Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 11, 2010
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 313 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
212
Mixed:
76
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ZokopopsJan 26, 2011
Was a huge fan of the original series and this movie did not disappoint me. Just don't take it seriously. Explosions and oneliners its what its all about. The decent story surprised me a bit. Just a fun movie without trying to be anything else.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
The movie "The A-Team" is what you would suspect it to be; a movie that packs 3 seasons of the A-team TV series into 119 minutes. As expected, it fails.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
JamieC.Jun 11, 2010
Lots of explosions and dizzying action but too little thought given to story details. Has some laughs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
Vicki_t2702Aug 28, 2010
Now I wonder what word could possibly replace the A in A-Team? Amazing? It's a bit too flattering. Adventurous? Hardly. I think the word I'm looking for is adequate. Despite the generous amount of explosions and gun fighting scenes, the filmNow I wonder what word could possibly replace the A in A-Team? Amazing? It's a bit too flattering. Adventurous? Hardly. I think the word I'm looking for is adequate. Despite the generous amount of explosions and gun fighting scenes, the film was portrayed in a way that at times became confusing, such as the planning of an attack which was illustrated at the same time. It felt like an anti-climax that we didn't receive the usual build up of plan, action and consequence, but instead skipped the action which is something I thought the A-Team would be packed with.

Don't get me wrong, from the very beginning we watch Face (Bradley Cooper) being saved by fellow team mates Hannibal (Liam Neeson) and B.A.Baracus (Quinton "Rampage" Jackson), so we are thrown right into a pit of destruction. I think it was a useful idea to introduce the characters slowly one by one, as not everyone is familiar with the 80's TV series the film was based on, and director Joe Carnahan definitely made a fine selection of actors to take up the roles. However, considering the hype made for this film including all those stupid Orange adverts before any film in the cinema, I was thoroughly confused and annoyed midway through at B.A becoming anti-violent and quoting Gandhi. If you were expecting a macho film, think again, Bradley Cooper's torso may say differently but the fact that one character loses the heart to kill anyone is quite deflating.

Some of the action was a little unrealistic, particularly the flying tank scene, which in all fairness did land in a lake but really, what are the chances? I know the A-Team have to appear perfect but surely one little hiccup wouldn't have hurt. On the other hand, the closing scenes of the dockyard domino-effect showdown was spectacular to watch, and very cleverly thought out by the big brains of the team, Liam Neeson. I thought Neeson gave a genuinely strong performance, similar to the role in Taken (2008) where he must take initiative, but completely opposite to his solitary role in Love Actually (2003), reflecting his ability as an actor to accept different emotional characters. The additional romantic plot within the film wasn't really needed between Bradley Cooper and Jessica Biel, it just felt too awkward although I guess it makes this supposed action packed blockbuster more appealing to the feminine audience being dragged along by their other halves. On the up side, seeing as I am awarding this film three stars, and this means I neither loved or hated it, there were some worthy comical moments particularly between B.A and Murdock (Sharlto Copley). The action is drawn over several locations, and these were displayed in text so the audience did not lose their footing, something I always appreciate in action films such as The Losers. However, the editing did not always assist the action and I found myself becoming disorientated with it all a bit too often.

Unfortunately I have to say, and please don't cringe, this plan didn't quite come together. It was worth the watch, but undoubtedly not predicted the best action film this year, at least by myself anyway
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BairdoOct 8, 2010
Before the credits even, Hannibal pulls a gun on B.A. in order to jack his famous van. The guy playing B.A. then spews a cracker barrel line that sets the tone for the rest of the film..."What is this, opposite day?". That abysmal line wasBefore the credits even, Hannibal pulls a gun on B.A. in order to jack his famous van. The guy playing B.A. then spews a cracker barrel line that sets the tone for the rest of the film..."What is this, opposite day?". That abysmal line was tapping me on the shoulder for the rest of the film. How on earth did it make it past the first re-write? If they make a movie out of ALF or My Two Dads, I'll know better. Actually if they make ALF I'll watch that S**t Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
BradySJun 16, 2010
The movie attempted to be clever, and failed at it miserably. Bradley Cooper did his very best to shed a little comedic light on this overall very dark movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
billj.Jun 12, 2010
Boring, bad storyline, bad cast of characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.Jun 19, 2010
During a St. Louis fundraiser in 2004, New York Senator Hillary Clinton would prove that she lacked an important quality essential to being the lynchpin of a political A-team who could win her party's ticket at our most recent During a St. Louis fundraiser in 2004, New York Senator Hillary Clinton would prove that she lacked an important quality essential to being the lynchpin of a political A-team who could win her party's ticket at our most recent Democratic National Convention. That quality was feet. If the former first lady had them, and the law-breaking physicality of an Adam Sandler in Dennis Dugan's "You Don't Mess with the Zohan", she would have most certainly been advised to insert either foot into her mouth, or better yet, attempted to knock herself out with Zohan-like malleability, prior to the current administration's secretary of state from inexplicably joking about Mahatma Gandhi's suppositional gas station in Missouri. Too soon? Gandhi, so it happens, once again, turns up in the strangest places, turns up in "The A-Team", the most unlikely of contexts, when B.A. Barascus(Quinton "Rampage" Jackson), incarcerated for his mercenary ways, is found reading the peaceable teachings of India's preeminent political(and spiritual) figure from the last century, on a bus headed back to prison. With an ongoing mission still in midstream, Hannibal(Liam Neeson) has little receptivity for pacifism, so he bamboozles B.A. by misconstruing Gandhi's non-violent rhetoric for the good of the unit, and by extension, the good of the country. He makes Gandhi sound like Malcolm X, informing his fellow army ranger that the Indian leader "wasn't afraid to fight for something he believed in," inferring that Gandhi would resist dominion over his soul "by all means necessary," just like the black nationalist who was gunned down in 1965. B.A. has a copy of "Tolerance and Compassion", not "The Autobiography of Malcolm X", which simultaneously avoids racial stereotyping, but works as a relevant metaphor in the sphere of contemporary politics. Throughout Barack Obama's bid for the presidency, the right made a concerted effort to out the outgoing senator from Illinois as a Muslim, whose religion of Islam would seem the better fit for a soldier of fortune like B.A., than Hinduism. When Barascus(a name that phonetically sounds similar to "Barack") takes the razor to his head, he, like Clinton, desecrates Gandhi's memory by choosing his old Mohawk(which denotes war) over his professed hero's inclination towards baldness. The hairstyle, popularized by Washington Redskin fullback John Riggins and punk rockers, has its roots in the Mohawk Valley of, coincidentally, Upstate New York, which ties Barascus(a possible Obama double) to Clinton, creating an accidental pro-conservative subtext. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
"The A-Team"(1983-1987) was one of televisions most popular shows for its time it told the story of three Vietnam soldiers; Col. John " Hannibal" Smith, Lt. Templeton "Faceman" Peck, Sergeant Bosco " B.A." Baracus who during the last"The A-Team"(1983-1987) was one of televisions most popular shows for its time it told the story of three Vietnam soldiers; Col. John " Hannibal" Smith, Lt. Templeton "Faceman" Peck, Sergeant Bosco " B.A." Baracus who during the last days of the war are tasked by there commanding officer Col. Morrison with robbing a bank in Hanoi They succeeded in their mission, but on returning to their base four days after the end of the war, they found their C.O. murdered by the Viet Cong and his headquarters burned to the ground. Therefore, no proof existed that the A-Team were acting under orders, and they were sent to prison by a military court. They were sent to Fort Bragg, from which they quickly escaped before standing trial. Director Joe Carnahanâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SusanoAug 25, 2010
A bit of an odd choice for a series revival, even in movie-form, though while it's entirely pointless, with a nonsensical plot and a ridiculous disregard for physics, it has several laughs, decent action scenes and...thats it really.A bit of an odd choice for a series revival, even in movie-form, though while it's entirely pointless, with a nonsensical plot and a ridiculous disregard for physics, it has several laughs, decent action scenes and...thats it really. Reasonably good, if stupid and unnecessary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DAVID1966Jan 19, 2011
Fun and unassuming. You know it's not a dramatic story you'll remember the rest of your life, you know it's going to be fun and adventurous, and it delivers. Comedy, decent story, lots of explosions and chases and gunshots and action ...Fun and unassuming. You know it's not a dramatic story you'll remember the rest of your life, you know it's going to be fun and adventurous, and it delivers. Comedy, decent story, lots of explosions and chases and gunshots and action ... just what you expect, nothing more, nothing less. The kind of movie you can watch while doing something else, the kids love the action, and for those of us around for the TV series, this is a fun stroll down the not-too-distant memory lane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
The A-Team stays close to the original 80's television series. The 4 members of the A-Team are definitely a unique bunch that gives classic comedy lines and action-packed scenes. Liam Neeson stands out the most though due to his past work,The A-Team stays close to the original 80's television series. The 4 members of the A-Team are definitely a unique bunch that gives classic comedy lines and action-packed scenes. Liam Neeson stands out the most though due to his past work, while Cooper, Jackson, and Copley are his old pals that follow whatever orders he gives them. After an explosive intro, they are stationed in Baghdad, then given an assignment to retrieve plates that reproduce American Dollar Bills, that have already printed $5 Billion. But after, they are sent to prison after being convicted of murdering their general. And the A-Team must assemble again to clear their name. And like every action packed summer blockbuster, you have a cute chick alongside for the ride with Jessica Biel playing the old girlfriend of Cooper's role, "Templeton Peck". So, "The A-Team" will have to settle with a So-So because of weak storyline, but makes it up for intense powerful action that will make you say "wow". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OscarPicks2010Dec 4, 2010
This high-budget film that failed to succeed at the box office really is noisy. It helped with the humor that the cast brought to the table and the fun that they are having, but this high-budget film still fell short from its original TV show
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JonnyFendiJan 13, 2011
I am impressed how they made thiz newest version worked. In the beginning, I was very pessimistic about thiz A-TEAM will fall into B-Class movie. The original image from authentic TVs version in 1980s was very strong. The challenge wasI am impressed how they made thiz newest version worked. In the beginning, I was very pessimistic about thiz A-TEAM will fall into B-Class movie. The original image from authentic TVs version in 1980s was very strong. The challenge was extremely hard, but they did it anyway. The A-Team consists of four war veterans with their own special skills and unique styles. The leader and the brain is Col. Hannibal Smith (Liam Neeson), the other members are: playboy and con man Lt. Templeton Facemen Peck, the muscle and mechanic Sgt. B.A. Baracus, the loony and pilot Capt. H.M. Murdock. Neeson had always been a great Actor. There is no trouble for him to replace the late George Peppard charisma. The iconic B.A Baracus (originally played by Mr. T) whom seems will difficult to replace, played convincingly by Quinton Jackson. Bradley Cooper also looked like had fun with his role as Facemen. And the last but not least, with his mimic and expression, Sharlto Copley made a new reincarnation of precise Murdoch character. Previously, Copley was widely-recognized by his breakthrough performance in DISTRICT 9 (2009). Plus Jessica Biel and Patrick Wilson fill the supporting roles. Joe Carnahan (The Director of SMOKIN ACES in 2006) seems to be success to maintain the fun factors from one scene to another. The story easily flows since the early scene. The action scenes were very fun to watch, actually most of the actions were very absurd, but it was still acceptable to thiz kind of popcorn movie. I fully appreciate that the film makers work so hard to keep its originality. Thiz film is a really a perfect copycat from the original, which make us realize maybe the time has changed, but THE A-TEAM is still the same. Everybody loves it when a plan comes together. Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
drlowdonMay 25, 2013
Truth be told this movie is a bit of a mess. It takes longer than necessary to establish the A-Team as the group we already know them to be, its full of plot holes, the one-liners aren't always as funny as the writers seem to think and anyTruth be told this movie is a bit of a mess. It takes longer than necessary to establish the A-Team as the group we already know them to be, its full of plot holes, the one-liners aren't always as funny as the writers seem to think and any attempts to add emotional depth to proceedings simply fall flat.

Despite all these problems however it is hard to deny that I was entertained for large parts of the films two hour running time. My advice would be to sit back, switch of your brain and enjoy the ride.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanFeb 21, 2012
I never watched the TV series, so can't really comment on the film's faithfulness to it, but director Joe Carnahan has delivered a really entertaining action movie regardless. The new team are a pretty decent ensemble, composed of Liam NeesonI never watched the TV series, so can't really comment on the film's faithfulness to it, but director Joe Carnahan has delivered a really entertaining action movie regardless. The new team are a pretty decent ensemble, composed of Liam Neeson doing his very best gravelly voice, Bradley Cooper being cool, Quinton "Rampage" Jackson looking formidably strong and Sharlto Copley acting full-on-bonkers. It's not great character development, true, but it's an action movie, and each of the team do exactly what their role requires of them. Elsewhere, the cast are less solid, with Jessica Biel playing a wooden DCIS captain, Patrick Wilson playing a cartoony CIA agent, and Brian Bloom is a bland antagonist as the leader of a private security firm. The A-Team offers much in its first half - it's fast-paced, action-packed, and most importantly of all, it doesn't take itself too seriously. The rest of the film is a little hit-and-miss, with a convoluted but dumb plot full of unnecessary and predictable plot twists, and the film as a whole probably runs a good half hour too long. But if you're prepared to stop thinking for a couple of hours, then The A-Team can be really enjoyable - it's got enough action, explosions and buddy-comedy to be a cracking ride, despite it's gruelling run-time, stupid plotting and mixed quality cast. It's unavoidably moronic, true, but it's also undeniably fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
sinadoomDec 17, 2012
Cliche plot and not at all deep or engaging but it's a pretty damn funny action film. Some of the moments in it are so unrealistic that it's hilarious. It doesn't take itself too seriously so I guess it's a passable film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleAug 27, 2015
The A-Team is an over-the-top, destructive action film that despite sometimes drifting into some seriously silly and idiotic sequences, never fails to be entertaining. At no moment is The A-Team ever even remotely original, but all the same,The A-Team is an over-the-top, destructive action film that despite sometimes drifting into some seriously silly and idiotic sequences, never fails to be entertaining. At no moment is The A-Team ever even remotely original, but all the same, it manages to keep a hold of you as you try to see how they will figure out how to best the bad guy in stupendous fashion. Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Sharlto Copley, and Patrick Wilson, are all quite good here and one certainly wishes they would all appear together in a better film. Yet, as is, their chemistry is quite good here and they all go very well in this one, so I cannot complain too much. The action sequences are well put together, even if the over the top nature of the film is a bit much to believe and the CGI is quite noticeable at times. Yet, going back to that pesky entertainment aspect, the film is always a fun thrill ride that provides more than a few laughs along the way. As summer action movies go, The A-Team is solid entertainment that certainly lacks quality, but is fun nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This film was just about viewable. I think I maybe expected too much from it. It's cast is obviously mostly talented (not sure about Rampage) but as a whole the film is just trying too hard to be like it's ancestral TV series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
worleyjamersDec 8, 2012
One of the very few summer movies of 2010, alongside Iron Man 2, that I actually enjoyed. I originally had no intention of seeing this, but there was nothing showing during those months so I gave this a shot. I really liked it alot. I knowOne of the very few summer movies of 2010, alongside Iron Man 2, that I actually enjoyed. I originally had no intention of seeing this, but there was nothing showing during those months so I gave this a shot. I really liked it alot. I know nothing about the television show, but this film is great by itself.

The action, fighting, and special effects sequences are great. The whole movie is intense and highly entertaining. Never once was I bored.

I also really liked the cast. Liam Neeson, again, has given us another really good action movie. Bradley Cooper, Patrick Wilson, and Jessica Biel were also good. It was also nice to Sharlto Copley after loving his performance in District 9. He was very funny.

This is a fun, action-packed, blockbuster movie. I really enjoyed it and I'd definitely recommend it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Luke_McLaughlinJul 25, 2013
The A-Team is a fun filled thrill ride from top to bottom, but its manic state can become overwhelming at times. Had the audience been able to catch their breath the witty dialogue and cleverly placed inside jokes from the television seriesThe A-Team is a fun filled thrill ride from top to bottom, but its manic state can become overwhelming at times. Had the audience been able to catch their breath the witty dialogue and cleverly placed inside jokes from the television series would have shown through. Unfortunately, what the viewer walks away with is the permanent memory of explosions and badassery. If that is what you're into, which on certain days I would place myself in this category, The A-Team is right for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticJul 20, 2014
Though I enjoyed Sharlto Copley well enough, the film itself is sophomoric and for a large part predictable. Yet I still enjoyed the quartet; and Jessica Biel. She's just nice to look at. The film is a "meh".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZombifactionOct 20, 2013
I think it is an underrated action film. I feel like it is just as good as any other 80's action movie, just done with the tech and know how of the 2000's. The cast plays their characters well respecting what already was while trying to playI think it is an underrated action film. I feel like it is just as good as any other 80's action movie, just done with the tech and know how of the 2000's. The cast plays their characters well respecting what already was while trying to play the role for themselves. The plot is a bit muddled but I never expected to know exactly what was going on all the time. It is 80's cheese opened today. It is fun to watch with friends and while at moments you might be confused it will pass. It's a montage of set pieces all leading to a big action scene. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeFeb 23, 2016
This movie is right. There is no plan B. Instead failing to applause any one by going to plan B, they kept going to plan A throughout movie production.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews