Universal Pictures | Release Date: August 19, 2005
8.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 444 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
366
Mixed:
50
Negative:
28
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MattP.Aug 21, 2005
You have to embrace this movie's inventive crudeness in order to enjoy it. Otherwise you'll end up hating it just like you hated other (great) crude movies. The Big Lebowski comes to mind. But once you get past the numerous penis You have to embrace this movie's inventive crudeness in order to enjoy it. Otherwise you'll end up hating it just like you hated other (great) crude movies. The Big Lebowski comes to mind. But once you get past the numerous penis jokes, The 40-Year Old Virgin is a very sweet, realistic, and hilarious take on the dating world. Steve Carell has more depth and range than I would have ever expected, and yet he never loses the off-the-wall comedic delivery he's deservedly famous for. Definitely the most fun movie I've seen this summer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Rev.RikardOct 8, 2005
The funniest movie in two years! Steve Carell is the new Steve Martin. He can just stand in place and cause one to chuckle. Though the male friends in this movie appear as adult adolescents, there is enough truth in their characters to The funniest movie in two years! Steve Carell is the new Steve Martin. He can just stand in place and cause one to chuckle. Though the male friends in this movie appear as adult adolescents, there is enough truth in their characters to reveal the sorry socialization process through which American men must pass. Sex is the most important issue in our lives because many, if not most of us were raised to believe this falllacy. As an American male I easily identified with Carell's character, If we were all gut-level honest we would admit that we desire genuine love more than anything. However, his male friends/counselors allow us to see the ridiculous perceptiions that would make being a forty year old virgin the most dispicable state in which a man can find himself. My spouse laughed as heartily as myself because she recognized that very truth pulsating from these exaggerated characters. This film is more than a comedy about a man finally trying "to get some." It is a disarming film that allows American males to laugh at our sad condition. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
NazguleroMar 31, 2011
The movie skillfully depicts the only thing that is on a man's mind, from birth to death. I can see that women find that offensive. As a matter of fact, if women could be men just for one day, they would be shocked. That is how dull theThe movie skillfully depicts the only thing that is on a man's mind, from birth to death. I can see that women find that offensive. As a matter of fact, if women could be men just for one day, they would be shocked. That is how dull the average man's life is. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
DaveF.Sep 28, 2005
Totally tasteless, fal-out-of-your-chair-laughing humor from start to finish.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.Aug 25, 2005
Definitely one of the funniest comedies i've seen in a long time! Strongly recommended. A fun date movie too!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaneJ.Oct 8, 2005
My best friend and I (both women) went to see this last night. Let me tell you the theatre was rolling in laughter. Some parts had me crying from laughing so hard. It just really had us all laughing in the theatre. I am taking my husband next week!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraM.Aug 18, 2005
Without Carrell at the soft chewy center this film would be just crass. Very smart juvenile humor. An intelligent penis joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieM.Aug 20, 2005
This is the best comedy to come out of Hollywood in years. It was so refreshing to go to the movies and see an original, fresh, laugh 'till you cry flick. Hopefully it will start a trend that will show the studios you don't need This is the best comedy to come out of Hollywood in years. It was so refreshing to go to the movies and see an original, fresh, laugh 'till you cry flick. Hopefully it will start a trend that will show the studios you don't need one dimensional, seen them once you've seen them 100 times, actors like Vince, Luke and Will to make a comedy a hit. Great stuff! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BARRYW.,jr.Aug 20, 2005
Great movie...lots of fun.sweet, raunchy,crude,and hilarious...truly a good laugh a minute.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShirleyH.Aug 20, 2005
HYSTERICAL!!! One of the few comedies in recent years surprisingly not reuined by the trailer! Even the chest-waxing scene remains hilarious despite seeing clips of it in the trailer & commercials for weeks!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattSep 1, 2005
Funniest movie in years!!! If you like raunchy, but sweet comedy get out of your seat and go see this movie!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RizzaSep 5, 2005
Alessandra... Learn to take a joke... Sorry to say, but guys DO talk like this when they get together. You
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RoySep 5, 2005
I haven't had as many down to the bone laughs as I got in this movie in many years. Some extremely funny stuff and I loved the parody of The Exorcist. I found Andy's love interest to not be a very good actress and as the end of the I haven't had as many down to the bone laughs as I got in this movie in many years. Some extremely funny stuff and I loved the parody of The Exorcist. I found Andy's love interest to not be a very good actress and as the end of the movie shifts over to their relationship, it loses pacing. The first half is a 10 however. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdM.Sep 6, 2005
I almost s... myself from laughing so hard!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudySep 6, 2005
Funny!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonydannieJan 11, 2006
I rented this thinking that I would be laughing my butt off. It was funny but not Laugh out loud funny. Was I Dissapointed? Maybe Little. But I think this one was Alot funnier then "Wedding Crashers."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeremyW.Jan 2, 2006
A must have in anyones DVD collection that likes comedy. I was shocked on how funny this movie was. I would not pass this one up at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
karamh.Jan 4, 2006
It is a very nice movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hootersm.Nov 10, 2005
Hoot hoot hoot hoot hoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WallyS.Dec 6, 2005
One of the years most funniest films, Steve Carrell reveals himself capable of being the next Jim Carrey, and capable enough of choosing the right script, nailed by the right director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexOct 4, 2005
Very funny, had some very funny scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevynS.Aug 19, 2005
This Movie was very Humorous, I actually had tears coming out of my eyes at one point (laughing so hard). Steve Carell is very funny. If you Liked and Laughed at" The Wedding Crashers" you will like this movie ...Actually you might laugh at This Movie was very Humorous, I actually had tears coming out of my eyes at one point (laughing so hard). Steve Carell is very funny. If you Liked and Laughed at" The Wedding Crashers" you will like this movie ...Actually you might laugh at this one a bit more ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkO.Aug 20, 2005
Everything you'd expect from Steve Carrell and Judd Apatow and so much more! Of course it's hilarious, but this film also provides excellent character development and a strong storyline that even non-virgins can relate to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelD.Aug 21, 2005
Carrell is the next Will Farrell in terms of his comic niche that blossoms into a beautiful, crass, romantic, sincere and damn funny performance in this movie. I'd recommend it to anyone, period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HaslynR.Aug 23, 2005
One of the funniest movies that I have seen in a long time. It's a clever, smart sex comedy which contains plausible characters and situations that are real . I think its much funnier and better written than Wedding Crashers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnK.Aug 25, 2005
If Sheila would have stuck around, she would have noticed that though the film is crude, it turns beautiful somewhere in the middle, and both the moral message and the tone of the movie are spectacularly sweeter than you can think from the If Sheila would have stuck around, she would have noticed that though the film is crude, it turns beautiful somewhere in the middle, and both the moral message and the tone of the movie are spectacularly sweeter than you can think from the "American Pie"-ish previews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NicR.Aug 26, 2005
Best film every......and it has also given me the confidence to go out with a girl now as i am aslo a 40 year old virgin.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Danb.Aug 26, 2005
Top-notch character study.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MareD.Aug 26, 2005
Steve Carrell has the best comic timing. I loved the characters. Good flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewP.Aug 27, 2005
Best comedy of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlanD.Aug 30, 2005
I laughed from beginning to end. If you gave this movie anything less than a seven you are a dull, lifeless being destined for a life of fear and paranoia.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottBSep 1, 2005
Absolutely hilarious. Haven't laughed this much at a movie in a long time. I thought Ebert's review was right on the mark - you ended up being engaged by and caring for Steve Carell's (who was a surprisingly good actor) character.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JimG.Sep 10, 2005
A solid laugh, this movie was maybe even worth seeing twice in the theater. But I'm still not sure whether that the very funny parts make it a great movie, or whether it is just a relief to find something of quality in the otherwise A solid laugh, this movie was maybe even worth seeing twice in the theater. But I'm still not sure whether that the very funny parts make it a great movie, or whether it is just a relief to find something of quality in the otherwise bleak offerings of Summer 2005. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JennySep 2, 2005
Absolutely hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Sep 7, 2005
Okay, what have we learned from this summer's box office returns? If your movie involves Batman, Darth Vader or penguins, it'll make money; if it's another big, loud, expensive action movie from a director who's known for Okay, what have we learned from this summer's box office returns? If your movie involves Batman, Darth Vader or penguins, it'll make money; if it's another big, loud, expensive action movie from a director who's known for big, loud expensive action movies, it won't. Best of all, and especially after years of hypocritical, offensive PG-13 fodder like Meet the Fockers, the summer of '05 brought with it the return of the honest, R-rated film comedy! It's also extremely interesting to note that while so many female-oriented romcoms, such as Must Love Dogs, The Wedding Date and Little Black Book are rather mean-spirited celebrations of human behavior at its self-centered worst, both Wedding Crashers and The 40-Year-Old Virgin--raunchcoms aimed at a primarily male audience--are genuinely goodhearted, sweet-natured and truly romantic at the core. (Perhaps this is why so many women are flocking to them, too.) Steve Carell, who was memorable in supporting roles in Anchorman and Bruce Almighty, has a bottled-up, Rain Man-like quality that suits him perfectly for the role of Andy, the title character who has missed many sexual opportunities, doesn't feel he'll get any more, and channels his abundant excess energies into video games, comic books and action-figure collecting. (Can you say "sublimation", kids?) It's a real tribute to Carell's and director Judd Apatow's script that, even though it deals in every stereotypical notion of this type of character possible (the only element missing is a fanaticism for either Star Wars or Star Trek, and I'm sure that's only because Lucasfilm and Paramount probably, and perhaps wisely, denied the rights), it also makes Andy refreshingly three-dimensional, appealing and tremendously sympathetic. In fact, the movie's generosity extends to ALL the major characters; it has a lot of fun with Andy's workplace pals, his horny supervisor and numerous potential hookups, but never takes cheap shots at them the way certain comedies revel in doing. (Yes, Rob Schneider, I'm talking to you.) In fact, a major thematic truth in this movie is that everyone in it has, like Andy, been seriously injured in the game of love; Apatow puts Lionel Richie's "Hello" and Asia's "Heat of the Moment" to great use, but could have just as appropriately added REM's "Everybody Hurts" to the soundtrack. Whoever thought of casting Catherine Keener as Trish, the around-the-block free spirit who could complete Andy emotionally as well as sexually, is a genius. I've always admired Keener's witheringly sarcastic persona in movies like Being John Malkovich, but this change of pace role looks great on her; the woman's smile could've lit up all of New York City during the 1965 blackout. The Greek chorus of Andy's coworkers (Paul Rudd, Seth Rogen, Romany Malco) is terrific too: endeavoring to "fix" their new friend, they provide the perfect working illustration of "the blind leading the blind"; Andy may be totally ignorant as to the mysteries of a woman's body, but these guys are equally clueless as to her mind and heart. Lest I mislead you into thinking that a mainstream movie with this much intelligence and insight can't possibly be funny too, let me assure you that Virgin grabs you from the first, unforgettable early-morning visual gag, breaks into ramming speed (so to speak) during Rogen's monologue about what he did in Mexico over the weekend, and absolutely never slows down. And Apatow's enthusiasm for loading the fringes of his film with wonderful, peripheral characters and situations (Andy's upstairs neighbors, a lovely bit in Trish's store involving a customer and a pair of disco boots) guarantees The 40-Year-Old Virgin to be one of those experiences that you, like Andy, will enjoy even more the second time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jannef.Jan 7, 2006
It´s a bizzare movie, and i love bizzare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyM.Apr 3, 2006
this movie was awsome and very funny it kept you laughing and enjoying every minute yes i would say its not for everyone because there are some vulgar statements but I liked it and so did my family i never thought it was going to be as good this movie was awsome and very funny it kept you laughing and enjoying every minute yes i would say its not for everyone because there are some vulgar statements but I liked it and so did my family i never thought it was going to be as good as it was but i was wrong i love the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyM.Aug 29, 2006
The 40 Year Old Virgin is utterly laugh out loud hilarious. Filled with some very clever comedy and a great main character, The 40 Year Old Virgin is the comedy to beat all comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Jun 2, 2007
Perfect, perfectly written, perfectly acted, everything about this movie was absolutely perfect. the jokes were clever, the story could have easily been just a teen flick to laugh at it's dirty jokes, but it turned out to be so much Perfect, perfectly written, perfectly acted, everything about this movie was absolutely perfect. the jokes were clever, the story could have easily been just a teen flick to laugh at it's dirty jokes, but it turned out to be so much more than that. Great job Judd, keep em' comin Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KevinJAug 2, 2007
I really could have enjoyed this movie if I hadn't watched it with my parents. It was too sexually profane to watch with parents. I got that i-shouldn't-be-doing-this feeling the whole way through this movie...until the ending of I really could have enjoyed this movie if I hadn't watched it with my parents. It was too sexually profane to watch with parents. I got that i-shouldn't-be-doing-this feeling the whole way through this movie...until the ending of course. My parents never gave me the "birds and bees" talk. I had to find that stuff out through porn (the best way to learn). It was a funny movie that does, in fact, express a good point: today's society pressures people so much to lose their virginity. You see this in movies and t.v. shows constantly. Life isn't all about sex: the creating of it is, but the living of it isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeG.Nov 12, 2005
Not the funniest comedy ever, but a lot of laughs, a star-making turn by Carell, and an excellent supporting cast. The movie is winning, though, because its all heart in the end, avoiding the easy way out of using the title character as a Not the funniest comedy ever, but a lot of laughs, a star-making turn by Carell, and an excellent supporting cast. The movie is winning, though, because its all heart in the end, avoiding the easy way out of using the title character as a never ending gimmick. There are some scenes in this movie that people will be quoting and talking about for years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CherS.Nov 4, 2005
A hoot! And - who doesn't need a real hoot now and again? If you want to lay down the problems at hand, and just laugh and relax your mind, don't miss this funny story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PierreL.Nov 8, 2005
Great performances, very well written, and funny at all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TrentS.Nov 9, 2005
Better than the lame trailer made it out to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NathanDec 13, 2005
The funniest movie ever!! My wife loved it too!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Dec 18, 2005
Both consistently clever and laugh-out-loud funny, it's a genuinely enjoyable movie experience. It's also smart enough to be realistically crude yet genuinely humane at the same time. Like most men, the film may crave sex, but in Both consistently clever and laugh-out-loud funny, it's a genuinely enjoyable movie experience. It's also smart enough to be realistically crude yet genuinely humane at the same time. Like most men, the film may crave sex, but in the end, it's looking for love. Special bonus points for the sublimely ridiculous (in the best sense of the word) musical finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenW.Dec 3, 2005
This is a great movie. I couldn't stop laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomH.Dec 3, 2005
so!!! underrated this movie should get way more attention as very funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PonR.Dec 4, 2005
Funny all the way. Maybe could have been shorter but definitely kept the laughs coming without resorting to cheap shots most of the time. A pleasant surprise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DamienT.Oct 5, 2005
To be completely honest I wasn't expecting much from this. While I loved Steve Carell in Bruce Almighty, he really didn't grab me in the American remake of The Office. Though, I came out of the cinema with a smile on my face. This To be completely honest I wasn't expecting much from this. While I loved Steve Carell in Bruce Almighty, he really didn't grab me in the American remake of The Office. Though, I came out of the cinema with a smile on my face. This film provides so many laughs and has such embarrassing situations which Carell seems to be perfect at in this. You feel his pain but can't help laughing. I loved this film, it's got plenty of laughs and a few lessons in life hidden there beneath the comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BetsyN.Aug 15, 2005
This could-have-been-excreble tale of an aging innocent surprised me: "Hard R humor" and all (and it is often hilarious) the film isn't a one-joke screw-a-thon (not that there's anything wrong with those); while we're laughing This could-have-been-excreble tale of an aging innocent surprised me: "Hard R humor" and all (and it is often hilarious) the film isn't a one-joke screw-a-thon (not that there's anything wrong with those); while we're laughing at the hero's travails, we're cheering him on, hoping for the best, wanting this sweet-natured, impossibly innocent soul, endearingly played by Steve Carell, to have it all: sex, lust, love, trust, and companionship; in short: a truly happy ending. It's not a perfect picture, but it's so far beyond what one may expect based on its title alone. This really IS the best date movie of the summer - -for adults, anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CristieE.Aug 17, 2005
Great movie! I got to see this movie on a sneak preview. Honestly, this is not a movie I would have picked to see after watching the trailer. But hey, it was free. I was shocked at how funny it was. It wasn't over the top on raunchiness Great movie! I got to see this movie on a sneak preview. Honestly, this is not a movie I would have picked to see after watching the trailer. But hey, it was free. I was shocked at how funny it was. It wasn't over the top on raunchiness like Soriety Boys and it wasn't stupid like 40 days (or whatever that movie was called where the guy didn't have sex for 40 days.) It was an amazing "LOL" movie. I can't wait to own it on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenM.Aug 23, 2005
One of the best endings of the year. oh yeah, and the movie's fantastic too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexS.Aug 25, 2005
Holy crap is it funny, non stop laughs if you don't take this stuff seriously. If you're a prude, prepare to be offended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanM.Aug 26, 2005
Best comedy I have seen in ages, I laughed my butt off!!! I'm actually still laughing today about some of the lines and situations in that movie. They didn't hold anything back, they were totally raunchy and TOTALLY entertaining. Best comedy I have seen in ages, I laughed my butt off!!! I'm actually still laughing today about some of the lines and situations in that movie. They didn't hold anything back, they were totally raunchy and TOTALLY entertaining. Also, it was nice to see the comedy skills of some lesser-known actors being showcased. I would reccommend this movie to anyone over 18 with a good sense of humour!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HillaryAug 29, 2005
Yes, some of the characters are vapid and empty, but so are a lot of people in real life--why are people so surprised when one is on screen? Minus 2 points for the degradation of women, but being that is largely not the focus of this film, Yes, some of the characters are vapid and empty, but so are a lot of people in real life--why are people so surprised when one is on screen? Minus 2 points for the degradation of women, but being that is largely not the focus of this film, it is one of the funniest movies in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gregw.Aug 31, 2005
Just may have been the funniest movie's i have ever seen. but i have to warn you the humor in this movie is not for everyone.(people who cant take rude and degrading jokes as jokes).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilySep 10, 2005
absolutely hilarious, i could see it over and over again and still laugh at Steve Carell's uncomfortable charisma.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
matta.Sep 1, 2005
Notice how women are the only ones bashing this movie, and that makes sense-there is no way that I would take my girlfriend to see this or recommend it to her. Pretty vulgar stuff, but hilarious. The best comedy of the year so far and one of Notice how women are the only ones bashing this movie, and that makes sense-there is no way that I would take my girlfriend to see this or recommend it to her. Pretty vulgar stuff, but hilarious. The best comedy of the year so far and one of the best of the last few years. Some of the jokes don't work all that well, but there are more than enough that do. Steve Carrel has been solid in whatever he has been in up to now (especially The Office and Anchorman) but this is his obvious breakthrough role, and he nails it. Not for all tastes, but if you like your comedy a little raunchy (but also very smart) then this movie is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickSep 1, 2005
I beileve this has been steve carell's and paul rudd's funnies moviesince anchorman. From begining to end this movie mad me laugh so hard i nearly crapped myself. This movie was a laugh fest with great acting from the main and I beileve this has been steve carell's and paul rudd's funnies moviesince anchorman. From begining to end this movie mad me laugh so hard i nearly crapped myself. This movie was a laugh fest with great acting from the main and secondary characters. this would make any commedy fan very happy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JustinNSep 1, 2005
Friggin' hilarious. The second half of the movie kind of drags a bit but makes up for it with a great song and dance number, as well as some decent character development. Keep in mind though, the only character that gets much Friggin' hilarious. The second half of the movie kind of drags a bit but makes up for it with a great song and dance number, as well as some decent character development. Keep in mind though, the only character that gets much development is the virgin. Just about every other character is just there's for comedy's sake, minus the love interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AmyA.Sep 13, 2005
I love this film. One of the funniest films of a very long time the whole cinema was in up roar. I love the ending I wont give it away its was hilarious. If your in for a good laugh i recommend this film!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidA.Sep 18, 2005
It's a very funny movie and I recomend it. I liked the ending. If you're looking for a good movie to pass a good time go ahead and watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
C.B.BrowneSep 20, 2005
Very funny. best ending ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RTSep 21, 2005
Hilarious. A must-watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnR.Sep 3, 2005
Great, Great Hilarious movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulF.Sep 4, 2005
I was the only one out of a group of 5 that liked this movie. I did not love it but it did make me laugh out loud a few times. The ending was also quirky in a campy good way. I felt this movie did not need to be so raw. It definitely relied I was the only one out of a group of 5 that liked this movie. I did not love it but it did make me laugh out loud a few times. The ending was also quirky in a campy good way. I felt this movie did not need to be so raw. It definitely relied on low brow humor, which sometimes is good. I would have liked to seen this element down played and a more sofisticated creative solution found as it's replacement, but still not a bad movie. If you are expecting this movie to be clean and without racial stereotypes stay away or the only person you should be mad at is yourself. In conclusion this was a fun movie if you relax and watch it without judgement, yet it could have been so much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IsakC.Sep 6, 2005
Its a real good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JulienC.Sep 6, 2005
I was not sure given that the trailer is not so good, but then I was told by a friend that it was actually very funny and I admit it is. you'll have a good time, it's not super easy jokes but actually thoghtful humour i liked it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
mikec.Sep 7, 2005
This movie had quite a few laugh out loud parts. Oher parts were groaners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Don'tCareSep 9, 2005
Interesting. Notice how all the bad reviews have been made by women. This movie is hilarious and i really couldn't care about "degrating women" because the entire frickin movie is about how personally strong women are and how hard it is Interesting. Notice how all the bad reviews have been made by women. This movie is hilarious and i really couldn't care about "degrating women" because the entire frickin movie is about how personally strong women are and how hard it is to get close to them. Besides, Steve Carrel is awesome. GO DAILY SHOW! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OS11-Sep 9, 2005
Okay, it's worth a solid 8. Cute flick with plenty of naughty language and situations. This film will hold up well and could become somewhat of a "classic". I counted about 60 funny moments which is high. A few goofy sections that Okay, it's worth a solid 8. Cute flick with plenty of naughty language and situations. This film will hold up well and could become somewhat of a "classic". I counted about 60 funny moments which is high. A few goofy sections that didn't add to the film but it all fits together and worth seeing in a theater with a "live" crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobertB.Jan 12, 2006
I would question the intellectual level of anybody who might watch a movie titled "The 40 Year Old Virgin" and expect something other than variations on sex jokes, racial jokes and gay jokes. No, this movie is not high art. It's rather I would question the intellectual level of anybody who might watch a movie titled "The 40 Year Old Virgin" and expect something other than variations on sex jokes, racial jokes and gay jokes. No, this movie is not high art. It's rather low brow, but unlike many low brow movies, it is funny, and it does have a heart. Steve Carrell's character is depicted as the pathetic loser that often litter this genre. He's actually a real, intelligent person (if somewhat exaggerated) whose situation is not depicted as being really any worse than anybody else's in the movie, except that his issue happens to be the primary focus of the film. I enjoyed this movie a lot more than I expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AngieJan 14, 2006
The first half of this movie is hilarious... by the end tho i was worn down by the use of the f-word and nudity... do they hav a RATED version of this rather than the UNRATED? the movie makes up for everything else by the final scene tho.. The first half of this movie is hilarious... by the end tho i was worn down by the use of the f-word and nudity... do they hav a RATED version of this rather than the UNRATED? the movie makes up for everything else by the final scene tho.. completely random and unexpected. made me end the movie with a smile on my face. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikeb.Jan 9, 2006
Very well written and hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
masoudb.Jan 9, 2006
Very funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdS.Feb 26, 2006
Very funny, and the romance between the two leads was very real, and the ending was perfect for the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Apr 21, 2006
One of the best pictures of 2005. The secret of "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" is that its title hero has a more real, better, less problematic view of sex than any of the hilarious supporting characters. We'll never know how close this film One of the best pictures of 2005. The secret of "The 40-Year-Old Virgin" is that its title hero has a more real, better, less problematic view of sex than any of the hilarious supporting characters. We'll never know how close this film came to getting Oscar nominations in all the major categories, including Best Picture. I suspect it was a close runner-up for all nominations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielVJul 1, 2008
A movie that at the same time warms my heart and makes me laugh out loud. My favorite Steve Carrell movie yet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KatrinaC.Nov 29, 2005
The best and funnyest movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarcoM.Dec 10, 2005
Not as bad as I thought
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdanT.Dec 17, 2005
It's actually a very good movie, I went in thinking it would be a Wedding Crashers rip-off.Its not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PeteTOct 22, 2005
The funniest American movie since Team America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesB.Dec 28, 2005
Excellent movie, loved every minute. A quality script, fresh cast and expert direction make this film worthy of standing side-by-side with modern masterpeices such as Old School, Ancherman, Zoolander, Dodgeball, Wedding Crashers and Starsky Excellent movie, loved every minute. A quality script, fresh cast and expert direction make this film worthy of standing side-by-side with modern masterpeices such as Old School, Ancherman, Zoolander, Dodgeball, Wedding Crashers and Starsky and Hutch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MonekkaMcBAug 18, 2005
So funny!!!! One of the best comedies I've seen in a while!!! Women will love it too!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalClark-B.Aug 19, 2005
Steve Carrell is hilarious! I fell in love with his characterization as Brick in Anchorman...and I nearly peed my pants to find out he was getting to star in a movie...and then I see the title: "The 40-Year Old Virgin"! This man's humor Steve Carrell is hilarious! I fell in love with his characterization as Brick in Anchorman...and I nearly peed my pants to find out he was getting to star in a movie...and then I see the title: "The 40-Year Old Virgin"! This man's humor is genius...I love stupid humor, and if you love it as well, I encourage people to see this movie. I guarantee you will at times be laughing your butt off! The very end is the best part....wait no....the whole movie is....just go see for yourself. But prepare yourself, because it is raunchy, but if you can stomach it and have a good sense of stupid humor, then this movie is for you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JRusAug 19, 2005
Very funny movie! My face still hurts from laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeH.Aug 19, 2005
Not nearly as funny as 'Wedding Crashers' but enough laugh out loud scenes and memorable characters to see this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HBAug 19, 2005
Funniest film in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
S.M.Aug 21, 2005
Funniest comedy of the summer. Beats Wedding Crashers for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffK.Aug 21, 2005
This is quite possibly one of the funniest comedies ever made. I was stomping my feet and wiping away my tears through more than half of the movie - it was a non-stop barrage of laughs. If you enjoy quiting lines from Anchorman and Old This is quite possibly one of the funniest comedies ever made. I was stomping my feet and wiping away my tears through more than half of the movie - it was a non-stop barrage of laughs. If you enjoy quiting lines from Anchorman and Old School, this movie is mandatory viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanaM.Aug 21, 2005
Entertaining, if you enjoy two hours of sex jokes. Doesn't deserve a 10 though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeyS.Aug 21, 2005
Magnificently funny, I nearly pissed myself with laughter. Everybody in the movie has some great moments, the gags always go over well, and it's actually got a heart. Also, the ending sealed the deal for me, avoiding some sappy druck, Magnificently funny, I nearly pissed myself with laughter. Everybody in the movie has some great moments, the gags always go over well, and it's actually got a heart. Also, the ending sealed the deal for me, avoiding some sappy druck, it was surprisingly clever and hysterical. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobAug 22, 2005
Laughed my ass off. Cant remember laughing so much and so hard in a theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottY.Aug 22, 2005
It's funnier than Anchorman. I haven't seen Wedding Crashers, so I cannot rate it against that movie. My cheeks hurt at the end of watching this movie due to laughing so much. While it starts off with the expected co-workers making It's funnier than Anchorman. I haven't seen Wedding Crashers, so I cannot rate it against that movie. My cheeks hurt at the end of watching this movie due to laughing so much. While it starts off with the expected co-workers making jokes of the main character when they find out he is a virgin, they then each offer their own dating advice and help in order to get the character to eventually have sex. There are a couple of really memorable scenes such as Steve Carrell getting his chest waxed (for real) and a scene whereby his date's daughter walks in ..... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HughieAug 23, 2005
Steve Carrell is fanstastic!! And lots of laughs to be had...BUT 115 minutes??!!! Whatever happened to the well edited 90 minute sex comedy? Way too long and uneven.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NoelD.Aug 24, 2005
A little more raunchy than I would expect from the creator of Freaks & Geeks, but Apatow finely balances crude and clever to make one of the funniest and most heart-felt movies of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BitBurnAug 26, 2005
Very good comedy. I really liked it. Nicely executed, fresh and exciting to see it all unfold, even though we know from the top how it would end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShawnB.Aug 26, 2005
Great Movie... VERY FUNNY!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartynH.Sep 11, 2005
Absolutely hilariously side splitting! Can't remember the last time I laughed as much during a movie! go see it NOW!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful