Screen Gems | Release Date: October 11, 2002
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
6
Negative:
22
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
MatsL.Apr 1, 2003
Madonna...please stop acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
smijatovJan 8, 2011
When one thought Madonna finally got critical acclaim with 'Evita' she does this. Gosh. It is one of the worst films I have ever had the displeasure to watch. Madonna's acting was just unbelievably bad, as well as Giannini's was (if notWhen one thought Madonna finally got critical acclaim with 'Evita' she does this. Gosh. It is one of the worst films I have ever had the displeasure to watch. Madonna's acting was just unbelievably bad, as well as Giannini's was (if not worse, even). The predictable storyline is not just predictable, but it is almost insulting to one's intelligence. Horrible story, horrible acting, dialogue that could be better used on a piece of toilet paper: that is what Swept Away is. Definitely deserved all 5 Razzie Awards it won... as well as the two it failed winning. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
itz_giologicalMay 23, 2011
Everyone involved in this could've done right. But sadly, almost everything's wrong. It's a total misstep from Madonna, Guy Ritchie and even the butchered fishes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
kowalskiAug 27, 2011
As much as you have to love Madonna as a singer, she cannot act. She just cannot. Because of that, the movie is already ruined. You have to admire her for trying, but you can't admire the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
gagaforeverMar 5, 2012
This film actually was surprisingly good. I rented the video before I read the reviews, and after I read the recviews I was a little nervous to watch it. When I did watch it, I was delighted to see that it was an actual good story line.This film actually was surprisingly good. I rented the video before I read the reviews, and after I read the recviews I was a little nervous to watch it. When I did watch it, I was delighted to see that it was an actual good story line. Despite what other critic and viewers have said, I thought Madonna's performance was pretty good! I would recommend seeing it! Although the ending was most disappointing and sad, I realized that every story can't end like a fairy tale. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
alonzoOct 28, 2011
Verdaderamente me entretuve viendo la película, me parece que ninguno de los actores principales hacen un perfecto papel pero sí lo hacen de manera adecuada. En todo caso la historia es entretenida. Puede observarse la bellezaVerdaderamente me entretuve viendo la película, me parece que ninguno de los actores principales hacen un perfecto papel pero sí lo hacen de manera adecuada. En todo caso la historia es entretenida. Puede observarse la belleza de la naturaleza, incluida la belleza de los actores principales. La tengo dentro de mi colección de películas. Por cierto: Viva la Reina Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
ChuckW.Mar 5, 2006
The original was a decent enough film, but this one is a pale copy. Don't waste your time with this drivel.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MarkCAug 23, 2007
OK, it is not a movie that overloaded critics with perception disorders would expect, but it a is little fun for average viewers. One can feel so much hate towards Madonna and Ritchie prior to making an objective judgments from critics.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StaceyG.Oct 4, 2003
This was a blah movie hat never stopped being BLAH! it could have gotten a six frm me but it seems no one who worked on the film tried hard enough to make it decent... he lack of fun and determanation just made swept away even more BLAH! This was a blah movie hat never stopped being BLAH! it could have gotten a six frm me but it seems no one who worked on the film tried hard enough to make it decent... he lack of fun and determanation just made swept away even more BLAH! very bad but not awful... just BLAH! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DorothyA.Aug 9, 2004
This was the best love story I have seen and I now have a new respect for Madonna.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SunnyY.Jan 22, 2005
This movie is so fascinating...and sexy.. I really dont get it the critics...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesLBondApr 4, 2003
Modonna I have two word for you "Stop Acting". It's like trying to put a square peg in a round hole. The original Swept Away was amazing. I think this remake could have been just as good. But filmmakers everywhere (including myself) Modonna I have two word for you "Stop Acting". It's like trying to put a square peg in a round hole. The original Swept Away was amazing. I think this remake could have been just as good. But filmmakers everywhere (including myself) here is rule number one: HIRE REAL ACTORS!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmmaJ.Jun 1, 2003
Best movie I have ever seen. Nice job Richie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrankM.Oct 14, 2003
Some look at the movie and see shallow people- but if we were there on the Island as the movie shows- we would see the real story behind the film- Thought both acting jobs fit the space given them in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliaG.Feb 18, 2003
I think this movie was very good, very surprising, emotional, and romantic....everyone just hates it cause its madonna, but once u get to the sad story behind it ull love it...must rent it and watch the whole thing!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaA.Nov 2, 2004
I don't understand everyone. I liked this movie. She was unhappy in love who became happy in love. I thought Madonna was realistic in her role. And the male interest was easy on the eyes. Whats wrong with you guys!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DeniseQ.Apr 1, 2004
Ugh...just ugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleBSep 21, 2004
I really liked the span of the camera, how the the backround drapped the emotions and moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SarahL.Dec 29, 2002
...And here's Madonna... The chick should just give up, and she knows it. Good singer, yes, but the worst actress you could ask for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattM.Feb 11, 2003
Upon it's fall 2002 release, "Swept Away" was met with overwhelming disgust from critics, hence its extremely poor performance at the box office. And all this because its star is Madonna. If you can get past all the negative hype Upon it's fall 2002 release, "Swept Away" was met with overwhelming disgust from critics, hence its extremely poor performance at the box office. And all this because its star is Madonna. If you can get past all the negative hype surrounding it, you'll find a real gem of a film. In fact, you'll find one of the best films of the year... no joke! Madonna is simply wonderful. She has never acted so well in her entire career, and she truly gives one of the year's best performances (despite what the Razzies will say!). She and costar Adriano Giannini acheive a spirited chemistry that eventually blossoms into a touching love relationship. Guy Ritchie's direction is brisk and handsome, and the film is simply gorgeous to behold, thanks to the lush tropical backdrops. The ending is truly heartbreaking, if a bit abrubt. "Swept Away" deserves a chance to be recognized as the fine film that it is. So give it that chance and see this film! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LouisP.Feb 12, 2003
This film is camp. Whether it is intented or not remains a question. Madonna is no Streep but she's slowly getting somewhere. Ritchie's direction is original in its banality. Years from now this film will be a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobH.Mar 12, 2003
I actually kind of enjoyed watching Madonna make a fool of herself. Nevertheless, this is still a boring, sexist piece of tripe.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DianeW.Dec 26, 2004
Just awful, slow, painful,acting awful, plot awful, Madonna awful, a wste of your life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DetectiveRobT.Dec 12, 2002
I love this movie! It is an effective interrogation device that makes 'em spill their guts every time?sometimes after just 5 minutes of Madonna mumbling her way through this massacre. I've forced more confessions with this baby I love this movie! It is an effective interrogation device that makes 'em spill their guts every time?sometimes after just 5 minutes of Madonna mumbling her way through this massacre. I've forced more confessions with this baby than the rack, iron maiden, and chinese water torture combined! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BOBBBJul 23, 2011
I just discovered this movie and surprised by negative reviews. Although not as great as the original I enjoyed it a great deal. Madonna was excellent and why young Giannin never did much more is a mystery. Excellent, touching movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cezaraioanaJun 22, 2015
omg this movie was so touching! I actually liked it. I don't understand all this hate for Madonna's acting. It was pretty good. I would recommend this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews