Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 19, 2005
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 425 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
348
Mixed:
49
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Solid movie with some laughs, but not really much more. It's all about his virginaty and that's funny for some time but does not last until the end of the movie... Steve Carrell did a good job. I think without him this movie would be evenSolid movie with some laughs, but not really much more. It's all about his virginaty and that's funny for some time but does not last until the end of the movie... Steve Carrell did a good job. I think without him this movie would be even more boring by time. Co-Cast was good as well only the storyline was to weak to stand the 90 minutes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
WilliamH.Jan 1, 2006
Sophomoric, 8th grade sexual humor. A movie made for sexual babies.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KennyM.Jan 6, 2006
This film, which had a great theme and amazing potentially was extremely dissapointing. The vulgarity was sickening and made me feel uncomfortable it was so bad at points. The only light in the dark was Steve Carell, in all his glory. He was This film, which had a great theme and amazing potentially was extremely dissapointing. The vulgarity was sickening and made me feel uncomfortable it was so bad at points. The only light in the dark was Steve Carell, in all his glory. He was excellent and I only wish the rest of the movie was as energentic as he was. My only other complaint was that the movie dragged on FOREVER!!! How many times were they going to delay the inevitable ending???? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
LuigiDKOct 21, 2005
The movie deserves a 1, but felt a higher 'fake' score would draw more attention. This is a movie for immature teens - but its overall subject theme and gutter-level humor make it inappropriate for any age group. The fact that The movie deserves a 1, but felt a higher 'fake' score would draw more attention. This is a movie for immature teens - but its overall subject theme and gutter-level humor make it inappropriate for any age group. The fact that critics provided any positive reviews is alarming to the point that where I've always taken reviews as a guidleine at best - any critic who didn't despise this film has lost all credibility. Not to mention the fact that our society could possilbe enjoy this crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
lukechristianscApr 2, 2014
Judd Apatows comedy is worth watching this one is okay . Steve carell is a gay **** thats a fact . and his role was sad in this film but Apatow's comedy is something to enjoy . Grade C+
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
RonL.Jan 30, 2006
Worth a rental on a Saturday afternoon. Good fun. Not as good as Something About Mary or The Wedding Singer but in that vien - except cruder.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeS.Dec 30, 2005
While generally humorous, the humor was brought down several notches by the never-ceasing vulgarity. It really didn't need so many F* words to be successful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RickySep 5, 2005
I found this movie extremely funny from a guy's point of view. My date wanted to walk out and thus the five rating. This is the opposite of a chick flick in that guys will love it and women hate it. My advice is for the guys go by I found this movie extremely funny from a guy's point of view. My date wanted to walk out and thus the five rating. This is the opposite of a chick flick in that guys will love it and women hate it. My advice is for the guys go by yourself or with your buddies. We can relate as this is a guy thing, but women will be repulsed even though it is a sweet comedy. Great music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ZackL.Jan 20, 2006
This movie is ridiculous. But it is so funny and shows a tad bit of charm, that you cant help but feel a certain emotion for this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BobJan 1, 2006
Watched the "unrated " version. Beware. To sum it up it was repetitively vulgar, sometimes funny and overall a real disapointment since the theme could have provided so much opportunity to make a better film. Talk about over rated and over hyped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
A-BooJan 31, 2006
The 40 year old virgin was funny is some scences, it was funny.....you laughed, it was crazy like when the woman throw up that was uncalled for....the jokes were half and half, funny but it was OK, the movie got boring, when he meet the The 40 year old virgin was funny is some scences, it was funny.....you laughed, it was crazy like when the woman throw up that was uncalled for....the jokes were half and half, funny but it was OK, the movie got boring, when he meet the woman with the kids, thats when it got boring all in all it's ok....you may want to rent it, BEFORE YOU BUY IT! 10 out of 10 is taking it 2 far but it was ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillC.Oct 11, 2005
The jokes and gags in this got tired in a hurry for me. I've read that if you liked DodgelBall you'd love this movie? It didn't work that way for me. It played to much to the jumior high crowd...maybe that was their intent? The jokes and gags in this got tired in a hurry for me. I've read that if you liked DodgelBall you'd love this movie? It didn't work that way for me. It played to much to the jumior high crowd...maybe that was their intent? Dodgeball had some lame story line, but even that was missing from this film and all the jokes felt recycled. Bill C. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarileeNov 2, 2005
What a dumb waste of time. I hoped for some broad humor, but it's so sophmoric and predictable I became bored. All the laughs were in the trailer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HollyCAug 25, 2005
Definitely had some real belly laughs, but it was pretty uneven throughout & a little long. Definitely silly but still smart, crude and real. Worth a matinee price at least.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdamH.Aug 26, 2005
Wow ... what a mediocre comedy. There are some disconnected laughs, but too few and far between. And the movie is pretty ugly to look at and listen to: really it's just a lot of scattershot juvenile humor that is apparently -- and Wow ... what a mediocre comedy. There are some disconnected laughs, but too few and far between. And the movie is pretty ugly to look at and listen to: really it's just a lot of scattershot juvenile humor that is apparently -- and strangely -- aimed at adults. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CheterD.Aug 27, 2005
Not as funny as the hype promised, but a good rental
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DoctaAug 29, 2005
I'm a bit baffled. It's really not that funny. More chuckle enducing than laugh out loud funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregT.Dec 19, 2005
Sort of interesting. Not as great as the critics seem to think it is. How many times can you say the "F" word and still milk a laugh out of it? This is comedy but not roll-in-the-aisle comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
kevins.Dec 26, 2005
Wasnt a bad movie, just one i expected to be a lot funnier. kinda went on and on...some great moments though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
spadenxJan 16, 2012
It was ok. A few funny scenes and a solid cast through out. However it never really rises above that generic comedy that you expect to be funny because it features actors from other comedies that you enjoyed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
zahabitahaAug 26, 2015
good but i think that was not very funny and it was long..............................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews