Screen Gems | Release Date: August 27, 2010
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 168 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
124
Mixed:
29
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
ShiiraSep 3, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Check his docket and pray for a romantic comedy, a sci-fier, a western, anything, really, even a porno. That's because Matt Dillon has a weakness for armored car heist scripts. Should the former Flamingo Kid make one more of these routine genre movies, he'll have himself a trilogy. Just last year, he played a "taker", a guard, in Nimrod Antal's "Armored"; this time, he's blue, a good guy who stops the "Takers", a detective named Jack Welles. Maybe next time he'll play the truck. Maybe next time Dillon will star in a movie that's worthy of his talent. While "Armored" was by no means a brilliant piece of moviemaking, at least the actual robbery was halfway plausible; far-fetched, perhaps, but plausible enough to stave off laughter from the moviegoer. Unlike "Takers", where Detective Jack Welles faces criminals who are practically performance artists when it comes to hijacking armored cars. After the bravura bank robbery that opens the film(featuring an escape plan that is flat-out ludicrous), the thieves(featuring Hayden Christensen reimagined as Jason Bourne; a born-again Christensen) up the stakes with an even more daring caper. In broad daylight, the thieves steal the trucks on a busy street during rush hour, where a whole bunch of hypotheticals come into play which would prevent the job from being successfully pulled off. These armed robbers have a David Blaine-mentality when it comes to armed robbery, an exhibitionist streak, as there are just too many people who are watching them steal the loot. Although "Armored" had its share of credibility issues(in particular, no GPS system on the truck), "Takers" expects the moviegoer to believe that the police wouldn't be able to ferret out a fake road construction crew during the interim leading up to the implosion, and that there's not a cop around during the shootout between the guards and the thieves. When Ghost(T.I.) had explained the job to his "boyz", the crew's initial hesitation was due to the expediency of the job, which posed an affront to their professionalism. This would seem downright laughable, since there's nothing professional looking about the set-up. In a good heist pic, the more painstakingly intricate the preparations are, the better. Needless to say, "Takers" is no "Ocean's Eleven". The group sorely lacks a charismatic ringleader. They need somebody like, say, Matt Dillon. As the straight and arrow detective, Detective Welles, however, isn't going to garner any votes for "father of the year"; his impromptu take-your-daughter-to-work day could have gone horribly wrong. When "Takers" introduces the detective's daughter, it doesn't spend the time needed to portray Jack as a caring father like how the filmmaker probably had intended. Since "Takers" wastes time on an extended foot race between Dillon and a perp(Chris Brown, in an impressive feat of...running), the filmmaker compresses Jack's personal and professional life in one scene without realizing how it makes the detective look. He looks like a jackass. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
ComasiApr 30, 2011
This movie was ok. The movie goes too fast and it doesn't let the story and characters build up. It also introduces things or people and doesn't say what they are or who they are until later in the movie. Chis Brown's sequence where he'sThis movie was ok. The movie goes too fast and it doesn't let the story and characters build up. It also introduces things or people and doesn't say what they are or who they are until later in the movie. Chis Brown's sequence where he's being chased by the cops was a great scene. T.I's character was too predictable but the last 30 minutes of the movie are really good. But it could of been better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
mthursdaySep 6, 2010
"Takers" is an action flick centered around a few robberies that manages to keep you on your toes for most of 2 hours. There are a few story lines afoot, but none too distracting, and all meaningfully advance the plot . For the subject"Takers" is an action flick centered around a few robberies that manages to keep you on your toes for most of 2 hours. There are a few story lines afoot, but none too distracting, and all meaningfully advance the plot . For the subject matter, the acting was solid all the way around; nothing seemed forced or trite. The scenes were action-packed, but not over-the-top Michael Bay type stuff. Moreover, when there was violence, it seemed necessary to the story and not gratuitous. I can't believe the Metacritic User Score on this one currently is below 6. I talked to others who liked this movie as much as I did, some even better. I'd give this movie a 7.5/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"Takers" is a teenage crime thriller (or is it drama?). It's so crappy and terrible you can say its the "Twilight" of the crime genre.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
LJBeautyAug 27, 2010
This film was awesome! Just seeing all of these FINE men in one movie was enough to get me and my girls going. But hands down, CHRIS BROWN'S action sequence was superb. You have got to see this movie just for that! The movie was soThis film was awesome! Just seeing all of these FINE men in one movie was enough to get me and my girls going. But hands down, CHRIS BROWN'S action sequence was superb. You have got to see this movie just for that! The movie was so kick-ass, I'm seeing it again this weekend. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
objectivitySep 18, 2010
Black Ocean's Eleven targeted towards a hip-hop audience. No, I didn't see this movie. Atleast two of the actors commited felonies in real life, so I guess I was disappointed that they couldn't even convince me they were criminals in the trailer.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
TiaAug 27, 2010
One of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown's chase scene was the best part of the movie. I was very pleased that the audience enjoyed it as muchOne of my favorite movies of the year so far. Not only was the eye candy on point, but the action scenes were exciting to watch. Chris Brown's chase scene was the best part of the movie. I was very pleased that the audience enjoyed it as much as I did and was also happy that Idris got to keep his accent. I'm most likely seeing this movie another four or five times. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
AaronMOct 11, 2010
I'm glad it wasn't a straight to DVD movie. Why though? I can't pinpoint the reason exactly. Maybe it was the way the audience (and myself occasionally) cheered or bemoaned at some of the movie's key moments, or just that it's been a longI'm glad it wasn't a straight to DVD movie. Why though? I can't pinpoint the reason exactly. Maybe it was the way the audience (and myself occasionally) cheered or bemoaned at some of the movie's key moments, or just that it's been a long time coming for a heist movie. I'd say see it, but only if you can identify most of the main actors in real life (Hayden Christensen, Chris Brown, T.I., Michael Ealy, Idris Elba, Matt Dillon). Otherwise, you probably won't think that this movie is anything special. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroApr 17, 2011
It usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it is pure crap. Come on guys...this is so ridiculous, with everybody forcefully trying to act cool, likeIt usually takes about five minutes to judge if a movie is watchable or not. With this one, it took me only six seconds to judge that it is pure crap. Come on guys...this is so ridiculous, with everybody forcefully trying to act cool, like teenagers in a bar, delivering cool onliners which really never actually are cool.
Incredible that these kind of movies still get made...
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
ThegodfathersonMar 2, 2014
Takers is a choppy, badly executed thriller, with a few logical action scenes. The story is about a team of robbers (Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Hayden Christensen, Micheal Ealy, Chris Brown) who get reunited with Ghost (T.I) who convinces themTakers is a choppy, badly executed thriller, with a few logical action scenes. The story is about a team of robbers (Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Hayden Christensen, Micheal Ealy, Chris Brown) who get reunited with Ghost (T.I) who convinces them into doing a multi million dollar heist, with a hard boiled detective (Matt Dillon) and his partner (Jay Hernedez) hot on their trail. Takers has a very intresting plot and most of the characters play out well, till the very very bad second half. Director John Lussenhop struggles to find the genre of his flick, part musical, part romantic drama, part action, part adventure and part drug therapy movie. The movie is 70's high octane trash, and is a very dissapointing crime thriller. The main thrill is very dissapointing and the movie still manages to get the action altogether. Because, Takers is about the win of the bad guys, not the good guys. Takers is a huge disappointment and a bad use of such a greatly assembled cast. Ignore this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
CazatuzDec 6, 2010
I must have yawned atleast 10 times during this film. This is one of those movies that has a lot going on without really having "a lot" going on. Its one dimensional, I felt like they were just trying to glamorize that criminal life style. II must have yawned atleast 10 times during this film. This is one of those movies that has a lot going on without really having "a lot" going on. Its one dimensional, I felt like they were just trying to glamorize that criminal life style. I felt like I was watching Chris Brown, T.I, & Idris Elba instead of watching the characters they were playing. Nothing is new, & nothing is impressive. This movie just rest on pretty the whole time where is the Depth? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
The_DirtyRabbitOct 2, 2010
Everyone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left me unsatisfied. The story was a little to simple for me and it could have used some better characterEveryone in this movie does a great job of acting...except Chris Brown. The story was somewhat intriguing at first but eventually left me unsatisfied. The story was a little to simple for me and it could have used some better character development of crew of bandits. I was annoyed by the classic shaky camera during action scenes but other than that most of the action scenes were entertaining.

If it wasnt for the great acting of Idris Elba, Paul Walker, Jay Hernandez and even T.I. this movie would have sucked. They saved it, and so I can say this movie was "good"... for an action movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheGorillaJan 14, 2011
i watched the whole movie and i was begging god to end, but it lasted almost a nice two hours. hmm, the characters are the biggest miss in this movie. the actors, i mean t.i. was terrible. chris brown gave me some surprises like the runningi watched the whole movie and i was begging god to end, but it lasted almost a nice two hours. hmm, the characters are the biggest miss in this movie. the actors, i mean t.i. was terrible. chris brown gave me some surprises like the running scene, but, honestly, nobody was good. matt d, paul w..i don't know. but t.i. should just stick with the rapping. the plot was similar to the plot from the 'the town' but, it makes 'the town' look like 'l.a. confidential'. i don't know. please, don't make movies like this. never ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
horrorboyJan 25, 2011
Although TAKERS can be potentially one-dimensional with it's main cast of characters and clichéd in it's own story, climatic actions scenes and decent acting help bring some some momentum to the table. TAKERS stars a whole listAlthough TAKERS can be potentially one-dimensional with it's main cast of characters and clichéd in it's own story, climatic actions scenes and decent acting help bring some some momentum to the table. TAKERS stars a whole list of popular hip-hop artists, a few talented actors, and Hayden Christensen, blends them all into one film in hopes of producing a movie that will attract the modern film audience. While it eventually does just that, other types of individuals may be able to discover it's flaws without much trouble. The buildup in TAKERS is like any typical heist movie. It opens with a bank heist, the robbers make out with the money, and then they decide to perform another heist soon thereafter. The main group of five is approached by an older comrade of theirs named 'Ghost' (T.I.) who was released on probation for good behavior on a sentence from robbery 5 years previously. He suggests the 5 perform a heist differently this time; steal $20 million from a pair of armored vans via 'Italian Job' style. What follows is the usual build-up of the heist and the problems of the people involved, which is the real problem. The term 'forced character buildup' comes in clearly at this point. I really never cared for any of the main central characters due to their single dimensional personalities. While there is the drug stricken sister of Elba and the awkward father-daughter relationship of Dillon, that pair of backstories is really the only ones the audience is presented to throughout the film. In a film so titled 'TAKERS', the audience isn't taken it, persay, by the characters. You really don't get to know them, and its hard to find sympathy when negative things happen to each of them. TAKERS does house some great action scenes at times, and climatic shootouts that kept me suspended on who was going to get out alive. I was also fond of the Chris Brown chase later on in the film, and his broad range of acrobatic skills kept me entertained until it's end. The acting, at least from a few actors, is decent. Dillon is great as always, and Walker and Ealy prove to show that they have decent acting skills. Chris Brown was decent as well as T.I. Hayden Christensen still needs some more time in acting school. Although TAKERS is a clichéd and unoriginal heist film, it's many action scenes held my attention throughout, and the acting from the more veteran actors was a relieve. TAKERS never brings anything new to the table in any means, but it does bring some variety and excitement for the more modern viewers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
kashFeb 19, 2011
This movie had a lot going for it except for one thing: the acting. If you are looking for a movie like "The Usual Suspects" or even "Ocean's Eleven" then you are wasting your time. This movie was #1 in theaters when it came out (Chris BrownThis movie had a lot going for it except for one thing: the acting. If you are looking for a movie like "The Usual Suspects" or even "Ocean's Eleven" then you are wasting your time. This movie was #1 in theaters when it came out (Chris Brown should be thanking God for that considering his acting was on par with pornography on this one). TI could really use some acting lessons (perhaps while he does his second 11 month bid). Idris Elba, Hayden Christensen, and whomever else was in the movie should file this one on their taxes as charity work for the careers of the first two mentioned. Those other actors could have chosen better scripts and I personally suspect they felt sorry for Chris and TI and that is why they took their respective roles. Finally, Idris Elba needs to quit doing these sorry movies (like Obsessed; we know Beyonce can't act but did they have to tie the anchor around Elba's legs on that one?). I think he deserves better parts than what he is taking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Khunter4382Jul 26, 2011
Great pace and a sense of urgency, though it never really lives up to those conditions. The cast is strong with a few semi-big names......Christiansen oddly enough gives one of his better performances here though he doesn't appear that much.Great pace and a sense of urgency, though it never really lives up to those conditions. The cast is strong with a few semi-big names......Christiansen oddly enough gives one of his better performances here though he doesn't appear that much. After the first half hour, I could start to see the film swirling down the toilet but it never quite makes a complete flush. We are then left with a soggy piece of paper that we don't know what to do with. Is it good or bad? Who cares? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
khashi2010Nov 7, 2011
"An exciting action which is great for wasting time."
Some scenes are interesting and excising but the whole movie is in a weak story-line. It could be better if had some better actors specially for the cop guy is almost terrible and his
"An exciting action which is great for wasting time."
Some scenes are interesting and excising but the whole movie is in a weak story-line. It could be better if had some better actors specially for the cop guy is almost terrible and his reacts are very weak. But I think the most important problem is with the script.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Takers is a great story, with lots of great action and chase scenes. Matt Dillon, who I usually can't stand is actually very good. I was thoroughly entertained, however there some big holes in the story and at many points, It felt familiar.Takers is a great story, with lots of great action and chase scenes. Matt Dillon, who I usually can't stand is actually very good. I was thoroughly entertained, however there some big holes in the story and at many points, It felt familiar. It was as thou I was watching a PG-13 rated version of The Fast The Furious without Vin Diesel. Still, overall it was a pretty good movie and I'd recommend it, especially to my fellow action junkies! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RonaldOVOXOFeb 3, 2012
great action movie> One of the greatests action movies of all time (in my opinion) great storyline great ending & beginning. I could watch this movie 90 times without getting bored
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RegOzApr 5, 2012
I was greatly surprised when I watched this movie. I am a girl, and I totally love it! It is not a 10, but I don't think it deserves such a bad score. For its genre, works fantastically! It is engaging...things happen quickly, so it is goodI was greatly surprised when I watched this movie. I am a girl, and I totally love it! It is not a 10, but I don't think it deserves such a bad score. For its genre, works fantastically! It is engaging...things happen quickly, so it is good if you are good at thinking ;) There is no chance to get bored...at least not if what you like is lots of clever action. I don't think the acting was bad either. It was fine. The movie was not outstanding, but being honest....it is more than just a plain 5 or 6...especially considering that sooo many bad movies get better score than this one! Forget the critics, try it yourself...at the end the answer will be your experience! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LokathorMay 16, 2015
This movie is basically like The Italian Job, only with more gun fights and a parkour-inspired chase scene. I don't know what people don't like about this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Captain_KirkAug 26, 2012
Heist movies shouldn't require absolute brilliance to be good, but they should at least have a brain in their head. 'Takers' is sadly not a smart heist movie. Now, you CAN have fun with a dumb movie, but there's really not much fun to be hadHeist movies shouldn't require absolute brilliance to be good, but they should at least have a brain in their head. 'Takers' is sadly not a smart heist movie. Now, you CAN have fun with a dumb movie, but there's really not much fun to be had with 'Takers'. It takes itself so seriously, but comes off as unintentionally hilarious at times thanks to some weird choices of music in scenes that are supposed to come off as dramatic. Rappers and R&B singer also do not make for good actors in a film of this type. Period. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Takers has many flaws, but the fun never stops. This is a movie made to excite and entertain; do not expect any sort of enlightenment or thought provocation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
swagprincess2k1Dec 2, 2013
Absolutely love this film, it is possibly one of my favourite films of all time, good action scenes along with the actors being on point. A overall good film and even some scenes that make your eyes tear up. LOVE it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MarickJun 21, 2015
The film is full of known public figures. But it is not very good .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieReviews101Sep 13, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Verdict: Slick Heist Film

Story: It can be hard to keep the heist genre fresh because there is always some very simple rules that every film usually follows. The strong leader who has a second who keeps everything together and comical brother pairing, a group of seemingly different people whose skills come together, a determined cop, an old member and the idea this will be the last job but even risker than normal. This follows all the rules without straying to create any originality, saying that these rules are what makes this a good film and why try and change something that is broken. (8/10)

Actor Review

(This is not in order of impotence)

Chris Brown: Jesse the cocky brother and member of the crew who select skill set is never really explained but when he is in trouble he always finds a way out with a brilliant free running scene. Good performance from the controversial singer showing he can be part of an assembled cast. (7/10)

borwn

Hayden Christensen: AJ the man who can get his hands on everything, he is good in a fight and his overall charm makes the youngest member of the team crucial. Good performance from the heavily criticised actor. (7/10)

hayden

Matt Dillon: Jack the reckless cop who won’t let the case rest until he finds out who was behind the job, leading him to push his daughter away and leave him figuring out everything on his own. Good performance from the ever reliable Dillon. (7/10)

dillon

Michael Ealy: Jake the smart brother who keeps both their interests at heart, he plans the details of the job while others get what he needs. Good performance creating a good bond with Chris Brown to create a good brother relationship. (7/10)

jake

Idris Elba: Gordon the leader of the crew, who always keeps the jobs quick and clean with a long enough gap between them all that no one will suspect them. Good performance from Idris showing he is the go to lead coming out of the UK.(8/10)

elba

T.I. Harris: Ghost the former member who is fresh out of jail, who brings the team one more job to make up for his lost time. Good performance creating a very calm persona throughout. (7/10)

ghost

Paul Walker: John the calm second in command/advisor to Gordon who keeps everyone together as is usually the go to guy to double check everything before going through with the job. Good performance from Walker showing he is a good member of an ensemble cast. (7/10)

walker

Director Review: John Luessenhop – Good direction to create a good crime thriller that keeps your attention from start to finish. (7/10)

Action: The action doesn’t happen too often but when it does it is all very entertaining. (7/10)

Crime: Good crimes heist thriller elements used throughout. (9/10)

Thriller: Keeps you wondering what will happen next to all the characters. (8/10)

Settings: Good settings used mainly all LA which works for the busyness of the moments. (7/10)

Suggestion: This is one that all the fans of the genre should see, but I feel more people should try it they will enjoy what they see. (Try)

Best Part: The Free Running Escape.

Worst Part: No real originality. Action Scene Of The Film: Free run escape. Believability: No (0/10) Chances of Tears: No (0/10) Chances of Sequel: No Post Credits Scene: No Similar Too: Ocean’s Eleven Oscar Chances: No Box Office: $69 Million Budget: $32 Million Runtime: 1 Hour 47 Minutes Tagline: Money doesn’t count Overall: Enjoyable Crime Thriller
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horizonbtsSep 24, 2015
As others have said it reminds me a little of "The Italian Job", and the movie is not without flaws. Still the movie works and the actors do a good job of holding it together. Nice plot with some dandy twists and the pace quickens as theAs others have said it reminds me a little of "The Italian Job", and the movie is not without flaws. Still the movie works and the actors do a good job of holding it together. Nice plot with some dandy twists and the pace quickens as the movie moves along. Don't go in expecting a lot, just sit back and enjoy the ride, but hold on tight as by the end of the movie you will feel like you just got off of a runaway train! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 22, 2015
" Takers" was an action movie overflowing , but he sorely lacking in entertainment or adjustments that hardly convince the criticsI came to a conclusion opinon that not a few of the movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews