Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 30, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 593 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
449
Mixed:
81
Negative:
63
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
8
RussPJun 24, 2009
The chase is intelligent and intriguing. The action is gripping. The movie's fine script is well-performed by fine actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
danielbJul 30, 2009
This film is superb. The plot is outrageous and occasionally indulges it's self but its just so so so satisfying to watch a retired Jason Bourne go on a truly brutal rampage of heroic revenge. Its Bourne Supremacy + history of violence This film is superb. The plot is outrageous and occasionally indulges it's self but its just so so so satisfying to watch a retired Jason Bourne go on a truly brutal rampage of heroic revenge. Its Bourne Supremacy + history of violence - the boring aspects of reality. what more could you want!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelMAug 31, 2009
I must admit stories with little depth don't really attract me, but this story reminds me of the good ole shoot em ups (Story point is of little importance). The destination, or in this case the rescue, is the focal point, but the I must admit stories with little depth don't really attract me, but this story reminds me of the good ole shoot em ups (Story point is of little importance). The destination, or in this case the rescue, is the focal point, but the journey itself is intense and keeps you flinching on your seat. I actually found myself muttering under my breath: "Kill them", "No mercy", "kill the sons of..." etc I'm giving it a 9/10 because the last time I remember muttering all that, was when I saw Charles Bronson in Death Wish 3 mow down all the gang members with his M1919 Browning machine gun out in the street. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ImanMAug 6, 2009
He is like Max Payne face to face with Mafia just with one pistol in the end his ex-wife said just thank you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadAJan 21, 2010
A typical basic action movie Basic plot(predictable) and basic scenes(car chases, gun fights) The action scenes are too weak and boring This film is just typical and will suit the typical person and the typical action junkie Too bad my A typical basic action movie Basic plot(predictable) and basic scenes(car chases, gun fights) The action scenes are too weak and boring This film is just typical and will suit the typical person and the typical action junkie Too bad my tastes are too high Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RobbyZ.Apr 6, 2010
A unique plot without realism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeK.Jan 30, 2009
Attention 24 Fans: SEE THIS MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Feb 11, 2009
I don't see why the critics are hating on the movie so much. It is an action flick, but without a lot of the ridiculous action scenes like you would see in a Bond movie. I thought Neeson's character was similar to a Jason Bourne in I don't see why the critics are hating on the movie so much. It is an action flick, but without a lot of the ridiculous action scenes like you would see in a Bond movie. I thought Neeson's character was similar to a Jason Bourne in his 40s with a kidnapped teenage daughter. I would recommend it for anyone who is a fan of the Bourne series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JakekFeb 17, 2009
Slick production. Pretty to look at. Otherwise, illogical plot and action, terrible script [what happened to Neeson's team of pros], unbearable female lead [Maggie Grace], and cardboard actors and actresses. Final analysis: stupid movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeM.Feb 17, 2009
The critics, once again, prove they have absolutely no idea what they're talking about. If you saw the ads for Taken, thought it was going to be nothing but an action movie, then you will not be disappointed. However, if you take a The critics, once again, prove they have absolutely no idea what they're talking about. If you saw the ads for Taken, thought it was going to be nothing but an action movie, then you will not be disappointed. However, if you take a second to examine the plot, you realize that it is inherently good and isn't as impossible as some plot elements in Bourne or Bond. Neeson plays the part wonderfully, and when he actually takes the time in between car chases, torture sequences, and firefights to display his character's personality, he goes all out. I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone. Not nearly as hyped as Bourne or Bond, Taken will have you leave the theater forcibly, because you'll want to see it again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomSFeb 23, 2009
Great movie. Thrilling throughout the movie, keeps you on the edge of your seat. Not for one second will you get up after he begins looking for his daughter.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptainSFeb 3, 2009
The movie has about 10 minutes of "drag time" at the beginning and the acting of the girl that plays the kidnapped daughter (especially when her father rescues her) has a lot to be desired, but this movie kicks serious bootie and is The movie has about 10 minutes of "drag time" at the beginning and the acting of the girl that plays the kidnapped daughter (especially when her father rescues her) has a lot to be desired, but this movie kicks serious bootie and is non-stop. This needs to be a TV series. Neeson is great as usual! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFFeb 3, 2009
The critics are being way too critical. I thought it was a great movie and a pleasure to watch. The acting was great, storyline was exciting and pretty original. Neeson could easily be bond instead of Daniel Craig.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanFeb 6, 2009
There's been so many TERRIBLE action movies released in the last year (Eagle Eye, Bangkok Dangerous, etc.). Finally there's one worth seeing. Took a simple formula, and executed it to near perfection. I've seen it 3 times There's been so many TERRIBLE action movies released in the last year (Eagle Eye, Bangkok Dangerous, etc.). Finally there's one worth seeing. Took a simple formula, and executed it to near perfection. I've seen it 3 times already, and am willing to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeGFeb 6, 2009
I can sum this movie up in one word: BAMFtastic. Neeson even had a BAMF card near the end of the movie. So much action and stuff... Oh, it was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakesFeb 7, 2009
Best movie I've seen in a long time. The critics don't have very good taste to be giving a movie like this bad ratings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterPFeb 7, 2009
Exciting fast paced movie. The critics clearly panned it because they didn't approve of the politically incorrect content. Thankfully, the users are more authentic observers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GreenStreetFeb 7, 2009
This is one of those rare instances where the critics got it all wrong. The users here nailed it - this is one of the best action movies of the year. At the screening we saw, the audience clapped at then end - how often does that happen? The This is one of those rare instances where the critics got it all wrong. The users here nailed it - this is one of the best action movies of the year. At the screening we saw, the audience clapped at then end - how often does that happen? The critics blew it. Taken is non stop action after the sappy first 10 min (only reason for the 9 score). Better than the 2nd Bond and as good as the Bourne movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FomRatFeb 7, 2009
It's all they said and more. Liam Neeson is amazing -- is there anything he can't do?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnB.Feb 7, 2009
Thought it was very fun, very interesting for an action movie. I would recommend it to those who like the Bourne movies to be sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bfeFeb 8, 2009
A 50? Come on. This was an entertaining movie. Sure it's not perfect, but it's good. The action sequences were better than what we've got from the last Bourne/Bond films--simpler, easier to follow, not excessively cutting A 50? Come on. This was an entertaining movie. Sure it's not perfect, but it's good. The action sequences were better than what we've got from the last Bourne/Bond films--simpler, easier to follow, not excessively cutting between cameras. While it eventually winds up with the inevitable happy/corny ending, the portions dealing with the drug addicited sex slaves were utterly repulsive and really set the tone. It didn't drag things out, it didn't overdo it with excessive dialog, and it wasn't perfect, but it wasn't bad either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
syzygyFeb 8, 2009
This is a tired formula but with a few high points towards the middle when Liam Neeson is working his instincts and his old CIA network to recover his daughter. Once he gets through the core baddies and is forced to literally run to catch up This is a tired formula but with a few high points towards the middle when Liam Neeson is working his instincts and his old CIA network to recover his daughter. Once he gets through the core baddies and is forced to literally run to catch up to his kid, the audience will more tired than him and desperate for mercifully quick ending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamAFeb 9, 2009
I don't know how this film got such a low score amongst critics - it's very enjoyable! Great action, a passable script and some nice set pieces (apart from the green screen in the driving sequences - it was terrible!) made this as I don't know how this film got such a low score amongst critics - it's very enjoyable! Great action, a passable script and some nice set pieces (apart from the green screen in the driving sequences - it was terrible!) made this as fun as Bourne for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaleSMar 17, 2009
Taken is a realistic thriller, with plenty of chills and turns it glides far smoother than the media proclaimed - easily on par with Casino Royale! dont miss out sometimes the "professionals" are wrong go see it I can guarantee most will be Taken is a realistic thriller, with plenty of chills and turns it glides far smoother than the media proclaimed - easily on par with Casino Royale! dont miss out sometimes the "professionals" are wrong go see it I can guarantee most will be plenty pleased its a fun thrill ride don't be fooled by the media! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHMar 28, 2009
A fast paced thriller that starts out excellent, but as it develops it becomes and too far fetched. It seems there is nothing Liam Neeson's character can't do! His cleverness is unconvincing. Exciting but shallow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinMMar 7, 2009
I honestly don't know why this movie got low blows from crtics and users alike. This movie was fun to watch. Sure it's similar to a lot of thriller, suspense movies (Bourne series comes to mind), but it's a rewatchable nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackdApr 25, 2009
Okay. I'm usually a very harsh critic and even wasted 2 years studying media at college. I'd give this film 10. It's amazing. I don't understand why some people don't think it's that good... I guess they Okay. I'm usually a very harsh critic and even wasted 2 years studying media at college. I'd give this film 10. It's amazing. I don't understand why some people don't think it's that good... I guess they weren't in the right mood. I watched this movie, not reading up about it or anything. I didn't know what to expect and I was totally blown away. Great to see such a good movie that didn't come from Hollywood too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredBMay 12, 2009
This movie was incredible. For almost the whole movie, I was on the edge of my seat, dangerously close to falling off. This movie contained four things I haven't seen in a while, but was very glad they showed up here: Liam Neeson This movie was incredible. For almost the whole movie, I was on the edge of my seat, dangerously close to falling off. This movie contained four things I haven't seen in a while, but was very glad they showed up here: Liam Neeson kicking serious butt, truly despicable bad guys, some great action scenes, and a plot I could actually follow. My advice: Don't miss this absolutely AWESOME movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMMay 15, 2009
I've always been a fan of Liam Neeson so upon seeing the previews for this...it quickly became something on my "to watch" list...sadly I never got around to seeing it in theaters, but watching it at home on Blu-Ray was a treat. First of I've always been a fan of Liam Neeson so upon seeing the previews for this...it quickly became something on my "to watch" list...sadly I never got around to seeing it in theaters, but watching it at home on Blu-Ray was a treat. First of all...this film embodies what a "action film" is all about, which is a short run-time, proper "not too much not too little" introduction of the characters, and bone crunching action...and this film delivers JUST that. Liam Neeson's plays a retired government agent, whose skills involve espionage and (apparently) combat of all types...his daughter, who needs to take a chill pill, wants to take a trip to France with a friend and at her father disapproval as he worries she isn't ready to "on her own" anywhere, including Europe...he bends and lets her go at the constant nagging of his ex-wife only to have the worst happen, she gets kidnapped and now he makes it his personal mission to get her back, no matter what the cost. Neeson's character is intelligent, lethal, and most of all determined...and that determination comes from his obvious, heart-felt love for his daughter...he adores her so much that killing, torture, and potentially putting the innocent at risk are mere child's play to him...he just wants her back and will plow through anyone standing in the way. The fighting/ action in this film is brutal...bones break, faces get beat in, and bad guys get diced up...and thats just the hand-to-hand combat...the gunplay is just as deadly and unforgiving and Neeson's character is more than capable of handing this out like candy. There is fighting, gunplay, foot chases, and car chases...there is use of gadgetry, interrogation, and other things spy-related and they even through in some drama for good measure...all of this rolled up into a film JUST above the 90min. mark...impressive, and HIGHLY entertaining. This film comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED...its easily one of the more entertaining, less bloated action films ive seen in some time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
halbMay 15, 2009
Preposterous, but entertaining. Neeson is excellent in the lead role. This movie will appeal primarily to young women with 'daddy issues', I think!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BCMay 30, 2009
I don't even know where to begin...this movie is such a complete paint-by-numbers formula movie. Vacuous teen daughter played by a mid-twenties actress - CHECK; phony family situation where Dad has had life pass him by to only now I don't even know where to begin...this movie is such a complete paint-by-numbers formula movie. Vacuous teen daughter played by a mid-twenties actress - CHECK; phony family situation where Dad has had life pass him by to only now realize it - CHECK; Director that uses shifty camera work to conceal poor chase and fight scenes - CHECK ; How sad and pathetic and what a complete waste of time. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME...run for your life..save yourselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JackFJun 18, 2009
Starts a little slow, but a very fun action movie in all. Fast paste! Liam Neeson plays a great angry father. The torture and phone call scenes gave me goosebumps!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ClayTJun 23, 2009
Sure it's formulaic and farfetched, but it's so much fun who really gives a damn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnH.Jun 24, 2009
Fantastic plot, action, acting, etc. This movie is fantastic. Neeson has always been a great actor. Also, see The Chindler's List. See this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FarKJun 6, 2009
I thought it was great kept me at the edge of my seat i was really into the story, just overall one the best movies i have seen this month. It was very realistic at times and very unrealistic at others, that's the only weak point i saw.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SummerT.Jun 8, 2009
I thought this movie was full of suspense and drama. Was on the edge of the couch the entire movie. Plus, some great torture scenes!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonJul 10, 2009
Movie is great! Story line is easy to follow, lots of action, great acting and dialogue. The people who don't like this movie are the one's who can't follow the story or doesn't like it because its not realistic. Not ALL Movie is great! Story line is easy to follow, lots of action, great acting and dialogue. The people who don't like this movie are the one's who can't follow the story or doesn't like it because its not realistic. Not ALL movies have to be realistic. Otherwise we'd have some boring movies. anyway, I would suggest this movie to anyone who likes action/thriller movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Jul 26, 2009
I am disappointed that the "esteemed film critics" could only generate a 50% overall average score having reviewed this film. Frankly this film appealed to me on many levels. The action was superb. The acting was topnotch. Liam Neeson made I am disappointed that the "esteemed film critics" could only generate a 50% overall average score having reviewed this film. Frankly this film appealed to me on many levels. The action was superb. The acting was topnotch. Liam Neeson made me believe the sense of urgency any father would feel knowing his daughter was kidnapped.The white slave market is an international concern and quidos to all the actors and director Pierre Morel for revealing just how dangerous a place the world is for young women. One of the top 5 films in my video library along with Saving Private Ryan and Gladiators. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JSSep 8, 2009
Taken is kind of a teen slasher flick, mixed with a James Bond spy movie, and a Morgan Freeman suspense thriller. It starts us out being introduced to his family; his loud mouth, unthankful ex-wife and chipper young daughter, both of whom he Taken is kind of a teen slasher flick, mixed with a James Bond spy movie, and a Morgan Freeman suspense thriller. It starts us out being introduced to his family; his loud mouth, unthankful ex-wife and chipper young daughter, both of whom he can never seem to get close to or please. His desire to win their affections causes the former black ops spy to allow his daughter to go alone to Europe where she happens to fall into the trap of an Albanian sex trafficing ring. Its all pretty good at this point, the acting is very good and dialogue; very realistic, if not mundane. But then when he starts investigating her kidnapping, things just get out of control. Some of the action scenes are both very unrealistic, and go on way too long. The main character often aggravates whole armies after himself, stands infront of them guns blaring, and never gets shot. The chase scenes are terribly illogical, every other scene is a jump cut. One particular chase scene is simply an Audi commercial. A whole 5 minutes of watching a new Audi drive, with dramatic camera angels and lighting only otherwise found in a car commercial. The main character starts out as a knight in shining armor, talks about how he hates killing. After awhile the line become blurred; he is vindictive, spiteful, merciless. Harming innocent people. You hardly even realise the point where he turns and starts abusing his abilities. Find yourself rooting for him as he beats people senseless. "Taken" is a bit of wishful thinking in my opinion. What if all those girls who were kidnapped, forced into sex slavery, had fathers that could single handedly dismantle a criminal organization? What if I could show my family I'm really worth something? What if I could put an end to the world's injustice, where the law would have stopped out of selfishness? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GarrettS.Oct 13, 2009
For everybody out there reading this, Taken deserves MUCH better than a 50%. While at times, i will admit the story-line is a bit unbelievable, it is definitely not as bad as the movie critics are saying. The action is fast paced and For everybody out there reading this, Taken deserves MUCH better than a 50%. While at times, i will admit the story-line is a bit unbelievable, it is definitely not as bad as the movie critics are saying. The action is fast paced and intense, Liam Neeson playing superbly well as the loving father, that if need be, can become a complete bad ass ready to crack some heads. The story is not terrible either. Unbelievable at times? Maybe. But good none the less. I definitely recommend this movie to any Liam Neeson fans, or anyone who likes action movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kellyy.Jan 31, 2009
Great movie!!! We were on the edge of our seat the whole time!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GHactionJan 31, 2009
Very good movie. The movie was a very entertaining action film mostly from start to finish. Despite the PG-13 rating, the movie has almost anything an audience could want from an action film... Guns, car-chases, fight scenes, stunts etc. Very good movie. The movie was a very entertaining action film mostly from start to finish. Despite the PG-13 rating, the movie has almost anything an audience could want from an action film... Guns, car-chases, fight scenes, stunts etc. Also it is refreshing to have some inadvertent humor and laughs to this moderate length film . Something nice about the film is its ability to deliver high quality action while not seeming too "barbaric" and over the top. The movie is simple yet smart and goes through an interesting yet somehow predictable plot. The film somehow reminds me of the Bourne Identity series due to the fact that most of the scenes are shot in a foreign country which in this case would be Paris. Seriously, you can think of this movie as a James Bond film after he retires, settles down, has a family and then the daughter gets kidnapped and all &!^#** breaks loose. 85/100 rating. WATCH IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanB.Feb 13, 2009
Liam Neeson and
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HyperSFeb 14, 2009
Reviews by critics originally scared me off, but the positive user reviews sent me to the movies. I was pleasantly surprised at the result as it wasn't as far fetched a plot line as some made it out to be. I also found it to be a well Reviews by critics originally scared me off, but the positive user reviews sent me to the movies. I was pleasantly surprised at the result as it wasn't as far fetched a plot line as some made it out to be. I also found it to be a well paced movie. Will it win an Oscar? No, but it wasn't meant to. It was created to entertain and I was entertained. Only weird thing about my experience was the audience clapping after the movie finished. Why do people do that at the movie theater? Who are they applauding? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisBFeb 15, 2009
Incredible movie. It had me on the edge of my seat almost the entire time. The critics are fucking morons to give it such a rating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GeorgeMar 13, 2009
This is a VERY good action movie. If you like James bond this might even be better. Very fast paced and action packed movie. Kept me in suspense the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KirillKMar 16, 2009
Sadly underrated, since people can be inadequately consumed by the media, this may not get the attention it deserves - either or, I enjoyed it action was fantastic! very fun thriller dont miss out on taken the most underrated film of 2009!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RachelSApr 25, 2009
A movie all girls and even guys should see. It shows the dangers of traveling out of the country and frankly anywhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMMay 29, 2009
great acting, and nice flow to the whole of the film. one of the best of recent times. if feel sorry for anyone that can not fully appreciate this film. comparing this to the likes of d b13 and transporter is a sin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristopherP.Jun 26, 2009
Feel good movie of the year. You get to watch some guy who's obviously kicked more than his share of ass do what he does best for the length of the movie. Everyone who gets hurt or killed is at least severely harmed by him. I Feel good movie of the year. You get to watch some guy who's obviously kicked more than his share of ass do what he does best for the length of the movie. Everyone who gets hurt or killed is at least severely harmed by him. I couldn't stop grinning the whole way through, especially when he gave the guy who was chasing him the finger as he triumphantly drove away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FirstianASep 13, 2009
Very good plot, good paced, make me think what will be happen in the next minute. Good combination of action scene and drama. I didn't realize I had been sitting for 94 minutes when the movie is over. See this movie, You will like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasFDec 14, 2009
One of the best movies I have ever seen. Constant thrill and excitement kept me seated for the entire movie. Didn't even want to get up to get popcorn.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArkonBladeMar 14, 2011
a simple plot guys daughter gets get kid napped and he goes to save her . the plot may be simple but the action , acting the suspense is very well done and makes for a exciting movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JacobMar 20, 2015
Taken shows Liam Nesson as a bad-ass, intelligent killing machine. While seeing Liam Nesson use his super skills to track down his daughter while killing lots of people may be enough to dazzle some it wasn’t enough for me. Even with theTaken shows Liam Nesson as a bad-ass, intelligent killing machine. While seeing Liam Nesson use his super skills to track down his daughter while killing lots of people may be enough to dazzle some it wasn’t enough for me. Even with the action flowing along with the way it did, there were wasn’t enough reason for me to care. The characters are never fleshed out and the fact that this conflict was started due to the generic father daughter argument cliché we’ve seen a million times, although this time as opposed to films like The Little Mermaid he’s actually right, along with the dumb blonde cliché, which what do you think is going to happen. The score is nothing memorable and its hard to enjoy the action due to the rapid cuts in editing and shaky cam which makes it hard for any sort of spatial continuity to be established so I never know whose fighting what. Action movies can be fun but due to failures in story, characters, and filming action scenes I didn’t care. Liam Nesson being smart and killing people can only do so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Neo010390Sep 6, 2011
"I will look for you, I will find you and I will kill you". One of Brian's most famous quotes in this non stop action packed thriller. If ever I have children, I hope I have the knowledge and skills that this guy has, trust me you do not want"I will look for you, I will find you and I will kill you". One of Brian's most famous quotes in this non stop action packed thriller. If ever I have children, I hope I have the knowledge and skills that this guy has, trust me you do not want to mess with this man. Taken is an action/thriller film, starring Liam Neeson, Famke Janssen and Maggie Grace. Liam's character, Brian Mills is a former CIA operative and prevents bad things from happening. The opening starts off with Brian, who is very close to his daughter Kim (Maggie Grace). He arrives at her house to drop off her birthday present, but Lenore, (Famke Janssen) Brian's ex-wife, is very strict, and doesn't seem to trust or care about him, especially when she tries to send him away without even giving the present to Kim herself. After meeting at the Cafe Kim informs her Dad about a trip to Paris, and wants to go with her friends. Though uncomfortable with all this, he lets her go. Once they arrive in Paris, Kim and her friend Amanda meet this handsome French guy called Peter, who offers to share a taxi with them, and they agree. All three of them arrive at the hotel and Peter invites them to a party, Kim warns Amanda off because they don't even know him, but she doesn't listen and accepts his invite. As they settle into their apartment, Kim receives a missed call from her Dad. She calls, and tells him everything that's going on. Then Kim and her friend Amanda are taken by these men. Fortunately for Brian he has skills that he has required over a very long career and makes him a nightmare for people like them. And from this point on, we see what Brain is really capable of. If this man could do all the stuff he does in the movie in real life, there would be no need for policemen, FBI or the military. The film contains some great action scenes, great performances, especially from Liam who is like the Irish James Bond and more importantly a great story. I enjoy thrillers like this, it's dark, it's intense and its characters are exactly as they would be if the audience were the characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
roddersj04May 11, 2011
Liam Neeson plays Bryan Mills, an ex-CIA agent who's daughter is kidnapped. The reason why I like this film so much is the fact that Bryan will stop at nothing to get his daughter back, not caring what risks he takes, he will do anything, andLiam Neeson plays Bryan Mills, an ex-CIA agent who's daughter is kidnapped. The reason why I like this film so much is the fact that Bryan will stop at nothing to get his daughter back, not caring what risks he takes, he will do anything, and I mean ANYTHING, to get back his daughter. He shoots his old friens wife in the arm, he chases a boat by driving at high speed the wrong way down a road and leaves a man to die from electrocution. At one point, he gets stabbed, shot and jumps through a glass pane, but none of that even slows him down, because his daughter's the most important thing to him, and he will endure anything to save her life. Liam Neeson is utterly believable in this role. Proof is in the scene where he listens to his daughter being kidnapped and says a little speech to the kidnapper, that if she is let go, he'll forget the whole thing, but if not, he will hunt the kidnapper down and kill him. Every single word Neeson says here, you believe him. You believe that he will stay true to his word and kill the man responsible for this, and he eventually does. This film boasts some brilliant action sequences, especially when Neeson finds the man he spoke to on the phone. He kills every man in that room and that dare to wander in his path, leaving the kidnapper to his self. I think I especially like this film because it reminds me of a favourite show of mine, the recently cancelled 24. Think about it, Neeson channels Jack Bauer, doing anything to get his daughter back, not giving a damn about the consequences, not thinking twice, doing whatever it takes to get back his kidnapped daughter within a time frame. Also, the action sequences, where Neeson is faced against a large number of men, but ends up winning nonetheless. This movie does exactly what it says on the tin, being a high octane action film with Neeson wanting to get his daughter back, and it doesnt try to pretend to be anything more. Please, enjoy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Liam Neeson was great and I dont think anyone else could do this role as good as him. Though the story was pretty generic - The action was good and it kept you on edge from start to finish. Well worth the watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuFeb 20, 2013
Taken is one of the best pure action movies of the last ten years. watching Liam Neeson rip Paris apart as he frantically searches for his daughter is both intense and great fun. Taken is an excellent movie from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MalasawasFeb 21, 2011
Even better than ''Unknown''! A lot of action too, but a lot more, a lot of good, well-performed shots and fights... credible, a based on little details, in fact this movie is about action and details, all the few details, even if they areEven better than ''Unknown''! A lot of action too, but a lot more, a lot of good, well-performed shots and fights... credible, a based on little details, in fact this movie is about action and details, all the few details, even if they are almost invisible are what devolope in a believable action scene! There's also scenes that take your breath away, like ''I cannot believe'' or ''wow, now I understand what he (Liam's character) really feels''... incredible, well-done and credible action scenes, well-chosen actors, and deep feelings about the parents relations, families, incredibly disturbing images, but real, sadly, madly REAL! Good Job!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
kern138Mar 30, 2011
This is an action/thriller, and as such should be rated accordingly. This film is not meant to be fine cinema. It's a bad-ass popcorn romp that you can feel the on screen tension throughout. I would describe it as "Bourne Retirement". IfThis is an action/thriller, and as such should be rated accordingly. This film is not meant to be fine cinema. It's a bad-ass popcorn romp that you can feel the on screen tension throughout. I would describe it as "Bourne Retirement". If the Bourne films were to make sequels for a dozen more movies this would be the final film. The relevant "come out of retirement to kick some ass for a good reason" flick, is what Taken is all about. This film is gripping and intense and Liam Nielson is superb in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KangJul 9, 2011
One of my favourite Liam Neeson movies. Though the story is not very elaborate the movie is still a thrilling one, mostly due to the very intense, short action-scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonAug 1, 2013
Anyone looking for a complex story is looking in the wrong place, 'Taken' is a pure action fare. Following the kidnapping of his daughter Bryan Mills, played by unexpected action star Liam Neeson, sets out to find her and punish thoseAnyone looking for a complex story is looking in the wrong place, 'Taken' is a pure action fare. Following the kidnapping of his daughter Bryan Mills, played by unexpected action star Liam Neeson, sets out to find her and punish those involved.

This simple set up leads to all manner of well directed and genuinely exciting car chases and fight scenes (although typically the bad guys seem to have been to the stormtrooper school of firearms training) meaning that the hour and a half will fly by.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanNov 21, 2011
On the face of it, Taken shouldn't be any better than 90% of all the other action/thriller releases. It's got the usual sort of plot - retiree with convenient ass-kicking past coming out of retirement and...kicks ass. The difference betweenOn the face of it, Taken shouldn't be any better than 90% of all the other action/thriller releases. It's got the usual sort of plot - retiree with convenient ass-kicking past coming out of retirement and...kicks ass. The difference between Taken and, say, one of Arnie or Sly's clunkers is that the lead character, effectively portrayed by Liam Neeson, is actually empathetic. I don't know why no one thought of Neeson as an action hero before this - he's an imposing figure, and he can still clearly handle the stunts despite being in his late 50s. He's not just out to teach the bad guys a lesson just because they're bad (and bad they are), but he'll stop at nothing to get his kidnapped daughter home. There is no stronger force than the love of a parent for their child, and it is the telling of this aspect of the story, of a previously absent father trying to prove himself to his estranged daughter, that truly stands out in the film. Of course, being an action thriller with input from Luc Besson (writer and producer) and direction from Pierre Morel (who was the cinematographer on The Transporter and Unleashed), Taken was bound to have style in abundance, and it does. The film makes Paris look beautiful, and the action is expertly handled. Despite its technical competence, the action does become a little generic after a while, and though it never gets dull, the film isn't quite as exciting in its latter stages, and the plot is wrapped up a little too hastily. It's also a shame that a sequel has already been commissioned, so it looks like Neeson is going to be stuck doing the same sort of thing for some time to come, and it will get old fast. That said, Taken is a nice diversion, and provides us with a surprisingly well-rounded and relatable action man in Bryan Mills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeOct 9, 2011
I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that makeI don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don't have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joe_mcfarlaneSep 2, 2011
This is a really good film, another brilliant film by Liam Neeson. this will definitely be a big hit with action lovers, it never stops giving, with realistic action, this is edge of your seat action at its best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sinadoomApr 6, 2013
I didn't expect this film to be good at all, but turns out that sometimes simplicity works best. There's nothing particularly special or unique about Taken compared to other action films, but where other films stretch to be over 2 hours withI didn't expect this film to be good at all, but turns out that sometimes simplicity works best. There's nothing particularly special or unique about Taken compared to other action films, but where other films stretch to be over 2 hours with lots of fillers and unnecessarily complicated plots (which can be annoying to explain if you're watching with someone else who isn't following), Taken is an action move for everyone. Think of it as a simplified Bourne movie; only in the context of an ex-CIA agent's daughter being kidnapped abroad. Of course, the film feels very standard. Everything is predictable from start to finish, there are a lot of clichés and there are no surprises. What Taken does is set a generic framework for an action film. It's simple, easy to follow, not too violent, not too long and not boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
StevenFMay 18, 2013
Right off the bat we get a glimpse of just how precise and perhaps primarily paranoid Liam Neeson's character in Taken is.
He plays former CIA operative Brian, a man estranged from his ex- wife Lenore Famke Janssen) is desperately
Right off the bat we get a glimpse of just how precise and perhaps primarily paranoid Liam Neeson's character in Taken is.
He plays former CIA operative Brian, a man estranged from his ex- wife Lenore Famke Janssen) is desperately attempting to remain close to his daughter, Kim (Maggie Grace) who he still sees as his baby girl but who is actually now in her late teens and wanting to go on holiday with her friend to Paris.
Brian helps out a few buddies who he use to work with in the CIA by doing security for a pop sensation, played by Holly Valance, who Brian ends up Brian ends up saving from a crazed stalker, she then says her mentor will take Kim under his wing as she is interested in being a singer.
When Brian finally decides to let Kin go to Paris, after several dad routines of ringing him when she lands and things like that, but when the two girls meet a handsome fellow willing to share a cab fare and inviting them to a party..all seems too good to be true, and it is.
Brian must listen down the phone as his daughter is kidnapped..attempting to calm her down he tells the kidnappers that he will find them and he will kill them.
The film really ramps up a gear at this point and Liam Neeson is in excellent action hero mode, his voice is cold and calculated while his actions are straight out of clever films if similar motives such as Bourne.
So yeah the whole straight up evil routine of the trafficking is a little OTT, and in all honesty the final half hour of the film isn't nearly as pulsating and enjoyable as the beginning, but an interesting character has been created in the form of Brian, he may be ruthless, but only to the ends of making his daughter happy but above all else, keeping her safe.
Some very entertaining and gritty scenes take place during the film, one in particular when Brian meets the men responsible for his daughters abduction. He poses as someone else and then recognises the voice that spoke to him on the phone, lets just say it was an excellent build up to a satisfying ruckus.
The film has got plenty of heart, half a brain and enough brawn to last a lifetime, definitely one of the biggest surprises out of the last few years, Liam Neeson is very much the staple of the film, it's all about him and perhaps feeding his brawling needs, more fun for us then.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spadenxJan 20, 2012
I really didnt know why I liked the movie as much as I did until I relized that it was Liam Neeson's performance that took this film to the next level. The action is great, the plot is interesting but somewhat generic compared to other actionI really didnt know why I liked the movie as much as I did until I relized that it was Liam Neeson's performance that took this film to the next level. The action is great, the plot is interesting but somewhat generic compared to other action films, and the cast is solid. Totally worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mauritja01Apr 8, 2012
sincesrly its one of the grates movies of all time i cant believe his metascore its 50 taken deserves at least 91 its my favorite movie and its very variated it has guns.fights.interrogation.great actor(Liam neeson)b gets captured andsincesrly its one of the grates movies of all time i cant believe his metascore its 50 taken deserves at least 91 its my favorite movie and its very variated it has guns.fights.interrogation.great actor(Liam neeson)b gets captured and scapes and full accion i hope this critic makes the difference beacause ill never see a movie better then that one and dont forget to watch taken 2 congratulations liam neeson Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
Neeson seems to have something going for him, He manages to take a generic film and make it into a blockbuster action flick that you shouldnt miss. The plot was generic and too similar to other action films out there but Neeson brings to lifeNeeson seems to have something going for him, He manages to take a generic film and make it into a blockbuster action flick that you shouldnt miss. The plot was generic and too similar to other action films out there but Neeson brings to life the action sequences and his performance takes this film to a whole other level. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Each year, we are unfortunately gifted with tired and overdone action films with no real purpose or entertainment. Taken rises above those others--partly due from a solid plot-line and our charismatic lead, Liam Neeson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Oct 4, 2012
Taken is Liam Neeson at his best. Bryan Mills is a retired CIA field operative and father to his teenage daughter Kim. As a birthday present to Kim one of her friends Amanda invites her to Paris to follow the band U2 on their tour. AfterTaken is Liam Neeson at his best. Bryan Mills is a retired CIA field operative and father to his teenage daughter Kim. As a birthday present to Kim one of her friends Amanda invites her to Paris to follow the band U2 on their tour. After lying to her father and going to Paris, Kim and Amanda are abducted. Bryan travels to Paris and uses his ex-CIA skills to track her and her kidnappers down.
A true thrill ride that never ceases to amaze with its constant edge of your seat action and a story that always keeps you guessing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moviebuff_420May 12, 2012
Oh wow...it is one of the best thriller movie I think it's the unique movie all over the world showing relationship of a father to his daughter.. Whole movie was too amazing and Liam Neeson just killed it... He is very strong in all scenes..Oh wow...it is one of the best thriller movie I think it's the unique movie all over the world showing relationship of a father to his daughter.. Whole movie was too amazing and Liam Neeson just killed it... He is very strong in all scenes.. The best scene is when he says to marko that..i will find you and i will kill you .. Fantastic execution,very good action and many intense scenes with thrilling plot...which totally works for almost all type of audience..must watch movie..especially for hero of the movie i.e Liam Neeson.. :D Just loved it :) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I'm not really sure what the critics are on about here because this was a fantastic film and clearly the majority of people on this site agree with me. Fast-paced, dark and mysterious, Liam Neeson does a wonderful job in winning our hearts asI'm not really sure what the critics are on about here because this was a fantastic film and clearly the majority of people on this site agree with me. Fast-paced, dark and mysterious, Liam Neeson does a wonderful job in winning our hearts as he travels the world (Europe) to save his daughter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smithbhurricaneSep 9, 2012
This is a good movie and I'm shocked that the Critics would rate it so low. Intense from the word go, Liam Neesen is awesome in this role.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JCMOct 2, 2012
The last time I remember seeing Liam Neeson was in Schindler's List a couple years back and I was both amazed and captivated by his performance. So I decided to checkout one of his more recent efforts and I got to say Taken is underrated inThe last time I remember seeing Liam Neeson was in Schindler's List a couple years back and I was both amazed and captivated by his performance. So I decided to checkout one of his more recent efforts and I got to say Taken is underrated in the action-thriller genre. Taken follows the story of Bryan Mills (Liam Neesoon), a divorced, retired government agent out to search for his kidnap daughter in Paris. While Taken does venture into familiar territory, it's well written with a believable protagonist and an interesting plot to keep anyone engage. Unlike most action movies we have Liam Neeson who's an actor first and an action star second. You'll definitely care about him thanks to his great performance and is surprisingly very believable when he kills henchmen after henchmen. He's easily the best part of the movie aside from the well told and thrilling plot. What's surprise me most of all is that it wasn't better received by critics. Sure Taken doesn't break any new ground, but it's much better than your average action flick as even the dramatic scenes are as entertaining as the action set-pieces. Not only is it well shot with a tense atmosphere keeping you at the edge of your seat, it also got good acting which is hard to come by in this genre. Despite feeling familiar to other action-thrillers, Taken is ultimately fun entertainment. With a well told story that has an interesting leading character and enough violence to satisfy, Taken is a blast from beginning to end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Nov 2, 2013
I love this movie!.It has the one liners I always remember. It`s about a father trying to have a better relationship with his daughter, she gets kidnapped and he has to save her.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersMay 24, 2013
The phone scene where Liam Neeson listens to his daughter being kidnapped will be one of the most memorable scenes in film for many years. I love this film, flaws and all. Damn good entertainment. I will pay money to see any sequel they come up with.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bradtheman123Jan 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the better movies that Liam Neeson has stared in. If you have ever heard the scene in where he says, "I will find you, and I will kill you.'' This is where its from. The best part of the movie is both the kidnapping of her daughter and all the suspense that kills you throughout this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mds03Mar 3, 2013
Very good action thriller. Liam Neeson was really good for his part and so was Maggie Grace and Famke Janssen. The action scenes were awsome and it was fun to watch Liam Neeson beat up bad guys.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticJun 10, 2013
Who knew that Liam Neesen could be this awesome. He single handedly makes this movie as good as it is. The villains aren't that important and the rest of the supporting cast are just there, but still a very entertaining film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
daan14acdcJun 18, 2013
its a good action movie with a lot of action fun action with a good story that is posible to happen to oul of us around 18 it starts a litle slow but wen its the action is there ist cool but it seems like liam neesen is so strong nobody canits a good action movie with a lot of action fun action with a good story that is posible to happen to oul of us around 18 it starts a litle slow but wen its the action is there ist cool but it seems like liam neesen is so strong nobody can do something about it he is untouseble but its a realy cool and fun action movie that you have to see Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ScorpionMay 28, 2013
The initial idea was good, a father who does everything to save her daughter, but in practice the film becomes more of a blogbuster summer with cliches mostruosos the Bourne trilogy, and an excess of unnecessary violence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 25, 2013
The critics for this movie are unfair and unjust, this movie is epic with action/revenge sequences that blows up your mined, it also has some really clever/smart over the top scenes, with great and original story, and enchanting performances,The critics for this movie are unfair and unjust, this movie is epic with action/revenge sequences that blows up your mined, it also has some really clever/smart over the top scenes, with great and original story, and enchanting performances, this movie is epic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
killian13Jul 7, 2013
a thriller that mixes action good sentiment and guns !
Liam Neeson is excellent in taken in furious father
Paris is his game field
a movie to see now
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticJul 10, 2015
Typical Liam Neeson action thriller, though not without suspense. But it lacks much character development and it's dramatic points are perhaps stunted. It's not without merit, the beginning started off with an interesting premise, but as theTypical Liam Neeson action thriller, though not without suspense. But it lacks much character development and it's dramatic points are perhaps stunted. It's not without merit, the beginning started off with an interesting premise, but as the film progressed, it became less and less interesting. It just isn't something to be in awe about. I don't expect much from it, and I wasn't disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
andrewgarcia732Sep 23, 2013
When Kim and her slutty friend Amanda get kidnapped in Paris, its up to her father to rescue them, while Kim's mother Lenore and her OK (but not better) stepfather watch.
While Taken might not be the most realistic action film out there, it
When Kim and her slutty friend Amanda get kidnapped in Paris, its up to her father to rescue them, while Kim's mother Lenore and her OK (but not better) stepfather watch.
While Taken might not be the most realistic action film out there, it is still a good action film that benefits from having a great main lead: Liam Neeson! Liam Neeson is a excellent action actor, having starred in: Taken, Taken 2, Unknown, Battleship, Batman Begins, The Dark Knight Rises and The A-Team, and is the perfect person to star in this movie as ex-CIA agent Bryan Mills. Exceptionally made, with solid-action, this is an awesome film. Another thing the film benefits from is having a lot of action, since it lets the audience forget the string of unlikely coincidences. One of my favorite scenes of all time is the "I will find You" scene. My only complaint was that there should've been more interaction between Bryan and Kim.

If you liked this review, read my other ones. If it was helpful, please mark it as helpful.

And P.S, at least Amanda got laid in Paris like she wanted.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysJun 25, 2014
Taken is the kind of Neeson-esque action thriller that is impossible not to enjoy. The plot is simple and the characters are a bit cliché, but those are not the reasons to see Taken. It is a fun movie to watch, even if I didn't believe a damnTaken is the kind of Neeson-esque action thriller that is impossible not to enjoy. The plot is simple and the characters are a bit cliché, but those are not the reasons to see Taken. It is a fun movie to watch, even if I didn't believe a damn minute of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dzichiOct 23, 2014
The worst about Taken is that that is based on techniques that are still working and agents like Brian are still out there ready to do **** when it is needed. The best about Taken is this that they are at good side so unless you are Albanian,The worst about Taken is that that is based on techniques that are still working and agents like Brian are still out there ready to do **** when it is needed. The best about Taken is this that they are at good side so unless you are Albanian, don't worry. I work with them and it is fudging scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PvtJacksonJan 18, 2014
I definitely think Taken deserves a 65 or even 70 instead of 50 ! The film is very touching, with Liam Neeson playing a loving father who is willing to do anything to rescue his daughter no matter how wrong and cruel those things are. That isI definitely think Taken deserves a 65 or even 70 instead of 50 ! The film is very touching, with Liam Neeson playing a loving father who is willing to do anything to rescue his daughter no matter how wrong and cruel those things are. That is what makes this movie unique, for it is just 30% an action movie in my opinion. The remaining 70% goes to the father's complicated yet determined internal feelings as he is on the way to kill every bad guy responsible for his daughter's abduction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Daniel2651Feb 10, 2014
If you thought the life of a retired spy was boring just wait until you see this amazing fast-paced action film.
In this film Liam Neeson plays a retired spy called Brian who lets his daughter, Kim, (Maggie Grace) and her friend Amanda
If you thought the life of a retired spy was boring just wait until you see this amazing fast-paced action film.
In this film Liam Neeson plays a retired spy called Brian who lets his daughter, Kim, (Maggie Grace) and her friend Amanda (Katie Cassidy) go on atrip to Paris. But shortly after arriving in Paris Kim and Amanda get kidnapped which makes Brian promise that he'll get his daughter back. Will her live up to his promise or will he die trying? The film keeps the viewer wondering whether or not Brian will live up to this promise by emphasising over and over again that he only has a few hours before his daughter disappears forever.
At the beginning of the film Brian is introduced as a man who loves his daughter, which shows that he will do anything to get her back. And when he arrives in Paris the viewer gets the impression that even though Brian is retired he hasn't forgotten the skills he learnt in hand to hand combat. I got this impression when Brian got ninvoled in a fight scene just moments after he arrived in Paris.
At the beginning the film ropes you in with some light comedy and a very brutal fight scene. And in order to make sure you don't get bored of the light comedy the film also adds some suspense as soon as Kim arrives in Paris, and after this the action doesn't stop.
My favourite scene in the movie has got to be when Brian tracks the man who took his daughter to a house in Paris.This is my favourite scene because even though it starts off calm it isn't long before Brian is involved in yet another gun-fight which also involves some brutal fighting which is sure to make the viewer say "Ouch that's gotta hurt!"
As well as a lot of action this film also has a lot of gore which is shown in the intense fight scenes and in one very horrific torture scene.
I would recommend this film to anyone who likes fast-paced action films and I would rate it 8/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
An edge of the seat thriller that I found enjoyable on every single level. The plot, dialogue, cast as well as the acting were very realistic and dramatic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jacked_beastSep 27, 2014
This was an excellent action thriller! I was hooked all the way to the end of the film. The stepfather really pissed me off and you will understand why after watching it. The action sequences and deaths were epic. The plot was simple but itsThis was an excellent action thriller! I was hooked all the way to the end of the film. The stepfather really pissed me off and you will understand why after watching it. The action sequences and deaths were epic. The plot was simple but its okay because it wasn't essential to the type of movie this is. Overall, I highly recommend this and also Taken 2. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscMar 20, 2015
The way screenwriter Luc Besson writes scripts for poor action films is at a fifty-fifty, he does have talent but sometimes he sucks. We know he loves the action genre way too much, he loves doing revenge films a lot also having heroineThe way screenwriter Luc Besson writes scripts for poor action films is at a fifty-fifty, he does have talent but sometimes he sucks. We know he loves the action genre way too much, he loves doing revenge films a lot also having heroine female characters. But in Taken things get interesting! Liam Neeson plays a bad ass dad, who try to save his daughter from the Russia's prosecution. We all know that Maggie Grace can't act basically she's like Megan Fox. Grade B- Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesJan 16, 2015
Ok, so how do I start this? Uh, I thought "Taken" was good... but after a much needed re-watch, I can pretty much say to you (people who are reading this review) that Taken is just another mediocre entry in Liam Neeson's track record. Ok,Ok, so how do I start this? Uh, I thought "Taken" was good... but after a much needed re-watch, I can pretty much say to you (people who are reading this review) that Taken is just another mediocre entry in Liam Neeson's track record. Ok, there you go, I said it. I really like him but saying that one actor makes a film enjoyable is just laughably inane. He's good in this movie but everything else is questionable at best.

Seventeen year-old Kim is the pride and joy of her father Bryan Mills. Bryan is a retired agent who left the Central Intelligence Agency to be near Kim in California. Kim lives with her mother Lenore and her wealthy stepfather Stuart. Kim manages to convince her reluctant father to allow her to travel to Paris with her friend Amanda. When the girls arrive in Paris they share a cab with a stranger named Peter, and Amanda lets it slip that they are alone in Paris. Using this information an Albanian gang of human traffickers kidnaps the girls. Kim barely has time to call her father and give him information. Her father gets to speak briefly to one of the kidnappers and he promises to kill the kidnappers if they do not let his daughter go free. The kidnapper wishes him "good luck," so Bryan Mills travels to Paris to search for his daughter and her friend.

The movie's main problem couldn't possibly be the action. The fights, which mostly is people shooting at each other, are addictive and imposingly choreographed. Liam Neeson kicks so much ass in this film, especially in the scene where Bryan finds the guys who kidnapp his little girl. The tension between them rises when he says to Marko: "I told you I would find you", and he just friggin' starts killing thugs with his bare hands, like he picks a gun, kills a guy and 1 second later he kills 3 of them. It's really THAT entertaining. The problem with the movie is that the story --although captivating-- is completely illogical and mindless, and its pacing is unnecessarily swift. Not just that but Pierre Morel's directing is simply not that good. From the quick cuts and questionable shots, to the horrible cinematography is just plain middling.

*Sighs*

So, Final Score to Taken: 6/10 (If I'm being generous). This is definitely nowhere near a bad movie. Liam Neeson rules it for the most part, and some chunks of it are pretty enjoyable, but "Taken" ultimately suffers from its problematic pace and mediocre direction. If this one wasn't that good, imagine what the unnecessary sequel of the unnecessary sequel could be. Be afraid, be very afraid...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
juliankennedy23Oct 26, 2014
Taken: 6 out of 10: Taken comes this close to being great. It had an admittedly rocky start with Liam Neeson is trying to reconnect with his virginal 17 year-old teenage daughter in a way that seems just on this side of creepy. (Dude get yourTaken: 6 out of 10: Taken comes this close to being great. It had an admittedly rocky start with Liam Neeson is trying to reconnect with his virginal 17 year-old teenage daughter in a way that seems just on this side of creepy. (Dude get your own girlfriend... really) Speaking of which; swarthy bad guys, who clearly have never heard of Nancy Grace, are kidnapping Rich American Girls and making them drugged out street walkers or selling them for millions to Arab Sheiks based on whether they are virgins or not? So ex-CIA estranged father Liam Neeson has 96 hours to find his daughter before she is “gone forever” deflowered and then burkaized apparently. “A Fate Worse than Death” you can almost hear the characters thinking.

It’s as if Charles Bronson was guest starring in an Ilsa the Wicked Warden film located in George C Scott’s Hardcore and the entire enterprise was PG-13. And yet the film still works two thirds through. Liam Neeson is more than fine. He is kicking ass on all cylinders. It’s the bad guys that drop the ball.

First a rich French guy starts quoting the Godfather. “It’s not personal it’s business” For starters the quote isn’t even in context. He might as well have told the gun toting Liam Neeson “may the force be with you” for all the sense it makes. Second of all you can’t quote the Godfather without referencing the fact that you are quoting it in the first place. Any screenwriter who does that should be sleeping with the fishes.

The second slap to the head is an Arab Sheik character that looked like he stepped out of a 1940’s Bugs Bunny cartoon. Honestly I don’t know where to begin on this silly stereotype. Why is he the film? Why does he have a knife to the white virgin’s throat? Who would Oscar Schindler shoot???? The last point seems important since the Arab is basically a Juden in a dress. Same large noses, same aversion to pork, same living in ghettos in Europe (Or/and having all the money), same secret organizations paying off French politicians, same affinity to despoiling white Aryan virgins... The more things change the more the stay the same I guess. (They didn’t have the Arab cook and eat a baby. I guess they are holding that back for the sequel) Overt French xenophobia aside, Taken is a fun ride for most of the trip. (The dinner with his French policeman friend and Frenchman's wife was a particular highlight) And as I did mention Liam Neeson kicks ass.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jan 10, 2015
Taken is one of the better action films from the past decade. Liam Neeson shows some power as an action star (although he may be overstaying his welcome). Taken has a good amount of action but it also has a family side. Neeson has moreTaken is one of the better action films from the past decade. Liam Neeson shows some power as an action star (although he may be overstaying his welcome). Taken has a good amount of action but it also has a family side. Neeson has more motivation than any other action star in this plot and you are forced to cheer for him. Taken also doesn't drag on, it is as long as it needs to be at 90 minutes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
vikesh2206Nov 11, 2014
Despite being an implausible brainless ride throughout, Taken is a slightly above par action thriller made better from a solid performance by Liam Neeson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RipperskiteJan 5, 2015
Esto es lo que se llama una buena película de acción y punto. Es así, no hay que ser un poeta para criticar esta película. Puede que las escenas de acción sean las típicas, pero se disfrutan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SiAScORCHNov 6, 2014
The movie is definitely a lot better than what the ratings show. It is filled with action and this movie will definitely capture the audience watching it. The best part of it all, they are really people in the world that are trained to doThe movie is definitely a lot better than what the ratings show. It is filled with action and this movie will definitely capture the audience watching it. The best part of it all, they are really people in the world that are trained to do this, so it has some truth behind it. It's definitely worth watching and owning. In some parts it leaves you hanging because things are so close, then bam a twist is thrown it, so it's a good story line as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews