Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 396 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn is the first in the series of 3D motion capture films based on the iconic character Tintin, the intrepid young reporter whose relentless pursuit of a good story thrusts him into a world of high adventure. (Paramount Pictures)

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 100
    Everything he did in live-action movies with rolling boulders and runaway convoys he does bigger and better - by a factor of ten - in every frame. At the end of two hours, my jaw ached from grinning.
  2. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Oct 24, 2011
    90
    With the best use of motion capture yet, Spielberg has translated the story of the youthful Tintin, his spirited pooch Snowy and the eccentric Captain Haddock into a first class action adventure that serves as the perfect cross between "Pirates of the Caribbean" and Spielberg's own "Indiana Jones" series.
  3. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Dec 20, 2011
    83
    While it's essentially just another slick Spielberg action machine, it's operating effectively on all cylinders throughout.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 19, 2011
    75
    That's what we get with The Adventures of Tintin - an unplayable video game that's fast-paced and amusing but never coming close to the best director Steven Spielberg has offered when in his "pure entertainment" mode.
  5. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 19, 2011
    70
    Busy, busy. That's The Adventures of Tintin boiled down to its essence.
  6. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Dec 5, 2011
    50
    Tintin is exhausting, and, for all its wonders, it wears one out well before it's over.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 22, 2011
    50
    The motion-capture animation is spectacular..Yet the action grows wearisome as it grinds on, and the film becomes a succession of dazzling set pieces devoid of simple feelings.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 112
  1. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    Oh get ready for a glorious adventure in the worlds most amazing places. What a great animated movie I was so thrilled by seeing it that i didn't movie a single second from my seat. Really full of jaw dropping adventure you can't wait for the sequel mind blowing movie hats off to the great director and producer (steven spielberg and peter jackson) two of them are the great story teller of our time. Full marks to TINTIN. Expand
  2. May 19, 2013
    10
    The Adventures of Tintin is fantastic because it is by far a copy of Indiana Jones, the design is witty and his aesthetic is fascinating, and a brand revolção for future cartoon, at first he may seem old-fashioned face, but if unfold makes it a pleasant experience to see, and proves that the pair ceria Steven S. and Peter G. can bear much fruit in the future. Expand
  3. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Movie-making magic. Complex swooping camera work. Incredible animation. Glorious adventure. Splendid use of 3D technology. Just see it. You'll have a great afternoon or evening filled with entertainment value. Collapse
  4. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    Steven Spielburg (Jaws, Jurassic Park, E.T.: The Extra Terrestrial, Men in Black, Men in Black 2, Schindler's List, The Terminal, The Color Purple), Kathleen Kennedy (Ponyo, The Indian in the Cupboard, The Bourne), Peter Jackson (The Lord of the Rings, The Lovely Bones) and Nickelodeon team up to create a 3D graphic film based on Herge's Tintin comics and TV series. And it works. The Adventures of Tintin is fun that will be enjoyed by Tintin fans, young and old, new fans and all time fans. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    This movie is pretty great for an animated film. To start with, the visuals are amazing, probably one of the most visually engaging animated films of all time. And on top of that, the story is actually good, too. There is actually a bit of mystery. The only negative was that it was too long, and I thought I wouldn't miss anything if I took a short nap. There are good adventure scenes, but some parts get a little boring. Is it animated "Indiana Jones"? I would say it's pretty close. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    This film was a delight for me to see. It was made for more of the children's audience but Steven Spielburg knows how to please an audience. Think of James Bond mixed with Indiana Jones in a cartoon. This Action-Adventure incorporates what is needed to make a good film, the action sequences, the humor, and of course the adventure at hand. The only thing really wrong in this movie is that like I said it is more for children and younger people and some of the slapstick humor got to be a little too much. This is a movie to rent. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    I didn't like it at all; too much violence; not a simple story; no poetry; no swearing from Captain Haddock; some names have been changed (to adapt to the US market?) Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others)

    Holiday Movie Preview: 23 Intriguing Films (and over 40 Others) Image
    Published: November 9, 2011
    The next two months will bring over 20 major releases and 50 smaller films to theaters near you. Find out which of those films are the most promising, and get a complete guide to all of the holiday season movies inside.