Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 27, 2013
    25
    The most frightening thing about the franchise at this point is that it just keeps on going, undaunted by the characteristics by which the first film made its name. Family is still family and a brand is still a brand, but the blade… well, it’s only grown dull.
  2. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel.
  4. Reviewed by: George Bass
    Jan 7, 2013
    20
    Sadly, this leap onto the stereoscopic bandwagon marks a new low for the franchise, as far away in quality from the '74 original as it is in years.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark Olsen
    Jan 5, 2013
    40
    The original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" leaves audiences feeling hollowed out, dispirited and dissolute. Texas Chainsaw 3D is simply a bummer for being a big nothing.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Jan 5, 2013
    12
    All the makers of Texas Chainsaw 3D cared about was getting your $16.
  7. Reviewed by: Pete Vonder Haar
    Jan 5, 2013
    40
    Discredit director John Luessenhop for giving us 3-D visuals reminiscent of "Jaws 3-D": That slab of meat's coming right for us! Try as he might to honor the original - flashbulb transitions, a skeevy (yet buff) hitchhiker, metal doors, and meat hooks - there's little of its mounting dread.
  8. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    Ms. Daddario is adequate, while Mr. Eastwood, as a lawman, strikes sinister notes. It's nice to see briefly Marilyn Burns, the record-holder in long-distance screaming in Tobe Hooper's original 1974 "Texas Chain Saw Massacre," and Gunnar Hansen, who played Leatherface in the same.
  9. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jan 4, 2013
    50
    A sign of how desperate the series' producers have become is that the big twist here is that Leatherface, the slobby butcher-boy demon in his mask of human skin, is now...the good guy. (That's a ''jump the chainsaw'' concept if ever there was one.)
  10. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 4, 2013
    58
    The mere presence of a second layer to the story gives Texas Chainsaw 3D an intriguing kick, and it adds a couple moments of visual wit that show a willingness to fiddle around with the genre. Not being irredeemable garbage counts as a modest achievement, but it's a small step in the right direction.
  11. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    Time to fire up the critical Black & Decker: Somebody-there are six credited screenwriters-really wasn't clear on the concept.
  12. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jan 4, 2013
    40
    The climax of Texas Chainsaw 3D is a bit more interesting and unpredictable than the usual horror-movie third act. But it feels like it's bred more out of desperation than anything organic; you can sense the gears turning in the screenwriters' heads as they try to figure out a way to breathe some fresh life into this franchise.
  13. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 4, 2013
    12
    There's no deliberate Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2-style comedy to the film, just dim-witted gruesomeness retrofitted with gimmicky contemporary trappings.
  14. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Jan 4, 2013
    20
    A clunky, lumbering sequel that, like its masked protagonist, has no redeeming features.
  15. Reviewed by: Frank Scheck
    Jan 4, 2013
    40
    Unlike the restrained 1974 film which cleverly relied mainly on suggestion, this version piles on the graphic, often CGI-enhanced gore.
  16. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Jan 4, 2013
    60
    Helmer John Luessenhop ("Takers") and a small army of scripters go back to the bloody roots of the long-running franchise to concoct a better-than-average horror-thriller that relies more on potent suspense than graphic savagery or stereoscopic tricks.
  17. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 3, 2013
    20
    Texas Chainsaw 3D sees itself as over-the-top and knowing, but what we ultimately get is simply eyes without a face.
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 49
  2. Negative: 17 out of 49
  1. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    What a stinker!! I seriously don't understand how an army of writers came up with this dreck! I feel bad for the new generation along with noWhat a stinker!! I seriously don't understand how an army of writers came up with this dreck! I feel bad for the new generation along with no jobs they have to watch pale horrible remakes of far superior originals! Do yourself a favor and watch the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre and forget the rest! Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    6
    This is a typical horror flick with a lot of gore and insane situations. As usual with a movie like this, it is going to be polarizing. I amThis is a typical horror flick with a lot of gore and insane situations. As usual with a movie like this, it is going to be polarizing. I am somewhat in the middle with this. I would have liked a bit more originality, but I don't want to jump in the bandwagon and bash it for what it is: "just" a horror movie. Full Review »
  3. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    I like it, i will admit it could have been better but it was a good movie and it was fun the 3D was a bonus and i liked how it had a twist atI like it, i will admit it could have been better but it was a good movie and it was fun the 3D was a bonus and i liked how it had a twist at the end. Overall 9/10 Full Review »