Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: November 20, 2009
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 349 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
249
Mixed:
62
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ShaneS.Jan 21, 2010
Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra Sandra Bullock is absolutely fantastic! Why? Because she's so believable in her role; most of the time a big name actor gets in the way of their own character because all the audience recognizes is the face. In "The Blind Side" Sandra pretty much disappears into her character of Mrs. Tuohy, which allows the movie itself to have a life of it's own as it's big name actor is replaced by a charismatic southern mom. Yes, Mrs. Tuohy does drive the movie, yet she is not too overpowering to where the other characters are drowned out. Michael and the rest of the Tuohy's act superbly within their roles; the scenes with the smallest Tuohy (SJ) and Michael are very humorous and impactful when they need to be. They really portray a good brother to brother relationship. The movie as a whole is more of a drama than a sports film, about the power of family and what it means to challenge yourself: if that means going out of your way to help another, pushing yourself to achieve what you once thought impossible or looking inwardly to see if you really are the person you want to be. Fantastic performance by Sandra, the story is told wonderfully with enough humor to balance the sometimes dramatic or intense turns. Overall a grand accomplishment for feel good cinama! And a final comment: for all the people that seem to think the movie is about a poor black child helped out by the more privileged white angels, I think you are projecting your own prejudice onto a film that clearly does not have that kind of message in mind. Point in fact: I doubt the Golden Globes would recognize an actress for her role in a obviously racist picture if that were the case at all. (Hope Sandra gets the Academy's recognition also, she, and the film, deserve it!). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamMar 7, 2010
This is the best movie I have ever seen because it is based on a true story that you can look up for yourself. just try
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JohnHDec 3, 2009
First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and First, the criticisms of this movie are ridiculous. How this movie gets misconstrued as racism is crazy. The purpose of this movie is not to show white people as the saviors of black people, and any such suggestion is malicious, hateful, and racist. This movie gives nothing to complain about. It had plenty of laughs, a few tear-jerking moments, a quick-paced story that was engaging... All the elements necessary to keep most people entertained. Why do you think it did better in the box office in its second weekend? Because this movie is good. It achieves its goals effortlessly, and its goals are to show that people have the ability to drastically alter the course of each others' lives through our actions. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SimoneN.Feb 25, 2010
A great story with great morals and spirit. We all must learn to admire the good and stop making fun of it. I can only wish we will have more people like this family around us.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChrisTNov 20, 2009
This is by far Sandra Bullock's best performance that I have ever seen her in and this is really a great film, best on an inspiring story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
carolA.Dec 25, 2009
The feel good movie of the holiday season. Sandra Bullock is terrific in what may be her best role ever. Don't miss this wonderful human interest story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GerriSDec 6, 2009
Best movie I've ever seen. Entire family (10 in all) and everyone enjoyed it. Tim McGraw and Sandra Bullock were great.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LindseyDDec 6, 2009
This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see This movie was such a positive, wonderful story. Sandra Bullock and Tim McGraw are both wonderful in this movie. The family's love for each other and for Michael is overwhelming. It is a charming movie that you will want to go see again. I know I do!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanLMar 29, 2010
This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is This movie has some of the best acting and dramatization I have seen from a movie in a long time. Sandra Bullock normally plays in goofy, ditzy roles, but she did a wonderful job in her serious role. The other thing that I liked to see is that she played the dominant role in the house even though her husband played by Tim McGraw created most of the income. So all in all this movie was an all around great movie and Sandra Bullock deserved the Oscar that she won for it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WinstonLNov 20, 2009
Despite the reviews, Sandra Bullock is STILL on my Oscar-watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkCNov 23, 2009
Thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VinceM.Dec 16, 2009
Inspiring, true story. I loved it, one of those movies thats stays with you afterward. The critics are way out of line on this one and they have zero credibility, that's why I always check out USER COMMENTS and not Critics Comments
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JSDec 17, 2009
Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not Why is it that all the negative reviews are claiming the film is racist? The only racists are the bigots who can't stand that a hollywood film actually depicted conservatives in a good way. This film is fantastic! Not about race, not about republican vs. democrat, its about Michael Oher and his journey to the NFL! GET OVER IT!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GarySDec 27, 2009
The Story, Bullock, everyone - Oustanding. Not just another 'feel good' movie. A TRUE story and that's the best part about it (other than seeing Sandra Bullock) There is still hope when people act like the Tuohys. Best of all The Story, Bullock, everyone - Oustanding. Not just another 'feel good' movie. A TRUE story and that's the best part about it (other than seeing Sandra Bullock) There is still hope when people act like the Tuohys. Best of all there was the rest of the school staff who helped this young man get a good start. More than just a single family doing the right thing. And if you've read anything about Sandra Bullock and this movie, you know that it even touched her to an extent - she saw true Christianity Mrs Tuohy and her family. To the cynics go throw your darts at some of the real trash movies out there - This movies first class all the way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertWDec 6, 2009
My two companions and I thoughly enjoyed this wonderful movie and Sandra B was dead on fantastic. As far as an racism is concerned, "it's a true story", get over it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaySDec 7, 2009
Makes you have hope in people.. they never knew how this act of kindness and caring would change everyone's life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.Nov 23, 2009
I very much enjoyed this movie. During a weekend when the competition consisted of vampires and our world coming to an end, it was nice to see a movie that lives and breathes in the real world, and give the audience something to aspire to. I very much enjoyed this movie. During a weekend when the competition consisted of vampires and our world coming to an end, it was nice to see a movie that lives and breathes in the real world, and give the audience something to aspire to. The fact that the movie is based in reality, made me feel unmanipulated and enjoy the story. Terrific entertainment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CalebN.Nov 23, 2009
Best movie I have EVER seen by a long shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GegeLDec 13, 2009
One of the best movies ever, Sandra Bullock was wonderful and hellow it's a true story, as far as racism is concerned here, just forget about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EmilyCDec 28, 2009
My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for My whole family enjoyed this movie. Sandra Bullock perfectly portrayed an upper-class, Southern woman, and it was great to see Tim McGraw in a different setting - he also did a fantastic job. The screenplay was well written and engaging for the whole two hours. Some people may not like the story, but it's true and it's fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyanLopezJan 13, 2011
This movie is inspirational, it tells people not to judge people by their skin color or their appearance. It is a heart warmer, it has one of the best plots of 2009, If I was a dog- 4 THUMBS UP!!!!!!!!!
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
kaj510superdudeOct 8, 2011
A great movie for you and the family its truly touching and amazing how a southern rich girl would take in a poor young african american boy it is truly touching i certainly reccomend it 10/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
seahawks2015Dec 24, 2013
One Word: Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kat267Aug 8, 2015
A wonderful and uplifting story! It really spotlights the inherent goodness, generosity, and charity of mankind. Sandra Bullock is perfect in her role, she brings to life MLK's words: judge people not by the color of their skin but on theA wonderful and uplifting story! It really spotlights the inherent goodness, generosity, and charity of mankind. Sandra Bullock is perfect in her role, she brings to life MLK's words: judge people not by the color of their skin but on the content of thier character. And by doing this, she is able to help the talented teen Michael Oher. Also I loved supporting actress Lily Collins' character. A very well-done movie in all aspects! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JonWFeb 2, 2010
I love this comment - "This movie is despicable." Excuse me it's a TRUE story bozo. Like it actually happened, like the "racist" family actually helped a black kid and now he's star. Great film. Very uplifting.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CandieBFeb 25, 2010
Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of Sandra Bullock's acting was fabulous in this film. What many have touted as overly emotional is actually an honest look into the lives of a family who live what they believe. Of course it's a movie, so you take it with a grain of salt, but it's still encouraging and entertaining. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CarlosDec 26, 2009
In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up In these very troubled and difficult times in the world, this is an optimistic view, and the best is it is based on a true story, which makes it more beliavable. Sandra Bullock is way far away from her usual characters, and floats up beautifully! (much more so after her participation in the awful "All About Steve". Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnG.Jan 12, 2010
Wonderfully told tale full of hope, breaking many prejudices and Bullock is simply brilliant. An Oscar winning display.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
JohnUJan 2, 2010
A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there A rare film that both men and women can enjoy. Sandra Bullock is terrific! While her role as a Christian woman doing good is primary and that of Michael Oher, the promising offensive lineman, is diminished from what it was in the book, there is still enough football action to hold the attention of guys who follow the game. (Oher became an All_American at Ole Miss after departing the Tuohy household after his high school graduation and then a first round draft choice and now a starter for the Baltimore Ravens.) Audiences are much more positive about this film than the critics. In this case, I think the audiences are to be trusted more than the critics. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeMFeb 2, 2010
Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to Critics who downgraded this movie(based on a true story) simply do not like feel good movies,=. I guess they just want lots of action with no base for the plots.These critics need to give up this profession because they are unqualified to rate anything. Movie was very good. Sandrs Bullock was bsolutely fantastic ant the supporting cast was also.I am glan I don't pay ant attention to these so called critics. If I did,I surely would miss some good and entertaining movies. The box office doesn't lie. Just look at the numbers idiots! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful