The Best of Youth Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Spanning four decades, from the chaotic 1960s to the present, this passionate epic follows two Italian brothers through some of the most tumultuous events of recent Italian history. (Miramax)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Giordana's redemptive vision provides a sense of discovery and a well of hope in the most devastating of troubles, and beautiful surprises in love, friendship and family.
  2. So in-depth, so appealing, so easy to sit through and so anomalously grand scale that few who see it will ever forget it.
  3. 100
    It is a luxury to be enveloped in a good film.
  4. 90
    The story unfolds at such length and over so many years that politics tend to fade into the wallpaper, leaving an exceptionally rich family story.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    88
    A slowly flowering miracle: an epic of normal life.
  6. 80
    A big, family-style Italian dinner, catered to the broadest tastes, yet satisfying all the same.
  7. If you've got six hours to invest watching superior television in a movie theatre, then spend the time wisely with The Best of Youth.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 77
  2. Negative: 3 out of 77
  1. PaulK.
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    Until I see Capote and the rest of the so-called "vaunted" films arriving between now and the end of the year, The Best of Youth is not only Until I see Capote and the rest of the so-called "vaunted" films arriving between now and the end of the year, The Best of Youth is not only my favorite film of 2005, it is for me one of the great film experiences of my life, a supremely involving masterpiece that pulls you in and holds you in its grip for all of its 6 hours. Expand
  2. AlanL
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    I saw this film when it was first released. it is now November 2009 and I just recommended it to a friend, deciding for the first time to I saw this film when it was first released. it is now November 2009 and I just recommended it to a friend, deciding for the first time to look at some of the film's reviews. Reading those reviews brought back so much of my pleasure in this film that I began to have tears in my eyes. The film is a great experience. Collapse
  3. ChrisP.
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    The only 6 hour movie that i wouldn't have minded being longer. Fantastic, emotional, engrossing... every minute is worth it.
  4. MelitaL.
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely wonderful movie! A masterpiece indeed. Like watching my whole life being played out in italian. Very true to the time period it Absolutely wonderful movie! A masterpiece indeed. Like watching my whole life being played out in italian. Very true to the time period it unfolds in, I remember every crease of those moments... Watch it and love it. -- More for euro-audience. Expand
  5. TodP.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    Like no other film. Overwhelming in the way that a great novel can be.
  6. TheresaL.
    Apr 1, 2006
    9
    When I heard it was six hours I hesitated. It was worth every minute ofthe six hours. It indeed was a beautiful story.
  7. MichaelV.
    Jun 21, 2005
    0
    OK maybe im too imature to apreciate something like this and vote on it without seeing it and if it were scaled down im sure like most scaledOK maybe im too imature to apreciate something like this and vote on it without seeing it and if it were scaled down im sure like most scaled down attempts it would suck but let me just put my point across "JESUS F#$%ING CHIRST THIS MOVIE IS 6 F#$%ING HOURS LONG!!!!!!!!!!!" Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.