Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 2, 2003
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 646 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
417
Mixed:
156
Negative:
73
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
4
ThornMar 27, 2006
There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no There were some obvious goofs in the filming of T3. [***SPOILERS***] First of all, Arnie says that each T101 has two fuel cells powering it. He dumps one cell at the beginning of the film and the other cell at the end - leaving him with no cells and no power. Yet somehow, unbelievably, he keeps operating as though he has power and the light in his eye only goes out *after* the .. um... "grand finale". Where is this mysterious battery power coming from? The repeating scenes from the other T-films was absurd. Quotes were being repeated.. whole action sequences seemed to have been copy-pasted over.. I can't see this film having much rewatchability. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
4
MatthewB.Jul 4, 2003
Lot's of interesting touches and novelties, but T3 has no punch, and had no sense of how to build tension or use timing in scenes, and only did a lukewarm job of building connection with the characters. I loved T1 and T2. But I am Lot's of interesting touches and novelties, but T3 has no punch, and had no sense of how to build tension or use timing in scenes, and only did a lukewarm job of building connection with the characters. I loved T1 and T2. But I am afraid the series is over. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JacobJun 9, 2015
The best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the firstThe best thing about Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines is that Linda Hamilton dropped out of it because it is soulless. This is the same story we’ve heard before except with even more action and is mostly an uninspired retread of the first film. The film does take some time out to have a occasionally heartfelt moments but not enough to warrant the film’s existence. Arnold is entreating but that’s about it. At the end of the day this is not only an unnecessary sequel but an unpleasant one that is a slap in the face to Terminator 2: Judgement Day. Mixed feelings on the ending, which while surprising feels like a punch in the gut like being told that the Tooth Fairy isn’t real. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
"T3" lacks what made "T2" and "T1" a masterpiece, but it still has the blockbuster spirit within the movie.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
A few intensely entertaining set pieces serve to only just elevate this movie above its cheesy story and hammy dialogue.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
Doesn't live up to the standards set by the first two, and isn't as interesting or thought-provoking, but has some more catchphrases and special effects to keep it going.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
its my least favorite in the series, but it has the charm of Arnold Schwarzenegger as the Terminator.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
pauljohnsonFeb 16, 2012
While its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understandWhile its certainly an entertaining film, the action sequences are fun to watch, and some of the one-liners are pretty funny, its essentially a dumb action film. The Terminator, who's most fascinating quality in T2 was his quest to understand Humanity, is instead reduced to a dumb joke machine. The character development is thin on the whole, and the T-X is far too over the top for my liking. The T-1000 was a much more threatening villain. If you want a damn good film, watch Terminator 2. If you want a decent summer action flick for passive enjoyment, watch this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
Unfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improvedUnfortunately this was the worst of the series. The selection for the John Connor character was terrible, the invincibility of the Terminators has gotten more and more extreme each time, and while the effects have become markedly improved over the years, the CGI looked overdone. I mean, it was still an entertaining movie but it just wasn't as good as the first two. Hopefully Christian Bale makes Salvation BA because this definitely was not. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Dec 18, 2012
A decent yet terribly acted picture. It doesn't have the storyline or characters as the second installment but has much better single piece action sequences than many other films.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's not nearly as good as the second film - it lacks emotional characters and a strong heart. However, it does not fail to entertain us with its intense and explosive action sequences.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
GarianAug 7, 2012
I enjoyed watching the film, T2 being one of my favorite films to this day, however T3 did just feel like a repeat of T2 with a woman playing the villain instead of a man, and the story wasn't as memorable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
J24O1Jun 12, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's a good pop-corn movie but lack's that serious wow factor. The story doesn't live up to the first two movie's. The opening sequence when we first see the Terminator. Set's the tone of the movie. Enjoyable nonetheless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SkyrimGuy935Sep 22, 2014
Allow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries toAllow me to revise my previous review. This cannot even touch the first two Terminator films. There is a lot less character development, and the dialog is just doesn't have the same feel as T1 or the humor/quotability of T2. It tries to hit you emotionally in a few parts but just doesn't succeed at it. In addition, I feel that the guy who played John (Nick Stahl, I think) was pretty miscast. Why? Because he looks absolutely nothing like Edward Furlong. The action scenes are decent, and Kristanna Loken is pretty good as the T-X. That's about it though, just a forgettable action movie that is in the end, an unworthy third installment in a franchise with two other far superior films. (And one equally forgettable and even more soulless sequel) Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
HenryC.Jul 7, 2003
This movie was hilarious and although i wanted more depth it really wasnt possible because james cameron didnt direct! so get over it, if you came with high expectations then youre a moron. theres no way t3 compares with the earlier movies,This movie was hilarious and although i wanted more depth it really wasnt possible because james cameron didnt direct! so get over it, if you came with high expectations then youre a moron. theres no way t3 compares with the earlier movies, but i didnt expect it. its an OK movie. its fun then have fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffreyS.Jul 4, 2003
(**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be (**-out of 4) For all you "Termininites" out there, & I was kind of 1 myself! With the last 2 both powerhouse stuff (***1/2) & "T2" even went on to take home 4 OSCARS & grossed: $205m. I don't think this 1 though will likely even be nominated for visuals & especially in a yr. that has: Both "Matrix," flix/ "The Hulk" which I rate stronger then this actually!? & then of course final in the trilogy for "LOR-ROTK!" I per. think "Matrix: Reloaded," has that gold already sewed-up. But back to the big guys film & he needs a hit also! His last to go-over $100m. was 7yrs. ago & "Eraser" He should follow the lead of fellow action-stars, like Willis, Stallone & attempt vocals for animated features-(They at this point, seem to be the better pix being made?) Arnold though is actually quite compelling in this & It's much smaller a role then other 2. & the girl, villianous "Terminatrix?" Not much to do 4 her, but she is 1 gorgeous & hot lookin' lady! Hope she has a better future then poor Robert Patrick??? & I've always & yes, before "Romeo & Juliet," liked Danes! Good & very attractive actress! 1994's "Little Women" she was 2nd only to the OSCAR nominated Winona Ryder in that wonderful re-make. Of, IRONY A *Kate Hepburn film from 1933! Anyway, this will make "smashed-machinery" of the other new flix released this weekend! Mediocre or not! But I somehow feel Pixar's gorgeous creation will still conqour all this summer? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertL.Jul 7, 2003
A rather disappointing follow-up to the first two movies. This one lacked the extreme suspense, seat grabbing feel of the first two. It tried to be too cute and the humor felt like it should have been left for a Mel Brooks or Leslie Neilson A rather disappointing follow-up to the first two movies. This one lacked the extreme suspense, seat grabbing feel of the first two. It tried to be too cute and the humor felt like it should have been left for a Mel Brooks or Leslie Neilson spoof. Simply put: This is a picture that should never have been made without James Cameron's vision on guiding it. If he balked at directing this movie because of the script, I would not be shocked. The action was decent, but nothing shocking that makes it stand out. As for academy awards, I fully expect this one to be passed over by several other movies of a similar genre this year. The ending did leave room for another movie, so hopefully they can get Cameron back to do that and do so quickly before Arnold is over 60. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
VeezerE.Jul 9, 2003
Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't Mildly entertaining, but definitely not a worthy successor to the Cameron legacy. The dialogues are bland, the story feels like a one-act drama with some mid 90s effects thrown in to justify the budget. Don't get me wrong, I don't regret watching this movie; it's not bad compared to some of the other summer flops out there now. It's just sad to see the epic grandeur and vision of the previous movies missing in this one; this could have been a great movie with a livelier and visionary script, and a more capable director. I walked out thinking "That was it?". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JonathanP.Aug 8, 2003
Too much action; some of the action scenes were filler material. T3 also didn't capture the sense of paranoia, i.e. sense of being constantly chased, as in the brilliant and best Terminator movie, T2.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MelissaDec 8, 2003
Yawn... Too many contradictions to resolve. The writers took temporal logic and just said who did care (sic).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KenJul 15, 2003
It is not done in the same style as the previous 2 movies because it's a different director. T & T2 can stand on it's own as a dramatic movie with serious scenes. T3 can not. This movie is for kids or anyone who wanna see violence. It is not done in the same style as the previous 2 movies because it's a different director. T & T2 can stand on it's own as a dramatic movie with serious scenes. T3 can not. This movie is for kids or anyone who wanna see violence. It didn't even make sense sometimes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PirahnaJul 2, 2003
INTERESTING....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DamianP.Jul 21, 2003
Where was the plot? Why did they use actors who belong only on tv? I was worried at the beginning when JC had the dream about the machines - the FX weren't terribly good. The action scenes turned out very well, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyL.Jul 2, 2003
This movie seemed flat to me. Arnie was OK, but I missed Linda H. and Eddie F. Claire Danes and Nick Stahl were poor substitutes. The TX was not menacing enough for me. She looked like a super model with an attitude. Do yourself a favor and This movie seemed flat to me. Arnie was OK, but I missed Linda H. and Eddie F. Claire Danes and Nick Stahl were poor substitutes. The TX was not menacing enough for me. She looked like a super model with an attitude. Do yourself a favor and rent T2 again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EricC.Jul 3, 2003
For a movie with a dry storyline, I was somewhat impressed by some of the action scenes. This is the kind of movie that you'd watch with a group of friends at the end of the week. It delivered what it was supposed to; fast paced action For a movie with a dry storyline, I was somewhat impressed by some of the action scenes. This is the kind of movie that you'd watch with a group of friends at the end of the week. It delivered what it was supposed to; fast paced action and of cousre, Arnold, who gave a very good performance once again as a machine. But I miss the great plot from the previous Terminator and the brilliant direction from James Cameron. That's what made the Terminator series great in the first place. In general, the movie began and ended with a sour taste in my mouth. T3 is worth seeing once, but it will not be remembered in the same way the T2 was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KonradS.Jul 7, 2003
This Movie was such a let down. It was nothing but one liners, and I knew everyone they were gong to say before they said it. The story was week, the 'Surprise' Ending even weaker, and as nice as the special effects were, there was This Movie was such a let down. It was nothing but one liners, and I knew everyone they were gong to say before they said it. The story was week, the 'Surprise' Ending even weaker, and as nice as the special effects were, there was nothing new to make you go Awesome. It was all, ok, I've already seen that before, now show me something new! and they never did. Personally I would rather see the Universal studios T3 at the theatre than watch this again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FredW.Jul 7, 2003
This movie was awful. I only give it a 4 for some good action and chase scenes. The plot was contradictory and the content was inconsistent. The deleted scenes screamed betrayed the vacuum they created. I?ve seen better editing in amateur This movie was awful. I only give it a 4 for some good action and chase scenes. The plot was contradictory and the content was inconsistent. The deleted scenes screamed betrayed the vacuum they created. I?ve seen better editing in amateur cinema works. This movie was not worthy of the ?Terminator? name, a point well emphasized by the obvious absence of James Cameron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdamM.Jul 9, 2003
This is not the Terminator movie I was expecting and most definitely not the one that Cameron would have churned out had he been the one to direct this blockbuster crash. Where this movie really soars is in it's virtually non-stop This is not the Terminator movie I was expecting and most definitely not the one that Cameron would have churned out had he been the one to direct this blockbuster crash. Where this movie really soars is in it's virtually non-stop action sequences. The first half of the movie is a thrilling ride through Los Angeles with a huge crane smashing it's way toward the detruction of John Connor and his savior, The Terminator T-1000. In addition to these seat-gripping action sequences, comedy is also added to lighten the mood. Several scenes will have you laughing out loud. However, the movie seriously falls shot with a plot that is both incomplete and riddled with cliche's about a computer virus that's taking over the world's computer networks. There are several scenes in which defy simple logic, leaving the viewer more curious about how they occured then how the movie will continue. Case in point would be scene in which John Connor manages to turn on a particle accelerator without batting an eye... Note that scenes like these are all toward the end of the film, proving that the script was either very rushed or written by someone with little experience in screen writing. Bottom line, it's worth a theater screening but you'll probably never want to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
diogomendesJun 7, 2015
"Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines" is a step back over its predecessor, with a storyline trying to achieve the same results of the previous outputs, but it's still action-packed and Arnold Schwarzenegger continues delivering successfully"Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines" is a step back over its predecessor, with a storyline trying to achieve the same results of the previous outputs, but it's still action-packed and Arnold Schwarzenegger continues delivering successfully quotable lines of dialogue. If it wasn't for him, we would be looking at a 4/10 film.

6/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Larry223Dec 18, 2014
T3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que elT3 no llega a ser una obra maestra como T1 y T2, sin embargo, yo no pienso que sea una perdida de tiempo o un fracaso. En T2 James Cameron acabo con la franquicia dándole un final, pues aquí vienen a continuar la historia al desirnos que el dia del juicio es inevitable por que algunas cosas simplemente no se pueden parar. Como la muerte, la creación de una I.A real, etc. Lo que molestara a los fans de las películas es que el inicio no esta bien enfocado. Iniciamos con John Connor, de hay pasamos con la T-X, de hay vamos con un personaje que no conocemos pero sera importante por que la muestran muy temprano, de hay vamos con el T-101 y volvemos con John Connor. La película debió iniciar como las anteriores: Salen los Terminator, se establece la amenaza, de hay vamos con los personajes y los desarrollan y seguimos con la trama junto a escenas de acción. Aquí no esta ese orden y esta algo fuera de lugar. Pero si hablamos de las escenas de acción son increíbles, el CGI se ve bien, un poco raro aveces pero es 2003, me sorprende lo bien que se ve para su época, los efectos prácticos/reales también abundan, eso siempre ayuda. Yo fui a esta película intentando disfrutarla, el inicio puede molestar por un par de tonterías como que John Connor toma pastillas que les dan a los animales sin saber que son. Aun con sus problemas creo que se pueden sacar buenas películas en el futuro ya que podemos ver mas de la resistencia o un reinicio por un viaje en el tiempo con la película "Terminator Genesis" que saldrá en 1 año. Le doy un 06/10, no es una abominación, solo no esperes una obra maestra como las anteriores. Al final la película no esta mal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Jul 18, 2015
While the characters aren't as fleshed out as it's two masterful predecessors, the action and the charisma of Arnold Schwarzenegger in Terminator 3 does just enough to compensate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LinttaFlamingoSep 19, 2016
Terminator 2 was an extremely well made sequel that really showed that sequels don't always suck. So I was looking forward to Terminator 3. Unfortunately, it's not that good. While Arnold is always good, the rest of the movie felt reallyTerminator 2 was an extremely well made sequel that really showed that sequels don't always suck. So I was looking forward to Terminator 3. Unfortunately, it's not that good. While Arnold is always good, the rest of the movie felt really unnecessary and I wasn't invested in the characters and I didn't really care. And even though this movie is a lot shorter than Terminator 2, I still felt that Terminator 3 was overlong. It really wasn't that great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
Terminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapidTerminator 3 is the summer movie of 2003 that hard-core action fans have been awaiting. It's not ponderous and incomplete like The Matrix Reloaded. It's not steeped in characterization and modern-day mythology like Hulk. And it's not vapid and flashy like Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle and Bad Boys 2. Instead, it's a relatively straightforward science fiction adventure film - just what movie-goers expect from a third outing with Arnold Schwarzenegger's cybernetic alter-ego.

The movie is not weighted down by plot, but it does have a recognizable storyline featuring legitimate characters and a few nice (but minor) twists. Some degree of attention is helpful - Terminator 3 is not an intellectual challenge, but neither is it vacuous. The film has plenty of action sequences, some of which are spectacular. Director Jonathan Mostow has wisely not relied too much on computer graphics for these. A fair amount of stunt work was required, and the computer components are incorporated seamlessly. Additionally, Mostow does not play the game of cutting every second or so, and the music never upstages the visuals. Terminator 3 gets the most bang for its buck by letting the camera linger on the spectacle, and allowing tension, not flashiness, to be its hallmark.

If you take a step back and examine Terminator 3 from a distance, it bears all the characteristics of a road movie. Strip away the action sequences and the science fiction/time travel veneer, and that's what's left. But, since the average road movie is terminally boring, Mostow provides plenty of pyrotechnics along the way. Terminator 3 is a closer cousin to Terminator 2 than it is to the original. Like the first sequel, this movie is more concerned with elevating the pulse than stimulating the mind. There was plenty of action in The Terminator, but that movie was founded on ideas and paradoxes. In Terminator 2 and Terminator 3, the thought-provoking skeleton is still in place, but a much greater importance has been placed on the visceral impact.

Terminator 3 has a number of impressive action sequences, including one that features two crashing helicopters and another in which the T-101 and T-X go at it, one-on-one. But none is more impressive than the crane chase, where the world's largest crane goes crashing through everything in its path in an out-of-control attempt to (literally) run down John and Kate. (When Warner Brothers became skittish about budgetary issues, Schwarzenegger chipped in $1.6 million to allow the sequence to be finished.) It's hard to say which is the summer's best chase: this one or the equally spectacular one in The Matrix Reloaded.

Will there be a Terminator 4? The ending allows for one, and parts of the story have yet to be told. But, from an action standpoint, is there any way that way that a fourth picture could be anything other than a re-hash of its predecessors? And can the franchise succeed without its star (who, barring a failure to gain political office, will not be interested)? Those are questions for the future. However, considering how well Terminator 3 is likely to fare at the box office, the future won't be that far away. It has taken a long time to get Terminator 3 to the screen, and, while the production doesn't rock the action motion picture industry to its foundation, it's a credible and entertaining movie, and was worth the wait.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
Rise of the Machines lost the charming from the first two movies that consider them to be the best movies in the entire franchise. What this Terminator still have is that it's somehow enjoyable and filled with surprises.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews