Surrogates

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 129
  2. Negative: 22 out of 129

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. NerijusD
    Oct 12, 2009
    4
    The idea wasn't fully thought through.
  2. Avery
    Jan 14, 2010
    4
    Bad movie. the whole surrogate thing is an excuse for wooden acting. i like willis' movies, but this one sucks. it's not about physical perfection. it's about fear of aging. if you're forty or over (as i am), it'll strike a nerve. all the main characters are in their forties and fifties and hiding in surrogates that are younger versions of themselves. almost none Bad movie. the whole surrogate thing is an excuse for wooden acting. i like willis' movies, but this one sucks. it's not about physical perfection. it's about fear of aging. if you're forty or over (as i am), it'll strike a nerve. all the main characters are in their forties and fifties and hiding in surrogates that are younger versions of themselves. almost none of the possibilities for surrogate athletic action are exploited. this is a film about botox, basically. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2011
    6
    "Surrogates" is a disjointed SF movie that doesn't quite grasp the idea of what its talking about. However, it still provides you elegant cinematography as well as decent entertainment thanks to the "old" Bruce Willis.
  4. CharlesN.
    Sep 26, 2009
    4
    "Surrogate
  5. MiKE
    Feb 9, 2010
    5
    Not as bad, as I thought it would be. A decent blu ray rental.
  6. JohnB.
    Sep 28, 2009
    6
    A reasonably enjoyable sci-fi romp with an interesting enough concept backing it up. Honestly, I feel the concept carries the movie through areas where it is otherwise quite weak. The philosophical musings on human-nature come across as ham-fisted, but then did anyone really expect otherwise? If it didn't have such an interesting concept driving the movie then it would have been an A reasonably enjoyable sci-fi romp with an interesting enough concept backing it up. Honestly, I feel the concept carries the movie through areas where it is otherwise quite weak. The philosophical musings on human-nature come across as ham-fisted, but then did anyone really expect otherwise? If it didn't have such an interesting concept driving the movie then it would have been an absolute failure, but for fans of sci-fi, they could do worse. Expand
  7. SreeK.
    Nov 27, 2009
    6
    Just above average...the story was excellent but execution failed. acting was top notch but sometimes we feel that when the movie will end...the climax had a bit logic.. which gives the movie a blessing...otherwise just passable...surrogates should have improved.
  8. Seanismyname
    Oct 22, 2009
    6
    I got through about half of this movie before I decided to go watch old episodes of "The Outer Limits" instead. Considering how weak the storyline was, I'd say that's a pretty good compliment to Bruce Willis' acting. Damn, he still has those fine, broad shoulders. Sometimes a Bruce Willis fantasy is the only thing that gets a guy through a long day at the office, ya know? I got through about half of this movie before I decided to go watch old episodes of "The Outer Limits" instead. Considering how weak the storyline was, I'd say that's a pretty good compliment to Bruce Willis' acting. Damn, he still has those fine, broad shoulders. Sometimes a Bruce Willis fantasy is the only thing that gets a guy through a long day at the office, ya know? The movie gets a 10 for Bruce and a 2 for plot. That averages out to a 6. Expand
  9. RayP
    Sep 29, 2009
    5
    By the numbers sci-fi actioner. Could have been so much more, but for the poor screenplay and the ham-fisted moral message. Granted the novel needed some work to put it on screen, but the source material could have worked on so many thought-provoking levels rather than being just more summer popcorn fodder.
  10. ShamimA.
    Nov 8, 2009
    6
    Nice SCI FI. though it has some I-ROBOTish issue! but the story was good. this movie needed some more. explanations. Bruce willies! rocks!
  11. ChadS.
    Sep 27, 2009
    6
    The right ending has a doppleganger, the happy ending, an unaware essence of story that puts everything in blissful order against the film's narrative organicity. Savvy moviegoers with a sixth sense(the right ending usually dies after a slew of rewrites and focus group scrutinization) can ferret out the right ending beneath the filmic posterity, which is why most major studio movies The right ending has a doppleganger, the happy ending, an unaware essence of story that puts everything in blissful order against the film's narrative organicity. Savvy moviegoers with a sixth sense(the right ending usually dies after a slew of rewrites and focus group scrutinization) can ferret out the right ending beneath the filmic posterity, which is why most major studio movies are often so unsatisfying. "Surrogates", a dystopian sci-fi'er starring Bruce Willis and his Euro-trash robot, cheats, big time, because it forges an unfounded wrinkle in the diegetic guideline that holds dominion over the film's narrative. The expediency behind the resolvability of conflict this time goes beyond formula and commercial considerations; this time, the happy ending renders everything which preceeded its self-correcting point in time, as nonsensical. The weapon used against the surrogates, established at the outset as being capable of liquefying skulls while users sit in their sim-chairs, no longer has that same killing wherewithal when it matters most. The eye-popping visual, as seen in the trailer(reminiscent of M. Night Shyamalan's "The Happening") is how "Surrogates" should end. During the climax, Willis' positioning of imminent heroism recalls the film-within-the-film in Robert Altman's "The Player", where he delivers the immortal line, "Traffic was a bitch," to a death row inmate(played by Julia Roberts), who he had just saved from a lethal injection in the nick of time. (***SPOILER ALERT***) This time, Willis lets the hairy situation with cataclysmic implications run its due course without interference, which at the time seemed antithetical to his action star persona. At the last second, we think, Tom Greer agreed with Canter(James Cromwell). But as it turns out, the FBI agent was basing his decision on an assumption about the weapon's effects on people that the filmmaker never bothers to set up. Thanks to the customary eradication of the right ending by its doppleganger, Willis still gets to be the hero, albeit through the film's utter contempt for the concept of continuity. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2010
    5
    "Surrogates?" A movie about mothers having babies for other people staring Bruce Willis as the doctor? Nope. I know right, the title had me fooled too. "Surrogates" is director Jonathan Mostow's interpretation of Robert Venditt's popular graphic novel also named "Surrogates" (and no, a graphic novel is not the same thing as a comic book). The live action adaptation of "Surrogates" is a"Surrogates?" A movie about mothers having babies for other people staring Bruce Willis as the doctor? Nope. I know right, the title had me fooled too. "Surrogates" is director Jonathan Mostow's interpretation of Robert Venditt's popular graphic novel also named "Surrogates" (and no, a graphic novel is not the same thing as a comic book). The live action adaptation of "Surrogates" is a visually stunning movie that appears to have gotten butchered along the way to be forced to fit into a 90 minute feature.

    Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
    Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2011
    6
    SURROGATES is a visually impressive and a decent film, but in some scenes, the acting wasn't good and the film seemed a bit cheep.
  14. Feb 20, 2012
    5
    Surrogates (2009): Potentially good movie with a great premise ruined by a cheesy, shallow and awkward script. If the script was fleshed out better, and the director wasn't verging on stylish action-movie mode it could have been substantial. I can't help but feel Mostow was trying to channel Spielberg here, but couldn't quite cope. Mostow is no JJ Abrams.
  15. Apr 29, 2015
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, as usual, interesting visuals combine with a weak story to create a passable film not entirely devoid of entertainment value as long as you have nothing better to do.

    Perhaps the worst aspect of this film is that it argues against its very existence, as the conclusion declares that "surrogates" are bad, and therefore the only really interesting part of the film should not exist.

    I'm troubled by the fact that two of the main villains in this film are black and that one of them is quite literally the robotic puppet of a Caucasian and both of them betray the people around them.

    Also, I'm wondering if the people who wrote the end of the film are familiar with the beginning of the film. In the beginning, the ultimate bad guy is described as having been booted out of the corporation he himself founded. You know, the corporation where they build all the surrogates. So you could understand the guy being vengeful. But by the end of the film the dialog is trying to convince us that this same guy is a psycho. Never mind that he's got motive. He just CRAZZEEEE!!! And when the guy himself spends an inevitable moment explaining himself, he doesn't even mention getting booted out of his own corporation, where they make all the surrogates. Suddenly, it's like he's got some weirdo religion. Instead of wanting vengeance against the people who booted him out, he thinks surrogates are evil and should be destroyed.

    Wow. That's pretty weak.
    Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. A mechanical sci-fi'er absent of logic or emotions. It functions as an expensive place-filler on the Disney release schedule and, as such, will be welcomed by only the least discriminating thriller fans.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Mostow's smart speculative suspenser imagines a time when people can live through ideal versions of themselves while they sit wired up at home.
  3. The filmmakers were too busy throwing together potential blockbuster material to notice all the loose ends and gaping holes in logic. Which may, ultimately, explain why Willis looks so confused throughout. Maybe he, too, is straining to locate some intelligence amid all the machinery.