IFC Films | Release Date: November 28, 2014
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 816 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
687
Mixed:
76
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
riaan_radioheadNov 28, 2014
Far from traditional, this is by far the best horror film released in the past five years. Like the scariest bits taken from David Lynch but stretched over a 90 minute running time. The Babadook is a highly accomplished debut feature - greatFar from traditional, this is by far the best horror film released in the past five years. Like the scariest bits taken from David Lynch but stretched over a 90 minute running time. The Babadook is a highly accomplished debut feature - great film making, powerfully performed and utterly terrifying. Expand
21 of 34 users found this helpful2113
All this user's reviews
6
JonNajemMar 13, 2015
As a horror movie, this movie suffers from what a lot of decent horror movies do today.An intriguing build-up, with an unsatisfying ending that completely goes against the rest of the movie. In fact, the beginning to the last 20 minutes wasAs a horror movie, this movie suffers from what a lot of decent horror movies do today.An intriguing build-up, with an unsatisfying ending that completely goes against the rest of the movie. In fact, the beginning to the last 20 minutes was EXTREMELY promising. A fantastic introduction to the Babadook entity, and a few thrilling sequences. The acting was also great. By both the woman and the son. But, again. That ending. it just crushed me. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
TrilobiteGJun 13, 2015
What every modern horror movie is missing out on. You do not need jump scares, you do not need to see anything disturbing to witch it is laughable. All you need is a book and a house and bing badda boom i've shat myself. Honestly, this movieWhat every modern horror movie is missing out on. You do not need jump scares, you do not need to see anything disturbing to witch it is laughable. All you need is a book and a house and bing badda boom i've shat myself. Honestly, this movie was terrifying, it was too realistic. This movie made me reflect upon my own life and that is rare coming from a horror movie. Of course, there are a couple slightly disturbing, but you're not laughing because you can sense that what the character is doing, is not plaid for laughs. What they just did was a genuine act of terror. The only, and I mean only horror movie which I have rated 10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscApr 29, 2015
A rumbling sound Ba-ba DOOK! DOOK! DOOK! That’s when you know he’s around, You’ll see him when you look. Don’t be afraid of The Babadook!

One of my favorite quotes from the film “The Babadook.” A typical horror fan will see the same
A rumbling sound Ba-ba DOOK! DOOK! DOOK! That’s when you know he’s around, You’ll see him when you look. Don’t be afraid of The Babadook!

One of my favorite quotes from the film “The Babadook.” A typical horror fan will see the same horror film with jump scares,cliche’d stories. Examples: (‘Ouija’ Annable, Woman in black 2: Angel of Death), their disposable horror films and are the exact same thing; when you watch ‘The Bababook’ you experience a different horror story and writer-director Jennifer Kent creates the elements very unexpectedly and ‘subtle’ moments. Kent is off to a great career as a filmmaker as her debut is one of the best horror films i’ve seen in years since “The Exorcist”. Essie Davis acting is horrific and a well acted portrayal of a mother dealing with a child with behavioral issues, also dealing with a monster. Grade A
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GinaKApr 18, 2015
This is a splendid horror film that reminded me of Roman Polanski’s Repulsion in that it was horror based in madness and psychological truth and not in fake scares and other gimmicks. I was also not surprised to learn in the bonus features onThis is a splendid horror film that reminded me of Roman Polanski’s Repulsion in that it was horror based in madness and psychological truth and not in fake scares and other gimmicks. I was also not surprised to learn in the bonus features on the Blu-Ray that the director worked with Lars von Trier early in her career. The ending was inspired -- even playful -- psychologically true and the key to the entire film. Brilliant! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
nicholasbertSep 6, 2015
As a horror per se, The Babadook isn't terribly scary, and obviously follows nearly all the usual tropes of the genre: supernatural monster, fear of the dark, self-moving objects, lightbulbs that go out, kids, just a few jump scares. However,As a horror per se, The Babadook isn't terribly scary, and obviously follows nearly all the usual tropes of the genre: supernatural monster, fear of the dark, self-moving objects, lightbulbs that go out, kids, just a few jump scares. However, this is nearly inevitable, so we'll let it pass. On the other hand, the film also isn't psychologically torturing enough to really impress, As a movie, the "artsy" feel is way too protruding, the hipsteria runs very high as it is shoved into your face - especially with the extremely clean shooting and the sometimes theatrical acting of the lead. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HersitoMay 7, 2015
I think the movie portrays schizophrenia spot on, only someone that lived with someone with schizophrenia could have written and directed a movie like that so I assume this is biographical and has to do with something Kent lived and it's anI think the movie portrays schizophrenia spot on, only someone that lived with someone with schizophrenia could have written and directed a movie like that so I assume this is biographical and has to do with something Kent lived and it's an artistic way of expressing it. The desperation of trying to keep "the monster" at bay is impressively portrayed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Jarhead335Aug 3, 2015
The Babadook was a decent horror Australian horror film whose imaginative story heightens the intrigue from the get-go. The Babadook is itself a horrifying antagonist, creepily done and eerily real. The atmosphere that is built up throughoutThe Babadook was a decent horror Australian horror film whose imaginative story heightens the intrigue from the get-go. The Babadook is itself a horrifying antagonist, creepily done and eerily real. The atmosphere that is built up throughout the movie was done wonderfully, particularly The Babadook's signature call, which you'll hear two or three times en route to the end. Unfortunately, though, the amazing atmospheric build-ups never culminate in a defining moment of fear. The viewer is never grabbed fully even once to feel the movie to the fullest.

However, there were a handful of wrinkles in the overall delivery, not the least of which was the terrible supporting cast. The two main characters, Amelia and her son, Sam, were portrayed beautifully, but the rest of the cast was downright D-List. Similarly, the sound work was pretty disappointing, particularly when the second encounter with the monster, where viewers will hear an all-too-familiar B-List dinosaur roar we're supposed to associate with horrifying monsters. It was pretty glaringly in contrast to the rest of the film, and detracted from the terror of the moment.

The worst part, though, was definitely the ending. It was almost as if the writers were intruded on and told that all of a sudden their deadline had been moved up to 5 minutes from then, and they for no reason had to wrap everything up with no thought or respect to the rest of the movie. Literally, the ending makes zero sense in the context of the movie itself. Not only that, but it wasn't even a GOOD ending, it was pretty brutally bad, with the usual 'everyone's hunky-dory at the end' trope tossed it when it seems nothing was actually solved.

I threw this movie on at 12:30 AM to see how scared I could make myself before I fell asleep. Despite some uneasiness after watching, I managed to drift off no problem. To me, that's not the mark of a horror classic, despite the movie's pleasantly chilling vibes.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
grassoAug 2, 2015
The Babadook is a horror masterpiece, a true modern classic. It stands out from the current productions of the genre, it's not your ordinary jumpscare ride. It uses real (in the literal sense of the word) tension and horror, combined with aThe Babadook is a horror masterpiece, a true modern classic. It stands out from the current productions of the genre, it's not your ordinary jumpscare ride. It uses real (in the literal sense of the word) tension and horror, combined with a gripping, powerful screenplay to achieve marvels. Its subtext is very well structured, layering the movie endlessly. Not to mention extraordinary performances from Essie Davis and Noah Wiseman and an breakthrough debut from director Jennifer Kent, already hands down the best horror director in the game nowadays. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tonimiller417Nov 5, 2015
The Babadook lures you in with the familiar childhood fears about something lurking under your bed but delivers something fresh and even surprising.

Watch here for free
The Babadook lures you in with the familiar childhood fears about something lurking under your bed but delivers something fresh and even surprising.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a0f2d-The-Babadook-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
marc5477Jan 28, 2015
Definitely overrated. Its not a bad movie but I thought it was long winded and ultimately not very convincing regardless of what you thought happened in the end. The biggest problem however is that it was not original, which is hard to do.Definitely overrated. Its not a bad movie but I thought it was long winded and ultimately not very convincing regardless of what you thought happened in the end. The biggest problem however is that it was not original, which is hard to do. But for that reason, I cannot really rate this thing over a 7. It brought nothing new to the table that we had not seen before and frankly I thought the kid was over acting while the mother was underacting or was just not believable in many ways. Again, its a horror movie so I am not expecting much but at the same time the movie itself didnt have much else to talk about. It was not fun like some horror movies and it was not written well enough to feel plausible. Its kind of like Friday the 13th taking itself seriously... A solid 6 in my opinion. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
9
BrushedRedMay 8, 2015
Great movie! 2014 and 2015 have had some good artsy horror movies. This and It Follows are bringing some hope for a genre that has fallen into too many cliches. The acting and cinematography of this movie are amazing. The story is terrific.Great movie! 2014 and 2015 have had some good artsy horror movies. This and It Follows are bringing some hope for a genre that has fallen into too many cliches. The acting and cinematography of this movie are amazing. The story is terrific. The scares... Ehh, there aren't many but it will get under your skin. Overall I enjoyed this movie. It felt more like a family drama with horror elements more than the reverse. This movie would be a 10 if it weren't for one problem... Whoever did the production and editing should go back to school. Parts of this movie are so quiet that I had to turn my tv all the way up then the next thing I know it's shaking my walls. Wish the sound was more stable. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
JambonDeluxeJan 11, 2015
I haven't stopped thinking about THE BABADOOK since I saw it. In fact, I can hardly keep myself from SAYING BABADOOK or Ba ba ba DOOK DOOK DOOK. Truly the most memorable film of recent years for me. Great stuff.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
MrCayugaMar 7, 2015
I can't believe that some well established critics called this "a movie of the year". (namely Mark Kermode).

The movie was NOT scary one tiny bit. The actual "scary moments" made me laugh. Maybe if someone can actually be scared by a
I can't believe that some well established critics called this "a movie of the year". (namely Mark Kermode).

The movie was NOT scary one tiny bit. The actual "scary moments" made me laugh.

Maybe if someone can actually be scared by a cartoony character from a children's book, then this movie might be actually for him.

On the plus side, actor performances were on the good side.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantMar 6, 2015
The Babadook is a truly terrifying movie. Essie Davis gives an amazing performance that should have earned her a best actress nomination and the characters are very believable and not stupid adding to the level of horror. the cinematographyThe Babadook is a truly terrifying movie. Essie Davis gives an amazing performance that should have earned her a best actress nomination and the characters are very believable and not stupid adding to the level of horror. the cinematography is excellent and it takes the possession movie a tired and overdone genre and reinvigorates in way that is cleaver and creepy as hell, seriously give this one a watch it's an excellent example of the horror genre Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
redmandanaOct 3, 2015
This movie is great .. **** great.. One of the best horror movies ive seen in a longgg longggg time... Its in my top five.. Actually in my top 3 .. Because... I only think 3 horror movies are actually scary.but anyways... Idea come from theThis movie is great .. **** great.. One of the best horror movies ive seen in a longgg longggg time... Its in my top five.. Actually in my top 3 .. Because... I only think 3 horror movies are actually scary.but anyways... Idea come from the ring and the grugde ... (Witch is in my top 3 lol) its actually themed after the boogieman.. I origanlly saw this movie on netflix.. And immediatly thought it was wack.. Few months later i gave it a try and i was blown away... Very refreshing.. New type of horror.. Actually good.. I just loved it.. If you dont like this movie .. We cannot be friends this movie is one of the best.. Everything else is garbage... This along with "it follows" and "the ring" are my all time farverite horror movies .. And i watch ALOT of horror movies. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Sep 6, 2015
The Babadook is a very scary film with terrifying imagery along with fantastic and scary performance from Essie Davis the film also has underlying themes of depression that is very subtle and is worth a second watch to notice all of theThe Babadook is a very scary film with terrifying imagery along with fantastic and scary performance from Essie Davis the film also has underlying themes of depression that is very subtle and is worth a second watch to notice all of the hints given. The Babadook is up there with likes of the shining and the exorcist
10/10.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
katezoeApr 17, 2015
A major let down after all the great reviews from critics and audiences. Very predictable story and not the thriller or psychological movie I was expecting. Ending was the final disappointment.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
brafcauknidApr 16, 2015
This is a decent movie, I had heard nothing but rave reviews for it so I was definately let down. It had potential to be an amazing movie but just never ties everything together in a coherent way, and the "payoff" feels copletelyThis is a decent movie, I had heard nothing but rave reviews for it so I was definately let down. It had potential to be an amazing movie but just never ties everything together in a coherent way, and the "payoff" feels copletely nonsensical...the first 80 minutes go in one direction only to have the ending basically ignore what the first 90% of the movie has lead to and/or established.

The actress that plays the mother is ok, but she comes off very coldhearted and hateful even to her son who is a total nightmare so I never could make myself even remotely care about all the terrible things that happened to them. I ended up rooting for the babadook, only to have him reduced to a slinking cellar dweller pet at the end. Worth watching but temper your expectations.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99Mar 10, 2015
Finally a good horror film with no annoying jump scares.

When a disturbing storybook called 'The Babadook' turns up at their house, Samuel is convinced that the Babadook is the creature he's been dreaming about. His hallucinations spiral
Finally a good horror film with no annoying jump scares.

When a disturbing storybook called 'The Babadook' turns up at their house, Samuel is convinced that the Babadook is the creature he's been dreaming about. His hallucinations spiral out of control, he becomes more unpredictable and violent. Amelia, genuinely frightened by her son's behaviour, is forced to medicate him.

They are so many bad horror films out there right now that I'm pretty tired and sick of seeing, but The Babadook is not like those films. This horror movie did something that Annabelle or Ouija couldn't do, and that is try to be original and scary.

Babadook is a movie that got under my skin if I got to be honest. The chilling and uneasy atmosphere and it's sense of fear that this movie truly nails it for me and not like most horror films today that lost that sense fear and just allow on lazy Jump scars. The acting in this movie was so real and so top notch that I got to say that Essie Davis did excellent in this movie, even the little kid did good.

The other thing that this movie get's right is the fact it says "F'ck jump scares", and tries to scary the viewing auditions and not be throwing loud sounds to make some people jump a little bit, no it goes for the good old fashioned method of a good horror film and that is showing frighting images that will stick in your mind until the movie is over.

My only problems with this movie is it's slow at the beginning and the ending to the movie was a bit ridiculous if I got to say.

But overall The Babadook is more than you're cliche monster movie, it focus on doubt's and depression which made the movie even scary, because if you got doubt's and depression running throw your head and meanwhile there might be something out there after you and your kid then it can mess with your mind and cause terror.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBNov 28, 2014
Essie Davis is electrifying in "The Babadook", and the storyline itself is profound and crawly. Jennifer Kent's debut is an exemplary tale of catastrophe and tepidity.
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
10
WahlbergNov 28, 2014
The Best Horror Movie in 2014!! Outstanding and Creepy! You must see it, prime up your Emotional. Perfect!!. ‘I couldn’t agree more’. I said. The Babadook adalah sebuah cerita horor yang begitu dalam dan sangat berbeda dari film-film hororThe Best Horror Movie in 2014!! Outstanding and Creepy! You must see it, prime up your Emotional. Perfect!!. ‘I couldn’t agree more’. I said. The Babadook adalah sebuah cerita horor yang begitu dalam dan sangat berbeda dari film-film horor biasanya. Bahkan dengan dimulainya opening scene yang jarang sekali saya temukan di film-film horor lainnya telah membuat saya mengerinyitkan alis dan berfikir matang apa yang akan disajikan selanjutnya oleh Kent dalam film debutnya ini. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
2
dancrumDec 25, 2014
My friend, who is big into horror films, demanded we watch this movie. "It's the scariest movie of the year!" she exclaimed over and over. "We have to watch it!" The scariest movie of the year? Well I have to watch that don't I? So, we did.My friend, who is big into horror films, demanded we watch this movie. "It's the scariest movie of the year!" she exclaimed over and over. "We have to watch it!" The scariest movie of the year? Well I have to watch that don't I? So, we did. The thing is, I really wish we hadn't. The Babadook starts off slow, building tension between a stressed out mother and her son, who I can only assume suffers from some form of mental handicap. Throughout the first half, the film builds tension, but never enough to have you on the edge of your seat, just barely enough to keep your eyes on the screen. The second half of the movie is even worse. There is a climax that just feels rushed and sloppy, and the ending literally caused me to throw my hands up in the air. It was just, terrible, for lack of a better word. There is nothing scary about The Babadook. There is little even worth watching in The Babadook. The only saving grace was the beautifully crafted book they used in the movie. Outside of that one prop, this film was an utter waste of time. It easily falls into my list of the worst films I've seen in 2014. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
SiddGNov 28, 2014
A metaphor-rich tale of a mother and his weird child, which is Amazing and yet so chilling and scary. It's nothing but a Woman's story of grief and sorrow in superlative way. Kudos to Jennifer Kent, Because this is modern "The Shining", withA metaphor-rich tale of a mother and his weird child, which is Amazing and yet so chilling and scary. It's nothing but a Woman's story of grief and sorrow in superlative way. Kudos to Jennifer Kent, Because this is modern "The Shining", with Oscar nomination worthy Performance from Essie Davis.
I watched this movie 2nd time so that I can pick a flaw, Instead I loved it way more.
"If it's in a word, or it's in a look, you can't get rid of The Babadook". This dialogue is so right, after watching the movie!
For me this should get nominated
"Best Actress in Leading Role"
"Best Adapted Screenplay"
"Best Direction"
"Best Cinematography"
"Best Motion Picture"
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
2
BlackavarsDec 6, 2014
This movie gets a lower score due to how much potential it had. Given a good script rewrite it could have been a classic. It has some small pacing issues but thats nothing compared to the tiny cast of entirely unlikable characters. The kid isThis movie gets a lower score due to how much potential it had. Given a good script rewrite it could have been a classic. It has some small pacing issues but thats nothing compared to the tiny cast of entirely unlikable characters. The kid is awful from the get go and you really hope he's the first to die. You empathize with the mom a bit for dealing with the little sh¡t but she isnt very likable either. Perhaps through the use of flashblacks they could have made you care about them more or if they added more characters to help give context rather than isolate the characters then they could have achieved the same result. But, in the end, it is just two unlikable characters that can't die soon enough. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryDec 15, 2014
A pregnant woman's husband is killed on the way to have their baby. Six years later, the widowed mother and child are still a mess and to make matters worse, an evil presence invades their home. Anyone who has seen Japanese spirit hauntingA pregnant woman's husband is killed on the way to have their baby. Six years later, the widowed mother and child are still a mess and to make matters worse, an evil presence invades their home. Anyone who has seen Japanese spirit haunting films like "The Grudge" and "The Ring" will recognize the scare tactics: ominous music, loud crashes, quick glimpses of a creepy presence and lots of terrified reactions. While the characters are compelling (especially young Noah Wiseman), the suspense is low-key and predictable. I wasn't scared or surprised once. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
wesleyoldakerDec 2, 2014
There are the horror movies that acheive greatness by scaring you by what's on screen, jolting your conscious mind, and there are the ones that do it by sinking into your unconscious mind like a splinter, lingering and haunting you well afterThere are the horror movies that acheive greatness by scaring you by what's on screen, jolting your conscious mind, and there are the ones that do it by sinking into your unconscious mind like a splinter, lingering and haunting you well after the show is over. This is one of the latter, and a truly great example of it. I've seen it a few times now and it gets better with each viewing. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
YonkimanJan 25, 2015
Outstanding movie that works incredibly well on multiple levels. It's a terrifying horror movie and a psychological thriller/exposition that any parent can identify with. Fantastic.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Joem33Dec 1, 2014
There are so many dumb horror movies out this year, but, believe you me, The Babadook is not one of them. For a 7 yr old, Noah Wiseman is a fantastic actor!
An interesting story, an "A" rated performance from the cast, and witful directing
There are so many dumb horror movies out this year, but, believe you me, The Babadook is not one of them. For a 7 yr old, Noah Wiseman is a fantastic actor!
An interesting story, an "A" rated performance from the cast, and witful directing from Jennifer Kent round up this movie's strongest points. The ending though was rather dull and not quite what I expected, but I think it would have really soured my day if it concluded on a more tragic note (like most horror movies do).
In all, The Babadook is an enjoyable movie!
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Metacritic17Jan 10, 2015
Just to put it out there, I loved this movie. When I saw the trailer for The Babadook, I was hooked and, when I saw all the rave reviews it got, I was really excited. Then I saw the movie and I was sure that this was an awesome movie. EssieJust to put it out there, I loved this movie. When I saw the trailer for The Babadook, I was hooked and, when I saw all the rave reviews it got, I was really excited. Then I saw the movie and I was sure that this was an awesome movie. Essie Davis is spectacular, the music in the background sets the mood perfectly and the way it is filmed just adds to its overall creep factor. Also, I must give this movie kudos for its use of symbolism and for it being the FIRST MOVIE of what should become Jennifer Kent's long and successful film career. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
jaspy77Jan 28, 2015
It has been ages since I haven't seen such a great horror film. Great characters, plot, and themes to discuss afterwards. It is a modern classic. Give it a try!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
ozymandias79Nov 28, 2014
An interesting horror movie. Much more psychological than anticipated but a little disappointing they didn't go down that path more. It's a horror movie for the ladies, written and directed by a woman, it explores a mother hurting and losingAn interesting horror movie. Much more psychological than anticipated but a little disappointing they didn't go down that path more. It's a horror movie for the ladies, written and directed by a woman, it explores a mother hurting and losing her child. The kid is brilliant, annoying as hell, but that's the character. On the negative side, the public domain sound effects are cheap and all the adults are caked in makeup. It will probably get a Hollywood remake which aren't always bad. Altogether, certainly worth watching, especially for an Australian horror movie. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
3
darocziJan 6, 2015
Great acting, but there's no relate-able characters. There's a despicable mother, a headache-inducing child, everything is dark grey, the mood is depression and sadness from start to finish, and the horror elements are straight out of anyGreat acting, but there's no relate-able characters. There's a despicable mother, a headache-inducing child, everything is dark grey, the mood is depression and sadness from start to finish, and the horror elements are straight out of any other ghost movie, except that I didn't find them well executed in any way. I didn't care in the least if everyone in the film died. I'm not saying it's a bad film, I'm giving the reasons why I hated it. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
vrchrisJan 6, 2015
If you are thinking this will be a good horror movie then you are in for a disappointment. There are no attempts to make you jump. The film relies on slowly (very tediously slowly) building up the tension and creepiness. However it reallyIf you are thinking this will be a good horror movie then you are in for a disappointment. There are no attempts to make you jump. The film relies on slowly (very tediously slowly) building up the tension and creepiness. However it really fails to do this - instead juts becoming more depressing (its basically a story about a mother struggling to cope with depression) and absurd as the film progresses. You will be hoping that the ending redeems itself but it doesn't. Nothing about the film is clever or original. The acting is shoddy. The film is so dark throughout its hard to see whats going on. The babadook looks like Marylin Manson. Avoid Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
1
lightningbarerJan 1, 2015
Honestly I don't get it sometimes, there are movies that are just meh, there are movies that are terrible and there are movies that just don't even try.
the Babadook isn't any of these things.
It's like two scripts were jammed together to
Honestly I don't get it sometimes, there are movies that are just meh, there are movies that are terrible and there are movies that just don't even try.
the Babadook isn't any of these things.
It's like two scripts were jammed together to make a full one because the writers of each didn't have the patience to try and write a full story.
Or they found that the idea of the movie is silly and couldn't write their way out of it.

This movie is a mess of bad writing, it's a hodge-podge of two separate stories, one of a person under a possession going insane and one of a person "thinking" they're under a possession and due to that, losing their mind.
It's right there in the visuals, we see things hinting that all of this is based on her delusions several times, there are hints that she may have already lost her mind and forgotten that she'd done something. There's no explanation for things and there's no "reason" for anything.
Take the book itself, it's sitting there on the kid's shelf and after reading it, the babadook comes calling.
How did it get there? Why is it that a kid who has night terrors and needs a book reading to him hasn't had this book read before? Are these things just there for no reason?
There are hints that this is all in her head and she can't remember doing things, for instance she's said to be an author and we see her hands dirty from what looks like charcoal. Is this implying she made the book, forgot and after destroying it, remade it and then forgot that?

See, no reason is given, now I'll commend this for the acting and the visuals, but that alone doesn't make a good movie. It's just Bad.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
Death0fLoveAug 24, 2015
I found absolutely nothing about this movie enjoyable. I found it impossible to care about the mother or her son (needless to say, I wanted him dead when he was in the back of the car annoyingly crying out "mommy" repeatedly). You aren'tI found absolutely nothing about this movie enjoyable. I found it impossible to care about the mother or her son (needless to say, I wanted him dead when he was in the back of the car annoyingly crying out "mommy" repeatedly). You aren't given any real back story to understand exactly what is going on until half way through the movie they FINALLY explain that the father/husband died trying to get the mother to the hospital when she went into labor. Everything before that you just have a mother who doesn't really care about her son and her son who is the most annoying child in any movie in the history of cinematography and his obsession with monsters and his night terrors. The fact that they try to force viewers to swallow the concept of a mother resenting her only child just on the grounds that her husband/father of her child died the day the child was born is completely asinine. So a mother unrealistically resents her only child for nearly 7 years and, after merely reading a book, becomes "possessed" and starts to go "crazy." Where did the book come from? It was obviously a scary story so why the hell did she read it to her son that is prone to night terrors? Logic is one of the things this movie is sorely missing. None of it actually makes sense. The "creature" (which is a cheap mix-up of Freddy Krueger & Nosferatu with the most laughable voice) is supposed to be a representation of her suppressed emotions about what happened to her husband yet it somehow, by the end of the movie, becomes an actual supernatural being living in the basement?! I cannot fathom how this movie is getting such praise when it is an absolute **** of stupidity. I really wish I could have the $5 I wasted to rent this movie as well as the 90 minutes I wasted watching it back. This was, without a doubt, the worst, bland, non-frightening, unappealing horror movie I have ever watched. I don't care if people dislike my review. This is my opinion of this **** movie and I hated every second of it. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
GoncalvesNov 28, 2014
I watched the Babadook and I must say I quite liked the movie because its type of horror distinguished itself from the others and left out the jumpscares advancing to the horror itself, had incredible performances from the two lead actors,I watched the Babadook and I must say I quite liked the movie because its type of horror distinguished itself from the others and left out the jumpscares advancing to the horror itself, had incredible performances from the two lead actors, Essie Davis and Noah Wiseman, a good story that led us to sympathize with the characters and to fear for them, and even a tone and a soundtrack that stand out. For me it deserves 10 on a scale of 1 to 10, because it was a great movie that really worked thanks to Jennifer Kent's amazing storytelling, and let's hope they launch The Babadook Book because I really loved its iconic character. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
willlolNov 28, 2014
Recomendo este filme pela sua simplicidade e elementos surpresa, com direito a atuações fantásticas. Esqueça os jump scares clichês. Porém, uma análise mais profunda com relação ao final deve ser feita para tal compreendimento do mesmo.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
jotaesecheNov 29, 2014
Though not totally scary, this movie clearly serves as a complex psychological drama that keeps you in suspense the whole time. The performances are remarkable, the scenery and filming are unusually excellent, but the best part is the plotThough not totally scary, this movie clearly serves as a complex psychological drama that keeps you in suspense the whole time. The performances are remarkable, the scenery and filming are unusually excellent, but the best part is the plot itself.. Is Amelia fighting a real monster, or her own and broken memories and ghosts? To make it simple, this movie is not only spooky and weird, but also emotive and (most of all) mesmerizing. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
8
benuttyDec 2, 2014
I don't know if I find this as frightening as a lot of people are saying it is, but it is indeed gorgeous, well-acted and well-directed. Pulling from a number of standards within the genre, The Babadook somehow still feels new. One of theI don't know if I find this as frightening as a lot of people are saying it is, but it is indeed gorgeous, well-acted and well-directed. Pulling from a number of standards within the genre, The Babadook somehow still feels new. One of the best films about grief since Rabbit Hole. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
1
zedzdedDec 4, 2014
I watched engrossed for the first half an hour. It seemed like an interesting story with a stressed out, well meaning single mother and her problem child and his violent antisocial behaviours and what seemed to be an over active imagination.I watched engrossed for the first half an hour. It seemed like an interesting story with a stressed out, well meaning single mother and her problem child and his violent antisocial behaviours and what seemed to be an over active imagination.

The acting was well done and both the mother and the kid are good actors.

Unfortunately the horror of the movie was laughable and when they tried to scare you, the whole thing fell apart. I started laughing at the voices that were suppose to terrify and the effects used were straight out of a student movie.

It got to the point where I completely lost interest. I continued to watch for a while but I skipped the last 15 minutes cause it was so crap. Don't believe all the reviews. This was a dreadful movie and best avoided.
Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
0
viewerFeb 8, 2015
A film that mixes tired horror devices, pseudoscience, and some of the sexist and perverse aspects of modern Feminism that everyone seems to be warming up to these days, into a hot, steaming pot of cream of glass soup, or black vomit, orA film that mixes tired horror devices, pseudoscience, and some of the sexist and perverse aspects of modern Feminism that everyone seems to be warming up to these days, into a hot, steaming pot of cream of glass soup, or black vomit, or sh*t—take your pick. Watching this film was a sickening experience made all the more sickening by its critical acclaim. Also, despite the fact that many (presumably blind and deaf) critics state that this film does not rely on jump scares, . . . it kinda does. Yes, the film also employs stale psychological thriller tactics to try to scare you, but that doesn't just erase the jump scares, nor does it make it an innovative or scary film; all that does is make it a film that tries and fails to scare you with two standard genre tactics in a very predictable way. Think of this movie as an un-scary, un-atmospheric "The Shining," meets every jump-scare horror film with a child and a monster, meets every modern possession film. My theory as to why this movie received critical acclaim is that the critics were so tired of dissing stale horror films that they physically couldn't do it anymore due to severe nausea and were compelled to give it a positive review—that or the Babadook possessed them. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
0
Pelen23Feb 24, 2015
This so called scary film is a waste of time and I blame the critics for the hype as the film has lots of plot holes and undeveloped subplots . Surely , the critics would have noticed but they still give good reviews to this rubbish. Over theThis so called scary film is a waste of time and I blame the critics for the hype as the film has lots of plot holes and undeveloped subplots . Surely , the critics would have noticed but they still give good reviews to this rubbish. Over the top performances caused lots of giggles in the cinema. Even this proves that the film is far from being scary. Expand
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
1
ariel84Dec 23, 2014
don't waste your money. until the allegedly scary thing appears, the film's quite good. if the story just stuck with the mother unraveling over the stress of having a strange child, it would've had this chilling, claustrophic effect. thedon't waste your money. until the allegedly scary thing appears, the film's quite good. if the story just stuck with the mother unraveling over the stress of having a strange child, it would've had this chilling, claustrophic effect. the babadook brings on histrionic acting and tired horror tropes. the pop up book was creepier than its subject. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
7
Kris_dDec 25, 2014
A very well made movie. Not very scary, but creepy indeed and will give you chills down your spine. The actress who plays the mother is excellent and for a child actor, the boy does a pretty good job too. The film gives enough clues to whatA very well made movie. Not very scary, but creepy indeed and will give you chills down your spine. The actress who plays the mother is excellent and for a child actor, the boy does a pretty good job too. The film gives enough clues to what it actually is about, yet despite knowing what it is about, you still wonder if it's real or not. Why i wouldn't rate the film extremely high, i do get why the critics praise it. It's very well written and more intelligent than it appears to be. Those who just wanted to see a horror movie to get scared will think it's overrated, those who 'get it' and think about the metaphors, will appreciate it a lot more. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
8
googolendtimesJan 2, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Much less a horror film than a chiller, "The Babadook" was a complex and profoundly unnerving film. It really was very good at making me squirm uncomfortably in my seat. Its use of imagery and sound to unsettle me, rather than jump scares to catch me off-guard, made it a far more interesting and worthwhile experience. I was not frightened, per se, but I was certainly creeped out. Essie Davis and Noah Wiseman gave exceptional performances and I'm pleased Davis is getting so much critical recognition for her role, as she is unlikely to get much attention on the major awards circuit, which is a damned shame because she plays her role to perfection, embodying both the victim and the villain of the movie by its gut-wrenching end. I did not enjoy "The Babadook", I did not need to. If I enjoyed it, it would not have been half as good as it was. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
LowbrowCinemaNov 30, 2014
THE BABADOOK is a standard premise but in its first half is truly terrifying for being not a film nightmare or nightmare but a true living nightmare. Does that make sense? It will if you see the film. The nightmare in THE BABADOOK isTHE BABADOOK is a standard premise but in its first half is truly terrifying for being not a film nightmare or nightmare but a true living nightmare. Does that make sense? It will if you see the film. The nightmare in THE BABADOOK is parenthood and specifically, single parenting. Nothing could be more frightening. But then the horror shenanigans began and the film loses its way falling into standard contemporary horror land which is really a major disappointment. So much good is washed away by the standardness of THE BABADOOK's second half. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
1
FishersamDec 3, 2014
I hated this film. To summarize it. It is about a woman raising her child alone after her husband died in a car wreck before the child's birth.

Le me tell you why i hate this film. It was suppose to be a "scary movie". At no point was
I hated this film. To summarize it. It is about a woman raising her child alone after her husband died in a car wreck before the child's birth.

Le me tell you why i hate this film. It was suppose to be a "scary movie". At no point was anything about this film scary. There were a few exorcist-like scenes that we have all seen 277 times. The film developed extremely slow. The director focused on showing how horrible of a mother the main character is. She lets her son walk all over her and never considers disciplining him. Single mother or not, that kid needed a spanking. After filling 80% of the movie with boring back story about an annoying unruly child, they started to discuss The Babadook. The film never established the antagonist, The Babadook, or why the movie goer should be afraid of him. The film simply goes, "Hi everyone, this woman who can't get over her past doesn't know how to discipline her son. Now here is a moving suit that talks and creates wall shadows!"

I kept watching the film waiting for it to give me something but before i knew it, the end of the movie was there. I WONT but i almost want to spoil the ending so viewers wont have to sit through what I sat through. Lets just say the ending leaves a lot to be desired.

For the first half of the film, I thought the boy had autism but it just turns out, he's just a really awful person because his mother is a really awful mother. A lot of people will say the kid was just a great actor to make the viewers hate him so much but I'll counter that by saying they went overboard and focused waaayyyy too much of the film on how much of an awful kid and mother the pair were.
Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
5
SmileATTJan 27, 2015
The Bababdook movie wasn't bad movie but wasn't good too the director Jennifer Kent did a great job horror movie directed by a woman and she had a really small budget to do that i mean really small but she get it .It's kind of horror filmThe Bababdook movie wasn't bad movie but wasn't good too the director Jennifer Kent did a great job horror movie directed by a woman and she had a really small budget to do that i mean really small but she get it .It's kind of horror film that's not scary because of the kills or monster or scary sound it's kind of a psychological horror that get under your skin.The movie drawn you in some kind of psycho atmosphere wich is very good for a horror movies.Maybe in few moments of the movie i get bored and uninterested
and the name "Babadook" that make laugh i mean seriously is that the most scary name that they come but what ever i have a great time with that movie im still not sure why is ti because it's good movie or it's because i was high as f*ck but thats my opinion.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
Ben_WolfDec 20, 2014
Jennifer Kent directs "The Babadook" the knew Australian Horror film, starring Essie Davis. This movie does not rely on pointless jump-scares or loud noises to be unsettling. This movie disturbed me more then any other thriller or horror filmJennifer Kent directs "The Babadook" the knew Australian Horror film, starring Essie Davis. This movie does not rely on pointless jump-scares or loud noises to be unsettling. This movie disturbed me more then any other thriller or horror film has since Johnathan Demme's "The Silence of the Lambs". And it even could be the best thriller since "The Silence of the Lambs".
This film has been compared to Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining". I can see why. The film-making strategy and over all story are very similar, but the use of electrify imagery, and implications outmatches "The Shining", by a huge margin.
Jennifer Kent's debut is exciting. If any of her upcoming projects are half as good as this one is, we may have the next Spielberg.
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeJan 4, 2015
The Babadook will haunt you long after the film concludes its brief 90 minutes. What's even more incredible: the level of skill in filmmaking that will resonate with you. There are hints of We Need to Talk About Kevin - although, that onlyThe Babadook will haunt you long after the film concludes its brief 90 minutes. What's even more incredible: the level of skill in filmmaking that will resonate with you. There are hints of We Need to Talk About Kevin - although, that only makes the film stronger, deeper. Essie Davis is a triumph! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
mbeckfordDec 30, 2014
"I've never seen a more terrifying film than THE BABADOOK."

So says William Friedkin, director of The Exorcist, a movie that itself is often considered the scariest movie ever made. The Babadook was the best reviewed movie of the holiday
"I've never seen a more terrifying film than THE BABADOOK."

So says William Friedkin, director of The Exorcist, a movie that itself is often considered the scariest movie ever made. The Babadook was the best reviewed movie of the holiday season per RottenTomatoes (98%), beating out all Oscar contenders except Boyhood.

It features the best children's pop-up book ... EVER! And it was probably released in less theaters than The Interview.

It's a story of grief, depression, and the tension/bond between a mother and child, all seamlessly weaved into an original and captivating supernatural horror flick. The performances of the mother and son are outstanding, although you'll want to strangle at least one of them initially for obnoxious behavior.

It is currently topping many of 2014's "Here Are the 10 Best Movies You Didn't See This Year."

That will change by next year as one of "The Best Horror Movies of All-Time."
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
manofthemoonJan 11, 2015
First rate performances lift what could have been an average spook story into levels of strong drama. Not the scariest film ever made, but uncomfortable and rewarding. Well worth a view.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoFeb 14, 2015
I believe that this is possibly one of the best horrors to be made in recent years. However, i believe the user score is not as high as people have become accustomed to and expectant of a overused horror trope nowadays: the jump scare. ThisI believe that this is possibly one of the best horrors to be made in recent years. However, i believe the user score is not as high as people have become accustomed to and expectant of a overused horror trope nowadays: the jump scare. This film has no jumpscares what so ever and this is why some people may not like it as much as they expect to s**t themselves for a second and then be "all is okay now". The thing that makes the Babadook so scary is that it relies on psychological horror and it's engaging and complex storyline that can actually be dissected and analysed instead of most horror films typical "this person is possessed, save them" or "there is a monster coming to kill us, we must run" or "there's ghosts haunting us". This films psychological horror really is a breath of fresh air as it's eerie, dark and ambiguous tone and atmosphere really send shivers done your spine. This never makes you jump really, but more makes you feel uncomfortable and unsettled. The performances are spot on by Essie Davis and Noah Wiseman plays his role excellently: he seems annoying and ungrateful and then turns sympathetic and understandable. 10/10 for creating an original horror that good es back to it's roots; it wants to chill you for days instead of make you jump for a few seconds. One of the classics of horror now. 10/10. Bravo to Jennifer Kent for creating this masterpiece. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldDec 14, 2014
The Babadook es una película de terror dirigida por Jennifer Kent que manipula su terror psicológico de una forma eficaz e inteligente, obteniendo así una de las mejores películas de terror de estos tiempos.

Esta película contiene un
The Babadook es una película de terror dirigida por Jennifer Kent que manipula su terror psicológico de una forma eficaz e inteligente, obteniendo así una de las mejores películas de terror de estos tiempos.

Esta película contiene un excelente y admirable guión que le da a la historia un tono más fuerte psicológicamente, debido a que la historia nos entrega un terror psicológico, y que ese terror se manipula de una manera brillante, tanto que logra darnos escalofríos y miedo durante el avance de este largometraje. Además, este film cuenta con grandes actuaciones por parte de los protagonistas que le dan más realismo y sentimiento a esta historia en donde se puede ver como ellos (me refiero a los protagonistas) se van derrumbando y quebrando lentamente psicológicamente., obteniendo, en general, una película de terror que se puede considerar como una de las mejores en los últimos años.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ThemfgamerDec 5, 2014
I watched this movie with surround sound system on, and hollllyyy molllyy. It creates a freaky lonely environment from the start and finishes with the same type of environment. It was based around the wife really missing her partner, and sheI watched this movie with surround sound system on, and hollllyyy molllyy. It creates a freaky lonely environment from the start and finishes with the same type of environment. It was based around the wife really missing her partner, and she is introduced with this new guy who later on in the film isn't seen at all. I feel like that is personally a waist of a great end line or character. They introduced this character as a possible husband or major character but end up chucking him away as nothing. Other than that personal major problem, i really enjoyed this movie and it was really scary especially the sounds. I will keep this at a 10 even though the possible husband character wasn't used well because it was a horror movie and stayed a horror movie. But the ending make's no sense to me haha. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
TrevorDevendorfDec 17, 2014
Not even that scary to me, not many good jump scares... although i'll give it praise for being very creepy and chilling, and plus hearing the noises of the Babadook creature was enough to send chills up my spine. crazy creepy atmosphere,Not even that scary to me, not many good jump scares... although i'll give it praise for being very creepy and chilling, and plus hearing the noises of the Babadook creature was enough to send chills up my spine. crazy creepy atmosphere, loved the cinematography/director of photography by Radek Ladczuk. The kid actor, Noah Wiseman, is very believable and amazing for a kid in a horror flick. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Dec 4, 2014
"The Babadook" is a crazy, scary, metaphor-rich, and beautifully creepy psychological horror-drama. The ambiguities, amazing cinematography, and subtle imagery make the movie so terrifying, rather than the jump-scare fest it could have been."The Babadook" is a crazy, scary, metaphor-rich, and beautifully creepy psychological horror-drama. The ambiguities, amazing cinematography, and subtle imagery make the movie so terrifying, rather than the jump-scare fest it could have been. The house itself is so dark and morbid, which perfectly reflects the somber tone of the film. The acting from both Essie Davis and Noah Wiseman (a very talented young actor) was outstanding and made the tension between mother and son so realistic. This movie will mostly appeal to the horror buff due to its slow pace, but I give it my highest recommendation. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
ApolscJan 6, 2015
It combines stuff from the exorcist, the shinning and other great from the genre. Great perfomances by the two leading, specially the boy. Besides from that it is still a regular horror film.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
heloheDec 6, 2014
It is a good movie. The kid is a good actor. I liked the idea of the movie and that babadook book they find. That was kind of a cool idea, and I was hoping it will get more interesting. Unfortunately it did not get much better after the firstIt is a good movie. The kid is a good actor. I liked the idea of the movie and that babadook book they find. That was kind of a cool idea, and I was hoping it will get more interesting. Unfortunately it did not get much better after the first half of the film. It is like they just lost interest in the movie, or run out of ideas half way through. Just exorcist-like or shining-like ideas copied into this movie. It could have been so much better. I was much looking forward to seeing something scary, especially after reading many reviews that said it is a very scary and terrifying movie. Unfortunately I was disappointed. There was not a single scary thing in the movie. To the contrary, that babadook thing is kind of charming. They should have considered making a childrens movie with mr. babadook instead. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
6
DedBraneMikeDec 16, 2014
A certianly above average horror film, The Babadook is somewhat familiar but, (for the most part) well done. The big crippilng flaw I found with this film is the main child actor who was pretty crap to be honest. Also, the movie isn't reallyA certianly above average horror film, The Babadook is somewhat familiar but, (for the most part) well done. The big crippilng flaw I found with this film is the main child actor who was pretty crap to be honest. Also, the movie isn't really scary. Even so, I was moderately entertained by the story and great performance from the lead actress, that I can say The Babadook is at least worth look. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
ladypewSep 10, 2015
Most overrated piece of horror. ever. can't even............................................................................................................
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroMay 10, 2015
There really is nothing scary about this movie. The one thing that scares the living hell out of you is the kid. You must feel sorry for the mother, and during the entire movie, you hope that this annoying brat gets eaten alive by a terrible monster.
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
6
hotfromcauldronNov 28, 2014
The bad seed meets mommie dearest with glimpses of Polanski's Repulsion in this horror from down under. In the end , our inner demons are far more frightening then the fairy tale book pop-up - Babadook. Minimal special effects and maximumThe bad seed meets mommie dearest with glimpses of Polanski's Repulsion in this horror from down under. In the end , our inner demons are far more frightening then the fairy tale book pop-up - Babadook. Minimal special effects and maximum performances deliver enough scares to drop in on this haunted family. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
6
BaelishDec 29, 2014
Highly praised, but I don't get it. Starts building tension but somehow fails to hit the mark. The kid is just annoying. Decent work but nothing special.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
8
ChaeoteJun 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ONLY MINOR SPOILERS!

A great psychological thriller, definitely one of the better ones (if not the best) since the Mothman Prophecies.

As far as I can discern, there's one of 3 possibilities presented:

1. The monster is real.
2. She's insane.
3. She's in Hell and forced to relive it over and over, but at the end given what she wants, just to have it ripped away. (which isn't shown, but fits none the less, with the news reports and such.)

If you like creepy psychological horror movies that answer absolutely zero questions, this is the movie for you.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
darkbeast119Nov 28, 2014
The babadook is a psychological horror film meant only for big horror fans and for the vulgar ignorant masses known as the film critic. I will admit this film will give you a scare and I only watched a few scenes in the movie. But when aThe babadook is a psychological horror film meant only for big horror fans and for the vulgar ignorant masses known as the film critic. I will admit this film will give you a scare and I only watched a few scenes in the movie. But when a maniacal mother kills her pet dog and tries to murder her own son, this gives me enough reason to call the film a utter toilet bowl splash back. The corny plot, unneeded over the top acting, gimmick scare scenes makes this film perfect for non horror film fans and i am no horror fan. Ultimately It's not the movie for me and the reason why it is so bad in the first place is because of the foolish critics who call the film perfect and keeps getting overrated like all overrated crap. So that Is my review Expand
7 of 32 users found this helpful725
All this user's reviews
0
Drizz1114Nov 29, 2014
I just watched this movie. I was rooting for the babadook! one of the worst movies I have ever seen! I will give the lead actress kudos, but story line was awful. I will be calling directv to get my money back
10 of 54 users found this helpful1044
All this user's reviews
7
markymarkNov 30, 2014
The Babadook is a well-acted, entertaining and quite affecting film. But it is not scary at all. And the creature itself is ineffectual to the point of being funny - completely killing any sense of tension the movie builds. Worth seeing, butThe Babadook is a well-acted, entertaining and quite affecting film. But it is not scary at all. And the creature itself is ineffectual to the point of being funny - completely killing any sense of tension the movie builds. Worth seeing, but not if you're hoping to be terrified. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMay 6, 2015
It's certainly a creepy film. One that had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up. The atmosphere of the house is unnerving. It's aged to creepy perfection and is dark in all the right corners. The film does a remarkable job of buildingIt's certainly a creepy film. One that had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up. The atmosphere of the house is unnerving. It's aged to creepy perfection and is dark in all the right corners. The film does a remarkable job of building up tension. Although part of that is due to the praise the film has received.

Admittedly part of the reason I was so worked up during so many scenes in this film is because of all the good things I had heard about it in regards to how terrifying it was. The actual results were a tad underwhelming. I was on the edge of my seat for most of the film and I always ended up wondering why afterwards. "The Babadook" is a genuinely unnerving villain in how it messes with our characters in the form of children books, but it fails to deliver actual frights upon it's arrival. I felt so stupid about shivering in anticipation over expecting a big scare that didn't end up happening. Still, I have to give it credit for keeping me on the edge of my seat. The pop-up books are also actually genuinely frightening and it does some weird stuff along the way.

The strength of the film though isn't in the horror aspect, an area it ultimately ends up under-delivering in, but in it's drama. It's a tale of love and loss. It expresses the danger of how holding someone accountable for some horrible moment can lead to dark consequences. The mother and son dynamic is played to perfection and the symbolism in excellent. It's a horror movie that is genuinely saying something and that elevates it from the pack of horror flicks that are out there now and just want to provide cheap thrills.

While "The Babadook" isn't what the hype would have you believe in terms of being scary it makes up for it in other ways. It's a deep film with a mature message that may provide a few frights along the way. It truly is one of the best horror movies to come out in a long time. It's worth watching just for the pop up books alone. Those will seriously freak you out.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JoshFriesenJan 13, 2015
A deliciously strange combination of the Exorcist, Repulsion, and Dr.Seuss, Jenifer Kent’s debut feature The Babadook is simultaneously true to the roots of horror and daringly original. Anchored by a brilliant performance by Essie Davis as aA deliciously strange combination of the Exorcist, Repulsion, and Dr.Seuss, Jenifer Kent’s debut feature The Babadook is simultaneously true to the roots of horror and daringly original. Anchored by a brilliant performance by Essie Davis as a single mother attempting to raise a problem child without becoming a monster herself, The Babadook is possibly the best horror film to come out since Guillermo Del Toro’s Pans Labyrinth. And yet, to say this is the best modern horror film in years feels odd, primarily because The Babadook has very little in common with the recent trends of jump scare found footage films (Paranormal Activity) or torture porn films (Saw). No doubt, fans of these more recent horror movements will be disappointed. Jenifer Kent’s film is a better fit in the cannon of 70’s classics that capitalize on the primal fears of parenthood (Rosemary’s Baby, Don’t Look Now, The Brood). Much like these masterpieces of horror, The Babadook is a film with depth, atmosphere, and ambiguity but most importantly it’s terrifying. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
j1trainFeb 1, 2015
A masterful metaphor for depression and loss, this is more than a horror movie. It's one many won't find "scary" in the conventional sense, though the horror conventions are all there and so well executed. There are few jumps. The Babadook isA masterful metaphor for depression and loss, this is more than a horror movie. It's one many won't find "scary" in the conventional sense, though the horror conventions are all there and so well executed. There are few jumps. The Babadook is more about what's underneath it all. Essentially a two-person cast, both Essie Davis and little Noah Wiseman are perfect. How is this a debut film? Kudos to Jennifer Kent. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithJan 5, 2016
This is a good horror movie, one of the few, but it still only shows a small glimpse of the greatness it could have achieved. The performances, sure handed direction, character development, and sense of tension are all well above the averageThis is a good horror movie, one of the few, but it still only shows a small glimpse of the greatness it could have achieved. The performances, sure handed direction, character development, and sense of tension are all well above the average scarefest. It actually has an idea of what is truly frightening, slowly building menace with very few jump scares, strange noises, and unusual things seen out of the corner of our eye. But the last act is fatally flawed, giving in to clichés such as people being flung around a house by an invisible monster and loud screechy music slathered on top of annoying yelling. This greatly diminishes what was for most of its running time a surprisingly creepy movie. The ending also makes very little sense no matter how you look at it. Still, it's definitely worth a look if you're searching for a few chills. "ba ba dook dook dook!" Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
BogKidDec 11, 2014
First, this is an excellent film. BUT, possibly it was over-hyped. Maybe I expected something different. But, I found some boredom creeping in around the half-way point. I had decided what my opinion of the plot happenings was. NotFirst, this is an excellent film. BUT, possibly it was over-hyped. Maybe I expected something different. But, I found some boredom creeping in around the half-way point. I had decided what my opinion of the plot happenings was. Not entirely original, but extremely well done nevertheless.

Not enough praise can be given to the acting talents of the two leads. The young boy, especially, turned in the best child performance I have ever seen in a horror movie. He was actually frightening himself, even in his quiet moments. Most impressive. It will be interesting to see if he moves forward to a full acting career.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticDec 23, 2014
Definitely the best horror film of 2014. The best part comes not from The Babadook himself, but from the haunting this family has from a death in their past. Not saying The Babadook isn't terrifying though. A-
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
SquezeJul 19, 2015
The entire movie is pretty much like this:
"MOM!, MOM!, MOM!, MOM! BABADOOK-DOOK-DOOK!...MOM WTF?..SCREAMS..MOM I WILL SAVE YOU!... ENDING."
Not scary, ears breaking, poor acting, waste of time. I dont really understand this big fan base
The entire movie is pretty much like this:
"MOM!, MOM!, MOM!, MOM! BABADOOK-DOOK-DOOK!...MOM WTF?..SCREAMS..MOM I WILL SAVE YOU!... ENDING."

Not scary, ears breaking, poor acting, waste of time. I dont really understand this big fan base about it.
Report for abuse of the word MOM.
5/10.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
nima1990Feb 16, 2015
The Babadook is definitely one of the best horror movies in the past 10 years. It is leagues above all the horror movies released in the past 5 years. The script is genius and casting is top notch. Both main actors do a great job. Instead ofThe Babadook is definitely one of the best horror movies in the past 10 years. It is leagues above all the horror movies released in the past 5 years. The script is genius and casting is top notch. Both main actors do a great job. Instead of relying on cheap gore and jump scares, The Babadook builds tension and scares you by the atmosphere. The symbolism is great and stop motion monster makes it very realistic and scary. The plot is also really beautiful in a creepy way. The only shortcoming is the dragon sound effect at the end. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ItsMuchMoreFeb 8, 2015
Ba Ba-Ba Dook! Dook! Dook! That sound will stay with your far after the movie has finished. If you are a horror fan looking for something new, look no further than The Babadook. Just be prepared to have

t’s received very good reviews
Ba Ba-Ba Dook! Dook! Dook! That sound will stay with your far after the movie has finished. If you are a horror fan looking for something new, look no further than The Babadook. Just be prepared to have

t’s received very good reviews critically, if you enjoyed movies like The Conjuring/ Nightmare on Elm Street or Rosemary’s Baby then you will most definitely like this. It’s a Australian movie and to be honest with you I’ve not watched many Australian movies in the past but the ones I have watched have always been very good. It’s not your typical horror movie in the sense that it draws upon more the psychological element of horror then your typical ghost scenes, it’s a very creepy movie lol.

It plays on your imagination and honestly there are some truly frightening and disturbing scenes in this movie, at times it can be uncomfortable. The atmosphere is very dark and there’s always an uneasy feeling throughout the movie. The performances are memorable, the plot and pacing are finely-tuned, and the eerie sound effects do justice to this marvelously shot, high-quality movie. A rare and fine experience.

“A single mother, plagued by the violent death of her husband, battles with her son’s fear of a monster lurking in the house, but soon discovers a sinister presence all around her.”
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
himynameisartDec 7, 2014
I can bet GOOD MONEY! that the negative reviews come from people who just don't understand Horror films. They're the same people who like movies like Ouija and Annabelle. They Believe that JUMP SCARES make a film scary. That being said TheI can bet GOOD MONEY! that the negative reviews come from people who just don't understand Horror films. They're the same people who like movies like Ouija and Annabelle. They Believe that JUMP SCARES make a film scary. That being said The Babadook was a great film! Is it the scariest movie i have ever seen? No, not exactly. But it is scary psychologically, it's a film that gives you a very eerie feeling after you're done watching. I have to give them tons of credit for not having even ONE jump scare! Not one! The film builds up and get scarier and scarier, so the first act or so might feel a bit underwhelming. The acting is fantastic! The little boy was so good as well as the actress playing the mom. Hollywood take Note, that is how you make a proper horror movie!!!! I will say that i am sick! of Horror movies being about Possessions, the whole (my son/daughter is possessed or the my dad/mom is possessed! I am honestly tired of it! COME UP WITH SOMETHING BETTER! The Babadook isn't a possession film per se, but it's more of Monster movie, that leans towards possessions. The end of the movie was ODD, that's all I'll say. Not a perfect movie but compared to the Hoards of Horror movies America releases yearly THIS IS ABOVE all of that crap. Expect Hollywood to do a "Remake" LOL. I'm giving the Babadook a 9/10. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
stakoDec 16, 2014
The truth is that the tab on this movie's page on Metacritic has been opened ever since I saw this movie, just because I knew I had to write something on it.
I managed to get a promo on this movie and I saw it as a late night personal
The truth is that the tab on this movie's page on Metacritic has been opened ever since I saw this movie, just because I knew I had to write something on it.
I managed to get a promo on this movie and I saw it as a late night personal special on Halloween. All day long I had watched my favorite horror flicks, but I longed to watch something new and good. I tried a few titles, but they all fell way too short. I had begun to think that Hallowen of 2014 would forever be scared by the lack of a quality horror movie! Enter "The Babadook"!
Right off the bat - this movie is very, very good. I hadn't heard of the director, nor any of the actors, in fact I still don't know their names and I won't go to IMBD to check and to sound professional about this review, because it doesn't matter - the movie is that solid.
It tells a tale that at first sounds as one we've heard a thousand times, but as the plot gets more entwined a very subtle, yet strong sense of symbolism is introduced, that relies on the viewer's judgement to assess what is actually going on in the movie.
All the actors do a great job, the supernatural challenge presented in the film is indeed creepy and frightening, and the overall plot is very strong.
I am taking away one point because I feel the ending makes a statement that almost becomes a inner conflict. But it's not at all a big deal.
This is the strongest horror movie I've seen in a long time - not just in 2014. It's a movie I recommend to all horror fans and movie fanatics - you are sure to enjoy this movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ahnehnoisDec 25, 2014
There are certainly elements of the film that have been seen before, but the test of a horror film is whether it can violate your expectations enough to create some legitimate uncertainty and get under your skin. On that level, The BabadookThere are certainly elements of the film that have been seen before, but the test of a horror film is whether it can violate your expectations enough to create some legitimate uncertainty and get under your skin. On that level, The Babadook feels like a success to me. It'll creep you out all right.

It's also a fine piece of craft; low budget to be sure but it looked slick and stylish and I didn't question the effects.

Hard to say too much about the plot of course without giving things away, but what makes this movie interesting is it really focuses on a mother-child relationship, and the social dynamics surrounding them. On that level it feels grounded, and that makes the film compelling.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
MarickJun 30, 2015
I expected to be more horror. He had some scary moments but not quite succeeded .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MassanderFeb 20, 2015
The Babadook is a great movie to watch all alone in the dark, it's very interesting, scary at some points and very Tense. The acting of the Woman and the kid are great, and it's not a movie that tries to scare you with jump scares. But someThe Babadook is a great movie to watch all alone in the dark, it's very interesting, scary at some points and very Tense. The acting of the Woman and the kid are great, and it's not a movie that tries to scare you with jump scares. But some people may find it very boring, at first it looks like a movie about familiar problems of a single wife who lost her husband and a problematic kid, it can be tyring, but in the end it leaves you with a good impression. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
isundukovaDec 4, 2014
I think, Babadok is a new wave of New Brave World philosophical cinema where characters materialize their fears, hate, and inner evils into popular folk villains. Bottom line, woman who is so fed up with her autistic child’s behavior,I think, Babadok is a new wave of New Brave World philosophical cinema where characters materialize their fears, hate, and inner evils into popular folk villains. Bottom line, woman who is so fed up with her autistic child’s behavior, diverges her hatred toward him (her child) and ex-husband (also genetically accountable for a child being physically unbearable). She expressing her contradictory feelings toward boy who drives her crazy in form of folkloric hallucinations which are at the same time support her madness, propelling the plot forward. In reality, Babadook is an identity of her madness which many mothers with many autistic children would go through. The director’s vision defined this feeling and mapped it with strong intense diabolic association. The importance of this movie is conserved between lines of its symbolism, showing a real feelings of rage that overpowers autistic mother in distress and agony. At the end, she comes in terms with her hate which is real and it is normal. Sometimes, we have to come in terms with ugly side of our psychos. Remarkable that movie will have hard time among all that sugar-coated political correctness where mothers are supposed to be religiously programmed for good only zombies who never feel anything diabolic at all. So, the symbolism might skip many closed minds and remain in the pool of B- horror flicks from Aussie weird artsy mind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
vaughtexJan 1, 2015
Sublime. I can't believe this was made on just $30k. Sure, it looks gritty and less polished than the major hollywood fare, but it is genuinely chilling at times and is a pure psychological experience. People who hate this probably don't "getSublime. I can't believe this was made on just $30k. Sure, it looks gritty and less polished than the major hollywood fare, but it is genuinely chilling at times and is a pure psychological experience. People who hate this probably don't "get it". The actors are top notch, at first the kid annoyed me a lot - but he was brilliant for a child actor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ajarias96Jan 8, 2015
The Babadook is simply scary and disturbing and keeps you on the edge of your seat till the very end like any great horror movie should. Essie Davis is truly brilliant as the scream queen in this instant horror classic. The Babadook is justThe Babadook is simply scary and disturbing and keeps you on the edge of your seat till the very end like any great horror movie should. Essie Davis is truly brilliant as the scream queen in this instant horror classic. The Babadook is just disturbing and is filled with twists and turns that will make any horror fan fall in love. I will definitely not be surprised if come decades end the Babadook is given the crown of best horror film of the 2010s. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
boubadiopFeb 19, 2015
This film gets really quite scary the whole book monster coming to life and the fact the monster looks like a load of jackets hung up sort of makes it quite hard to sleep at night because the film makes it feel so real and gets into yourThis film gets really quite scary the whole book monster coming to life and the fact the monster looks like a load of jackets hung up sort of makes it quite hard to sleep at night because the film makes it feel so real and gets into your head.

But after a while the film just goes west and loses it a bit, all of sudden the fear sort of goes and you just sat there utterly confused by what's going on and the ending isn't really what I wanted to happen.

Some people say that the child in the film is really annoying and a reason to not like the film but he's obviously meant to be annoying and weird, he's annoying everyone around him so the director wants the audience to get wound up also by the kid.

Well worth a watch for the first 3/4 of the film even if the ending does lose its way a bit.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
CameraBounceGodFeb 21, 2015
itd be nice if the movie didn't have a masturbation scene...but the little boy was a great little actor and great mother casting job.....such a good push out of the treehouse....loved it...loved how it seemed like the mom wanted the sedativesitd be nice if the movie didn't have a masturbation scene...but the little boy was a great little actor and great mother casting job.....such a good push out of the treehouse....loved it...loved how it seemed like the mom wanted the sedatives for herself kinda...i love horror movies because it really is what its like to be ugly....also i found that it looked like a giant hat was on the kids bed after the floating mom scene and she walks in his room to check on him...it was clearly designed that way...it seemed like the camera started to focus on her ass once it entered her.....coincidence...? No Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
havenbasketballJun 17, 2015
The Babadook has incredible acting and a creepy atmosphere, but it has a sad and depressed feeling to it and it makes moviegoers feel more the characters, but ultimately fails at it's main job...TO SCARE!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GentM2015Oct 26, 2015
As terrifying as an horror movie can be.The Babadook is interesting,has amazing acting with a very well made/handled monster that frightens the heck out of you,the direction is very good that makes this movie one of the best horror movies inAs terrifying as an horror movie can be.The Babadook is interesting,has amazing acting with a very well made/handled monster that frightens the heck out of you,the direction is very good that makes this movie one of the best horror movies in a couple of years. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerNov 22, 2015
For me, this is the best horror film of all time. This horror movie is juste perfect in every way. When you first look at it, it is really frightening, creepy and unsettling. This movie will give you some serious goosebumps and make yourFor me, this is the best horror film of all time. This horror movie is juste perfect in every way. When you first look at it, it is really frightening, creepy and unsettling. This movie will give you some serious goosebumps and make your hands sweaty. From start to finish, there is tension, suspense and an eerie sensation. But when you dig deeper, this movie is not only about being scared the hell out, it is also a movie about grief, about the emotions you feel when you loose someone you love and how it affects your life. Some people may not understand the ending, but that's because they only see the movie as an horror film, if you look at the ending in the second optic I just described, it's brilliant and perfect. Now to insist on how good it is, there is some other good points about the movie; it incredibly well acted, the use of CGI is extremely limited and there is not a single jumpscare, no cheap loud sounds like in terrible films like Ouija or The gallows. If you are a fan of horror films or just good movies in general, this is a must-see and must-own. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
Dallas25May 24, 2015
What movie did everyone watch who gave this great ratings? This movie was horrible and was more cheesy than Sharknado. The ending is absolutely ridiculous. The scariest part of this movie is when the credits start rolling and you realize youWhat movie did everyone watch who gave this great ratings? This movie was horrible and was more cheesy than Sharknado. The ending is absolutely ridiculous. The scariest part of this movie is when the credits start rolling and you realize you will never get that hour and a half of your life back. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
RobertOBrienOct 10, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film encounters problems that many low-budget films do, so some of that is excusable. The only two things that bothered me was the reveal of the father's death. Revealing it so early made the tension between the mother and son feel repetitive, had they saved the reveal for maybe 50 minutes in, it would've given everything that was happening between mother and son new context and made the film more interesting.

My only other issue is the child acting, sure Noah Wiseman is better than most child actors, but that does not mean his performance didn't suck me out of the movie every now and then.

But I have no other complaints. Essie Davis is amazing, it has great photography and the atmosphere is thick. Despite it's problems, Jennifer Kent's directorial debut is quite impressive and I hope she is able to work on more projects soon.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
AaronWasserman1Mar 26, 2016
The first half of this movie was intriguing. The ending and the second half, was horrible, making the whole experience not worth while. Decent performances with a total misfire
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
kerrflannAug 3, 2016
absolute garbage wouldn't recommend to anyone the start made it seem ok then it got progressively boring.
the 'monster' was so boring too. i literally just finished watching and i think i need a nap so bad. only watch if you're bored. oh
absolute garbage wouldn't recommend to anyone the start made it seem ok then it got progressively boring.
the 'monster' was so boring too. i literally just finished watching and i think i need a nap so bad. only watch if you're bored. oh yeah and hows this got 98% on rotten tomatoes.. bruhhh
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
4
danielb1982Nov 14, 2016
I have to admit I was expecting it to be A LOT more scary than it actually was. It didn't scare me at any point. I kept expecting it to make me jump at certain points, but it didn't
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleApr 27, 2015
Those calling this one overrated didn't understand the sheer brilliance of this film. This one has some killer direction, acting, sound effects, cinematography, and writing. The director, Jennifer Kent, did a fantastic job setting the mood ofThose calling this one overrated didn't understand the sheer brilliance of this film. This one has some killer direction, acting, sound effects, cinematography, and writing. The director, Jennifer Kent, did a fantastic job setting the mood of this one and knocked it out of the ballpark direction wise. For the aforementioned sound effects, they are truly what cause the scares. Much like in Alfred Hitchcock's classic film Psycho, the sound elicits a major reaction out of the viewer and really sets the tone for the scenes in which that sound is used. Brilliant. Honestly, this one of the most well-executed uses of metaphor of symbolism I have seen in a while, The Babadook is a brilliant film wrongly placed in the "horror" genre. Truly terrifying, The Babadook is more than just a horror film. It is a meditation on life and dealing with loss. It also made me screech like a high school girl being asked to prom by her crush in the way it used that symbolism and hit a home run with it (ahhhh flower symbolism ahhhh). While some scenes are classic horror in the way they elicit a response, the true terror is to be found underneath the skin and the way in which it hits home and brings a feeling to true terrifying life. Ultimately, I recognize this type of film is not for everyone, but The Babadook is a film that let's everyone know how grief feels and brings that feeling to life because ultimately, "If it's a word or it's a look, you can't get rid of The Babadook". Possibly the best film of 2014, this one is not a film you easily get over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DanilJan 4, 2016
From all the rave reviews you might think this is some sort of smart thriller where a child's fantasy collides with his mother's schizophrenia aggravated by the loss of her husband... But it is not. It is just a mediocre low-budget horrorFrom all the rave reviews you might think this is some sort of smart thriller where a child's fantasy collides with his mother's schizophrenia aggravated by the loss of her husband... But it is not. It is just a mediocre low-budget horror flick. There are literally hundreds of horror movies that are leaps and bounds better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksOct 12, 2016
I did enjoy The Babadook, however because so many people told me how good it was my expectations were quite high. The film seemed more of a metaphor for loss and depression than a true horror film. As a child of a one parent home some thingsI did enjoy The Babadook, however because so many people told me how good it was my expectations were quite high. The film seemed more of a metaphor for loss and depression than a true horror film. As a child of a one parent home some things were uncomfortably familiar and the resolution seemed on par with reality. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jppl1999Jul 28, 2015
It innovates what public understands as horror movies. It encourages a new kind of cinema that lies its roots in horror aspects. Here, Kent provides a film that, as I understood it, gives a significance to the pain and difficulties that existIt innovates what public understands as horror movies. It encourages a new kind of cinema that lies its roots in horror aspects. Here, Kent provides a film that, as I understood it, gives a significance to the pain and difficulties that exist across human life; but, in this case, with a major focus and impact over the life of a single mother who already fought enough for the well-being of her son. "The Babadook" becomes the representation of that pain and struggle that she has to face in order to protect her son (but not the dog), who was raised up without a father. What makes the film unique is not related to the horror part, but that through suspense it creates a message that gives significance to one of the many aspects of life (in this case for women): motherhood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews