Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 489 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In a future, war-ravaged Los Angeles in which the machines have taken over the earth, a faction of human rebels led by an adult John Connor do battle with the cyborgs. Two "intelligent machines" have been dispatched to the past, one -- a replica of the Terminator model T-800 which dominatedIn a future, war-ravaged Los Angeles in which the machines have taken over the earth, a faction of human rebels led by an adult John Connor do battle with the cyborgs. Two "intelligent machines" have been dispatched to the past, one -- a replica of the Terminator model T-800 which dominated the original film -- to protect the young Connor, the other -- a shape-shifting metallic T-1000 -- to kill him. Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. A great movie... A pop epiphany, marking that commercially creative point where the power of Hollywood meets the purity of myth.
  2. Terminator 2 imagines things you wouldn't even be likely to dream and gets these visions onto the screen with a seamlessness that's mind-boggling. [3 July 1991, Daily Datebook, p.E1]
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    80
    As with "Aliens," director James Cameron has again taken a first rate science fiction film and crafted a sequel that's in some ways more impressive - expanding on the original rather than merely remaking it.
  4. 75
    A good summer movie, directed with great verve and imagination and filled with innovative, eye-popping effects. Cameron never relinquishes his grip on the audience, smoothly segueing from action sequence to action sequence and topping himself each time. [3 July 1991, Tempo, p.1]
  5. Reviewed by: Staff (Non Credited)
    70
    Trend-setting visuals compensate for a plot that lacks the imagination and edge of the 1984 original.
  6. All the virtues of the original... are present here, though when Cameron tries to milk some sentiment out of the "personality" and fate of his top machine he comes up flat and empty, and the other characters are scarcely more interesting.
  7. This tirelessly violent, ultimately exhausting film has the utter sincerity of all good science fiction, and a lot more flair than most, but it suffers from a certain confusion of purpose. In the end, it amounts to quite the pistol-packing plea for peace.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This is a prime example of a grade-A action film, it's got drama, family values, action moments with meaning which aren't just random "spur ofThis is a prime example of a grade-A action film, it's got drama, family values, action moments with meaning which aren't just random "spur of the moment" scenes added for filler, each scene has a reason and direction with where they're going with the film as a whole. The soundtrack, my god the soundtrack, the instrumentals are completely memorable, and i bet the intense intro song will be pounding in your head days after you've finished watching it. It's one of the most memorable and highly underrated, from the looks of the critic scores on here, action movies of all time. Expand
  2. GerrickC.
    May 13, 2006
    10
    T2 is the best out of all the Terminator movies. What we have here is a masterfully made movie that tell the story of a future war fought in T2 is the best out of all the Terminator movies. What we have here is a masterfully made movie that tell the story of a future war fought in the past with not one but two terminators. Model 101 (Arnold) is the good guy and the cool T-1000 (Robert Patrick) is the seemingly invincible bad guy. The movie has suspense, action, and even some humor. T2 defines what classic movies are. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Brilliant, action-filled sequel, superbly directed by James Cameron. The acting is top knotch, the suspense relentless, and the specialBrilliant, action-filled sequel, superbly directed by James Cameron. The acting is top knotch, the suspense relentless, and the special effects are mind blowing. A rare film that lives up to, and even outdoes, the original. Expand
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this a 9.5 out of 10. This is a great sic-fi. The best terminator movie. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job.First off, I would give this a 9.5 out of 10. This is a great sic-fi. The best terminator movie. Acting is good. Everyone does a good job. Score is good, and has a really good story. Really well made. The visual effects and action sequences are great. Well made and are just amazing. Overall, this is a great 90s action blockbuster. You really should see it. Expand
  5. May 5, 2013
    9
    This is a perfect example of an amazing sequel. It's truly better than the original in everyway. It was more intense, more action-packed andThis is a perfect example of an amazing sequel. It's truly better than the original in everyway. It was more intense, more action-packed and definitely had more quotable lines than the first one. As far as the story goes, it's an interesting and engaging story. It's a pulse pounding sci-fi story. That's what helps make for an awesome sci-fi thriller. As far as characters go some have there moments, but none of them were as bad-a** as the Terminator (Arnold Schwarzenegger) and T-1000 (Robert Patrick). Watching those two fight was movie magic. But what really makes this movie awesome is it's super cool action and visual effects. Most action movies now of days tend to have great action, but a weak story. This movie held on to both contexts and gave it all it got in this riveting sequel. Overall, It's a rare, tremendous blockbuster done right. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    This movie takes everything that i loved about the original terminator but fixes the complaints i had. You get to hear more of the terminatorThis movie takes everything that i loved about the original terminator but fixes the complaints i had. You get to hear more of the terminator backstory. The movie is filled with rememberable quotes, it also had a few surprises in it. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    2
    From watching this movie I thought the graphics were **** and that they could of done better with the ending it's just them distorting theFrom watching this movie I thought the graphics were **** and that they could of done better with the ending it's just them distorting the chips in liquid that completely does NOT look like actual melted metal. So PipeBomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  3. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  4. All Films Considered: James Cameron

    All Films Considered: James Cameron Image
    Published: December 18, 2009
    Now that the reviews are in for Avatar, we look back at the other James Cameron-directed films in our database, to see how the critics have responded to his work.