User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. S.A.SR.
    Aug 31, 2007
    0
    BORING-INFORMATIVE-BUT BORING AS HELL. I could've waited for the "documentary" to come to HBO On Demand, or any ON DEMAND for that matter. After the first 15 min. I found more excitement poring butter on my popcorn & opening salt packets! I was like "what in the hell have I gotten myself into?" Please, please, PLEASE don't make a sequel; Leo is good, but.....*sigh*.......the BORING-INFORMATIVE-BUT BORING AS HELL. I could've waited for the "documentary" to come to HBO On Demand, or any ON DEMAND for that matter. After the first 15 min. I found more excitement poring butter on my popcorn & opening salt packets! I was like "what in the hell have I gotten myself into?" Please, please, PLEASE don't make a sequel; Leo is good, but.....*sigh*.......the idea, the thought, the message, could've & should've been saved for cable and my money should've been saved for my gas tank! Expand
  2. FrankG.
    Sep 1, 2007
    5
    Many of the talking heads in the movie were interviewed in the Sundance Channel's TV series "Big Ideas for a Small Planet". Much of the interviewing focuses on individuals ideas and opinions but as a documentary should include more evidence and data. I think an Inconvenient Truth told a more compelling story. I think the overall message is important but I'm critical of this film Many of the talking heads in the movie were interviewed in the Sundance Channel's TV series "Big Ideas for a Small Planet". Much of the interviewing focuses on individuals ideas and opinions but as a documentary should include more evidence and data. I think an Inconvenient Truth told a more compelling story. I think the overall message is important but I'm critical of this film as particularly good at delivering that message. Expand
  3. Alam
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    An intelligent, very well conceived documentary. It deserved a wider audience.
  4. Daniel
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    Along with "No End In Sight," one of the best documentaries during the last years.
  5. PaulF.
    Apr 20, 2008
    8
    I just finished watching the 11 Hour last night and my impressions were that the wide host of interviewees not only appropriate touched on all the necessary points but that they were amazingly articulate and interesting as well. The Documentary also has some fantastic but often horrific images. These really hit home what those being interviewed had to say. After a while it got a little I just finished watching the 11 Hour last night and my impressions were that the wide host of interviewees not only appropriate touched on all the necessary points but that they were amazingly articulate and interesting as well. The Documentary also has some fantastic but often horrific images. These really hit home what those being interviewed had to say. After a while it got a little doom and gloom and I was wondering when they were going to get to the solutions providing a glimmer of hope. Not only did they do this but they gave more time to it than many documentaries on the subject which all to often only lightly touch upon the subject in the last few minutes. That is my biggest problem with the Inconvenient Truth. The 11th Hour also has a whole bonus section entirely devoted to solutions which I thought incredibly wise and will probably have a much greater effect because of it. Though I am thankful Dicaprio produced this timely film unfortunately I think he was the weakest link in it. I felt either a different narrator or none at all would have been best. Overall still it is a must see in my book and I am thankful we have yet another wonderful environmental documentary out there. Expand
  6. JaredC.
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    One of the year's boringest movies (with Babel being in first, and then The Good Shepherd in second), this in third because Leo embraces his character perfectly and did a lot better of a success than Matt Damon in The Good Shepherd and Brad Pitt in Babel. I only respect Leonardo DiCaprio in this movie, nothing else, as it is boring and not captivating, just interesting.
  7. IamheA.
    Aug 26, 2007
    3
    If you want to see exactly what is missing from this film, go to your favorite video site and search for "Vandana Shiva." Shiva has spent a lifetime building people's movements to take back rights to water and other critical resources that have been usurped by corporations for private gain. In the 11th hour, Shiva's face flashes across the screen for a split second, but not a If you want to see exactly what is missing from this film, go to your favorite video site and search for "Vandana Shiva." Shiva has spent a lifetime building people's movements to take back rights to water and other critical resources that have been usurped by corporations for private gain. In the 11th hour, Shiva's face flashes across the screen for a split second, but not a single word from her can be heard. This is emblematic of the fact that the leaders of anti-corporate movements throughout the world, as such, have no voice in this film. You do hear from some activists, such as Wangari Maathai, but only as talking head "experts" on the subject of our planetary demise, not as leaders of movements intended to actually do something about it. Although the film makes the point that political, rather than technical, approaches are the most important and difficult part of any true solution, the solutions presented as examples are almost entirely of a technical nature, with an emphasis on consumer choices rather than upon collective organizing and action. While the film does present the seriousness of the unfolding calamity, without viable political approaches the effect may be to paralyze rather than to awaken. Expand
  8. Enrique
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Excellent! One of the most important movies later.
  9. JoeS.
    Apr 14, 2008
    3
    Repetitive, doggedly so. dismal and depressing. a far cry from "an inconvenient truth". turns the viewer off. lacking in hope or inspiration. Just a bunch of talking heads.
  10. ChrisB.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I am giving this film a perfect score based purely on the depth and insight of the message. I am surprised by some of the negative reviews of this film and I can only guess that some people were unaware that it was a documentary. If you enjoyed An Inconvenient Truth even the smallest bit, then this is a must see.
  11. JayH.
    Sep 15, 2008
    6
    I don't doubt their is a serious environmental problem, but I think this documentary paints an overly grim and exaggerated view. It is informative though, and visually it is excellently done. I remember in the 1970's there was a panic caused about overpopulation, and their doomsday prediction never occurred.
  12. Nov 19, 2011
    3
    Perhaps I am writing with too much hindsight (the 11th Hour was released four years ago after all), but after finally seeing the film, I found it's message oddly dated. The talking heads clearly know their stuff (though I do object to the fact that they are overwhelmingly composed of American "experts" with a book to sell), but it seems like the film takes far too long to make its point.Perhaps I am writing with too much hindsight (the 11th Hour was released four years ago after all), but after finally seeing the film, I found it's message oddly dated. The talking heads clearly know their stuff (though I do object to the fact that they are overwhelmingly composed of American "experts" with a book to sell), but it seems like the film takes far too long to make its point. Two thirds of the film (nearly an hour) is taken up with re-stating what the vast majority of people who chose to watch the film presumably already know. When a number of solutions to the woes of climate change are finally presented, it is informative and interesting, but it should not take so long to get to the main point of your argument. And I accept that Leonardo DiCaprio is a dedicated and passionate environmental campaigner, but why get him to film cringe-inducing links between each section of the film? Yes DiCaprio's financial and promotional backing of the project must have been a great help to get The 11th Hour's message out there, but is it really necessary to him Leo staring wistfully off into the sunset whenever the debate runs out of steam. We get it Leo - you care! Now stop looking guilty on our behalf and let us listen to the experts again! Perhaps my view of the film would be different had I seen it sooner, before I heard all of the arguments being presented through different channels. As it is, The 11th Hour does eventually get round to raising some interesting points, and presenting viable political, economic and scientific solutions to humanity's collective damage to Planet Earth, but a lot of it is filler, and the rest is stale and preachy. The Planet diserves far more than just Leonardo DiCaprio's ernest intentions. Collapse
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. It isn’t much of a movie (unless your aesthetic was formed in high-school science class), but it will be hugely informative to aliens who land on this planet in a thousand years and wonder why there’s no welcoming committee.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    Presents the viewer with reams of depressing data, loads of hand-wringing about the woeful state of humanity and, finally, some altogether fascinating ideas about how to go about solving the climate crisis.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    40
    A cautionary eco-doc so earnest and moth-eaten it should properly be seen on filmstrip during fourth-period social studies.