Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: January 30, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 614 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
463
Mixed:
86
Negative:
65
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
VinceFeb 19, 2009
I thought this movie was fantastic. It didn't pretend to be something it wasn't, it didn't try to make a point... it was simply a flim about an incredible badass that goes on a f***** rampage to try and get his daughter back. I thought this movie was fantastic. It didn't pretend to be something it wasn't, it didn't try to make a point... it was simply a flim about an incredible badass that goes on a f***** rampage to try and get his daughter back. Highly entertaining the whole way through, and that's what a movie should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeM.Feb 17, 2009
The critics, once again, prove they have absolutely no idea what they're talking about. If you saw the ads for Taken, thought it was going to be nothing but an action movie, then you will not be disappointed. However, if you take a The critics, once again, prove they have absolutely no idea what they're talking about. If you saw the ads for Taken, thought it was going to be nothing but an action movie, then you will not be disappointed. However, if you take a second to examine the plot, you realize that it is inherently good and isn't as impossible as some plot elements in Bourne or Bond. Neeson plays the part wonderfully, and when he actually takes the time in between car chases, torture sequences, and firefights to display his character's personality, he goes all out. I recommend this movie to anyone and everyone. Not nearly as hyped as Bourne or Bond, Taken will have you leave the theater forcibly, because you'll want to see it again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisBFeb 15, 2009
Incredible movie. It had me on the edge of my seat almost the entire time. The critics are fucking morons to give it such a rating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HyperSFeb 14, 2009
Reviews by critics originally scared me off, but the positive user reviews sent me to the movies. I was pleasantly surprised at the result as it wasn't as far fetched a plot line as some made it out to be. I also found it to be a well Reviews by critics originally scared me off, but the positive user reviews sent me to the movies. I was pleasantly surprised at the result as it wasn't as far fetched a plot line as some made it out to be. I also found it to be a well paced movie. Will it win an Oscar? No, but it wasn't meant to. It was created to entertain and I was entertained. Only weird thing about my experience was the audience clapping after the movie finished. Why do people do that at the movie theater? Who are they applauding? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VanB.Feb 13, 2009
Liam Neeson and
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JonB.Feb 11, 2009
I don't see why the critics are hating on the movie so much. It is an action flick, but without a lot of the ridiculous action scenes like you would see in a Bond movie. I thought Neeson's character was similar to a Jason Bourne in I don't see why the critics are hating on the movie so much. It is an action flick, but without a lot of the ridiculous action scenes like you would see in a Bond movie. I thought Neeson's character was similar to a Jason Bourne in his 40s with a kidnapped teenage daughter. I would recommend it for anyone who is a fan of the Bourne series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Feb 11, 2009
I like to rate films on there content and knowing what I film I am going to see. This of course is an action film so I went in with no high expectations of plot but I found accebtable and could happen. But what made me so excited and loving I like to rate films on there content and knowing what I film I am going to see. This of course is an action film so I went in with no high expectations of plot but I found accebtable and could happen. But what made me so excited and loving every scene was the fast pace, you sit there and beg for the action scene and they do not disappoint. Only reason I did'nt give this film a ten is the ending and the sometimes corny dialogue between Liam and his daughter. Liam is a legend in this film and has got my full respect as an action hero! Excellent and fast paced film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackBFeb 10, 2009
Great film, saw it months ago, what happened Meatcritic? Very late reviews. Fantastic action, as good as Bourne, far better than Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdamAFeb 9, 2009
I don't know how this film got such a low score amongst critics - it's very enjoyable! Great action, a passable script and some nice set pieces (apart from the green screen in the driving sequences - it was terrible!) made this as I don't know how this film got such a low score amongst critics - it's very enjoyable! Great action, a passable script and some nice set pieces (apart from the green screen in the driving sequences - it was terrible!) made this as fun as Bourne for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnnaFeb 9, 2009
I thought this movie was excellent! I am still thinking about it and all the parts that really had me jump!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rashadsFeb 9, 2009
This was an excellent movie. This proves that reviewers dont know what they are talking about. Once it picked you up it didnt let you down. Great story, action, and pacing. Loved how you could see Liam's desparation as the movie This was an excellent movie. This proves that reviewers dont know what they are talking about. Once it picked you up it didnt let you down. Great story, action, and pacing. Loved how you could see Liam's desparation as the movie progressed. Movie reviewers suck so bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
bfeFeb 8, 2009
A 50? Come on. This was an entertaining movie. Sure it's not perfect, but it's good. The action sequences were better than what we've got from the last Bourne/Bond films--simpler, easier to follow, not excessively cutting A 50? Come on. This was an entertaining movie. Sure it's not perfect, but it's good. The action sequences were better than what we've got from the last Bourne/Bond films--simpler, easier to follow, not excessively cutting between cameras. While it eventually winds up with the inevitable happy/corny ending, the portions dealing with the drug addicited sex slaves were utterly repulsive and really set the tone. It didn't drag things out, it didn't overdo it with excessive dialog, and it wasn't perfect, but it wasn't bad either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShawnB.Feb 7, 2009
Thought it was very fun, very interesting for an action movie. I would recommend it to those who like the Bourne movies to be sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FomRatFeb 7, 2009
It's all they said and more. Liam Neeson is amazing -- is there anything he can't do?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GreenStreetFeb 7, 2009
This is one of those rare instances where the critics got it all wrong. The users here nailed it - this is one of the best action movies of the year. At the screening we saw, the audience clapped at then end - how often does that happen? The This is one of those rare instances where the critics got it all wrong. The users here nailed it - this is one of the best action movies of the year. At the screening we saw, the audience clapped at then end - how often does that happen? The critics blew it. Taken is non stop action after the sappy first 10 min (only reason for the 9 score). Better than the 2nd Bond and as good as the Bourne movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterPFeb 7, 2009
Exciting fast paced movie. The critics clearly panned it because they didn't approve of the politically incorrect content. Thankfully, the users are more authentic observers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyLFeb 7, 2009
This is one of the best action movies I've seen in a long time. Every once in a while you see a movie preview and know that the critics will hate it but you will love it. This was that movie. I just got home and I want to see it again already.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakesFeb 7, 2009
Best movie I've seen in a long time. The critics don't have very good taste to be giving a movie like this bad ratings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelv.Feb 7, 2009
What do we need critics for ? They gave this movie 50 out of 100 and now the movie maybe wont come to Denmark. By accident i saw it at hotel Room in England and its one of the most exciting ive ever seen. So thumbs down to critics and thumbs What do we need critics for ? They gave this movie 50 out of 100 and now the movie maybe wont come to Denmark. By accident i saw it at hotel Room in England and its one of the most exciting ive ever seen. So thumbs down to critics and thumbs up to movie and look at user average before my vote. 8,2 out of 10 ? Do we have a gap ? I believe so. Watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeGFeb 6, 2009
I can sum this movie up in one word: BAMFtastic. Neeson even had a BAMF card near the end of the movie. So much action and stuff... Oh, it was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanFeb 6, 2009
There's been so many TERRIBLE action movies released in the last year (Eagle Eye, Bangkok Dangerous, etc.). Finally there's one worth seeing. Took a simple formula, and executed it to near perfection. I've seen it 3 times There's been so many TERRIBLE action movies released in the last year (Eagle Eye, Bangkok Dangerous, etc.). Finally there's one worth seeing. Took a simple formula, and executed it to near perfection. I've seen it 3 times already, and am willing to watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimT.Feb 6, 2009
Pure adrenaline. Anyone who expected anything else thinks too much and will be disappointed. A fun getaway film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JodySFeb 6, 2009
Don't listen to these ridiculous low scores from the critics. The movie was very well shot and edited and is great for what it is... a non stop action movie. Neeson is great, the fight scenes are well done and the movie keeps you on the Don't listen to these ridiculous low scores from the critics. The movie was very well shot and edited and is great for what it is... a non stop action movie. Neeson is great, the fight scenes are well done and the movie keeps you on the edge of your seat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
larryk.Feb 6, 2009
Saso, Dave, the Captain, Art, the Spectre, Martin, and Dustin have got it right. "Don't believe these morons (critics)"! Taken is not the kind of movie you over-analyze like critics are compelled to do. It's the kind of movie to Saso, Dave, the Captain, Art, the Spectre, Martin, and Dustin have got it right. "Don't believe these morons (critics)"! Taken is not the kind of movie you over-analyze like critics are compelled to do. It's the kind of movie to just be enjoyed. It's good fiction and a very entertaining thriller. Liam Neeson makes a wonderful kick-ass daddy who gives the bad guys exactly what they deserve and you enjoy every minute of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaS.Feb 5, 2009
Best action movie of 2000s. Better than bond, better than stupid giggly camera boy hero Bourne. This is just a pissed off father taking his daughter back from illegal immigrants. Rocks! I love when he personally electrocutes criminals. Liam Best action movie of 2000s. Better than bond, better than stupid giggly camera boy hero Bourne. This is just a pissed off father taking his daughter back from illegal immigrants. Rocks! I love when he personally electrocutes criminals. Liam rocks! doesn't get much better than a pissed off seal. Focused. Driven. Screw the critics. This one's a keeper. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeTheDukeFeb 5, 2009
Really a 9.5, but give it the extra 1/2 point for the pure fun of watching this guy work. Sure, it has its weaknesses: Famke plays an unattractive gold-digging, irrational shrew; Neeson is not aging well; Maggie Grace is unspectacular; but Really a 9.5, but give it the extra 1/2 point for the pure fun of watching this guy work. Sure, it has its weaknesses: Famke plays an unattractive gold-digging, irrational shrew; Neeson is not aging well; Maggie Grace is unspectacular; but the bad guys are all well-cast and it is delightful to watch Neeson work is way through one scumbag after another. What fun to watch him take on all the Eastern European mob trash, and the misogynists on the vulgar sheik's payroll. Do shiksas and other innocent young ladies really get collected and turned out by thugs?? Probably. Do construction sites really have brothel trailers supplied by the underworld in cahoots with crooked cops?? Who knows, maybe so. Can one man turn that slave trade upside down?? Probably not. But TAKEN is clear about who the good and innocent folks are, and who the evil exploiters are, and allows the hero to clean up the entire underbelly of Paris in the process. Other than a few problems with plot, weak dialog, and poor casting, TAKEN is a fun ride. Any reviewers who have a problem with this film are not worthy of being heard, they are from some implausible PC planet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SasoKFeb 4, 2009
Best action thriller in 2008 by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveFFeb 3, 2009
The critics are being way too critical. I thought it was a great movie and a pleasure to watch. The acting was great, storyline was exciting and pretty original. Neeson could easily be bond instead of Daniel Craig.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaptainSFeb 3, 2009
The movie has about 10 minutes of "drag time" at the beginning and the acting of the girl that plays the kidnapped daughter (especially when her father rescues her) has a lot to be desired, but this movie kicks serious bootie and is The movie has about 10 minutes of "drag time" at the beginning and the acting of the girl that plays the kidnapped daughter (especially when her father rescues her) has a lot to be desired, but this movie kicks serious bootie and is non-stop. This needs to be a TV series. Neeson is great as usual! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArtGFeb 3, 2009
Purely viseral. Belivable for the most part, no super human abilities. I do wish however hollywood would learn how actual gunfights occure rather than the taking turns shooting around corners at each other.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SpectrekFeb 2, 2009
Very good story, great action, Liam Neeson did a very good job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MartinS.Feb 2, 2009
A good action film, worth the watch. Liam's Neeson puts in a decent performance throughout but I was let down by the weak ending.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DustinFeb 2, 2009
Don't believe these morons (critics), Taken is an overall great movie. The pacing is perfect, with never a dull moment or long, drawn out dialogue scene. Neeson is entirely believable, especially if you are familiar with the problems of Don't believe these morons (critics), Taken is an overall great movie. The pacing is perfect, with never a dull moment or long, drawn out dialogue scene. Neeson is entirely believable, especially if you are familiar with the problems of human trafficking. Can't wait to get this on Blu-ray. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobCFeb 2, 2009
The problem is people are comparing this to other revenge movies. When simply this movie is all about an endless sacrifice and the power and emotion behind this makes you realise that family is the most important thing of all. I related to The problem is people are comparing this to other revenge movies. When simply this movie is all about an endless sacrifice and the power and emotion behind this makes you realise that family is the most important thing of all. I related to this movie so much as I have a daughter and felt the real emotion. Amazingly acted and one of the best character relationships I've seen in a movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RickyS.Feb 1, 2009
This movie was amazing. Like most critics say, its a little slow at first, but once Neeson starts his hunt, it sky rockets.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JackP.Feb 1, 2009
The movie starts out slow, but once Liam Neeson starts his hunt, it never slows down, and Liam Neeson, along with the rest of the cast is excellent.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NathanielJ.Feb 1, 2009
It was a good enjoyable movie that had great realistic action and suspense. Liam Neeson was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattH.Feb 1, 2009
Delivered in every respect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChuckMFeb 1, 2009
I have no idea why the (so-called) critics have panned this movie so much, it really isn't anywhere near as bad as they're making out. You've seen it all before in various other revenge movies, but it has enough new ideas to I have no idea why the (so-called) critics have panned this movie so much, it really isn't anywhere near as bad as they're making out. You've seen it all before in various other revenge movies, but it has enough new ideas to hold interest and enough of it's own style to keep things fresh. It's a slowish start but barely worth a mention as once the action starts it's non-stop, but this is possibly also the films weakest point. Everything just seems to happen with little regard for pacing, plot direction or character building. Every move Liam Neeson takes seems to work out and give him yet another lead, you never get the feeling that the film will have anything other Hollywood ending. Along with a few cheesy moments and a bit of bad acting the main body of the film feels rushed. That said though, it's a good watch, with the girlfriend or a group of friends everyone will enjoy this. Neeson gets you behind him and you find yourself egging him on to add to the growing tally of corpses left in his wake. More deep than say Transporter, not by much though but it feels less aimed at teens. Definite one to watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WilliamJ.Jan 31, 2009
Great movie although a little too short, leaving one longing for more.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GHactionJan 31, 2009
Very good movie. The movie was a very entertaining action film mostly from start to finish. Despite the PG-13 rating, the movie has almost anything an audience could want from an action film... Guns, car-chases, fight scenes, stunts etc. Very good movie. The movie was a very entertaining action film mostly from start to finish. Despite the PG-13 rating, the movie has almost anything an audience could want from an action film... Guns, car-chases, fight scenes, stunts etc. Also it is refreshing to have some inadvertent humor and laughs to this moderate length film . Something nice about the film is its ability to deliver high quality action while not seeming too "barbaric" and over the top. The movie is simple yet smart and goes through an interesting yet somehow predictable plot. The film somehow reminds me of the Bourne Identity series due to the fact that most of the scenes are shot in a foreign country which in this case would be Paris. Seriously, you can think of this movie as a James Bond film after he retires, settles down, has a family and then the daughter gets kidnapped and all &!^#** breaks loose. 85/100 rating. WATCH IT! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyB.Jan 31, 2009
Very good movie. Worth the money. It has a very good story line and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The movie starts off great and continually moves up the ladder.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PaulSJan 31, 2009
Fun flick. Just what you would expect. 1 and 1/2 hours of *ss-kicking.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
keithwJan 31, 2009
Could only have been better if instead of Albanian bad guys it was Wall Street Bankers! Gets your mind off everything!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JohnbJan 31, 2009
It is absolutely, positively absurd that critics are not giving Taken much better reviews. (48). It a really good story, well acted and directed and the viewer cares about the characters-which is rare in a film. Dark Knight an 82, Gran It is absolutely, positively absurd that critics are not giving Taken much better reviews. (48). It a really good story, well acted and directed and the viewer cares about the characters-which is rare in a film. Dark Knight an 82, Gran Torino a 72 and Taken a 48? I don't think so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DrewRJan 31, 2009
I highly recomend this movie, especialy if you were disipointed by the last James Bond film. I find Neeson's character more comelling than Bond because he's not in it for the beautiful women, he's in it to save his family.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RayG.Jan 31, 2009
You get what you expect. Liam is an awesome action hero. I don't expect high review scores by the newspapers but people will like it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kellyy.Jan 31, 2009
Great movie!!! We were on the edge of our seat the whole time!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertT.Jan 31, 2009
Screw the critics - I loved it. Get's into the story quick and doesn't let up. Give me this over and over rated James Bond movie any day.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
CAEntJan 30, 2009
Solid action all the way through. Neeson does a great job in this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IainFJan 30, 2009
Are these "critics" out of their minds? I'm not really in the mood of writing a review after metacritic turned down my last review saying the film wasn't out yet when it had already been out in the UK, so I'm not going into Are these "critics" out of their minds? I'm not really in the mood of writing a review after metacritic turned down my last review saying the film wasn't out yet when it had already been out in the UK, so I'm not going into detail, but Taken was just as good as, if not better, than any of the Bourne films. Neeson was absolutely awesome as always, and it provided some of the best action (non-stop) of 2008. Brilliantly shot, and the story actually stayed quite unteresting, but the film stayed true to it's roots, a hard as nails action flick in which Liam Neeson tares apart anything with legs. I LOVED this film, please watch it. Unless you're a stuck up snob who tries to pride himself among watching independent films and only agreeing with metacritic's review scores, and not taking the time to sit back, relax, and enjoy a film, then watch this and you wont regret doing so. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
8
decrdeckardJan 30, 2009
What's wrong with the critics giving such scores for this? This movie was just what it tried to be, an action movie with a lead character being a real badass killing machine with the know how and moves. His girl gets taken away from What's wrong with the critics giving such scores for this? This movie was just what it tried to be, an action movie with a lead character being a real badass killing machine with the know how and moves. His girl gets taken away from him, he goes to get her back. Simple and nothing else needed, I felt entertained thro the whole movie. Also I miss these "feel good" action movies from time to time where the lead really kicks ass and gets the job done without too much hassle. I mean take Arnold's Commando for example, if you want to see paypack delivered with no questions asked, these are the movies you'd want to see. Bravo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeK.Jan 30, 2009
Attention 24 Fans: SEE THIS MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
R.L.Jan 30, 2009
Exceptional!! Taken is the most adrenaline pumping, action packed thriller I've seen in awhile. Taken stars Liam Neeson as Brian Mills an ex-black op's agent who while trying to reconnect with his estranged daughter allows her to Exceptional!! Taken is the most adrenaline pumping, action packed thriller I've seen in awhile. Taken stars Liam Neeson as Brian Mills an ex-black op's agent who while trying to reconnect with his estranged daughter allows her to go to Paris for some fun and relaxation away from home. But as soon as they get there she is kidnapped by a group of men who are involved in human trafficking. Now Brian has less than 48 hours to find her or she's gone forever. Taken is one of the most well made movies to come out this year, it's an amazing thrill ride that you cant miss. I very highly recommend this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ElijahH.Jan 30, 2009
10 minutes of set up for 80 minutes of intense, non-stop action. I saw this movie last year in Australia and loved every minute of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomB.Jan 30, 2009
Great action - not for the bleeding hearts who mostly review movies.
2 of 2 users found this helpful