Universal Pictures | Release Date: September 15, 2006
2.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 188 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
31
Mixed:
29
Negative:
128
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BillyS.Sep 15, 2006
One thing is certain from the very beginning of The Black Dahlia- you're watching a Brian DePalma film. It's all here, the long sweeping tracking shots, the artsy angles, the buiding cresendo of the score, and a very intriguing One thing is certain from the very beginning of The Black Dahlia- you're watching a Brian DePalma film. It's all here, the long sweeping tracking shots, the artsy angles, the buiding cresendo of the score, and a very intriguing story that slowly is revealed after about 25 unnessasary tangents and detours. The acting is pretty much standard considering everybody seems to have split personalities and who you see isn't really who you see. There is just to much to take in and the film goes all over the place getting there, but getting there with Vilmos Zsigmond's cinematography and Dante Ferretti's production design make all those little sidetracks all the more enjoyable and worth the price of a ticket. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeL.Feb 9, 2007
If you love 40's americana , you will love this movie. Not for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimR.Jul 7, 2007
I seemed to be the only person giving this a good review. I loved this film for the vintage noir feel it had to it and i thought it to be well acted and engaging. However i thought the ending left something to be desired and ultimately I seemed to be the only person giving this a good review. I loved this film for the vintage noir feel it had to it and i thought it to be well acted and engaging. However i thought the ending left something to be desired and ultimately lacked the strength the rest of the movie had. In any case i enjoyed it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ESOct 15, 2006
A brave bit of storytelling, brazenly un-PC, my favorite of the recent rash of pulp movies. Also lovely to see real cinematic ability on display here -- even Scorsese's latest movie is obviously a product of the MTV generation, while A brave bit of storytelling, brazenly un-PC, my favorite of the recent rash of pulp movies. Also lovely to see real cinematic ability on display here -- even Scorsese's latest movie is obviously a product of the MTV generation, while this movie could have been made during the Golden Age of cinema. Standouts are Aaron Eckhart, whose '40s throwback performance layered with '90s indie naturalism stole the show, and William Finley's small but very important role was a pleasant surprise. It was a real pleasure to see the Phantom of the Paradise himself onscreen again. I'll agree with most that Hartnett and Johansson very nearly ruined this film's chances, but the movie is too solid overall to be discounted. See it in a theater for the full effect! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaySep 16, 2006
Crude, hilarious and thrilling! Do not listen to the bad reviews. This is one of the loopiest movies I've seen in ages - and the ending will make your eyes pop out. Go!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TravisKSep 18, 2006
I don't understand how this film can inspire this much dislike. There are a lot of threads to keep track of, but is that such a bad thing? Is it so awful that a movie makes you think once and a while? I really enjoyed the movie - Josh I don't understand how this film can inspire this much dislike. There are a lot of threads to keep track of, but is that such a bad thing? Is it so awful that a movie makes you think once and a while? I really enjoyed the movie - Josh Hartnett proves he can act and Scarlett Johansson is great. The only bad performance is from Swank. If you don't want to think about a movie you won't like this one otherwise check it out and you may be surprised like I was. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeC.Sep 14, 2006
Not one of De Palma's best movies but still graphically entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CharlieN.Jan 24, 2007
Incredibly underrated. I loved so much about this movie, it's great to look at, it's interesting, and the atmosphere is top notch. The ending is a little confusing, but other than that I loved it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RogerSmith97Apr 24, 2011
As Of Now (4/24/11) I Have No Clue Why The User Score Is So Low.. This Is A Good Movie Overall. Yes I Can Say Some Spots Arent The Best.. But It Is A A+ Effort... Rose McGowan Does A Great Job.. The Acting Was OK... I Loved The Writing/Plot..As Of Now (4/24/11) I Have No Clue Why The User Score Is So Low.. This Is A Good Movie Overall. Yes I Can Say Some Spots Arent The Best.. But It Is A A+ Effort... Rose McGowan Does A Great Job.. The Acting Was OK... I Loved The Writing/Plot.. Overall 8! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Jun 1, 2016
The story is a bit too romanced for my taste but the history of the black dahlia is an intriguing one and this movie tries too hard to fill in the blanks.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-1828-The-Black-Dahlia
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews