Terms and Conditions May Apply

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Jul 11, 2013
    90
    The title of Terms and Conditions May Apply is unlikely to excite, but the content of this quietly blistering documentary should rile even the most passive viewer.
  2. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Jul 17, 2013
    80
    In inverse proportion to typically long-winded, inscrutable terms of service, the film is concise, direct and thoroughly engaging.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jul 8, 2013
    80
    Deftly balancing twin goals of informing and entertaining, the pic matter-of-factly details the various ways that marketers, multinational corporations, police departments and government-run intelligence-gathering organizations obtain and exploit info.
  4. Reviewed by: Phil Brown
    Aug 1, 2013
    75
    Not just a documentary about Internet privacy, but a non-fiction horror flick for anyone who blindly agrees to user licensing agreements online (a.k.a. everyone).
  5. Reviewed by: Trey Graham
    Jul 12, 2013
    75
    A quietly appalled we-really-oughta-do something documentary in the mode of "Food, Inc." or "An Inconvenient Truth."
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jul 9, 2013
    70
    A wide-ranging, if shallow, exploration of intrusive government surveillance practices.
  7. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jul 8, 2013
    70
    Though it mostly summarizes available arguments instead of uncovering new facts, it's an accessible primer.
  8. Reviewed by: Scott MacDonald
    Jul 10, 2013
    67
    Terms And Conditions may not be a particularly well-made documentary, but it provides a much-needed wake-up call.
  9. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Aug 15, 2013
    63
    One thing the film does do, if only inadvertently, is offer insight as to how we have gotten to this state of affairs.
  10. Reviewed by: Kalvin Henely
    Jul 10, 2013
    63
    If The Social Network didn't make you want to quit Facebook in 2010, the brave new world outlined here should, despite the fact that your data won't actually be erased.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 28, 2015
    10
    I have never rated a film on any website before. I have never created an account on a website which is primarily used for film ratings. II have never rated a film on any website before. I have never created an account on a website which is primarily used for film ratings. I created this account for the sole purpose of rating this documentary 5 stars. The insights are incredible. The information being gathered and publicized is necessary and, in my opinion, should be heard by ever single person on the face of the earth that has ever used any piece of modern technology. If you've ever used a phone (landline or cellphone [smartphone, flip phone, or an 80's brick phone), a computer (your personal computer or laptop, one at work or even at the library), a TV with any provider, etc., you absolutely much see this film. I have created accounts and will post this review on IMDB, Metacritic, and Rotten Tomatoes. Full Review »