Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: July 16, 1999
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 276 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
40
Negative:
54
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
NolanB.Aug 13, 2002
Very original, I'll give it that. But besides from being somewhat creepy, It got boring easily and had no really scary parts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SachiNov 17, 2011
There is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really theThere is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really the best, all I saw it as was some college kids get lost in the woods and they are being hunted by some entity but I didn't feel scared once, well there were some scary moments but not really that scary. I got to give credit to the acting though, it was good but the dialogue was just cursing and cursing and cursing, not good. Overall The Blair Witch Project is an alright movie, maybe you will understand it better than me but I just didn't get any scares and walked off dissapointed. Breakdown for "The Blair Witch Project": Presentation: 6.5, Plot: 7, Acting: 7.5, Dialogue: 4.8, Lasting Appeal: 5. Score: 5.5 out of 10 "Average" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
PolisKaninFeb 7, 2014
This film is painfully slow, and has definitely not aged well, but any horror film fan should watch this, as it is a classic. The whole film is improvised, but it is a good film for an improvised one. However, it is still not great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
SamGAug 7, 2009
One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the film makers lacked imagination when shooting the final 20 mins of the movie. The film would have been great if they focused more on the mystery element as the ending is really disappointing. A good film for young teenagers or anyone who scares easily. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
JonathanH.Apr 3, 2004
Overrated for sure, but still it's okay, i somewhat enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BenA.Jan 6, 2004
Yes, quite overrated. I did appreciate some of the styles of the feature, but I'm getting sick of the purposefully sloppy camera shots that are being used all the time, that are much like the BWP's shots. So this movie is to blame. Yes, quite overrated. I did appreciate some of the styles of the feature, but I'm getting sick of the purposefully sloppy camera shots that are being used all the time, that are much like the BWP's shots. So this movie is to blame. Don't take my opinion too seriosly, I could count on one hand the number of horror movies ive really enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NinjaMafiaJan 22, 2004
The Blair Witch Project seems to be a bit overrated. I mean, it didn't scare me that much only up until the final scene, and even then it wasn't that extremely scary. However, you have to give this movies a few points. One for The Blair Witch Project seems to be a bit overrated. I mean, it didn't scare me that much only up until the final scene, and even then it wasn't that extremely scary. However, you have to give this movies a few points. One for trying something new, every horror is basically a slasher flick these days. Two for being a pretty stylish flick, the whole camera aspect might make some people hate it, but it really actually helped this movie alot. Also, my last name is also Blair, I find that extremely amusing. This movie would have been really good if they kind of intensified it a bit more. It really felt like it was dragging on until the end where they finally felt like they should probably do something about the movie. Overall, I wouldn't neccesarily reccomend this film to everyone, bit it will please some people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewMAug 29, 2004
I watched this film for the first time yesterday (Aug '04), some five years after it was first released and some five years worth of appraisals, criticisms, and general opinons being universally aired later! Needless to say, it was I watched this film for the first time yesterday (Aug '04), some five years after it was first released and some five years worth of appraisals, criticisms, and general opinons being universally aired later! Needless to say, it was difficult to dispel the expectations and preconceptions I had; they had been fairly deeply planted over time. Mostly, I was expecting to be genuinely scared to the core by this film. Mistake number one. I wasn't. Secondly, I was expecting poor acting and mediocre filmmaking techniques. Mistake number two. Both were impressive. Thirdly, I was expecting a highly intriguing mystery tale with much suspense. Well, not really a mistake, but not on the mark either. That one was a tie. I didn't get what I was expecting with this film and it just goes to show that suppositions not based on fact are completely worthless. Anyway, to try and be succinct, four short points that sum up my feelings for this film: 1) The storyline is novel and interesting (but is not fascinating); 2) The acting is quite notable for its obviously (and appropriately) extemporized approach, and the young, unknown thespians are all the more impressive because of it; 3) The camera work is completely apposite for the project - whether it is good or bad is really irrelevant; and 4) The 'mystery of the unknown' is used to great effect in this film. If the makers had included a big, tell-all surprise at the end, revealing the hidden menace and "answering" everyone's questions....well, think about it....how much more effective was it the other way?.....having you walk away still wondering just what the heck it was!? It was very clever filmmaking and resulted in a clever, effective film. For those people who are chilled to the bone by inherent fears: unseen creatures, eerie shadows and shapes in the dead of night, being followed alone in the dark....this is the film for you. For others, like myself, who are scared more by the bogey-man (a la Halloween) or possession (The Exorcist), then the Blair Witch Project won't exactly freak you out, but it is a notable curio and good talking point for movie buffs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BradySmithOct 5, 2013
It's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shakyIt's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shaky and blurry that half the time you can't tell what's going on. I've seen worse horror movies before, but I think the critics must have all been in a really good mood when they went to see this. That or they were high, cause this was definitely not an 81 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Jun 9, 2015
The Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinionThe Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinion it just stays a little too basic and cheap if just a bit more cash would have been forked over I probably could've enjoyed the film more. The acting is pretty good considering these people were basically completely unknown until the films release. Another thing I have to applaud is the marketing of this movie. One of the first films to be heavily promoted by the internet and lots debates were sparked on whether or not the film was real or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews