User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 109
  2. Negative: 40 out of 109
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jake
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Cindy: Sex? Really? Sweet! I'm so going to see this one now. Any other suggestions?
  2. Shawn
    Mar 30, 2008
    7
    True, this movie is bad, but that is the way it is supposed to be. The sole goal of this film is to take a popular movie and rip on it, which this does very well. I found it to be funny, but it obviously won't be nearly as funny if you have not seen the films it parodies.
  3. AlexG.
    Apr 11, 2008
    8
    An excellent spoof from the master's of parody themselves, although extremely offensive, the stephen hawking gags are phenomenally good.
  4. TomV.
    Apr 25, 2008
    8
    Fill of corny jokes - which are funny! I don't understand how its reviews are bad, it's supoosed to rip of Spidermarn and make it funny. It does that. Good to see a great 'Movie' film!
  5. JayH.
    Jun 27, 2008
    6
    Okay, it's no classic comedy, but it did make me laugh. The cast is good, it has a funny premise. I enjoyed it. Cleverly written at times.
  6. DallinP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    It is by far the best stupid comedy to come out in the last few years. If you don't like the stupid spoof genre, don't watch this movie. If you do like it, this one is the best since the old Jim Abrahams ones.
  7. HarrisonF.
    Sep 26, 2009
    8
    The story was quite good, and the comedy was HILARIOUS!
  8. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    The best spoof movie I ever watched.
  9. Oct 1, 2012
    3
    Superhero Movie is not a completely satisfying comedy film. It works to an extent as an accurate Spider-Man parody. It has serviceable comedy performances from Drake Bell, Christopher McDonald and Leslie Nielsen and has an amusing minor role for Jeffrey Tambor, and the whole cast make the very best they can of writer/director Craig Mazin's mostly uninspiring script. The film is far weakerSuperhero Movie is not a completely satisfying comedy film. It works to an extent as an accurate Spider-Man parody. It has serviceable comedy performances from Drake Bell, Christopher McDonald and Leslie Nielsen and has an amusing minor role for Jeffrey Tambor, and the whole cast make the very best they can of writer/director Craig Mazin's mostly uninspiring script. The film is far weaker when the story veers off on tangents and tries to spoof films other than Sam Raimi's Spider-Man films in obvious and embarrassingly unfunny ways, particularly criminal is the offensively bad X-Men parody featuring Tracy Morgan. Since it does make you laugh now and again (mostly from ZAZ-influenced jokes that likely resulted from David Zucker serving as one of the film's producers), Superhero Movie is definitely on the better side of bad films, and is far superior to the woeful Epic Movie and Disaster Movie. It's just a shame that it's not more consistently funny, as there is little left to hide Craig Mazin's pretty sloppy filmmaking technique when you're not laughing. At the end of the day, being "the best of the Scary Movie spin-offs" isn't really much of an accolade. Collapse
  10. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Superhero Movie just needs a psychiatrist. It's so stupid, that I would watch Troll 2 again instead of watching this piece of crap. Every character goes s**t in this movie. Craig Mazin doesn't know what Spiderman or sex jokes are if you used a spoof in a film. The actors FART in this film.
  11. Ben
    Jul 16, 2008
    4
    Had a couple of genuinely funny gags but a lot of tasteless ones. Could have deviated from the Spiderman storyline just a little bit... Pretty forgettable all up.
  12. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    This film is the greatest comedy movie I've seen. It's so funny, I can't stop laughing. If you like a kind of that comedy, don't miss this movie. Believe me!
  13. MikhailR.
    Mar 29, 2008
    8
    While I admit that SOME of the critisisms of this movie are well-founded, people seem to actually search for critisism rather then watch the movie for what it is. I for example, couldn't crack a frown during the course of the movie even if I tried. The well-positioned gags, personal pot-shots, and never ending satire is absolutely impossible to ignore. I couldn't tell you how While I admit that SOME of the critisisms of this movie are well-founded, people seem to actually search for critisism rather then watch the movie for what it is. I for example, couldn't crack a frown during the course of the movie even if I tried. The well-positioned gags, personal pot-shots, and never ending satire is absolutely impossible to ignore. I couldn't tell you how many times people gave me evil looks for bursting out in spontanious fits of laughter. I highly reccomend this movie for people who can laugh at random and satirical humor. Expand
  14. EmileF.
    Apr 4, 2008
    8
    A relly funny movie for the Superheros fan. The jokes are very very funny :)
  15. JoeyK.
    Jun 7, 2008
    4
    Not nearly as bad as I expected. Cinematically, it's horrid. Satirically, it's uninspired. Most of the jokes worked on some level, even if it was immaturity, and only a few gags were terrible. The real surprise was that there were a couple of genuinely clever and funny jokes in there. This movie doesn't do anything to recover the reputation of gag based satires, but it Not nearly as bad as I expected. Cinematically, it's horrid. Satirically, it's uninspired. Most of the jokes worked on some level, even if it was immaturity, and only a few gags were terrible. The real surprise was that there were a couple of genuinely clever and funny jokes in there. This movie doesn't do anything to recover the reputation of gag based satires, but it succeeded just enough to be passable. Expand
  16. FrancisC.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    I don't know what is with the low rating. I'm with Mikhall on this it was a great and funny movie. I'd watch it again and again. My friends even agree with me. So come on people vote and increase this rating people diserve to know how good this movie is.
  17. SueJ.
    Jun 23, 2008
    0
    We took our 9 and 11 year old to see this. It was shocking. We couldn't believe it was a 12a. We were totally misled by the title and rating. The film sensors have obviously lost the plot! Even if was an 18 who wants to see a woman with 2 tampax shoved up her nose. Total trash not suitable for any normal person to view let alone children.
  18. Evan
    May 5, 2008
    0
    This is the first film I've ever walked out on...it's hard to describe in words how low-brow and devoid of humour this film is. I didn't have any preconceptions of the movie before I saw it, so I wasn't already a hater. Having said that, I certianly am now.
  19. Robert
    Mar 28, 2008
    0
    How many of these ridiculously bad Zucker films can be put out. What is an outrage is that there's young, dedicated film makers out there with great ideas who only need a financial break to get their work put out - and yet we get these kind of cornball movies that open big, and within 3 weeks fade into obscurity. For me, the only good film of this type was Scary Movie - which is the How many of these ridiculously bad Zucker films can be put out. What is an outrage is that there's young, dedicated film makers out there with great ideas who only need a financial break to get their work put out - and yet we get these kind of cornball movies that open big, and within 3 weeks fade into obscurity. For me, the only good film of this type was Scary Movie - which is the first. Every single one of its predecessors STINK, just like this one. Expand
  20. RandyF.
    Apr 19, 2008
    0
    I wish I could give this a lower vote, I was appauled at the sex in this movie marketed to children and teens. No wonder our society is falling apart. I am sad that children are probably going to this expecting a "Drake and Josh" type fun film and could be exposed to images they should not be seeing.
  21. RudyS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    0
    Bad. Just bad. This may be the least funny movie in the "parody movie" series, that has really outlived it's welcome.
  22. TylerS.
    Jul 23, 2008
    1
    I thought this movie was supposed to be funny, but i wasn't laughing. i thought it was boring and a waste of time and money, please save yourself the anguish and go see something else, anything else!
  23. LaraB.
    Mar 29, 2008
    1
    Thrown together and horrid. A long time ago, the Weinsteins made good movies. No more.
  24. Cindy
    Apr 9, 2008
    0
    Shoud be a negative 100. It is just so awful. The whole movie theme is just about sex sex and sex. If people want to see sex they might as well watch porn.
  25. ChadS.
    May 25, 2008
    2
    Eric Holmberg, the narrator of "Hells Bells 2: The Dangers of Rock 'n' Roll", a right-wing, and occasionally right-on the money documentary about the inherent evil in popular music, complained that Hollywood often treats the Buddhists with kid gloves, while Christians have to deal with lampoon after lampoon about their faith on a regular basis. Well, Holmberg would certainly be Eric Holmberg, the narrator of "Hells Bells 2: The Dangers of Rock 'n' Roll", a right-wing, and occasionally right-on the money documentary about the inherent evil in popular music, complained that Hollywood often treats the Buddhists with kid gloves, while Christians have to deal with lampoon after lampoon about their faith on a regular basis. Well, Holmberg would certainly be pleased with "Superhero Movie", in which Dragonfly(Drake Bell) throws body blow after body blow into the Dalai Lama's solar plexus. Barry Andrews, the lead singer of Shreikback, wrote an amazing song called "Gunning for the Buddha"(from the album "Big Night Music"), that was incredibly offensive, but undeniably artful, and ultimately, provocative. "Superhero Movie" is not artful, or provocative. Beating up the Dalai Lama is just plain mean. The "Police Squad" movies, starring Leslie Nielsen, were irreverent, but nice. When Priscilla Presley stepped down from a ladder, and Lieutenant Frank Drebit said, "Nice beaver," before the King's widow produces an actual beaver. That was funny. What's not funny? Disturbing a scantily-dressed female corpse at an open casket burial. There's not an actor alive who could make this funny. Nielsen, he tries. Expand
  26. ClintH.
    Jul 15, 2008
    5
    This film had better potential, but writer-director Craig Mazin believes that good comedy is only sex jokes, fart jokes, poop jokes, pop culture and internet references are the way to go. Scattershot satire is only good until the middle of the movie. Better than Epic Movie, though.
  27. ShaunH
    Jul 25, 2008
    0
    Good....Lord..... I honestly don't think I can explain just how bad this film is using words.
  28. DD
    May 28, 2008
    1
    Sucky plot and dumb comedy....Rather watch Scary Movie 1 over and over again before I watch this again.
  29. LukeD.
    Oct 17, 2009
    5
    It was okay, its certainly better than 'Meet the Spartans' which is not saying much but still this spoof-movie scores a few laughs.
  30. Sep 2, 2012
    2
    This movie tried to copy scary movie. I don't want to see any other type of these films again. Not funny, irritating, and insulting to movies as a whole. Completely and utterly stupid.
  31. Jan 1, 2014
    3
    This isn't the worst parody film ever made, but Superhero Movie does lack in laughs (with an exception of Leslie Neilson) and it's special effects are typical of it's genre. Drake Bell is ok.
  32. Apr 9, 2011
    8
    Yes, there were indeed some unfunny parts in the movie, but all the other funny jokes made me laugh so hard that tears came out of my eyes. Overall, very good parody of one of my favorite movie genres!
  33. Feb 12, 2011
    10
    Don't listen to the hate, I loved it. I found it to be very hilarious. Some people just TRY to find flaws and not laugh to make the movie look like it sucks, it doesn't. Hilarious movie. Oddly enough, spoof movies suck but, this doesn't.
  34. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    If you ever watched one of the Scary Movies you'll feel the writers sense of humor throughout this movie, an excellent parody of super hero movie like X-Men, Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, Batman, and more, a hilarious movie, if your a fan of the Scary Movie series, than this is a must see.
  35. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    This movie actually had a consistent plot, and it made me chuckle and laught at various points thorough.

    While shamelessly borrowing ideas, scenes, and dialogue from other movies, "Superhero Movie" manages to hold itself together to the very end. There is nothing we haven't seen before, but that is the point, isn't it?
  36. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    The only thing this movie has going for it is that it quickly fades into obscurity not too long after you have seen it. Not the atrocity Meet The Spartans is, but still quite bad and uninspired.
  37. May 12, 2013
    2
    Believe me, this movie is a spoof, and all spoofs are always terrible, no question. Intimidated by this movie, seriously? Even a 7 year old can write better than this. But a 30 year old can't, BEYOND terrible.
  38. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    I'm not one to like spoof movies other than the first 2 Scary Movies. Superhero movie I think is a great spoof film. It's one of few other spoof movies that really focuses on plot and character development. Not to mention the jokes. Adding Leslie Nielsen was the right move to make a funny Spoof film.
  39. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    Metascore reviewers suck once again! 33/100? That's hardly accurate, as this movie is funny as it is raunchy and distasteful (in all the right ways!). I'd watch the sequel without a second thought. Watch this especially if you liked movies like Superbad or Kickass (1 or/and 2).
  40. Aug 5, 2013
    4
    In an age of atrocious parodies, Superhero Movie is almost like a sigh of relief, no it wasn't necessarily a good parody film, but it was a lot funnier than the majority of them being made these years.
  41. Jan 1, 2015
    3
    "Superhero Movie" provides some laughs, but on pure cinematic terms, this is a pathetically bad "Spider-Man" satire that doesn't fulfill a moviegoer's expectation.
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. 58
    Undiscriminating comedy fans hungering for the High School High of superhero parodies need look no further.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    0
    This abysmal "Spider-Man" satire has more in common with the lamentable spate of "Epic" and "Date Movies" than Zucker and Nielsen's truly funny "Naked Gun" series.
  3. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    30
    Predictable, flat, full of name-dropping, tragically unhip, and likely to make a decent amount of cash.