Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Oct 19, 2012
    75
    Tai Chi Zero is loads of fun to watch, especially a battle in which watermelons, bananas and other fruits and veggies serve as flying weapons.
  2. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Oct 17, 2012
    75
    The story's fundamentals remain solid, and the battle between the village of kung-fu experts and an army of 19th century technophiles is so cleverly staged and exciting that the inevitable sequel (already in the works) will be welcome, as will any future martial-arts movies that Tai Chi Zero may inspire.
  3. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Oct 18, 2012
    67
    It won't linger in the mind longer than it takes for the credits to roll, but it's a lot of fun while it lasts, and we're genuinely looking forward to part 2 at this point.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Oct 18, 2012
    65
    The dialogue is merely functional, and not always delivered convincingly.
  5. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Oct 18, 2012
    63
    Tai Chi Zero, the first film in a planned trilogy, will leave hard-core fight enthusiasts wanting. But it's a droll, pleasant diversion all the same.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    Despite its lousy script, Tai Chi Zero has an unyielding amount of nonsensical fun and excitement, and full of intentionally hystericalDespite its lousy script, Tai Chi Zero has an unyielding amount of nonsensical fun and excitement, and full of intentionally hysterical characters that overshadow any miscues, providing sufficient kung fu entertainment. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. A Kung-Fu movie with many chinese martial arts stars, but doesn't have a very solid plot that it's too cliche and vague, besides that the concept of chinese humor in some action movies doesn't really gets in my mind... have some fights with a general coreography, and mixes some comic style graphics and approaches in the movie. I prefer the more serious movies... be advised, the movie have a hook to a sequence. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2014
    6
    I didn't expect to like this movie, but I do. Silly, fun, and with some nice fight sequences, this film struck me as very odd at first becauseI didn't expect to like this movie, but I do. Silly, fun, and with some nice fight sequences, this film struck me as very odd at first because of some anime-style or comicbook-style visuals, a silent movie sequence, and a dash of steampunk. There are some notable martial arts actors and actresses in this movie as well, although their presence doesn't help much to bolster the film in terms of substance since there isn't much here. If you like ridiculous characters, silly antics, and decent martial arts fights, I suggest giving this a go. Full Review »