Wellspring Media | Release Date: October 6, 2004
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
10
Negative:
5
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
This is the film I gaurantee you have never ever seen before and unavoidably, will stuck in your head for the rest of your life. The most powerful and inspirational piece of documentary feature and is considered,personally, to be the trueThis is the film I gaurantee you have never ever seen before and unavoidably, will stuck in your head for the rest of your life. The most powerful and inspirational piece of documentary feature and is considered,personally, to be the true triumph of the film's world.
[Harrowing, Hopeful, Remarkable, Masterpiece!]
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NicholasT.Jun 1, 2005
What struck me so much about Tarnation was that it wasn't merely a film, but a piece of someone's history. While Tarnation was a great documentary in its own right, Cauoette, while very self indulgent and melodramatic at times, is What struck me so much about Tarnation was that it wasn't merely a film, but a piece of someone's history. While Tarnation was a great documentary in its own right, Cauoette, while very self indulgent and melodramatic at times, is whom truly needs to be applauded for the poignancy and courage with which he has created this film. Tarnation must be seen by people who have gone through the same sort of emotional process presented, as I have, in order to fully embrace the subtlety and truth of the film. And while iMovie does bear a few flaws within the film, Cauottes overall intentions are able to be seen. Great little film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SEBASTIANOct 20, 2006
What would you feel if you have the possibilitie of watch your life on TV?. This film is astonishing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScarletMar 8, 2006
It was one of the best documenterys I've seen in a while plus it got my grade in school out of the trash can.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickB.Mar 15, 2005
I gave this a 9 to keep it from the god-like film experience I think the hype is going for. Nonetheless, this is an extremely intense movie. At times it seemed a bit self-indulgent, but beyond the forced and contrived moments that were I gave this a 9 to keep it from the god-like film experience I think the hype is going for. Nonetheless, this is an extremely intense movie. At times it seemed a bit self-indulgent, but beyond the forced and contrived moments that were scarce but present, Jonothan Caouette brings forth a documentary at its most brutal and raw stage. There are certain scenes that are simply chilling and unnerving. I saw it two days in a row just to be able to fully digest the experience. I think this is a film that you should not miss, if for nothing else than its place as breaking down some barriers with how a documentary can be made and distributed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
melanied.Apr 25, 2005
This is one of the most inventive, arresting devastating and beautiful films I have ever seen. If you care about cinema it is not to be missed. Sublime.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.May 23, 2005
Great film that really goes into deep abyss of a really crazy upbringing. This film is a great part of Jonathan Caouette's healing process.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SimGJun 27, 2005
Very personel, a frightning film of mental illness and those effected by it. After the film I thought that I needed more answers but it's meant to be that way. Tough to watch at parts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ShaunaT.Aug 9, 2006
This film has some good moments, but it is unfocused. there are long surreal clips that occur simultaneously and often nonsensically. it is not nearly a masterpiece, its too much of a mess. maybe its a critic's film, because i loveThis film has some good moments, but it is unfocused. there are long surreal clips that occur simultaneously and often nonsensically. it is not nearly a masterpiece, its too much of a mess. maybe its a critic's film, because i love unique and intelligent films and i was not turned off by the depressing subject matter, but i found this film to be amateur-ish and badly edited. some material was very irrelevant and self-indulgent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaneG.May 29, 2005
A brilliant film that is clearly the work of a self-indulgent filmmaker who isn't afraid to show himself and his family with brutal honesty, even when doing so illuminates his own foibles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesP.Nov 27, 2004
From his own personal agony, Jonathan Caouette accomplishes a film that is poignant, original, and artistic. The work is as inspirational as it is painful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CarlM.Nov 28, 2005
Very probably one of the best movies I have ever watched. If its really a documentary it is the best documentary ever, if it is fiction it will still be a movie so strong and heartbreaking that it will change your life - and how many movies Very probably one of the best movies I have ever watched. If its really a documentary it is the best documentary ever, if it is fiction it will still be a movie so strong and heartbreaking that it will change your life - and how many movies actually have the power to influence other peoples lifes so much? Strangely enough, I somehow don't really look forward to any more movies from Jonathan, I simply hope this masterpiece will give Jonathan the peace of mind he deserves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]May 21, 2005
Outstanding. raw human emotion and resilience. art that reaches beyond what words can communicate, cutting to the depth of human suffering. by letting us in if only for a short time, what we learn, will remain forever with us. what they Outstanding. raw human emotion and resilience. art that reaches beyond what words can communicate, cutting to the depth of human suffering. by letting us in if only for a short time, what we learn, will remain forever with us. what they model for us, we can only hope to achieve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RussellL.Nov 13, 2004
This was a life defining film experience. Please see this moving - make connections to your own lived experience. You will be challenged, disgusted, moved, and changed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful