almost as funny reading some of these reviews. Mark G!!! I think you missed the humor. Macho cops!? Um yeah, thats sort of the joke. And the cheesy sentiment! I think you missed something... I guess this movie A brilliant comedy. It's almost as funny reading some of these reviews. Mark G!!! I think you missed the humor. Macho cops!? Um yeah, thats sort of the joke. And the cheesy sentiment! I think you missed something... I guess this movie really demands a certain sense of humor. Some people just don't have it. Overall a great film for people who are not easily offended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
THATMOVIEGUYAug 19, 2007
Sooo funny. Seth Rogen has brings it (he co-wrote it), and the 2 stars are just as insanely cast as everything Judd Apatow has ever done. Long live the John Hughes/Kevin Smith of the almost over decade. And hopefully, Judd Apatow won't Sooo funny. Seth Rogen has brings it (he co-wrote it), and the 2 stars are just as insanely cast as everything Judd Apatow has ever done. Long live the John Hughes/Kevin Smith of the almost over decade. And hopefully, Judd Apatow won't make a Jersey Girl or Knocked Up 2 to spoil it his reign anytime soon. Oh yeah, and this movie is freaking hilarious to the max! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ReneeP.Aug 21, 2007
"The names of Apatow and Rogen are comedy poison"? Umm...if you didn't like their material going into the movie, what makes you think you would have liked this? Superbad was hilarious and, except for a few slow parts, was executed near "The names of Apatow and Rogen are comedy poison"? Umm...if you didn't like their material going into the movie, what makes you think you would have liked this? Superbad was hilarious and, except for a few slow parts, was executed near perfectly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickA.Aug 20, 2007
We
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CraigF.Aug 31, 2007
This movie was real good. there were so many funny parts that made me think about things and i wouldn't have even thought of them myself. cops can actually be really hilarious, as this movie will show you. and it's not just what This movie was real good. there were so many funny parts that made me think about things and i wouldn't have even thought of them myself. cops can actually be really hilarious, as this movie will show you. and it's not just what you except. its also so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathrynSep 24, 2007
Funny but really crude. but i like crude. but even for me it was kind of awkward being a girl and sitting next to a bunch of guys and trying to watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricK.Sep 3, 2009
I don't see why people think this is a bad movie. its a awesome kickass movie. although the ending sucked, the movie as a whole rocked and made me and my friends laugh and i think that's what counts.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
PavTNov 24, 2007
Hand Down The Best Comedy Of 2007! Get ready to laugh your way through the entire movie - its like American Pie Revisited. If you haven't seen this yet - the joke's on you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanBlAug 17, 2007
Painfully funny. Both glaringly realistic and over the top. May contain the funniest dialogue in a movie all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TupacAug 18, 2007
wow this movie had some of the best one liners i have ever heard. It was funny until the middle when it got a little serious but got funny again at the end. The whole theater was laughing out loud which is rare. Not as good as Knocked Up wow this movie had some of the best one liners i have ever heard. It was funny until the middle when it got a little serious but got funny again at the end. The whole theater was laughing out loud which is rare. Not as good as Knocked Up imho but still a very funny movie that is worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JesseAug 19, 2007
superfunny! i would have given it at 10 but the police side story went a little too long for my taste. aside from that, i laughed the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TracyS.Aug 24, 2007
Oh God. I saw this movie twice: the first time, I was thinking that somewhere in the 7/10 range would be more appropriate rating than what I'm giving it now. The second time, the perception I had of it from before was fresh in my mind. Oh God. I saw this movie twice: the first time, I was thinking that somewhere in the 7/10 range would be more appropriate rating than what I'm giving it now. The second time, the perception I had of it from before was fresh in my mind. Obviously, the script is riddled with jokes, and seeing it twice reinforced each one of them, as well as the facial expressions of the main characters, which is half the fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianKAug 29, 2007
It did what many lesser comedies fail to do: make me laugh out loud throughout the entire film. Admittedly, there isn't much of a plot beyond three friends trying to get laid before leaving high school, causing me not to give Superbad a It did what many lesser comedies fail to do: make me laugh out loud throughout the entire film. Admittedly, there isn't much of a plot beyond three friends trying to get laid before leaving high school, causing me not to give Superbad a perfect score, but the lack of plot wasn't a huge problem. The film also contained curses in every other sentence, but the movie is aimed at the kinds of people who don't mind such language. In short, Superbad is a great comedy and Mclovin is a great character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WadeT.Sep 27, 2007
Another Apatow gem that accepts what society is and uncovers what's driving it. Two high school social outcasts face impending departures to college and try for one shot at teenage immortality by supplying booze to a end of year party. Another Apatow gem that accepts what society is and uncovers what's driving it. Two high school social outcasts face impending departures to college and try for one shot at teenage immortality by supplying booze to a end of year party. The simple chase to fine alcohol, and the possibility of drunken sex that drives it, is funny in that uncomfortably true way Apatow has for presenting down to earth situations. The teenagers in Superbad aren't role models, but they aren't horrible human beings either, they just seem plausible people with good and bad tendencies. Which is what drives much of the comedy as no matter how crude the language or scenarios presented, the main characters of Superbad carve out their own identities that seem relatable. Therefore the leads always appear just as lost as you would imagine two awkward teenagers out for a one shot at glory. Also, ladies don't kid yourselfs, you've all wound up with a less than Brad Pitt like love interest in your life. So these guys would have a shot with who they're after. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.Mar 18, 2008
This is the best movie I've seen for a long time. I'd say it's even better and more funny than American Pie, even though I'm a great fan of those.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenFMay 1, 2013
A film that delivers in every way it should, while still being hilarious and side-splitting from start to finish. Jonah Hill and Michael Cera lead at cast that at this point were relatively unknown, but have now escalated to brighterA film that delivers in every way it should, while still being hilarious and side-splitting from start to finish. Jonah Hill and Michael Cera lead at cast that at this point were relatively unknown, but have now escalated to brighter pastures. It's a coming of age film minus the subtlety, but very much plus the swearing and penis jokes a plenty.
Seth (Hill) and Evan (Cera) are hapless students not far off graduation, and are on a mission to not only lose their virginity, but also to leave high school on a high. But of course standing in their way is their 'acquaintance' Fogell (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) who is equally as deluded as his counterparts. He devises a plan to acquire a fake ID to purchase alcohol for a big party later that night, hosted by Jules (Emma Stone).
But of course everything goes downhill from there, but as predictable as the plot was, it was surprising at how hilarious it turned out being.
Fogell goes a bit silly with his ID and calls himself 'McLovin' and the reaction of his friends is simply priceless, and when he finally plucks up the courage to get the alcohol, certain events change how he thought his night was going to be. This is a teen film with an infusion of clever writing, a comedic play on stereotypes and memorable characters with their own story and own role to play. The film is fantastically written by Evan Goldberg and the unforgettable Seth Rogan, who also stars in the film as a bumbling police officer, arguably one of the highlights of the film.
What Superbad doesn't attempt to do is easily play to cliches of other teen dramas, the motive and outline is still there, but is played out in an entirely different fashion. Its crude but loveable because this really is how the current generation of hormonal teens get by in their day to day lives, with profanity laced tongues, but in this case to our very own enjoyment.
Again, a strong cast which is lead truly by the comedy genius of Jonah Hill, who combines jokes about his own physical appearance to downsize those who challenge him, which is Evan. Michael Cera plays the kid who would run from his own shadow, but plays to his strength of being the awkward teen at various parts in the film.
Superbad will leave you surprised at its ability to keep you laughing at the most bizarre of situations, with a cast who are trying so hard to grow up, but also find it difficult to break friendly routine.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jan 30, 2013
This is one very funny movie that any teen or young adult can totally relate to (well maybe not the cool cops part but you catch my drift). It's the memorable characters and hilarious events in the film that make this enjoyable to watch, andThis is one very funny movie that any teen or young adult can totally relate to (well maybe not the cool cops part but you catch my drift). It's the memorable characters and hilarious events in the film that make this enjoyable to watch, and while it's a little silly its also well written. The young cast are fantastic, props to the leads Jonah Hill & Michael Cera, as well as newbie 'McLovin'. Overall a top-notch comedy that is definitely bound to make you laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
python2000Aug 13, 2013
A very clever comedy which never stops being funny. The characters are the funniest thing in the whole film, Christopher Mintz Plasse plays the now legendary McLovin (who's real name is Fogell), Michael Cera is the nice guy Evan and JonahA very clever comedy which never stops being funny. The characters are the funniest thing in the whole film, Christopher Mintz Plasse plays the now legendary McLovin (who's real name is Fogell), Michael Cera is the nice guy Evan and Jonah Hill is the unlikeable douche. Every scene is hysterical and the music gets you singing along. Superbad is one of my favorite comedies ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
This hectic journey of two high-schoolers on a mission to get laid is fueled by hilarious one-liners, a nerdy friend and honest depiction of teenage life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews