Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: November 22, 2002
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 81 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
72
Mixed:
3
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It is a film of magic - whether it is diabolism or wonder, I can't say, but it is there, and it will captivate you. Almodovar has created an unmined dramatic space for us to dwell in, and knocks any preconceived notions of morality andIt is a film of magic - whether it is diabolism or wonder, I can't say, but it is there, and it will captivate you. Almodovar has created an unmined dramatic space for us to dwell in, and knocks any preconceived notions of morality and certainty out of his twisted world, and carries us along into it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
VicL.Oct 27, 2003
There are a total of four performances within the film itself, for a total of five performance art pieces each worthy of reflection. This type of play within a play often reminds me of Shakespeare's Hamlet, where the travelling actors There are a total of four performances within the film itself, for a total of five performance art pieces each worthy of reflection. This type of play within a play often reminds me of Shakespeare's Hamlet, where the travelling actors put on a story whose plot mirros that of Eodipus Rex, which is in fact what Hamlet was at its core. The first twenty minutes of this film were slow but soon the pace increases and before the hour is out you are bonded in an emotional connection to the characters. No plot summary could do the film justice as the plot is too contrived outside the context of the movie and Almodovar's directorial narration. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KristinK.Aug 3, 2003
It was one of the most emotional touching movies I have ever seen. The film collides together with two storylines in a perfect setting it brought me to tears. Definitely worth watching again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnY.Jan 12, 2003
Simply amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GerryK.Jan 8, 2003
He is really developing so well. Now he uses wonderful things he has come upon such as the two Pina Bausch dance numbers as bookends to frame the film. The greta Brtazilian singer who makes "La Paloma" live freshly as a great song. Almodovar He is really developing so well. Now he uses wonderful things he has come upon such as the two Pina Bausch dance numbers as bookends to frame the film. The greta Brtazilian singer who makes "La Paloma" live freshly as a great song. Almodovar was always amusing but now he tells stories with resonance and complexity. How lucky we are to have him! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GutiErrezFeb 14, 2003
A masterpiece. The finest example of making good cinema. Good story. Good play by the actors. And a superb music by Alberto Iglesias. Yes, Almodóvar deserves an Oscar award again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 14, 2003
This movie was so good that I quit eating my popcorn as early as the first few minutes of its beginning. A piece of art that gives me hope that the art of making movies will continue despite all the technological advances that makes wonder This movie was so good that I quit eating my popcorn as early as the first few minutes of its beginning. A piece of art that gives me hope that the art of making movies will continue despite all the technological advances that makes wonder what is true and what is made by computers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoA.Mar 3, 2003
Una armoniosa película, llena de sentimientos y de relaciones humanas. Todo ello bien dirigido con seriedad, ternura y, a veces, divertida. Las interpretaciones son magistrales (Javier Cámara un genio). La mejor película Una armoniosa película, llena de sentimientos y de relaciones humanas. Todo ello bien dirigido con seriedad, ternura y, a veces, divertida. Las interpretaciones son magistrales (Javier Cámara un genio). La mejor película del año. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeterR.May 4, 2003
Complex and theatrical. A film about lonliness and inability to verbalize affection and need in all but the"her". The Director (and through hin his characters) has some difficulties in relating to women. His unfortuate sexual preferenceComplex and theatrical. A film about lonliness and inability to verbalize affection and need in all but the"her". The Director (and through hin his characters) has some difficulties in relating to women. His unfortuate sexual preference prevents him from not being threatened by women and he is unable to see them just as people with ordinary stengths and weaknesses. Apart from the unconvincing "snake kiling episode' the film is seamless in its content and wonderfully complex protrayal of all the characters. It is by far his best film to date, and could be described as one of the masterpieces of modern cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlanO.Jun 1, 2003
A remarkable film by a remarkable director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesB.Jun 2, 2003
Most beautiful, touching and masterly crafted film I have seen in a long time. One I would like to own, which is unusual for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GiuliaFeb 27, 2005
This movie is so easy too like. you feel better after watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Jun 13, 2005
The best movies balance obsession and enlightenment. They can dare to be tedious to the point of boredom throughout if the wrapup is a blinding flash of the obvious. The Rules of the Game, Tokyo Story and Citizen Kane come to mind. This The best movies balance obsession and enlightenment. They can dare to be tedious to the point of boredom throughout if the wrapup is a blinding flash of the obvious. The Rules of the Game, Tokyo Story and Citizen Kane come to mind. This movie, while undeniably ground-breaking, compelling and worth watching, becomes too absorbed in the subconscious to conclude with clarity. Lack of development of the female love interest characters sustains their relationship with the male leads as a vegetative state. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmurabiM.Jun 9, 2006
This is a story about the friendship between two men, about solitude, about the long process of healing wounds provoked by passion, about communication and the lack of it in relationships. About cinema as an ideal vehicle in the This is a story about the friendship between two men, about solitude, about the long process of healing wounds provoked by passion, about communication and the lack of it in relationships. About cinema as an ideal vehicle in the realationships between people. Watching as the cinema as storytelleing can stop the time and sets in the life of who´s telling the story and who listens it. "Talk to Her" is a movie about the joy of tell a story and about the words as a weapon of escape of loneliness, death and madness, that madness so close to tenderness and common sense that can´t be so different from reality. In "Talk to Her" there are moments of cinematic perfection, of sublime blend of music and image (as the great cateano veloso singing and the whole almodovarian crew listening --cecilia roth, marisa paredes, paz vega et al--) and moments of unbearable beauty. This is the second great masterpiece of a genius and the best example of narrative as cinema and viceversa. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancaevavegaJan 3, 2003
I say only GREAT.....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TPJan 7, 2003
This is, IMHO, one of the best movies of the year. It is a great story, superbly told. Javier C. and D.Grandetti should get all the awards. And Almodovar should get nominated for best director. His achievement cannot be understimated. I have This is, IMHO, one of the best movies of the year. It is a great story, superbly told. Javier C. and D.Grandetti should get all the awards. And Almodovar should get nominated for best director. His achievement cannot be understimated. I have seen the movie several times now, and it keeps getting better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 11, 2003
Context is everything I guess. What happens to Chloe Sevigny in Larry Clarke's "Kids", happens to Leonor Watling, in this otherwise, intelligent and thoroughly entertaining film. It's three days later, and this plot point still Context is everything I guess. What happens to Chloe Sevigny in Larry Clarke's "Kids", happens to Leonor Watling, in this otherwise, intelligent and thoroughly entertaining film. It's three days later, and this plot point still gnaws at me. Is Benigno sympathetic enough to justify his actions? And after that question is weighed for judgment, ask yourself if that's beside the point? Bring a feminist with you to "Talk to Her" and talk to her about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValeriaG.Mar 29, 2003
I almost regret seeing this film because its effected me to deeply. Burrowing into my head, can't get it out, I'm crying all afternoon. Visually stimulating, bueatiful in every sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StephenS.Apr 19, 2003
[**Potential Spoilers**] With this mature Almodovar work, gone is the glitz of ten years ago, but not the subversion. If you want a movie that neatly mirrors your own set of prejudices, forget about Talk to Her. The attraction of Almodovar[**Potential Spoilers**] With this mature Almodovar work, gone is the glitz of ten years ago, but not the subversion. If you want a movie that neatly mirrors your own set of prejudices, forget about Talk to Her. The attraction of Almodovar is that he tempers outré sensibilities with the exhausting disciplines of the true cineaste. Suspect situations that would turn to mush in most hands are transformed by the precise emotions elicited from loyal ensembles of actors. The contrivance here is the unlikely friendship struck up by two fellows watching over their comatose loved ones at a hospital. Of course, they?ve already met by chance, at an avant-garde Pina Bausch performance, the one (Benigno) having been struck by the other?s (Marco) tears of feeling. If Almodovar has been esteemed for his depictions of women, here the men?s deepening friendship takes centre stage, filmed against masculine red-earth hues. Marco is infuriated when Benigno wants to wed the apparently brain-dead woman he nurses every day, even more so by his moderate suggestion that they would get along as well as most married couples. Nonetheless, he stands by his (disintegrating) man to the bittersweet end. The most outrageous gag is the reworking of The Incredible Shrinking Man as the ultimate back-to-the-womb fantasy. The subtle joke occurs when the ashen doctor first emerges from the suite of Marco?s girlfriend, gored senseless while bullfighting. In every other movie, he?d break the bad news in the time-honoured fashion. Almodovar?s twist is that the hapless medic can?t get a word in edgeways, as his intended audience of loved ones dissolves into a Spanish maze of side-conversations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenS.Apr 19, 2003
[**Potential Spoilers**] With this mature Almodovar work, gone is the glitz of ten years ago, but not the subversion. If you want a movie that neatly mirrors your own set of prejudices, forget about Talk to Her. The attraction of Almodovar[**Potential Spoilers**] With this mature Almodovar work, gone is the glitz of ten years ago, but not the subversion. If you want a movie that neatly mirrors your own set of prejudices, forget about Talk to Her. The attraction of Almodovar is that he tempers outré sensibilities with the exhausting disciplines of the true cineaste. Suspect situations that would turn to mush in most hands are transformed by the precise emotions elicited from loyal ensembles of actors. The contrivance here is the unlikely friendship struck up by two fellows watching over their comatose loved ones at a hospital. Of course, they?ve already met by chance, at an avant-garde Pina Bausch performance, the one (Benigno) having been struck by the other?s (Marco) tears of feeling. If Almodovar has been esteemed for his depictions of women, here the men?s deepening friendship takes centre stage, filmed against masculine red-earth hues. Marco is infuriated when Benigno wants to wed the apparently brain-dead woman he nurses every day, even more so by his moderate suggestion that they would get along as well as most married couples. Nonetheless, he stands by his (disintegrating) man to the bittersweet end. The most outrageous gag is the reworking of The Incredible Shrinking Man as the ultimate back-to-the-womb fantasy. The subtle joke occurs when the ashen doctor first emerges from the suite of Marco?s girlfriend, gored senseless while bullfighting. In every other movie, he?d break the bad news in the time-honoured fashion. Almodovar?s twist is that the hapless medic can?t get a word in edgeways, as his intended audience of loved ones dissolves into a Spanish maze of side-conversations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaterinaD.Apr 3, 2003
Film full with emotions. Great story and directory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrodieJ.Jun 7, 2003
Beautiful. Enchanting. Haunting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SiSiJeSuisUnMulroneycakesNov 25, 2002
How easy it is to label any emotion as "sentimentality". Thank you, and goodnight! Anyway, Talk To Her is almost as good than All About My Mother - which was a masterpiece. If you've never seen any Amoldovar, watch ..Mother, then this, How easy it is to label any emotion as "sentimentality". Thank you, and goodnight! Anyway, Talk To Her is almost as good than All About My Mother - which was a masterpiece. If you've never seen any Amoldovar, watch ..Mother, then this, then Flower of my Secret, then Women On The Verge Of A Nervous Breakdown. And carry on as you wish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EstherFeb 25, 2003
I cannot stop thinking about this movie: the colors, themes, men, ralationships, women, clothing, jewelry, music, dialogue, movements. It was so much to absorb. Almodovar expresses the pain of heartache and loneliness beautifully.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LuisfeRojasR.Jun 26, 2003
Excellent film! I found this movie to be one of the best by Pedro Almodovar, -but not quite his best- which is definitely "All About My Mother". "Talk to Her" is a very compelling movie with a realistic, moving plot that interests many of Excellent film! I found this movie to be one of the best by Pedro Almodovar, -but not quite his best- which is definitely "All About My Mother". "Talk to Her" is a very compelling movie with a realistic, moving plot that interests many of the viewers, especially Almodovar's followers, like myself. I would recommend it just about anyone who likes watching a good, non-Hollywood film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
rachelc.May 11, 2005
The subtle beauty of this film brings me to tears just to think on it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelHJun 11, 2005
Best Almodovar I've seen.. beautiful cinematography, great rhythm. Acting is excellent. What more can I say?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PhabtarNov 2, 2010
This one is flawless. Personally I didn't watch much out of Hollywood movies but this certainly can convince that the best stuff is not only Hollywood, The underlying messages of loneliness, of friendship tends to take you by surpriseThis one is flawless. Personally I didn't watch much out of Hollywood movies but this certainly can convince that the best stuff is not only Hollywood, The underlying messages of loneliness, of friendship tends to take you by surprise sometime. Certainly can see why it's so critically acclaimed. And my score reminds me that I'm not that much of a critic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
choomtabi31May 11, 2016
Beautiful movie! Really amazing. Great acting. I really liked the plot. This is a must see, you will not be disappointed!

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-12928-Talk-to-Her
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dominogodfreyJun 4, 2016
This is a horror movie starring a Spanish Norman Bates. Look out. This is a horror movie starring a Spanish Norman Bates. Look out. This is a horror movie starring a Spanish Norman Bates. Look out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews