Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 15, 2004
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 271 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
212
Mixed:
25
Negative:
34
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
SpangleOct 7, 2014
Objectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this isObjectively, Team America is a horrible, horrible film. Offensive, formulaic, over the top, and poorly done (puppet-wise and direction-wise), Team America has very few redeeming qualities in terms of art. However, I will be damned if this is not one of the funniest films I have seen. I am not somebody who watches a ton of South Park, but in spite of every negative in this one, I can undoubtedly see the appeal and it is on full display here as joke after joke works and, in truth, this one makes numerous very interesting stances politics. Again, this is not the film for you if you want to see something artisitic. Rather, it is for you if you do not mind seeing some offensive moments covered with some hilarious jokes that will leave you in stitches throughout. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
When you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes thisWhen you see a film by Trey Parker and Matt Stone, you know you're gonna be getting two things. A lot of really stupid moments, that only they get, and moments of pure comic genius. Team America is your typical mix of both. What makes this movie amazing is that they do it all with puppets. Everything from action sequences to sex scenes are all done entirely with puppets. Their songs are hysterical as usual and the characters are great, but unlike most Parker and Stone movies, The story isn't very strong. To be honest, it got really old, really fast, and by the end, I couldn't wait for it to be over. You should see it for its funny moments, but overall it's not their best work. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
ChadS.Oct 22, 2004
Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, and Sean Penn are not my idea of the vapid celebrity, and probably don't deserve the gory deaths imagined by Trey Parker and Matt Stone. "Seed of Chucky" has the right idea; going after a true intellectual cipher like Britney Spears, who sounds borderline retarded in "Fahrenheit 9/11". That said, "Team America: World Police" is at its funniest when Parker & Stone go after Jerry Bruckenheimer. They satirize his films without any apparent exagerration. The deja vu is very strong. What Parker and Stone do here is deserving of a medal. By exposing what's banal, they're creating a more sophisticated viewer with a more discerning eye and ear for crap. Some of us were already laughing at the originals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
dudewhatOct 31, 2004
Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - Uneven, problematic, sometimes hilarious. Why do they hate Hollywood liberals so much? I mean, there are far bigger fish to fry, far more heinous people out there, and their tack towards Alec Baldwin et al. isn't just satiric - it's unrelentingly vicious. I mean, you would think Tim Robbins was Joseph Goebbels or something, and the movie almost implies as much. I have no problem with sharp-tongued satire, and some of the targets are worthy, but while "South Park" often has intelligent things to say about the hypocrites it lambasts, "Team America" is like a f***ing flamethrower, and not all that funny for the effort. Watch at your own risk. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
joehMay 27, 2009
The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't The directors seem to revel so much in this movies own absurdity that it never occured to them they may need a decent joke or two to carry these politically incorrect puppets across their 2 hour running time. Honestly the movie wasn't funny, and not in a "this movie's base humour falls so far below my comedic pallete that I could never laugh at the henious shenanigans displayed on screen" not funny , I just mean it wasn't funny. No decent political roasting, no poignant adressing of the issues, and not near the level of (dare I say it) intelligence that south park displays on a weekly basis. While the movie may have used the subtle fact that much of the straight faced scenes in this movie ARE stereotypically accurate of this genre, it doesn't change the fact that the directors seemed to lazy to accentuate these facts and left it to the audience to connect the dots. Only in the music (which earned this movie a four) did I find the more biting, mean spirited satire I've come to expect from these two. It's a pity, because one can see the potential contained within this movie, and all the effort and hard work the artistic crew poured into it as well, but bad writing is bad writing, puppets or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomJ.Oct 11, 2004
With a heavy heart, I must admit that Team America was a disappointment. Aside from the extremely crude language, this film was much tamer than I hoped it would be. My sense is that Mssrs. Parker and Stone do better work under the With a heavy heart, I must admit that Team America was a disappointment. Aside from the extremely crude language, this film was much tamer than I hoped it would be. My sense is that Mssrs. Parker and Stone do better work under the constraints of cable TV. That is, they can't get away with nearly as much cursing on TV, so they slaughter cultural sacred cows instead. But when they're endowed with the liberties an R rating affords, they seem to be satisfied with just being really crude. Maybe small town Colorado life is a more fertile source of humor than the war on terror. It's also possible that this movie was made too hastily. Whatever the cause, the result is that Team America is a lot less barbed and intelligent than a typical South Park episode. If this film turns out to be a flop, my big fear is that the studios will be discouraged from making puppet movies in the future. That would be a sad consequence, because there is absolutely nothing wrong with puppet movies per se. In fact, we could use a lot more of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattNov 8, 2004
Clever premise and use of puppets, but the novelty wore off very quickly. The movie was billed as making fun of everyone/everything but it struck me that the vast majority of jokes were anti-gay/homophobic (do Trey and Matt have something to Clever premise and use of puppets, but the novelty wore off very quickly. The movie was billed as making fun of everyone/everything but it struck me that the vast majority of jokes were anti-gay/homophobic (do Trey and Matt have something to hide?) This should've been reduced to a shorter film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TravisCOct 24, 2004
Sadly, much like "Shaun of the Dead," the movie promised to be among the funniest of the year, yet fell sadly short. Some of the jokes were funny, but Parker and Stone continue their increasingly wide scope of uniformed political commentary, Sadly, much like "Shaun of the Dead," the movie promised to be among the funniest of the year, yet fell sadly short. Some of the jokes were funny, but Parker and Stone continue their increasingly wide scope of uniformed political commentary, which they are increasingly bad at. All in all, a let down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ShayOct 25, 2004
The first 30 to 45 minutes were hilarious but after that the jokes seemed to be a little repetitive. Could have been a lot better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Sep 26, 2005
I personally enjoyed this movie, with its audaciousness, blanket ridicule and underlying message, but critically I can't say it was that good. At first I was put off by the puppet format, but quickly realized it was necessary, as real I personally enjoyed this movie, with its audaciousness, blanket ridicule and underlying message, but critically I can't say it was that good. At first I was put off by the puppet format, but quickly realized it was necessary, as real actors would not have been able, and probably not willing, to pull it off. Unfortunately, it's creators didn't stay tuned in to the brilliance of their concept, and allowed the project to capitulate to its smutty decives. They were working, but were pushed too far, at least for my sensibilities. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveE.Oct 29, 2006
Funny-ish first time, but has NO replay value AT ALL. Plus it's too popular, that also wrecks it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EaghanD.Oct 14, 2004
First off, Orgazmo was horrible. If Orgazmo was a "3," South Park: The Movie was Pi to the power of a million. Team America was nice. Funny. Clever. But it all is starting to seem a little tired, a little formulaic. Compared to "Napoleon First off, Orgazmo was horrible. If Orgazmo was a "3," South Park: The Movie was Pi to the power of a million. Team America was nice. Funny. Clever. But it all is starting to seem a little tired, a little formulaic. Compared to "Napoleon Dynamite," this is Noel Coward. But on its own merits, it's fine . . . some good yuks, but that's it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
CameronO.Oct 23, 2004
If you really dissect the politics of this movie, you realize that it's pretty whimpy point-of-view. Go after everyone: liberals, crazy Koreans, Hollywood, hawks, etc. No doubt, the idea of being told to "Vote or Die" by the likes of If you really dissect the politics of this movie, you realize that it's pretty whimpy point-of-view. Go after everyone: liberals, crazy Koreans, Hollywood, hawks, etc. No doubt, the idea of being told to "Vote or Die" by the likes of Mya, Paris Hilton and P. Diddy makes one want to vomit Gary Johnston style. But I wished the movie had more balls. And too much of the comedy was flat, with boring stretches. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlbertW.Oct 25, 2004
I'm surprised this movie has bombed so hard at the box office. It's obviously timely, often hilarious and stunningly produced. But it's not even close to South Park the Movie. Damn shame for Matt and Trey that they deferred I'm surprised this movie has bombed so hard at the box office. It's obviously timely, often hilarious and stunningly produced. But it's not even close to South Park the Movie. Damn shame for Matt and Trey that they deferred all their fees. A helluva lotta work for no cash! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
StevenH.Mar 25, 2005
The best scene in the entire movie was when the lead puppet puked his guts out. That was the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. But the rest was too perverted and I keep wondering if Trey and Matt are gay. One thing is for sure is The best scene in the entire movie was when the lead puppet puked his guts out. That was the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. But the rest was too perverted and I keep wondering if Trey and Matt are gay. One thing is for sure is that they are Pro Bush, this I had confirmed. But then again, in a matter of a year or two they will no longer be on TV so, we better sit and watch South Park while we can. I am Anti Bush, why in Gods name are these two so angry and why the hell do they hate so many people is beyond me. I'd like them to make a piece on Bush for once on South Park. OR them selves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful