Ted

Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2012
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 748 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
501
Mixed:
181
Negative:
66
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
WymasterAug 16, 2013
Why is everyone ripping on this movie? I thought that it was not only hilarious, but also very smart, which is what sets apart great comedies from good ones. Here we have John Bennett, played by Mark Wahlberg (while he isn't winning anyWhy is everyone ripping on this movie? I thought that it was not only hilarious, but also very smart, which is what sets apart great comedies from good ones. Here we have John Bennett, played by Mark Wahlberg (while he isn't winning any Oscars, he does good comedies), who is stuck in a boyish state of mind, because he's lived his whole life with a teddy-bear. He grew up with Teddy as his only friend, and thus feels a loyalty to him. Yet, he also is 4 years into with Lori (Mila Kunis), and she wants him to grow up. We have a fresh and original story here! You constantly see romantic comedies and women who want men to grow up, and how in the end the man somehow becomes a true man and it's a happily ever after story. However, here we have a fresh look at it. Not only that, but the supporting characters are great. John's boss is hilarious, Ted's girlfriend is great, and the scenes with Flash Gordon are so funny. Is it groundbreaking? No. Will it change your life? Of course not. Is it vulgar? Yes. However, if you want to have a good time with friends while also watching a quality movie that will make you laugh but also hits home emotionally? Ted is the best comedy of 2012, and maybe the best comedy of the decade (so far). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oDjentoJul 9, 2015
Short review for Ted 2 release. Ted is a hysterically funny comedy that consistently delivers an abundance of side splitting jokes non stop, with scenes of comedy that last minutes on end before settling down for the next jokey segment; inShort review for Ted 2 release. Ted is a hysterically funny comedy that consistently delivers an abundance of side splitting jokes non stop, with scenes of comedy that last minutes on end before settling down for the next jokey segment; in particular the party scene with Flash Gordon. Pure comedy gold and somehow the chemistry between Marky Mark and a CGI teddy bear seems more convincing and genuine than most real actors on screen. I would give this film an 8.5/10 really but i'm going to have to go up to a 9/10 just because this film has a special place in my (immature) heart Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscMar 18, 2014
from the guy who brought us family guy and american dad . Seth MacFarlane is the adult swim king and this movie brought me laughs and joy . i love Seth's directing and writing the script . i heard ted 2 is coming soon in 2015 which i willfrom the guy who brought us family guy and american dad . Seth MacFarlane is the adult swim king and this movie brought me laughs and joy . i love Seth's directing and writing the script . i heard ted 2 is coming soon in 2015 which i will enjoy and willing to see Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman2May 4, 2014
Seth McFarlane is one of the funniest men on earth. Everything he does especially Family Guy and this movie is freaking hilerious. Anybody who loves inappropriate jokes, Seth is your guy
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CPD98Nov 3, 2014
Tenía mis dudas sobre esta peli pero fue bastante divertida. Tiene escenas un poco raras que habrá quien no las entienda, pero te ríes, al menos yo me reí. Transmite buen rollo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
Seth McFarlane could not have made a better debut to the director chair with Ted. Ted is just hilarious and its a movie I have continued to watch steadily since its release and its still just as enjoyable as the first time I watched it. I wasSeth McFarlane could not have made a better debut to the director chair with Ted. Ted is just hilarious and its a movie I have continued to watch steadily since its release and its still just as enjoyable as the first time I watched it. I was worried that the film received too much hype and wouldn't be able to live up to it but I was so wrong. Ted can pretty much get away with saying anything and Mark Wahlberg shows how great he can be in a comedy film. To me comedy is where he should be. Can't wait for the sequel to Ted in 2015! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoeOct 7, 2014
Creative, great effects and Mark Wahlberg played the perfect 30 something who has never grown up. The humor is cheap and at times gross and plays to the little 14 year old boy in all of us men. I loved this movie and have watched it more thanCreative, great effects and Mark Wahlberg played the perfect 30 something who has never grown up. The humor is cheap and at times gross and plays to the little 14 year old boy in all of us men. I loved this movie and have watched it more than once. FLASH GORDON RULES!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ElineBOct 15, 2014
I have seen "Ted" in the cinema and I recently watched it at home. How funny is this movie... Enough emotional and realistic movies for a while, Ted drags you along the story and you just can't stop laughing. One of the most hilarious moviesI have seen "Ted" in the cinema and I recently watched it at home. How funny is this movie... Enough emotional and realistic movies for a while, Ted drags you along the story and you just can't stop laughing. One of the most hilarious movies I've ever seen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrMovieBuffMar 5, 2016
Seth MacFarlane (creator of 'Family Guy') makes his feature-film debut with a story about a grown man, and his walking, talking teddy bear in 'Ted'.

During Christmas sometime in the 1980s, a young boy named John Bennett who seems to have
Seth MacFarlane (creator of 'Family Guy') makes his feature-film debut with a story about a grown man, and his walking, talking teddy bear in 'Ted'.

During Christmas sometime in the 1980s, a young boy named John Bennett who seems to have trouble making friends, and fitting in with some of the other boys. His parents give him the best gift he has ever been given, a stuffed teddy bear where if you squeeze his chest, a little squeaky voice says "I love you". This endearing bear has proven to be something special for the young John.

One night, John makes a wish to this bear that he could talk and be his real friend. The next morning, John is shocked to discover that his wish came true and that "Ted" has come to life. At first it freaks a lot of people out, but soon enough, Ted becomes a celebrity and we see him going on chat shows and promoting his fame, but the fame doesn't distract Ted from his strong friendship with John.

We cut to over 20 years later, and John (Mark Wahlberg) and Ted (voiced by Seth MacFarlane) live in an apartment always making a habit of smoking pot and getting high all the time. We also meet John's girlfriend Lori (Mila Kunis) who raises some concern that her boyfriend is nothing more than just an eight year old boy trapped in a 30 year old's body. She wants Ted to move out, so they can focus strongly on their relationship.

Ted tries to find a new apartment to live in, and tries looking for a job. He ends up working at a till at a supermarket, this is where he meets a girl named Tami-Lynn (Jessica Barth), and there seems to be romance blooming between them.

Meanwhile, Ted's fame and being alive seems to have caught the attention of a sinister man named Donny (Giovanni Ribisi), who has been stalking Ted since his rise to fame, and promised his son that he would give him the bear.

Considering that this is an R-Rated comedy by Seth MacFarlane, it is crude, but not as visually crude as what you would see in most Seth Rogen comedies. There are many penis jokes, drugs jokes, and sex jokes galore for the oldest and most crudest of audiences to enjoy. MacFarlane proves that he has brought something to the R-Rated comedy category, while it may not be as crude as I thought, it still is very funny, and had me laughing from start to finish.

Some of the jokes do get a little out of hand from time to time. We often meet characters who are a little messed up to the point of non-existence, they are not believable, they are joke archetypes.

But other than that, one of the funniest films of 2012.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ArceptafferJul 29, 2015
I laughed my head off with this film. Seth Macfarlane is a comedic god. No one is funnier than him. I can't wait to watch the sequel. Now, time to go watch some family guy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AaronDWassermanJun 26, 2015
If you are a fan of Family Guy and Seth Macfarlane in general, you will have so much fun with this film. It is an absolute treat. and one of the greatest comedy movies ever
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A hilarious and crazy film a talking , womanizing loose bear, which we all liked by his charisma and his rudeness , along with Mr. actor Mark Wahlberg and Mila Kunis beautiful , made ​​me laugh nonstop. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DanBurritoJul 1, 2016
The plot is familiar, but Ted makes up for this with Seth McFarlane's hilarious brand of edgy humour and offers the timeless pleasure of watching a teddy bear get stoned. The premise is simple- a teddy bear comes alive and grows up to be aThe plot is familiar, but Ted makes up for this with Seth McFarlane's hilarious brand of edgy humour and offers the timeless pleasure of watching a teddy bear get stoned. The premise is simple- a teddy bear comes alive and grows up to be a swearing, alcoholic slacker. It's a great idea, and while the movie occasionally feels like a series of skits, it's hard to complain when the jokes are this funny. If you don't like crude humour, then this won't make you laugh. But if you're a McFarlane fan - and I certainly am - you're in for a treat. Overall, Ted is a very funny, if unevenly structured comedy and one of the funniest movies of 2012. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SirDimitris27Oct 21, 2015
One of the funniest movies of all time with an equally amazing sequel. It's humor which is black and dirty might not be appreciated by everyone though!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeFeb 19, 2016
Ted is about a teddy bear that can talk like a human and have the legal rights like a human. That's not all. Ted can also get away with foul profanity and get away with hidden references. Most people would rather watch this just to grant theTed is about a teddy bear that can talk like a human and have the legal rights like a human. That's not all. Ted can also get away with foul profanity and get away with hidden references. Most people would rather watch this just to grant the laughs from it since it's from the same creator of Family Guy. If you enjoy Family Guy without any doubt, you'll highly enjoy this movie without a doubt. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HerlyantiJan 6, 2016
I'm not sure Ted's really the Teddy Bear I know all this time. Yes he's still cute and all that, but he's so rude, vulgar and really loves to get high. I was shocked, actually. With that sweet and moving opening about X-mas wish, I neverI'm not sure Ted's really the Teddy Bear I know all this time. Yes he's still cute and all that, but he's so rude, vulgar and really loves to get high. I was shocked, actually. With that sweet and moving opening about X-mas wish, I never thought it would be a harsh joke movie. I like it, tho. It's funny. Just don't understand why Seth tries to change the image of Teddy Bear? Well, maybe this is where the basic joke lays.
Btw, i don't really approve Mila and Mark as a couple here. They're like coming from a different generation to me
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman1Mar 26, 2016
A very well made piece of comedic genius from Mr. MacFarlane. Ted is like a 2 hour Family Guy episode, full of laughter! Taking a concept that should be stupid, and it is, but making it work so well
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J2005Sep 15, 2016
Ted hearkens back to the days of Golden Age Family Guy when humor was something that the audience could actually understand enough to laugh at and not just uttering the word ''DOOKIE''over and over again.

The film pushes the envelope more
Ted hearkens back to the days of Golden Age Family Guy when humor was something that the audience could actually understand enough to laugh at and not just uttering the word ''DOOKIE''over and over again.

The film pushes the envelope more than it needs too at times, but the rest of it's jokes are honest enough to find funny while staying true to the creative nuance of the film's premise.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Arkadaşı olmayan küçük bir çocukken dilekte bulanan John, ayısının canlanmasıyla birlikte büyük bir şok yaşıyor ve mutlu oluyor. Yıllarca Ted adını verdiği ayısıyla her şeyini paylaşan ve yapan John. Artık evliliğe doğru yürüdüğü yolda ciddi biri olmak adına Ted'i bırakmak zorunda kalıyor fakat eski dostunu asla unutamayan John, Ted'i bırakamıyor ardından kaçırılan Ted'i kurtarmaya çalışırken kendini buluyor ve hem komedi hemde heyecan dolu bir filmi bizlere sunuyor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews