Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 561 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Judgment Day has come and gone. The artificial intelligence network Skynet controls the army of Terminators that roam the post-apocalyptic landscape, killing or collecting humans where they hide in the desolate cities and deserts. Only one man saw Judgment Day coming. One man, whose destinyJudgment Day has come and gone. The artificial intelligence network Skynet controls the army of Terminators that roam the post-apocalyptic landscape, killing or collecting humans where they hide in the desolate cities and deserts. Only one man saw Judgment Day coming. One man, whose destiny has always been intertwined with the fate of human existence: John Connor. Now the world is on the brink of the future that Connor has been warned about all his life. But something totally new has shaken his belief that humanity stands a chance of winning this war: the appearance of Marcus Wright, a stranger from the past whose last memory is of being on death row before awakening in this strange, new world. (Warner Bros. Pictures) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. A fast-moving, rock 'em-sock 'em movie that continues the man-vs.-machines series begun 25 years ago.
  2. A couple of scenes directly reference the Iraq war and the Holocaust (where the humans are herded into cattle cars), and this is taking things much too seriously. This is a big blow-'em-up franchise movie. It should not under any circumstances be confused with a Statement.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    70
    It all contributes to making the story breathless and nerve-jangling.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    50
    The latest installment in the venerable sci-fi action franchise turns out to be a straight-up war film, grim and muscular and thundering and joyless. It's the color of cement, and it weighs as much, too.
  5. In Arnold's absence, an important ingredient of the "Terminator" iconography -- namely, the fun factor -- is in short supply.
  6. 50
    Most of the running time is occupied by action sequences, chase sequences, motorcycle sequences, plow-truck sequences, helicopter sequences, fighter-plane sequences, towering android sequences and fistfights. It gives you all the pleasure of a video game without the bother of having to play it.
  7. When Christian Bale allowed himself to play Bruce Wayne in "Batman Begins," he was slumming - and to good effect. But with Terminator Salvation, this ostensibly serious actor takes up residence in the action ghetto, and it's not a good fit.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 262
  1. PaulW
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set As a huge of the first terminator film, I thought that T2 was too family friendly and moved away from the real plot. T3 although average set the scene for T4 which was innovative, clever, told a brilliant story, and paired Bale and Sam Worthington together who were brilliant. Expand
  2. JackS.
    May 21, 2009
    10
    I checked it out about two hours ago...and what i can say IT WAS AWESOME. Entertaining and good action flick. Looking rewarding to terminator 5
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    first things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, thefirst things first i have to bring this up, why is Christian Bale acting like hes still in batman? lol.. GOOD: the action sequence, the acting, the setting, they picked perfect actors and the robot effects was amazing

    BAD:
    the story was weak, they focused way to much on this guy named Marcus when they should be focusing on the War Leader John Connor.. when terminator 5 releases make sure to give it a stronger story please
    Expand
  4. GrahamS.
    May 22, 2009
    6
    Much as been written about the loss of humanity in this franchise. For fans- there were few surprises, but the biggest was an inability to Much as been written about the loss of humanity in this franchise. For fans- there were few surprises, but the biggest was an inability to really care about a single character on screen. It was like nascar- fast and loud- Cameron's t2 resonated with so much depth of character it made this reasonable addition seem bland and humourless- much like the future depicted here. I'm not sure I want another terminator- the story was okay- execution generally speaking was okay- but it just seemed empty at all the wrong times. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2012
    4
    Apparently, Christian Bale hasn't been told he's one of the great actors of his time. I'm sure if he had been, he wouldn't be wasting his timeApparently, Christian Bale hasn't been told he's one of the great actors of his time. I'm sure if he had been, he wouldn't be wasting his time and energy with this incoherent swill. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    I am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed butI am wondering why actors like Bale and Worthington confirm to such a film with bad screenplay that is apparently not at all action packed but instead laughable. Without Arnold Schwarzenegger the obvious ridiculousness is missing which is not a matter to replace that with usually good actors who make a complete fool of themselves in "Terminator Salvation". Part four was an opportunity to get rid of the trifle that Schwarzenegger caused in previous parts. But no, that would have been too shrewd. Instead of that a Schwarzenegger copy appears and fights with Connor...
    I ween that Bale alias Connor didn't mean it literally as he quotes Schwarzenegger pretty much at the end of the movie: "I'll be back." So hopefully "Genesis" will not come out as soon as I fear. Although with Schwarzenegger back again it will certainly be a laughable matter again. Who knows, at least that is my point of view.
    Expand
  7. AGuy
    May 21, 2009
    0
    McG = Franchise Killer.

See all 262 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.