DreamWorks SKG | Release Date: December 21, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 565 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
432
Mixed:
78
Negative:
55
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SheenaL.Jan 4, 2008
Tim Burton does an honourable job and taking Sondheim's show and putting it on film. The lighting, sets and make-up paint the screen well however, his choice in casting missed the mark. Depp was too small in stature to play Todd and his Tim Burton does an honourable job and taking Sondheim's show and putting it on film. The lighting, sets and make-up paint the screen well however, his choice in casting missed the mark. Depp was too small in stature to play Todd and his voice was no match for Sondheim's score when he sang in his upper register. Bonham Carter spent most of her time looking beautiful (a beautiful Mrs. Lovette?!) and lacked the timing and punctuation needed to get all of the laughs from her songs. The extra scenes that were written into the movie were superfluous but the movie still entertained. It was the youngest three lesser known actors who delivered the vocals the way they were meant to be. I plan to be the first in line to get the DVD. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Feb 15, 2008
Excellent film, great soundtrack, great story, lovely. Definitely worth your time!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AnneR.Feb 20, 2008
Awesome music, amazing acting, outstanding movie! One of the best films I've ever seen. I honestly was not expecting to like it, but I was pleasantly surprised! Had me singing for weeks afterward!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ZackM.Jan 3, 2010
Not my favorite movie but it is my favorite musical. the reason being is that it is gory bloody and sadistic not like any other movie i've seen. and not to mention johnny depp truly brought out the sympathetic side of a madmen very good Not my favorite movie but it is my favorite musical. the reason being is that it is gory bloody and sadistic not like any other movie i've seen. and not to mention johnny depp truly brought out the sympathetic side of a madmen very good work on burtons part. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RavenDec 23, 2007
Simply a very good movie. Takes the image musicals have to a whole new level. A must see, and in my opinion the best Johnny Depp movie to date.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlbinGFeb 3, 2008
Brilliant stuff. I just find it ashame that the ratings around the net are being dragged down by people giving it poor reviews based on the fact that it is a musical. Some people have actual complaints about the music, which i have no Brilliant stuff. I just find it ashame that the ratings around the net are being dragged down by people giving it poor reviews based on the fact that it is a musical. Some people have actual complaints about the music, which i have no problem with. It's just when people give it 0 siting "it's a musical lol so it must sucks obviously". I thought the music was brilliant. I felt that Anthony was a bit weak in the long run. A few too many mushy glazed leers into the middle-distance. I thought everyone else did their job well. Good music, good singing, good entertainment. Some excellent suspense work, as well as lots of (thematically justified) blood. I was gripped after 5 minutes. Good stuff all round. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
Nico.Mar 10, 2008
This film is so cool, i can't forget all the songs and the blood.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GatsbyJ.Mar 7, 2008
-I don't think Burton is a "genius" but contarary to Phil D's passionate tirade against the director, I think Burton's movies are fun to watch and I do like the visual style. But as for those brilliant reviewers who say they -I don't think Burton is a "genius" but contarary to Phil D's passionate tirade against the director, I think Burton's movies are fun to watch and I do like the visual style. But as for those brilliant reviewers who say they hate the movie and list "boring boring boring" or eloquently complain that "nobody dance" during the movie, they're not really giving much detail. -I like the movie because the plot was simple and compelling, the idea of the two lovers who can't be together (Depp's character and the woman he loved), but twisted around slightly by echoing them in a younger generation of lovers who have hope of happiness. I thought the visual style was excellent, and here's an EXAMPLE (people need to give more of these): the moment when Depp's character gets his box of barber-knives back and holds one up to his face, and you see his mad, twisted reflection in the clear silver of the blade, and he says that his arms is once again complete. Anyone want to argue that Burton's directing or Depp's acting or the script was off during that moment? London was also grim and beautifully depicted, as fits the whole Industrial Revolution look of it. -The music was fantastic and the singing was much better than I thought it would be (people tended to cringe when the first line of the movie was sung, but then they started getting into it). -Acting was great, especially Depp and Rickman. My only problem was the ending was rushed and flawed, since we don't really get any info on the young lovers. -Good movie; watch it, then judge it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SimonB.Apr 6, 2008
I've been a movie-goer since I was little. I've been watching movies on and off the TV. There isn't much I haven't already seen and there isn't much I can't compare to something else. For once, we get a movie I've been a movie-goer since I was little. I've been watching movies on and off the TV. There isn't much I haven't already seen and there isn't much I can't compare to something else. For once, we get a movie that's quality, that's creative. It's a remake of a play and it shows. I think with all the effort put through this , some people (COUGH PHIL.D COUGH) should have more consideration. Instead of hating the movie just because it's made by Tim Burton, you should try actually watching it. I am a musician and I would say that the camera play was dead-on with the music. It always FIT it was always where it should be. Timing things such as gestures to every beat made it all the more interesting as a musical comedy. The plot was simply revenge involving Judge Turpin and Benjamin (AKA Sweeney Todd) Barker, played by J-Depp. Johnny Depp is a brilliant actor, as Tim Burton said it, the actors weren't meant to be full of life in their movements, because that's what the make-up was for. How contradictory would it be for a "cold, bitter man" to play "lively musical dancer", do you think? The singing I wouldn't find anything "embarrassing" into as some have said. Johnny Depp didn't strike a note wrong and he was singing very well. Everything playing in that movie I found catchy and it's really cruel to pretend that it's nothing but scrap heap. There was TREMENDOUS effort put through this by the actors and the crew. There aren't bad movies: Just bad audiences. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Jul 1, 2008
A Masterpiece, made even moreso by Johnny Depp. I ask, 'is there nothing this man cannot do?'
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
NicholasGApr 15, 2009
I felt that scenes which did not involve Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter were much more interesting. The exeption to this is the shaving competition which was only good because of Sacha Baron Cohen, who by the way was my favourite I felt that scenes which did not involve Johnny Depp or Helena Bonham Carter were much more interesting. The exeption to this is the shaving competition which was only good because of Sacha Baron Cohen, who by the way was my favourite character and probably sung the best. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RichardB.Dec 22, 2007
Sweeney Todd is the PERFECT film musical.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
DeborahL.Dec 24, 2007
Burton seems to have made every choice correctly, from the intense but unshowy singing to the borderline bizarre art direction, finding the humanity in the inhumane and making you believe the whole ghastly business. And the music is exquisite!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MikeY.Dec 20, 2007
What a HORROR..in a great way. See this movie. It will give you chills, thrills and laughs for a long time to come.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ErynD.Dec 26, 2007
Overall, as a fan of the stage production, I was more than satisfied with this adaptation. It's visually beautiful, the orchestration is magnificent, the acting is fairly good, and the singing really grew on me, especially now that I Overall, as a fan of the stage production, I was more than satisfied with this adaptation. It's visually beautiful, the orchestration is magnificent, the acting is fairly good, and the singing really grew on me, especially now that I see it set against the characters in motion. "Pretty Women" still bugged me the way it always did in the stage show, but I was surprised that Anthony's "Johanna" solo didn't bug me at all since they trimmed it down, I think. I had some issues with it, but I don't think its faults are big enough to really knock off any points with me, personally. Especially after seeing it multiple times, the things that bugged me the first time don't really bug me much at all anymore. Go see it, everyone! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 27, 2007
Laugh at the man who sings showtunes and he'll slice your throat. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" actually made me smile...at blood. It's not the blood itself; it's the blood in juxtaposition with song, and Laugh at the man who sings showtunes and he'll slice your throat. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" actually made me smile...at blood. It's not the blood itself; it's the blood in juxtaposition with song, and that is a combination audiences have never seen before. "Sweeney Todd" is unbelievably violent. The filmmaker miraculously finds the right tone for all those slit throats that fall somewhere between graphic and whimsical. Johnny Depp(imagine Nick Cave) and Helena Bonham Carter(imagine Siouxsie Sioux) are brilliant as Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett. They're sociopaths. They don't have an ounce of good in them. The filmmaker had the guts to make both leads completely ruthless and evil. "Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street" accomplishes the unthinkable; it's a guy's night out musical. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TomR.Dec 27, 2007
Visually stunning. Burton does more for black dark hued films than most black and white movies. The singing is a bit thin. Both Depp and Helena Boham Carter have comparatively quiet voices. They make up for it with their acting. If you loved Visually stunning. Burton does more for black dark hued films than most black and white movies. The singing is a bit thin. Both Depp and Helena Boham Carter have comparatively quiet voices. They make up for it with their acting. If you loved the musical you will love the movie. Audience unfamiliar with SWT may find the movie quite a shock. The movie is awash with spurting arterial blood. But then thats what you would expect. The audience we saw the film murmured a lot at the end of the picture. Actually listening to the soundtrack at home after the movie, proved richer. Theater sound systems are built more to deal with explosions and dialogue. So I think the recording does a better job at capturing music. What impressed me about the film was how I understood every lyric sung in the musical dialogue. I heard lyrics much clearer than I have often heard in live theatre. If you like Sweeney Todd the musical...I can't imagine you won't like the movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SoniaA.Jan 1, 2008
I thought this was a really Good movie!! you have Johnny depp and Helena Bothen-cart two good actors and then you have Tim burton The best Director you can't go wrong!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MaynaJan 1, 2008
I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! Besides the stupid unneccesary blood that they put in, it was purely wonderful!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
CourtneyE.Jan 4, 2008
This was the best movie ever i mean it really moved and made you just want to see it more and more times.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JenyaP.Jan 5, 2008
I was so impressed with this movie and my husband who doesn't like musicals enjoyed it so much that he asked when we were going to be able to go and get the soundtrack because ever since we saw it he has been singing the songs from it!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexQJan 8, 2008
I saw this movie 2xs on consecutive days, first at an AMC, last at a Harkins. The AMC was glorious, strong color and resonant sound. The Harkins viewing was awful--the speakers couldn't handle the higher register so Carter sounded tinny I saw this movie 2xs on consecutive days, first at an AMC, last at a Harkins. The AMC was glorious, strong color and resonant sound. The Harkins viewing was awful--the speakers couldn't handle the higher register so Carter sounded tinny & horrible. Either the film print was bad or the projector bulb weak, but the color was completely desaturated as well. Many times characters were half lost in the shadows. It was very close to a Drive in experience--which makes me wonder if those who did not enjoy the movie saw it under conditions ala Harkins. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
TanmayS.Feb 5, 2008
too operatic to be involving, and the music gets to you after a point. But brilliant, not least for its performances.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JessicaHFeb 9, 2008
Beautiful adaptation of the stage musical. Johnny Depp's and Helena Bonham Carter's singing wasn't that great, but the overall effect was fantastic. The cinematography was stunning, and the acting was equally amazing. I Beautiful adaptation of the stage musical. Johnny Depp's and Helena Bonham Carter's singing wasn't that great, but the overall effect was fantastic. The cinematography was stunning, and the acting was equally amazing. I can't say enough good things about the movie, although it was more gory than I expected. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
keApr 13, 2008
Best Tim Burton film and best johnny depp film. The songs are good and the ending just tragic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BrandonM.May 10, 2008
One of my favorite films! I love how the music was used to tell the story rather than to overdue the certain topic at hand; as most musical films do. This film reminds me of the old Tim Burton films, with the dark pale skin, sunken eyes, and One of my favorite films! I love how the music was used to tell the story rather than to overdue the certain topic at hand; as most musical films do. This film reminds me of the old Tim Burton films, with the dark pale skin, sunken eyes, and dark backgrounds (even though its day). Johnny Depp was extremely good in this part, even with him singing! I highly recommend this film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MatthewK.Dec 20, 2007
Brilliant adaptation of one of the most brilliant pieces of theatre ever written. Wonderful performances, tight direction and writing, genius music and lyrics, and breathtaking visuals. One of the best films of the year, and by far the best Brilliant adaptation of one of the most brilliant pieces of theatre ever written. Wonderful performances, tight direction and writing, genius music and lyrics, and breathtaking visuals. One of the best films of the year, and by far the best movie musical in nearly 40 years (since Oliver!) Just wonderful. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StarrLightDec 20, 2007
Excellent movie! The most fun I have had watching a bloodbath, ever!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
StephenVanG.Dec 22, 2007
Do not let reviews and comments from others help make your mind up. See Sweeney Todd for yourself! Having been a devotee of the musical since seeing the original production - this is a faithful and beautiful production. The much talked about Do not let reviews and comments from others help make your mind up. See Sweeney Todd for yourself! Having been a devotee of the musical since seeing the original production - this is a faithful and beautiful production. The much talked about gore is for this viewer played for comic relief not horror. What I can say is simply - GO make up your own mind. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JaneB.Dec 23, 2007
I've been a fan of the play/music for over 20 years. Wasn't sure what to expect, but Tim Burton's movie was WAY better then I even imagined it could be! The music stayed true to Sondheim - I was way impressed!!!
2 of 2 users found this helpful