Artisan Entertainment | Release Date: July 16, 1999
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 273 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
181
Mixed:
39
Negative:
53
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
0
kerrflannAug 18, 2016
Definitely the worst/most boring film I've ever watched 1hr and 20 mins of 3 teens walking through a forest and camping out for a night not scary at all whoever reviews this and says 'scary as hell' honestly i think you've been paid to sayDefinitely the worst/most boring film I've ever watched 1hr and 20 mins of 3 teens walking through a forest and camping out for a night not scary at all whoever reviews this and says 'scary as hell' honestly i think you've been paid to say that DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and theI watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI backdrop; its actors improvise their dialogue rather than read from scripts; the lighting is completely natural, and all the sounds are ambient. Instead of a soundtrack, this movie has whatever the microphones picked up in the woods - much scarier than a bunch of licensed music or orchestral tones. By shooting this movie over six straight days and camping in the woods, these college-level actors access real fatigue and real emotion that blows away Hollywood performances because even though their premise is every bit as fictional as a blockbuster, their feelings are real. Minimalism is the name of the game, hiding or only showing a little of any scene - only what was caught on the characters' cameras. Outside of those people who can't stand student film to begin with or can't appreciate something filmed with shaky cameras (something most people get used to in a matter of minutes, and something that is a huge part of modern news reporting), nothing can draw an audience in quite like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
reviewerd1Apr 18, 2016
This is actually a really good watch. The first time I watched this I jumped out of my seat a few times. The good thing about this film is it actually feels real when you watch it, the amateur film it yourself vibe really makes this movieThis is actually a really good watch. The first time I watched this I jumped out of my seat a few times. The good thing about this film is it actually feels real when you watch it, the amateur film it yourself vibe really makes this movie unique (at the time it was made). If your in to horror films I would recommend you watch this.

(NO SPOILERS)Basically three people set of in the woods and end up getting lost and strange things start happening to them.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieMasterEddyApr 7, 2016
Simple Yet Effective 'Witch' Hunt.

The big question hanging over "The Blair Witch Project" is simple but devastatingly effective. What happened to the three friends, Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael Williams, who dove deep into
Simple Yet Effective 'Witch' Hunt.

The big question hanging over "The Blair Witch Project" is simple but devastatingly effective.
What happened to the three friends, Heather Donahue, Joshua Leonard and Michael Williams, who dove deep into the Maryland woods in search of witches and never returned?

The date was Oct. 21, 1994, according to the opening titles. It's always creepier with a date, isn't it? You can almost hear Robert Stack's voice in the narration, as the titles also inform us: "One year later, their footage was found."

The trio in the movie – led by Donahue (and portraying themselves) – was trying to make a documentary about the Blair Witch, a spirit believed to be haunting this sparsely inhabited corner of Maryland's Black Hills Forest.

But all that remains of their five-day trek into the heart of darkness is the footage in Leonard's 16mm camera and Donahue's High-8 video. Which we get to watch.

Well, what happened?

You won't find out by reading this. But I will say "Blair" was a good college try of a flick – as good an effort as one could expect of a film with no budget, one pretty good idea and a few creative minds trying to come up with an MTV-age campfire movie. Imagine a collaboration between George "Night of the Living Dead" Romero and the makers of "The Real World."

Donahue is the director of this witch-finding documentary, a young, idealistic person with a fairly good idea of the history behind the Blair Witch. Too bad she's not too hot with scouting skills.

Before embarking into the woods, Donahue and crew interview the locals, who have heard a story or two about that Witch Up There. That's another essential ingredient in a horror flick – the creepy past that preceded all this. Good stuff!

With these veiled, anecdotal warnings, the film crew – young, ambitious and dude-like – heads straight for the heart of darkness.

Or Maryland, anyway. Although they have a map and compass, they become hopelessly lost. As they realize how unmoored they are, their initial good humor becomes fraught with anxiety, tears, disbelief, boredom, depression and occasional yelling.

Was that the same log bridge across the creek they saw hours earlier? Do they go south or east now? What are those noises outside their tents at night? What happened to the smokes? As they become increasingly frayed and freaked, we start preparing for the worst. And that's where I'm leaving it.

"The Blair Witch Project" is certainly assured and savvy enough for the government work that we romantically refer to as "American Independent Moviemaking." I was hooked on its creepy possibilities right through to the end. What's good about this film is the way its actual creators – Ed Sanchez, Dan Myrick and Gregg Hale – use ellipses and suggestion to make our minds do most of the work. Most of the time, it's what the three witch-searchers don't see – but fear – that gets our petrified juices flowing or curdling. This is low-tech inventiveness at its best. And that, surely, is what campfire storytelling is all about.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
geo2209Feb 22, 2016
Captivating movie and scary because of our imaginations. If you didn't think this was scary, then your IQ is low. People with high IQs have been shown to have high creativity and good imaginations and can suspend disbelief while summoningCaptivating movie and scary because of our imaginations. If you didn't think this was scary, then your IQ is low. People with high IQs have been shown to have high creativity and good imaginations and can suspend disbelief while summoning verisimilitude to put themselves "in" the film. This movie exudes authentic emotion, fear, and insane imaginative creep factor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DilHowellterNov 21, 2015
I did enjoy this movie although it really wasn't that scary and the ending was kind of anticlimactic. I watched this for the first time at a horror movie marathon at a friends house and the scariest part was when the tv turned off and weI did enjoy this movie although it really wasn't that scary and the ending was kind of anticlimactic. I watched this for the first time at a horror movie marathon at a friends house and the scariest part was when the tv turned off and we thought it was going to be a jumpscare so we sat waiting for it for five minutes Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
johnem95Oct 1, 2015
Points for being original for its time (and kickstarting the "found footage" genre), but this movie is a waste of time in my book. Nothing happens! I get that your imagination is what can make this film a terrifying watch, but my imaginationPoints for being original for its time (and kickstarting the "found footage" genre), but this movie is a waste of time in my book. Nothing happens! I get that your imagination is what can make this film a terrifying watch, but my imagination didn't buy this film for a second, therefore, I found this film utterly pointless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dakydakySep 23, 2015
Great acting, tense, no jumpscare but still manages to scare the viewer for good. Great horror curve with defined beginning, middle and end of the movie. Recommender for a rewatch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
johnblack1979Jul 30, 2015
Maybe the worst and most boring movie i've ever seen. Detestably unrealistic, the girl keeps filming against all sense of logic.. 80 min. of absolute nothingness.. Please do yourself a favor and DON'T ever watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
RobertOBrienJul 11, 2015
The only good thing about this movie is the acting. It's really just three annoying cardboard cut outs walking around in the woods for 90 minutes. The story is almost non-existent and the characters are flat.

I'm all for
The only good thing about this movie is the acting. It's really just three annoying cardboard cut outs walking around in the woods for 90 minutes. The story is almost non-existent and the characters are flat.

I'm all for "what-you-don't-see" type of horror. 'The Others' and 'The Haunting' from 1963 are some of my favorite films. But this film is just woefully boring, and when something is happening, it's just a shaky cam vomiting mess.

The only reason it was successful was because people were dumb enough to think it was real.

If you want to see a much better found-footage film, with a similar concept, but made first, and better, check out 'The Last Broadcast' from 1998. Skip this disjointed, over praised, shaky cam, boring and uninteresting trite.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Blairwitchm8Jun 14, 2015
A stonkingly good ride. Very suspenseful, with some great music and a sensual actress. Most of all I really like the witch. All in all, i r8 8/8 m8A stonkingly good ride. Very suspenseful, with some great music and a sensual actress. Most of all I really like the witch. All in all, i r8 8/8 m8

sddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ydnar4Jun 9, 2015
The Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinionThe Blair Witch Project is a film that deals with the horrors of what could possibly happen in real life. After watching this film you have a bit of a fear of being in the woods by yourself. The film has such a low budget that in my opinion it just stays a little too basic and cheap if just a bit more cash would have been forked over I probably could've enjoyed the film more. The acting is pretty good considering these people were basically completely unknown until the films release. Another thing I have to applaud is the marketing of this movie. One of the first films to be heavily promoted by the internet and lots debates were sparked on whether or not the film was real or not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lilkillpappyApr 8, 2015
One of my all time favorite scary films. The amount of effort that went into making this look authentic is vastly under appreciated. Look up the making of this film and you will see how unique it really is.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
SnowDayJan 23, 2015
While the movie may not provide many jump scared as craved by audiences, it proves that the strength of imagination can be even more frightening than any film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CherryxldNov 23, 2014
The Blair Witch Project es una de las mejores películas de Falso Documental que he visto. La película, en sí, trata sobre 3 adolescentes que buscan recopilar información de lo que es la leyenda urbana conocida como La Bruja de Blair., éstaThe Blair Witch Project es una de las mejores películas de Falso Documental que he visto. La película, en sí, trata sobre 3 adolescentes que buscan recopilar información de lo que es la leyenda urbana conocida como La Bruja de Blair., ésta interesante y entretenida trama logra ser efectiva y acierta hacia una buena perspectiva., en donde mientras que avanza el film el público siente nervios y escalofríos mientras avanza la película, con un buen razonamiento de sensaciones terroríficas y dosis de sorpresas que ocurren en el film, además de una forma eficaz en hacer que los personajes que habitan la historia se quiebren psicológicamente más y más a medida que avanza el largometraje. En general, The Blair Witch Project logra ser una buena película de terror que te llama la atención y que da una cálida sensación de angustia y miedo Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleOct 31, 2014
The Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may beThe Blair Witch Project is a case study that focuses in on the riveting question: Does a fantastic ending save an otherwise terrible film? The researchers in this study ultimately concluded that the answer is no. While the ending may be terrifying and completely effective, the hour and ten minutes prior, which amounts to nothing but terrible camera work (purposeful, but terrible all the same), terrible acting, aimless walking, yelling, and things that are supposed to be scary but are not, ultimately serve as the film's downfall. Coming in, I expected something very scary and, as somebody who does not watch many horror films, I figured I would be entirely freaked out. Yet, I came away thinking that the entire thing had to have been done as some terrible parody of an equally horrible horror film. They attempted to make it seem real because of the documentary style, but very little (hint: none) of it was believable, which was a bummer. I was all willing to buy in, but the film failed to convince me. All that freaked me out was the ending, but even then, it was painfully predictable once I saw where they wound up and could have been done better, certainly. But, the way it tied the story together was nice and entirely spooky, which worked out well in the film's favor and saved it from being rated later by me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 2, 2014
"The Blair Witch Project" is one of the most innovative films in the history of cinema. It is absolutely essential to watch this film if you're a horror movie fan. It's a very slow film, and not much is going on, but the sense of"The Blair Witch Project" is one of the most innovative films in the history of cinema. It is absolutely essential to watch this film if you're a horror movie fan. It's a very slow film, and not much is going on, but the sense of disorientation is extremely disturbing and creepy. Another great thing about this film is that the Blair Witch is never once shown. The film leaves it up to the viewer's imagination to think of what the demon /ghost/whatever may look like, and I believe that people's imagination is far scarier than anything that can be put on film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
MEGA_CRITICJun 1, 2014
please dont bother watching this film, if you want a scare because it honestly isnt scary or creepy (well maybe a bit, but not enough)

if you want a scare watch sinister, i highly recommend it, and it is genuinely scary
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysApr 1, 2014
The Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and the "found-footage" aspect makes it seems more realistic, which makes it more scary. If you can get past the shakyThe Blair Witch Project is one chillingly suspenseful movie. It uses what isn't there instead of what is to create thrills, and the "found-footage" aspect makes it seems more realistic, which makes it more scary. If you can get past the shaky cam and low quality of the film, this is a great "mockumentary" to watch on a Friday night. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MuddsjrMar 26, 2014
The Blair Witch is at no point overdone, nor a tad bit boring in any single second of any minute. The Blair Witch is a gripping, mysterious film that uses barely the location and the stories told by characters further to the beginning of theThe Blair Witch is at no point overdone, nor a tad bit boring in any single second of any minute. The Blair Witch is a gripping, mysterious film that uses barely the location and the stories told by characters further to the beginning of the film to keep you suspended and immensely spooked out for the duration of the film, but mostly afterwards. Boring? Most definitely not, The Blair Witch is a stroke of genius. End of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PolisKaninFeb 7, 2014
This film is painfully slow, and has definitely not aged well, but any horror film fan should watch this, as it is a classic. The whole film is improvised, but it is a good film for an improvised one. However, it is still not great.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Nov 8, 2013
While there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It might seem to generations that it is an old movie and a cheap one too, "The Blair Witch Project" stands outWhile there is now technology that is terrifying, what we don't see is what we fear most, and "The Blair Witch Project" proves it. It might seem to generations that it is an old movie and a cheap one too, "The Blair Witch Project" stands out as one of the most impressive work in the horror industry, absolutely and highly recommended. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithOct 5, 2013
It's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shakyIt's not terrible. It has one or two creepy moments. It's just that so much of it comes across as stupid and badly improvised that it can't be saved. I like the found footage idea, and the premise is alright, but the camerawork is so shaky and blurry that half the time you can't tell what's going on. I've seen worse horror movies before, but I think the critics must have all been in a really good mood when they went to see this. That or they were high, cause this was definitely not an 81 in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
iGamerDaxAug 5, 2013
Although many people didn't find it scary, I though it was really scary. Just because you can't see the 'creature' you don't know if it's really there or not, that's what makes this movie so original and realistic. I've seen many more horrorAlthough many people didn't find it scary, I though it was really scary. Just because you can't see the 'creature' you don't know if it's really there or not, that's what makes this movie so original and realistic. I've seen many more horror movies like Evil Dead (all of them), Paranormal Activity, 28 Days Later, The Descent, 1408, The Exorcist,... in all of these movies the 'creatures' are shown though I didn't find it scary at all.

The Blair Witch Project has the 'camcorder' effect which I really like in movies, makes it more scary, in my opinion. I've seen many other 'camcorder' effect movies like Cloverfield but The Blair Witch Project was for me the best one.

This movie is one of my favorite horror movies, and I see it every year at Halloween. Very good movie, although I can agree with people why they don't really like it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tenmuterJul 24, 2013
Alright, this movie isn't too scary on it's own. I'll admit that. But you know what made this movie especially terrifying for me? I went into the woods a week after watching this movie. If you and your buddies are going to go camping any timeAlright, this movie isn't too scary on it's own. I'll admit that. But you know what made this movie especially terrifying for me? I went into the woods a week after watching this movie. If you and your buddies are going to go camping any time soon, I highly advise making them watch this movie ahead of time so that their brains will be when you're all doing a night trek through a forest.

This movie did some things exceptionally well:
1) the first person story telling was very captivating and really put you inside the character's shoes
2) this movie doesn't have background music in it (except the beginning when they're in the car) which really makes the audience guess and interpret different scenes in this movie
3) it really creeps the crap out of you.

If you're looking for an "in the moment pop up scary" type of movie, you will be disappointed with Blair witch project. BUT if you are looking for a truly terrifying experience, watch this entire movie with the mentality that everything in it is based off of a true story, then go camping with a bunch of friends. and make sure you do a night trek through the woods (stoned if at all possible). You will your pants.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jrod777089Jul 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was great! It had many astonishing and adrenaline rushing moments. It will keep you on the edge of your seat the whole movie. This movie is based on a true story. This fact makes the movie even scarier to think what actually happened to these people. I highly recommend that you watch this movie! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
UtopianStuffJul 3, 2013
This is why there are so many found footage movies out there now! Because The Blair Witch Project is awesome! Its brilliantly presented, wonderfully executed, well acted, groundbreaking, chilling, thrilling, creepy and suspenseful! Watch theThis is why there are so many found footage movies out there now! Because The Blair Witch Project is awesome! Its brilliantly presented, wonderfully executed, well acted, groundbreaking, chilling, thrilling, creepy and suspenseful! Watch the movie that invented the found footage genre, see where it all began. Because, found footage movies had a GREAT start! If you don't like scary movies, don't watch this, you will be scared, the movie still holds up today as a creepy ass film! It just goes to show that even with a low budget, you can still do some great things. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
HaithamBayazeedJun 11, 2013
The most scariest part of anything, is never seeing whats coming along your way, when you hear creaky sounds at home or in anywhere without seeing any ghost or demon or spirit, it is chilling and really terrifying, because you keep wonderingThe most scariest part of anything, is never seeing whats coming along your way, when you hear creaky sounds at home or in anywhere without seeing any ghost or demon or spirit, it is chilling and really terrifying, because you keep wondering and saying "what if" that what The Blair Witch Project Holds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 9, 2013
seriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end justseriously this film is the worst. I can't even imagine that it was successful. Why people liked this movie? Was it scary? No Did it have a good plot? No. As a horror movie it's awful as a documentary it's ok. I watched it untill the end just to see what happens because i read it was scary. You give to this film 81/100 and in Saw 46/100. Bad movie is still a bad movie, critics can't change the quality of a film. Thumbs down! Don't waste your time Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
PseudoScopicMay 5, 2013
THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has. OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of
THE GOOD: I will keep this review fairly short.

THE BAD: I will never get back the 81min run time that this film has.

OVERALL: As you can tell, I'm not a fan of the film and could hack away at it all night penalising it's tacky use of camera, story, 'actors' and so on but I do have to say as a film buff myself that this film is extremely dated as of 2013 and will only become more so, obviously, from now on. This film was made on an extremely low budget as reflected and credibility has to go towards the marketing scheme of making people believe there is some truth to it, allowing the film to skyrocket in profit. All of which can be completely reciprocated for Paranormal Activity (Although I won't insult that QUITE as much in another film's review).
I would advise this film for people more linked with cult followings in the film market and can admire the lowest of budgeting reflected in the film itself. But no matter of my opinion, remember as film goers to always keep an open mind either way!
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
leopem17Apr 10, 2013
One knows that a film Is genuinely 'scary' when there is a constant amount of suspense. Not once did I see the witches nor was I scared, u don't leave the film to the end for action to arrive.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
mike7882Nov 14, 2012
Many people say it's old-fashion to see this movie now because there are a lot of scary movie better than this one. But I don't agree with that, I think TBWP can still scary out **** of me. It's raw and everything in the movie is likeMany people say it's old-fashion to see this movie now because there are a lot of scary movie better than this one. But I don't agree with that, I think TBWP can still scary out **** of me. It's raw and everything in the movie is like reality. Also the performance of the actor is awesome. I can feel their desperation and scare from the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
potatoes351Jul 31, 2012
A genuinely frightening film. With some good improvised acting and great filming techniques for a found footage film. A must watch in the middle of the night
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
charlieW24Jul 8, 2012
One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyone
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
charliew1820Jul 5, 2012
One of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making youOne of the scariest films ever. Plays on everyones fear, the dark, the unknown, the feeling of being trapped, and death. The film is played out through handheld camera, but this adds to fear, giving the film a sense of realism, making you think the film actually happened. The acting is very naturalistic, and in a rare case, the improvised script makes the film feel again more real, as if they would react in this way. The film is clear proof that in most cases not seeing the monster is scarier, for we imagine what is going on out there, or how we would be in that situation. The final sequence will easily go down as one of the best endings in history, and easily the scariest, playing on our minds after we leave the cinema, leaving a lot to the imagination. As a whole the movie is more terrifying after you leave than while watching even though you will undoubtedly gasp at certain scenes. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Apr 3, 2012
One of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings toOne of the dumbest, boring, and non scary films ever made. I have never seen a movie that lacks so much in what it takes to make a scary movie. No music, no suspense, and the worst of all offers nothing at all but one of the worst endings to a movie ever created. Total garbage. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
1
Trev29Apr 3, 2012
It was no big deal at all. I guess it would be a lot scarier if anything actually happened. It give it credit for going ahead and filming it differently than all other movies, but it was just bad. No interest in ever seeing it again.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
paulgreenFeb 11, 2012
At a time when digital techniques can show us almost anything, The Blair Witch Project is a reminder that what really scares us is the stuff we can't see.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
ashley_Jan 15, 2012
I saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it wasI saw this movie a few months ago for the first time, and do not understand at all the hype over this movie. The Blair Witch project was undoubtedly one of the worst movies I've ever seen. The acting was absolutely horrendous, and it was impossible to sympathize with the characters. Heather, annoying brat that she was, insisted on filming EVERYTHING. Even as the other two guys were screaming at her to turn it off, she had to film every moment of their downfall. Her annoying voice was enough to make me hate this movie from the start, not to mention the series of ridiculously moronic things that these kids did from start to finish, from throwing their map into the river, to going into the woods without listening or paying attention to the people they interviewed about it. Pretty much nothing happened the whole movie except watching them argue with each other. The vague things that were supposed to scare us did nothing but make the story line more paper thin than it already was. The ending was stupid, and barely made sense even when you knew what was supposed to be happening. Even as Heather is walking up the stairs expecting to find her friend dead, she is STILL filming. It was completely unrealistic. The only terrifying thing about this movie is the fact that it is so popular. I think Family Guy did a perfect summary of the movie when Brian was explaining the movie while watching it with a blind guy. He said "They're in the woods. The camera keeps moving around. I guess they're looking for some witch, I don't know, I wasn't listening. Nothings happening................nothings happening.................something about a map..nothings happening.... Its over. A lot of people in the audience looked pissed." Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
jimmytancrediDec 8, 2011
An urban legend getting an American production above the average, even with amateurish technical about. However, this is the great charm of the film, to bring a touch of reality to something that frightens people, while not real. With anAn urban legend getting an American production above the average, even with amateurish technical about. However, this is the great charm of the film, to bring a touch of reality to something that frightens people, while not real. With an unstable nature documentary footage, the two rookies directors, Daniel Myrick and Eduardo Sanchez, lead an unusual thriller that explores witchcraft in a peculiar way and extremely evil. What is most interesting in this production, is the fact that directors can create fear in the viewer, without the least show directly the source responsible for it. Imagine what you can not see. How can you not be afraid of it?

The power of an urban legend is something that can be measured against the influence which it carries in the middle. In some cases, above the power is so vast that people around the world are interested in such stories. Based on this concept of influence, the plot of this production is a journey of three film students, to explore the long- cherished legend of the Blair Witch, however, what is shown on the screen, are just the roll of film found by police, after the mysterious disappearance of young people. Starting from a premise that the suspense has good things to come, the two directors work in the background that is extremely favorable for the development of the script.

The amateur footage further contributes to the enhancement of the heavy atmosphere, which is already present in the photography involved. The naturalness of it is the factor that close ties to production reality. The sound system works like a soundtrack orchestrated by a great professional who knows very well to put it in the context of the film. Adding these two questions film, photography and soundtrack, we get a product that pleases and amazes the viewer, while every sudden movement of the camera. It is clear in this production, the film does not require cutting-edge technological improvement, to satisfy your audience.

The script is working well and can, from the start, accumulating records that direct the viewer to understand the outcome. The development of the argument is a gradation of psychological conflicts of each character, which tracks the tempo until the final minute. Playing with the psyche of each character , the filmmakers create claustrophobic situations that reflect the viewer, keeping it stuck in that atmosphere without answers and with every move closer and with a look at the picture provided by amateur camera in the darkness of night, where the script comes to apex of the gloom .

Combining certain techniques is a superlative effort to create something new, taking the proper proportions of gender addressed. Working from the premise peculiar form, the script can do justice to what is stipulated in your synopsis so enjoyable and interesting for the audience. The technique is not mainly attributed to technology, but on good ideas, falling in the right hands. Exercising a right direction and leading the film gradually, the two rookies prove that gender is not lost, but it takes a few bumps to get it moving again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
SachiNov 17, 2011
There is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really theThere is a lot of hype about the Blair Witch Project but I'm just not getting it. The movie did not really scare me in any way nor did even entertain me. There were no scares for me and just seemed like a drag on. The plot is not really the best, all I saw it as was some college kids get lost in the woods and they are being hunted by some entity but I didn't feel scared once, well there were some scary moments but not really that scary. I got to give credit to the acting though, it was good but the dialogue was just cursing and cursing and cursing, not good. Overall The Blair Witch Project is an alright movie, maybe you will understand it better than me but I just didn't get any scares and walked off dissapointed. Breakdown for "The Blair Witch Project": Presentation: 6.5, Plot: 7, Acting: 7.5, Dialogue: 4.8, Lasting Appeal: 5. Score: 5.5 out of 10 "Average" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
Although the movie smells old and cheap, "The Blair Witch Project" is one of the standing point movies of the 'psychological horror'. It will scare the **** out of you.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
SlasherVoorheesAug 18, 2011
I Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont BelieveI Thought that The Blair Witch Project Wasnt that good at all. Sure it was made to look like a Home Video Type of thing but it isnt realistic and there is basically No Plot This is a Over Hyped Movie that really is bad because i Dont Believe that Some Witch Did something to make campers not be able to find thier way back in real life that kind of thing doesnt happen and i think if this was recorded like a normal movie everyone would hate it and people just like it because its filmed like a home movie to make it seem like something out of the ordinary could actully happen Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
When me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre actingWhen me and my friends watched this last Halloween, we were expecting a horrifying movie that would give us nightmares and a lot of stories to tell at school after. Instead what we got was an hour and a half of shaky cameras, mediocre acting and an ending that is more laughable than scary. A letdown for people who are looking for a good movie to watch on the aforementioned holiday. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
3
CursedKnight187Apr 29, 2011
I've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of myI've got to be honest, I didn't find it scary... at all. The tent shaking?! I suppose the way the marketed it to start with - as if it were a true event - was a good strategy, but beside that it just isn't scary. I wasn't on the edge of my seat, I was lying down on it snoring. The only reason it gets a 3 is for originality, but that's about it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
RyanLopezApr 15, 2011
I **** hated this movie, it was darn stupid. I would have been ashamed to be part in this box office piece of **** I have nothing against the director but I just hated the movie.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
1
gamefriekFeb 26, 2011
Now this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just fourNow this movie, what a load of crap this was. It had no scare factor at all, I don't get why people are giving this good reviews overall. This movie has about the same scare factor as me getting out of bed. The whole movie was just four people walking through the woods pretending to be scared. Also, despite the way it looks, its not actually based off true events, its just based loosely off a legend but thats it. The actors got paid, so their obviously not dead. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
tvbuffJan 12, 2011
Think the critics have this pegged better than the users for a change. If anything this movie is under-rated because it totally broke from the scary movie, bloody horror norm. Unless it's really happening to you it's hard to capture trulyThink the critics have this pegged better than the users for a change. If anything this movie is under-rated because it totally broke from the scary movie, bloody horror norm. Unless it's really happening to you it's hard to capture truly being scared but this movie comes close. Certainly not the budget of The Ring or Sixth Sense but still pretty good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
iamtrent424Dec 6, 2010
I love tis movie. I know a lot of people say this movie isn't scary. this movie is scary in its own way. I think they did a good job with the idea of this movie. This movie is kind of scary at some parts. This was a good idea for a movie. OneI love tis movie. I know a lot of people say this movie isn't scary. this movie is scary in its own way. I think they did a good job with the idea of this movie. This movie is kind of scary at some parts. This was a good idea for a movie. One of the best horror movies ever made. This is on my list for best horror movie. I love this movie its really good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
GVirus16Oct 26, 2010
This film is most definitely the most horrifying movie I have ever seen, as well as my favorite horror film to date. Everyone who says there are no scary elements in this film are used to the current habit of American film to a.) makeThis film is most definitely the most horrifying movie I have ever seen, as well as my favorite horror film to date. Everyone who says there are no scary elements in this film are used to the current habit of American film to a.) make everything as gory, violent, testosterone-filled, and nonsensical as possible, and b.) rip off other countries' movies (and do so poorly - THE GRUDGE!!!). The Blair Witch Project is the embodiment of the human race's greatest fear: to be in a situation out of your control, to have your actions forced like a hamster in a maze. Also, I find the idea of not actually showing what is chasing them through the forest fascinating; your mind is left to wander upon the most terrible image you can muster, and it grows on you like a virus. The most exceptionally terrifying movie ever made; love it forever! :D Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
ArkonBladeAug 21, 2010
what a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it morewhat a horrable film now i know they where trying to make this look like it was a actaul film that really happend and trying to make it seem scary but it was a epic fail. first off i found nothing about this film sacry period . i saw it more as 3 dumb ugly teenagers acting like abunch of morons running around the woods with there heads cut off . with the worst camera shots possable . just because some thing sounds like a original idea doesnt mean its a good one . Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Completely horrifying, maybe the scariest film ever made. I pray to the movie gods that somehow this thing gets back into theaters so we can enjoy being terrified by this masterpiece with a room full of crowded anxious strangers. Don't beCompletely horrifying, maybe the scariest film ever made. I pray to the movie gods that somehow this thing gets back into theaters so we can enjoy being terrified by this masterpiece with a room full of crowded anxious strangers. Don't be surprised if this film doesn't make you jump very much (especially if you're just sitting at home watching it by yourself), but it will haunt your dreams and keep you up at night with its intense creepiness. Do not see this if you are remotely afraid of the woods or the dark. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
AlexAug 16, 2010
This is a very good film. films tend not to scare me, but i can definitely see why this would scare others. it is definitely a film not to watch alone. the acting is good and the general storyline is amazing. The producers did a great job ofThis is a very good film. films tend not to scare me, but i can definitely see why this would scare others. it is definitely a film not to watch alone. the acting is good and the general storyline is amazing. The producers did a great job of making everyone think that it was real, and nothing seems to disappoint.
this is a very good film. ALMOST scared me, which means it may well scare you!!
this is a must see, i realise that it gained mixed reviews. thus, you should watch it just in case you are like me; someone who very much considers this film a classic.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
mitchellKNov 13, 2009
This is one of only two movies I've been truly scared by, the other being "Ringu" (original Japanese "The Ring"). Despite everything you've heard and the amount you already know about the plot, still utterly terrifying. It serves This is one of only two movies I've been truly scared by, the other being "Ringu" (original Japanese "The Ring"). Despite everything you've heard and the amount you already know about the plot, still utterly terrifying. It serves as a reminder of the fact that we really do enjoy being scared by film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleTOct 15, 2009
Scariest movie of all time because of its reality. Look the movie is not real but the story is. This is what producers did, They took 3 film makers though them in the forest and then made noises and scared the hell out of them! They pretty Scariest movie of all time because of its reality. Look the movie is not real but the story is. This is what producers did, They took 3 film makers though them in the forest and then made noises and scared the hell out of them! They pretty much said here is a camera go make a documentary. They took eah person 1 by one and told them about, (the guy who acted like he died.) Not true but still if you don't know that, it is brilliant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SDOct 10, 2009
The Blair Witch Project is the only movie that I can say has genuinely scared me in my adult years. There
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
SamGAug 7, 2009
One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the One of the most over rated movies i have ever seen. Some of the night scenes were genuinely chilling and the acting was generally decent but this film left a lot to be desired. The scenes ended up becoming very similar and it felt like the film makers lacked imagination when shooting the final 20 mins of the movie. The film would have been great if they focused more on the mystery element as the ending is really disappointing. A good film for young teenagers or anyone who scares easily. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChrisBJul 10, 2009
I remember seeing this as a 6th grader in my friends house at night in the dark with some candles lit for ambiance. Granted that that was nine years ago (ugh I feel so old) I still think this movie has merit even in its VHS incarnation which I remember seeing this as a 6th grader in my friends house at night in the dark with some candles lit for ambiance. Granted that that was nine years ago (ugh I feel so old) I still think this movie has merit even in its VHS incarnation which is still on my shelf to this day. I think the most offensive part of the film is the amount of swearing and profanity that the characters use, but the result is a haunting masterpiece that feels as honestly scary as it is realistic. I really tapped into the home video B&W and color variations and the camping trip gone wrong vibe. Though I can understand why some people are turned off to the whole affair. Expectations of a scary movie often include more violence, monsters, and special effects than this film can muster. This video does however, deliver grade "A" psychological horror, and stands as a testament as to why I love the survival horror genre. I feel particularly married to this film because after my best friend and I watched it for a second time in 9th grade he couldn't sleep at for a week. I felt guilty, but this reassured me that the Blair Witch Project wasn't to be taken lightly. This month is its tenth year anniversary. Do yourself a favor and give it a play. In the dark. With candles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidSOct 27, 2008
A well made horror film with a very original concept. Although I wasn't freaked out by this movie, it certainly has an atmosphere to it, and when you really examine it, it has some very well-executed moments. Especially the last 10 A well made horror film with a very original concept. Although I wasn't freaked out by this movie, it certainly has an atmosphere to it, and when you really examine it, it has some very well-executed moments. Especially the last 10 minutes. The dialogue was too over-the-top at some points, but was almost always convincing, even if the characterization of Josh adn Mike seemed to switch midway through. If you want to watch a movie alone some night, this si a good pick. If you want to watch a movie with firneds, it probably isn't such a good pick. But then again, what true horror buff watches horror movies with other people? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NormanDJul 27, 2008
Such a minimalist and overwhelming scare-the-crap-out-of-you thriller! I was sleepless for two nights just imagining what that odd sound in the water pipes might be.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AndrewTJul 4, 2008
This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and This movie was one of the dumbest most boring not scary movie i've ever seen in my life. The ending was one of the worst endings that a movie could have and you do not even see the creature monster whatever it is attacking and terrorizing the group of people. I hate horror movies in general this i could and would not even come close to putting this movie in that genera I was not scared at all during this movie and for the people who gave this movie a good review you can not base a score on the movies originality. Sure it was original but still the acting was horrid, story was so incredibly stupid, and the ending was so retarded. Now I hated cloverfield I thought it was awful but it was 100 times better that the Blair Witch Project, For anyone who thought this was good well go watch a really movie without that stupid camcorder effect! Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MattMar 4, 2008
This is, by far, the scariest movie ever made. Its like going to a strip club and seeing completely naked women vs. going to the beach and seeing women in bikinis. You get more turned on by the bikinis because you want to know what is This is, by far, the scariest movie ever made. Its like going to a strip club and seeing completely naked women vs. going to the beach and seeing women in bikinis. You get more turned on by the bikinis because you want to know what is underneath and you can form in your mind what you think they would look like naked. That is an analogy my friends. No, I'm not saying I would rather see the Blair Witch in a bikini rather than completely naked, I'm saying the movie does not blatantly show the boogy man, you can only imagine what the witch looks like, you can only imagine how it actually attacks its victims.. and that makes it great raw, unknown fear. Those who hated this movie would rather have things spelled out for them and lack imagination. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ShawnD.Feb 23, 2008
Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i Ok, I came to check out the rating of this movie after finding out that Bio-Dome was the absolute worst rated movie. My jaw hit the floor when i saw the MC score for this. i really expected this movie to have under a "10". The only points i could give to this movie was for originality. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.NonymousJan 2, 2008
Utter genius. Pure utter genius. The most original move in the horror genre. It's only flaw is that it leaves too much to the imagination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BeakBNov 28, 2007
Great movie. Those who gave this a bad rating are probably too used to simple movies like Transformers. Know a real movie when you see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndieV.Jul 2, 2007
This movie scared me, even though it doesn't have all that "girl in white dress with long black hair standing in middle of road" effects. I'm a horror freak, i know a scary movie when i see one, and this movie is the one. now,my This movie scared me, even though it doesn't have all that "girl in white dress with long black hair standing in middle of road" effects. I'm a horror freak, i know a scary movie when i see one, and this movie is the one. now,my movie rental money didn't get wasted this time!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RirenJan 28, 2007
I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the I watched this movie for the thirteenth time last night, and was still creeped right out. Watching it on DVD in my house, I still felt as though someone might be watching me from down the hall. This is the effect of great atmosphere, and the Blair Witch Project has it. Every financially cheap aspect helps it. It's shot in a real environment, not a sterile set or against a CGI backdrop; its actors improvise their dialogue rather than read from scripts; the lighting is completely natural, and all the sounds are ambient. Instead of a soundtrack, this movie has whatever the microphones picked up in the woods - much scarier than a bunch of licensed music or orchestral tones. By shooting this movie over six straight days and camping in the woods, these college-level actors access real fatigue and real emotion that blows away Hollywood performances because even though their premise is every bit as fictional as a blockbuster, their feelings are real. Minimalism is the name of the game, hiding or only showing a little of any scene - only what was caught on the characters' cameras. Outside of those people who can't stand student film to begin with or can't appreciate something filmed with shaky cameras (something most people get used to in a matter of minutes, and something that is a huge part of modern news reporting), nothing can draw an audience in quite like this movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
josakJan 2, 2006
Scariest movie I've ever seen, period. This is one of those love-it-or-hate-it things; your either going to get the piss scared out of you while watching this, or your gonna laugh thru it with your friends, and rant about how stupid the Scariest movie I've ever seen, period. This is one of those love-it-or-hate-it things; your either going to get the piss scared out of you while watching this, or your gonna laugh thru it with your friends, and rant about how stupid the movie was afterwards. But if you actually let yourself go and allow the movie to suck you in, your in for one crazy ride. As Ebert said, this movie is a testament to the fact that what really scares us is the stuff we don't see. It's the suspense that does it, and the extreme realism and believable characters only make it that much more frightening. This is a horror masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SimG.Oct 28, 2005
Really creative, really scary, really fun.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BoredSillyAug 12, 2005
Some people don't like this movie because it's utterly inept.....Only one word for this movie: DUNG...!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScaredInsane!!!!Jul 31, 2005
Wow! What a movie! Man this was a really freaky movie. Out of all the scarry movies I've seen through my llife this has to be the scarriest. I just think that the last seen should have let us watchers in on what the thing or spirit was Wow! What a movie! Man this was a really freaky movie. Out of all the scarry movies I've seen through my llife this has to be the scarriest. I just think that the last seen should have let us watchers in on what the thing or spirit was that got them. And yes it was kind of boring, but it kept me awake. Overall this was a brilliant and masterful movie, I think, but I'll never watch it again! For those who haven't seen this flick you're gonna be rudely awakened when you do. All I can say is Dang what a movie! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
seandMar 8, 2005
I fell asleep man, boring lame nonsense. I can't believe it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AdamG.Dec 9, 2004
Brilliant movie, got scared by what i didnt see at the cinema, films like this remind us of how good horror movies can become!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
AndrewMAug 29, 2004
I watched this film for the first time yesterday (Aug '04), some five years after it was first released and some five years worth of appraisals, criticisms, and general opinons being universally aired later! Needless to say, it was I watched this film for the first time yesterday (Aug '04), some five years after it was first released and some five years worth of appraisals, criticisms, and general opinons being universally aired later! Needless to say, it was difficult to dispel the expectations and preconceptions I had; they had been fairly deeply planted over time. Mostly, I was expecting to be genuinely scared to the core by this film. Mistake number one. I wasn't. Secondly, I was expecting poor acting and mediocre filmmaking techniques. Mistake number two. Both were impressive. Thirdly, I was expecting a highly intriguing mystery tale with much suspense. Well, not really a mistake, but not on the mark either. That one was a tie. I didn't get what I was expecting with this film and it just goes to show that suppositions not based on fact are completely worthless. Anyway, to try and be succinct, four short points that sum up my feelings for this film: 1) The storyline is novel and interesting (but is not fascinating); 2) The acting is quite notable for its obviously (and appropriately) extemporized approach, and the young, unknown thespians are all the more impressive because of it; 3) The camera work is completely apposite for the project - whether it is good or bad is really irrelevant; and 4) The 'mystery of the unknown' is used to great effect in this film. If the makers had included a big, tell-all surprise at the end, revealing the hidden menace and "answering" everyone's questions....well, think about it....how much more effective was it the other way?.....having you walk away still wondering just what the heck it was!? It was very clever filmmaking and resulted in a clever, effective film. For those people who are chilled to the bone by inherent fears: unseen creatures, eerie shadows and shapes in the dead of night, being followed alone in the dark....this is the film for you. For others, like myself, who are scared more by the bogey-man (a la Halloween) or possession (The Exorcist), then the Blair Witch Project won't exactly freak you out, but it is a notable curio and good talking point for movie buffs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JonathanH.Apr 3, 2004
Overrated for sure, but still it's okay, i somewhat enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MuratB.Jan 27, 2004
Who doesn't adore this movie? I think it's wonderful, amazing... Some people don't like this movie because this is a very original movie... They like stereotyped movies and it sucks.... Only one word for this movie: WONDERFUL...!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
NinjaMafiaJan 22, 2004
The Blair Witch Project seems to be a bit overrated. I mean, it didn't scare me that much only up until the final scene, and even then it wasn't that extremely scary. However, you have to give this movies a few points. One for The Blair Witch Project seems to be a bit overrated. I mean, it didn't scare me that much only up until the final scene, and even then it wasn't that extremely scary. However, you have to give this movies a few points. One for trying something new, every horror is basically a slasher flick these days. Two for being a pretty stylish flick, the whole camera aspect might make some people hate it, but it really actually helped this movie alot. Also, my last name is also Blair, I find that extremely amusing. This movie would have been really good if they kind of intensified it a bit more. It really felt like it was dragging on until the end where they finally felt like they should probably do something about the movie. Overall, I wouldn't neccesarily reccomend this film to everyone, bit it will please some people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BenA.Jan 6, 2004
Yes, quite overrated. I did appreciate some of the styles of the feature, but I'm getting sick of the purposefully sloppy camera shots that are being used all the time, that are much like the BWP's shots. So this movie is to blame. Yes, quite overrated. I did appreciate some of the styles of the feature, but I'm getting sick of the purposefully sloppy camera shots that are being used all the time, that are much like the BWP's shots. So this movie is to blame. Don't take my opinion too seriosly, I could count on one hand the number of horror movies ive really enjoyed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnM.Dec 25, 2003
Say what you will about the handheld, dizzying camera work. Make fun of Heather's nostrils. Even enjoy the sometimes very funny take-offs. This remains a superb horror film, period. And it's the only - and I mean only - movie that Say what you will about the handheld, dizzying camera work. Make fun of Heather's nostrils. Even enjoy the sometimes very funny take-offs. This remains a superb horror film, period. And it's the only - and I mean only - movie that had me losing sleep since...well, forever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Dec 19, 2003
Here's some film students that really did their homework. We have confused good cinematography, sound, special effects etc with good movies for a long time. This movie simply follows people through an emotional journey. Not precisely Here's some film students that really did their homework. We have confused good cinematography, sound, special effects etc with good movies for a long time. This movie simply follows people through an emotional journey. Not precisely edited, but there wasn't much to take out to begin with - it has such a natural flow. And yes, fear is in the mind, not out there in the world, and it originates in the unseen more than in all things gruesome. In it's way it's as powerful as "Psycho", and portrays fear and loneliness in an immediately authentic manner. I don't know how this movie could have been pulled off any better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RatedRDec 16, 2003
Absolutely, without a doubt, the scariest movie I have ever seen in a theatre. People who don't like this movie didn't get it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NickB.Nov 1, 2003
WTF was this! I waited 2 hours to get scared! By then the movie was over!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PatrickF.Oct 28, 2003
I think this gets dramatically mixed reviews because how creepy the film is all depends on how creepy you make it. After seeing it in the theatre (4 years ago!) I was only moderately frightened; however, the movies still gives me the creeps I think this gets dramatically mixed reviews because how creepy the film is all depends on how creepy you make it. After seeing it in the theatre (4 years ago!) I was only moderately frightened; however, the movies still gives me the creeps occasionally to this day if I think too much about it. It isn't what you SEE that is so freaky, but what you DON'T, so the better (or perhaps worse?) your imagination, the scarier it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ItCameFromGilbertMulroneycakesOct 27, 2003
It's fashionable to knock this movie, to say "Well, I wasn't scared" to prove how double-bastard hard you are. Well, you can just sod off, because the Blair Witch Project is bloody TERRIFYING. At least the final scene is; until It's fashionable to knock this movie, to say "Well, I wasn't scared" to prove how double-bastard hard you are. Well, you can just sod off, because the Blair Witch Project is bloody TERRIFYING. At least the final scene is; until then, it was giving off more a sense of eerie discomfort and genuinely unsettling pit-of-the-stomach fear. A lot less happens than you think; there are precious few shocks. Until that final scene. It would have been nice to have a payoff of some kind, revealing just what the hell was chasing them; but it would also have been a betrayal. Facts Amazing: this is the first film I've seen which left me genuinely scared to get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Essential. Oh, and JD: please don't insult me by saying I only have one opinion because I'm scared to admit I have the other opinion. My thumb is still twitching now just thinking about it. You can't fake that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JDOct 15, 2003
The only thing that will scare you about this movie is the over the top ratings given to it!! It was a complete bore and I had a tough time trying not to sleep through it. All the people who thought this was a great movie are obviously The only thing that will scare you about this movie is the over the top ratings given to it!! It was a complete bore and I had a tough time trying not to sleep through it. All the people who thought this was a great movie are obviously scared to be honest and call a bad movie a BAD MOVIE!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
A truly frightening movie that overcame what could easily have been a overly contrived idea. Few films have conveyed such raw, naked sense of horror and doom. Perhaps, a landmark movie in the relatively new school of digicam filmmaking; this A truly frightening movie that overcame what could easily have been a overly contrived idea. Few films have conveyed such raw, naked sense of horror and doom. Perhaps, a landmark movie in the relatively new school of digicam filmmaking; this film uses the digicam's disadvantages to full advantage. We feel as trapped and limited and as shaky as the handheld camera. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MichaelK.Sep 8, 2003
Only movie to ever truly instill fear in me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephG.Aug 31, 2003
I rate this movie a 10! It wasn't like other scary movies because it was actually based on a true story. Other scary movies such as The Ring (just an example) would never happen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AenimaJul 16, 2003
The Blair Witch Project is easily the scariest movie ever made. I'll say this flat out: The only way your going to fully enjoy this movie, is to LET YOURSELF GO. The people who don't like this movie are the ones who can't take The Blair Witch Project is easily the scariest movie ever made. I'll say this flat out: The only way your going to fully enjoy this movie, is to LET YOURSELF GO. The people who don't like this movie are the ones who can't take this movie seriously. Now that I got that over with. This is a brilliant film. And nothing, nothing, has scared me more ever in my life. This movie is so frightening that it is really hard to watch; however once you get sucked in, your eyes will be glued to the screen and will never blink. See the movie, and let yourself go. You will have nightmares for a week. Huge thumbs up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PaulW.Jun 1, 2003
Just awful and boring, the worse film I've ever seen. As usual the most over hyped films are terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaleyK.May 4, 2003
You people who DIDN'T find this movie scary or anything...you're just a bunch of cowards who don't want to admit that you've have trouble looking out your window, for you're afraid of all those old trees. This film You people who DIDN'T find this movie scary or anything...you're just a bunch of cowards who don't want to admit that you've have trouble looking out your window, for you're afraid of all those old trees. This film gave me the creeps. I have lots of trees where I live and had trouble taking the garbage out at night because I couldn't stand looking at the ominous trees. People are complaining because this film had no gore or special effects. I laugh at you. At first you idiots complain that the Matrix has too much special effects or too much violence. What a joke. This movie plays with our fears. Using the most simple things: stickmen, twigs, trees at night and many other things, and makes them look like supernatural things. At first I thought this movie was based on a true story. Thank god it wasn't. I'd be wide-awake everyday if it was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.W.Mar 25, 2003
As a scary movie, it deserves at least a 9. People who gave this thing bad reviews were simply trying to stave off the memory of it...as they sat nervously laughing at their keyboards...with the shades drawn...and all the lights on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AaronS.Dec 31, 2002
This movie is not the least bit frightening, except for how terribly nauseating it is. It was such a disaster because no one involved in the production had any control over what the finished product would be like. Well, in my eyes, it is one This movie is not the least bit frightening, except for how terribly nauseating it is. It was such a disaster because no one involved in the production had any control over what the finished product would be like. Well, in my eyes, it is one of the worst films I have ever seen because it lacks all entertainment value. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ArianaM.Aug 23, 2002
I give it a 3 for originality, and for being able to capture something of the essence of fear. Perhaps these factors alone should get it a much higher rating, but certain other factors bring this -pretentious- "film" smashing down. I could, I give it a 3 for originality, and for being able to capture something of the essence of fear. Perhaps these factors alone should get it a much higher rating, but certain other factors bring this -pretentious- "film" smashing down. I could, as other people have done, criticize the camera work, the "script", the "acting". But let's be honest about these things. First of all, the camera work was exactly what it was meant to be. Amateur home-video type. That's what the makers wanted. And how much of a script did you expect? This is supposed to be a bunch of people running around the woods, lost frightened, and acting stupid. Now that I've made that point, I want to point out what was the fundamental flaw, the point where this movie failed most in my eyes. Yes, the camera work was bad..home video stylem and meant to be, because these are just a bunch of amateur- wait, wait a second, I just realized something!! These were -film students-?? That's right, these people were supposed to have some CLUE as to how to use a camera. Yet the makers of this film, though obviously film students themselves, failed to realize that stark inconsitency. They chose to make their film with all the skill of your uncle Bob filming your 7 year old cousin's birthday party. Sure, they meant it to be that way, but WHY? Don't they teach people how to use a camera at whatever school these fictional students go to? So, right off, I started having a serious dislike for these characters. Poseurs. A bunch of "generation X" prototypes who think it's cool to be "film makers", but who haven't got the first clue what it is to be one. The movie is full of inconsistancies just like that. Ask yourself, while watching it, who is holding the camera, or why the camera is here or there, why the shot is of this or that, and you will realize how contrived and inconsistant the production was. The fact is, these people had a good idea, but they had no skill, no knowledge, no art in bringing that idea to life. When I say the finished product was amateur, I don't mean the unsteady camera work, the sense that no one is acting, or lack of great dialogue. These were all contrivances that the film makers -intended-. What I mean is that the work they did put into it was shoddy and pathetic, had no congruency, was like a kindergartener's glue stick and construction paper art project. Yeah, the glitter was a good idea. Sure, red paper looks pretty. Cutting patterns out is a good idea...but if you go about it with no direction, not taste, no instinct, it ends up being something mommy loves, but no one else will. This movie is a disgusting modern example of the emperor's new clothes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NolanB.Aug 13, 2002
Very original, I'll give it that. But besides from being somewhat creepy, It got boring easily and had no really scary parts.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarioB.May 24, 2002
Being a cynical and grizzled film viewer, I went through a phase where I definantly dared any film to produce any kind of fear reaction out of me. After many rentals and hours, not one thing I saw was able to give me the downright dread and Being a cynical and grizzled film viewer, I went through a phase where I definantly dared any film to produce any kind of fear reaction out of me. After many rentals and hours, not one thing I saw was able to give me the downright dread and fear I got when I watched this movie. If you buy into the premise, it's incredible, but if you, from the beggining of the film, harden your heart to the innovative home-movie approach, you'll hate it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
PaulaW.Mar 11, 2002
Horror is a lot like porn: high production values, great acting, and state-of-the-art effects don't mean a thing if they don't get a... gut reaction. Well, the woods, and the prospect of meeting someone there when you think you are Horror is a lot like porn: high production values, great acting, and state-of-the-art effects don't mean a thing if they don't get a... gut reaction. Well, the woods, and the prospect of meeting someone there when you think you are alone, rank pretty high on my white-knuckle list. [Demonic possession, on the other hand, means nothing to me, and that's why I can only laugh at The Exorcist.] Not that I was clutching anybody's hand in the theater. I was too distracted by the seasick camera and the pottymouth dialogue. Like everyone else in the audience, I just wanted it to be over. Even the last 10 minutes didn't really scare me; they just seemed a little silly. But afterward, in thinking about it and putting it all together? I was scared. So scared I couldn't even look at my sleeping bag for a month. And my Z-Rest sleeping mat, the exact same one carried by Josh in the movie? Forget it. Unlike most horror flicks, the BWP lends itself to many different interpretations. The longer you ponder what might have been going on, the greater your terror. So don't get too cocky when you see this movie. It just might give you nightmares. I'm just glad I saw it AFTER my big camping trip for the summer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Jan 13, 2002
What a film!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ClassifiedOct 14, 2001
As scary as hell.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NedD.Sep 14, 2001
Brilliant concept and terrifying execution. You have to ask yourself 'How scared would I be in that situation?' The answer is pretty much what the characters on screen go through. Audiences who didn't like it, or found it Brilliant concept and terrifying execution. You have to ask yourself 'How scared would I be in that situation?' The answer is pretty much what the characters on screen go through. Audiences who didn't like it, or found it "boring" are obviously so numbed by Hollywood insistence on over-the-top special effects that they've forgotton how to use something very valuable: the imagination. And nothing's scarier than that. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful