User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 132
  2. Negative: 52 out of 132

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2014
    4
    Interstesting movie just wished they hadn't called it Texas chainsaw massacre. Its comical because it classic big boobed lots of sex cliche movie not Texas chainsaw
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    1
    Unfortunately, Not even the violence and gore can make up for the terrible screenplay and semi professional acting. Texas Chainsaw 3D is too boring to enjoy--- or even watch
  3. Jan 11, 2014
    1
    This was Horrorbile! Nothing scary about it, just a mess of blood, and disgusting scenes. This is one of those movies where they just try to hard. Tania Raymonde is Hot, but when shes flaunting her body around it makes it even harder to take this movie seriously. The ending gets twisted in a Horrorbile way.
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    3
    Its funny, I usually like these kind of movies. But usually the one's that I like have some sort of charm about it such as..(Camera angles, character development, gore effects, and good music) This film hardly had any of that. Actually I wouldn't even call this a true film at all. There's nothing cinematic about it. Honestly I felt like I needed an hour long shower after I watched this. Although the carnival scene is neat. THAT is pretty much it. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably one of the dumbest, most unbelievable films in the series. There is a scene where leatherface chases one of the main characters and she falls not once, not twice, but three times. Leatherface then chases her over a fence into the middle of a carnival, where he runs past about 50 potential victims, apparently set on killing the unbelievably sexy white girl (leatherface must not have approved of her interracial relationship). The girl then decides to grab onto the bottom of a ferris-wheel carriage, because ferris wheels don't go in a circle in her mind. Low and behold, as she is almost to the bottom a cop shows up with a gun. Leatherface throws his chainsaw like a boomerang at the cop.

    That was all in the scope of a 2 min scene. This movie is pure silliness. In fact, it is still running in the background as I type this; that's how uninteresting it is. Oh wait, more silliness. Now, after leatherface has killed her boyfriend and 2 friends, this chick all of a sudden decides to save him from a rather fitting and ironic death, and then help him kill the evil hillbilly police that killled his family but somehow let him escape. Like most 3d films, this relies on a name and the fact that people will pay to see the same rehashed crap again.
    Expand
  6. Sep 28, 2013
    3
    Needless 3-D really hurts it. Plenty of gore though and it's certainly watchable. Poor plot though and the movie is hurt even more by the terrible ending. Yet another horror remake that fails to live up.
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    It's another gore filled chase-romp with little to no memorable moments. But that shouldn't be a surprise, considering the film had really no reason to exist anyway.
  8. Jul 13, 2013
    3
    Texas Chainsaw 3D is a waste of time and opportunity to make a good sequel/follow-up to one of the classics The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, meanwhile, the new Chainsaw delivers chills and thrills, albeit you don't care about the characters nor the story, it gets so bad to be fun, and with the 3D! Its scary as hell. But without any denying, it is definitely one of the worst movies 2013.
  9. Jul 3, 2013
    1
    Somebody tell those executives to stop bringing back a franchise that's deader than the characters in the film. Despite ignoring the sequels after the original, it completely forgets what year it's supposed to be set. Making Leatherface into an antihero completely jumped the shark, throwing everything that made the character terrifying shredded to pieces. No horror fan will enjoy this, especially fans. Expand
  10. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    The worst horror movie I have ever seen. A terrible waste and an insult to the original. The trailer looked as bad as the movie but the movie was so much worse.
  11. Jun 7, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this film was going to be gory good time, how wrong was I. This distant sequel (set in a very futuristic "1994") lacks the terror of the 1974 original and the brutality of the 2006 prequel and is completely devoid of scares and suspense; Instead you get plenty of unintentional laughs and plenty of moments when you will be face-palming at the onscreen silliness. Yes, this movie did have its fun moments and some nice practical gore in the first half, but then it is ruined by the use of CG gore instead. The film is poorly written, poorly acted and with poor dialogue, though the film has an interesting twist in the latter half but the film makes a silly yet bold turn at making Leatherface, the terrifying and merciless killer, into an anti-hero which will certainly divide fans of the series. In the end, Texas Chainsaw is a disappointment and misses its chance to even have a brutal and terrifying chainsaw massacre in it, instead we get an unintentionally hilarious silly-fest that is poorly acted and written. But we do sometimes get good gore and is a little fun at times along with some good sound design and a nice colour scheme...and also an interesting twist that will certainly divide fans. Expand
  12. Jun 2, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a way to kick off 2013 an awful film mixed with one of the greatest lines in movie history. Do your thing Cuz comes after they try and make leather face a compassionate character. Yes the same man who slaughters people with his chainsaw and wears their skin, that is how stupid this movie is. Expand
  13. Apr 3, 2013
    4
    This film could've been good. But overall terrible story telling, no scary scenes what so ever, the horror scenes turned into comedy scenes. Like the Carnival that was high-larious. If your a horror film lover then you will literally want to turn away. If your looking for something to fill in some extra time TURN AWAY. This is only for people who love to watch parodies because this is basically that Expand
  14. Feb 5, 2013
    3
    Woah. Well, this movie was pretty sad. It's was very generic and predictable. We've seen it before, the same lines, the same actions, the same plot. It was very disappointing.
  15. Jan 24, 2013
    0
    Texas Chainsaw 3D is just a mess of a film and shows how Hollywood just loves to keep horror franchises alive as long as they can. I enjoyed the original
  16. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    What a stinker!! I seriously don't understand how an army of writers came up with this dreck! I feel bad for the new generation along with no jobs they have to watch pale horrible remakes of far superior originals! Do yourself a favor and watch the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre and forget the rest!
  17. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been a fan of horror since 1984 so it is by no means something that just happened. I have to say that this movie is unbearably the worst movie when it comes to one of the main characters of horror I have ever seen. The 3d is there to 3 dollars more, was not even good. The scare quotient was laughable. (SPOILERS) The fact that Leatherface is made out to be a anti-hero or when he is thrown his chainsaw and the line "Do your thing cuz!!" Was uttered, let me know that horror is truly dead. I have seen more gore out of the Walking Dead series than this movie conjured. I would have to say it is even worse than Next Generation with Renee Zellweger. It was not even campy fun or it's so bad I enjoy it type of movie like some of the Friday the 13ths. Also to have a movie be in the heart of texas and have rap music in it, I know they are trying to sell soundtracks but it takes you out of the experience. Characters are so cliche and come right out of the cardboard cutout of horror. Also if you see a big ass dude with a chainsaw cutting into a coffin, why the hell would you yell out to him not once, but TWICE!?! I hope the Leatherface series is dead and gone after this because this is a character and story that should be left alone. What is sad is that opening credits of the first movie re-done in 3D were absolutely cool to see and if they would have kept up with that through this movie then maybe it would have been better. Actually they should have just re-done the original into 3D and I would have been happier. Expand
  18. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Even for a horror movie, Texas Chainsaw 3D takes implausibility to new heights. That's not to say it's unwatchable, but for a franchise that is most appreciated for the unflinching grittiness of its source material and a continuum of creepiness, TC3D features neither of those traits. The film tries to do right by the original film, picking up moments after Sally Hardesty escapes from Leatherface in the back of a pick up truck, and shows the cops arriving at The Family's farmhouse as a result of the events from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1). But the reference to and inclusion of the original's gnarly, almost documentary-style footage only manages to highlight even greater the overall plainness of TC3D; which is to say it looks like The Apparition or One Missed Call. Standard. Plain. More wonkiness ensues as the history it claims to be bound to is suddenly rewritten with the addition of several new family members, including women and children (!) and a handful of un-scary men in overalls, none of whom appeared or were even referred to in the first entry. evidently TC3D's writers confused the original and the remake, the latter having also added birthin' folk to the mix. Well, guess what? It all doesn't matter, since all of Sawyer family are quickly killed when a vigilante group of locals burn down the house, killing everyone inside. That is, all but a single baby girl. Aha! Fast forward to modern day, where that baby girl, Edith, is now an adult - but also conspicuously not her late thirties, which she would be if the original film truly took place in 1974, which it very openly did. She inherits her grandmother's house in Texas, a place that secretly houses Leatherface in the basement, who summarily kills all her friends shortly after they arrive at the house. This is especially unfortunate as interpersonal tension is built between her best friend and boyfriend, who are together cheating on Edith, but none of that matters because nobody lives long enough for anything to come of it. Indeed, Edith never even finds out about the affair. This ain't The Mist. How Leatherface survived the vigilante townsfolk, or even managed to travel, is also skimmed over. There is a line where someone mumbles "Maybe he ran out the back...?" Maybe! This leads to what is probably the scene that best exemplifies the overall squandered potential of the Texas Chainsaw 3D, as Edith escapes the secluded grounds of her grandmother's home, only to happen upon a well-populated and surprisingly nearby county fair, ferris wheel and all. Fans of the series have long lamented that while The Texas Chainsaw Massacre franchise is super, there has never truly been a "massacre" in any of the films. Surely Leatherface entering the fairgrounds, swinging his live chainsaw, will remedy this blight? Nope. Not even a single passerby meets their end at Leatherface's saw. Pity. Edith survives the attack and is eventually sheltered by the police... But they get distracted amongst each other and she runs away after having discovered their role in the burning down of her family's original farmhouse. It should ne noted that she learns this only after the police leave her alone in a room with the "Evidence Box" detailing the original murders, and is so angry at the vigilante townspeople that she writes "muderers" over their photos with a red Sharpie. Umm... What? Apparently the only thing she hates more than murderers are people who murder murderers! Yeah! The movie slows down quite steadily at this point, as Edith now must deftly elude the terminally uninteresting locals, who also want to kill her because they know she is related to Leatherface. Lucky for her, Leatherface becomes hip to their scheme and comes to Edith's rescue just as they are about to kill her at the old abandoned slaughterhouse. As a result, the townsfolk instead turn their aggression towards Leatherface, but then Edith rescues him too. Yes, indeed... she apparently has already gotten over the face that he murdered all her friends only 40 minutes before, and feels tender hearted towards him, due to his "simple nature" and, I guess, that sad look in his eye behind the skin-mask he wears over his face. Although the police eventually intervene, they nonetheless allow Edith and Leatherface to simply go back home, despite the carnage, telling them only to "clean this **** up" - the most egregious line of the film... in a film full of egregious lines. The last of their clan, Edith and Leatherface do actually return home to start a new, seemingly platonic life together - adding another wasted opportunity of TC3D to seize on the delightful creepiness of the franchise. **** you not, that's how the movie ends. Expand
  19. Jan 7, 2013
    2
    Seriously, do I need a Texas Chainsaw Massacre reboot again and again? Truth is, I think the franchise needs to take a break or just retire already. Is New Line the owner of the Texas Chainsaw Massacre franchise? Of course, but not Lionsgate. The same company that bought the Saw franchise into a horror powerhouse is trying to make a mockery of Leatherface. I don't really need to paid $10 bucks to see a baffling but corny reboot that is gonna be in 3-D. Hello, there's nothing new in 3-D. I would rather kill myself if they are gonna make a Leprechaun reboot. Not happening. Expand
Metascore
31

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 8 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: William Goss
    Feb 27, 2013
    25
    The most frightening thing about the franchise at this point is that it just keeps on going, undaunted by the characteristics by which the first film made its name. Family is still family and a brand is still a brand, but the blade… well, it’s only grown dull.
  2. 25
    There's nothing thrilling about summarily dispatching everybody who isn't meant to survive to the credits, nothing entertaining about meathook, hatchet and chainsaw murdering that we've seen scores of times.
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    Stick around through the credits for an extra closing scene that leaves the door of Heather's new home wide open for a sequel.