User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 256
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    5
    Objectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I canObjectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I can undoubtedly see the appeal and it is on full display here as joke after joke works and, in truth, this one makes numerous very interesting stances politics. Again, this is not the film for you if you want to see something artisitic. Rather, it is for you if you do not mind seeing some offensive moments covered with some hilarious jokes that will leave you in stitches throughout. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2011
    7
    "Team America: World Police" is one hell of a funny puppet show that displays a surprising mix of several different genres.
  3. FrancoR.
    Oct 16, 2004
    0
    This movie had some funny moments but overall was an offensive piece of Garbage! It's message was sickening, juvenile, idiotic, and perverse!
  4. OtisP
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This movie rocks and the soundtrack is the best ever made.
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    3
    Not what i was excepting. I hoped for an Action-Adventure genre but came a appaling movie. They use great movie actors as bad guys and bland humuor makes it bad. You like bad comedy or cheesy fails you would like this ( LIKE this movie.).
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    1
    Perhaps "Team America: World Police" just hasn't aged well, but this 'comedy' just isn't all that funny. Whereas other comedies have redeeming qualities, the slow pace and the writers' ability to take overdrawn jokes (which weren't humorous to begin with) and repeatedly smash you in the face with them, Team America is a good idea that fails in execution.
  7. B.S.
    Jul 26, 2006
    2
    When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" When I heard about the movie I thought it sounded great, a good old piss take aimed at the people who deserve it most , indeed I was most excited to see it. Sadly it was terrible. The visuals were quite stunning but the script was appaling, jokes were thin and even the spoofed plot could've been written by a thirteen year old. C'mon guys how cab "everybodys got aids aids aids" be funny, I'm not saying I was oofended but compared to memories like 'good aids, bad aids" from Brass eye it was terrible. A shocker. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you"if i was gona do a top 3 funniest movies of the decade this film would be in there . i love how they take micheal bay and jerry bruckhiemers style of film making and poke fun of it and **** all over it HAHAHA. there are alot of great and funny as hell moments in this film . the sound track is easily the funniest one in film history . i mean "pearl harbor sucks alittle more then i miss you" ROFL!!! suck it micheal bay!!! im glad that matt and trey hate him as much as i do. the only thing that was alittle off to me was the whole puppet sex thing . i coulda done with out that but otherwise this is one of the few films i can wach over and over again and still laugh. Expand
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    When you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs areWhen you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs are hysterical as usual and the characters are great, but unlike most Parker and Stone movies, The story isn't very strong. To be honest, it got really old, really fast, and by the end, I couldn't wait for it to be over. You should see it for its funny moments, but overall it's not their best work. Expand
  10. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    Picture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes andPicture South Park, but with puppets made to look like actors and famous people. They make the expressionless puppets look so dramatic and like such good actors that after seeing this movie I am convinced it is not the actors or acting that makes a great movie, but the directing. Similar to South Park which was created by the same creators, this movie contains a lot of obscene scenes and potty humour, but it is done well. A couple of scenes just start off really obscene and bad, but actually go on for much longer than they should and get much worse as they go on to shock you and gross you out even more! It is great! They basically turn Matt Daemon into a retard like Timmy from the South Park show and Kim Jong II the leader of North Korea (at the time of the original release) into Cartman, it is hilarious! There are also great satirical musical numbers in this movie too. I did not like it as much as the South Park movie, but it was still great. 10/10 Expand
  11. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    This is such a funny movie. People who don't like this movie fail to realize it's a spoof movie, a parody, making fun of America. Trey Parker and Matt Stone come out with another hilarious film.
    It has an awesome theme song, it makes fun Kim Jong Il, all involving puppets.
    Now that's funny.
  12. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Team America saves the world.
    An incredibly raunchy, extremely offensive, and in some moments a cringe worthy sickening puppet comedy; turns out to be down right hilarious. The laughs will make your jaw hurt.
  13. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    This movie was so stupid, but so funny. Definetly worth watching. NOT for kids. But if you like south park, you will like this alot. It's the same kind of humor except they didn't need to hold back like they do on comedy central.
  14. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Delivers the laughs with Parker & Stone's usual antics, but what makes this comedy fresh is the hilarious use of puppets, catchy songs and making light of a serious situation.
  15. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    A movie that heavily relies on shock value, and is designed to be offensive. It is the type of film you should get at a Charity Shop or Car Boot Sale for £3 or under. However, the music is very memorable.
  16. StevieG
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    This is an R-rated (almost NC-17) THUNDERBIRDS ( a reference which may surely date me). It is also very funny, as long as your skin is not too thin and you can take a joke. The credible, albeit misguided, critique of this film from Ebert (that the movie has no specific goal other to offend everyone) misses the point. This movie, like much Parker/Stone fare is compltely oblivious to This is an R-rated (almost NC-17) THUNDERBIRDS ( a reference which may surely date me). It is also very funny, as long as your skin is not too thin and you can take a joke. The credible, albeit misguided, critique of this film from Ebert (that the movie has no specific goal other to offend everyone) misses the point. This movie, like much Parker/Stone fare is compltely oblivious to political correctness in any way. It skewers the left as well as the right. It is utterly unconcerned with any group's "sensitivity," from the vertly racist rendition of the Korean villian to the lyrical content of the songs in the movie. But if you can get past the "offensive" nature of the humor, there is political commentary here. There is a strong anti-Bush sentiment. But liberals who whine and complain about everything are equally skeward. The strong anti-Hollywood overtone is also refreshing. The story is silly. Sure. But I laughed out loud a number of times, as did most of the theater. Expand
  17. Mr.Blonde
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Great satiric movie which spoofs the bush administration as well as the blockbuster crap from hollywood.
  18. BlancoA.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    I caught the sneak preview at The Village last weekend and loved it. Caught me totally by surprise. "Orgazmo" is one of my favorite flicks, but I wasn't a huge fan of the South Park movie, so I wasn't expecting much from the puppet action. I was wrong in a big way. Feeling a little burned out from the political season?? This is the antidote. It makes fun of America as the I caught the sneak preview at The Village last weekend and loved it. Caught me totally by surprise. "Orgazmo" is one of my favorite flicks, but I wasn't a huge fan of the South Park movie, so I wasn't expecting much from the puppet action. I was wrong in a big way. Feeling a little burned out from the political season?? This is the antidote. It makes fun of America as the do-gooder of the world, but it also strikes HARD at the Hollywood elites who have needed a firm slap for a while now. Alec Baldwin & Michael Moore get it the hardest, but the boys spread the love around, believe me. Sure, there are plenty of off-color jokes in this thing, so come with your sense of humor firmly intact. And no, they didn't have to totally butcher the puppet sex scene to get the "R" rating. It had everybody in the audience ROLLING. And the original songs are funny as hell! (You definitely have to pay attention closely to the lyrics to get the most out of it.) Trey Parker should seriously consider writing a live-action musical one day. Expand
  19. ChuckY.
    Oct 17, 2004
    8
    This movie has balls.
  20. JordanN.
    May 10, 2005
    10
    What a movie it was the best flim i've seen in a while.The puppet sex was also the funnyest think i've ever seen in the cinema its worth the money!!
  21. bradleyt.
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    I think this movie is fantastic and halarious how could you just give it a seven.9 4 a movie with puppets i was laugin all nite i think its top.
  22. RussB
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    Has its moments, but overdoes the sight gags. Good was cancelled out by the thin plot and overkill.
  23. RichardS
    Aug 8, 2005
    3
    Over-rated, only a few laughs, unnecessarily crude and stupid to the stage it's just not funny. Might have been funny as a 15 minute short. Maybe.
  24. MichaelC.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open For someone very interested in world affairs, but not a fan of South Park or puppets, I was very skeptical of this film. Brilliant and hilarious, this film is an equal opportunity satire of both conservatives and liberals. Most of the "offensive" material actually uncovers unpleasant truths underlying the attitudes, people and state of our world. Highly recommended for anyone with an open mind about exposing (by hilarious ridicule and hyperbole) the polarized nature of our present social and political environment. An extremely entertaining film for the "juvenile" mind that also provokes thought about our world for the "mature" mind. Expand
  25. DavidD.
    Oct 11, 2004
    9
    Not for children. Please don't take your kids. Plenty of sex and vulgar puppets. This movie was actually quite hilarious. Parker and Stone don't have a spotless track record (Orgazmo was terrible), but they have proven to push the comedy envelope when it comes to film and TV. This is no exception. Part musical, all Bruckheimer spoof. Once again, not for your children, but great Not for children. Please don't take your kids. Plenty of sex and vulgar puppets. This movie was actually quite hilarious. Parker and Stone don't have a spotless track record (Orgazmo was terrible), but they have proven to push the comedy envelope when it comes to film and TV. This is no exception. Part musical, all Bruckheimer spoof. Once again, not for your children, but great for educated adults who aren't squeamish. Expand
  26. Wongit
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    ABSOLUTELY one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. i have seen some funny films but this one surpasses them all, i didnt have high hopes for this movie, i thought it would be corny and lame. IT IS. but it is by far one of the funniest movies ever. its going to offend millions because of the puppet sex which is definetly over the top and the violence which i didnt expect...but it is ABSOLUTELY one of the funniest movies i have ever seen. i have seen some funny films but this one surpasses them all, i didnt have high hopes for this movie, i thought it would be corny and lame. IT IS. but it is by far one of the funniest movies ever. its going to offend millions because of the puppet sex which is definetly over the top and the violence which i didnt expect...but it is violent. I loved this movie. Great job Parker and Stone. Expand
  27. BubbaFresh
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    Team America... F*%K YEAH!!
  28. AmberH.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    That movie was so f...ing funny i was laughing for most of the movie. I love how they walk it looks so funny and just everything about it!!
  29. SethP.
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    This movie is pure genius. end of story. this it is perhaps the funniest movie of all time. If you cant see that, then perhaps your brain can't understand satires, physical comedy, or anything else of that nature. its extremely difficult to make a movie with puppets, nevermind a funny one. but to pull of what trey parker did, its simply pure genius. he only gets stronger and stronger This movie is pure genius. end of story. this it is perhaps the funniest movie of all time. If you cant see that, then perhaps your brain can't understand satires, physical comedy, or anything else of that nature. its extremely difficult to make a movie with puppets, nevermind a funny one. but to pull of what trey parker did, its simply pure genius. he only gets stronger and stronger with everything negitive that comes about. so feed him. please. i need this. haha. if you liked this movie (intelligent people only) check out his older movies like orgazmo and Canibal! The musical. both amazing. Expand
  30. DeeR.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Wow, is Roger Ebert wrong about this film. TEAM AMERICA is the hippest film you'll see this year. It is flat-out great Rabelasian satire. It is stark raving lunacy and deleriously funny. I think buy-the-playbook Democrats will hate this film and true liberals will love it.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Team America's strengths are in its musical numbers, especially Kim Jong Il's mournful "I'm So Ronery" (translation: "Lonely"), a heartfelt peek into the dictator's soul.
  2. There is no room for subtlety. Aiming a rude, foul-mouthed political satire everywhere -- left, right and center -- Trey Parker and Matt Stone blow up a good deal of the world, not to mention the egos of many Hollywood personalities
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    Goes the extra mile to piss off everybody -- which includes gleefully destroying renowned Hollywood liberals, literally and figuratively.