Fox Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: May 4, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 113 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
28
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SnadyMay 10, 2012
An absolutely delightful and pleasurable movie to watch. Let it make your day. Superlative cast of characters taking you to an exotic location. The cream of the British acting aristocracy. Music byThomas Newman directed by Madden. No computerAn absolutely delightful and pleasurable movie to watch. Let it make your day. Superlative cast of characters taking you to an exotic location. The cream of the British acting aristocracy. Music byThomas Newman directed by Madden. No computer effects, no botox. Just a pleasure to watch and enjoy!

The audience actually applauded for the joy they had been given,
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MegWhiteleyMay 4, 2012
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, is an interesting movie, that have an interesting and great plot, the development is really fantastic, and the characters are incredible. This movie is really interesting.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryMay 21, 2012
Seven retirees travel to a lush resort in India, but discover a rather rundown result. Of course, the charms of the city work their magic and change their lives forever. The cast, including some of England's finest (Maggie Smith, Judi Dench,Seven retirees travel to a lush resort in India, but discover a rather rundown result. Of course, the charms of the city work their magic and change their lives forever. The cast, including some of England's finest (Maggie Smith, Judi Dench, Billy Nighy and Tom Wilkinson), is uniformly winning and the stories are sweet, if not predictable. Younger viewers may not appreciate its mature values, but the target audience is sure to find it charming, amusing and ultimately uplifting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GardinerMay 12, 2012
This novelistic tour-de-force takes us to the Anglo-Indian genre of E.M. Foster's "Passage to India," but in modern, post colonial dress. It is literate, funny, and a reminder of what great acting and warm humanity can mean in a film - asThis novelistic tour-de-force takes us to the Anglo-Indian genre of E.M. Foster's "Passage to India," but in modern, post colonial dress. It is literate, funny, and a reminder of what great acting and warm humanity can mean in a film - as opposed to robots and aliens romping in 3-D. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
uclatlMay 5, 2012
Great cast playing off one another effortlessly and a nice story. The audience applauded at the end, people genuinely happy that they had gone to see the movie on it's first day out.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
GreatMartinMay 11, 2012
Open your bag of popcorn, take a sip of your soda and get ready to spend enjoyable time
some of the cream of the crop British actors in â
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Eon2323Jul 1, 2013
The film's only flaw of predictability is heavily outweighed by the wondrous performances of the film's superb cast and beautiful setting. It's genuine, sweet, and even has a bit of humor!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarcDoyleMay 9, 2012
It's a feel-good movie that works. Carpe-diem city. It encourages you to make more of your life and to live more grandly. The cast is superb. I especially enjoy the storyline surrounding the Indian family which owns the hotel. But MaggieIt's a feel-good movie that works. Carpe-diem city. It encourages you to make more of your life and to live more grandly. The cast is superb. I especially enjoy the storyline surrounding the Indian family which owns the hotel. But Maggie Smith, Dame Judy, and Bill Nighy, and Tom Wilkinson are truly outstanding. Wilkinson's journey to find his lost love was a surprising but great addition to the story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BHBarryMay 9, 2012
â
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypMay 27, 2012
This is a coming of age movie for old people. Our geriatric crowd loved it, and for once the Brits avoided the sap, mostly. The locale alone makes it worthwhile, although somewhat cleansed of it's abject poverty India shines through as aThis is a coming of age movie for old people. Our geriatric crowd loved it, and for once the Brits avoided the sap, mostly. The locale alone makes it worthwhile, although somewhat cleansed of it's abject poverty India shines through as a colorful, noisy, energetic place for old tattered folk to find some renewal. Dench is great, and all the great actors in the cast are unsurprising, hewing to a script without too much risk that tries to mix in pathos with the humor. Now if only the Brits would make a great movie that did not fit into Masterpiece Theater! Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Andys_ReviewsJan 8, 2013
Beautifully shot showcasing all the vibrancy of life in an Indian city; I was impressed with the look of the film. All the performances were excellent, with Judi Dench and Tom Wilkinson standing out; I thought Dev Patel was a tad underusedBeautifully shot showcasing all the vibrancy of life in an Indian city; I was impressed with the look of the film. All the performances were excellent, with Judi Dench and Tom Wilkinson standing out; I thought Dev Patel was a tad underused though. I liked the fact that the writers didn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
emkadvMay 26, 2012
The film tells the story of a group of British retirees who are finding it hard to make ends meet in England and decide that they can do better in India. The get the brochure from the aforenamed hotel in Jaipur, which advertises that it isThe film tells the story of a group of British retirees who are finding it hard to make ends meet in England and decide that they can do better in India. The get the brochure from the aforenamed hotel in Jaipur, which advertises that it is "for elderly and beautiful people." When the guests arrive, they discover that they are the hotel's first guests and they go through all the hassles of dealing with any new business. Their story is a bit of a "fish out of water" story as they adjust to their environment, but it also depicts the character growth of not only the Brits but also of the hotel owner/manager and his family and friends. It finds both characteristics to celebrate and characteristics to make fun of in both cultures. And it has the requisite happy ending for most members of both groups, because "everything will come out all right in the end. If it is not all right, then this must not be the end." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesMay 29, 2012
Parts of the story you've seen many times before and are predictable (the romance between the hotel's owner and his girlfriend comes to mind) but most of the movie is fresh and eminently watchable. The acting is superb across the board asParts of the story you've seen many times before and are predictable (the romance between the hotel's owner and his girlfriend comes to mind) but most of the movie is fresh and eminently watchable. The acting is superb across the board as you would expect with a cast of this magnitude. The storyline of Tom Wilkinson's character is especially moving. The exotic location of India and it's wonderful people make you want to visit the country. Overall a nice movie-going experience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hollyvMay 28, 2012
This movie is like a really well made martini - certainly predictable - but thoroughly enjoyable. Delightful ensemble of seasoned professional actors who could make reading an Ikea assembly manual compelling, beautiful location for filmingThis movie is like a really well made martini - certainly predictable - but thoroughly enjoyable. Delightful ensemble of seasoned professional actors who could make reading an Ikea assembly manual compelling, beautiful location for filming (only wish we saw more of it,) a nice dash of socially progressive. Uplifting and warm, it will inspire a variety of post-movie conversations about foreign retirement options for anyone over 40. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lancekozJun 7, 2012
I Have a decent tolerance for sweetness in a story, so I didn't squirm when it became obvious where this was headed, and you would have to be foolish to expect otherwise from such British standards. Aside from that, this was a joy to watch.I Have a decent tolerance for sweetness in a story, so I didn't squirm when it became obvious where this was headed, and you would have to be foolish to expect otherwise from such British standards. Aside from that, this was a joy to watch. Almost every shot was planned in a way that delivered extra beauty or emotional punch. There was no sense that India was used only for background, the location was in every shot with gorgeous light, grunge and authenticity. And I am glad to be alive in a time where such elderly talent can employed as the focus of the story rather than a comic or tragic sidetrip. Revelatory, really. Humorous, touching, and intimate. My only gripe is that there were too many storylines, and I could've easily done without the romance by the younger Indian couple (the fact that their dialog was delivered in English didn't help). But to carp about this misses the point, that this was made in an EPIC manner.... the art direction and photography were STUNNING and there is plenty to enjoy in the story and quality acting. Like many movies, I only think it would've been stronger if it was 15 minutes shorter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
nandopMay 11, 2012
Wonderful how they communicate what happens in India when westerns first land there, I've never seen a movie put it so well like this one. The images, the reactions, the needed adaptations - and the spirit of each one when facing it. I likedWonderful how they communicate what happens in India when westerns first land there, I've never seen a movie put it so well like this one. The images, the reactions, the needed adaptations - and the spirit of each one when facing it. I liked very much the insights that go inside the seven main characters and their relationships with themselves, with aging and with what's suddenly highlighted but the colors of India. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bosnianNov 12, 2012
Had no expectations and left very pleasantly surprised. Nothing exceptional, nothing overly dramatic, yet wonderful, emotional and interesting story that should not be missed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
It's reminiscent of other Indian extravaganzas--but somehow it shines through with its charming and memorable ensemble. The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel goes deep and hits hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 6, 2017
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is not exactly an artistic achievement, so it is tough to assess it as a piece of art. Instead, it is classic feel good cinema that is easy to digest and settles easily in the stomach, rather than making a bigThe Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is not exactly an artistic achievement, so it is tough to assess it as a piece of art. Instead, it is classic feel good cinema that is easy to digest and settles easily in the stomach, rather than making a big fuss about the whole thing. Unlike the Indian food on display in the film, this is not a film that will cause diarrhea, except for those who may struggle to digest sweets. A funny and deeply endearing flick about a bunch of British people coming to teach Indians how to live life the British way, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel may be a bit too much for some, but is largely pleasant cinema. It is funny with a great cast that hardly ever puts a foot wrong acting-wise. Though a bit quaint, the film's endearing charm is really hard to overcome.

The film, to some, could be described as racist. Yet, it often feels like a film that is conflicted in this arena. On one hand, you have Evelyn (Judi Dench) teach professional call center workers how to talk on the phone to British people, as if they have no idea. Evelyn has no experience calling, yet talks down to them as an authority. Sonny (Dev Patel) is a charming kid who is just a scattered foreigner who has no idea what to do with running a hotel because he is a dumb foreigner (right?). Toss in repeated jokes about how bad India smells (it probably does for those who are new though, not being racist, but Indian food is a rather strong smelling food so until you adjust to being in areas where the food may be, it definitely will hit your nose hard) and jokes about Indian marriage customs and it is not hard to see why some would take offense. It is rather low-brow with this humor and these depictions, even if Muriel (Maggie Smith) oddly changes all of this for the better to a degree. Initially quite racist with broad and sweeping stereotyping attacks against Indians, Muriel grows over the course of the film to respect Indians and other races for how they help her in spite of her rude behavior. Even then, she winds up being a white savior for poor Sonny and his crappy hotel. Thus, I would have to lean towards this one being quite a bit offensive and racist, even if it does not actively intend to be this way.

Fortunately, it is incredibly funny. Bill Nighy, Judi Dench, Maggie Smith, and Dev Patel, are all an absolute pleasure to watch. Nighy, obviously, steals the show as he always does, though Patel's frantic and nervous turn gives him a run for his money. As an entire cast, this charming collection of British screen actors and the one Indian actor that Hollywood will allow (quotas and all) really make this film zip by with light enjoyment. The smart comedic script plays perfectly into the wheelhouse of its actors, allowing them to all deliver their lines with zip and comedic timing to make the lines really pop. The film may be a bit too quaint and giddy in depicting old age, but it is hard to deny that the film is funny. The comedy does not always work, but it is a film that can keep you laughing throughout and that is rather hard to come by nowadays.

Set in gorgeously designed locales, one of the major appeals of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is certainly its visuals. Throughout much of the film, the film is shot rather plainly, hardly ever capturing the eye. However, whenever director John Madden's camera slips out of his firm grip and captures some terrain or India at sunset by the water, it is hard not be gripped by the beauty. While the film does not really explore the terrain too much, the pieces of the set it showcases - especially the hotel - are very nicely designed and fun places to explore. Toss in some nice depictions of the hustle and bustle of India, as well as the natural beauty of the country, and you have a film that is rather pleasant to look at, even if it is rather unadventurously shot.

Funny, engaging, and largely quite pleasant, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is simply easy breezy entertainment. It is easy to find fault in its picture perfect facade, but why nitpick a film that I found so pleasant and fun to watch? Honestly, however, watching Bill Nighy do anything in a film is going to garner at least a lukewarm positive response from me and this film is hardly an exception to that rule. Though not the most artistic film ever made, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is the type of cheesy and idealistic Hollywood film that just feels good to watch. It is like the ratty pair of sweatpants your mom begs you not to wear in public, but I want to wear them BECAUSE THEY ARE COMFORTABLE DAMMIT.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KayleighGJul 24, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After seeing this film advertised on TV I decided to see what the fuss was about. I began watching it although I thought there was a slow start to it I found it enjoyable to watch. However, around 65minutes into the film I had to turn the film off due to distractions (visitors) I then left it for a few days before finishing watching it. I wouldn't usually go back to a film after only half watching it but there was something different about this film that made me want to see how it finished. The film gave a insight into each characters life at the beginning which made you feel closer to the characters throughout. As I am British I found it great how I could recognise the actors/actresses. I believe Judi Dench really made this film what it is, great acting and she really shows good emotion in her speaking. Overall Wonderful film and certainly a must see film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Arun_NarayananSep 23, 2012
From the point of view of an Indian, Dev Patel's character - and indeed the roles played by all of the Indians - is poorly conceived and entirely unbelievable. From the point of view of a movie buff, one witnesses subtle and stunningFrom the point of view of an Indian, Dev Patel's character - and indeed the roles played by all of the Indians - is poorly conceived and entirely unbelievable. From the point of view of a movie buff, one witnesses subtle and stunning performances delivered by its lead actors (and thankfully, Dev Patel is not one of them) despite an oversimplified plot line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
knorbiNov 27, 2012
One is never too old to take a risk and experience something new. This movie is a real life story of people who dare to confront their destinies and tell it's not over. It is a story that changes lives and fulfills dreams. But more than justOne is never too old to take a risk and experience something new. This movie is a real life story of people who dare to confront their destinies and tell it's not over. It is a story that changes lives and fulfills dreams. But more than just a lesson, it is life itself with all the good and bad things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
oblique15Apr 20, 2013
I was surprised by this movie. I didn`t expect to like it at all, but it was a good story. I found something peaceful about this movie even though the location is terrible in reality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 2, 2013
Delightful in every respect, "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" is a brilliantly acted "going-of-age" tale that manages to pull off what a lot of its ensemble-movie predecessors have failed to do; it seamlessly places emphasis on andDelightful in every respect, "The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel" is a brilliantly acted "going-of-age" tale that manages to pull off what a lot of its ensemble-movie predecessors have failed to do; it seamlessly places emphasis on and individualizes every character in its stellar roster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ultralight47Dec 4, 2012
This is a sweet, poignant, warmly funny, character driven movie that I can recommend highly since it is not a quick action, car chase, explosive, fight filled, special effects film. You have to devote some easy time to become familiar withThis is a sweet, poignant, warmly funny, character driven movie that I can recommend highly since it is not a quick action, car chase, explosive, fight filled, special effects film. You have to devote some easy time to become familiar with these older people and yes, older people have problems of their own that are just as worthy and significant to them as ours are to us. When all too often movies are made to to provide some type of satisfaction quickly before we become bored, this film moves along slowly drawing you in to caring about these people. It takes more devoting of time by the viewer than the normal action movie but it's worth it. I wish they made more movies like this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
avr50Mar 20, 2017
With the most talented cast ever and the most warmest stories ever, this is one of the best touching movies that I´ve ever seen. This is a most see movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews